Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

Write Your Review

4.85 /5

Filter Reviews

All 126 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® 1/4-Zip Fleece

4.85
September 15, 2020

This 1/4 zip pullover is warm , paired with base layers it's a cozy fall and winter.

Very pleased with Patagonia products and I have been for years. Excellent for the day or evening on the town . Perfect for the outdoor trails or whatever adventure you can get into.

September 10, 2020

Super pullover

Awesome fleece pullover, not to heavy and not to light for the northeast weather.

September 10, 2020

Amazing quality

I love this sweater. Great fit and the quality you expect from Patagonia. Great little touches like the suede feel material at the cuffs and collar. It is quite warm so should work for most of the year here in the PNW.

September 10, 2020

Great hunting shirt

I use this shirt for hunting. Outer layer on mild days base layered on cold ones. Great shirt

September 4, 2020

Perfect

Amazing fit. Super comfortable.

September 4, 2020

Warm and Cozy

I bought this pullover for one of my grandson's for his birthday. It looks like it will fit him well!

September 2, 2020

gave as gift, he loved it

Was looking for the perfect gift for a close family friend turning 21. He loved it, he's a big guy and this fit perfectly. Well made, quality fabric and stylish.

September 2, 2020

Warm, slightly large, extremely well made

A great sweater, may run slightly larger than size. I am 160lbs and 5'8" with a 42" chest and the large is not tight. Great for wearing over a shirt of any kind. I like the loose comfortable feel of it. Wore it a lot for winter hiking in coastal CA, and hanging out during damp rainy evenings in town. In summer, was great for evenings... Read More in the mountains. Too bulky to take backpacking. If you want a tight fit, (lots of young dudes go for tight fits) go a size lower. I like the versatility of having a little room. Great material, soft. Amazing its from recycled material. Another great Patagonia garment that looks like it will last years.

July 13, 2020

Great Product

Fantastic product that fits well, looks great, and lasts. I find that the fit is a tad boxy (NOT slim fit) so plan accordingly. Overall very happy customer!

June 17, 2020

Cozy

Not a perfect fit for athletic body type, but very cozy

June 19, 2020

Great fleece

Works as expected. Great fit. Lovely material

June 17, 2020

Love these sweaters!

These are the best! perfect thermal balance, comfy and tough! get one, or three you'll be glad you did!

June 17, 2020

Warm and functional

The Better Sweater is truly a functional piece that is both warm and stylish. I use mine for multiple purposes. They wear well, have a useful chest pocket and layer nicely with a shell on really cold days. I appreciate that Patagonia seems to have addressed the piling issues with earlier versions.

June 17, 2020

Great fit, very cozy

I love this jacket & would highly recommend...its comfortable and can be work casually or dressed up.

June 12, 2020

This one is for my Tomboys!

I rarely write reviews- but I just have to put it out there that I absolutely live in this Patagonia. I'm 5'6, 130 pounds and I'm someone that has always struggled with the tighter fit of womens clothing as it makes me feel uncomfortable. I like a little room to move. Patagonia Mens XS are absolutely perfect for the tomboys out there... Read More- it's NOT the overly boxy and baggy in the chest, yet also weirdly tight in the hips fit that happens a lot when the ladies cross into the mens section. Unfortunate that the Patagonia pullover has been co-opted by the finance bros, but hopefully they'll start listening to the values of the company. 10/10 my favorite thing that I own.

May 31, 2020

Just super cozy and warm. Its perfect!

Just super cozy and warm. Its perfect!

May 29, 2020

Still amazing after 10+ years

I've had my Better Sweater for more than 10 years and have worn it regularly. After countless wears and washes it still looks amazing. Sure it has had some pilling, but still highly recommend!

May 15, 2020

Neat and Cozy

Super cozy sweater. Depending on the colour, it can definitely be worn out to a nice dinner (pre-COVID) and looks clean-cut. The chest pocket is great for carrying ID, bank cards, or cash, so you don't have to bring a bulky wallet along. It's also very warm and great for cooler days/nights.

March 11, 2020

Does not fit good

Whoever designs the fitting for these should be fired. I wear large everything and read some reviews saying it fits a bit big so I was debating on ordering a medium or large but decided to go with large cause I figured it would just be a little loose. But no, the sleeves go all the way to my finger tips and the body looks like it’s for a XXL. So I ... Read Moreexchanged it for a medium figuring it would fit right, but again no. Although the sleeves fit good, the body doesn’t and is pretty tight and uncomfortable at the chest. I do love the look of the sweater and wish I could wear it, but I like to wear clothes that fit properly. Patagonia just needs to hire someone that can design their clothes to fit the same as every other company.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hey there Jordan, we want to apologize for the sizing troubles. We appreciate your feedback and have passed your comments on to our design crew.

February 16, 2020

Good quality, but odd sizing

I'm 6ft 1" and quite slim, 175lbs. This sweater feels much larger than a medium, there is lots of room around the chest and stomach area, and the sleeves are a bit long (I can't see my watch without rolling up the sleeves). Definitely not a slim fit. Sizing and fit could be improved, but the overall quality is satisfactory.

February 7, 2020

Perfect!

Ordered this for my husband & he loves it! Perfect fit & the Camo is also stylish.

January 24, 2020

Long lasting sweater

Warm, comfortable fleece that looks like a nice sweater. Perfect mid-layer for going from work to home to dinner.

January 23, 2020

Solid Daily Sweater

This sweater is perfect for daily wear, my office isn't heated well and I toss this on over my business casual wear, does great keeping me warm while remaining super breathable when I'm outdoors. Definitely loses a bit of value when it's windy on top of the cold, but I more or less expected that with a knit style sweater. The only ad... Read Moreditions I could suggest for this is pockets at waist level like the full zip has, just picked one of those up for travel.

January 14, 2020

Jumper bobbling after 1 week

Happily received as a christmas present and while the jumper fits well and is warm it is really badly bobbled at the front. Not sure how to get rid of this or if it should be returned. If it continues it will become unwearable. Anyone recommend how to get rid of the bobbling/pilling without ruining the look.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Hi Ross! Thank you for your feedback. We’re very sorry to hear about the pilling that has appeared on your sweater! I would recommend using a sweater shaver or sweater stone – these tools will remove the pilling and help your pullover to look brand new again. Of course, you are also welcome to initiate a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) on that item if you’d like.

January 8, 2020

Exactly what I was looking for

I purchased a Better Sweater jacket and the 1/4 zip. While the jacket let me down a little, the 1/4 zip came exactly as advertised. The fit is great, the fabric feels warm and substantial when you have it on without feeling too bulky or heavy. It is hands-down my new favorite sweater.

January 7, 2020

Great piece of gear

Couldnt be happier with the purchase, fits great and will hold up over time.

January 6, 2020

Warm, soft, high quality, stylish

Wow. I have never owned a sweater this warm. This sweater is almost hot sometimes. You can feel it retaining your body heat. It is quite amazing. Super soft fleece and very stylish design and color (bleached stone and blue). I get a lot of compliments and it looks fantastic with anything I wear. Highly recommend. Fits true to size.

January 5, 2020

So good 👍🏼

So good 👍🏼

January 4, 2020

Super comfortable

A warm and stylish quarter zip pullover sweater that fits and feels great.

January 3, 2020

Great Fit and Function

This is a great 1/4 zip, I have a full zip as well and the fleece is dense and super comfy. I would classify this as a semi-slim-fit but not overly slim. I love the fit because it's not a huge puffy fleece that makes you look like Santa, it's nice fitting. Well done, will last for decades.

January 3, 2020

Excellent

I love everything about this pullover! Great quality, warm and looks great!

January 3, 2020

Great fit, great comfort

I love my better sweater! I have worn it almost every day since I've gotten it. fits very well and sits very well while wearing.

January 3, 2020

like it very much

like it very much

January 3, 2020

Super Comfortable

Great material and super comfortable. Originally bought a medium (I wear medium in pretty much every other Patagonia item I own) but it felt too big in the shoulders and long in the sleeves. Returned it for a small and it fits great. Recommend trying it on before buying to ensure the fit is right. Otherwise, no complaints about this!

January 3, 2020

Comfy

Great fit, comfortable sweater

January 3, 2020

Great fit and comfortable

Great fit and comfortable

January 3, 2020

My husband loves his new

My husband loves his new pull over. Has worn it to work and out casually.

January 2, 2020

Amazing

This was a gift and they loved it! Plus, it fit perfectly!

January 2, 2020

Great as always

Great as always

January 2, 2020

Bought this for my boyfriend

Bought this for my boyfriend for Christmas and he loves it! Practical and stylish. He's about 5'9-5'10 with broad shoulders and a slim waist and the Medium fit perfect. Would definitely recommend!

January 2, 2020

Terrific!

Great fit and color.

January 1, 2020

My son loves it

I think he sleeps in it...

January 1, 2020

Perfect sweater.

Bought this for my husband for Christmas. He loves it and has worn it multiple times since then already. The green color is great. Keeps him warm but not too warm he says. The fit is tts.

January 1, 2020

Patagonia Jacket

This was a Christmas Present. Thank you so much for expediting it so we had it in time.

December 31, 2019

Better sweater

Runs a bit small, but warm and comfy!

December 31, 2019

Awesome!

I love the color and feel, very warm but not bulky. Only sweaters I want to wear!

December 31, 2019

Love the color

Love the color

December 31, 2019

I love this 1/4-zip. Great

I love this 1/4-zip. Great fit, classic design.

December 31, 2019

Perfect gift for midwestern young adult

My son has discerning taste but didn’t have time to tell me what he wanted this holiday. He loves Patagonia and the blue was a major hit.

December 31, 2019

Happy

Happy

December 31, 2019

Love it

Very comfy

December 31, 2019

Men’s Better Sweater

Love the sweater, but, a bear to pull over a cotton long sleeve T-shirt

December 30, 2019

Great fit, super good looking.

Great fit, super good looking.

December 30, 2019

Great Christmas gift

SoN loved It. Great for cold weather temp.

December 30, 2019

Best sweater

This was a gift for my husband. He absolutely loves it. He likes the weight of the fabric and the fit. A great sweater and we like the fact that it is made from recycled material.

December 30, 2019

Love the fit and very

Love the fit and very warm.

December 30, 2019

Bought it for my son

Bought it for my son and he loves it! Great weight and color. Thanks!!

December 30, 2019

Great sweater

This was a gift for my son who already has one in a different color. It must be good because he asked for another.

December 29, 2019

Just right !

This is a perfect weight jacket (sweater) for everyday city use.

December 29, 2019

Extremely happy.

Extremely happy.

December 29, 2019

Awesome product

Awesome product

December 29, 2019

Beautiful color!

Great fit for this Patagonia lover!

December 29, 2019

Men’s Better Sweater

It fits him perfectly and he says it’s one of the warmest he has.

December 28, 2019

Nice gift

N Ice gift

December 28, 2019

Very comfortable and warm

Ordered the sage Khaki color. Husband loves it!

December 28, 2019

Handsomely appointed. Slim fit.

Handsomely appointed. Slim fit.

December 28, 2019

A gift for my boyfriend

I got him this sweater for christmas in the green color and its so warm and soft! He hasn't taken it off since he got it (:

December 28, 2019

Excellent sweater

Excellent sweater

December 28, 2019

Very soft and comfortable. Fits

Very soft and comfortable. Fits just right and looks great!

December 28, 2019

Warm and cozy...true size fit...great

Warm and cozy...true size fit...great quality

December 28, 2019

Very classy sweater. Will wear

Very classy sweater. Will wear for work and fun.

December 27, 2019

Merry Christmas!

I bought two of these for my son-in-laws. They both Liked the style and color. I'm a very happy mother-in-law

December 27, 2019

They fit great, very comfortable.

They fit great, very comfortable. Excellent top.

December 27, 2019

Great Pullovers and flannel shirt

Our family loves the better sweaters! The flannel shirt was too big but a nice one. I plan to reorder in a smaller size.

December 27, 2019

Great quality, should last for

Great quality, should last for years to come.

December 27, 2019

Great quality!

Great quality!

December 27, 2019

Received fast and great quality!

Received fast and great quality!

December 27, 2019

Finished, Classy Look and Feel

Thought the sweater would work as a casual, "Let's go out" top for our Michigan winters. So it has proved to be: it's warm without feeling bulky and with a collared shirt underneath and jeans, it feels and looks good. In short, highly recommend.

December 26, 2019

It’s comfortable and functional all

It’s comfortable and functional all in one. It looks great too.

December 26, 2019

Great product and service

Great product and service

December 26, 2019

Great quality sweaters, our grandkids

Great quality sweaters, our grandkids love them!

December 26, 2019

better sweater

Was a gift to my son in law. He loved it, put it on immediently and did not want to take it off. He looked fantastic in it.

December 26, 2019

Great sweater

Great sweater

December 26, 2019

My son loves this sweater.

My son loves this sweater. Perfect for walking around campus on cool days.

December 25, 2019

Recipient loved it.

Purchased quarter zip sweater. Looks like a heathered blue. Very soft, comfortable and true to size.

December 24, 2019

Most comfortable sweater I own

Most comfortable sweater I own

December 23, 2019

👍

Love the better sweater. Only downside is the pilling gas it gets older

December 21, 2019

Pigeon Blue Better Sweater

Nice high quality sweater that runs a tad big. Love the color. Can wear w jeans, navy pants or kahki’s. Heavy enough to keep u warm but not too bulky.

December 20, 2019

Perfect !

These sweaters are as functional , comfortable and durable as they come. Best sweaters I own !

December 20, 2019

Great item and service

I have a quarter zip Better Sweater of my own and ordered one for my dad for Christmas. It is such a high-quality shirt: warm, comfortable, well-fitting and durable through many wash cycles. As usual, Patagonia's customer service was excellent. I accidentally entered the wrong shipping address. They immediately sent out a new item to ensure t... Read Morehat it would arrive in time for the holidays.

December 20, 2019

Perfect

Whether a girl (like me) or a boy, this sweater is roomy, soft, cozy, and will DEFINITELY keep ya warm without overheating. The zip up neck allows you to feel free to cool down or warm up a bit more depending on where youre off to. Im only mad my fiance has this and ai didnt buy it for myself.

December 19, 2019

We all love the better

We all love the better sweaters. It is an outdoor staple. They wear so well, i can pass them down to my nephews too.

December 18, 2019

I love my 1/4 zip better sweater

This sweater is so warm. Definitely order a size up. I am 5'7" ~140lbs and got a medium and it was perfect. Considering sewing on my own pockets though.

December 16, 2019

Excellent quantity as always from

Excellent quantity as always from Patagonia. Fits true to size.

December 16, 2019

Excellent

Fuzzy and what I wanted.

December 15, 2019

Man Wearing Patagonia

Great addition to wardrobe.

December 13, 2019

Nice feel a little snug

Nice feel a little snug in shoulder at first but okay during wear.

December 12, 2019

Perfect

Got this in the mail and immediately put it on! It’s super soft and fits perfect. I am 6 foot 1 and wearing a medium and it’s size is spot on. It makes a perfect sweater for around the house and going out in the town.

December 12, 2019

I ordered the two tone

I ordered the two tone and love it. Ordering more colors soon.

December 10, 2019

Great Sweater

I love these sweaters they are warn, look good, and are very comfortable.

December 4, 2019

Great quality and fit!

Great quality and fit!

December 3, 2019

Great fitting, true to size

Great fitting, true to size 1/4 zip.

November 30, 2019

Awesome Sweater

Fits true, very warm. A staple in my weather rotation.

November 30, 2019

Wears great and looks great

Wears great and looks great love it

November 24, 2019

OV DANNY

Great fit Im 6'2. 215 pounds. 34" waste

November 22, 2019

Great!

Received my order a bit later in the day towards nighttime but it was well worth it. This jacket is the warmest I have had in a while and it is very comfortable. It is the first Patagonia product I own and certainly won’t be the last. Thank you for the great quality!

November 22, 2019

Men's Better Sweater 1/ 4 Zip

These have become a staple of northern living. They wear like iron, are warm, comfortable, and look great.

November 21, 2019

Keeps being my top choice for everyday top

Insane quality, never wears out. Keep me warm and agile :)

November 20, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

November 15, 2019

Great Product

Warm, Comfortable option for the cold winter days.

November 11, 2019

Comfy, soft, quality piece from Patagonia!

Great product. Very versatile!

November 10, 2019

Super comfortable and a little shrinkage

Love this sweater perfect for temps in the 40’s. I ordered a size up so I could dry it and it shrunk down perfectly.

November 10, 2019

Good quality

Nice color, feels soft

November 4, 2019

A Michigan High School Cross-Country Officials New Favorite Piece of Clothing.

This Better Sweater fits very well and it is very warm. I have used the sweater under my rain gear. I received the sweater just in time to wear it to a high schoolState Regional at which I worked as an official. I was toasty and dry for six hours of outside activity.

November 4, 2019

Fits perfectly! Runs true to

Fits perfectly! Runs true to Patagonia size, whatever you normally are make sure to grab in this!

October 30, 2019

Great midweight piece

Great midweight piece

October 29, 2019

Poor fit

I bought two of the the sweaters in different colors size large (6’1” 190#). One fit great and one fit like a tarp, one was correct length and width and the other was longer in the arms and wider in the body. The fit in the arm pits was bad also, bunched up like a gas station fleece and cut off circulation. Sent both back due to fit and quality. T... Read Morehe BS has potential, buy it in the store where you can try it on, or buy multiples and return them. Wouldn’t recommend the BS.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2019

Hi Shane! Thanks for taking the time to provide us with the feedback. We're really sorry to hear about the troubles you had with the fit of our Better Sweater. We appreciate the review as it's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons.

October 28, 2019

1/4 zip

Its sexy and warm. Highly recommend. I am 160 lbs and 5'11" and the small fits perfectly

October 20, 2019

Dual purpose

Works great as a layering piece or a sweater for casual wear.

October 2, 2019

Better Sweater

Great warmth with this product. Works great in the field as well as casual wear. Latest version seems to be sized a bit larger than my previous versions.

September 18, 2019

Love this!

Lots of compliments on my Better Sweater. Maybe it's the color, but it feels very "woolly".

September 18, 2019

Fit to a T

I bought this for my boyfriend who is 5'6' and on the fairly skinny side. Typically he wears size medium for tees, sweaters, etc., but the small fit him perfectly, so be wary that this product does run a bit small. Other than the sizing, its super comfortable, warm, and a very simple, clean look. He loved it.

September 5, 2019

Layers

I bought a black XL on sale for layering under a shell when skiing. I liked it so much, I bought a couple more to move away from 'the big ski parka' to simply layering this under a shell or with a vest under a shell. This item is also great just over a T around the house, over an extra layer for outside when it's chilly, and of cours... Read Moree on the slopes. It breathes well, doesn't pill the way standard fleece can, and is very insulating. Should be standard in a skier's wardrobe.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches