Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 105 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt

4.2/5
September 13, 2021

Really comfotable

I love these for summer mountain biking they keep you cool and dry super fast. I love the material its made of

September 12, 2021

Nice material

The shirt is comfortable to wear and although it is early I have yet to see any evidence of shrinkage. I typically buy extra large for that reason but the website size guidance indicated a large for my height and so far so good.

September 12, 2021

Soft and comfy

This line of cap really does feel like a natural fiber but it keeps moisture away. Really comfortable

September 10, 2021

Dry comphy

I have older s/s capiline tops and this new version is a better fit and functional. I really like this new model. You ran out of stock too soon. You need more lighter colors.

September 9, 2021

Breathes excellently

Purchased this shirt to do the Rim to Rim Grand Canyon hike in AZ fully expecting temperatures to reach 105 at the bottom of the canyon. Lugging a 30 pound pack for 30 miles sin blistering sun I can say that the shirt not only held up to the abuse of my pack straps but it breathed incredibly well and did not cause any chaffing or rubbing at the sea... Read Morems. The shirt was worn for 5 straight days and didnt hold an odor, perhaps just a slight one. I also appreciate the torso is slightly long at the back so the shirt doesnt expose your lower back when reaching or bending. It also packs up tightly in your pack. Recommend fully.

September 6, 2021

Great Fit, Feel. Pilling after 3 Days

Bought these for hiking, as they are Trail shirts. Love the fit, the feel and the colors. But they quickly (3 days each) are pulling on back and around shoulders. Dont seem like a trail shirt. Will probably return.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the lack of durability on this shirt. While all knit fabrics are subject to pilling, it sounds like this is an extreme case and it may be due to the straps and material of the backpack. Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help return it under warranty!

September 6, 2021

Great shirt

Perfect base layer for warm weather. Comfortable.

September 3, 2021

Patagonia style

Nice looking and fits well and I like the color

August 30, 2021

Lightweight and breathable

I have a few of these Capilene shirts and I love them while hiking in hot weather. Breathable and comfortable.

August 29, 2021

Nice shirt

wish is was an inch longer since I'm 6'4"

August 29, 2021

Comfortable fit and decent wicking

I am buying up light weight wicking shirts as I am going on an extended trip to India when restrictions are lifted. These shirts are able to handle 90 degree summer days here in Colorado with no problem. Now that they dont make silkweight capillene anymore this is a functional replacement. Overall this is a good shirt for high perspiration days and... Read More is a good base layer if you are going to be layering in cold weather.

August 24, 2021

Safety Is More Than Just a Dance

Great shirt for being active and the bright color is good for workouts near auto traffic.

August 21, 2021

Super comfortable

Looks good and very comfortable, however starts to look worn after a handful of washes.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2021

Hey William! Thank you so much for taking the time to review this shirt. Due to the jersey like nature of these shirts they are prone to pilling if met with friction such as in a wash with abrasive materials. We recommend you wash these on a delicate cool cycle and hang to dry. All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and you're always welcome to return it if you see fit.

August 17, 2021

Perfect fit for me

After reading the reviews I went with an XL which fits me perfect. I'm 6'2" and about 215. They length and general size are perfect. Not too baggy and not too tight. Just right. Looking forward to running in it.

August 15, 2021

Thin material

This recent batch of Cool Trail shirts is a miss. Same cut as previous purchases but the material is see-through. The black t was the worst. Going back.

August 3, 2021

Ideal for hot day exercise

I wear the T for playing pickle ball, also for walking. I've come to really like these hot weather T's because they are light, look great and absorb perspiration exceeding well without corresponding bad odor. I have at least such T's and would buy more.

August 3, 2021

Super comfortable

Lightweight and most comfortable shirt I own.

August 3, 2021

Versatile shirt.

Having been a fan of Patagonia Capilene base layers, I bought one of these, and really enjoyed the feel, and the fit. I'm a Clydsdale, so XL was the right fit. You can wear these for work, play, and really good for nights in the sleeping bag, as they don't bind the way cotton t-shirts do for me. If they last as long as my old base layers,... Read More these will be a bargain.

August 2, 2021

Quality

I got this for trail running and hiking but was so impressed with the quality and fit that I dont want to get it dirty yet, so right now I wear it casually

July 29, 2021

Cool travel t-shirt

A great t-shirt that is great in warmer climates. I use it for hiking & running, so the looser fit allows the t-shirt to breathe. It's a regular fit, so sizing matches up with the P-6 tee.

July 26, 2021

Nearly Perfect

I really love the fit. Its not too narrow at the waist, and it doesnt get too smelly, like a lot of performance fabrics. Only down side is that its pretty shear.

July 26, 2021

Cool trail shirt!

Love it, my go to for working outside.

July 25, 2021

Static Cling Machine

Been purchasing Patagonia gear for years and can't recall ever having a bad experience. Like the look and fit of this shirt but it is a static cling machine. No matter I do, it comes out of the dryer all wrinkled, clingy and unwearable. I tried using anti-static spray, but that didnt help much and made the shirt smell bad. I finally just had t... Read Moreo toss it.

July 24, 2021

Guessed right

Sizing at Patagonia is a matter of educated guessing. This shirt is not slim fit and it was roomy, but it is the right size. I also bought shirts that were slim fit and they also fit correctly, but were tighter. I have bought clothing before that was exactly the same as something I had purchased before and the sizing was completely different. Very ... Read Morefrustrating and annoying. I have been a Patagonia customer for decades, but I am much more careful now .

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Hello David, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for your continued support. We are happy to provide the garment measurements for any additional reference. Please do not hesitate to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/How-do-I-contact-Customer-Service).

July 24, 2021

Light weight feel

Nice looking T. Clean look and seems well made. Easy to move in but not baggy. Feels light on the skin. Fabric is thin but that helps it breath. I need to buy a couple more. I like the forest colors.

July 20, 2021

Cool & dry, as advertised

This is my second of these T's. So far they've done duty as a primary T for hiking in Bali, Vermont and Montana, and as an under-jersey shirt mountain biking in Vermont. They are light, relatively cool and yet wear well, with no degradation of the first one after a couple of dozen wear-wash cycles. All thumbs up for these.

July 20, 2021

Good size/quality shirt

This shirt fits just right (not too tight or loose). 5'10" and 175; 40R. Weight is good even in high humidity. Just wish more mediums were in stock right now. Could also wear this casually with shorts...

July 19, 2021

cool trail shirt

wicks well but probably better for cooler weather. Its a bit thick for warm/hot temps

July 14, 2021

Best shirt ever

Love this shirt, so comfortable!

July 14, 2021

Comfortable, Well-Made Shirt

I love this shirt. I wear it as often as I can. The wool is super comfortable, the shirt is durable, and it fits every situation from cragging to hanging out at the office. Highly recommend.

July 13, 2021

Comfort and Style of a T-shirt with Tech. Performance

Super comfortable in a wide range of temperatures. This is an article of clothing I don't think about after I put it on.

July 13, 2021

Great T shirt

I would give these shirts 5 stars except for the fact that there is some discrepancy in sizing. I have purchased capaline cool T shirts multiple times. They are my go to summer active and lounge T. Very comfortable, light weight and long lasting. However in my most recent purchase two of the shirts fit true to size and one was noticeably smaller. I... Read More’m a big guy 6’2 235. Would love it if they all fit the same.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Thanks for your feedback CJ. We're sorry about that size discrepancy. It sounds like you may have gotten a defective item. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team to see your options.

July 13, 2021

Excellent T-shirt

T-shirt is lightweight, fits well, and is well made. Only downside is frightful price, especially when shipping charges are factored in.

July 11, 2021

Great fit, but not made for all activities!

As with all Patagonia the fit and feel are spot on for me. However I used these over a week of 5-7 mile day hikes and had quite a bit of pilling. All located where lumbar pad and wait belt contacted the shirt. So now they are relegated to just hiking and backpacking shirts.

July 10, 2021

Solid shirt.

This is the lighter weight Cap t-shirt that came out after the everyday cap shirt. Very breathable and comfortable when active, great for hot humid conditions. In my pov its too thin for everyday wear unless you live in a topic humid heat zone. Good piece of kit.. now if Patty could just improve their zippers I digress.

July 7, 2021

Really comfortable but does nos last long

I bought 2 Capilene cool trail shirts and one Capinele cool trail bike henley and they are incredibly comfortable. However, after only 3 or 4 wash they fade and look like a 5-year-old shirt that I wore every day. If they were more durable they would definitely be worth the money but sadly they are quickly worn out.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hi Charles, thanks for the feedback and we are sorry to hear that these worn rather quickly. Please note, we guarantee everything we make and welcome you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything back that hasn't performed to your expectations.

July 4, 2021

Light T Shirt

Very comfortable need more colors

July 2, 2021

Pilling like crazy!

After only a few washes, the fabric is already showing significant pilling.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Hi Quyntin, we're bummed to hear this! Unfortunately though, pilling is something that can be common with knit garments. Luckily, there's many products that can leave that shirt good-as-new such as a sweater shaver. Nonetheless, we guarantee all our product and welcome you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back.

June 26, 2021

Perfect multi day shirt

Love these shirts . Got one as a gift and bought another one after my first use, which was hiking in the Grand Canyon. Dry quick, and keep me cool which is perfect for someone like me whos body temp runs hot. Not only great for hiking and climbing but great casual wear as well. Worth buying

June 25, 2021

GREAT FABRIC

Really awesome shirt! Amazing fabric! High quality and very comfortable. Wish there were some more color options. I have 2 now and very pleased with them both!

June 24, 2021

Great All-Around Workout Shirt

Super impressed with this shirt--soft and comfortable, breathes well, dries quickly. I use for mountain biking and trail running mostly, but it's just a good-looking t-shirt aside from its tech functions. It's tough too--I took a nasty bike spill recently onto a rocky trail; the fall road-rashed my back and elbow really significantly, b... Read Moreut the shirt just had a couple small tears. I patched them with tech tape and they're good to go. I think the vast majority of other shirts would have been demolished beyond repair--I loved this shirt even more when I saw how little it had been impacted!

June 15, 2021

New fabric is not good

Just ordered two of these shirts to add to the few I bought back in 2019. I will for sure be returning these new shirts, the new updated fabric that Patagonia switched too makes it feel like you are wearing a very expensive trash bag. The older model of these shirts were great, super soft and breathable and quick drying. These new shirts feel like ... Read Morethey are going to stick right to your skin the moment you begin to sweat. Also if you look at them from an angle they are pretty much see through, my wife noticed it the second I tried them on. Please go back to the old fabric!!

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2021

Hi Kyle, sorry to hear that the fabric of the Capilene® Cool Trail Shirt wasn't what you expected. If you're not satisfied with your gear, please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

May 28, 2021

Love this shirt!

Fits great and performs well!

May 18, 2021

The Perfect Tee

I love this shirt...fabric, fit, price. This would be a great shirt to hike/backpack in but it's also a great everyday tee. For now I'll continue to wear as casual wear but as time goes by, I'm sure it will become part of my hiking gear.

April 27, 2021

Perfect on hot humid days

Your best and lightest material for running and hiking on a hot humid Summer day.

April 20, 2021

Great fabric

Love the fabric, Fit seems to run one size small. The shirt seems a little tight and short for my body. I would return it, but shipping is expensive where I live. If it fit better, I would buy 10 of them.

April 20, 2021

High function!

Great fabric, very high quality. Can wear to work or any active pursuit and as a casual t-shirt.

April 16, 2021

Versatile! so nice

Love this shirt! I bought the stripey shirt green/blue (or black) and it's fantastic...breathable and wicking which is great for climbing but simultaneously lofty enough where a breeze won't make me shiver... I wear these in tropical conditions (humid upper 80's usually) and though I feel a little hot on the approach (the daily cool ... Read Moreor daily cool graphic performs better there, but that prob means this shirt will do well in the colder Virginia Fall? ) they're awesome for movement... this is a shirt i put on and kind of forget is on....was wary to pay the price but i'd say it's worth it due to the performance and the fact that it feels robust/longlasting. I would love more earthy tone colors or stripey variations

April 13, 2021

Doesn't Disappoint

I love the capilene cool trail shirt so much I actually bought 2 of 'em! While I have a couple of the capilene daily shirts, I prefer the cool trail shirt as, I believe, it has more uses. The thing I love most about this guy is that it is super casual and can be worn like a t-shirt. The Capilene Cool Trail Shirt really is a cool trail shirt!

April 12, 2021

Awesome material

Used it a few times riding mtb in the desert and its awesome. Stays cool and dry without being to thin. I wish that it was just a little longer on the back for riding to keep you covered on the back a little more.

April 9, 2021

Sweet-0

Awesome, clean fitting shirt.

April 7, 2021

Work Shirt

Very soft fabric and plenty of stretch for performing activities. It shows sweat marks extremely quick.

March 27, 2021

Daily staple

Wear this along with capilene cool daily tee basically everyday. Both are amazing at cooling and being comfortable during hot summer Florida days, this one is much more cotton feeling although there is no cotton compared to the capilene daily. Both are fantastic and comfortable but they feel different on skin. This one feels more like a traditional... Read More tee whereas the daily capilene feels more like a thin poly shirt. Both are great and I go for solid colors

March 26, 2021

Excellent shirt

Excellent shirt, breathes well. Some reviews have stated the material is thin, however I havent had any issues with it. Would suggest more color options.

March 25, 2021

Fresh and comfortable

This T is as breezy as they come. They run perfectly true to size and are great for sports or just chilling at home. Very lively and rich colors.

March 25, 2021

Fantastic Shirt

I hate riding in flashy MTB jerseys. They are usually poorly made and don't keep you as cool as they claim. The Cap Cool Trail Shirt is not this. The Cap Cool Trail Shirt is everything I have wanted out of a shirt. Incredibly light weight and breathable while still having an understated style and a solid fit. It sits on my body like my favorit... Read Moree casual shirt without being too baggy. On trail, it wicks moisture perfectly while allowing for that much needed breeze to cool me down. One of the best purchases I have made in a long time. If I had one gripe, I would say I wish there were a few more subtle colors and maybe a subtle graphic. I have it in both the grey and the green/black stripes and will continue to purchase more as they become available.

March 22, 2021

Super comfortable

Good fit and great breathability. Perfect for long, warm runs.

March 21, 2021

Great shirt

Great fitting shirt. Bought multiples, hoping they last like other Patagonia gear.

March 5, 2021

Perfect baselayer

This tee is perfect base layer under my R1 zip neck pullover. Very comfortable & light , breathable.

February 27, 2021

Changed for the worse

Purchased a couple of the prior versions of this shirt and loved them - soft and comfortable. The softness is wearing out due to use (OK with that). So I ordered two new ones. The softness is now completely absent. Customer service was pleasant, but unfortunately I learned that the material was changed and that is why I will be returning the new ve... Read Morersions of the shirt.

Response from Patagonia
March 11, 2021

We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the feel of our newest version of the Men's Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. If you're looking for a few more of an older version, check out our [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) website where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons. You might have some luck and we're always adding to inventory.

February 12, 2021

Capilene Trail v3 improved on v2

Definitely an improvement over the 2nd version of the capilene trail fabric, which has some serious pilling issues. It's not quite the same as the first run, either. There's less of a brushed finish, thiner yarns, and more open knit. So, actually better for warmer temps. If you hold it up to the light, it's surprisingly how open t... Read Morehe structure is, but looks opaque when worn.

February 5, 2021

Nice shirt

Shirt runs a little tight in this arms and chest wasnt wanting an athletic fit ,shirt is light weight and breathable rate this a 3

January 29, 2021

Damn Good Looking Tech Tee

Soft, fast wicking, nice looking (heathered, textured look). Cant ask for much more. Planning on buying several colors.

January 26, 2021

Ok

Not half as good as the previous year's model. Baggy at the bottom and different material. Returned them the day they arrived.

January 25, 2021

Perfect

I love the fit as a stocky guy. Im usually between a medium and Large so that is why I put that it runs kinda small. I can wear this shirt for a week with light use and it wont smell. Probably 3 days with have use. And 2 days for backpacking. It dries quickly and is super light. I love it.

January 22, 2021

I love it !!!

I love the T-shirt made of Capilene® so much, it feels really good during exercise! Fit, soft, breathable, quick-drying, perfect!

October 23, 2020

wrinkle resistant

I enjoy this shirt for travel, for these reasons: definitely odor resistant; comfortable in hot and humid environments; feels soft, looks like cotton; quickly air-dries; is very wrinkle resistant.

October 17, 2020

Breathable and Lightweight

Shirt is comfortable to wear for any fitness activities or casual wear. True to size and has a great fabric to the touch.

October 15, 2020

So Far So Good

Patagonias Capilene line is undeniably the best base layer in the game, Thermal, Mid and Air series. I have had mine for two seasons and they perform remarkably so I thought Id give their short sleeves a try. Between the Daily, Trail and Lightweight models, I chose the Trail because of the cotton-like appearance and for their overall fit. The light... Read Moreweight was too thin making them see through and the daily suffered from bacon/oversized necks. Ive only used them this summer but so far so good. They wick sweat so Ive stayed cool and dry during my hikes and the odor control seems to work fine.

September 10, 2020

way too tight

This is not baggy enough or a regular fit instead of a slim fit.

September 8, 2020

Cool shirt!

Perfect hiking shirt!

September 7, 2020

Comfortable in the summer in the mountains.

Great so far. Perfect for summer days in the 70s. We'll see how it does at 8500' in the winter.

September 4, 2020

Light, Great Fit ,and Breathable

In terms of material and performance, this shirt is amazing. Feels light and comfortable. Ive used it for hiking, running, casual restaurants and just lounging around at home. Im 510 and 166lbs and the Small fits me nice and slim while being long enough. I ordered this shirt in 3 different colors and now theyre my go to everyday and travel shirts. ... Read MoreTwo suggestions are that a V-neck version would be a killer and that the sleeves could be a little bit slimmer but its not a big deal at all.

September 1, 2020

Super soft

One of the softest t shirts Ive ever owned. More of a cotton t-shirt feel than other capilene products.

September 1, 2020

Great Fit

This shirt is flexible as you stretch. It breathes great especially when you are sweating. It is very comfortable.

September 1, 2020

Super comfortable

I use two for this shirts in my running line up and are my favorite. Will be purchasing more. Log 40-50 miles per week. I wear them casually with jeans as they've held up well.

September 1, 2020

Fantastic Shirt for Warm weather.

This shirt has been a life saver for me this summer. Great for warm to hot days. I liked mine so much that I now have this shirt in 4 colors. 10/10 Recommend.

September 1, 2020

New Material is Great!

I've tried this shirt a couple years ago and it was sort of irritating on the skin, but they really got it right with the new colors and material!

September 1, 2020

Hot

great hot weather top for cycling or running

August 3, 2020

Fit

Most Patagonia M shirts fit me with plenty of room, The M was far too small but the L is a great fit, that said I love the shirt and I have ordered more.

July 31, 2020

Great

Great breathable fit and extremely comfortable material

July 13, 2020

Great shirt

Noticeably softer and heavier than the Capilene Lightweight series

July 13, 2020

My All Around Go-To

This shirt is so versatile. It can be a work day or down day and it can handle both with ease. My only recommendation would be to consider ordering one size larger. It runs true to size but will shrink a little bit.

July 12, 2020

Great shirt

Noticeably softer and heavier than the Capilene Lightweight series

July 11, 2020

My All Around Go-To

This shirt is so versatile. It can be a work day or down day and it can handle both with ease. My only recommendation would be to consider ordering one size larger. It runs true to size but will shrink a little bit.

June 25, 2020

Almost as cool as The Cap Daily

I was very hesitant to buy this shirt based off some of the bad reviews. I have never owned the previous generation of this shirt but can say the one I got is exactly what I expected. The capilene cool daily shirt is the ultimate hot weather shirt with the draw back of feeling like a strong gust of wind might rip it. This shirt to me is almost as ... Read Morewell performing but I can wear it hiking or mountain biking with less fear of a stray briar ruining it.

June 20, 2020

2020 not as good as 2019

If you can get your hands on the 2019 edition of this shirt, it's the best T-shirt I've ever owned - feels like super soft cotton, more breathable than any of my other T-shirts, and remarkably quick drying (they do start to pill around the waistbelt if worn a lot while hiking, but it never bothered me). The 2020 version is a completely di... Read Morefferent material - not nearly as soft and breathable, has much more of that synthetic feel to it. The old shirt was a real standout; the new one is basically just a regular synthetic T-shirt. Hopefully Patagonia responds to all the negative feedback by bringing back the old version - I'd stock my entire wardrobe with those.

June 17, 2020

Great Shirt for hiking

The capIlene trail shirt is perfect for hiking.. wicks moisture and is very light. Easily folds small into the backpack. I recommend it for hikers! Dennis

June 16, 2020

love this shirt

i don't leave reviews a lot but I'm on a hot streak today and i just wanted to leave a review for my forge grey cool trail shirt. It is my favorite shirt of all time. and i really mean that too. I don't know what it is about it but i find myself putting it on all the time. functionally it is exactly what you'd want for a trail s... Read Morehirt: light, fast drying, breathable. But this shirt is a lot more of that for me. I look forward to putting this shirt on after i do laundry, and its a mainstay in my rotation of "shirts that make my weird body look good" (you all know what I'm talking about). I cant recommend a piece of clothing any higher than i can this shirt. buy it, put it to the test, and love it like i do.

June 13, 2020

Pilling.

The fit is great. The sleeves are a decent length and its not overly baggy or hipster skinny. But then it starts to pilll after your first wear. Pilling on the inside of the shirt, pilling on the outside of the shirt. Pilling everywhere. I dont know if its the recycled polyester Patagonia uses or what, but anything I have from them that is polyeste... Read Morer pills almost instantly. Its not the unsightly look of the pilling that bothers me, its the fact that a shirt at this price point, especially for what it is, shouldnt have issues after one wear.

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2020

Hi Rich, we're so sorry to hear about your disappointment with the pilling on your Men's Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. We'd be happy to take that back under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin your warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

June 10, 2020

Awsome shirt for long runs on hot days.

I absolutely love this shirt. The athletic fit is great and on hot days it does not get sloppy with sweat. Additionally, it dries off quickly and can be used on a second run later in the day after it dries off while I'm at work.

June 9, 2020

New Version is Disappointing

Bought this shirt ealry in 2020 when it was on sale. Didn't realize they were phasing out the current version for a new fabric. I LOVED the old soft breathable material. This new updated version is just like any other boring shirt but at a huge upcharge. I really hope Patagonia reads these reviews and brings back the original Cool Trail Shirt.... Read More

June 4, 2020

1 t-shirt for everything I do

I initially bought 1 in green as a running shirt, but ended up so happy with it that I came back and bought 2 more in black because I needed casual everyday T-shirts. It feels strictly like a workout shirt when you first put it on, but after wearing 3 days casually, paddleboarding, doing yardwork, it wore in super well. It feels super sturdy, the s... Read Moretitching is extremely well done, and it dries quickly. Stitching on the back and under the arm is placed for mobility - awesome for paddling or rock climbing, but in black just looks and feels like a really nice black t shirt that won't shrink. I also recommend buying straight from the Patagonia site because, if I remember right, the packaging involved no single use/non-recycled elements. This was not the case with Patagonia products I've bought from other well known retailers. I'm 6, 3" - the large fits very well and is long enough

May 27, 2020

Redesigned Version is a Bummer

The fabric of the redesigned version of this shirt is a huge disappointment. No longer super soft, wicking and nicely draping; now it's stiff and feels like cheap plastic. The old fabric was so comfy I would wear it as much on the couch as on the trail. The new version, I wouldn't suggest wearing for any reason.

May 25, 2020

Great Tee

As long as you (1) aren't completely obsessed with the older versions of this shirt and can wrap your head around the fact that this is a different shirt, and (2) you actually have an athletic build, then there's absolutely nothing wrong with this shirt at all. It does exactly what it was designed to do and looks / fits well for those pur... Read Moreposes while doing it. 5'10 155 trim athletic build, runner/climber. Medium fits absolutely perfectly. Not too baggy, not too tight, great length overall and great length on the arms. Neck and arm holes aren't restrictive or tight at all. Neck holds up its shape over-time and does not become droopy or fold over on itself, which is the benchmark of a good tee shirt. It's incredibly soft and light and wicks sweat well; excellent for running in warmer weather. I only wish they had more colors and slightly more interesting colors. The orange is really cool. I'm not gonna run or hike or climb in a black tee shirt though.

May 13, 2020

Changed for the Worse

I absolutely love my original Capilene Cool Trail Shirts, which led me to buy some more. However, the quality of them has changed dramatically. They are no longer the soft, comfortable shirts that I fell In love with. The material has changed, and I'm very disappointed in this change.

Response from Patagonia
May 31, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to inform us on your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you're not a fan of the changes made. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html) these back to us.

May 8, 2020

a tiny preview

I was so excited to order this T shirt for the summer work and play. But is sounds tiny and suffocating, I have to say, it seems to be a trend. It is getting harder and harder to find MAN clothes. The dimensions after washing typically go to the pile for my little sprout nephew. Can you guys go back to the old dimensions and materials please.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with this shirt and appreciate your feedback on this. We always want to be sure you're satisfied with your purchase so please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

April 24, 2020

Very disappointing!

I was stoked to see the Cool Trail in black this season and ordered it immediately. I have several Cool Trail shirts of the prior model and they are among my favorite shirts. This shirt is basically the complete opposite. The prior version was cut more regular fit which I adjusted for by going with a M rather than my normal L in Patagonia slim fit ... Read Morecotton tees. The prior version is also incredibly soft and breathable. This version lacks the soft feel and wears like a tight plastic bag. It has a slimmer fit than the prior model and the lack of breathability is suffocating. If it weren't black and it weren't so bad for the environment to ship a single shirt across the country - this one would be out of my closet. I would be hesitant to wear this for any athletic activity. Buyer beware.

Response from Patagonia
April 24, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback to us and we are very sorry to hear that the revisions didn't work out for you. We are always listening to our customer's comments and honing our designs so we appreciate this. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed and please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

April 17, 2020

Terrible redesign

Dont let some of these reviews fool you. Patagonia has changed the fabric of this shirt and it is nothing like the old style. In my opinion, HUGE MISTAKE. The old style was a one of kind shirt in regard to feel and now its gone. I guess someone needed to try and prove their worth by making unnecessary and dumb changes to what was a great and unique... Read More product. Now it feels like any other shirt you can buy form any other brand for half the price. Very disappointing, Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
April 17, 2020

Hi Daniel! We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this shirt. Please note that we did not change the fabric of the Capilene Cool Trail Shirt. This shirt used to be called the Nine Trails Shirt and was renamed in Spring 2019, but the fabric remained the same. You may be looking for the Capilene Cool Daily Shirt or the Capilene Cool Lightweight Shirt. Thanks for your review nonetheless!

March 17, 2020

Small and see through

I have the Cool Daily Shirt in a small and it fits well. This, despite being a "regular fit" as well, is very tight. Also, the pictures definitely don't indicate how see through the material really is. I get that it's supposed to breathe well and keep you cool, but the product photos are a misrepresentation of what it's goi... Read Moreng to look like in real life. Probably a fine shirt, but the description/photos are WAY off, leading to my low review. So unless you're looking for a skin-tight, translucent shirt, may want to run with the Cool Daily instead.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Hey there Curt, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you are experiencing sizing issues with this shirt. If you're welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html) for a different size or product that will work better for you under our [ironclad guarantee](https://www.patagonia.ca/ironclad-guarantee.html).

March 11, 2020

My new favorite shirt

So I've purchased approxmiately 6 of these so far and just ordered 2 more. I have a variety of colors and short sleeve and long sleeve and honestly it's my favorite shirt. They're very similar to the nine trails tshirts from a few years ago. I wear them to work, I wear them hiking and backpacking and usually throw one on after snowbo... Read Morearding for a dry and comfortable ride home. I can't say enough great things about these shirts. Do yourself a favor and grab one!

March 3, 2020

Would love this as a v-neck!

Tried on in-store - similar to the wonderful Nine Trails shirts. If Patagonia offered this with a v-neck option, it would be incredible.

February 23, 2020

Nice shirt but too snug

I just bought a Capilene Cool Trail shirt, intending to use it primarily for hiking. I usually wear size S in Patagonia clothing, but this shirt was very tight in the shoulders and chest (I'm 5'7", 155 lbs). The length at the hem and sleeves was good. I'll have to return it and unfortunately a M will probably be too long. I love... Read More Patagonia clothing, but size inconsistency has been a constant in my 35 years of buying their products. I like the fabric and would recommend it if it fits.

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Hi John! We're sorry to hear this ended up being too snug. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

February 20, 2020

Amazing Shirt

Comfy, cool, warm, dries fast. I wear it hiking, working out and when clean to bed.

February 15, 2020

Cool Trail size S Review

Great shirt I’m 5’9 and 150 and the S fit me well. It cuts off just below the waist so if you need to tuck in try going up a size. It’s very soft and will primarily use for travel in place of wool tshirts. I’ve worn for 2 days and no stink yet. For backpacking I would consider something a little thicker for anything other than using this as a base ... Read Morelayer.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches