Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 31 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt

4.6/5
September 16, 2021

Cool weather hiker

Perfect too for cool weather hiking.

September 14, 2021

Great fit

Well made and still looks new after enduring numerous soaking and drying events on a multi-day raft trip in triple digit temperatures. Patagonia quality comes through again!

September 13, 2021

Excellent!

Size up, since its a slim fit and tends to shrink after washing. Overall, very quality and comfortable shirt. Well made, and you can see that in details

September 10, 2021

Excellent

When I got it, I only gave it a 4 stars review, since after first wash, the material was stiff. But! After 3 washes, material is finally breaking in and getting very soft. Size up, if you are more than a skinny person and youll be happy

September 6, 2021

Great shirt

Perfect base layer for hiking.

September 3, 2021

Poifect!

I was out on a hot sunny day distributing food. This kept me relatively cool and protected me from noon time rays.

August 31, 2021

Good, not great

The cool lightweight capilene is way better and comfortable than this one. Does the job, just too hot and not breathable

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2021

Hi Naor, we're so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt. We want to you to feel good in you gear and if you're not, please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 26, 2021

Great shirt

I finally figured out my sizing for Patagonia tops. I am normally a small, or even medium, but Patagonia regular fit tops are VERY baggy. So with this shirt being regular fit, I tried an XS and it fits perfectly. Great shirt. I've been wearing it in very hot and humid weather and it is indeed nice and cooling. It doesn't even feel like I&... Read More#x27;m wearing a long sleeve shirt.

August 26, 2021

Great everyday shirt for the active person

I've been wearing this shirt daily in warm weather and appreciate the lightness and the shirt's good quality.

August 20, 2021

Great hiking shirt

I have taken this shirt on multiple trips and it does an excellent job with breathability and it dries fast. It works great as a base layer but I would not recommend using this shirt in any temperature over 70 degrees.

August 14, 2021

Great product

Keeps warm and cool. Great product. Super soft. Collects no water. Light weight love it

August 1, 2021

Cool coverage

Light and cool. Wore it as a base layer in the morning, hiked for a while and by the end of the day, I had the sleeves pushed up and it was perfect. Bought 2 and will get more if needed.

July 17, 2021

Love it!

I love it!! Washed it first and now it's my second skin.

June 17, 2021

Feel good, except the tag

I got it as a gift. I really like the smoothness of the fabric. It is the best undershirt to wear for cool to warm day. Unfortunately the tag is at wrong location which is at about 3 inches above from the bottom of the shirt. The tag is made of hard fabric which makes scratches/itchy. I wish I could remove it without damaging the stitches. My curre... Read Morent solution is wearing it inside out!

June 13, 2021

Not a great breathable fabric

The fit and color is great but the fabric is not very breathable, making it too warm to wear in the hot-summer heat.

May 3, 2021

Just right

Comfortable and attractive. Dries quickly and ready to wear

April 29, 2021

Feels Great

I purchased 3 of these Tees for spring outdoor wear. Im very happy about the way they feel on the trail. They wick very well and my long sleeve actually is warm in the cool of the morning.Ive been looking for exacly this kind of product for my outdoor adventures. Color me Happy

April 26, 2021

Cool/warm when it needs to be.

Great product. Repeat purchaser of this shirt, tends to fade a little, but so do I.

April 25, 2021

Fabric Change

I have 5 other Capilene cool trail shirts. 3 new ones bought this spring are labeled as "cool trail". The fabric is not the expected soft, jersey-like material of my other shirts but rather a slicker weave, like a slightly heavier Capilene silk weight. Not even close.

Response from Patagonia
April 27, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on our new fabric. This season we upgraded to a 4.4-oz 100% recycled polyester spun jersey with HeiQ® Fresh durable odor control. The fabric is certified as bluesign® approved. Fair Trade Certified™ sewn.

March 22, 2021

Bulletproof shirt

Fits nice and snug, and, this thing is bullet proof tough

January 9, 2021

great running shirt!

I find this one provides a perfect layer for a run on a cool day. If it's cold (around freezing), I add a jacket or a loose running t-shirt on top. I love the feel on the skin, very comfortable and you won't sweat too much.

December 15, 2020

Good for cool days, too.

I wear an orange version when riding my road bike in summer along coastal roads. I want the cars to see me. The fit is neither baggy nor skin tight. Im 6 tall, 165 lb. The sleeves protect me from sun and dry very quickly I dont get warm and I dont get cold. Feels like fine cotton. My Black version feels and looks upscale - equally good under a coll... Read Moreared shirt. These will be on me or with me once we can resume our adventures post-COVID era.

December 2, 2020

Great all purpose long sleeve active shirt

I bought this by accident, thinking it was the lighter weight capilene cool fabric, and almost returned it. I ended up keeping it and I'm glad I did. It is a bit warmer, still very breathable and the fabric is tougher so it should be more durable as well. I wore it for 6 days straight on a november backpacking trip in the Grand Canyon, temps w... Read Moreere 30's at night and highs in the 60's and it was perfect. No chafing, barely any odor even after 6 days, and just right by itself or with an R1 pullover depending on the temperature. I also use it for cool to cold weather running, by itself or with an R1 or Houdini or Nano-Air depending on how cold it is. Very versatile, seems really durable, and the gussetted underarms eliminate the seams that tend to cause chafing on my older cap-1 long sleeves and other baselayer shirts.

November 30, 2020

Great temp control

I own two of these, so why 3 out of 5? As far as temperature control, moisture control, and the feel this is a 5/5. Issues are, there are two materials (my first one seems thicker), the green one is see thru under certain light and it's starting to pile. My thicker one (light gray) is piling so bad that I would not wear it by it self. But as... Read More a base layer, they're great.

November 29, 2020

Really versatile

I can wear this shirt biking, snowboarding or fishing. The material dries quickly and is comfy. I usually wear Large shirts but this Medium runs good on size ( I like larger shirts).

October 30, 2020

Nice shirt

Nice product, fits well. 1st gen material for this shirt had some piling issues. Fabric is comfortable, breathes reasonably well. The lighter colors are a touch see thru, not terribly so.

September 2, 2020

This shirt changed my life

I cant wear anything else. This shirt is now my go to no matter what I'm doing. The cool trail shirt is a bit tougher than the ligther weight fabrics and resists pulls and pills. All of the trail shirts, regardless of material weight, run true to size -prior to being washed. I try to keep it out of the dryer at all costs, but over time the M... Read Moreedium size became too small for me so I order Large now and they end up fitting perfectly!

September 2, 2020

Perfect Weight

Great material weight. Mango color is bright and highly visible. Hope it wears well over time and resists staining.

June 16, 2020

Impressed

Always been weary of synthetic tees. Never liked how they felt so Ive always just stuck with natural fiber tees for active wear. Been trying to enjoy the outdoors more but my standard cotton gym shirt is not cutting it out on the trail (especially being summer in southeastern US). Looked all over for recommendations and many of them pointed me here... Read More. I decided to take a chance on this shirt. As soon as I got the shirt, I tried it on. Was very impressed with it. The fit is spot on but was really surprised by how much it felt like a natural fiber shirt. It almost feels like a bamboo shirt. Added bonus is that wife liked it too. Been wearing it for my workouts and it continues to impress. This is will now be my go to shirt for activewear (workout, trail, beach, bike). You could also wear this casually as it has a great minimal look void off huge logos/techy detailing. The fit is actual true to size but maybe considered to fit small compared to other manufacturers sizing. If you are leaner go with actual size, if you are carrying a few extra pounds then size up. Long story short, Im ridiculously picky and this is my Goldilocks shirt. Looking forward to getting a ton of use out of it.

May 8, 2020

Comfy, but Pilling! :(

Bought a couple of these for my husband this past winter (he has worn/been a huge fan of your silkweight capilene shirts for 20 years). He said these new shirts were just as comfy/true to size as the silkweight kind; but unfortunately, even after just one wash (I followed wash instructions & let it air-dry), there was lots of pilling, esp aroun... Read Mored the collar area. He wears these during the colder months to work, under a golf shirt... so unfort, since there is pilling at the collar, it is visible under his golf shirt collar, which just makes for not a very "neat" appearance. The silkweights have never pilled, as a comparison. We both remain HUGE Patagonia fans tho! :)

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

We really appreciate you taking the time to express your feedback on the pilling. We are glad to hear you remain big fans and we understand, pilling can be a nuisance. Unfortunately, pilling with knit garments is inevitable but there are many products that can help to remove them. With that being said, you are more than welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back to us for a warranty evaluation.

April 24, 2020

Pilling

Good fit but the arm length is a tad short. Wore this twice and it felt good but the Pilling around the neck occurred after the first workout.

Response from Patagonia
April 30, 2020

Hi there, thanks for the feedback and we are sorry to hear about the pilling. Unfortunately, pilling can be normal with any knit garment, but luckily there are a lot of products out there that help to remove pilling from clothes. Nonetheless, we guarantee everything we make and if you're unsatisfied, you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back to us.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches