Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Retro Pile Fleece Vest

Write Your Review

4.73 /5

Filter Reviews

All 48 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Retro Pile Fleece Vest

4.73
Kinda Small
December 26, 2020

Great gift

I bought this for a gift for my husband. Fits perfectly and the quality is excellent. And both of us like the color. Its a really nice addition to his casual wear.

December 23, 2020

Soft and comfy

I purchased this mainly to wear indoors over a long sleeved shirt on those cool winter days. Its great for that purpose! Ive also found myself wearing it outdoors for walks and hikes much more than I thought I would. Its super soft and comfortable. Im 6 2, 175 lbs and always have trouble deciding on Patagonia Medium or Large. I went large on this o... Read Morene, and Im glad I did. Its a tad big, but from past experience, I think the medium would have been too constricting. Quite happy with this purchase.

December 17, 2020

Warm and cozy

I like the feel and weight of this vest. It is soft and layers under a jacket or over a sweatshirt. It is a good color. I think I will like it when I walk my dog or am just hanging out in the house.

December 15, 2020

Patagonia has done it AGAIN!

Great product to keep you comfortable in several different climates. I wear this to walk the dog, colder day in my office, chilly golfing day, you get it this product is multi-functional. Buy it you cant go wrong. Enjoy!

December 12, 2020

Great vest

This is the second time Im bought this vest. I bought it the first time for my daughter last Christmas and her father liked it so much I bought it for him this year. We love shopping at Patagonia. Great product and great service.

December 10, 2020

Warm

This is a mens vest and I got xxs and fits perfect !

December 8, 2020

Good looking and cozy

I ordered this vest in an extra small which fit ok over a light weight turtle neck. I decided to exchange it for a small to give me a little more room to put a fleece or medium weight sweat shirt underneath. I still havent received the small. It has been a couple weeks and I thought it would be here by now.

December 8, 2020

Warm but Terrible for Pilling!

I have 1/2 dozen Patagonia vests two of which are Men's Retro Pile Fleece Vests. After only light wear, they look horrible and have now been relegated to the back of the closet (or non-public facing). I'd be embarrassed to wear either in public!

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2021

We're so sorry that you've experienced extreme pilling with this, we would consider that a quality control issue so please get in touch with our [Customer Service Team](https://www.patagonia.ca/customer-service.html) so we can get that sorted out for you.

December 8, 2020

Soft and comfy

Picked this up to wear over long sleeve shirts, mainly indoors, for cool winter days when I leave the furnace turned down. Its nice and soft and fits me fairly well (6 2, 175 lbs). Maybe a tad large but not bad. The medium would definitely have been too small. Since receiving it, Ive found myself wearing it almost every dayover long sleeved shirts ... Read Moreduring the day, over pajamas in the evening or early morning. Ive also used it outdoors a fair amount, and been happy with the amount of warmth it provides. Big win for me is that the arm holes arent too tight as Ive noticed with some other vests, so its quite comfortable.

December 7, 2020

Warm and comfy

My first vest. Goes great as an extra layer or as an outer layer on cool, sunny days.

November 25, 2020

Nice Patagonia recycled product

Easy to review, select, purchase, and receive on time.

November 22, 2020

Perfect fit and weight

Perfect fit. Perfect weight. Perfect fit. Love it. OK, I personally would like two breast zipper pockets.

November 21, 2020

Stylish

Bought as a present and helped it.

November 14, 2020

Fun Color, Dependable Comfort

This year I started hiking, because that's one passtime 2020 allows. I got this color because of the sale, but it's truly neutral yet fun. It keeps me warm as needed and helps me stay dry when there has been inclement weather. I wear an XL, but the XL on Patagonia is fitted (on me) so 2XL is what I buy. I recommend it to anyone.

November 13, 2020

Super warm

I wear xxs in mens and fits right. Im 53 105 lbs.

November 11, 2020

Good vest

Warm vest. Partial order and still waiting for other part of order. Slow response is my only complaint

November 11, 2020

Soft and warm

This is a very warm vest, has a phone pocket which i need, its a little longer than most vests I think (maybe only an inch or so) which is fine. I like the idea that its from recycled materials

September 14, 2020

Lighter than previous version

I recently received my Retro Pile Fleece vest and as soon as I picked it up I noticed that it is lighter than the one I have from a couple of years ago. This seems to be a bit of a trend with Patagonia as of late (lower thread counts? Cutting costs by changing designs?) and I'm hoping the trend doesn't continue. I've been a Patagonia... Read More enthusiast for over thirty years but I won't hesitate to look at alternatives if I feel that the quality continues to slip. Having said all that, I love my Retro Pile Fleece vest from a couple of years ago and would give that one a four or five star rating.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

We're sorry to hear you aren't satisfied with our latest Retro Pile Fleece. When making products, we keep two very important considerations in mind: quality and environmental impact. We have also begun using more recycled materials which is why the fabric and feel of some items is now different, but still perform well. Of course, all our products are backed by our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html) it if you are unsatisfied.

January 2, 2020

A great layer

Received this as a gift, have worn it a lot in the mid-Atlantic winter and on a recent overseas trip where I spent most days outside all day. Fit is true to size trending large on this. Fabric is very soft - rolled it up and used it as a pillow on flights. Worn by itself, it is warm if the wind isn't blowing; air moves through it pretty easily... Read More, so if you carry a shell to put on over it, you're warming up in a hurry. The reasonably loose weave of the fabric does a nice job getting moisture away from a shirt/baselayer. I'm guessing this will be a favorite for a long time.

January 2, 2020

So warm and cozy

This best is perfect for those cold days on the mountain, paired with a nice she'll you won't be cold all day.

January 2, 2020

Runs TTS, comfortable fit and

Runs TTS, comfortable fit and love the color

December 31, 2019

Good product; a bit on the small side

warm, looks good

December 29, 2019

Patagonia Vest

This purchase was a Christmas gift for my son. He loved it....matter of fact he put it on over his pajama shirt and wore it around the house before all of our festivities began.

December 27, 2019

Great product! Great fit! Great

Great product! Great fit! Great look! I have three different colors now.

December 27, 2019

Old School meets the school of high tech

Looks cozy and is cozy, but for being a vest it is warm beyond belief.

December 27, 2019

Great fit!

Great fit!

December 26, 2019

Gets the job done

Have only had it for a few weeks, but it gets the job done. Stays warm and has great pockets. It'll be a test of time to see if the rich blue color fades or if the fabric starts "pilling" up.

December 26, 2019

Pile Vest

perfect. warm enough to not need sleeves and still have freedom of movement outdoors and help regulate indoor temp. without needing to remove vest.

December 24, 2019

Best ever

What a wonderful trip down memory lane. Love my retro pile vest. Why didn’t I buy this sooner?

December 21, 2019

Ordered a vest. It fit

Ordered a vest. It fit good. Also the belts are fabulous.

December 17, 2019

It will be given as

It will be given as a gift, but Patagonia has stellar customer service.

December 12, 2019

Buyer beware: runs small

I'm 5'7''/145lbs/36'' chest and bought my usual size Small. Vest fits fine in the shoulders (17'' across), but was too snug in the chest (19'' flat pit-to-pit) when tried on over a flannel shirt. Might try a Medium, but worried I might simply be in-between sizes and then have to pay for a second ret... Read Moreurn... I'd definitely consider this to be a slim fit, not a regular fit as listed.

Response from Patagonia
January 3, 2020

We are sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing and we appreciate the feedback with fit. We've reached out to you via email to offer some assistance with a return if you decide you'd like to try the size medium.

December 10, 2019

Great product

Perfect fit, finish and feel

December 7, 2019

Ms Retro Pile Vest

This vest fits me well! The colors and design are great as well (very stylish). In fact, I have received many compliments on it--like from my friends and god-mom. The reason I am giving it a 3-star rating is because I was surprised at how light it was. It does not provide very much warmth in the cold (I live in El Paso, TX--probably not the coldest... Read More places you sell to).

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

We're glad you are loving the look of the vest but sorry to hear that it isn't providing you with enough warmth. If you decide you are unsatisfied with the warmth, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us.

December 6, 2019

Perfect vest!

I received my Retro Pile Vest and love it! It’s the perfect gift for my brother for Christmas. Patagonia is such great quality. I can always count on this company for a great gift.

December 4, 2019

Pile vest

Unique appearance than the typical fleece vest

November 25, 2019

Love it!!

Love it!!

November 23, 2019

It’s exactly what I wanted

It’s exactly what I wanted and it’s sized perfectly

November 22, 2019

Love love love love

I love my vest in case the title didn't get it away. It's light and fluffy, but still warm. It's fitted And not bulky and looks awesome. I want one in every color now.

November 15, 2019

Perfect

Very pleased with this great vest! Timeless and awesome

November 11, 2019

Super cozy

It runs a a bit small, but once I got the correct size, it’s great

November 10, 2019

Retro pile vest

Great fleece! I Also have the retro pile pullover and can’t say enough good things about the Material and style. Size small fits really well through the body (I’m 145 pounds 5’10”) The only wish I had for the vest is that it could be a little longer (it’s shorter than the pullover).

November 9, 2019

Love it!

Warm without being too much, looks great for work or play!

November 1, 2019

I Love My Vest!

I've now purchased two Patagonia vests. I can't emphasize enough how much I love them. The quality, feel, versatility, and look are unmatched. They wear perfectly at my business casual place of employment. Thank you!

October 20, 2019

Great vest!

I am 5’9”, 155 pounds and a medium fits just right. It is great warmth for its weight. I like the zippered pockets, especially a chest one I can put my phone in.

September 11, 2019

Fleece vest

Great vest zipper pockets great under rain jacket

September 10, 2019

Love this product - fits

Love this product - fits great. I've worn it 10 times in 2 weeks.

August 16, 2019

AWESOME VEST

If you like vests, this is a winner!! Fishing, golfing, or just outdoor work with a Micro-Puff underneath is PERFECT!! Fits great! A KEEPER!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches