Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Jacket

Write Your Review

4.7/5

null

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 25 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Jacket

4.7/5
January 31, 2021

Great!!

Fits great, breathes well. Good for those cooler morning or evening rides in SoCal. Expensive but worth it if you can get it on sale. Wish it came in brighter colors and had some reflective strips for safer rides to/from the trailhead. Also would like to see some improvements in how the hood is stowed. Overall definitely recommend!

December 5, 2020

New favorite

I wish I would have purchased this long ago.

September 3, 2020

Awesome materials, slim fit

I use the jacket for mountain biking and cycling during colder days. The hood is definitely large enough for outside of a helmet. Material is thin and fit is slim so the jacket is good for biking or high output activity during cooler days. However, I don't know if the jacket, by itself, is thick enough for deep winter days in the northeast tho... Read Moreugh.

August 13, 2020

Best bang for the buck for a soft shell jacket under $150 CAD

I have been finding a soft shell jacket that fits but only until now that I find Patagonia offer true XS jackets. The slim fit makes it fit very well on my body with some extra room in the armpits. However, the extra room helps the fit very well with layering (still awesome with a Patagonia down sweater underneath). Have not tested how much wind i... Read Moret can block but the DWR coating with the seam makes it fairly good under light precipitation. Overall, very satisfied with the jacket. The only wish is adding hand pockets for a more versatile jacket. Thanks

June 17, 2020

Literally get excited for cold weather rides

I cant recommend this jacket enough. Fits comfortably, tight enough so that its flapping in the wind but loose enough that it feels comfy to wear all day. Keeps wind and rain out, the storage pocket is great for keys and phone and a snack, and being able to pack it away and put it into my hip pack is just the cherry on top. I get stoked for cold da... Read Moreys where i can wear this jacket on big 30+ mile rides in the dirt.

April 9, 2020

perfect biking companion

I'm embarrassed by how much I like this jacket! It has been great in the windy New Mexico spring, and kept me surprisingly dry in a light rain

January 26, 2020

Excellent cycling focused soft-shell

I bought this jacket ~ 4 months ago to use while commuting and for MTBing in cool weather and it works great in both situations. My favorite part of the jacket is the material and the fit; it is lightweight, packable and is perfectly cut for riding (long drop tail and longer arms). The negatives: it's expensive! The DWR is only suitable for sh... Read Moreort (~10 minute) rides in the rain or longer if you have tree cover. Its functionality is laser focused on cycling so it isn't very practical for other uses. I can't comment on the durability of the material b/c I haven't crashed while wearing it, yet... Overall, it's great for my needs and I'm happy with my purchase!

December 2, 2019

Any new colors coming soon?

I bought the jacket and really like the design. I returned it because I decided I would prefer a brighter color like orange or yellow for increased visibility. Any plans for new colors in the future?

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2019

Hi Don! Thanks for your review. New colors will be introduced around February next year. Stay tuned!

November 25, 2019

My new favorite riding jacket.

You know how shoulder season id so hard because you're constantly shuffling layers so you don't overheat on the climbs or freeze on the descents? This jacket fixes that. I have never had a jacket that I could wear throughout an entire ride without being uncomfortable at some point until the Dirt Roamer showed up. I was able to go for a ... Read Morenight ride with my buddies when it was 30-40 degrees. We hammered the climbs, and railed the descents, and I forgot about my layers and was able to focus on the ride. The sleeves are long enough that you're wrists won't get cold, the hood fits over your helmet or stows away, small enough to shove in a hip pack once it warms up, and it even has the pocket in the right spot for a light battery on those chili night rides. I plan on using this layer for XC skiing this season too. It may be spendy but if you laugh at fair weather riders, this is the jacket for you.

November 25, 2019

Sweet jacket

Super light, comfortable but protective jacket. I actually used the oversized bike helmet hood last week while riding in the rain and it was awesome! The only thing I would change is adding side pockets to make it a more all around usable jacket.

November 19, 2019

Excellent, but hood needs to be held down better

First my one suggestion for improvement. The hood, even if held down by the provided elastic clip, flies up while biking. I use a mirror clipped to my glasses and this blocks the view. Perhaps it needs more elastic hold downs, or perhaps the hood can be rolled into a zippable collar. Despite this criticism this is my go to jacket for biking, x-c sk... Read Moreiing and even BC skiing on warm spring days. It is wind resistant, breathable, quiet, moves well and I think looks good.

November 12, 2019

I bought this jacket for

I bought this jacket for my husband and he loves it. He wanted a lightweight,durable, wind resistant but breathable jacket for mt biking. This was exactly what he was looking for and has a great cut for biking.

October 28, 2019

Great temperature control on ascents.

Great temperature control on ascents. Very well designed/made; both pockets placed right (I just purchased a second). More wind leakage on descents than I'd expect (feels like through the zipper). Not sure why there's a hood on a primary bike shell. The hood rolls and clips, but is bulky and not secure at speed. Probably better without a ... Read Morehood or if it had a pocket for stowage.

October 24, 2019

It. Really. Breathes.

A great piece. In 50 degree weather I'm able to keep it on climbing moderately steep trails just by unzipping it and pushing the sleeves up occasionally. Way more usable thsn the Houdini for mountain biking.

October 15, 2019

Accommodates wildly temperatures

Riding in VT in October, the day started at 38* and topped at 68*. The jacket was the outer layer. It stayed in the game when the mid-layer came off. I unzipped it while climbing and zipped up before descending. Later, it folded easily into my backpack.

October 13, 2019

Great MTB-Specific shell built with durability

This shell has one feature I wish more Patagonia items had - durability. I have had and seen gnarly crashes in this jacket against rough Tahoe granite and sand, without so much as a scratch on the jacket. I don't leave it on for climbing unless it is a windy day, it compresses so well to store in my pack. The hood is a good size, and stays up ... Read Moreno problem so long as the zipper is up. The longer cut is great as is the extended hand coverage to stay over gloves. Paired with the Midweight Bike Jersey, the Nano Air, or an R1 all wind is blocked and the warm stays in. Big fan of this shell!

October 7, 2019

Outstanding piece and well thought through

This jacket is the perfect mtb jacket. It cuts just enough wind while being breathable enough to leave on for moderate climbs, the hood is appropriately sized, and it stuffs perfectly into the Nine Trails 8l Hip Pack. The best part however is the durability. Unlike the other mountain bike products from Patagonia, this is built to withstand a crash ... Read Moreor ten. This is in comparison to my Dirt Roamer shorts and Merino Bike Jerseys, all of which ripped upon first contact with the ground.

September 10, 2019

A stretchy slim fitting soft-shell that does what it was sold to do.

I've only worn mine a few days. I found that it is indeed breathable, I left it on for quite awhile on some uphill grinds. I got walloped by an intense afternoon thunderstorm on a ride that took an extra hour or two longer than I expected, and the fabric is indeed "water resistant". About 5 minutes after the deluge began the DWR gave... Read More up the ghost in most places. But then again no-one ever said it was waterproof! The rear left pocket is a little awkward to get into (I'm right handed, why are all the MTB pockets on the jacket and shorts on the left?) and the chest pocket was barely big enough to fit a phone and/or a pair of sunglasses when the forest floor got too dark and I needed to take them off to see. I'm 6'3" normal body shape. The size L torso fits fine (almost a little tight) and the arms are even tighter.

September 5, 2019

Dirt Roamer

Light and easy to pack. Nice to be able to pull hood over your helmet. Tight in the shoulders and chest. Draw string at the bottom would be a nice addition.

August 20, 2019

Good fit, light and packable

Good fit, light and packable for all those unexpected storms

June 23, 2019

bump set spike! Nailed it.

Well designed jacket! great fit, with awesome fabric that breathes and allows you to move and perspire without turning you into a wet sweaty mess. Packs small enough to keep with you on all rides.

May 23, 2019

My new fav jacket

I bought this jacket having the cold spring mornings in mind. I wanted to find the perfect piece that would keep me warm but be breathable for those long climbs. The Dirt Roamer has worked perfectly. So breathable, you can definitely feel the wind thorough it but it is still enough to keep you warm. I also wear mine to the office and around the tow... Read Moren because I love the style and the fit. Super light weight too and takes up very little room in my backpack. I got the Large and I am 6'2" 190 pounds with broad shoulders

May 9, 2019

Great MTB layer

Quality build (as usual) and works as advertised—sheds heat on the ups, holds warmth on the down. Went OTB into a belly slide and the jacket didn’t show a scratch (after a good hose down). Looks great, even sized up.

May 8, 2019

Love the Dirt Roamer jacket

Great jacket for riding or just wearing in light weather. Nice wind resistance for active use - standing around on a breezy day at my kid's soccer game got a little chilly. Got a Large and it fits well - I'm 5'11", 195lbs. with broad shoulders, and fit was perfect - like the torso coverage. Roll-up hood works well, a bonus would... Read More be some way to secure the outer ends (a small flap to tuck them into?) so they don't unroll mid-ride and obscure look-behinds in traffic.

March 13, 2019

One of my most versatile lightweight jackets!

I can't tell you how much I love the Dirt Roamer. I use it for mountain biking, bike touring, road riding, fat biking, skate skiing, trail running, hiking, or anything else active that I may find myself embarking on. It is a great weight, super breathable, and fits nicely right between athletic and casual. Not a full on rain jacket but a breat... Read Morehable jacket for those cooler days. I wear this thing ALL the time. Highly recommend this jacket!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches