Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 498 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket

4.4/5
True To Size
September 4, 2021

This Large is way to big.

Very disappointed with how large this Large is. Its unwearable for me. Ive bought 2 other Patagonia jackets in Large size and they fit quite well.

Response from Patagonia
September 14, 2021

Hi Mark, we're sorry to hear that the fit of the Patagonia Men's Better Sweater® Fleece Jacket didn't work out for you. Please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

September 1, 2021

Decent

More of a cardigan sweater than a fleece jacket. Fit is snug. Material is beginning to pill, despite the fact that it's made entirely of fossil fuels.

August 22, 2021

Wears Out Quickly

I received this as a gift in February for my birthday. It has been worn intermittently and washed twice since I received it. The fabric is pilling and and it looks worn out. It fits poorly and does not reflect the quality that is stated in their advertisement. It still keeps me warm but looks like a cheap sweater.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2021

Hi Holger, thanks for taking the time to write a product review. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the quality of your Better Sweater Jacket and that it has begun to pill. Pilling can be inevitable with knit garments as it is the nature of those fibers. With that being said, there are various products that can remove the pilling so your jacket can look good as new! We recommend using a Sweater Stone or fabric shaver to remove pilling. To prevent pilling in the future, try washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you are not satisfied with your purchase, you may send it in for a warranty evaluation. Don't hesitate to [contact us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/), so we can set that up for you.

August 6, 2021

Very Warm & Windproof

Love this fleece sweater- I lost the first one I bought so had to replace. Warm & does good job of keeping wind out.

August 2, 2021

Better sweater was not made better by recent changes

I purchased one of these a few years ago. I loved it and always meant to grab another one, but just didn't get the chance. I recently ordered a new one and. . .ugh. They've cheapened this product. Both of mine are 100% polyester, but the 2021 version is extremely thin. You can feel the difference in thickness between the two. The older on... Read Moree is cozy; the new one feels like plastic netting. I thought maybe it would soften with washing, but I've washed it several times and there's no difference. They also changed the trim around the bottom to be obscenely tight. It's a whole inch or two smaller than the polyester fabric. They took away the zipper pull as well. Overall, I still like this garment, but I don't love it the way I do the older version. As a tall person, it's hard to find fall gear with long sleeves that are actually long, so that's the biggest plus for me. I just wish they'd bring back the original quality and make a better Better Sweater again.

Response from Patagonia
August 3, 2021

Hello Dana, thank you for taking the time to share some feedback with us on the Better Sweater Fleece Jacket. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with the developments that have been made with this particular piece. The main difference in material is that it's 100% recycled, but it's still made of polyester. Nonetheless, we'll pass your thoughts along to the appropriate team members. If you'd like to return or swap out for a size up, you can begin the process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We also welcome you to check out our Worn Wear website where we post lightly used gear from past seasons, you might find the version you prefer.

July 31, 2021

Nice. Better fit than the 1/4 zip.

Fits so much better than the 1/4 in the same size. And fits the same as the vest that is a size larger. Patagonia either needs to make their smalls slightly larger or their mediums slightly smaller. Maybe the brand just isnt for my body type. I wish theyd address the inconsistent fit across different items of the same size from the brand.

July 27, 2021

My Favorite Sweater/Jacket

I have purchased 5 Patagonia Fleece sweaters. My favorite sweater for all around use; around the house on cold days, hiking, fishing, travel. The sweaters look great in many settings. Warm, comfortable, keep their shape after extensive use. Outstanding product.

July 19, 2021

Great looking and warm

Good looking, warm. Using recycled materials also please me.

July 8, 2021

Good quality

Bought this for my son, he loves the quality and more important keeps him warm.

July 2, 2021

Super comfortable, warm, and looks great!

Purchased to have a nicer looking zip up sweater and am so impressed by the quality. Keep it up Patagonia!

June 24, 2021

more casual than athletic

The M's sweater jacket is a great item incorporating the usual superb Patagonia quality and I love the weight. For my taste and being 6'2"/ 175lbs, and wearing a t-shirt, the L size was too big in lower half (ie, around my mid-section) and the body of jacket itself too long. The sleeve length was generous which is great. Alternativel... Read Morey, the size M was way too tight. If a future design embraces more of a "slim fit" style, or I gain/lose 20 lbs, I will take another look at the Better Sweater.

June 22, 2021

Love this color!!!

Love pigeon blue color. This is a nice neat jacket to wear dressed up, running around town doing errands, traveling or going on a hike. Love the true to size fit & the zipped pockets, a must have!!!

June 12, 2021

Perfect Jacket

The perfect Jacket. Had the same one for about 2 years but unfortunately lost it. Had to order a new one the next day. Im 60, 175 lbs and the Medium was too small.

May 20, 2021

Great to wear for spring and fall

I bought this for my husband and it fit perfectly well. He is 135 lbs. The pockets are useful for keys, cellphone and wallet

May 14, 2021

Super comfortable

This is an awesome article of clothing. Super warm and super comfortable. Patagonia is such a high quality company. They make the process of returning goods for a different size very easy and smooth. You know you are getting the best when you purchase from them.

May 14, 2021

Perfectly light!

I've been waiting for this jacket for years! It's light enough to wear it during the day, yet cozy and warm enough for a cool evening. The workmanship is outstanding and it fits me like a globe. Perhaps the sleeves may not be conducive to wear something thick under it (e.g., a sweater), but a regular t-shirt or dress shirt works just fine... Read More. I was concerned M was going to be too big (that's the case with me and North Face), but it feels tailor made. I don't remember whether it's wind proof, though in any event it does a great job preventing cold wind to go through. The quality of the fleece is better than any other fleece item I own.

May 14, 2021

Great Sweater. Warmer than expected.

Two things. I'm 6'3" and 180 pounds. I wear a size "Large" for most of my shirts and jackets. Subsequently, I ordered a "Large". However, it was way too big. When I returned it and ordered a medium, I was worried the sleeves would be too short. However, the medium fits me perfectly. Second, it's warmer than y... Read Moreou think. I would call it a "medium grade" sweater-jacket. Not like the pull-overs I have. Overall, a great product.

May 11, 2021

Just Right

I received this as a gift after admiring my brother in law's. Haven't had it off much during this May chill. Exactly the right weight and looks better than my beloved old soft sweatshirt.

May 6, 2021

Great fleece jacket

Great jacket and as expecteed from Patagonia very well put together. I love the brown color. It runs a bit small, at least for me.

May 5, 2021

Comfort

Comfort, warm, cozy feeling.

April 30, 2021

Comfy

Love these Better Sweaters. This is my second. It's warm and comfy. The dark blue color is a true one. The sleeves are long enough for me (16 X 35 shirt size). The length in the body goes past my hips. Patagonia has kept sizes consistent in this product over the years which is excellent. (Other products from Patagonia have wildly varying sizin... Read Moreg depending on years of manufacture.)

April 25, 2021

?

I bought this for my husband and he loves it. It is very warm and looks very sporty. I also love the grey color. thanks!

April 23, 2021

Feel Great

I love it, feels warm, comfortable. the fit is just right and most of all I love the quality of it. washed it a few times, and still looks brand new.

April 23, 2021

Terrible! Think Twice Before Purchasing.

I have owned 33 pieces of Patagonia since 1988 and have always been a fan and great ambassador to the brand until now. This item is the WORST Patagonia I have ever produced. Purchased in January of 2021. First, the jacket is NOT warm at all. A slight breeze goes right through it. Unfortunately, it makes for an ok, just an ok indoor jacket. Not my i... Read Morententions of using and purchasing this item. Secondly, the material just seems cheap! The interior lining is very thin and the exterior just seems weak. Also, attracts every piece of animal fur and lint like a magnet. Thirdly, the zippers do not have the additional "zipper pull" tabs as Patagonia was always good for. This makes finding pocket zippers very difficult! Patagonia was ALWAYS good at providing these until now. Terrible way to save a few cents Patagonia. Forth, the sleeve cuffs always bend back and are not holding their shape and are loose. Not something I ever experienced from previous Patagonia items. Am I being picky? Maybe, but I have come to expect great products from Patagonia and this falls VERY short. Patagonia, PLEASE do not go the way of other manufactures and "cheapen" your items!

Response from Patagonia
April 29, 2021

Hello Scott, thank you for sharing your detailed review with us. Your feedback has been passed along to our Design and Product Teams. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your jacket if you were looking to do so, but haven't already.

April 19, 2021

Great sweater!

I gave one of these to each of my sons and then realized I wanted one, as well. I love the color and the fit. Perfect for cool evenings or mornings.

April 16, 2021

Ron

Another great Patagonia product!

April 16, 2021

Perfect addition to my easentials

Better than a sweater for sure - fits snuggly enough to keep you warm - fashionable enough to wear alone and not bulky if you want to layer. Perfect purchase

April 15, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Got this for walking in 45 -50 degree weather with long sleeve T-shirt underneath . Very warm and comfortable in those conditions. Perfect fit , stylish , with enough pockets for phone, gloves, keys, etc...... Bought a grey one and liked it so much ordered a 2nd brown one!

April 15, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

Absolutely love this sweater very warm and soft. I got the khaki color because I work somewhere with lots of dust and pets.

April 14, 2021

Great Gift!

I bought these sweater/jackets as a gift. I have them also and love them! Great for men and women! Warm, easy to wash and so very comfortable! Thanks!

April 12, 2021

Needed a nice fleece jacket

I'm 6'1, and about 225. So it runs true to size. It's not loose fitting and if you want that pending your size I'd go up but it fits great for me with either a dress shirt or something light underneath. Got this for everyday use as well as going out as it looks amazing and hiking as it gets colder of needed.

April 11, 2021

Perfect fit

I had wanted a lightweight sweater but womens size were too small and found one that was perfect fit and ordered this one online. I love it.

April 10, 2021

Very comfortable, keeps me warm but not too hot, perfect for a mid layer on cold days or an outer layer on cool days

Love this sweater!

April 6, 2021

Lovely color and great jacket

Love the color and the fit, a bit bigger but longer in the torso and arms. It will be a welcome change from gray and orange! Better sweaters work well year around in our climate!!

April 4, 2021

I am kind of disappointed, they sizing is not good.

So I originally ordered a large. Using the size guide, I thought that this would be the best option for me. However, when I got the jacket it was super tight in the shoulders and did not really fit me properly, it felt tight in all of the wrong places. I then was able to do an exchange for an extra-large, which customer service was amazing about. T... Read Morehough, when I received the jacket it was literally way too big. The sleeves were too long and it looked like I was wearing a dress...so now I am just stuck with an oversized jacket that I will never wear.

Response from Patagonia
April 6, 2021

Hi Hunter, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We're really sorry to hear the the XL didn't work out either and we completely understand the disappointment. With that said, you are welcome to return it to us. We've reached out to you directly with further assistance!

April 1, 2021

Great quality

Use almost everyday, especially in the morning getting ready for my day. Seems to be able to hold up to the consistent use.

March 30, 2021

Great sweater/jacket

Have worn this jacket for years. A favorite from Patagonia and great for layering when needed.

March 29, 2021

Very comfortable and nice looking.

This is nice looking and comfortable sweater jacket. This is a nice upgrade to similar jackets I have purchased over the last 10 years

March 29, 2021

warm and comfortable sweater jacket

Patagonia's sweater jackets are warmer than other brands in the market, made with excellent zippers which you do not need to fight to engage and fit snuggle around the waist, wrist and neck when it warrants snugness. They are not inexpensive but made well for long lasting.

March 27, 2021

good quality

I love all the better sweater fleece products, I have 2 of the better sweater fleece button up shirts also. I plan on wearing these things for a long time.

March 26, 2021

Stylish and warm

Excellent quality, and functional with ample storage (pockets). It does run relatively snug over any long sleeved shirt.

March 26, 2021

My new favorite

This is actually my second review of this jacket. So far it has performed better than I ever could have dreamed. I throw it on for any setting where I want to be comfortable and classy. If you want a sweater that feels like a jacket this is for you! With that being said I do have one suggestion for the Patagonia design so listen up guys and gals! P... Read Morelease, please, please put the chest pocket on the inside. It would make the jack look even more clean. Also, drop the size of the left inside drop pocket to that of the current right one. At the very least add a zipper garage for the current chest pocket. I would recommend this to just about anyone. Also note that while this jacket is best suited for casual use it can be use for some more demanding things. I have already hit mtb jump lines and hiked in this thing with no complaints. It is surprisingly hardy!

March 25, 2021

A Wardrobe Staple

My husband now has 3 of these sweaters. I have 2. We both use them all the time. They are warm as a light "jacket", but also layer well. Great for An upgraded sweatshirt alternative, but the same comfort. Great for travel. Just the right multi purpose item! Wears like iron and machine washes and dries perfectly. Highly recommend!

March 24, 2021

Quality appearance

Fits snugly, but, not meant to be worn over fleece etc. With polos great!

March 22, 2021

Looks good, warm but ages really poorly.

Love my other Patagonia gear except this one. I've purchased a few for gifts but I'm disappointed in my own and how poorly it has aged. I've had it for less than a year and it develops a lot of pilling. Great otherwise. It's warm, looks good and well priced but it just looks bad after a few months of heavy use.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Hi Ricardo, we are sorry your Better Sweater has begun to pill. Pilling can be inevitable with knit garments as it is the nature of those fibers. With that being said, there are various products that can remove the pilling so your jacket can look good as new! We recommend using a Sweater Stone or fabric shaver to remove pilling. To prevent pilling in the future, try washing it either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get upbraided. Of course, if you are not satisfied with your purchase, you may send it in for a warranty evaluation. Just give us a [call or chat in](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can set that up for you.

March 22, 2021

Wish it had drawstring

Its great for layering and I wish it had a drawstring around the hem at the bottom to keep the wind out.

March 19, 2021

Really good, have one or two suggestions

First off I would like to make it clear that this is not a full review as I have only owned this jacket for a few days. I bought it to replace an aging better sweater vest. This is a really similar item, basically a better sweater vest with sleeves. So, I think I know enough to share with y'all but take this with a grain of salt. Pros: very c... Read Moreomfortable, good materials, good Patagonia quality, nice zippers, warm but not too warm, and looks really good Cons: I don't understand the left side inside pocket. Why is it so, so long and deep? I would much rather a shorter wider one like on the right. Maybe there's a reason I'm missing but the positioning of it makes it hard to use. It also would have been nice to have thumbholes on the sleeves. Overall: I would 100% recommend this jacket. I only gave it 4 stars because it didn't blow me out of the water the same way products like the micro puff hoodie (also by Patagonia) has. Its a great sweater jacket and I can tell it will be one of my favorites for years and years to come.

March 13, 2021

Perfect

Love the color and material. Not too thick for spring. This is a perfect everyday casual jacket.

March 12, 2021

why the pilling problem

nice jacket but the fabric will definitely 'pill'

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Hello Gary, thanks for your review! Unfortunately, all fleeces have a tendency to pill. We recommend washing your fleeces by hand in cool-cold water or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help it look brand new again. Of course, you are absolutely welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty if needed.

March 10, 2021

So comfy

My go to choice to be warm, look nicer than a sweatshirt and feel good all at the same time.

March 9, 2021

Well Made and Super Warm

This is a toasty warm zip up for both indoor and outdoor. Zippered pockets provide a secure place for valuables. Patagonia not only makes high quality products but is a customer oriented company. I received an apology from them due to not having a jacket in the color I ordered. I highly recommend Patagonia!

March 8, 2021

excellent quality

Very happy with quality. Only gripe is that the Medium runs small and the large is more accurate. The medium was small and uncomfortable across the chest. Im 59 155 lb. I exchanged for large, which is bigger than what I prefer (sleeve and body length for example). But I kept. Mediums should be made a bit fuller.

March 5, 2021

Comfortable

Comfortable and warm

March 4, 2021

Perfect sweater

This is one of my favorite sweaters and I have a bunch of Patagonia's. I'm 170, 5' 11" with a 41" chest and a size Medium fits perfect. One thing I really like is the high collar that fits well and is not loose around my neck. It is perfect to layer underneath a jacket/ windbreaker .

February 28, 2021

Excellent jacket

Fantastic jacket great fit and material

February 27, 2021

Great Gift

I bought this for my husband. It was his first Patagonia. He was not keen on the price at first, but quickly changed his mind when he tried it on.

February 27, 2021

Soft & Warm

3 zippered pickets, full zipper, good fit, warm and soft. Another great item from Patagonia.

February 26, 2021

Oddly right, but seems comfy

The fit seems off. Tighter than even a slim fit shirt in my normal size. Could barely fit my sleeveless as through the sleeves. Seems an absolute requirement to size up if you are not very skinny or if you want to wear more than a t-shirt underneath. Quality doesn't seem quite on par with the cost and the mystique. I'll look for a differe... Read Morent sturdy fleece jacket.

February 26, 2021

Great All Around Jacket

I purchased this in Log Brown after scouring the reviews for a quality durable Spring and Fall sweater. It is very soft and has a classic look that you can wear to the office or out for a hike. The fit is true to size (for reference Im 5-6 tall, weigh 170 lbs., 39 chest, 32/33 sleeve, 32 waist), the only area that fits a little snug is the sleeve o... Read Moren my forearm. It is a warm and light sweater to use stand alone or as a mid layer. Zipper quality is very good with smooth operation. Too soon for me to tell on the durability, but very happy with the product.

February 25, 2021

AWESOME

feels great, warm and reliable, used to have one back in 7th grade, really happy i found the same one!

February 25, 2021

Very warm and cozy!

Enjoy wearing it on cold days. Soft and very warm.

February 25, 2021

Warm

Fits right

February 25, 2021

A Classic

The better sweater is truly that, a better sweater. It provides good warmth and where as well. The fabric is thick and rich and feels great on your skin. I recently purchased the dark brown and absolutely love the color of the fabric. I own a number of better sweaters and I plan to keep buying them in the future, theyre great!

February 25, 2021

Comfortable, Simple, and Stylish

Love this sweater so much that I got two. It's incredibly comfortable, fits nicely, and matches any outfit. I can wear it at work in a professional setting, or lounging about the house Sunday morning with a cup of coffee.

February 25, 2021

Repeat purchase

My second of the same. Great weight and layers well. Quality is always top tier. Five stars.

February 24, 2021

good fleece

while much of the Patagonia line has seemed to suffer reduction in general quality / durability the better sweater fleece pieces are still dependable layers

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

"thanks for your feedback! Our product designers and other customers really appreciate any details you can provide regarding fabric, sizing, fit, features and performance. Please reach out if you need any assistance from our Customer Service team.

February 24, 2021

Quality and great sales price

Delivery on time so much better than last year!

February 23, 2021

Awesome.

Perfect fit. Didnt have to give it to one of my children. :)

February 23, 2021

Perfect

I got this sweater for my husband, he works in a hospital and it is just perfect for him, keeping him warmed enough, light weight and looks professional for see his patients even though when he is wearing his scrubs.

February 23, 2021

great for women too

The BSJ is my staple clothing item in the winter. Having both women's & men's version of the BSJ, I actually prefer the men's version because the arms are more relaxed where it joins the shoulders. I have read other women complaining about the women's version because of this, so I invite them to try the men's version. S... Read Moreure, the silhouette is not hourglass-y, but so what? I think this current version is a little longer so with my hips being more flared than a man's & having a shorter torso, the bottom of the jacket "grabs" at my hips whereas the torso is looser. Fortunately, I'm still trim enough that the sweater bottom doesn't bunch up around my waist. The other bonus to purchasing the men's version are the better color options like the olives, rusts, & browns.

February 19, 2021

Could be warmer

Could be warmer

February 18, 2021

Comfortable and warm

I love this sweater. Its a little larger than I expected but a medium would be too small. Overall, its a favorite and its been great with the winter weather in Chicago.

February 18, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Warm and comfortable to wear !

February 18, 2021

Super Sweater

This is a super well-designed sweater with a solid weight to the fabric and very effective balance of insulation and breathability. It's the kind of sweater you grow old with. As it ages, it'll fit like a glove.

February 15, 2021

2 bad jackets

I received a green version of this jacket for Christmas. I enjoyed it until I pulled it out of the wash with holes in it. I had followed the tags instructions for washing, so I was upset this gift didnt even last a month with how expensive it is. I tried to find an exact replacement, but the color I had was sold out of everywhere I looked. I bought... Read More a second jacket a different color, and the seam on one of the sleeves is very rough and uncomfortable. I used to love these types of jackets as a teenager, but it seems the quality is going down, which is very disappointing

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

Hi Edward, we're sorry to hear about the untimely wear and tear and disappointment with the Men's Better Sweater Fleece Jacket in general. As always, if you're at all unsatisfied with your gear, your welcome to return or exchange that under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

February 11, 2021

Runs a little big

Great fleece! I ordered the large but returned for the medium. Medium fits perfect over a T-shirt or polo- 6ft tall/ 42 chest/ 34 waist.

February 9, 2021

Great sweater

I LOVE this sweater. It is warm and fits me like a glove. It is not scratchy so I wear it all the time. Wearing under a down sweater keep me warm I all but the coldest weather.

February 9, 2021

Super Comfortable

I wear this comfortable sweater over t-shirts, polo style, or button-down shirts nearly every day from October to March with shorts, sweats, jeans, or khakis. I am 6'2" - 250 LB, and the XXL fits perfectly. The only reason I would buy another is to have multiple colors (I have industrial green).

February 8, 2021

Gorgeous high quality

Purchased hunter green, so beautiful, fits perfectly, and warm but not too warm

February 7, 2021

Great Fleece Jacket

The style and fit are excellent. Surprisingly comfortable and plentiful pockets.

February 6, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

All the things that are great about this better sweater from the other reviews are true! Being a taller gentleman, however, the sleeves are a smidge short on me. This is a little different than other products I own so keep in mind when you are shopping.

February 6, 2021

Not great if you arent tall & skinny

This is a cool sweater overall, good workmanship and quality material. However, if you are in the short range and stocky, 5 foot eight & below, the M will have sleeves mid palm on you and the bottom of the shirt will be at your privates and below. Funny thing is I am about the same size as Yvonne Chouinard and very seldom does Patagonia fit me.... Read More Id like to see how he looks in his own product.

February 6, 2021

Super Warm

Love the fit. Super warm and quality material. Very fashionable for hiking and at work!

February 4, 2021

Functional and beautiful

The Patagonia Better Sweater just keeps getting better I think: the weave is now even more reminiscent of a wool sweater but it's more durable. Good looking enough for casual work and going out for dinner, but still works great for short hikes.

February 3, 2021

Nice looking jacket.

Like the fabric, color, and detail. Well worth the price.

February 1, 2021

Toasty warm

I own more than one of your products, and I have always been satisfied. More what do with your product they perform great,always happy with my purchased.

January 31, 2021

Warm and comfortable

Very comfortable sweater

January 30, 2021

My favorite light jacket

I had wanted one for a while and it lives up to expectations. Very comfortable.

January 30, 2021

Not the Same As the Older Better Sweater

I have owned this Better Sweater jacket for about two months (L Logwood Brown), washed it 2-3 times total and it has pilled incredibly fast. The zipper is also slightly curled and the overall fit feels a lot smaller than my other Better Sweater jacket from 2016, despite being washed with cold water and air dried. Overall I would say the material is... Read More of a lesser quality than previous seasons Better Sweaters. I typically love everything from Patagonia, but this was a disappointment.

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2021

Thanks for your feedback. All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and you're welcome to return it for a warranty.

January 29, 2021

Classic elegance

Looked comfortable and sharp on my teenager.

January 27, 2021

Sleeves are long

Got the XS size. Love this jacket a lot. However, those sleeves are too long

January 26, 2021

A really good sweater

I actually have bought several of these Better Sweaters over the years, and they have held up well and I pretty much live in them through our five-month winters here in Ithaca, NY. The old ones are still good, but the current crop is appreciably better, and I highly recommend these sweaters. They are warm, sturdy, well-designed, and they look great... Read More in a well-turned out casual sort of way. In fact, I have gotten a couple of Better Sweater vests for fall and spring, and when it gets fairly cold in the house, I put a sweater over a vest over a t-shirt, and I'm as cozy as can be!

January 24, 2021

Comfortable & practical

My bf likes efficiency in gear, and I like looks- we both win with this sweater (which has long been a fixture in my own closet! But I wasnt sure he was ready...) Runs about 1/2 size small.

January 22, 2021

Great jacket

Great color. Love the Chest pocket!

January 21, 2021

Very comfortable , lightweight and warm

Same as above , will buy more in the future. Love it , Thanks !!!

January 21, 2021

Great look, great fit!

Im 61 & 200lbs and i bought the navy blue in an XL. It fits just about perfect. Its not slim fit but its also not baggy around the torso. Theres room to layer another lighter sweater or a flannel underneath without it being too tight or restricting your movements. Looks great and super happy with the purchase!

January 20, 2021

Durable and warm

True to size and comfortable!

January 20, 2021

Great jacket

Husband loves it, fits perfectly. True to size and slimming.

January 18, 2021

In Love !

Excellent fit ! Very comfy, stylish and good quality.

January 17, 2021

Great Quality

Great fit and well made. Warm jacket that can be worn by itself as a zipped sweater or as an under layer for an outer jacket. Love this fleece!

January 13, 2021

Perfect over tee around house

I bought this to try as I have a couple Polar Fleece jackets. I wear over one tee shirt around the house and under a jacket for walks. Live in cold northeast its perfect around drafty house and quick trips outside. Have 6-8 Patagonia items, this is my favorite.

January 12, 2021

Comfortable and stylish

Bought this for my dad for Christmas and he loves it!!! Fits a little long on him since hes not super tall but other than that, great fit!

January 12, 2021

Stylish and light-weight jacket

The jacket is comfortable and stylish . It is lightweight to medium weight. It keeps you warm but not good for cold under 50 degrees. Nice for a walk, hike, casual work or a everyday jacket

January 11, 2021

Great buy

Really content with everything about it!

January 10, 2021

Comfortable,stylish jacket

My husband loves this jacket. It fits perfectly. He wears it all the time both inside and outside!

January 9, 2021

Nice Fleece Jacket

Love the fleece jacket! Bought a medium size and it fits just right. Its warm, very light weight and perfect for cold weather.

January 9, 2021

Warm with great fit!

This was a gift for our son. Usually large jackets are wide but this fits great. Many people need length but not an automatically a wide fit. Thank you for getting it. With so many grey and black jackets the brown is a nice change. This looks great with jeans or dress pants. A nice upgrade to his outerwear collection!!

January 9, 2021

Great cold weather sweater for work

My son, who is a young professional and very picky with his work clothes, loves this sweater for cold weather work wear.

January 8, 2021

Very warm, looks great on

Fits well, love the color. Very pleased. Thanks, Dale

January 7, 2021

Nice and warm

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and he is obsessed with it. He has already asked for another one for his birthday.

January 6, 2021

Love the better sweater

Xx

January 6, 2021

The Perfect Gift for Christmas

I bought this for my husband for Christmas. He has a blue already and wears it all the time.

January 6, 2021

Versatile

One of the best fleeces out there. I have two and bought one for a friend for Christmas present.

January 6, 2021

Looks nice on the outside, super comfortable and warm on the inside.

Looks nice on the outside, super comfortable and warm on the inside.

January 3, 2021

It is warm

I like it. The only thing I would maybe see about changing is the zipper. I would like to see it bigger.

January 3, 2021

Best fleece ever

The only reason I had to order a new one is because Patagonia is currently repairing the zipper on my old one. Like 12/13 years old, used for EVERYTHING, worn in every condition throughout the year. I have other specialty fleece for specific usage, but this is the swiss-army-knife of fleece jackets. Period.

January 3, 2021

My 3rd Better Sweater

Love this product, tried a similar product from the "Arc" company and it pilled after a season. One of mine is now 10 years old and looks great. Highly recommend to anyone and everyone, you decide your activity.

January 3, 2021

Great Quality!

Bought for my husband. Super warm, very professional.

January 2, 2021

Beautiful jacket

I accidentally ordered my husband two jackets and he loves this one too. Very warm with great pockets.

January 2, 2021

Comfortable and warm

Got this as a present. I like the front zippered pocket, really warm fleece and fits right. Great for mild weather or slightly colder weather without the bulk. Would recommend.

January 1, 2021

Super Comfy

A good, warm fleece that is now my go to jacket. It is also perfect for layering under a hard shell when it gets wet. Grabbing this and my Torrentshell jacket makes me prepared for anything.

December 31, 2020

It's a better sweater jacket

I chose a size XL and sizing is spot-on. I usually downsize to a large on most Patagonia jackets. I'm 6-0. 205#. My chest measurement is about 23-24 inches across. It fits me perfect and it's not a bulky fleece jacket which is what I'm looking for. So far no complaints.

December 30, 2020

Best on market

I have purchased a few of these sweaters. The quality and feel is above and beyond other competitors so called better sweater. Dont waste time with them! BUY PATAGONIA!!!

December 29, 2020

Excellent Jacket

excellent jacket

December 28, 2020

I love patagonia, but do not give one as a gift

I own 3 patagonia's sweaters and I love them they are the best!!!! Quality speaking cannot be beaten by any brand... With that being said... I purchase a sweater for my husband's bday with a message for him and when I received the package the box said patagonia and the message was printed in the bill, definetly it ruined the surprise!!!!!... Read More! But anyways he loves it and it fits perfectly.

Response from Patagonia
February 6, 2021

Sorry to hear the surprise was ruined but happy to know the gift was appreciated! We'll make note of this and pass the word along, thanks.

December 26, 2020

great in multiple scenarios

super warm for middle seasons as a jacket, perfect layer without being bulky. Wears well as a sweater too.

December 26, 2020

Husband loves it.

Gift for my husband. Its nice enough to dress up, but casual enough to wear for the warmth. Well made. Very warm.

December 24, 2020

Great Fleece

This fleece is super warm and great for a variety of activities.

December 23, 2020

Warm and fits nicely

Warm enough for hiking at about 30°F (0°C). Fits nicely.

December 22, 2020

Style and Comfort

Very comfortable and better looking than a hoodie.

December 21, 2020

Comfy, slim fit

6'1", 205lbs. I generally wear a medium for patagonia tops, couldn't even get my arms into the medium. Got a large and it fits beautifully. I run a bit warm at baseline, this will work as a solo layer for t>40f or paired with a vest for 30f

December 16, 2020

One of the best jackets ive ever bought!

Jacket is warm, soft, and comfy. Beat jacket in the world.

December 13, 2020

Great quality and look!

Great quality. Looks good. Would definitely purchase again.

December 10, 2020

The perfect fleece

I love this jacket. Its warm and fits like a glove. I bought three more for relatives.

December 10, 2020

Gorgeous!

Its perfect!

December 10, 2020

Super Warm

I purchased this sweater for my son for the second time. He has a long walk across the parking lot into work each day, starting at 6:30 am and it gets mighty cold in Idaho. This is his favorite sweater and I hope you keep it in stock because I will probably want to buy it again! Thank you Patagonia.

December 9, 2020

warm

It was a gift

December 8, 2020

Warm

This jacket keeps me warm but not hot. The only negative is if the wind is blowing it gets cold.

December 4, 2020

Excellent

Regulates body temp extremely well. Warm in cold weather, cool in warm weather!

December 2, 2020

Pilling Like Crazy

I love these sweaters but man do they pull. You would think for 155 dollars they would figure out a way to not have this be an issue. Other than that it fits great and looks great. I have 3 of these but the black one seems to be the most noticeable with the pilling.

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2021

Thanks for writing this review. To remove those pills we've created a handy [video](https://youtu.be/2aFbPb6Rn8o).

December 2, 2020

Well Made but Sizing Difficult

Its a nice sweater but the sizing is weird. The medium was ridiculously tight and the large too large. The bottom is not tapered so it allows cold air to get in underneath

November 25, 2020

High quality warmth but cut is small

I have 3 of the Better Sweater style vests. Love them and wanted one with sleeves. As a larger man I do not like pullovers and wanted the zip up. The quality is just great but I found the Size was not what I thought it should be. The vests are reasonably loose on me allowing thick clothing underneath but the zip up sweater has a body that is too sm... Read Moreall . More importantly are the sleeves which I found to be way too tight. This I assure you was not due to the muscular size of my arms. The sleeves make it hard to get on over layered clothing. Also I would like to see a better, more sweater like cuff on the sleeves. I would not trade the sweater for another brand and love the quality .

November 19, 2020

Love it

Love everything about Patagonia!!!!

November 18, 2020

Warm and comfortable

Fits great. Looks great. Keeps me warm. Whats not to like.

November 18, 2020

Flawless

This is my first ever purchase from Patagonia. Very well made, paying attention to minute details. Very happy and satisfied. For sure gonna be a returning customer. So glad I bought it. If you want something casual on a pair of jeans, its a no brainer. Just get it. Thank Patagonia for such a quality product.

November 18, 2020

Comfort and Quality

These two words sum it up. Great style and true to fit. Love the chest zip pocket. I wear this for going on walks, running errands our outside playing with my kids. Love it!

November 15, 2020

Perfect for work and for weekends

I have this sweater and a few vests and they are my go to when the weather is cool. I can throw it on with dress pants at the office or with jeans on my days off.

November 13, 2020

Perfect Fit, Looks Terrific

The fleece jacket/sweater looks great and fits perfectly. It is new and so I have no feedback to give as yet about how it wears or launders. A 5-star start!

November 13, 2020

Fit is off

I find the fit on these jackets to be way off. It is supposed to be a regular fit not a slim fit. Well its the slimmest regular fit ever. I ordered both a M and a L as I often fit in one or the other. I started with the L and it was too small so I didnt even get the M out of the package. I returned both. Im 59, 185.

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

Hey there, thanks for the review! We're sorry that the sizing felt off for you. If you're interested in a fleece that has more of a relaxed fit, please check out our [Synchilla Snap-T Fleece Pullover](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-synchilla-snap-t-fleece-pullover/25450.html?dwvar_25450_color=NKNV).

November 10, 2020

Cant figure out Patagonias sizing

I purchased a Medium, a Large and an Extra Large in the Regular Fit, Better Sweater. None fit me. Im 59, 185 lbs. Obviously not the build of a model, but Im athletic and fly fish over sixty days a year. I have to ask, when you are cutting these size patterns, who are they cut for? Ive made several returns to Patagonia this year as things just dont ... Read Morefit like they did back in the old days. I guess its time to move to another brand and leave Patagonia to the super slim rock climbers and such. Thanks for many years of quality garments!

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2020

Hi Scott! We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and tell us about the difficulty you've had with sizing. We are very sorry to hear about the trouble you've had, but we always welcome the feedback. It's important to us to hear from our customers so we can improve things for future seasons. We've reached out to you directly to ask for some further detail regarding the fit you experienced.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches