Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts - 11 3/4"

Write Your Review

3.8/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Dirt Roamer Mountain Bike Shorts - 11 3/4"

3.8/5
Kinda Small
June 24, 2022

Perfect!

These are the best MTB/gravel shorts I've owned. Some MTB shorts are sooo heavy, and these are a good balance in terms of being light and cool but not too flimsy. The cell phone pocket is great and an important detail - your phone sits below your thigh and doesn't catch on your leg when you ride. They are true to size in my opinion. The... Read Morey are an athletic fit, but consistent with other Patagonia stuff I've owned.

October 24, 2021

Not very durable.

I have two of these shorts. At first, I absolutely loved them...they fit perfectly, are very comfortable to bike in, and are some of the best looking women's bike shorts in my opinion. Unfortunately, both pairs of shorts ripped at the seam from the crotch to the butt (Not ideal when on a big bike ride with a group of people). I've sent th... Read Moreem in to Patagonia repairs and was happy with how quickly they returned them stitched back together. But my first ride with them again the seam tore. I'm sending them back to be repaired...again. I love the look and fit of these shorts, but I really hope they improve the durability in the future. I want to have confidence to shred my bike in these shorts and not be worried about ripping another hole.

October 17, 2021

Versatile & Environmentally Friendly

As a landscape designer and waterwoman, I need my clothing to present appropriately in many settings. I was introduced to these shorts via a friend who is an avid sailor, and when I saw these online, I didn't hesitate to order. They are a little tight in the middle, but I am a little large in the middle. I have worn these shorts from the dock ... Read Moreto the garden to the book club. They hold their shape. The length is flattering. They are simple super versatile and when it is time to wash, I just rinse gently in cool, slightly soapy water and hang dry. They are ready for the next adventure, or appointment. I also like that there are no tags--simple design and detail. The single pocket on the leg is fine for last minute lip gloss, or extra cash...I tuck my phone in the waistband. I really love these shorts. Thanks!

October 9, 2021

Great shorts

I love how lightweight these shorts are. They are very comfortable and I like the slimmer fit. As for the sizing, I am 5’3’’ 115 lbs and size 2 as per the size chart (36”hip). I originally bought the size 2 which fit fine (slim fit) as a casual short, but felt too snug with my chamois. The size 4 is perfect for riding, and I just have cinch the wai... Read Morest a tiny bit.

August 28, 2021

Best MTB shorts

My go to shorts for all conditions. (I have two pairs). They are worth the money - comfortable, pocket is the right size/location, length is perfect, fabric is light and sturdy. Im 57, 140 lbs and ordered a size 10 based on other reviews (normally wear size 4 or 6). I could definitely wear size 8, but I prefer my shorts looser.

July 1, 2021

Very comfortable

They run true to size and are very comfortable. The fabric is soft and stretches just enough to accommodate exercise with a lot of lifting. I highly recommend them.

December 2, 2020

Great slim fit but run small so go a size up!

I'm typically a size 4 but ordered a size 6 after reading the reviews and the 6 fits perfectly! I love how they are slim and flattering, which is hard to find for mountain biking shorts. Love them, would buy another pair!

October 13, 2020

Wish I bought a different color.

I have a love hate relationship with these shorts. I bought the shorts in the turquoise color. I was skeptical of the tight fit at first, but they turned out to be comfortable like tights would be - I was looking a confortable short I could wear all day at the resort or on a cross-country ride. I love these shorts for the fit and feel. I hate these... Read More shorts because within a month the butt of the shorts is stained with dirt. I understand stains will happen, but B.C. you can expect wet rides and to get dirty, after only month (a dozen wears) I want to go buy a different brand short because of the terrible stains on the butt. I'm skeptical another color in this pant may do the same thing. Not for riders who get overly dirty.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Hello Brittney, thank you for sharing your feedback on the stain issue. Mud stains can definitely be challenging. If you do not have any success with pre-soaking treatments before the wash cycle, you are certain welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html) them.

September 30, 2020

Bike hike short failed taped seam

I bought these shorts for a hiking trip through Albania, Montenegro and Scotland. They were super, easy to hand wash and dry and packed light. Very very disappointed in the taped seam which has now come apart. The shorts are only a year old and with minimal wear and not hard wear. It is not worth my time and money to return, purchasers who are inte... Read Morerested in these shorts be wary. Poorly made, certainly not worth the dollars paid to have it fail so badly only a year later.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Hello Michel, we are very sorry to learn about the wear issue that you experienced with the shorts. Our products are covered by the Ironclad Guarantee so if you should change your mind on the [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html), you are welcome to do so anytime. You can also contact Patagonia Vancouver to work with the store directly.

September 30, 2020

I always get compliments

These are my favorite mtb shorts. They are perfect for hot weather states. They fit my legs perfect and I can wear them after a ride and not look ridiculous in baggy boy style mtb shorts!

September 5, 2020

The ultimate all-around shorts

These must be one of my favorite pieces of clothing, ever. I wear these shorts all the time; cycling, in town, boating.. They fit like a glove and the fabric is non wrinkly and light. However, I would not wear these mountain biking or in tough conditions as I doubt the fabric will hold up. But for casual wear they are simply perfect. Please Patagon... Read Moreia make a full length version then I will never wear any other bottoms!

August 17, 2020

Super Comfortable Lightweight Mtn Biking Shorts

These are thin and they breathe easily when I'm riding on a hot day. The only down fall to these shorts are the lack of pockets. There is one on the left leg.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2020

Hey Lindsey! Thanks for your review describing the function of these bike shorts. For more pockets you might check out our [Women's Dirt Craft Bike Shorts - 12"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-dirt-craft-mountain-bike-shorts-12-inch/24588.html?dwvar_24588_color=CLKF&cgid=womens-shorts) They have two additional pockets.

August 16, 2020

Disappointed

Bought two of these shorts about two/theee months ago. My first pair ended up ripping at the seam thankfully it was after my ride, but the hole was from the crotch all the way up to my butt area. So I thought maybe it was defective pair since I had only used them about 3 times. Well today I had to cut my ride short because it happened again. Its li... Read Moreke the seams are glued and they come apart so easy. For them to be costing so much you would expect them to last longer.

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2020

Gloria, thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on these shorts. You're right it does seem like maybe you've got defective gear, we are so sorry you experienced this. All of our gear is backed by our ironclad guarantee and we've reached out privately to help you with a warranty return.

July 19, 2020

Poor fit for mountain biking thighs

I USE these for summer rock climbing and hiking but I BOUGHT them to for mountain biking. I'm struggling to figure out who these shorts were modeled off of. Even the display photo is comical - she's not even sitting in a pedal position yet and the shorts are already skin tight! I don't know that many women who mountain bike who hav... Read Moree skinny thighs or butts. Even with a size up (I normally wear a 4 in most pants) these things are TIGHT around my thighs and butt and bulge awkwardly at the silly excuse for front pockets. If I actually try to wear a chamois under these shorts, it's like my legs are being squeezed into a sausage skin. Come on, Patagonia, stop using the super skinny models for photos and actual design.

July 16, 2020

Best Bike Shorts, EVER!

These shorts do not hang up on your saddle nor do they bunch up around your shammy. Also comfortable to lounge around in after the ride. Thank You Patagonia. Finally a pair of bike shorts that fit my figure.

June 30, 2020

I loved these until the seam came undone

These are stretchy, comfy and great for hot rides. I am a curvy/athletic 5'9" and the fit is wonderful. They have been my go-to pair until this last time I took them out of the wash, the seam in the crotch failed. Patagonia is understandably, but unfortunately not doing repairs at the moment. I'd love to buy another pair, but I think... Read More this was a manufacturing flaw.

Response from Patagonia
August 4, 2020

Thanks for your thoughtful feedback on the fit and fabric of these mountain bike shorts, Danielle! We're sorry to hear the durability has been disappointing. While we did just start taking in repairs again, we encourage you to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our Ironclad Guarantee.

June 21, 2020

The most wonderful biking shorts ever!

I bought one pair of these biking shorts 2 years ago as a web special. They were so great, the following year I bought 2 additional pairs. This year I purchased my 4th pair in the lavender color. They fit perfectly; they are comfy and stretch so you can't even feel them on your body. The zipper pocket on the left leg is perfect; it very roomy ... Read Moreto hold your phone, your ID, some tissues and keys. They also are very figure-flattering. They can also be worn as regular shorts if you'd like. I love these shorts! Patagonia, don't ever change the style, cut, or fit! You got it perfect!!!! Thanks!

June 20, 2020

Great Shorts

I’m really pleased with these shorts. They are nice, light summer riding shorts. I am usually between a 6 and an 8 (5’’9, 145) and bought the 8, because I wanted a looser fit. I think they do fit true to size if you want them to fit like in the pictures, but MTBers tend to wear slightly looser cut shorts, and that’s what I wanted. I was worried the... Read Morey’d be tiny small based on some of the reviews but I’m glad I didn’t size up too much. I often wear an 8 in slimmer fitting stuff and the 8 was perfect in these. I’ll be buying some more colour in these!

June 19, 2020

Go-to ride shorts

I absolutely love them. I could have gotten a size 2, but they would have been fitted. The 4 are flattering, but relaxed enough. They stretch perfectly, and feel amazing on and off the bike. Knee openings are a little tight for knee pads. I recommend the dirt craft for knee pads.

May 4, 2020

Not what MTB shorts should be

The fabric is very thin and stretchy, and they are TIGHT. I should have known this based on the photos, but the color I liked was deeply discounted so I thought I would give them a try. I ordered a size up based on reviews, and the waist fit great but the legs were very snug, but it seems like that's how they're supposed to fit which is w... Read Morehy I'm confused. Sure, the shorts were comfortable, but I don't want thin stretchy fabric when I'm fully puckered and getting a little too loose down a steep, rocky, rooty section of PNW trail. If I wipe out, which is always a possibility, the fabric should be beefy enough to protect against the rocks and roots that I'm falling on. Not to mention, these seemed too tight to even wear over knee pads. Maybe these are geared more towards XC riders.

Response from Patagonia
May 7, 2020

Hi Sarah. We're sorry that these mountain bike shorts are not what you expected. We designed these with stretchy, moisture-wicking fabric to give more comfort while riding in hot weather. Please feel free to return them under our Ironclad Guarantee if you're disappointed with their performance. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Thanks for your review!

April 8, 2020

too thin for mountain biking

My main problem with these is they are too thin. For some of us who get dirty and crash occasionally , these just won't do. Love Patagonia. You can do better.

March 4, 2020

Go-to Bikepacking Shorts

Purchased these shorts for our 2 week off-road bikepacking trip in western Slovenia. They worked out great! They are lightweight, pack down small, and quick drying. I wore them every day. I did size up for them to fit comfortably with a liner. I'm 5'5, 117 lbs and bought a size 6. I've been wearing them this winter also over cycling ... Read Moretights on snow bike rides when a wind breaker shell isn't needed.

February 16, 2020

Bad fit for the curvy

Gave these three stars only because the fabric seems great. Other than that nothing good about the fit in my opinion. I have curvy hips and bigger thighs but also a small waist. I'm 155lbs and had to get a 12..never been a 12 before. If I sized lower to fit my waist better then legs would have been far too tight. Might work for you if you want... Read More a fitted look. Good length.

Response from Patagonia
March 20, 2020

Hi Nina! Thanks so much for your review and we're really sorry the fit didn't work out. We're always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

January 6, 2020

WOW!

Super stretchy lightweight fabric perfect for hot weather. Have worn comfortably over LW padded liners, P bibs and long underwear. Welded seams must be tried to believe- not a raised edge or bunchy groin area to be had. I appreciate the minimalist lack of front/rear waist pockets and belt loops. Small vertical zip left thigh for pocket that faces r... Read Moreear. For a long short these have the perfect trim silhouette in hips, thighs and above knees. I have muscular thighs and real hips and found no problem with sizing, but did order up due to other reviews. Very nice job, Patagonia. I resisted these for many months due to price, now considering second pair.

October 23, 2019

The perfect short...

I bought these 1 size larger based on previous reviews, and they are amazing. Long enough to to over knee pads, light enough for warm weather rider and fabulous fabric! For burly rides I'll wear shorts with a thicker fabric but for daily easier riders these are my new faves!

September 1, 2019

Great shorts but gotta be careful

I got these shorts for some riding around Northern California and on my first ride I got some grease on them which I was expecting to happen over time. I treated it per Patagonia’s instructions online and the stains grew exponentially in size, starting with a few little marks that turned into splotches the size of tennis balls. I kept on using them... Read More since these are the only mountain biking shorts that I have and the third time that I washed them the zipper on the fly came off of one size making them unwearable. I brought them into one of the stores hoping to be able to fix them but because repair times are almost 3 months long and these are my only pair of mountain biking shorts, I had to opt to replace them. Hopefully this new pair will hold up better but so far I’m not impressed.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that these have caused you some troubles. If this new pair does not satisfy you, we urge you to send those back for a [refund](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your helpful feedback.

June 30, 2019

Very flattering fit in colors that don't go with anything

These shorts are made of a great light-weight fabric and the cut is very flattering. Unfortunately, the "grey" is more of a greenish color and the only other option is bright teal. Also, they run more than a half-size small.

June 22, 2019

great bike short

Really comfortable shorts. Lightweight and stretchy and dry really fast. If you're looking for slim fitting shorts these are for you. Only thing I would change would be to add a pocket to the other side of pants.

June 18, 2019

Very flattering style; run pretty small through the hips

The cut on these is wonderful--good length, fitted and flattering. The material is nice and lightweight. I had to go up a full size, to a 12--a size I've never worn before in any pants or shorts. I wish they came in black.

June 16, 2019

Wanted to like these

I've had these shorts for about 10 months now, with only about 5 months of use. I like that they are lightweight, simple and flattering in cut. However, the taped seams are already peeling off the fabric and there's now a hole in the crotch below the zipper where the stitching failed. These shorts have a slim fit in the hips and legs whic... Read Moreh makes it uncomfortable to wear with a chamois and does not integrate with knee pads, even though the waist fits me perfectly and a size up would fall down.

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2019

Sorry to hear that the Dirt Roamer Shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them by sending them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

June 3, 2019

Fits small and needs an upgrade with a better waist band

These fit really small and narrow in the seat. I wear size L in most Patagonia pants and these were too narrow in the hips to be able to wear them over a padded liner. For the design team, please upgrade the waist band of these short to what is on the Happy Hiker Studio pant. With a comfy stretchy waist band, the fly is irrelevant.

May 8, 2019

Great shorts

I bought these shorts last year for bike riding, but wear them kayaking and basically all the time, so I got two more pairs this year. This years run a bit small so I sent them back and ordered a size up. They are nice and light, so I wear then on the hottest days but also give me the coverage I want. Love them.

August 26, 2018

Nice and lightweight

I really like these MTB shorts for a few reasons. 1) they are long - almost to the knee - and a little longer in the front; 2) they are super lightweight, so on these 90+ degree days in Utah they don't add insulation like some heavier, burly MTB shorts; 3) the side pocket is big enough to accommodate an iPhone 8+, 4) a little stretch goes a lo... Read Moreng way, 5) they don't come with a liner short, which always sucks anyway! I am 5'4" and 130 pounds, a little belly and big quads. I had to order a size 8, which is big for me, to get the forgiving fit I wanted.

August 13, 2018

W's Dirt Roamer Bike Shorts

I love this shorts. They are so light and are perfect for running and hiking. I also really like the length. I am so happy that I ordered a second pair.

April 11, 2018

Too long for my liking

I liked everything about these shorts except for the length. Too long for me for mountain biking or any other active wear. I am 5'3" tall,125 lbs. and athletic build. Size 4 fit perfect. The shorts came down to my knees,which is not what I was seeking. Otherwise,high quality,nice material and weight - good design. I returned.

January 7, 2018

Love these shorts!

This is a legit pair of MTB shorts. They are light and streamlined. I usually don't need a bunch of pockets (I ride with a back/hip pack) and prefer to wear my favorite bibs,so I appreciate the that they only have the 1 zippered pocket and do not come with a liner. The fabric is lightweight and super stretchy. I am 5'3",122lbs,athlet... Read Moreic build (muscular quads) and I bought a size 4,and they fit perfectly. I wear a size small in most other MTB brands. When standing,they fall about mid knee. When seated,they ended just above the knee on the front. They are cut higher in the back (at the bottom hem),so you still get the coverage on top of the leg,without fabric bunching behind the knee. They are definitely a slim fit as a size 4,but that is what I wanted. I don't like too much extra fabric that can get caught on the seat and the fabric moved with me. During my first ride in them,I didn't think about them. Boom. That's the way your apparel should be. Put it on and go.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches