Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Endless Run Shorts - 5"

Write Your Review

4.81 /5

Filter Reviews

All 43 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Endless Run Shorts - 5"

4.81
February 23, 2021

Perfect Ultramarathon Short

I have worn these for all three of my ultras (one in summer, one in fall and one in winter). Never had a chaffing issue. On top of that they provide so much carry capacity that I ran my last ultra without a running vest. Shorts have plenty of pockets for gels and accessories. And they way the pockets are positioned... you dont feel what is in them.... Read More You can't even notice your phone (big Galaxy S10) back there. Front panel provides a breathable wind break but is really great to cover your twigs and berries (be they small or large). Hoping they keep the same design but come out with a new color panel so I can get a 2nd pair. I have a 29" waist and had to exchange the small for a medium

February 1, 2021

Action Packed

Ready, ok. Having drank the Patagonia kool-aid almost a decade ago, Im happy to dance with ANYTHING they throw at me. But having been in the 5 Pro Striders for the past 8(?) years, I had my reservations. Mainly being the pockets and lack of the zippered back pocket. My questions were quickly answered cause these pockets hold on tight like a squirre... Read Morel to a tree. Phones, gloves, jackets, bars, nuts, these babies dont bounce! The Endless is my weapon of choice for mountain running, long runs, anything with inclement weather. Although the Striders run cooler on the hottest days, the Endless got the most mileage last year. To those of us with meaty thighs, Im seeing some friction wear in the groin area that the Striders dont have and looking forward to the next Endless model, whatever that may bring. ALSO, Patagonia, I know your market is probably around the black, grey and navy world, but some of us kids clamber all over the pastels and fluorescents, anything teal or mango is mucho bueno! Grassyass!

December 13, 2020

Top-notch Shorts

Once you put these shorts on you know...This is the only pair of shorts youll ever need. The Endless Run Shorts can do everything. And even more, there is beaucoup storage, they fit perfectly, are the ideal length and have flawless style. These are the most versatile shorts I own. They have taken over the top spot from my strider pro 5. The only t... Read Morehing I would change/add is make the front panel out of a rip-stop material. I am on my second pair... the first pair I have got caught on a tree branch and the panel tore (also got a hole in the black stretch material). Other than that these shorts are near perfect.

December 2, 2020

Great short for long runs and adventure runs/races

I was a huge fan of the Strider Pro shorts with the boxer brief liner and used those for most of my long runs including a couple mountain 100's. These are a worthy replacement. So far I've used them up to about 50k and they have done well. They actually stay put better than the liner on the strider pro, and the large pockets are very hand... Read Morey for phone/snacks etc. They also seem more durable and easier to put tights or pants on top when it gets cold.

November 21, 2020

Phenomenal

Far & beyond the best running shorts I've ever owned. Sounds a little ridiculous, since they're shorts, but perhaps not too surprisingly the folks at Patagonia have outdone themselves again: I'm not really interested in ever buying running shorts other than these. They fit great & snug, but are in no way tight or restrictiv... Read Moree: they feel light & freeing. Nothing bounces around in the pockets, which is huge for me. Plenty of room to stash goods for long runs. Very well made, as expected: I've been running in them daily for almost 3 months with zero signs of wear & tear. My other shorts have been relegated to walking-around-the-house duty. Only "improvement" would be to make them in all black (&/or some funky cool old school Patagonia patterns on the front flap). Highly recommend, and will be buying more pairs for myself soon. (please never discontinue these!!)

November 19, 2020

Flattering and Functional

I adore these, wish they had more colors! The additional panel on the front keeps me from feeling too exposed and adds a level of decency. The side pockets hold my phone close to my body so it doesn’t shake around when I run. The fit is great around the legs and waist and is a little roomier in the butt, but not too much. I also use these on the ro... Read Morewing machine at the gym and they’re just perfect!

November 15, 2020

Shorts version of a Swiss Army knife

I bought these shorts about 2.5 months ago but just got the chance to wear them the past couple of weeks. The Endless Run shorts are perfect for anything. They fit like tights but have a little more flexibility when it comes to uses. The front panel is genius. Its functional and looks great. Then there are the pockets. They are very useful, you can... Read More stick tons of extra nutrition you want on the fly in the side pockets and still fit a phone in the other. I own a couple different pairs of Strider Pros and love them. I also like my shorts-tights (la Sportiva Freedom shorts now discontinued). These shorts are like their love child. The only thing I would point out is that the Endless Run shorts really are for cooler weather. If you wear the shorts in warmer weather expect to have sweat running down your legs. They also do not dry as fast as my Strider Pros or Freedom tights but these are also thicker shorts. I look forward to cooler days just so I can run in these.

November 13, 2020

Comfortable, functional, & durable

These shorts are incredible! I've done several all day trail runs in them and they perform really well. Being a larger runner (6'-5", 250 lbs), I am particularly hard on shorts (I am looking at you, Strider Pros). The tighter fit of these shorts prevents the bunching and riding up that I've experienced with other shorts. We hav... Read Moreen't even talked about the pockets yet! The two side pockets are huge and great for storing your food, nutrition, and gear. I've even stuffed a soft flask in there. The rear pocket works well for a light jacket or other gear. The only improvement I'd like to see with these shorts is a zipper on the rear pocket. I'm always a little worried that something smaller might fall out. Overall, these shorts are a home run. I'm looking forward to running in these for years to come.

October 28, 2020

Perfect running shorts

These are the best running shorts I've bought yet from Patagonia. They fit perfectly and I feel confident in them. I love the deep pockets. No chafing even on 20+ mile runs

October 25, 2020

I will buy more!

Perfect short to carry your phone in full comfort. Honestly, I drop my phone in that deep side pocket and it does not bounce... and within 1-2 minutes I have forgotten it’s there! You want to wear these shorts with NO underwear... but I have also worn them in the cold Canadian fall on top of 3/4 long tights, for additional warmth and the pocket ben... Read Moreefits. I wear size 30 pants and the size Small fits very well. Sometimes I need to tighthen the drawstring as the side of the shorts with my phone tends to drop a little, but that’s to be expected. The availability of these shorts in size Small seems to be a problem... Please keep making these! I had to get mine from a website in Bulgaria... through a friend in France! Please make more size Small and I hope this becomes a long lasting item in your line-up. I would suggest to make the ENTIRE short black... as I find that the grey panel does not add much visually. It works functionally but all black would be nicer!

October 22, 2020

Belt/waistband

I really like these; my only issue was with the drawstring. When I actually needed to carry a phone and a bar on a long run, the string wasn't enough to hold the pants up. When I super-tightened it, it cut into my stomach. A better waistband would make these top-notch.

October 4, 2020

The greatest shorts.

Hello, I didnt read the size guide and got a large as my strider shorts are, sent them back for a medium and they fit perfectly. I am 6ft, 180lbs. I just ran 21 miles in the rain with these and they are so comfy, they dont ride up and zero chafe issues and the pockets are unreal. Maybe add a wee zip on the back like the striders but probably not n... Read Moreeeded. If youre on the fence then just get them. I got them sent to Scotland From my dad in the US as theyre not available in Europe for some reason... definitely going to get another couple of pairs in the new year.

September 16, 2020

Very comfortable

I love these shorts. My only problem is Im a size small, but that doesnt mean Im short the inseam for the small size is way to short. The medium fit perfect on the inseam but the waist is way too loose got to tie drawstring to the max. I had the bouncing problem with the strider pro 5 inch to much bouncing. A lot less bounce with the pockets on the... Read Morese shorts. Just the waist A bit to loose. Recommend 100% to everyone I know.

September 15, 2020

A little weird but I love them.

I run with my phone and wanted to get rid of the awkward running fanny pack. I bought these and the comparable lulu lemon men's surge running shorts with a no-bounce pocket. These are way more comfortable and actually hold the phone whereas in with the lulu lemon's the pocket is a small and is difficult to put the phone in. These shorts c... Read Moreould be a little more supportive but ultimately they are the best running shorts I own now and am always displeased when they're in the wash. Will definitely be buying another pair; but hope they make these with a more supportive liner/ pouch.

September 11, 2020

Fell in love

ive always been a fan of running in speed shorts, instead of short shorts, or even worse longer shorts. these are an amazing happy medium of comfort meets speed short. love the cell phone pocket.

September 8, 2020

Freedom of movement

Im 59 150lbs and the small fits snugly upon first putting them on. During the run they feel perfect. I love the spandex pockets so everything in my pockets stays exactly where I want it. These shorts are perfect in that I dont think about them at all while running, they feel very natural. The pockets are extremely deep, fits my iPhone X no problem.... Read More I look forward to running in these for a long time.

September 8, 2020

Amazing shorts

Picked these up last week as the last part of my kit for my first ultramarathon. I was having some liner chafing issues with the strider pro’s, which are also great shorts, but not working for me past the 4-5 hour mark. I didn’t want to cut out the liner and love the storage in the striders, so gave these a try. You get maybe more storage space, an... Read Mored the hybrid design between compression tights and shorts is totally brillant. They look good enough to wear around town without the look of a guy in too tight compression shorts, which is actually a big deal and a design touch that shouldn’t be overlooked. Never seen anything like it. No liner, no chafe, zero bounce when you fill the pockets with a large phone and a bunch of gels and goodies. They are the most comfortable and practical shorts I’ve ever worn for running. Material feels super durable and breathes easily while still feeling thick enough to protect you on the trails. They are expensive but absolutely worth it. Very clever design.

September 7, 2020

Superior than the Strider Pro

In terms of sizing, Id recommend to get it as you would on the Strider Pro Shorts. As everybody already points out, Its an amazing shorts for everything running in the wild. Pockets are awesome, I ran with a Pixel 2 with tough casing and no sagging. I never ran with a compression shorts before (cos its always bulging down under). This one still do ... Read Morebut I can live with it thanks to the 'morality panel' they put up front. The only down side is probably the price, I probably could afford 1 in a lifetime so it might (should) be tough!

September 4, 2020

FrankenShort

The shorts are kind of a weird Frankenshort, but they work Great. At their base they are in a skintight bike type a short. But they have a panel in the front to hide the bulges. I found them very, very comfortable. I also like the way the pockets work. Initially I ordered a medium (I have numerous Patagonias in M that are perfect) and these were ju... Read Morest a bit snug for me. The large is a bit too loose, but preferable to too tight.

September 4, 2020

Well constructed

Seemed like a lot of money for short running tights, but I liked the hybrid construction that is a bit more modest. Wearing them, I feel they are worth the extra $$ - very thoughtful construction, with useful pockets to stash keys etc.

September 4, 2020

Best pair of running shorts I own

Best pair of running shorts I own. The fit is perfect. The Material and the cut works great at any pace. These are also fantastic in the heat, rain, or cold. Pockets are surprisingly deep.

September 3, 2020

Best Running Shorts - Size Up

These are the best running shorts that I have ever run in. The pockets are great. My phone doesn't bounce around feels secure while easy to get in/out. I have a 33" waist so went with the M initially. After trying them on they were a little small so went with the Large instead. I would say I have a typical runner/athletic build.

September 3, 2020

Do yourself a favor:

Buy these shorts. Theyre incredible & make other running shorts basically obsolete. Extremely well designed: theyre comfortable, the pockets are very thoughtful nothing moves around! and the fit is comfortable similarly, nothing moves around! And theyre not too tight. iPhone 11 Pro Max (the big one) fits easily in one pocket; some snacks & ... Read Moreheadphones in the other; shell, mask, jerky in the back. Well worth the money. Would like to have my old shorts recycled to make more of these

September 3, 2020

Best running shorts ever worn

I dont write product reviews. These shorts amazing. I rarely hang around in shorts after a run but I am now. Liner is snug but not too tight, panel in front looks slightly odd but serves the purpose and is genius. The side pockets rock. Super ventilated and un-sweaty. No-chaffing comfort. These make other shorts instantly obsolete. Patagonia: wel... Read Morel done. Perfection. Please make this exact pattern with slightly thicker material and pant legs.

September 1, 2020

Love the pockets

These shorts have some excellent features and some downfalls too. What I love about these shorts are the pockets. Easy access to phone, snacks, gloves, etc... whatever you want to store here it is secure and comfy. I'm not very used to running in compression shorts so they felt a little hot and constricting but overall I like them after a mont... Read Moreh of running in them. Only feedback I'd recommend for improvement would to be to make the front panel a little more baggy.

September 1, 2020

Great shorts

Great pair of shorts in you dont want to reveal all.

September 1, 2020

Need more time

Well, I purchased these for trail running in the mountains and have not fully tested them, yet. A positive I noticed early on is that when you're sweating a lot the extra layer on the front of the shorts keeps things dryer in crucial areas. One thing on the negative that I think I'm beginning to notice in that same crucial area is that th... Read Moreere could be a problematic seem that will become more noticeable on longer efforts. The pockets are very convenient but I think the shorts could be thinner. In hotter climates, especially during the summer, you want thin material! I'm hoping for the best with these because it feels like they have a lot of potential.

September 1, 2020

Solid shorts

New favorite running shorts. Sort-of half-way between leggins and shorts. Comfortable for long runs (10+ miles), no chafing, good deep pockets for phones / keys and the design means you don't feel too 'exposed' or look like (too much of) a try-hard wearing something that's fitted. The materials used seem to hold up well even whe... Read Moren wet which is nice (so even when really sweaty it doesn't feel like you're running around in a wet paper bag). More colors please.

August 26, 2020

Best Running Shorts

After my first run in these I fell in love. The pockets are the best pockets on any running shorts I've owned. Can't even tell my phone is in them and the way it is oriented in the pocket it does not bind the headphone jack (yes, I still used wired headphones). The fit is nice and snug. Felt like I was wearing nothing at all. I want a pai... Read Morer for everyday so I never have to wear my other running shorts again.

August 25, 2020

Best running shorts, ever

They fit tightly without chafing; the loose fabric at the front is nice so that it doesn't look like I'm running in cycling shorts. I've been doing both city runs and trail runs in the Dolomites in these. I just ordered two more pairs.

August 10, 2020

New Favorite Trail Running Shorts

These are my favorite trail running shorts! The pockets are perfect to carry my iPhone, food, and a shell. The pockets are easy to access while moving and nothing bounces around. Ive run 30+ miles in the mountains with no chaffing. These are my go to shorts!

June 15, 2020

Perfect shorts for running

I am glad I purchased these shorts, as they are terrific for running early morning when the temperature is not that high. I wish the center pocket in the back had a zipper. I run with my ID and building card, along with a key. I bind them altogether with a rubber band. I was worried about losing it. I have a Strider Pro 5-inch which is perfect when... Read More the temperature is high and it has a center pocket in the back with a zipper. Perhaps, in the next version, Patagonia could add a zipper on this excellent shorts.

June 4, 2020

Pretty good, not perfect

I've been trying all kinds of running shorts to replace the 2018 Strider Pro 7 inch, which were hands down the best running shorts (with the boxer liner) I've ever had, but which Patagonia stopped making, for some unknown reason. I had high hopes and expectations for these shorts. Unfortunately, they don't quite meet these expectatio... Read Morens. They are comfortable to wear, they stay in place (nothing rides up while running). However, unlike the Strider Pro mentioned above, they cause chafing; I can run for several hours without chafing on the old shorts, not the case with these, at least not with body glide or chamois cream. My longest run in these so far is about 4 hours. The pockets are mixed for me--they are big, things don't fall out, but I haven't figured how to optimize use like I had with the other model. Overall, 4 starts and not 5 due to these being a small step down from the discontinued product Please bring back the 2018 Strider Pro 7 inch with the boxer liner!

May 26, 2020

The best pockets

I love these shorts/tights. They deserve 5 stars for the pockets alone. While they are super comfy, I'd prefer some compression so I could run without underwear on longer runs. As they're designed, I need to wear briefs or boxer brief compression shorts under them, which makes them a bit warm on hot days.

May 19, 2020

Very versatile with one 2.0 suggestion

I love these shorts and the built in features allowing me to leave other waist belts at home. In a 2.0 version I would love these shorts in a 8" considering that they ride up a little bit with all the leg lifting over rocks, roots and bounding from side to side.

May 3, 2020

Great pockets, terrible styling

The pockets are great and probably better than every other pair of running shorts Ive owned. I frequently carry gloves, arm warmers, a rolled up shirt, my phone, a gopro with mini-tripod, etc. This spring I did virtually all of my runs in these and I have like ten other options in my closet. I dont understand the value of the gray fabric panel ove... Read Morer the front. It looks terrible, especially if youre running shirtless. Kind of like you have a pair of boxer briefs glued onto the front of some regular half tights. I run in my other half tights down into the 30s (F) and have never wished I had that panel, even in a stiff wind. If theres some use case that makes it worth it for some runners, then Id recommend Patagonia just make it match the rest of the fabric so it isnt noticeable. Oh... and some other colorways would be nice!

May 1, 2020

Please DON'T change these!! Perfect run short.

As a long time triathlete turned runner, I was having a hard time transitioning from tri shorts to running shorts. Enter these shorts. I love the snug fit without the mum covering her daughter's eyes effect tri shorts can have. The pockets are placed in the perfect spots. Phones, gels, bars all ride smooth with no discomfort or bouncing. Simpl... Read Morey perfect. I'm tempted to buy 10 more pair to avoid another Capilene undies fiasco (I'm still sporting the original six pair from the glory days), but I hope Patagonia listens to feedback and doesn't update or change these. They are perfect the way they are - great work!

April 23, 2020

Woohoo!!!

Despite some initial tugging on my short hairs, these have become my absolute favorite. They're so comfortable that I don't think about them at all on runs anymore. I don't have to make adjustments. The pockets work as advertised. They're in a good location to keep items secure with no bouncing. My thighs tend to chew through fa... Read Morebric pretty quickly, so time will tell if this piece is durable but I couldn't be more pleased with the comfortable fit and superb functionality. Yay!

March 8, 2020

Wow!

Fantastic short tights. Highly recommend, plenty of pockets, great for cool or warmer weather. I do think they could be a little more snug, the deep side pockets could be a little tigher. But these are very minor these shorts are still fantastic! Would be great to see a some different colors from these shorts!

March 4, 2020

Awesome shorts, phone pulls them down.

I got these shorts because I was curious and I wanted to get shorts that could hold my phone. The shorts feel great, they basically feel like running in your most comfortable underwear. The pockets are great and fit my larger phone, keys, etc., with ease. The downside is that the side of the shorts my phone was on kept falling down. I tried tighten... Read Moreing the waist belt, but that didn't seem to work. The phone felt great otherwise (no bouncing)!

March 4, 2020

My new favorite running shorts

These have replaced my 2018 5" striders. I love these new shorts. They fit nice and do not chaff my inner thighs at all. I took them on back to back long weekend runs and they are just so comfortable. No tugging, no creeping up my legs, and I look pretty good them. I absolutely love the deep pockets, which I use (so far) to hold my iPhone. T... Read Morehe phone rides on the back of my hip. I can feel its there, but is comfortable and held into place by the material.

February 27, 2020

Favorable Innovation

Had been looking forward to trying this product since an early review of their HEK was published in 2019. After multiple runs & hikes I have a favorable opinion of the design. The shorts avoid fabric slap & bunching while providing some wind protection and modesty coverage. The deep side pockets accommodate 4" phone w/ battery case eas... Read Moreily without noticeable sliding or bouncing.

February 24, 2020

Whoa

Soo good! Like a warm, cozy hug for your junk. I love these things.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches