Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 211 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Classic Retro-X® Fleece Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
October 18, 2021

Perfect oversized look

I'm 6'0 165lbs and this jacket fit my style perfectly. I prefer the oversized look and this jacket was perfect for that.

October 13, 2021

Comfortable, Warm, Good quality

Received a lot of compliments for this piece. I like it. I'm 30lbs bigger than others and I usually wear a M in their pullovers but the jacket fit me pretty good without being overly snug.

October 11, 2021

Honest Review

Super warm and will definitely keep you warm in the winter. Also is wind resistant which comes in handy when you live in Chicago. Looks great and goes with a lot in my wardrobe. This jacket is a little pricey but when you consider the life time warranty and the eco friendly aspect of this item its totally worth it.

October 5, 2021

Choose your size wisely

I purchased a large since people say its run true to size but dont believe that. The sleeves are perfect but they make the chest/torso area tight and slim for skinnier men. Im not heavy or have a belly but, I prefer comfort. I ended up returning the large for an XL. BEST DECISION!

August 14, 2021

Fits great

I bought this because of the liner to provide protection from the wind from what I can tell this will work great. Size and quality are excellent.

July 14, 2021

Awesome Product

Very happy with this purchase, which was on my list for quite some time. Surprisingly warm, comparable to my down jacket. Wind and cold do not penetrate this fleece jacket AND it's got a cool factor to it whether I'm on a hike or at work.

July 11, 2021

I love it!Perfect!

I will buy some other things.

June 25, 2021

Great quality of product.

Can't expect more really. All abut it is just as I wanted.

June 24, 2021

Great Quality Jacket

This jacket is warm and super stylish. Enough for cool Bay Area nights.

June 19, 2021

I love it!

It will be good for the winter

June 15, 2021

Fab but small maybe a little smaller than version from 5 years ago?

I got the purple/blue, and it's killer in an I'M WEARING PURPLE AND BLUE WHETHER YOU LIKE IT OR NOT kind of way. I think it's a bit smaller / slimmer overall than the cream/blue version I got a few years ago, which works fine for me. I'm a 5'7, 125 lb woman with no hips. If you have hips, you may want to size up or go with ... Read Morea cut for women.

June 2, 2021

Decent but sizing/cut needs work!

Bought the Men's XL natural with blue trimming/pocket on sale during the spring holidays. As a male with an average build, broad shoulders and 6' ft tall, the jacket just fit. It's very warm, a little stiff and somewhat heavy probably due to the meshlike barrier that's sewn into the jacket to make it supposedly windproof. It&#... Read Morex27;s warm for cool spring nights while wearing a short sleeve shirt underneath. Let's see how it handles in the upcoming autumn/winter months later this year. The sleeves' length goes down to the wrist while the jacket's length goes down slightly below the waist. There are no inner pockets and the hand pockets appear to be warm since the barrier material is in front of it to block out the cold/wind. Hope the fleece stays soft and warm after repeated washings. The issues found: 1. The armpit seams are sewn up so it stands UP INTO the armpits. It should be sewn Flat instead! - Also, the armpit area needs to be Wider! - The armpits' shortfalls are Very obviously when you try on the jacket! 2. It's not that roomy inside! - It's very warm when worn with a short sleeve t-shirt and has room for a long sleeve t-shirt for the sleeves. - But it's a Little tight if a lightweight fleece sweater is also worn with a shirt. FYI.. the vest version is Much more slim! Barely enough room to wear a shirt and lightweight fleece sweater underneath it. The armpit holes need to be widened as well! 3. Need a cinch band around the waist! Not everyone is thin and Patagonia's designers Must make their clothing for the average person instead of skinny people! The sizing of Patagonia clothes have been 'off' in the last few years in that the older clothing fitted Much better while the newer clothing are inconsistent and made for thin people! It's a bit too big & fluffy to wear the jacket underneath a shell jacket in bad, wet weather. The vest version just fit underneath a shell jacket.

May 20, 2021

Great for cool days at the playground.

I primarily bought this because I found that most technical layers arent warm enough when you are watching your children at a playground. (I try to do this everyday as I have outdoor kids) Its windproof and warm and your kids dont just slide off you when you pick them up. Besides I look like a sesame street character!

May 20, 2021

Fits short and boxy

As a tall but fairly slender man, this jacket runs too short and wide. Ordered online but returned because of this issue. Bummed out because it feels like such a great fleece, but the size/shape isn't right for me!

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2021

Thanks for the review and sorry it didn't work out with our Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. Since you have a slender build, we'd recommend checking out our slim fit options for fleeces. You can check these out by using the filter bar on the left-hand side of the screen under any category. The [Men's Los Gatos Fleece Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-los-gatos-fleece-hoody/25922.html?dwvar_25922_color=ELKH&cgid=mens-fleece) will be our most similar slim fit option, check it out!

May 9, 2021

Cozy and fun

I bought one of the original, classic, ugly pile jackets back in the seventies. Ive had a couple of other versions over the years, and I love them for their warmth, wind blockage, and fun look. This will undoubtedly last me the rest of my life. Love it!

May 5, 2021

Best Fleece jacket

I dont usually like synthetic fabrics, but I love this jacket so much!! Super comfy and worm. (Best windproof fleece jacket) Also I like the look. Very simple and classic.

April 23, 2021

Now I Have My Own

I have had a Retro-X for many years. It is my favorite go-to jacket. My son also discovered that he liked this Retro-X....so he "borrowed" mine all the time. Now that we have 2 of them, I get to wear mine again. Would love to see this in even more colors - keep up the great work.

April 12, 2021

Great Jacket!

Great jacket warm and windproof!

April 9, 2021

Great jacket

Well made wind prof warm. Fits like a glove. This is the second one I have bought for personal usage I truly love it.

April 7, 2021

Excellent wind proofing and well fitted

Good gear the second one I have purchased in the past six years.

April 6, 2021

Break the Wind

I wanted a fleece that was windproof. This definitely fits the bill. It's soft on the outside, a bit stiff on the inside. Nice and warm and a true wind proof fleece. Not a light coat by any means, but I'd recommend it to my best friend....

April 5, 2021

Just love it

Replaces a 20 yo version. Tested for two weeks in cold and Gail force winds. Wouldnt trade it for anything.

April 2, 2021

Built to Patagonia standard

This is, bar none, the best fleece Ive owned. It is incredibly warm, comfortable and the pockets are deep, and perfectly placed; I think. Everything is of the highest caliber, which one would expect given its a Patagonia. I bought the blue jacket, and it is really sweet I must say.

March 31, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

Wonderful Fit. No need for multi layering. Many compliments on style & overall look of the jacket.

March 24, 2021

Comfy jacket

Customer service was superb. She was beyond helpful. Will definitely continue shopping with Patagonia

March 9, 2021

Exactly what I expected

True, warmth, fit and function... exactly what I expected

March 8, 2021

Great at stopping the wind

Great jacket, has multiple uses.

March 4, 2021

A Must Have

Super solid piece of warmth. Great to throw on getting out of the surf or the hot tub as it functions well in the wind and when wet. Wish the zipper was stronger...

February 25, 2021

Cozy and timeless

I have had several Retro X vests, but never the full jacket. I'm very glad I decided to get one because it has quickly become one of my go to everyday jackets. It is a very warm and cozy windproof fleece, and the wooly style is great because it doesn't pill. It is a nice casual piece that can be layered up or down underneath easily. I tho... Read Moreught it would be more of a shoulder season coat for me here in Maine, but I have worn it all winter. If it's cold, then I wear a flannel and vest underneath. This is a great jacket all around and a timeless Patagonia classic.

February 25, 2021

Just different

I have a couple of zip down sweaters that I really love I was looking for one in black and I thought because its extra warm it would be great however I did not like the cardboard feel of the inside and I thought the waist line could be a little longer basically what I wanted was a warmer replica of the other sweaters that I had. Dont worry! I do ow... Read Moren many Patagonia products and I will continue to buy them

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2021

Hello Jim! We're truly sorry that this jacket was not what you expected in terms of length and feel. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes, so we truly appreciate you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. Thanks so much for your review!

February 25, 2021

Quality product

Comfortable and versatile!

February 19, 2021

Could be an inch longer around the waist length wise also the front pocket needs to be made of better material already have a hole/slight rip. Possibly might return due to manufacturing default?

Other than the material on the front pocket love the coat. With living in Michigan it has been keeping me warm through these cold months.

February 19, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket! It fits well, looks great and keeps me warm. I live in the Northwest and go hiking frequently and its been more than enough for hiking in most weathers.

February 15, 2021

not what I expected....

I purchased this jacket in October of 2020 and wore it casually and skiing. Fast forward to now which only has been less than 4 months of moderate use the jackets falling apart. All the seams are separating and I am truly shocked. I buy all my gear and cloths from Patagonia and to see such a prestige brand output a product like this really made me ... Read Morequestion whether I want to shop at Patagonia anymore.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Hi Sina, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with the Men's Classic Retro-X Fleece Jacket. This sounds like a manufacturers defect and you're more than welcome to begin a warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html.

February 14, 2021

Warm

This is my favorite jacket in my closet. 10/10

February 13, 2021

Excellent, but...

I have purchased Patagonia products for DECADES; I have Baggie, Hoodies, etc. that are 25+ years old that look almost new despite rigorous use. This is the first Patagonia product where the zippering function is "intermittent" i.e. it catches at the neck. I find myself having to be "extra" precise in lining up the zipper to prev... Read Moreent locking...

February 13, 2021

Excellent craftsmanship

Another great Patagonia item! The wind resistant liner/interior makes it different than other fleece jackets, but also gives it a sturdier feel. Likely takes a few wears in order to break in. You can size up if you intend to layer, but fits true to size and is warm enough to not need a thick layer underneath. Beautiful and highly recommend!

February 4, 2021

Cozy

Bought for my son. He loves it. Perfect for. Quick service.

February 3, 2021

Warm

Wish the inside of the jacket was soft as the outside.

February 1, 2021

Warm

It works very well to keep me warm that sometimes I have to take it off to cool off.

January 31, 2021

Super Duper Warm!

This is the warmest fleece I have ever worn. Perfect for cold weather!

January 31, 2021

Super warm

Im able to use this jacket as an outer layer even during winter on the east coast

January 31, 2021

All Around a Great Piece

I love this jacket! For the price you're getting a great bang for your buck! I a bit large of a gentleman and it still fits great. I would purchase true to size.

January 29, 2021

Won't let you down!!

It's currently 23 degrees Fahrenheit where I am at and wind gusts of 15 mph. This jacket is amazing. Considering that I am only wearing an under shirt when I decided to go out with my dog for a walk. I managed to stayed warm with the jacket and it did exactly what it was meant to do. Protected the upper body from the wind and kept me warm. To ... Read Moredate, happy with the purchase.

January 24, 2021

super warm

Fashionable and super warm

January 24, 2021

Super warm

I bought this for work and it keeps me warm down to freezing so far. It offers moderate wind protection, but after about 15 mph, some air gets in. If I were to hike in this above 30 degrees or so, Id get too warm. The jacket is well built and is made of quality materials. I highly recommend the Classic Retro-X.

January 23, 2021

Warm and Windproof!!!

Almost too warm! Fantastic in windy conditions. I find myself wearing less underneath this fleece than I anticipated. Retired several other older coats that I had considered to be heavier. Size is great.

January 22, 2021

First purchase

I bought a Patagonia product for the first time and loved it.

January 21, 2021

XMAS GIFT

I bought this for my husband for xmas. I bought him the xl but it was a snug fit, probably the fit that some people would want. We swapped for the xxl as he likes a bit more oversized. quick and easy exchange :).

January 21, 2021

Warmth with Retro vibes

I bought this for my boyfriend after I saw him eyeing my retro-x jacket. Now its the only jacket hes been wearing. He still wears the heck out of his nano but loves how windproof this is as well as street forward. Also, thank you Patagonia for your AMAZING customer service! You are one of a kind

January 20, 2021

Zipper sometimes gets stuck

Sometimes the zipper gets stuck because it rolls over the inner lining. you have to pull the lining fabric out of the zipper to get it to move. Also its not as soft/cozy as I had thought from pictures. The inside is not at all like the outside, not soft or fuzzy. Jacket is very warm though and looks great in my opinion, so I still wear it often. ... Read MoreJust have to move the zipper gingerly.

January 19, 2021

Good fit

I like it

January 17, 2021

Very Nice Fleece

A very nice fleece that I ever owned. Torso runs little bit large but true to size in general. You won't be disappointed

January 13, 2021

Super warm and cozy

Cozy

January 12, 2021

Awesome look, great fit, and super warm

The initial reason was the great retro look. Im in love with this jacket. Its warm and cozy and looks great

January 12, 2021

Super Cool and Classic!

You guys have the right stuff. Keep going.

January 10, 2021

Great jacket. The new work line is fantastic. Boots are amazing. Jackets fabulous.

Great jacket. Good fit. Handsome design.

January 5, 2021

StapleWear

Great color and look. Extremely functional, I know it will take a beating. only drawback is the fit. Fits in shoulders, too big in waist.

January 5, 2021

LOVE IT

Super warm, comfortable, exactly what I was looking for.

January 4, 2021

Amazing

I wear this almost everyday!

December 31, 2020

Second one owned

My original retro x jacket was purchased in 2000 for myself and along with all of my Patagonia gear I loved it from the start. Fast forward 20 years and my 17 ear old daughter has hijacked mine (its a size lg and too loose for her but it didnt deter her). I ordered a medium for her and she loves it. Its awesome to see the quality Has not wavered in... Read More 20 years as many other companies do. Its identical to mine, except for size and color. For casual wear or as a mid layer under a shell you cant beat this jacket.

December 30, 2020

Really warm. Heavy duty. Very durable.

Really warm. Heavy duty. Very durable.

December 29, 2020

Super warm

Purchase to give as a gift, liked it a lot. Impressed with the fast delivery of the product Patagonia is good!

December 29, 2020

Great Jacket

Only gripe i have is that the sleeves are pretty huge both in length and width but super cool jacket

December 29, 2020

Super warm jacket!

Really happy with this purchase! Jacket fit perfectly and will be nice for Minnesotas cold weather.

December 28, 2020

Excellent jacket

Exactly what I was looking for in both fit and performance. I dislike jackets that drop to low below the waist, this hems right where I like it. Wind proof interior makes a huge difference in overall warmth of a fleece jacket like this.

December 28, 2020

The BEST Pile Jacket

I absolutely love this jacket. Its incredibly warm and very stylish. I see some people complaining about the fit in the comments- it is supposed to be a tad shorter in length because its retro. Personally, I love it. Patagonia has the best stuff, period

December 26, 2020

Size alert

Careful with size selection if you are tall

December 26, 2020

Good

Service was very good

December 18, 2020

Solid jacket

The jacket is definitely warm, feels sturdy and is really aimed at outdoor wear. I find the end of the sleeves to be a bit tight on the wrists. The pockets feel cheap though, and are made with thin fabric. Overall great buy!

December 17, 2020

Very cuddly

Very soft and warm

December 17, 2020

Super Warm

I really love this jacket! I ordered a M and the torso fits well, but the sleeves are kinda long and baggy. This makes it perfect to throw over a sweatshirt for extra warmth. But overall, its a great quality jacket and I wear it all the time now.

December 6, 2020

The Best.

My first Patagonia fleece, and I was amazed how warm and insulated the jacket is. It is true to size, and as noted, a regular fit. If you want to have an oversized fit like I do, I recommend getting a size up, but remember that it'll look a little big instead of the oversized look. If you know you know. This jacket is designed to fit true to s... Read Moreize. I still love mine.

December 6, 2020

Amazing

Bought myself the female version of this jacket and its so incredible I bought it for my boyfriend for Christmas as well! They are so warm and perfect for chilly weather and being outdoors since the inside lining is basically wind proof. The look is great and the fit was excellent (I did size down in the womens for a more fitted look but mens was t... Read Morerue to size). I would totally recommend this jacket and we are so excited to have these great Patagonia fleeces for years to come.

December 6, 2020

uncomfortable

It is a beautiful coat, but interior windproof material was both stiff and uncomfortable. The most uncomfortable thing I've purchased from Patagonia, with exception of the small arm sleeves on the better sweater jackets. Returned it today.

December 5, 2020

Comfy and Warm

Perfect for the Midwest winter. Keeps you just the right warmth without sweating you out of the jacket.

December 5, 2020

Bad Fit

The fit on these Retro X jackets is very strange. I'm 6'0, 185 lbs. The Large is extremely tight in the torso in that it is almost form fitting. The sleeves are very baggy and loose. I returned it immediately. The old Rero X I still have from 20 years ago fits like a normal jacket/fleece. The current version is very different. I wouldn&#x... Read More27;t recommend this product.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

We're sorry to hear this jacket was a disappointment, but we appreciate your feedback on sizing, fit and fabric, Jason!

December 4, 2020

perfect

I am an internal medicine redent, the night shifts are super long and cold > 24 hours, the jacket keeps me super warm I even sweat some times in the back and I don't mind it cause the hospital gets really cold. This would be perfect for travel and cold weathers.

December 4, 2020

Unimaginable

The first time I bought this product from PATAGONIA, I feel completely different from other products (UQ, A&F). This jacket is windproof but not very comprehensive, but it is usually enough for daily use.

December 1, 2020

Warm, Comfortable, Durable

Great jacket for cold days, whether you are out on a hike or out on the town. Blocks the wind better than ordinary fleece jacket. Highly recommend.

November 30, 2020

Another great product from Patagonia

This product is fashionable for a fleece. Rather warm too; I have worn this with a t shirt in 25 - 35 degree days in Vermont and felt very comfortable. I only recommend rethinking the length of the product. If the length was 1-1.5 inches longer about. It has a very comfortable, snug fit. I have worn this on windy days and it did not disappoint me. ... Read MoreOverall this product is superior to every similar product I own. Patagonia knows how to make great products! I highly recommend this to anyone looking for new gear.

November 29, 2020

RetroX Fleece Jacket

I found that the size medium was a bit too small and the large was a bit too large. I need a medium large.

November 26, 2020

Bestest Thing! patagonia doesn't let me down this time either

I absolutely fricking love it. I am 186cm, 72kg, long arms and I am quite skinny. Went for the M after testing L as well.

November 26, 2020

Big

Love the warmth and style of it, however the sleeves are very large for someone of my weight and it looks very baggy for that reason(only around the arms)

November 20, 2020

Nice jacket, a little short

Gifted this jacket to my husband as an alternative to his Nano Puff. It is solidly constructed! As other reviews note, this is not a cozy, stay inside fleece. It's a jacket made for breezy, cool days outside! He is 6", ~165lbs, with a 31" waist and a climber body (muscular arms and shoulders, but not bulky). The M fits him really n... Read Moreicely in the chest, arms, and torso, but is a little short. Probably about 1" shorter than the Nano Puff. Not a deal breaker, but an extra inch on this jacket length would be really nice, Patagonia! The dark blue is more vibrant in person and is definitely wearable with blue jeans. Overall, he really likes this jacket, but wishes it was just a little longer.

November 17, 2020

Very comfy and warm

Great jacket, but has a strange fit like some of Patagonia's other jackets. The fit is near perfect everywhere except the chest, where it is a little more snug than I want. However, if I were to size up to a large, there would be a bunch of loose fabric around the midsection. Overall, it's a great jacket.

November 14, 2020

Looks nice and warm

I purchased this for my husband. It fits him very nicely and he said it was very warm. I'm happy with this purchase

November 13, 2020

Great look, warm, versatile, great customer service

Great product & company

November 9, 2020

Adds Wind Resistance to Fleece Jacket

I have many Patagonia fleece jackets but I wanted the added wind resistance. I like the look and feel of the jacket. It is a little stiffer than a regular fleece because of the interior material that prevents wind infiltration. My only slight complaint is sizing. I find mediums are too tight and larges are slightly too big. I weight 175 lbs and am ... Read More510

November 8, 2020

This jacket lives up to its popularity

Warm, stylish, and true to size. Good for casual wear.

November 5, 2020

Super great!!

I posted instagram, then my friend liked it so I bought it for him. He really likes it! Thank you so much.

November 5, 2020

Nice jacket!

This is an excellent jacket. The large fits me very well. The jacket is quite warm, perfect for damp fall conditions with temps in the 30s and 40s. A bit bulky for backpacking but great on a day hike or walk around town. Feels sort of like wearing a bearskin. Nice chest pocket for your phone or a map.

November 2, 2020

I liked the outside of the jacket, but the inside was rubbery. I really wanted a jacket that was fleece inside and out that didnt shed.

Was not a comfortable jacket. It was too stiff on the inside not what I was expecting. I love Patagonia products but not this one. Make a fleece jacket with fleece on the inside and out that doesnt shed and Im in! Your customer service is excellent!!!

October 31, 2020

Very soft and warm

Excellent fleece, warmer and thicker than I expected.

October 30, 2020

I have two original coats of this style and couldn't resist this one.

Love the color, as I said, I have two originals of this style - a green and cream color - and they still look great! This was a birthday present from my wife.

October 30, 2020

Great purchase

I bought it as a gift! It's so cozy and cute! He is also like it!

October 5, 2020

Stylish Design

Loved the style of color when I saw it online, but wish I had tried it on at store. The material inside isn't as comfortable as I thought and it feels rough against bare skin. Hope they can redesign with soft material, especially in the sleeves. Runs a bit loose so it'd be great to layer with. Might return for a size small.

September 22, 2020

Coolest fleece ever

Love the look and classic style! Feels great on cold days climbing surfing hiking!l Wind proof now and cold days e biking! Fuzzy

September 16, 2020

Fantastic Jacket

I bought my first Retro-X jacket about 20 years ago and I have really beaten it up. I put suede elbow patches on it and the zipper had to be replaced once by Patagonia, for free. It's still going strong and it's the one I use for backpacking and camping. I have a newer one in a different color for 'around town' because it looks ... Read Morea tad better. I have worn these in every kind of weather and they are the most versatile jackets I have ever owned. I washed mine in NikWax water repellant and they shed snow and rain admirably, though they are not great raincoats in a downpour. They are also comfortable over a range of temperatures -- warm when it's very cold; if you unzip them they do not overheat when the temperature warms up a bit. This is one of the best outdoor garments I have ever owned.

September 13, 2020

Retro-X

Jacket looks great/retro My only complaint is the inner liner is very stiff. I'm guessing that's for wind. Maybe it will soften with age or washing

September 9, 2020

Great outside, less than ideal inside

I loved the course and thick fleece that makes up the jackets exterior. But, lining (which I assume is the wind proof portion) had an odd feel to it. It was odd enough that I ended up returning it. A fleece like this which is fluffy in and out would be a welcome purchase for me.

September 1, 2020

Amazing

I am writing this review 7 months after purchase and the jacket has held up perfect.

August 17, 2020

Ultimate Jacket

If you are looking for a solid fleece to rep when going out on cold nights, driving back from the slopes, or just for walking the dog, look no further. This thing is toasty! Super high quality fleece with a solid internal backing to make it windproof. Fits true to size, and of course the zippers and overall construction are top notch. Ordered it ri... Read Moreght before the new colors came out, just might have to buy another!

July 13, 2020

Too baggy

I ordered the Classic Retro-X to replace my Retro-X from the 90's. My current Retro-X is perhaps the most worn garment in my entire life, spanning 20 years. Unfortunately, the new Retro-X is not an accurate re issue of the original. The new version is cut much larger with extra fabric around the chest and waist and especially in the arms. It i... Read Mores actually clearly visible in the picture of the model. This has clearly been re-designed to be an outerwear jacket rather than a middle wear insulating layer. Upon attempting to layer it under my ski coat, my arms bound up and there were folds of fabric in the middle section. Additionally, the fabric is much stiffer and feels thicker. I tried the small as well, and it was too tight with an additional zipper problem. All in all, this is only appropriate for fashion wear, not for layering or serious use outdoors.

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2020

Hi Jonathan, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of our Retro-X Jacket. We're not exactly sure what season your original jacket came from but it definitely sounds like some revisions have been made. The Retro-X is more of a casual fleece and it won't make the best mid-layer as you've described. If you're interested in checking out an option that would serve as a better mid-layer we'd suggest taking a look at the [Men's R2 Fleece Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-r2-regulator-fleece-jacket/25139.html?dwvar_25139_color=CSRD#q=r2&lang=en_US&start=1)

June 26, 2020

Best product on the market

Patagonia are the foremost company for apparel - if you havent got this fleece jacket, you should try to find one as it is the best jacket.

June 17, 2020

Excellent tool

For cold, windy weather, there is no better piece of gear. I live the NE and wear the retro-x five months of the year.

June 4, 2020

Great jacket, warm and stylish

Warm and true to description. Oversize fit as expected. I'm 6'3" and broad shoulder width and Large fits great.

April 24, 2020

Best Pile Fleece On the Market

I have multiple colors in this jacket and its by far my favorite fleece jacket to wear. Im not typically someone who wears certain jackets in specific seasons. This jacket I where all year long, even some of those summer nights with a cool breeze. I am 5'8. I could probably fit into a medium which would be a standard fit but I like my outerwea... Read Morer a little roomy so that's why I wear a large in this fleece.

March 12, 2020

Really warm and stylish!!

I've been waiting for perfect color for retro-x fleece jacket. This ivory and mustard detail jacket is perfect. Really Really warm. I took this jacket to camping couple times during winter and it made me sweat.

February 11, 2020

Love It!

I've been waiting to get one of these for years. Wind blocking is excellent, definitely a warm piece, so almost too hot to wear indoors unless the wearer is cold natured. Fit is true to size, so allows layers underneath. Great jacket for running around town.

January 19, 2020

Quality Jacket

This jacket is warm and provides awesome wind protection. Fits very true to size and the sleeves are a little bulky but fits the overall aesthetic of the piece. Not as soft on the inside as expected but nonetheless a comfortable fit! Excellent quality as usual with Patagonia.

January 4, 2020

Exactly what it's suposed to be

Most people who gave bad reviews did not do their research well. This jacket is exactly what it's supposed to be; a modern jacket with a retro fleece look. It is not a cozy soft breezy fleece, it's a hi-tech windblocking armor with a warm fluffy exterior. The fit is a mix of old school shoulders mobility with a modern waist cut. Quality i... Read Mores outstanding and the look is just OOF!

January 1, 2020

Great Quality and Superb Customer Service

Worked with the Chat Patagonia rep and he was so helpful without a lot of fuss. And, the quality of the jacket is perfect. My son looks so handsome in it! And, it keeps him so warm. His friends already want the same one! Thank you!

January 1, 2020

Many Compliments!

The only thing I would say is the body runs a bit short. Great piece otherwise!

December 30, 2019

Great jacket

Really warm and insulating jacket. Fits really well and has a nice vintage look

December 29, 2019

Best jacket i've owned

Best jacket i've owned

December 27, 2019

Pretty good Jacket

Keeps me very warm. Looks good. The inside material wasn't what I expected but still a good jacket

December 23, 2019

CNYguy

This was my first Patagonia product and it easily made my top three favorite jackets, which is saying something because I’m kind of a jacket nut. The fit is flawless and the jacket (while slightly bulky) is a treat to wear. Extremely comfortable and high quality! Bravo Patagonia!

December 19, 2019

Great Fit! Love the style

Great Fit! Love the style and how it feels

December 19, 2019

Love this jacket!

I bought this jacket impulsively and it was the best decision ever. I wear it daily and it works both in the outdoors or in a restaurant. Love x a million!

December 18, 2019

Great jacket

Warm and light weighted jacket can wore whole winter!

December 17, 2019

Great jacket

This is a beautiful, functional jacket. Unfortunately it was too small and I am returning it after finding a larger size elsewhere.

December 14, 2019

Great Fleece

I love this fleece. It is extremely warm and comfortable. A little extra room in the arms makes it great as a top layer.

December 14, 2019

Size

I bought XL and it’s way too big. I hope I can get Large size since this jacket is great.

Response from Patagonia
January 3, 2020

We're happy to hear you're loving your jacket! We went ahead and emailed you with our [returns/exchange instructions](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) in case you were still looking to return the XL and get the L. Thanks for your review!

December 13, 2019

DMB

Versatile, windproof, and very warm on a cold day.

December 13, 2019

Retro Zipper Sticks

I purchased the Retro-X fleece to replace my trusty old R4 fleece which I recycled with Patagonia Worn Wear. The Retro-X is light,warm and I really like the color. The inside lining is not soft, but rather stiff and rough compared to my my old R4. The Retro-X could also use an inside pocket. The problem with my Retro-X is the YKK zipper catches on... Read More a ribbon sewn parallel to the zipper. Every time I try to unzip the jacket the zipper catches on the ribbon and sticks a couple of inches below the neckline . I've learned to pull up on the right side of the collar when unzipping to avoid this phenomenon but it irritates me. I would send the Retro-X in for exchange but after talking to customer service I learned my color is sold out and not scheduled for future availability. Only one other color in my size is in stock and I don't like that color. This zipper problem may be a sewing flaw on my fleece only. YKKs are the best. I need this fleece for the winter so I'm stuck like the zipper.

December 11, 2019

WOW

This is definitely the best fleece jacket I’ve ever owned! It’s warm it’s stylish it’s just perfect! I originally went with a size XL but ended up returning it for a size L and it’s a perfect fit! Glad I bought two more of these jackets in different colorways.

December 10, 2019

Very nice looking jacket

Very nice looking jacket

December 8, 2019

Good fast

Good fast

December 7, 2019

Love it

Runs a bit big, but good for layering. Love it!

December 3, 2019

Patagonia Jackets

Great Christmas Gifts

December 3, 2019

Awesome Casual Jacket

Love the color scheme on the sage khaki version. Looks great with jeans. I tend to get more technical outdoor jackets, so this one was a perfect fit for the more casual settings. It is a little stiff when you first get it, but after a few wears it has a great feel. The outside is super soft, but it does a great job stopping the wind. The chest pock... Read Moreet is super handy and has a nice padded inside. The hand pockets go straight to the mesh lining inside. Would love if the same fleece material was on the inside of the pockets to help keep my hands warm because I don’t like to wear gloves.

Response from Patagonia
December 19, 2019

William we really appreciate your attention to detail in this review. This kind of thoughtful feedback is so helpful to other customers and to our product designers to make improvements, so thank you!

December 2, 2019

Love it!

I absolutely love my jacket. It is truly amazing!

December 2, 2019

Classic X

You can not get a warmer jacket. You can not get cold in this jacket. It has a liner that works, don't complain about it. Wear it with a fleece under shirt and a shell and you can sleep outside.

December 2, 2019

Very nice

Fast delivery nice fleece jacket 100 percent satisfied

December 2, 2019

Good~ fit for me

H: 5.7 W:174 Size :M It is good for me as fitting And warm.

December 1, 2019

Well done.

Love love love Patagonia.

November 30, 2019

Classic retro-x is the best!

Warm, wind proof and stylish. Speaks for itself!

November 28, 2019

Great product-Great service

Had one of these jackets many years ago and loved it. Got lost in a move. So got another one with different trim colors for myself for Christmas. Love it and get lots of great comments about it from both friends and strangers. I wear it for bus duty at an elementary school in Minnesota and I am never cold.

November 28, 2019

Beautiful coat

I bought a men’s medium because I liked the colors better than the women’s. I am a 132 lb, 5’7” female with a lean, athletic build. It’s incredibly warm and totally wind proof. The lining is mildly stiff suggesting it will battle the cold fearlessly and it does. I can wear a light sweater under it during 20 degree days with a hat and gloves and be ... Read Morewarm. I love this coat. I am careful with all of my clothing and conservative with drying so I wash it inside out and hang it to dry. It’s dried in no time and looks great.

November 26, 2019

High recommend

It is very good product. I highly recommend this.

November 26, 2019

Very warm jacket!

I wear this jacket on my commute to work, and it's very warm. Thanks to this jacket, my cold walk around NYC to my office is better and warmer :)

November 25, 2019

Great Jacket Worth its Price!

this jacket is very warm and stylish. it does a great job in keeping the warmth inside in any weather condition. And I believe this is a jacket that can last for years both in condition and style.

November 24, 2019

Classic Retro X Jacket

Wore the jacket last weekend and it was big hit. Size was perfect. Loved the length. Also love the rich blue color. Lots if compliments! Looking forward to looking stylish ski days! Think snow.

November 22, 2019

Always keeps me warm

Great daily/casual coat. It has mesh lining to avoid static cling, which is a nice feature. Not a tough windproof jacket but always keeps me warm in southern Michigan. The roomy fit allows me to layer a sweater or a shirt. Best fleece you can find!

November 22, 2019

Fit isn't perfect but works well after modifications

This jacket is great. It is warm, comfortable, and looks great. Unfortunately, it is not cut well for tall people. I am 6'2" and ordered a large. The jacket is too short to be worn comfortably without a waist cinch. Rather than returning the jacket, I added my own waist cinch to keep it from ballooning around my waist. Not everyone is ... Read Moregoing to want to do this. So just be aware that if you are tall and skinny, the sizing will be off and you will not have a snug fit around the waist. It would be great if this product were offered in tall sizes.

November 21, 2019

Super warm and stylish

Incredibly warm and wind proof. Looks great and fits well. Could be slightly more fit, but overall it fits well. Wore it in dry, windy 40 degree temps and it was so warm I had to open it up, so it should be able to handle 30 degree temps easily.

November 20, 2019

Classic retro-x

Just started to see wear on my second retro after 13 years. Thought it was time for a new one before it was sold out. Jacket is warm even when wet, wicks moisture during strenuous activity, and wears like iron, never cold. Will keep my first two as they are still serviceable, can’t part with them. Thanks for another great product.

November 20, 2019

Great quality

Buying these for my family and they love them!

November 20, 2019

Classic Retro-X Jacket is Wind Proof

The jacket is very nice, quality materials and nice looking. It definitely is wind proof, which was the main reason for purchasing. The only complaint is the inside is not very pleasing. I wish it had a thin layer of a nice, soft or silky feeling material. Otherwise it is a great jacket. The outside front pocket is super helpful for access to my ph... Read Moreone.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches