Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6"

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 185 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6"

4.2/5
November 27, 2021

I love this underwear

Great fit and comfortable all day and for extended days when you are on those long trips in the outback. Easy to wash in a sink when you have an opportunity in a pinch. My go-to underwear!

November 25, 2021

Very comfortable

Best underwear Ive ever worn

November 5, 2021

Very comfortable!

My only complaint is they don't seem to wear as well as before.

November 4, 2021

Great skivvies

This is a short-term review as I have only been wearing these for about a month. It was time for a underwear overhaul in my drawer's drawer. Patagonia skivvies have been hit or miss for me over the years. I bought a few pairs of these and a few pairs of the Sender briefs. The Essential Brief is a softer (much softer) more casual wearing under... Read Morewear than the Sender Brief. I think they nailed the form and fit with both designs. If you are looking for a more technical skivvy, I would go for the Sender. I will likely reach for them when backpacking or more arduous activities than the Essential briefs, but the Essentials are super comfortable and a perfect pick for day to day wearing. You did good on these, Patagonia!

October 22, 2021

If you like extra holes

This is the pair of boxer briefs for you. I bought two pairs thinking these well made Patagonia would be comfortable and last me a while. They are comfy, but Im almost ready to throw them away after 2 years. Theyve developed random holes all over the place. My normal cheap fruit of the looms are way older but hold up much better. Take a pass on the... Read Morese

Response from Patagonia
October 27, 2021

Hi Paul, we're so sorry to hear about the disappointment with your Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6". Two years is a good go for boxer briefs, but we understand that you're unhappy with their performance so feel free to make a return or exchange, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

October 21, 2021

True to fit

Love the snug fit of the 6 boxer briefs. Legs dont ride upper with slim fitting trousers and theyve remained soft and comfy regardless of washer and dryer abuse. Ordering more Mediums to accompany my 57 162lb 30-32 waist!

October 20, 2021

Get's the job done

They feel great. Good length. They don't ride up. After several washes, they still feel great. I'd say they're a winner.

October 12, 2021

fit and pack well

they fit well and are nice for traveling.

October 5, 2021

A review in two parts

Part 1 These underwear are the finest I have ever worn. They fit like a glove, are breathable, comfortable, and never crawl. My only concern was the high price; however, it didn't take long to overcome this concern a buy another three. Part 2 (less than 6 months later) I can echo everything from Part 1, but a durability issue has come up. I ... Read Morehave worn through the fabric and have a small hole in the butt. The hole is not on a seam, it is right in the middle of the butt. It's a tough call, but don't know if the cost is worth the lack of durability.

Response from Patagonia
October 12, 2021

We appreciate your feedback on the fit, comfort, fabric and durability. Please know that your purchase is absolutely covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out for a return. We'll be happy to help!

September 30, 2021

Great boxers but they have a short useful life

The essential boxer briefs fit true to size and are a good product except for one flaw: these boxers do NOT last. The material is so thin that it begins to basically decompose and shred within 18 months. I purchased several pairs in Feb 2020 and today (9/30/21) every single pair is falling apart. The material is too thin. 1.5 years is a short use... Read Moreful life for boxers with this price tag.

September 20, 2021

THE BEST!

These are the best fitting most comfortable pair of underwear I have ever had. I think I have 3 or 4 pairs now.

September 14, 2021

The feel is something else

Great fit and the feel is fantastic.

August 21, 2021

not durable

These are very comfortable, but they are not very durable. I have purchased several of these in the past 2 years, and also have the sender boxer briefs, purchased 2 years ago. The senders are not as comfortable, but much better lasting. I have had to exchange several pairs of the essential boxer briefs because they wear out in the crotch and develo... Read Morep holes. I'll have to exchange another pair.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2021

Hello Ira, we appreciate your feedback on the durability issue with the Essential Boxer Briefs. Please note that you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any Patagonia products that you are not satisfied with.

August 18, 2021

Nice shorts, bad fly

I like everything about the shorts except one thing. The fly is difficult to use! Its hard to locate and constructed in such a way that its hard to get the the connection open. Nice material. Well constructed. Comfortable. But a bad fly negates it all for me.

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2021

Hey Mike, thanks for the review on our Essential Boxer Briefs. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with the fly opening and have passed your feedback along to our design team. If you'd like to return them, please give them a good wash before hand and begin the process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 17, 2021

Super comfortable but short lived

Possibly the most comfortable underwear fabric I've ever worn. But all six pairs suffered catastrophic holes in an inconvenient location after 20 or so wearings.

August 10, 2021

Combed polyester comfort

This combed/brushed polyester apparel has excellent wicking. The fit is snug. Design is creative.

August 2, 2021

Most Comfortable Underwear Ever, Soft and Perfect Fit

I can't get enough of these, hope Patagonia makes them forever. I beta tested 5 different brands of underwear before concluding it just doesn't get better than these for daily wear. But that's it, they are a daily wear only. There is better underwear out there for hiking and running. These tend to wear out quickly with high activity ... Read Moreuse. Again, for daily use - you can't buy better underwear, highly recommend!

August 1, 2021

They don't last long...

Bought a pair of the Essential Boxers and liked them at first, as they are quite comfortable. But they sure don't last long for the price. I think I got about 25 wears before the fabric wore through and the edging started falling off -- and that's with hang drying them (no drier). I miss Patagonia's Go To Boxers made of organic cotto... Read Moren, which seemed to last much longer. I hope they bring those back one day.

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2021

Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to write a product review for the Essential Boxer Briefs and we are so sorry to hear about your experience with the quality. This sounds like a warranty issue and we'd be glad to offer our help with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to not disappoint you in the future.

July 29, 2021

Poor Quality

These boxer briefs are perfect for about 3 months. Then they'll develop holes in the butt guaranteed. I've owned at least 6 pairs and it has happened to each one.

July 24, 2021

Poor stitching does not hold up

The stitching gave out where material meets elastic band for all pairs I purchased. Same with the stitching around the hemn of leg opening. If you're looking for high quality boxer briefs I'd say keep looking.

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Hi Mike, thank you for taking the time to write this product review and we're so sorry to hear that these didn't work out for you. We guarantee the quality and durability of all of our products so please [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these to us under our warranty at your earliest convenience. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

July 24, 2021

Great fit, and cool

Love 'em. These boxer briefs fit great and keep those hot bits cool. Moisture wicks away quickly. Liked so much I bought more!

July 20, 2021

soft but quality of the fabric is an issue

I loved the softness, but the fabric did not hold up even after a single days use. Patagonia's excellent customer service team took them back. hope they improve the quality on this line as it is the only model with a fly currently in the offering.

Response from Patagonia
July 21, 2021

Hi Pavan! Thanks for letting us know about the issues with the fabric. We've passed this along to our quality control team.

July 17, 2021

HANDS DOWN BEST BOXER BRIEFS

The best boxer briefs I have purchased many expensive ramps to see wich one I like and from every one Ive owned the best one are the Patagonia boxer briefs extremely comfortable.

July 13, 2021

Silky, comfortable

Great feel

July 13, 2021

Best boxer on the planet?

I think these are the best boxers on the planet. I can do anything in them without getting in a bind. I've worn them for years and know they will last, which is why I keep buying more after I do finally wear them out.

July 13, 2021

Great until fabric deteriorated

I loved these boxer briefs, but after a year of normal use they began wearing holes in the inner thigh and where the fabric meets the elastic waistband. Three of five pairs that I bought are suffering this fate and I can't in good conscience recommend these for the long haul, which is uncharacteristic of Patagonia gear.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thank you for this feedback, Michael! We're sorry to hear about the lack of durability in the fabric or construction. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us to return the affected pairs under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

July 12, 2021

Awesome Undies - Recent Durability Issues

I have found Patagonia's underwear to be my favorite choice over the years - historically they have been amazingly comfortable and durable along with solid prints and colors. Unfortunately the recent offerings seem to be lacking in the durability department. I ordered several pairs in 2020 and within a year all of them had worn through the fab... Read Moreric. Not what I had expected as I still have Patagonia underwear from over ten years ago that is in great shape. I'm hoping this issue is noted and resolved. Aside from this I still love the looks and the comfort.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Michael! All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and you're always welcome to return them for warranty.

July 12, 2021

Comfortable, but did not last.

Unfortunately these boxer briefs did not hold up. I bought two pair & the first pair developed a hole in the seat after 2 wears. The other pair lasted almost a year (~10 times wearing). They were very comfortable so that made me especially sad to see them have such a short life. I wont be buying these boxer briefs again.

July 7, 2021

pretty good , but not great

very comfortable, but not as durable as I had hoped.

Response from Patagonia
July 13, 2021

Hi Ira, we're sorry to hear that the Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6" aren't as durable as expected. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

July 3, 2021

My favorite briefs ever

Honestly worth every penny. Love em. Get them on sale if you want to try them out. Definitely recommend!

July 3, 2021

Patagonia Underwear is the Best

I have been wearing the mesh Patagonia underwear for years and its by far the best underwear on the market. I decided to give these a try as theyre not mesh and they did not disappoint. Perfect product.

July 2, 2021

Comfortable fit

The thigh and pouch fit works well for me. Not too tight and not too loose.

July 2, 2021

Great everyday brief!

I have finally changed out all my undies for these Patagonia briefs. Very comfortable in the right areas!

July 1, 2021

Best undies ever!

Love these undies! Comfy and supportive!

June 29, 2021

Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6"

been waring these briefs now for over a year, what a find. The most comfortable brief I've ever worn ,no binding riding up the back side, i hardly know i, wearing anything. I've converted 3 others in my shop, now a happy crew!

June 28, 2021

Great undies

Just replaced some old with new. Great underwear

June 20, 2021

Perfect

Cant say anything more. Not too snug not too loose. Soft. Comfortable I cut the tag off but please lose the tag!

June 18, 2021

Unfortunately the worst underwear Ive ever owned

I wear a lot of Patagonia products. At any given time Im probably wearing one or two and literally everything except this pair of boxers have been super high quality, which is why Im so disappointed in these. After less than a year an a half the back and seat have worn down to nothing (thats not figurative). Its never happened to me from any other ... Read Moreunderwear, including some much cheaper and about 5 years old. They were very comfortable and breathable at the beginning, but after maybe 12 months they just stared deteriorating very quickly.

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2021

Hi Benjamin, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the briefs. We definitely expect better quality out of our gear so we understand the disappointment. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 15, 2021

This is not a replacement for the capilene shorts

I have lived in the capilene shorts for years and other than the waste band wearing out they are my go to shorts at any time. I do not know why Patagonia discontinued the capilene shorts as they did help me stay cool and dry. The new ones are hot and do not wick away sweat at all. For a company that prides itself on the comfort of their customers ... Read Morethis one is a failure. As far as their other products I am still a very loyal customer and will continue to be.

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2021

Thank you for your honest feedback. You may prefer our [Men's Sender Boxer Briefs - 6"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-sender-boxer-briefs-6-inch/32545.html).

May 7, 2021

Fantastic briefs

I have always worn briefs. I hate buying underwear in general. I figured I would try the briefs of my favorite brand. What do you know, they fit great. Pretty true as to how a boxer brief should feel. Super comfortable, the waist band is really soft. I bought the 6version first, then some 3 versions and now I like them both equally. Now I have abou... Read Moret 15 pairs!

April 29, 2021

Silver Medal

6'1", 175, 32/33 waist. Medium fits really well for someone that wears 32/33 sizes in Patagonia pants/shorts. Incredibly comfortable. Don't really ride up in any kind of annoying way. Durability could be better. Have had a few pairs develop holes in much less than a year but they were replaced under warranty (Thanks Patagonia reps!) ... Read MoreWear them everyday unless I am going to be doing strenuous hiking, snowboarding, etc. Those tasks are better handled by my gold medal undies: Smartwool 150 Boxer Briefs. Just as comfortable but don't hold any kind of sweat/stank.

April 28, 2021

Super comfortable

These are the underwear that Apple would make, perfect, comfortable, simple, breathable. After buying these you can't wear your old underwear.

April 20, 2021

Comfortable not so durable

These are very comfortable, the material is thinner than I expected developed a few holes. Not as durable as I had hoped.

Response from Patagonia
April 22, 2021

We're so sorry they didn't hold up the way you expected. Please feel free to send them back for a warranty.

April 20, 2021

Comfortable

So so comfortable! I'm in love. Will definitely be getting more soon.

April 20, 2021

Here for a good time, not a long time

I love Patagonia boxers. I’ve been wearing them almost exclusively for 16 years. They are comfortable and usually last forever. Until now. I bought a pair of these thinking I would try on the new cut/style. and they fit great, are insanely comfortable and don’t bunch up. I have muscular legs so it’s not always easy to find something that fits well.... Read More I was so stoked on my boxers that I bought four more pairs. Fast forward 8 months and the tencel blend fabric is super threadbare and most of the five pairs have holes in them. I’m frustrated cause now I have to buy more boxers, and I hate to see these go to waste when I still have ancient capilene boxers that seem good as new. I think this goes against Patagonia’s ethos of making things to last. I wouldn’t really recommend these as your gonna throw away the cash you spent on them in 8 months and create more waste. But, they are hella comfy and look good.

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2021

We're really sorry to hear that these aren't lasting long for you. All of our items are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee so if you'd like to send them in for warranty evaluation we would be happy to help facilitate that for you. Please be sure to give them a good wash before sending them back. To get started on a return click [here](https://www.patagonia.ca/returns.html).

April 17, 2021

Perfect stretch and fly.

Perfect stretch and fly with the bonus of supporting Patagonia

April 15, 2021

Great except not durable

These boxers fit great and and very comfortable. I bought 4 and loved them right up until each one wore through in various spots within a 18 months of purchase and as early as 6 months in on one pair. I have chicken legs and yet somehow still opened holes on the legs of these. I wear mostly Patagonia gear because of their commitment to sustainable ... Read Moreproduction practices and would whole heartedly recommend most of my gear but these are too fragile. Having to throw them away negates the sustainable production of them by creating that much more waste.

Response from Patagonia
April 16, 2021

Thanks for the honest feedback Graham. We'll pass the info along to our design team. We guarantee everything we make so please reach out to our Customer Service team to send them back for a warranty.

April 12, 2021

Becoming my favorite boxer briefs

I have tried several premium performance underwear and Patagonia is fast becoming one of my favorites. They hold up well when doing all day wear, dry quickly when need to be washed out. Very important to me is they stay in place and dont ride up or the waist band doesnt drop. Hot times dont smell at the end of the day.

April 12, 2021

Comfortable and convenient

Comfortable fit

April 7, 2021

All day comfort with a fly!!

Bought a few pair to try out a few months ago. So comfortable I bought 9 more pair to completely replace all my other underwear!

April 2, 2021

The Awkward In-between (Purchase athletic OR casual)

There is a problem with these boxers, I wear them cause the design is SOOO GOOD (got the buffalos with the little socks). I am 6' 155 lbs with decently solid legs as a professional bike tourist. Here is the issue: These boxers are neither athletically snug nor casually relaxed. What does that mean? They ride up on your leg, and then stay the... Read Morere. I purchased the 3" instead of the 6" which is not as short as it appears. That is 3" below your crotch, which falls a little bit above where most athletic shorts cut off. My recommendation is to continue supporting Patagonia. Purchase either a brief that is purposely athletic or casual. The in-between does not work. PS: I gave this 4 stars cause the company deserve it. Truly, it would be 2-3 stars. Note: Tencil is wonderfully soft and cool.

April 1, 2021

All day comfort

Best undergarment out there! Doesn't ride up and, of course, sustainably sourced.

March 25, 2021

Best Underwear Made

The material is soooo soft and gives you a feeling that you arent even wearing anything. Super impressed with these!

March 25, 2021

Better fit than most

These are better than most boxer briefs because the legs are longer and don't ride up on you. The waistband doesn't roll over as much as other do on people like me who have some belly

March 22, 2021

Does not last very long

- After only 6 months these boxers started to fall apart. I would have expected better quality from Patagonia. + They fit well and are comfortable

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Hi there, we are so sorry to hear that these didn't last you long. We appreciate your feedback and this is not something we'd expect of our product. Please note, we have an [Iron Clad Guarantee](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) on everything we make so please feel free to reach out.

March 22, 2021

Comfy...not durable

These boxer briefs are super comfortable and I love how they fit and feel. The downside is they only last about 6 months before holes will appear (in the butt and inner thigh area). I'm aware of Patagonia's guarantee so I wash them (a few times) before exchanging them for a new pair at a store. I've gone through 3 pairs of the Patago... Read Morenia ones in less than 10 months. I have other pairs of underwear from other companies that are 2-3 years old and look brand new. Love Patagonia...they just need to make these more durable.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Hey Adam, thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are so sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced with these. We have passed along your feedback to the Design Team who constantly work to improve the quality and fit of our products. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

March 19, 2021

Super comfy

The first pair I bought were large they fit very comfortable but were too big the mediums fit me perfect at five foot nine 36 waist the negative on the underwear is that they wore holes on the inner thigh after month to a month and a half love them but have to wear them sparingly super surprised at the poor durability for a Patagonia product

Response from Patagonia
March 19, 2021

Hello Doug, we're sorry to hear these have developed holes with very minimal wear. It sounds like a warranty issue so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty.

March 17, 2021

Comfortable and Functional!

Excellent fit and feel, true to its description and provides all around comfort.

March 17, 2021

Stretch for the caboose

These are the best boxer briefs I have ever worn. Ample stretch for an athletic caboose, they keep the boys in place, and they breathe well - all without a "synthetic" feel. Extra points for the front access slot front that doesn't open accidentally.

March 16, 2021

Solid boxer brief

I bought these originally for wearing under running tights. They don't work for that purpose. At all. However, they work just fine as everyday underwear. I'm typically a medium in most Patagonia gear, but I sized up for these thinking they'd be a bit too snug. As is they're juuuust a tad roomy. Not noticeable everyday, problemat... Read Moreic running. I also bought a 3" inseam pair and would recommend those over the 6", but that's just my personal taste.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Thanks for the review! If you're still in the market for some briefs that could work under your running tights, we'd recommend checking out the [Men's Essential A/C Boxer Briefs - 6"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-essential-a-c-boxer-briefs-6-inch/32565.html?dwvar_32565_color=NENA&cgid=root).

March 15, 2021

The BEST underwear. Period.

This is the most comfortable underwear Ive ever had. Period. Im not even aware that Im wearing any underwear. One improvement, though. Fix the tag inside the underwear.

March 9, 2021

Most comfortable boxers I own

Great fit, super comfortable, and I look soooooo good in them.

March 2, 2021

Super thin and not enough material, they ride up the thigh.

I read a few reviews that promoted these briefs, and was sold on them. Im here to share my experience. I was heading out for a few days into the woods to work on a tiny cabin my wife and I are building and I purchased 5 pairs of them in time to take with me. The first day quickly turned long and uncomfortable due to how much the briefs move up, hav... Read Moreing no other options it turned into a very long and uncomfortable week. Once home and laundry done I decided to make a thorough inspection of the briefs and I found the material to be super thin, too much stretch and easy to tear. I own pairs from different brands and I can honestly say these are the worst and the most expensive.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Essential Boxers, we are sorry to hear that they did not meet your expectations. Per our Ironclad Guarantee you are more the welcome to wash and [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

February 28, 2021

Second skin

Ruined underwear for me, now I can only wear these.

February 28, 2021

A+

SUPER comfortable. Best underwear I've every owned. Would recommend to anyone.

February 27, 2021

so far so good

I'm pretty picky on my boxers, but these fit great and have been super comfy. I hope they hold up as well as some of the old essential boxer pata used to make!

February 26, 2021

Great underwear!!

These are the best underwear Ive ever owned. Soft, extremely comfortable, and breathable. These have the feel of great cotton but with dry fit of the nylon ones. I love this material. I have a bit of a dad bod but Im pretty active and I have lots of kids and these are comfortable and dry and stay in place in lots of different situations. The best s... Read Moreo far.

February 24, 2021

Love these, best underwear

I love the Essential Boxer Briefs. Im slowly transitioning all my old Hanes & Levys to these as they are so much more comfortable. And I really like the fun patterns! So far, after owning two pairs for over a year I am very pleased. Keep on rock in Patagonia.

February 23, 2021

Theres A Chance

I need all the help I can get and when I sport these boxers, she doesnt have to say it, I know theres a chance.

February 22, 2021

1.5 years after my 1st review

Gave them a 4 when I first reviewed them in July 2019 2 months after purchasing- I have to upgrade them to a 5 because of the way they've worn and how comfortable they remain (if not even more so). My only complaint at the time was how quickly they dried and after wearing them for every activity imaginable, I think they're every bit as go... Read Moreod as any Patagonia underwear I've worn previously and I go back a long way....

February 22, 2021

Super Comfy

Honestly the most comfortable underwear I have ever worn, I recommend them to all my friends, cozy but not too tight on the undercarriage, and silky smooth.

February 18, 2021

Comfortable yet weak

These are super comfortable and very well fitting. They perform well in extreme heat. But... I have washed them once since getting them and they are piling as if they are 3 years old. I followed the care instructions as always and I hang dried. Not sure how long these will actually last

February 9, 2021

Best boxers briefs

After trying almost any (known) brand out there, these underwear, are by far the most comfortable ones. Excellent quality and all day comfort, without the need of fixing it or messing with it

January 24, 2021

Decent quality, loose fit

Thus far, Ive been impressed by the quality of these. However, I wear a 34/32 in pants and I followed the size guide and ordered a size large. They are definitely a bit loose in the legs and the waistband. I would like to try a size medium, but I dont want to go through the hassle of buying them and returning, so Im kinda stuck. Good product just b... Read Moree wary of the sizing.

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Thank you for the review! If you live near one of our store locations, it would be easy to do a swap out, just be sure to give them a good wash before. Check out our store locations [here](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/).

January 19, 2021

Perfection

They don't ride up or bunch, the waist band doesn't dig in over the day or roll down, they feel supportive but breathable, and never restricting. I cannot speak highly enough about these. Time will tell how long they last through weeks of wear and wash, but I trust Patagonia on that front. As it stands I plan to buy no other kind of under... Read Morewear for the rest of my days.

January 14, 2021

essential boxer briefs

Super soft and great fit. I hope they last the test of time. My wife complements them too!

January 1, 2021

Secretly, The New Standard

Like a lot of men, I have a drawerful of warn-out CK boxer-briefs that I'd like to replace/upgrade from. That said, I've found that underwear is something for which it is as hard as anything else for me find a good personal fit (which is to say, pretty darn hard) I was listening to a menswear podcast and a gentleman who runs a national cl... Read Moreothing brand mentioned that he had his luggage lost and picked up a pair of these boxer briefs and was really impressed with their quality. After trying a few other leading recommended options in the marketplace, I gave a shot to these. They're really really good. The fit is great, the feel is great - I don't know why there aren't more people proclaiming these to be the new gold standard.

December 15, 2020

Great boxers with Durability Issues

These are about as good as they get in terms of comfort. I have 4 pairs of these. They fit perfectly and are really soft. However, one pair have disintegrated in a span of 8 months. I noticed the material thinning out and they have fallen apart since. I'm hoping this doesn't happen with the rest I have.

December 6, 2020

Huge design flaw - do not buy

These could be perfect but they have a huge design flaw....The inner thigh left and right sides use a very thin fabric that gets destroyed from light wear. The fabric pulls apart from the seams and creates large holes. I have had this happen on 3 pairs now, all the exact same hole. I wore them very casually, washed on cold, never ran them in a drye... Read Morer. If the fabric was thicker or stronger these would be great. This is the only Patagonia product I would avoid purchasing.

Response from Patagonia
January 7, 2021

We're sorry to hear you're having this issue. All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so please reach out to our customer service team to set up a warranty evaluation.

December 4, 2020

Comfortable

I bought 2 pairs to try then out and I am switching all my underwear to Patagonia

December 2, 2020

Soft and comfortable

The best underwear Ive worn. They are soft, and comfortable. They breathe well and dont bunch. I highly recommend!

November 27, 2020

Comfortable but not durable

These are super comfy and fit well but after only owning them for a couple of months they are already falling apart. For the price I was expecting to get at least a year out of them.

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2020

Thank you for taking a moment to submit this valuable feedback, David! We're sorry that the durability is disappointing. Please reach out to us to return them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee).

November 24, 2020

Not up to Patagonias standards

I bought these trying to be conscious of environmental impact and hoping that they would be like most Patagonia gear long lasting. Unfortunately of the six pairs I bought 4 of them have ripped within the first 6 months. I contacted Patagonia and they exchanged the first pair, I didnt bother with the ensuing ones as it defeated my purpose of reducin... Read Moreg my waste. There is something wrong with the design and they dont last as long as cheaper boxers.

November 21, 2020

Out standing garment

Congratulations!! This is the first time I have found boxer briefs that are anatomically/designed/made to fit the male body! What an unexpected surprise to find Patagonia is the source, but why not, as Patagonia has such quality merchandise. Purchased 7 pair and will continue to do so and recommend. Thank you - thank you!!! If Patagonia decides to ... Read Moreuse the recommendation review I submitted, please do not give out my name. Fred

November 15, 2020

best I ever had

These are the best fitting and moat comfortable underwear I've ever experienced. The fit is firm and gentle with fabric so soft you forget it's there.

November 12, 2020

Very soft and comfortable

Admittedly these boxer briefs are not inexpensive, but they sure are soft, comfortable and of excellent quality. They fit my 6/180# frame perfectly.

November 9, 2020

Comfortable but not durable

Easily the most comfortable underwear Ive worn. I bought 6 pair, after a month or two each pair had developed a small hole. By 9 months they each have enormous holes and are unwearable. For comparison my military underwear I replaced with these were less comfortable by lasted 6 years without developing holes, and those cost $5 per pair.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2020

Hi Josh! We're truly sorry to hear that these developed holes within 9 months and are unwearable. This should not be happening so feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these under warranty and if you have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team.

November 4, 2020

Wear all day

Comfortable in multiple settings, office, home, or a hike. I wear them all day, and they stay comfortable.

November 4, 2020

love these

look good and feel good

October 31, 2020

Wears out quickly

Not worth the money. Wears out quickly. Big hole in the leg within two months.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

We're sorry to hear that these boxer briefs were a disappointment, Brad. Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team for assistance.

October 31, 2020

Instant Favorite!

These fit perfectly and are extremely soft.

October 28, 2020

Super cool

I love the product. It fits perfectly and feels super comfortable. I will order them a size smaller. Even through the legs and support are just the right fit, the waist is big and loose.

October 15, 2020

HOLEY BUM

hole next to the bum line within two months of wear.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2020

Hi Matthew, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with Men's Essential Boxer Briefs. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

October 11, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

For sizing, I am 5'6" 215lbs (no judging, I'm working on it lol) with a 36" waist and these fit perfect. I cannot speak to the performance end of the spectrum as I have a knee injury that prevents me from doing any extremely strenuous activity, but from a normal activity level, walking, sitting on a leather chair for hours playi... Read Moreng video games, and small hikes with the kids, these perform amazingly. I do not have much experience underwear, I've always just bought the cheap stuff that did the job, but I can tell you that this has the "It" factor. Trying them on for the first time, I felt cooling I've never felt before, just sitting on the couch. They are extremely comfortable. They wick away moisture and do an amazing of cooling the important bits. They feel like a soft, barely noticeable, barrier that I didn't know I was missing. I highly recommend these to anyone looking for a comfortable, moisture wicking, pair of underwear. Again I cannot speak to high exertion activities, but so far they have done the job perfectly for the limited activities I can do. PS...the ONLY reason these are not a 5 star (I can't give a 4.9) is because the tag is long and contacts the back left butt cheek, which does produce an annoying itch from time to time. Anyone that has worn tagged underwear will know what I'm talking about. However, having said that...it is not to the point of being noticeable during most occasions and only rears it's ugly head from time to time. If Patagonia wants to improve on this, the only thing I can think of is going tagless. And honestly, you can just cut the tag off to bypass that little complaint. PSS...if anyone is wondering the difference between the Essential and the Sender as I was before I bought them at REI...the Sender is the more performance oriented underwear, with slightly less emphasis placed on comfort and more placed on breathability while the Essential line is more concentrated on comfort. Both do a fantastic job of wicking moisture, however Sender likely does a better job at that, while feeling slightly less comfortable against the skin. Essential feels like smooth butter, while sender feels like a nice, synthetic moisture wicking fabric...if that makes sense.

September 29, 2020

These are the boxer briefs you are looking for...

Around 15 years ago, I bought a pair of Patagonia boxer briefs that I absolutely loved. They were the perfect boxer briefs and I should have bought a few more pairs. They eventually became so torn I was forced to retire them. So, I went on the search for a replacement. I've tried every style Patagonia makes and these are my favorites. Even for... Read More high-output activities like mountain biking, I prefer these over the Senders (which are supposed to be more performance-oriented but in my experience ride up your leg more and just don't feel as comfy as the essentials). I've worn these snowboarding, hiking, cycling, you name it - and they just feel great.

September 25, 2020

Most comfortable thing ever!

I honestly cannot believe just how amazing these feel. They fit fantastic! So glad I found them!

September 6, 2020

Awesome in hot weather

Best underwear period. In hot weather they still keep things cool.

September 6, 2020

Just right

These get used for everything - backpacking to work meetings. Comfy and light.

September 6, 2020

Comfortable

Very soft and comfortable. They dont run up your leg like other briefs do.

September 6, 2020

Best so far

I tried multiple underwear brands at once (meundies, CK, etc), the 6 pategonia are my favorites.

September 5, 2020

Great

I use these for about everything- really comfortable. You can wear for a few days without issue if needed, and they clean really easily. Several months in and some slight fading is the only wear Ive noticed. But who cares, a few actual washes in they get really comfortable. The black pair took a few more washes than the other couple I purchased to ... Read Morereally lock in

September 5, 2020

Super comfy

Super comfy, fun pattern, good fit.

September 5, 2020

Great product

These are my go-to underwear, and I buy a pair or two whenever they go on sale no matter how silly the pattern might be. (Ive been married for so long Im not trying to impress anyone with how cool my underwear look not that these dont look plenty cool.)

September 5, 2020

Great fit, support and comfort.

Nice quality underwear. Fit is spot on. Provides excellent support. Washes well and retains shape. Will buy more.

September 4, 2020

Gf likes em

I thought they would be a cool and comfortable additive to my garment collection, and my girlfriend thought they were as well !!!

September 4, 2020

very comfortable boxers

very comfortable to wear. Only concern I have is the tag can be twisted and uncomfortable.

September 3, 2020

Silky smooth

Really nice material. All-day comfort. Just too big. Supposed to be 34-36 (Im a 34) and these are probably perfect for the 35-36 crowd.

September 3, 2020

Nice undies

I like them, but they fit a tiny bit loose (I just followed the size guide) and the tag is in an annoying place that scratches. Nothing a sharp knife wont fix, but I wish it werent there.

September 2, 2020

Excellent fit and moisture management

Supportive and soft with an excellent fit. Material does a great job of moving moisture from the skin side to outer layers of clothing.

September 1, 2020

Very comfortable

Great underwear!

August 28, 2020

Not durable

Generally feels good, but Ive only had for a few months and they are tearing out in the seat. The fabric seems a little thin. Tore one pair open rafting while shifting around in the row seat. Tore the next pair biking around town. So nothing extreme as far as use goes. I generally have a great respect for Patagonia products and I hate short life pr... Read Moreoducts. I think Patagonia is usually way better than this product performed. If you are interested in these I would recommend something more durable instead, else you might find yourself a bit more exposed than youd expected.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Thanks for giving us this feedback on our Patagonia Men's Essential Boxer Briefs - 6". We're sorry to hear you have experienced some durability issues, and we've passed this information on to the appropriate team. In the meantime, if you are interested, both of your torn briefs are eligible for warranty coverage and return. To get the return process started, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 14, 2020

Very Comfortable Underwear

Quite possibly the best mens underwear on the planet. Flexible, great against the skin, not too tight, not too loose, holds things where the should be without pinch, launders up great. Forget that I have them on most of the time. Great product from Patagonia. I now have a drawer full!

August 14, 2020

Zero durability

First off- I love Patagonia clothing. And I have Capilene long underwear that has lasted me over 20 years! But I purchased 5 pairs of this (very pricey) underwear in hopes that it would be the best I could find! Fit- perfect! Comfort- awesome! But then I found out that with less than regular wear and a couple launderings (as per care instructions o... Read Moren the garment itself) that 3 of the 6 pair I bought already have worn through/out and developed holes. Due to Covid- we arent even hiking at my work like I normally would- and these underwear couldnt even hold up to sitting around. Absolutely the worst quality control and durability on any underwear Ive ever owned. Which is a shame because theyre so comfy. 1 Star.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2020

Hi Travis! We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review about your experience. We were very sorry to hear that your briefs have started to wear out after such little time and use. This is not quality that we expect out of our gear so we've reached out to you directly with further assistance.

July 22, 2020

MUGA

In an effort to MAKE UNDERWEAR GREAT AGAIN, Patagonia has nailed it. These rule. The 6 are a perfect fit with keeping everything snug, but comfortable. So so soft and breathable and good for just about every activity (except skinny dipping).

July 21, 2020

Very comfortable but not for long

I tried a pair of these and loved them. They were a more comfortable material and fit than my previous favorite (ExOfficio). I bought 5 pairs and really liked everything about them but due to the thin fabric that makes them so comfortable they began to get holes worn in them after 5 or 6 months. Disappointed with the quality for that price.

July 19, 2020

not long lasting

The rest of my underwear is synthetic Patagonia boxers that are at least 10-12 years old and still going strong. But I was pleased to see these come out in a natural fabric. Unfortunately after about two years they are already beginning to rip in multiple places, so I think there's more research to be done here. And I know Patagonia will crack... Read More it.

July 18, 2020

Super soft, but the non-tear-away tag is a crime against underwear design

Please Patagonia, please!!! Change the care label to either a printed one or tear-away! I love your products but spending 10 minutes to try to unravel the stitching to remove a non-tear-away tag is not part of a great "unboxing" experience.

July 17, 2020

Light, Breathable, Roomy

Purchased size L with a 34in waist and seemed to run a bit large. Waistband is not as tight hugging as I would have expected. Would recommend a M size for anyone with a 34in waist or smaller to get a snug fit. Would like to see more variety in graphics and options, especially in the shorter length version of the 6in briefs. Overall very soft, breat... Read Morehable, and comfortable. Will be purchasing more if they go on sale!

July 14, 2020

Yes, but!

Great quality! Soft and very comfortable. The label inside is very annoying and hard to remove. I wish it was printed or an easy removable label. Got few pairs, all consistent with sizing and quality

July 13, 2020

Love them

Bought these for my bf, he's 6'0, 180lbs, athletic build. I bought him a medium, and they're his fav underwear. Super soft.

July 13, 2020

Amazing

Best underwear ever

July 13, 2020

Comfortable

Best boxer briefs in the game

July 13, 2020

The best

I have five pairs of these, it's basically all I wear. I've tried many different types and brands of underwear only to wish that I had tried these sooner. They are soft, fit just right, and super comfortable. I wear them casually, but can also wear them on runs or when active. I ended up cutting the tags our of all of my pairs, which have... Read More improved how they feel as well.

July 13, 2020

Excellent

Best pair of boxers I own!

July 13, 2020

super comfortable, but starting to fray!

These are by far my most comfortable and breathable underwear. That said, they are starting to fray at the seam in the crotch, after only a month of ownership. I've worn them for work, mountain biking, bike commuting, swimming (after work and biking), and running. I'm hard on clothes, but was hoping they would hold up a bit longer.

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2020

Hi Michael, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the seams are fraying after just one month. This is definitely covered under warranty so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them for a new pair.

July 10, 2020

Love them

Bought these for my bf, he's 6'0, 180lbs, athletic build. I bought him a medium, and they're his fav underwear. Super soft.

July 10, 2020

Amazing

Best underwear ever

July 10, 2020

Comfortable

Best boxer briefs in the game

July 9, 2020

The best

I have five pairs of these, it's basically all I wear. I've tried many different types and brands of underwear only to wish that I had tried these sooner. They are soft, fit just right, and super comfortable. I wear them casually, but can also wear them on runs or when active. I ended up cutting the tags our of all of my pairs, which have... Read More improved how they feel as well.

July 9, 2020

Excellent

Best pair of boxers I own!

July 4, 2020

Follow Up Essential Boxer Brief Review

Pros: The most comfortable boxer briefs ever. Cons: Material appears to not be a as durable as it use to be. I am a long time Patagonia advocate. I love the mission, the material sourcing and all the good that comes with the generous guarantee. It does feel like maybe the clothing isn't as "bombproof" anymore due to all the changes ... Read Morein how the material is sourced? Or perhaps the types of material now being used? I am not an expert textile sourcer, so I am just guessing. I have 3 pairs of these essential boxer briefs. The first pair my wife bought me from our local gear shop because my other brand X under garments needed replacing. Theses underwear were love at first fit. 4 months in with handwashing, line drying I thought I had put them on backwards since they looked so worn out. Now, the material towards the inside leg area has sprouted holes away from the stitching on both legs and the stitching is coming undone. ¯\_()_/¯ I know there are a ton of variables to consider. But for what it's worth, the stuff just doesn't seem to be made as well.

July 2, 2020

Not well made

For the price of these boxer breifs I am surprised how quickly they developed a hole and started getting thin. It took about 4 months of irregular wear to develop a whole.

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Hi William! Thanks for sharing your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the hole that developed in your boxer briefs. Please note, your purchase is protected under our Ironclad Guarantee. You are welcome to initiate an online return here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html. Alternatively, our Customer Service team would be happy to assist you via phone at 800-638-6464 or with our Live Chat feature on Patagonia.com. Representatives are available M-F 6:00-6:00 PST or on weekends from 7:00-3:00 PST.

June 28, 2020

Just What I Need

Soft, comfortable fit, I've got a couple pairs. I've some others that ride up my thighs, I've got bigger thighs, but these stay in place all day no matter the activity.

June 26, 2020

So comfortable - best underwear ever

These dont ride up. They are super comfortable. They are everything I have wanted in a boxerbrief. I didn't know underwear could be this great! They are perfect for casual wear, but I often work out in them and they stay pretty dry if you're working out for 45 minutes or less. If you are doing long sessions, probably best to stick to sh... Read Moreorts with liners or some wicking materials.

June 26, 2020

ESSENTIAL BOXER 6"

Other than running a little large, they are comfortable and well made. Next time I'll try a medium.

June 25, 2020

Very Comfortable

I love these underwear! They are the most comfortable Ive ever had. The only problem is that I need more!

June 25, 2020

Most Comfortable

The single most comfortable pair of underwear I've put on

June 25, 2020

Nice material runs large

Havent had these for too long but right out of the bag they felt way too big for mediums. I own multiple other pairs of Patigonia boxer briefs and medium is always my size, the waist band feels like a large and then some in both of the mediums of this style I got. Im 6ft 175 athletic and my old mediums are still perfect. Material wise these feel gr... Read Moreeat and dry nice.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

Hi Brett, thank you for writing us a review! We're sorry to hear that the sizing was off on the boxers. We truly appreciate the feedback as its crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 23, 2020

Great comfort and fit

I really like the comfort and feel of these Boxer briefs. They maintain me nice and cool and wick away sweat pretty well. All day comfort is great and have bought several them already and plan to buy more. I wear the mostly for hiking but have begun using them for everyday wear as they are extremely comfortable. I do prefer the 3 inch inseam length... Read More and hope they bring more colors in that size.

June 21, 2020

Great true base layer

Great fit and given that its not loose fitting its great in long duration wet conditions without chaffing... My favorite underwear.

June 19, 2020

Best Patagonia Underwear Yet

I love this Tencel fabric and the fit is mostly nice; great for athletics. My favorite Patagonia underwear of any kind, and I've been buying/wearing Patagonia boxers and variations of underwear for 20 years. If I want a little more loose, the boxers are better, but these boxer briefs usually feel great. I run in them if I am wearing shorts tha... Read Moret do not already have a built-in brief liner.

June 19, 2020

Comfy but not durable

Bought two pairs of these last summer and unfortunately had to retire both of them this spring. Large holes appeared in both pairs with normal wear. Wish they were more durable because they were very comfortable.

June 19, 2020

easy fit and soft material

Love my boxers fit and soft material. A must have!

June 18, 2020

Very comfortable and soft

Nothing more comfortable to wear underneath your clothes than these boxers

June 17, 2020

(almost) perfect boxer briefs

My boyfriend loves these boxer briefs! He wants to wear them everyday so he needs to get more. Pros: length, fit, material, prints/design Cons: decided to cut the tag out. In the scheme of things, not a big deal. Perhaps the tag can be printed onto the fabric instead of having a physical tag..

June 17, 2020

comfy underwear

These are very comfortable and light fitting. I do not like tight fitting anything, so I get large and hardly even notice I am wearing. Actually feel good while mountain biking, though have not used on a long, technical ride as yet. Great for backcountry skiing and hiking.

June 17, 2020

Perfect fit and fabric

I'm a devoted Patagonia underwear-er, and these are the best pair I've ever had. The fabric is soft, without feeling flimsy. Strong recommend.

June 17, 2020

Great true base layer

Great fit and given that its not loose fitting its great in long duration wet conditions without chaffing... My favorite underwear.

June 17, 2020

Material

Good underwear, very comfortable but easy to get lint after Just one wash.

June 17, 2020

Stupid comfy

These are by far the most breathable undies Ive ever owned. They hug the body, but not the boys - perfect design. I own three of these now, will continue buying when I see em on sale!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches