Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Houdini® Air Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Houdini® Air Jacket

4.5/5
June 27, 2021

Different fit from regular Houdini

I'm 5'1", usually a size S in most non-Patagonia clothes. I have a 2020(?) Houdini in M (close fit when layering with a Smartwool 250 long-sleeve for winter running in the northeast). I wanted something a little looser for more versatility - Tried this in M and L and am keeping the M. Compared to the regular Houdini, this is defini... Read Moretely roomier in the chest area and maybe just slightly looser-fitting in the stomach area. Length of the jacket is longer and sleeves are longer. Proportions-wise, the regular Houdini fits me better (pretty perfect in terms of sleeve and torso length - I have slightly long arms for my height). I'm keeping the regular Houdini b/c I like the closer fit for running and even though sweat does bead up inside, it does a great job blocking winter wind. Also love the color (Roamer Red). I'm also keeping the Air since it has more room for looser-fitting street wear and layering, and I like the option of extra breathability in less severe weather conditions. I'm also ecstatic I managed to snag the Tate green colorway from a store in Canada, which Patagonia seemed to sell out of really quickly...on discount, too!

May 8, 2021

Amazing! A New Classic!

What could possibly work better than a Houdini, that famous disappearing act that lives in my pack? Houdini Air! Drapes better, feels better next to skin, breathes better, and its elegant enough that I can no take it anywhere in Smoulder Blue. TotLly worth the price of the upgrade. Ill buy another for my portage pack and put my existing Houdinis... Read More into the Worn Wear program. Patagonia is becoming just as famous as Houdini for its wonky sizing. Ive been a standard Patagonia Ws medium all my life. But their fits have been changing a lot. I sized up on this jacket and so glad I did.

May 3, 2021

Love Patagonia but

I have been investing on coats and been mainly ordering them from Patagonia. This year, I wanted to order something for the spring time for casual wear and for walking my dogs. First and foremost, I normally wear a medium and decided to order XL as I put on 20 lbs in less than a year. The shoulder area fits well; the sleeves were longer which was e... Read Morexpected. But the overall sizing was perfect for me since I didn't want it to fit snug. It works well for brisk walks and I noticed that it keeps me warm if it's cool outside. I haven't tried it in the rain yet. There are 2 things that I noticed with it: 1. There no pockets with this jacket and 2. the elastic that tightens around the bottom of it snapped in less then 2 weeks. Otherwise, I probably would have given it 5 stars.

Response from Patagonia
May 4, 2021

Hi Alexandria, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're happy to hear that you've been enjoying the jacket so far, but we're sorry to hear the the elastic piece broke.With that said, you're more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to us under warranty.

April 23, 2021

Its perfect!

I absolutely love this jacket. Its so light, easy to carry, yet keeps warm. The fit is perfect.

March 1, 2021

Great material but needs hand pockets

Great jacket, blocks the wind/light rain well. The material is awesome. I've worn it running and mountain biking and it breathes really well while still offering decent protection. Hand pockets would increase the weight by a negligible amount and increase the functionality/versatility of the jacket by a million times! Hand pockets are so usefu... Read Morel and would really improve the jacket (blocking the wind and protecting hands when you're stopped for a break, holding small items when getting ready, general versatility for other activities like hiking). The other issue is the hood - it would be great if it rolled up and had a clip to keep it rolled. Otherwise it flaps and billows like a sail on a windy day or downhill biking.

June 17, 2020

Awfully handy in a pinch

I bought mine one size up so that I could fit a vest underneath if necessary. I love how it folds up into its own pocket. Its a little pricey, but otherwise I love it.

June 17, 2020

Comfy but small

Jacket overall is light, comfortable, keeps you warm & cool all at the same time. The down side to this jacket is it runs weird & small. I ordered an XL and in the arms its great but to zip it up its really tight. Like most Patagonia clothing it seems to be a hit and miss. If I would had gotten a XXL I think the arms would have been to big.... Read More Perhaps Im just built weird.

June 16, 2020

Best Wind Jacket Ever!

I've tried a ton of wind jackets over the years , but my favorite by far is the Houdini Air. It does a great job of blocking wind, but is also the most breathable and wicking one I've worn yet. I really like the raised fabric on the interior that keeps the jacket off your skin! I found the fit to be true to size and even a little room to ... Read Morelayer, which is really nice considering I have to size up in most wind jackets. This jacket lives in my pack and goes on every adventure with me. It's so light and packs up so small, there's no reason not to take it everywhere with you.

May 1, 2020

Everyday!

I received this as a gift XS and it is very snug but I like it tight because it doesnt catch too much wind. It is very windy where I run and that was my primary purpose for wearing this jacket but now I wear it for biking, gardening, hiking- basically any outdoor activity. Sometimes its my top layer over a thin running shirt and sometimes is an in ... Read Morebetween layer. Tissue thin and so strong.

March 25, 2020

Wonderful Windbreaker

I bought this jacket to replace my Houdini for riding my bike to work in the wee hours of the morning. My original Houdini lacked breath-ability, and while it was great in the dead of winter at keeping the wind out and the warmth in, as the mornings started to "warm" up (from teens and 20s to the 30s and up), it was apparent I'd need... Read More to either remove my jacket 10 minutes into my ride, or get something that would breath better. The Houdini Air did just that. It also packs down to nothing, so it takes up basically no space in my pack on my ride home. I do wish there were some brighter color options for low light visibility. While I don't notice the lack of hand pockets during my rides, I do miss having them when wearing this jacket out and about town or in the mountains.

December 8, 2019

perfect shell

I bought this for cool-cold weather hiking and to keep in my bag for sudden weather changes all year. It's super light and breathable but blocks the wind really well. I wore this yesterday for a 6-mile day hike in strenuous terrain; 30 degrees, sunny and breezy with about 6" of snow on the ground. It was perfect with a heavyweight capilen... Read Moree zip neck and fleece underneath. I bought a large so I can layer it. I have a regular houdini in size M that doesn't fit over much (as designed) and gets a bit sticky. For very cold or wet weather I wear the Triolet hardshell, but I find it much too warm for hiking when its more than about 25 out.

November 23, 2019

My new favorite

1) love the color, 2) so light I barely notice it, 3) warm in light wind, 4) size medium fits me perfectly

November 19, 2019

Great jacket

I bought this jacket mainly for running in the rain and on windy days. It's very light weight and keeps you warm. Does a good job blocking the wind and I have yet to try it in the rain. Works well with a long sleeve or quarter zip underneath. I got a medium for a little extra room for layers underneath and it works well.

November 6, 2019

Versatile Jacket

I have had this jacket for a few months now and have found it quite versatile. I was training for the Marine Corps Marathon and would run home after work, I used it to provide a cover up as I walked through the halls of my office and would pack it up and throw it in my hydration pack during my runs in the event of rain or cooler weather, and then w... Read Moreould use it for after my run for my cool down as well. I It was so convenient to always have it handy if needed. It worked really well for light to moderate rain, but didn't provide full water coverage during the downpour of the marathon, which I believe was expected as it is water resistant not water proof I believe. Still, it was still great to have during my marathon and it was so nice to be able to pack it up and put it away once it stopped raining. I also tested it against wind and light rain during a trip to Bermuda while riding around the island on the Moped we rented. It was amazing, so convenient to always have handy and it provided excellent wind resistance and warmth on the Moped and also on the beach at night. Not sure what I would have done without it. I am also very prone to be cold in air conditioned environments and it has worked great to provide a little warmth in those situations as well. Only downside is the lack of pockets, which I believe others have noted as well. Would be nice to have them, but still a great item.

October 8, 2019

Perfect mountain jacket

I initially thought this was a stupid impulse buy, since it's neither insulated or waterproof, but it's become a totally indispensable piece of my day hiking gear! It's surprisingly windproof, and super breathable, so it's perfect for alpine hikes and climbs when the wind picks up but you're still working really hard. It pa... Read Morecks down to nothing, so I always bring it along. I like carrying an ultralight umbrella instead of full rain gear, and with this light shell to repel moisture, that's really all I need. I really wish they made houdini air pants, too!

September 19, 2019

Too snug

The medium fit although stylish doesn't allow for anything other than a t-shirt underneath.

Response from Patagonia
September 29, 2019

I'm sorry to hear the jacket is too snug. You're more than welcome to return the jacket [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 14, 2019

Nice color, great for travel

Nice color, great for travel

September 5, 2019

Great Jacket.

Packable, breathable, and stylish. I’ve worn this backpacking in the Sierras, during a chilly afternoon at the lake, and for evening bike rides. Works great for anything and everything. The only thing missing are pockets!!

August 23, 2019

Great summer rain jacket

I love how light and airy this jacket is!!! Secondly I love how it fits in any of my purses or totes! I haven’t been in heavy rain yet but it covers unexpected shower surprises; better than an umbrella for sure!

August 10, 2019

A must have

This jacket goes everywhere. Perfect when it gets cool or damp and you need another layer. I keep it in my purse in town or my backpack when traveling. The dark color goes with everything. It’s got a great shape too.

July 3, 2019

Glad I traded in my regular Houdini for this

I used my regular Houdini jacket all the time because it was packable enough to bring on all of my bike missions, despite not being in love with the material. On the bike it felt pretty stuffy. The Houdini Air, however, really is much more breathable. I wear the Air Shed for mountain biking and I love it, so I was sold when the description said Hou... Read Moredini Air was a combo of Houdini and Air Shed. Yes. I have a bigger athletic build, 5'9, 200 lbs, 38DD, I'm an XL in all Patagonia things. As with most Patagonia jackets, this jacket is tighter on the hips and upper arms, baggy on the wrists, and the neck area is somewhat awkward. It flops over on itself when zipped all the way up, not sure what's up with that. The fit is pretty tight, this jacket definitely can't fit over my thermal capilene but that's as advertised. I like the length of this, it covers about half of my butt which is rare for me, but I imagine that shorter folks may not appreciate the extra length. If it rains lightly for a few minutes you'll be fine, but if it's anything more than that you'll be wet. I live in the PNW and I bring another jacket if it's supposed to rain. It does dry really quickly though and is a great wind jacket. I wish Patagonia made a vest version of this! And maybe a version without a hood, which is just a wind sale on the bike, and more interesting colors :) The drab blue does go with everything, but drab blue is drab :) Overall though I'm stoked that this jacket is much more breathable!

May 10, 2019

Houdini Air Jacket

This jacket is the perfect weight and protection for multiple uses. Although I still haven’t used it in rain, it seems to be fairly water resistant and great wind protection and still breaths. I have used it for hiking, skate skiing, and mnt biking. It fits nice and have got complements on the color.

May 9, 2019

great layer! came in handy

great layer! came in handy during an unexpected afternoon rain/hail storm in the desert.

May 8, 2019

Houdini jacket

There are no pockets! What’s a jacket without pockets!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches