Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 40 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Merino Shirt

4.7/5
November 20, 2021

Wonderful!

This is my 2nd cap cool merino. I love the fit, the length, & the softness. I will get lots of wear out of it I hope, as a first layer under a fleece or sweater. Plan to get more colors

November 16, 2021

Very pretty and useful

I bought an XL because I wanted a loose fit and some room for accidentally shrinking it. The fabric is so lovely it looks great even though it is a little big. I wore this on a weekend to the city- wore it in a bistro and went running later. Layers great with super thin capilene underneath for extra warmth. Havent washed it yet.

November 15, 2021

Just right!

I was concerned it would be itchy- I have a hard time with wool. No problems!

November 11, 2021

Looks nice feels great

I love merino and this one is great.

November 11, 2021

So comfortable

Its the perfect weight and size for me. Delightful!

November 5, 2021

Just Right

I can wear this in both 70 degree weather, then go for a run in the evening at 50 degrees and stay dry. This keeps me the perfect temp all day during the seasons where it is warm during the day and cool at night. Please make more in more neutral colors! White, gray, or beige would be awesome!

October 30, 2021

LS capilene cool merino

This is 2nd one and I wear it as a base layer When the the weather turns warm you can wear it alone Great shirt and very comfortable

October 25, 2021

Cozy Baselayer

This shirt is cozy and lightweight. It keeps me warm without adding a lot of bulk. I bought it to wear hiking, but its so soft and cozy Im choosing it on lazy days too.

October 24, 2021

Light, Warm Merino Wool

As other posters have mentioned, this is a thin, light merino shirt (I have both the long sleeve and the short sleeve versions). Because it is on the thinner side, I do imagine that some of the lighter colors are see-through...this isn't a problem with the black color, and since I wear it running, hiking or under longer sleeve shirts, the see ... Read Morethrough nature of the lighter colors (yes, I have more than one!) isn't a problem for me. Like all things merino, these shirts absorb sweat well, and don't stink - even after a week+ camping and hiking on the AT. It also holds its shape well - it doesn't stretch out. I've taken it on travel and been able to wash it out in the hotel sink - and had it dry by AM. I do wash these in a delicate bag and hang to dry - I do wear them quite a bit and they look like new. As far as length goes, these hit below the hip - if you plan on carrying a pack with a waist belt, that means it's long enough to not get caught in the belt and ride up - so it stays put throughout the hike. I've also thrown one of these on underneath a blazer in a pinch while on travel, and been able to pull off a more casual work look. If you're looking for a thinner merino shirt (short or long sleeve), I highly recommend these - wash with care and they'll last! Highly recommend!

October 22, 2021

Love!

As other posters have mentioned, this is a thin, light merino shirt (I have both the long sleeve and the short sleeve versions). Because it is on the thinner side, I do imagine that some of the lighter colors are see-through...this isn't a problem with the black color, and since I wear it running, hiking or under longer sleeve shirts, the see ... Read Morethrough nature of the higher colors (yes, I have more than one!) like the jellyfish yellow isn't a problem for me. Like all things merino, these shirts absorb sweat well, and don't stink - even after a week+ camping and hiking on the AT. It also holds its shape well - it doesn't stretch out. I've taken it on travel and been able to wash it out in the hotel sink - and had it dry by AM. I do wash these in a delicate bag and hang to dry - I do wear them quite a bit and they look like new. As far as length goes, these hit below the hip - if you plan on carrying a pack with a waist belt, that means it's long enough to not get caught in the belt and ride up - so it stays put throughout the hike. I've also thrown one of these on underneath a blazer in a pinch while on travel, and been able to pull off a more casual work look. If you're looking for a thinner merino shirt (short or long sleeve), I highly recommend these - wash with care and they'll last!

October 14, 2021

Keeps you cool & warm simultaneously

I was hesitant to buy this top because it is a mixture of the capilene and merino wool, but it has performed better than expected. The only complaint I have is that it starts out being too long and then after one or two washes in cold water and line drying, the top is now almost too short. Not sure where to find the happy medium, but maybe the stru... Read Morecture needs some refining.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Pamela. You can try what's called blocking, where you lay it flat after washing and stretch it to it's original shape to dry.

October 6, 2021

Perfect shoulder-season running shirt

This shirt is the bestwarm when its cool outside and cool when its warm outside. I wear it for running and it keeps me temperate and my sweat situation manageable. The medium is kinda big (I dont understand Patagonia sizing, particularly when it comes to arm length), but I purchased a M bc my other Patagonia shirts in S are too short in the torso a... Read Morend sleeves. I purchased two of these shirts and exchanged one for a small. The small is better for someone with my build (runners body, kinda a big chest), esp for running, but ymmv.

September 15, 2021

Bring Back Cool Daily

I looove the cool daily shirts. I did not buy the cool daily for the UPF rating and would buy cool daily again knowing of the voluntary recall. The Cool Merino runs slightly smaller than Cool Daily and is not as soft and the neckline is tighter. I wish I had tried the Cool Merino in store bf buying online. Im returning the purchase -the material i... Read Mores too clingy and scratchy, not at all buttery smooth like the daily and not worth it for the price and reported poor wear (w pack).

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Heidi! We hope to have the Cap Cool Daily back in 2022 sometime.

September 15, 2021

Great fit.

Great shirt. Cool in warm weather. Love the cuffed sleeves. Will be nice for winter as it has some merino wool

September 10, 2021

Love this merino shirt

This is one of two shirts in my backpack on a 7 day trek. It is fabulous and dries quickly when washed. Happy merino is back!

September 4, 2021

Versatile, no stink, but fragile shirt

I traded in my tropic sun hoodie for this shirt on a whim before starting the John Muir Trail in August this year. I ended up wearing this longsleeve merino blend capilene cool shirt every single day of a 21 day hiking trip because it was that great - decent sun protection, excellent temperature control, and no stink at all. I only rinsed it out a ... Read Morefew times in a couple of lakes, but otherwise it was fine and did not smell even after long days hiking and no true wash for the whole time. However, my one complaint about the shirt is that it is a bit fragile. It held up to my backpack no problem and did not really pill, but it quickly developed several small holes where my arms rubbed my sides on the hike. I would love to own more of these shirts, but I can't justify given the price and the fact that the one I do have is disintegrating and I've only owned it for about 5 weeks and run it through a washing machine only once! These are not moth holes, and are not where I caught it on something - just from normal wear.

Response from Patagonia
September 14, 2021

Hi Laura! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the shirt developed holes after such little time. That definitely sounds like a warranty related issue so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to us.

August 27, 2021

Perfect lightweight versatile layer

This shirt is the perfect lightweight versatile layer for the "shoulder seasons" in Vermont where it's cool in the mornings and evenings but warms up during the day. This shirt keeps me warm in cooler temps, but the wicking wool fabric keeps me cool when the temps warm up midday. It's also a great layering piece. The wool fabric... Read More is so soft and the color is really flattering.

August 20, 2021

Super cooling

Does an excellent job of both sun protection and cooling. Wore it first time for a 24 hour event that was in the 90's during day. Did an excellent job of managing body temperature and wicking away perspiration. Runs a tiny bit short in the sleeves (medium for 5'9")

August 15, 2021

Love this merino t-shirt

I absolutely was thrilled with this t-shirt. It fits well and feels great. Only problem is that material is very thin and my finger poked a hole right through the first time I put it on. ;-(( Otherwise, I highly recommend.

July 29, 2021

Perfect base layer for the Alaskan summer!

I purchased this shirt as a base layer for a trip to the Kenai Peninsula and Denali. It was comfortable in temperatures from 40F (with a vest and jacket) up to 70+F and did a great job at sun protection. It was also super soft!

July 26, 2021

Soft, light, but shrunk a bit.

I really liked this shirt at first, it's lightweight, breathable, soft, and lovely color. I washed/dried it a couple times and now it is way too small. It fit perfect when I received it, so maybe order one size up to account for shrinkage. I'll be gifting this to a friend since I can't wear it anymore.

Response from Patagonia
July 28, 2021

Thanks for reaching out Autumn. We're so sorry to hear your shirt didn't work perfectly for you. Merino wool can always experience some shrinkage if washed in hot water or tumble dried on high. We're happy to go over product care with you for any future purchases.

July 6, 2021

Wool is wonderful!

I have two of these and I only got them because I couldnt get more of the Capilene Cool shirts locally - but now these are my favorites. I actually sleep in these shirts in Houston, Texas in the summer (a/c + ceiling fan = cold arms at 3 am) but I also plan to wear them as a base layer during our cool winters. Very lightweight. I ordered up (M) fro... Read Morem my normal size (S) to get a looser fit and they are perfect for my needs. I am biased because I am a knitter, but wool really is the best!

June 28, 2021

Comfortable, soft, just the right weight

Bought 2 of these to wear as a light layer for running. Took them on a camping trip and basically never took them off. Hiking, running, lounging, on the drive home. Love them. Will buy more if/when these wear out.

June 14, 2021

Almost perfect.

Years ago Patagonia made an awesome part wool v-neck baselayer. It pilled a bit but was otherwise excellent. They were only available a couple years. I still have three, the worn wear guys stitched one for me a couple years ago. Now, this is the next generation: wool + capilene. I love that there is a long sleeve option. Nice hand, soft against the... Read More skin, nice drape. I'm 5'11" and 160 lbs and buy an extra large so it is roomy and long enough in the arm. I think I'd of had some room even in the Large. A little bit of static cling comes along with this but not a deal breaker. Love the split hem. I'm on the fence with the neckline and the finishing of the arms at the wrist. Would prefer no cuffs. But I'm going to buy another - waiting to see some new colors first...

June 2, 2021

Runs really large

Very lightweight and breathable. The light blue color is extremely sheer and more of a light blue-ish grey. I feel this runs 1-1.5 sizes large. Too loose for my liking, but if I sized down, I'm afraid the arms will be too short for my taste. I wore this while road biking with a vest and I was very comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2021

Thanks for the review! We would be happy to send over some measurements to you to see if a size down would work. Please reach out to our customer service team [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

June 2, 2021

So beautiful

I got my package today, try them on it was so comfortable and nice I am in love. I brought two one short sleeve and other long sleeve. Patagonia never disappointed me so far. I am 54 and 140lb I order medium it fits me perfectly.

May 18, 2021

Very comfy and breathable

I've only worn this twice so far as a light weight base layer under a sweater and it is very comfortable and warm but not too warm, it's kind of a "fall and early spring" base. I can't wear it as a normal shirt at work because you can see my bra underneath but I expect to wear it as such while camping and wearing a sports b... Read Morera.

May 11, 2021

Year Round Comfort

I love this shirt. Sizing, sleeve length, & fabric. I want a drawer full. I bought the black. The nights are cool here in New Mexico, even in the summer, & I plan to wear this a lot, especially to the local brewery!:). Will buy more when there are more color options.

May 9, 2021

sophisticated and well made

Crazy about this fabric! I have one capilene cool merino top in each style now. I wear the long sleeve for early morning hiking, running, cycling. It feels great, really elegant cuts, and so far very durable. I have processed up to a ml of water (ok, perspiration) through this shirt in a single day and it just continues to perform without trapping ... Read Moremeddlesome microbes. I try to air dry but I have accidentally thrown it in the dryer without any noticeable repercussions. I hope Pat continues to innovate in this area--capilene and performance materials for hot weather--and subsequently offer more options. This entire spring/summer merino line is a solid investment as temps continue to climb.

May 9, 2021

Amazing shirt

I decided to splurge for the merino shirts after loving the capilene cool shirts. These are next level; the fit is true to size, color is lovely. The weight of the material is light enough for me to wear on a warm day's bike commute, but when layered upon keeps me warm. Special effects: it handles underarm odor extremely well.

May 7, 2021

Great material, comfy

I love the fabric and wear the shirt as a layer while biking or by itself while working at my desk.

May 4, 2021

Great Purchase

This shirt is one of my favorite Patagonia purchases. It is lightweight, comfortable and provides a balance of casual wear and active wear. Makes for a great base layer or single layer. Highly recommend.

April 27, 2021

Cool Merino Long Sleeve Shirt

Great shirt but would like sleeves to be 1-2 inches longer.

April 25, 2021

All weather first layer

I love all my old Patagonia capilene tops but some have worn out so I am replacing----at first I missed that old slippery feel but now I love this one and just bought my second. It is year round first layer in San Francisco and washes beautifully.

April 23, 2021

The Perfect Shirt

I have worn this shirt for several different outdoor activities that worked up a sweat and stayed comfortable all day. The best part was the shirt smelled just as good at the end of the day as it did in the beginning. Beautiful blue color and feels great on!

April 10, 2021

So comfy and soft! And not stinky ...

What I haven't liked about Capilene before is the way it holds smells. But this part-wool shirt does not have that problem. It's elegant and functional and oh so comfortable. I wear it alone for morning runs and it adjusts to my body temp, keeping me warm at the start but not overheated after the first mile with the sun coming up. Exactly... Read More what I was looking for.

April 7, 2021

Super comfortable and comfortable

My wife loves this new top. The color is beautiful mauve color. It fits so well and the size is perfect. On cool mornings she layers it under a fleece vest, its a great long sleeved top.

April 4, 2021

Soft, warm and super comfy

Soft, warm and super comfy. I've barely taken this off since I bought it. I'm 5'4 and 120lbs and this fits perfectly. Love it so much I will purchase in other colors.

April 2, 2021

Poor quality

This top was made with thin flimsy material. It was very long and tight fitting. After purchasing many consistent size small products, I was shocked with this piece. Very sorry to have to return it!

Response from Patagonia
April 5, 2021

Hi Cathleen, thank you for your review! We are very sorry to hear the material and sizing were not what you expected. The fabric blend of 65% RWS-certified merino wool and 35% recycled polyester is designed to be soft while still providing its technical performance in a slim fit style. Please know, we are always happy to provide with exact measurements along with information on performance fabrics to ensure you are comfortable and confident in your next purchase. Feel free to [contact](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) us for any assistance on your return if you haven't already.

March 17, 2021

Perfect weight and fit

I was looking for something to wear under my Nano vest and this is perfect. The color is true to the picture and the fit is spot on. Bought it last minute for a camping trip to Joshua Tree and I think this will be perfect for the mild days and chilly nights.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches