Back to Product

M's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Barn Coat

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 47 Reviews

Clear All

M's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Barn Coat

4.5/5
True To Size
March 26, 2021

Instant favorite

I've received so many compliments on this coat! It keeps me warm with just a t-shirt down to about 35 degrees. Very comfortable and heavy. Like the other reviewers have said, it runs large. Small fit me perfect (5'5" 160) with room for a flannel shirt and hoodie underneath on colder days. One thing I haven't seen mentioned in o... Read Morether reviews is the zipper, it's amazing. Seriously the best zipper I've ever had in a coat.

March 24, 2021

Bought for my wife

My wife wanted my coat! I own the same one in large size. Im 73in 220lb. Its the perfect work coat for the farm. I run a poultry farm. The coat runs large so its great as a shell in the winter over a thick sweatshirt or some other Patagonia sweater product. This coat is all about the pockets! In the winter I carry a stocking cap, gloves, neck gaite... Read Morer, and baseball cap in the rear pocket. (Doubles as lumbar support when Im in the truck) My iPhone is in my right front pocket, and my flashlight, reading glasses, pen, notepad in left breast pocket. I throw in some hand lotion and a tape measure and Im ready to work. The coat now weighs twice as much. Two suggestions 1) more snaps evenly space on the main zipper cover, sometimes u just need to snap the coat in a pinch. 2) the coat is long and a parka zipper may make crouching down easier. I got my wife the small and it fits her like it fits me on the large side room for a sweater. She is normally a womans medium. I love your clothes namely your cold weather gear.

February 9, 2021

Super quality and looks

I believe I will be wearing this coat for many years. The coat is very warm and the quality is typical Patagonia. I usually buy a large but after reading the reviews I purchased a medium and it fits perfect. Have only worn it a couple times and have been complemented each time.

February 1, 2021

Barn Coat perfect for work

I purchased this jacket to use in an dirty outdoor work environment. Im very happy with it so far. The fit is good. Material feels durable.

January 29, 2021

Just

It works just like Patagonia said it would. Really have not had a chance to put it thru its paces.

January 25, 2021

Very Pleased

This jacket is warm, tough, and great looking. It does run a hair large but I expected that fit for this type of jacket. I'm usually on the upper end of a medium so I ordered a medium and it fits great. If you are normally on the smaller side of a particular size you may consider sizing down one. My only complaint is a small one. The material... Read More in the hand warming pockets aren't conducive to dry, rough hands.

January 25, 2021

Very warm room wind resistant

Very warm roomy plenty of pockets Soft and supple

January 13, 2021

Versatile cool to cold weather chore coat

Received this as a gift. Seattle winters have high temperature variability. Wore it going for a walk with just a shirt and T-shirt underneath on a mid 50s overcast day. Wore it with a sweatshirt and flannel shirt underneath on a high 30s day doing yard work. Wore it with a down sweater underneath while helping a friend move to Eastern WA on a low 2... Read More0s day. Its comfortable. Good range of motion. Runs large which is great for layering. What I haven't done yet is get it really really dirty and see how it cleans up.

December 27, 2020

BEST COAT EVER

WOW. THE COMFORT THE FEEL AND WARMTH ARE WORLD CLASS. THANK YOU

December 25, 2020

Rugged, warm, dependable.

Runs slightly large as expected from a coat made for this type of work. I feel like I could take a chainsaw to this jacket and not even make a scratch. Its warm and a perfect weight for working outside. They truly tested this product perfectly with the amount of storage and range of different pockets on this jacket.

December 23, 2020

Best Coat Ever

I can tell that I will have this coat for the rest of my life. Cannot beat the quality. I am 5'9 and roughly 230 LBS with a 38 inch waist. I usually purchase everything XL, but after reading the reviews I decided on a Large. The Large is perfect with room to layer up. I live in Tennessee so this is the perfect winter coat as well. I haven&#x27... Read More;t used the back pocket thing yet, but I really can't tell it's their. If you're still on the fence about getting it, just do it. It took me a month to decide because I have a minimalist wardrobe and purchase with purpose. Wish I purchased this years ago. Now I can get rid of old hoodies and cheap coats.

December 17, 2020

Most best jacket EVER!! Your can do campfires

Without melting your high prices bird feathers...

December 14, 2020

Perfect fit

I bought this coat for working around my cabin in the forest. The length and fit are perfect for me. (Im 57-58 tall and about 145lbs) Also the loft is perfect as well. As its not too heavy or too light. The fabric outside has the worn broken-in feel as it was described online. Overall its a great casual coat for my cabin.

December 3, 2020

Fantastic chore coat, hemp fabric is amazing, runs big

IMO this is the best chore coat on the market today. Patagonia once again hit the right balance between style and function. The Iron Forge Hemp fabric is very tough yet surprisingly supple, and I'm confident this coat will outlast me. The extra pocket across the lower back is really cool and very useful for gloves, hats, small tools, etc. The ... Read Morelining makes it easy to get on/off and it's surprisingly warm for the weight. Strongly recommend. If you're reading this go BUY THIS COAT! It definitely runs really big. I am a large in most Patagonia coats and had to exchange the large (which I was swimming in) for a medium, which fits comfortably with room for layering. One minor nit: The front zipper is functional but it feels a bit lightweight for the coat.

November 22, 2020

Warm and durable

Great fit and details. Warm and understated.

November 7, 2020

Rugged and versatile

Really enjoying this coat. Rugged but versatile enough to wear as causal coat. I usually wear a large in Patagonia fleece, etc., but the medium fits perfect with plenty of room to add a few layers below on those colder days.

November 3, 2020

Best Everyday Jacket

If you are going to buy one jacket just for general winter use, this is it. Ive had it for 4 years, and it looks as if I bought it yesterday. It is warm enough to where I can use it for fall, but you can also layer. Usually I wear a basic hoodie under this jacket, and it keeps me warm in the CT winters. Its perfect because it can function in most s... Read Moreituations. It can be used as a work jacket, but its stylish enough just to wear everyday. Whats also sick is all of the pockets. There are so many pockets, and I just leave my hat and scarf in the jacket because why not? It doesnt even take up any space. If you need a barn jacket get this and never look back.

October 15, 2020

No designed for a range of motion in the shoulders.

I was going to use this for riding horses and associated work. There was inadequate movement in the shoulders. I had to return the jacket because there was no ease built in the shoulders. You need to design the shoulders to allow a better range of motion. Im sorry because I really liked the jacket. Even though it was a medium size which as I weigh ... Read More116 lbs. and 55. Wouldnt allow a larger size.

October 15, 2020

Great Jacket

Bought this coat in 2017 to work do framing in the Minnesota winter. Pared it with a good sweatshirt and work amazingly. No cuts or rips even after running it along gussets in the trusses. I also enjoy wearing it casually around the yard, on a stroll through our local park or to our favorite brewerys! All in all, great jacket thats perfect for my l... Read Moreifestyle!

September 17, 2020

Good Price to Performance Ratio

Im a relatively active 69 year old male. Im 58, 185 pounds. 45 chest, 20 shoulders, 34 waist. 33 sleeve, 17 neck. Usually, a size large in Patagonia coats fits me very well. First off, I dont farm, ranch, or work outdoors. I just enjoy the comfort and style of a barn coat in casual settings. I have owned a couple prior to the purchase of the Pata... Read Moregonia and, for me, once theyre broken in, they simply cant be beat. I have similar hopes for the Patagonia. I purchased the Patagonia Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat in December 2019. I waited several months before offering my views on this coat because I wanted to ensure that my impressions would be consistent over time. Because my shoulders, chest, and neck traditionally have been the critical areas of fit, I tried on both a large and a medium at the Denver Patagonia store. The large was a very comfortable (almost ideal) fit in the shoulders and chest. However, the balance of the torso was blousy; it wasnt bad, but it wasnt a fit that I was accustomed to. The medium, on the other hand, had a more of a fit that I preferred in the lower torso, yet the shoulders and chest were close to being tight. The range-of-motion in the shoulders was not restrictive, but close to it. The closest I come to layering under any coat is a flannel shirt over a t-shirt. So I felt the medium would be an acceptable fit. I ended up ordering a medium from Patagonia to get the color that I wanted (coriander brown). That said, for folks with measurements similar to mine but prefer to layer, the medium probably would not work very well. Admittedly, this past year I have been second-guessing myself as to whether I should have purchased the large. I havent had the need to layer. And I havent had any circumstances or physical activity where my shoulders felt constrained. Its just that Ive missed the comfortable drape of a size large on my shoulders. And Im sure that I would have acclimated to the larges relaxed torso shape as well. Nonetheless, the medium is serving its purpose quite well. But enough about fit. I truly enjoy the hemp construction. It was comfortable right out of the box. And as it continues to break in, it is becoming even more comfortable. Maybe I am naturally warm-natured so quite possibly this next statement may not be true for all folks, but I find this coat comfortably warm for Colorado winters. With gloves and a hat, I find no need for layering or the need for a heavier coat. I find it very effective at wind blocking. The construction is first rate; I havent seen any flaws. And it seems to be quite durable, although Ive not found the need to crawl through any barbed-wire fences lately. With my perception of the quality of the material and components, I feel this coat offers a very good price to performance ratio especially when I consider this coat to last a good number of years. All in all, Im very satisfied with this purchase.

September 10, 2020

Ill-fitting

Way to large around the midsection. Im always a large in Patagonia but this item swallowed me. Had to return it unfortunately.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2020

Thank you for your review on the Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat. We're sorry to hear that the fit did not work for you. Please check out our [Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Chore Coat](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-iron-forge-hemp-canvas-chore-coat/27825.html?dwvar_27825_color=COI&cgid=mens-jackets-vests) for a similar style with a fit that may work better.

July 10, 2020

strong coat

I work in a warehouse refrigerator environment driving a forklift and the last coat I got was a Berne brand. It wore out in the sleeves fairly fast. The abrasion resistance on this Patagonia coat is quite impressive. It wasn't begun to show any signs of worn. My only complaint is that the sleeves are a little too short for me. I ordered a larg... Read Moree knowing that I'd be able to layer but hoped the sleeves would fit me. I like the jacket and like the quality. Thank you

December 16, 2019

Every day jacket

Nice and warm good for work or causal, looks rugged. I think it will wear well.

December 15, 2019

Love the coat. It does

Love the coat. It does run big.

December 7, 2019

Rugged and warm

I got this to replace a much-loved denim chore coat that had lasted near 30 years. I suspect that this coat will outlast me; it's very tough. The pockets are roomy and easily usable even with gloves on. The cut is roomy enough for a bulky layer underneath, but it's warm enough that that would be needed only on very cold days (I just came ... Read Morein from moving firewood at around 30F and left the coat mostly open). I'm 6'1" 185# and the medium fits well; I've got long arms (I usually need to buy a tall) and the sleeves are just long enough for me.

December 5, 2019

BEST COAT EVER

I will say that I am completely on board with Patagonia and have no problem paying the higher prices for it, being that it is an amazing product. I have NEVER written a review on anything, and this goes to show how much I really enjoy this jacket. It can be worn in literally any way, and I often wear it to school in the winter as I am walking aroun... Read Mored campus. Its big enough to layer underneath it, and when you do it keeps you extremely warm. Not only do I wear it in a casual setting, I often cut firewood in it as well. I am about 5'9 and weigh 165, and have ordered a medium and it fits me perfectly. It is just big enough I can stuff a sweatshirt, and my pat vest underneath it to keep me perfectly warm. I can't say enough about this jacket and it has been my favorite I have ever ordered.

December 4, 2019

Warm and comfortable coat

When I first received it the hemp shell was somewhat stiff, but after a few days it was broken in and comfortable. The coat is warm and handles moderate rain and snow very well.

November 20, 2019

Great Jacket!

feels like I have worn it for years as soon as I put it on. Pliable, soft AND RUGGED.

November 19, 2019

Nice, heavy jacket

So far I thoroughly enjoy this jacket. Its held up amazingly over the last couple weeks of tree work and farm chores so far. I'm waiting to see how it holds up in the colder parts of MN winter. Here's hoping!

November 1, 2019

Very comfortable

Really enjoying this coat and cold morning and evening fit me perfect love the liner inside which allow movement and make easy to put it on and take it off. Only think I would suggest would be a double zipper to allow to ride and access knife at the belt.

October 30, 2019

The coat runs large, but

The coat runs large, but I read the reviews and ordered a small instead of my usual medium. It fits me great and I'm 5'10".

October 14, 2019

Buy small

Nice coat but only 2 snaps down front and no two way zipper? Big omissions in my book.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

We're sorry to hear the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Barn Coat did not work out for you! If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 30, 2019

Excellent Barn Coat....Exactly what I have been looking for

I really like this jacket. It is well designed and the quality of materials and construction is excellent. The fabric is tough but relatively soft. As per other reviews, this is a roomy jacket and especially in the mid section. This is basically a Carhartt jacket that probably isn't as tough but with more style. I am 6'1, 225lbs with a 4... Read More8" chest and 39" waist.....The XL fits great. Some noted the sleeves were narrow but I did not find that to be the case and I have good size biceps. Looking forward to layering this with a nice flannel or fleece. For the price I think this is an excellent value from Patagonia.

September 17, 2019

Purchased and received a (Large)

Purchased and received a (Large) coat yet it fit like it was a (2XL).

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

We're sorry to hear this was too large. Please let us know if you have any questions regarding our [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) process.

May 8, 2019

Chore jacket

I am very pleased with the flexibility and design features. It is a jacket I will have and use for a long time.

March 24, 2019

Hemp Barn Coat

I took the advice from comments of the size being larger than expected and ordered the large. I'm 6' 215 lbs, the mid-section was fine, but the sleeves were very tight with no room for a sweater or sweatshirt worn underneath.

March 11, 2019

Excellent coat. Favorite.

Tough fabric but soft to the touch. Fit and finish are very good. This coat will last a long time. Easy to put on and off. 5’9” and 169 lbs. Athletic build and medium fits very well.

February 9, 2019

Fantastic jacket!

As comfortable as a well worn old friend from the very first wear. Not too stiff, surprisingly soft, but also tough. Just warm enough on its own for cool to moderately cold days while working, loose-fitting enough to layer with a nice warm sweater or flannel for those extra cold days. From the first time I put it on, I knew it was my new favorite c... Read Moreoat. I'm almost sad to think winter will one day be over and I will need to put this jacket away for the season.

November 30, 2018

Best jacket I own

Really amazing coat for the outdoors, It's very durable, warm but not windproof so you have to bundle and wear something warm and close to form because the wind blowing underneath can be chilling. Lots of pocket space all over. During the winter it can be warm as long as you layer properly. I use it for hiking, fishing and everyday casual. I w... Read Moreouldn't recommend it for backpacking because it is heavy and not very packable. Overall very happy with this thing.

November 27, 2018

It's a BARN coat

I honesty believe this coat deserves a better average rating than is shown. Is it big? Yes. But it is a barn coat and the Pat folks do not hide that in their description. Is it too big? Perhaps. But this depends on the person. For those seeking a sleek and more form-fitting garment, you best look elsewhere. For those seeking a garment that is roomy... Read More and suitable for layering and much outdoor work, this is the ticket. I purchased this coat to replace a similar insulated and reversible flannel coat from Patagonia that had finally gone thread-bare after about 15 years. When I first received that previous garment in Large size (my normal size purchase from Patagonia), I felt it too was a bit large initially. But I grew to appreciate the room it offered and dearly loved it in the end. This new barn coat has about the exact same room in the torso. I am about 175#, 5'11" and I purchased a Large. I am an average build. If I had gone to a Medium on this, I am pretty sure the sleeves would have been too short and possibly a bit restrictive. The feel of the coat fabric is very nice and pliable. I love the slickness of the inner lining as that makes it easy to slip on over sweaters and other similar fabrics. My only wish is that the front draft flap had a third snap in the along the center. I feel that just two snaps (one on the top and one on the bottom) do not offer enough of a secure closure. But this is just me being picky. Great coat! It will last for years, I am certain.

March 6, 2018

Sizing is weird.

I tried the large and its HUGE in the mid section. I am 5'10" and 185. I could fit an entire pillow inside this jacket. I then tried the medium and felt the mid section was fine however the arms were a bit tight especially if I wore a layer underneath. I wish they put the large arms on the medium body... then it would be correct.

February 28, 2018

Feels well made,Nice,thick and heavy.

I bought this to replace a my favorite coat that has been repaired a bunch of times. I think I've been wearing it so long,it's in fashion again. About this coat: I wear a size XL in nearly everything. I ordered a size Large for this after reading some reviews. I am marking it as "Runs Large",but that's not entirely true a... Read Mores the shoulders are quite narrow. I can't imagine the shape of the person who fit this jacket perfectly. The mid section is far too large and bellows out a lot. It's just plain HUGE around the middle. I can't possibly wear it this way and must return it.

February 7, 2018

Awesome coat,but not perfect.

I love all the features of this jacket. Material and construction are all solid and the insulation is good,but you will need additional layers for colder temperatures. The variety of pockets is great,with the coolest being the pocket on the back. I found myself using that much more than I thought I would. I have no complaints about the zipper as it... Read More's larger than what's on most jackets. Sizing- I'm 5'11",180 and I decided on Large. I initially bought a Medium,but the arms were too small so I had to exchange. The fit is true to size for a relaxed fit item. It's big in the body and long,but it was purposely cut that way and still doesn't look bad even though it is large on me. I don't know how anyone comfortably sizes down in this jacket - when I layered under the Medium I could hardly move my arms. Even in Large the sleeves,at the elbow and shoulder,are still restrictive,which is disappointing. I wouldn't consider myself to be broad in the arms or shoulder either. However,the sleeve issue isn't enough for me to give up on this jacket. Still a solid buy if you're in the market for a cool weather work jacket.

December 26, 2017

Good comfortable coat for work or casual wear

This is a solid coat for moderately cold and dry weather. It's a lot softer than the usual cotton duck canvas. It's still pretty heavy but not as stiff. The fit is true to size in the chest with the sleeves being just a little shorter than the old technical jackets that were available in relaxed fit. Relaxed fit is good for people that la... Read Moreyer a ton,people with broad builds,or overweight people. If you don't fall into one of those categories there are plenty of other regular fit or slim fit options. My only complaint is that there's an area on the back near the neck where there's canvas inside instead of the insulation lining and that causes a cold spot in really cold weather.

December 13, 2017

It's big

I'm 6' 1" and weigh 180 lbs. I work outside on a farm. The size medium fits me. I like the all pockets and the material feels durable. It's easy to move in,but it's not warm at all. I have to wear a down vest under it all the time and add a sweat shirt under that on really cold days. Even with all those layers the medium fi... Read Morets best. The main zipper is small so I'm not sure that will hold up over time

October 11, 2017

Great quality,runs large

Bought this for a winter deer capture field season. The jacket seems to be constructed beautifully,but it certainly runs very big. I wear an XL in EVERYTHING and this XL was too long/large in almost all capacities.

August 11, 2017

Great Coat,but too big

I can tell this coat is really well made and will last,but it's way too big. I'm a wind turbine tech up north and a smaller guy and Patagonia seems to make the only jackets that tend to fit,but relaxed fit might as well just mean 2 sizes too big. Small Patagonia jackets always are the perfect fit for me,but I'm swimming in this. It&#... Read Morex27;s so bagging I have no choice,but to return this and look at better options. I really wish they didn't make it a relaxed fit or at least added different smaller fits.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches