Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 357 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket

4.7/5
Kinda Large
July 29, 2022

tight arms and cuff

I usually wear XL but sized down because of the recommendations. Torso fit ok but the arms were tight (not short) and difficult to get my hand through the cuff when taking it off. There were no Range Coat XL in stock so I went to the Barn Coat XL with the different cuff which fits well.

July 17, 2022

One of my Favorite Patagonia Jackets

I've bought various Patagonia jackets over the years i.e. M's Down, Nano Puff, Isthmus, Better Sweater, Trucker Corduroy - but this jacket will quickly become my "go to" daily jacket. It's tough fabric is durable for work (but looks good for casual wear as well), runs true-to-size giving me good shoulder stretch/movement, a... Read Morend has those quick snaps when I don't want to fully zip it up (I REALLY like that in a jacket). I also like the placement of the deep front pockets, although an additional inside-zip pocket would have made it more functional. The only issue I had was how long it took for my tan color jacket to arrive - popular enough to be on back order for awhile - but the wait was sure worth it !

April 23, 2022

Great Features and fabric

I bought this because I was getting so tired of all of my other insulated work wear being so stiff and binding. People who have worked in insulated Cotton Duck built clothing will know what I am talking about. This jacket is very soft and flexible. Not soft in a way that it seems like it will wear out or rip but soft in a way that I do not feel lik... Read Moree I am fighting my clothes all day while working. Very pleased with my purchase.

April 18, 2022

Oh this is how Bougie people never are too hot or too cold

This jacket blew my mind on so many levels. I have been searching for this holy grail of jackets my entire life. Being born and raised in Wyoming and running hotter than the Morningstar's decibel, finding a jacket that is well made yet doesn't have me sweating in 5 minutes is impossible. Or has me freezing when im out in the elements too ... Read Morelong. This jacket is just hands down perfection. Its incredible heft and craftsmanship is only paired by the details put into this garment. If you are T framed and blessed with a barrel chest with narrow waist, this jacket is also your go to. I ordered a XL first, even contacted customer service because the chest measurements state 44 for a large and im sitting high and tight at a 49. But when I got it... was way too large and looked sloppy on my frame. So I returned and ordered a large and BAM. Perfection. If you are able to, I would highly recommend trying on sizes at a store first because I could see how this could wildly range for different frames and body types. But don't think twice. Buy this jacket. You won't regret it. From the amount of compliments alone to the rugged build. This is a for life part of your wardrobe. From the office to the trail, it's built for it all.

March 26, 2022

To wide around body

Shoulders and sleeves fit good. Around body is to large, I am 215 pounds but looks like xl should be my size. I would like to replace it.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

We're sorry to hear the fit wasn't quite right on this jacket. The design is a "relaxed" fit, which is more generous than our "slim" and "regular" fit styles. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to discuss a return or exchange. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 6, 2022

Great jacket

Heavy duty but soft. Very comfortable and warm.

February 28, 2022

Great fit

Fit is just right. Love the color, the feel of the fabric (inner and outer), and all the pockets. Quality of materials and workmanship is superb. If the jacket was a woman I would marry it.

Response from Patagonia
March 7, 2022

Thanks, Sam! We're pretty sure marrying a jacket isn't legal where you live, but we totally get it!

February 26, 2022

Sleeves Too Short

I love Patagonia products and purchased many. The quality is exceptional and they last forever. One problem I have consistently always had though, is sleeve length. If I buy a garment with correct fit in the torso, the sleeves are too short, necessitating that I go up to the next larger size but results in the chest/waist being way too big. I live ... Read Morewith it. My suggestion would be to make sleeve lengths an inch longer. For some, this may make the sleeves too long but I would maintain that it is far easier to compensate for a sleeve that is too long, than one that is too short. Time to lengthen the sleeves or creat tall sizes.

February 26, 2022

Great work Jacket

Look it runs a little big but Patagonia tells you that upfront. This jacket is top notch. Every detail is amazing. Im 6 foot 2 solid build medium is what you want trust me. Overhead reaching or bending over is no problem. The drop tail has your plumbers crack covered. The jacket allows for full shoulder/arm movements. I work in a refrigerated wareh... Read Moreouse 40hr/week. The jacket is extremely abrasion resistant which is the main reason I bought it I keep ripping shelled jackets open. 100g insulation keeps you warm when your moving. Add a hoodie under this or a fleece? Forget about it! I think I enjoy the hidden cuffs on wrist. The pockets are amazing. The snap closure upfront will protect your zipper well from impacts. I can bear hug a wooden pallet now and man handle it and this jacket just eats it up. Thank you for keeping this one under $200 for me Patagonia! Long time customer. Keep this iron forge line coming baby.

February 19, 2022

After 2 years of wearing it...

Figured itd be time to finally write a review Ive owned the jacket for 2 years now. Keep in mind I am a farmer and am extremely tough on my clothes. If it wasnt for the ironclad guarantee and me being 30 mins away from a store, the jacket would be a tough sell because of price vs. durability. The good: Very warm, very comfortable, and non restri... Read Morective. Fits well - meant to be layeredso it doesnt wear well with just a t shirt underneath. Pockets are big and deep (but thats also bad). The bad: The front hand pockets are so high that your arms put a lot of stress on the stitching at the edge. Its been ripped and repaired, but needs another repair. The ribbed cuffs are kind of nice - but after a year they get stretched out and annoying, and you cant wear any type of warm glove without fighting them - Im going to see if they can remove them. The inside pocket is practically unusable because any hand bigger than that of a small child wont fit inside. The chest pockets are nice, I just wish the were an inch bigger so i could fit a phone or something useful in there and close the pocket. The cuffs are starting to fray - and I imagine theyll be toast by the end of the season - not sure how theyll repair that. The zipper has almost ripped completely off and will need repair as well. Love the jacket, love that its repairable, and love the thoughtfulness in the manufacturing.

February 14, 2022

Warm and Comfortable INK BLACK

I'm 5'11" weighing in at 165 lbs and opted for the Medium based on reviews (normally a Large) It fits well with a tight long sleeve base layer and a long sleeve t-shirt. If you plan on layering, I would order normal size and NOT size down. Sleeves are plenty long and mid section is not overly bulgy. More of a slender cut, especially ... Read Morein the shoulder area. Length is great, especially for down sizing. Very comfortable with absolutely no break in time needed.

February 8, 2022

Good for Everyday Use and Work

I love this jacket for everyday use and for work when I need it, it surprised me during the snowy weather on the days it did snow but once the snow melted I quickly had to wipe the snow off with a paper towel because I wasn&#x27;t sure if it would seep through into the inside part of the jacket. It&#x27;s not a bad thing but I just wasn&#x27;t sure... Read More if it would be bad for the jacket or not. Overall it's hard to find a bad thing about the jacket and measuring and comparing your measurements to the size chart was key and it fits me well and I'm a happy customer owning 2 separate jackets but in different colors... Good work Patagonia <3

February 4, 2022

Runs big, consider sizing down

I&#x27;m 5&#x27;10&quot; 175 lbs and I bought a medium. I use this to work on my van conversion in cold weather. I wish I had tried on a small. The medium fits, but there&#x27;s a lot of room around the middle. Like, I could gain 50 pounds and still fit in this thing. I can see it getting in the way leaning over the workbench, table saw, etc. Not i... Read Moren a dangerous way, just an annoying way. That, and I look kind of portly walking the dog, and to be honest, that bothers me more.

February 2, 2022

Durable and Comfortable

The fit is all around great! It has room for layering so I would not recommend sizing up. It is super durable and holds up to rubbing elbows with sticks, branches, and brush in an orchard setting. The hemp blend allows it to feel broken in right from the package.

January 29, 2022

Super warm super heavy

I love this jacket! Its super warm, and doesnt feel stiff like most canvas duck jackets. Time will tell on durability but so far I think it will last a very long time. One note is this thing is super heavy. Like wearing a weighted blanket. Nice and cozy. It fits baggy which is kinda nice for layering underneath. I wear a large for most Patagonia pr... Read Moreoducts for reference (r1, better sweater, etc. ) only minor complaints are I wish it came with a hood and it would be nice if it had elastic or draw cord on the waist to keep the draft out

January 28, 2022

Warm Durable Jacket

This is my favorite jacket for winter. Its heavy but in a great way as it almost feels like armor for the cold. A sweater and this jacket and I am good down to about 10 degrees. The insulation in it is a nice touch and helps make the jacket feel very comfortable as the jacket moves with you. The hand pockets in the front are perfect, they are soft ... Read Moreand help keep your hands warm but you can also fit a surprising amount of stuff in them when you need to. Ive had it for two years now and worn it frequently in the winter and see very little wear. I did size down one from my normal Patagonia size and I also ended up cutting out the spandex cuffs around my wrist because it was fighting with the cuffs on my gloves.

January 28, 2022

Excellent quality and OK fit

Would go 4.5 if possible. Very nicely made with good attention to detail. The fit is a bit bulky in the body. I know its workwear, but I would like it a bit slimmer/athletic fit and/or make it in a tall.

January 27, 2022

My ultimate winter work jacket

I purchased this jacket to work around my homestead and wear while building my house. It has exceeded my expectations. The fit is generous, so I can layer if I need to. I have long arms so that&#x27;s usually an issue but not with this coat, sleeve length is perfect. The hemp fabric is tough but has a Broken in feel right at the start. I like the i... Read Morenternal cuffs as well. It's a very comfortable jacket and is my go to jacket this winter. I find the jacket to be very warm but not too warm for working outside. The pockets are minimal but very useful, maybe a couple more would have been nice but not a big deal. The ruggedness comes at a price, this jacket is heavy, not noticable working but not a jacket I would take hiking. It does everything I wanted it too and it looks great.

January 24, 2022

Rad jacket!

Warm, comfortable, tough and simple. Works great with layers, wont melt standing by a fire and is warm without being crazy bulky. Love this thing!

January 20, 2022

The Best Jacket

Short and sweet: this is the best heavy jacket I've ever owned. All the details are perfect and I love it.

January 16, 2022

I'm happy, don't change a thing

I'm happy. It's nice and warm, the cuffs work well in an unheated machine shop where you want to stay warm but Big coats/ jackets are a suck-your-arm-into-the-spinning-machine HAZARD.

January 13, 2022

Rugged material, will last if you take care of it.

Lovely price, thick material to keep the wind out, while allowing flexibility. Im 5'7 and i initially got a medium to try and found it way too big. Not only was it extremely loose and baggy but the arm sleeves were too long. I returned it for a XS and the fit is perfect assuming you dont layer too much.

January 11, 2022

Great fit and warm

Ive received so many compliments on how nice this jacket looks on me.. im 5&#x27;10&quot; 180lbs and I bought a large. This will be my work jacket so we will see how it handles multiple washings and wear and tear. Fit is a little loose but that is fine for when its super cold out and I need a base layer. I really like the pocket arrangement. Ive ow... Read Morened Red Kap and Carhartt work jackets and this is way better craftsmanship.

January 8, 2022

great feeling rather small though

I got the XS, read reviews to go down 1 size and so I did. It feels really comfortable adding a hoodie is possible but it is slightly packed depending on your torso. Been outside working in the car and I gotta say I'm impressed.

January 6, 2022

High quality and rugged feeling

Very high quality feeling jacket and very well made. Materials feel very high end compared to other work wear (Dickies, Carhart, Duluth). Fit is good for layering, enough space to wear a sweater or vest under and long enough to keep the wind out. It is a bit heavy (good or bad depending on what you are looking for) Feels high quality because of th... Read Moree weight but its also a bit heavy if you're working in it all day.

January 4, 2022

Warm and comfy

Perfect jacket, lots of compliments

December 29, 2021

Comfortable and Warm

Bought the jacket for my husband and he loved it. It does run wide, so hes returning it for a 2X

December 28, 2021

Awesome, warm, durable

Bought the large, Im usually a large for casual fit apparel from Patagonia for shirts. Large was way too big, Medium was amazing.

December 26, 2021

Son-in-law Was Thrilled

I bought this as a Christmas gift for my son-in-law, and he was very pleased!

December 22, 2021

GREAT PUFFER COAT!

The coat fits my physique very well. I am 5'.11" and weight 190 lbs and the coat is not too big or too small. I like the zippered interior pocket.

December 20, 2021

Beefy

This is a much more substantial jacket than I had thought, this thing can take abuse. Like others have said it does run big, like it's designed for a sweater underneath it. Its about 40 degrees out and this jacket with a sweater will have you sweating its so warm. This is not a thin hipster jacket, this is a serious coat.

December 20, 2021

Awesome but a bit heavy

I work around barbed wire and needed something that would hold up which this does. I do not regret buying it for one second but compared to other brands, it does tend to be a bit heavier than others. I really like the double cuff which prevents things going up your sleeve.

December 19, 2021

Could be warmer

I&#x27;m a small woman and this fits well except the sleeves are long as you would expect. Women&#x27;s similar styles just didn&#x27;t fit right. This style is nice with the bi-swing back that gives you room to move around, snaps as well as zippered front, and the rib cuffs help keep the wind out. The insulation is somewhat thin. The material is r... Read Moreeally nice, lighter weight than cotton duck, but feels like it will last. Overall a really nice jacket.

December 19, 2021

Comfortable

Nice jacket fits perfect

December 19, 2021

Great looking, sturdy, comfortable, and warm

I am really enjoying this jacket, especially in cooler weather. It feels great and keeps me warm. I also like the large pockets. It is slightly large but that gives me mobility and room to layer up.

December 19, 2021

It's a great jacket but one little thing bugs me

The only problem is I've got an old Carhartt jacket that is somewhat similar to this and the outer zipper has metal teeth while the Patagonia jacket has plastic zipper teeth. I can understand that the flap would protect it but the contrast between a hefty metal zipper and plastic teeth just bugs me I guess.

December 18, 2021

So well made

Super product. Great sizing, so well made, great feel. Really like it a lot and environmentally friendly. Highly recommend.

December 18, 2021

Great Fit and Feel

Having only used this jacket for a month my thoughts on this jacket are that it fit my needs exactly. The hemp material is already broken in, it feels like i&#x27;ve owned this jacket for years. the interior lining is soft. it keeps you plenty warm in the cold and chill. i normally wear a Tall size so the extended length is really appreciated. only... Read More time will tell how this jacket will hold up but i wont be hanging it up anytime soon.

December 17, 2021

Not actually relaxed fit

I usually wear size L or XL, but sized down to a M based on the recommendations for this jacket. The jacket would fit great if I didn&#x27;t wear anything beneath it at all, but the sleeves are so tight that wearing even a T-shirt underneath it is ridiculous bc the shirtsleeves get really bunched up and uncomfortable beneath the jacket. Other than ... Read Morethe sleeves it actually fit really well, but they were so tight that if I did anything other than keep my arms resting by my sides, I felt very restricted. I also tried sizing up to the L, and the sleeves fit well, but were still quite snug for a relaxed fit work jacket, and the rest of the jacket swallowed me like a dress. It felt more like jumping three sizes than just one. I really like the look of this jacket and loved the feel of the material, but I ended up getting a jacket from another company that I honestly like less, but will actually be able to wear.

Response from Patagonia
December 17, 2021

Thank you Hunt, for your feedback on the fit of the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket. We're sorry to hear that neither the medium or the large ended up working for you. If you'd like to give a different jacket a try, we'd be happy to provide measurements should you ever need them. To do this, you'll want to reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

December 17, 2021

Rugged, yet stylish

Living in San Diego, this jacket isn&#x27;t needed most of the year, but it is more than enough and I am glad to have it. I wore it to a gathering where a friend, from Oaklahoma, who has everything (so I thought) commented how much he wanted one after trying it on. He may not have one now, but will soon. I can finally say, i found &quot;the perfe... Read Morect gift".

December 17, 2021

Warm and cozy, rugged

The coat lives up to my expectations. Among other considerations, I did not want to purchase a similar product made less expensive by undue destruction to the environment and use of essentially slave labor. I got that and a better jacket too. Another bonus, secure pockets: Details are all well attended to. I do wish there was a tall medium or simil... Read Morear size for people built like me (skinny, tall, and with long arms).

December 16, 2021

Fit Perfectly

I bought this for my husband it fit him perfectly! We only returned it because it was very warm, which we liked, but he already has a warm jacket for these months. We wanted to see how heavy the lining was and it just wasn&#x27;t exactly what we were looking for. However, it&#x27;s a lovely jacket and something we would have kept if it were a need.... Read More

December 14, 2021

Pretty solid

Im a mechanic by trade and own a small farm. I had been searching for a good carhartt style work jacket and figured i would give this one a shot. Overall i love the jacket, you guys make top of the line gear usually i am a small but had to exchange for an xs in this particular product because the midsection/chest had about 4 to 5 inches too much ro... Read Moreom, i guess they figure us blue collar boys are generally a bit more round haha. I DO like how warm and well built the jacket is and do not regret buying it at all, i would buy again in a heartbeat BUT i dont like the extra width in the torso compared to the length, the proportions are kinda weird. Also its not a deal breaker BUT the inner elastic cuff deal is kinda weird, makes it awkward when wearing a watch. But again these are minor details and i would buy again, plus its patagonia, their products are awesome and their customer service is even better!

December 12, 2021

The jacket I was looking for work.

Amazing jacket warm, flexible and looks good. Can ride a snowmobile and swing a hammer with it very easily.

December 12, 2021

Great style and fit - runs large

So glad I read the other reviews before ordering. Im 511, 165 with a slender build. I went with a small and it fits perfect. 20 years ago, I never had to question Patagonias sizing, but I always pause now with fishing related goods and other items. Kinda frustrating, but I sort of get it due to the mobility they expect the users to have in some of ... Read Morethese products. I do expect to work around the house in this jacket on brisk days, but itll be hard to be too rough on it with how great this jacket looks on around town. Im terms of warmth, Im not all that impressed. I was recently out in 45 degree weather with a heavy flannel underneath, and I was still pretty chilly. I could probably just use a little more fat on my bones, but I think I would have been just as warm in my nano jacket. Overall though, great job Patagonia. Appreciate the label being more muted too. I yearn for the day when all this obnoxious labels are minimized. I love Patagonia, but I always feel like Im wearing a damn badge on my chest.

December 12, 2021

My favorite jacket

I love this jacket. You can just feel it is heavier than a normal jacket. I&#x27;m guessing it&#x27;s the hemp and durability of the material. Super soft (not stiff) outer and it has a nice liner. I ordered a small, since the reviews said it runs large and am completely satisfied with the fit. I was able to wear a hoodie underneath and movement wit... Read Moreh the jacket did not feel restricted at all. It was warm in 30-degree temps while doing yard work. I am somewhat slim and love the quality of the jacket. The sleeves have a built-in knitted cuff which helps keep the cold out. The zipper is easy to use with gloves and felt like butter. The snaps help keep wind away from the zipper and the reinforced elbows will allow plenty of use. Overall it's a great jacket for cool/cold temps and the materials are great. Read the note about workwear at the bottom of the item. It will help you decide if you should choose a size smaller or not depending on your body style.

December 11, 2021

Warm

Heavy and durable

December 10, 2021

Nice jacket but too wide for me.

Im quite lean so the length was perfect but it was just too wide and bulky for me.

December 9, 2021

Terribly Odd Sizing

as others have mentioned, this thing is absolutely gigantic. very bad / odd fit. very boxy, enormous open arms, and fits about 2 sizes too large. i wear a M across the board in every brand and article of clothing with regards to tops / jackets / shirts. i am somewhat slender, but honestly average weight at 6&#x27;3&quot; and roughly 180lbs. this wa... Read Mores the worst fitting jacket i've tried. it seems of ok quality but i've no idea how anyone would ever size it correctly.

December 9, 2021

Nearly Perfect

This is shaping up to be a great work jacket for ranch, field and ranger work. Im three weeks into wearing this jacket for its intended purpose of fall to spring outdoor work in open spaces. The slightly loose torso fit is great for layering a long sleeve over a thermal with a vest as needed to regulate temperature swings from teens in the morning ... Read Moreto 30s by mid day. The hand pocket are generous and swallow electronic measuring tools while still allowing room for a hand to get out of the wind. I call it nearly perfect as there are two items Id modify if given the chance. First, Id open up the elastic a bit at the cuff as its tight on my size 11 hands, and Id add a double snap closure on the outer layer to accommodate various types of gloves. Second, a double ended zipper would be appreciated so when sitting on equipment the jacket wouldnt bunch up around the waist. My work around at the moment is to leave the zip open and use the top three buttons to close the front.

December 7, 2021

Quality coat.. true to size

First off all the reviews on quality and comfort are 100% true. I was very worried reading the reviews on sizing.. I’m wearing this around the farm and work I wanted to be able to put a layer under it. I wear a small in the nano puff and the Down sweater I purchased a small, did not size down and it’s a perfect fit. Definitely would not want sma... Read Moreller but I should add I think it is meant to fit a bit bulkier than the other Patagonia jackets. Amazing coat.

December 7, 2021

Sturdy and comfortable

Im 59 180 pounds and the Medium is perfect. Its a heavy jacket, not fitted, but super comfortable. I actually like the heft of the jacket. I can fit a T-shirt or hoody just fine underneath it. Its very warm, so I wouldnt plan on wearing it unless its around 40 F or below.

December 6, 2021

Great for work and casual wear

This jacket was fantastic from day one. Its amazingly comfortable and soft. No break in needed. Ive been working in freezing temperatures for construction and its been great. Roomy enough for layers. Pockets are good size to hold items but not too big to be flopping or get caught on things. The pencil slot is a favorite. I think I want another in t... Read Morehe dark color!

December 6, 2021

Very Warm

I really am enjoying this jacket. I'm on the bigger side, ~300 lbs, and this fits perfectly. The jacket falls right at my hips, the perfect length. The pockets are also huge. This is my first Patagonia purchase and I will definitely buy here again.

December 5, 2021

Fuck yeah

Love it, its perfect

December 5, 2021

So far great jacket!

I read a lot of reviews on this jacket and most of them said they run large in size. So true. I ordered up based on these reviews and glad I did. I can wear layers underneath and shes the jacket through the day. Very pleased.

December 5, 2021

Best work coat out there

Material is just superior compared to the competition. After wearing carhartt for years Ill never go back. Material is softer and more flexible while being just as durable. Cuffs on the sleeves are way too tight. I cut them out because I wear a watch and dont like tight sleeves. Personal choice most people wont mind them. Its been a good work coat ... Read Morefor Michigan winter with a base layer and a heavy hoodie under. Sleeves are tapered so snug on the forearms when layering but still not to restricting. The black ink color is a deep grey. Beautiful coat. As it wears it lightens up. Zipper isnt some huge heavy duty metal zipper like on other brands. This is absolutely a plus. In freezing temp those big zippers cut into your chin. This is a nice smooth smaller ykk zipper. Sizing is large. Its made for layering. I wear large nano puff and medium in this coat is perfect and can still layer

December 2, 2021

If you want it to fit like the model, size down.

I&#x27;m 5.8 light build 160, ordered a small as I get in other Patagonia jackets without fail. But swam in it. And arms were annoyingly too long, and yet oddly tight? Extra length an annoyance when bending over. For a good fit/length with no layers size down. To layer with a hoodie like in the video, even sizing-up might be too tight on the arms. ... Read MoreJust saying...But plenty of room for layers in the mid section. I ended up sizing down to the XS and the fit is amazing! Coudn't be happier. Seems like ordering two and sending one back your best bet once you determine if you plan to layer or not. Hope this helps someone out there. Well made. Great detailing. Great material and aesthetic. Smooth lining allowing ease-of-movement inside while also insulated puts this jacket in an elite category.

November 29, 2021

Great work coat I can still wear out on date night

I&#x27;m 5&#x27;11&quot;, 155 lbs, wear 30/31 in Patagonia pants/shorts, wrist to wrist 59&quot;, 40 regular in a suit. Got the Ranch Jacket in a small. Fit is tailor perfect in shoulders and arms. There is plenty of room in the torso area to layer a down vest on wicked cold days. Alternatively, I could wear a thin sweater/sweatshirt but it can&#x2... Read More7;t be too thick otherwise arm movement would be restricted.

November 23, 2021

Great All Around Jacket

I was looking for a good canvas jacket and this was perfect. Canvas is softer and already has a broken in feel. The insulation is perfect for fall days. I've been wearing it everyday.

November 23, 2021

Great fit and feel!

Ive been looking for a multi use canvas jacket for 5+ years. After trying a few other brands I finally bought this jacket and I am very impressed! I work in agriculture so I have to be outside but I also need to look professional and this jacket is great for that. Insulation is very warm without being stuffy. Very glad I found this jacket and decid... Read Moreed to try it out... I will be buying more Patagonia clothing in the future!!!

November 23, 2021

Comfortable and well made

I am usually a large and definitely glad I listened to reviews that said size down to a medium. It is a heavy coat that feels well made and stays warm. The hemp canvas is soft and felt broken in right away.

November 22, 2021

Great coat... to a point

I love this coat and have from the moment I opened it and pulled it on. It feels solid, tough, and is warm. It does run large, so keep this in mind when ordering. So why only 3 stars if I love it? I found a hole in the pocket after a month, and not having put anything into the pockets except my hands. It&#x27;s not the end of the world, but for a c... Read Moreoat from Patagonia, and one that costs as much as this one does, it's a disappointment to have issues so soon, with so little wear and tear on it.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2021

Hi Paul, we're sorry to hear about the hole in your Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket. We’d be happy to help out with a complimentary repair. Feel free to begin your repair order here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

November 22, 2021

Its warm.

Not as warm as the other Patagonia insulated jackets.

November 21, 2021

Best Jacket Ive owned

Im 6ft 195...the jacket fits perfectly. I can fit a sweater underneath if i needed to. I got the blue one and it goes with anything. I've worn it a couple of times and had to take it off because i started to sweat. Super warm.

November 21, 2021

Needs improving

Like the cut , outside fabric, pockets. Cuffs are pretty tight for my hands. Dont like the slick plastic liner because it just radiates cold. Have to wear thin wool sweater or wool vest to keep warm. Not as warm as my wool coats. Use it when the work get really dirty or greasy.

November 18, 2021

Insanely comfortable

From reading the reviews I was excited for this jacket. Previous work jackets from other brands were stiff and uncomfortable when they were new and had a break in time. Not this one. Right out of the box this thing was soft and comfortable with a worn in feel. But this thing is still surprisingly tough! Im excited to see how it holds up. What other... Read More reviews say about the sizing is true. This coat runs large. I normally wear a large in Patagonia sizing but opted for a medium on this one and it was the right call.

November 14, 2021

Best coat I own

Best all around coat for fall and colder weather. Great flexibility and awesome that its hemp.

November 12, 2021

Perfect for the farm!!

I purchased this for my husband to support hemp production and processing We recently moved do the family farm. He LOVES everything anout the appearance, comfort and quality of this jacket.

November 11, 2021

Love the coat

As others have said, the sizing runs larger. 6'0" 190lbs and the medium fits perfectly. No break in necessary! Warm and perfect for fall weather!

November 11, 2021

Size up/warm and durable

I wear a large in every kind of top and jacket. I still bought the medium based on other reviews and it fits exactly like every large jacket I own. I was looking at several canvas jackets to wear as an outer shell for my Down Sweater Jacket in the colder months of winter. Really hefty and durable. The jacket is insulated so its super warm. Collar d... Read Moreoesnt stay popped up to cover your neck unless the top snap is buttoned but thats not a huge deal. Wish it was more waterproof but specs didnt highlight it being super waterproof when I purchased so I should probably lower my expectationswater beads momentarily then soaks into the canvas/hemp cotton. This jacket works for both yard work and a night out. Love the versatility!

November 10, 2021

Quality

Just a great coat period . This will last me my lifetime. You should make a that to match , jeff cap and baseball .

November 10, 2021

Great Jacket

Very happy with my purchase. I'm 5'10 ~200lbs and the medium fits me comfortably with a little room to spare. Jacket feels very well made, is warm, and looks smart - got a compliment from a stranger in Target. What more can you ask for?

November 9, 2021

Incredible

Wowowowow! I fell in love with the black color of this coat and decided to purchase it based on the reviews. This might be one of the best purchases I have ever made. To start, I&#x27;m 5&#x27;9 173lbs, muscular build. Reading the reviews saying to size down I was slightly concerned, but it seemed most people listed around my height/weight said a S... Read Moremall was great. They were correct! In the past, I have an issue with shoulder/arm sizing. My arms are quite large compared to the rest of my body, which means to get sleeves that fit I typically end up with a Large, but then the item is too long, or loose around the neck etc. With hesitancy, I ordered a small. IT IS PERFECT! There is no shoulder or arm mobility issues, the length is flawless, the jacket fits AMAZING. My only minor, MINOR complaint is that it is a bit tight on the inside of the elbow when I bend my arm, but it's not uncomfortable at all, and the pocket cut is a bit high given the depth of the pocket which feels a little unnatural. As for the jacket itself - it looks exactly like the photo. The inside lining is that of a sleeping bag material. If you've ever owned a Carhartt you know how stiff and bulky their jackets stay for what seems like an eternity. This jacket is extremely soft, very pliable and flexible, and has zero stiffness. It has a medium-heavy weight to it and is very warm. Overall, this is my favorite jacket by FAR. I would advise, if you plan on wearing multiple layers or a hoodie under it, and you are similar to my height/weight/build - I would strongly consider a medium. While this jacket fits awesome over t shirt and lighter long sleeve, I don't think the mobility would translate well with a hoodie under it. Awesome product Patagonia!

November 9, 2021

Best fitting work jacket for slim build

Prior to purchasing this jacket I ordered three other jackets from various companies (Carhartt, LL Bean, and Legendary Whitetail). All of the jackets I ordered fit huge and boxy, Even when I ordered a size down. I happened upon the Patagonia site and found the ranch jacket. Based on previous review suggestions I ordered a small instead of a medium.... Read More The jacket fits exceptionally and allows room for a hoodie underneath but is not so big as to make me look swimmy with just the jacket over a shirt. It is great for a slimmer built frame and feels to be substantially warm and durable.

November 7, 2021

Super warm

This jacket is very well insulated and cut perfectly for movement! Extremely comfortable right away and no break in needed. If youre thinking about getting it definitely go for it you wont regret, just dont size up if anything size down

November 6, 2021

Warm and durable

Runs about a size large. Durable and warm. The jacket is heavy, but it is work wear and can take a beating.

November 5, 2021

As Expected - Happy Customer - Had a few Wants

Wanted a way to synch the wrist. I found that I can almost tuck in the sleeve that extends and that works fine. I&#x27;ve also grown custom to unzipping the bottom of my other Patagonia jacket to just allow for more mobility and comfort when sitting in a vehicle. On this jacket here, I simply use the buttons as it&#x27;s only fall here in Mnisota... Read More... and leave the bottom button unbuttoned and I get the same range of motion and comfort when seated that I do with my other Patagonia jacket (Sorry - can't recall the name and I'm too lazy to look at my email.).

October 31, 2021

Love this jacket!

Great looking jacket. Fit can be a little tricky. Im 61, 165 and the medium was too big. The small fits, but touch larger would be perfect. Ive received many compliments on the look.

October 28, 2021

Warm, Tough, Great looking - choose 3!

Rarely does a product truly check all boxes you are looking for - there is always a compromise. The Iron Forge Canvas Ranch Jacket is a no compromise jacket. We use it for hard ranch work as well as cleaning it up and go into town with it. It is pretty heavy for a jacket but you don&#x27;t notice it as soon as you are wearing it. Pockets are tucked... Read More back a little which is not ideal for walking with hands in pockets but great for holding things in no matter what work you are doing. I was skeptical how a Patagonia jacket could be tough - I always though I should get an uncomfortable Carhart to get durability - but this far exceeded my expectation, and is comfortable, stylish, and incredibly tough.

October 28, 2021

It runs kinda big, but that's okay!

The jacket I got was a medium, even though I buy their T-shirts in a small. It was the right choice. With the jacket being a bit bigger, I can layer well with no issues. Time will tell if it is a warm and durable jacket, but I'm sure that it will be.

October 20, 2021

Nice and warm!

So I really dig Patagonia clothing. But that being said, I have large shoulders and almost everything from Patagonia is so short on me. This causes an odd fit usually. I purchased this jacket in hopes it would be longer than their normal items. Let me tell you, it looks great! I wear this jacket for work. I work in a semi professional setting, but ... Read Moream outside frequently and need something I can move in. This jacket fits my needs perfectly! It also looks great on. I purchased one size smaller (large) like recommended and it is just about perfect.

October 20, 2021

LOVE this jacket.

Super soft out of the box and with a perfect fit. Classic look that will be on trend forever. Love it and cant recommend any higher.

October 17, 2021

Great coat

I love this jacket ! Nice and heavy and full of pockets . I am glad I read the reviews and bought a size down . I have many many Patagonia jackets and their medium always fits me perfect . I am 61 and 160 lbs . I bought the small and it actually fits me perfect . I have not been a small in anything since I was a kid so it was kind of a surprise tha... Read Moret it fit perfect. My only complaint are the buttons . Not as easy to latch as I was hoping and I dont like their placement as far as comfortable function . Otherwise this is my go to coat for fall and mild winter days

October 15, 2021

Quality product

Arms just a tad long. But shouldnt stop you from buying.

October 9, 2021

Great jacket - one small complaint

This jacket is great. Its tough and heavy and seems like it will last for years. I normally wear a size large but based on the photos and the size of the models in them, I ordered a medium and it fits me just perfectly. My only complaint is the internal cuffs around the wrist are very tight. I wear a regular Timex Ironman watch (not a big watch) an... Read Mored the cuff is so tight I cant hardly fit the watch through it. That is kind of unusual for a heavy coat. Everything else is great. Heavy duty; good pockets, plenty of warmth. I look forward to wearing this for years. Hopefully the cuff stretches out.

September 3, 2021

Well insulated heavy jacket

I would say they do run a little large 58 185 pounds I bought the medium fits perfect and I can still layer if needed awesome jacket highly recommend I would buy again

September 1, 2021

Functional Well Made Ranch Jacket

Great for everyday wear, hiking, working. Very well made. Hemp outer layer is tough, but soft. My arms are 33" at rest, and the sleeves are a little too long. There are hidden ribbed cuffs which keep the sleeves in place, but I'd prefer the jacket without them. If you make this in Dark Ash, I'll buy another one.

August 7, 2021

My New Favorite Jacket

This says it is a relaxed fit which is spot on. I wear an XL in regular and relaxed fit so that size was perfect. It would be easy to layer this over a hoody or something for added warmth. Although it feels very warm as it is. Can't wait for Winter so I can wear it.

August 6, 2021

Just what I wanted

Great ranchers jacket. Extremely well built, and very comfortable. Im very pleased with it and would recommend to anyone in the market. Like many other reviewers, definitely go down a size. They do run large. I ordered a medium my first go around, and when I tried it on I was swimming. The return process is super easy, and efficient. The small for ... Read Moreme is spot-on. It will see much use in the upcoming fall/winter cycles, as it will be go to for anything work related. The lining is spectacular. Patagonia nailed with this one.

July 12, 2021

Amazing jacket

I love this jacket. I am 60 and 200lbs and typically wear a large; however after reading reviews I went with a medium and couldnt be more happy. I have a long torso & had a difficult time finding a brand of work jacket that fit long enough, but this jacket fits perfect. Would recommend.

June 13, 2021

Amazing!

Great jacket super pleased!

June 12, 2021

Great jacket

This is a great work jacket that feels like it will last a long time . It is warm and has lots of cool features. Very happy with the jacket !

April 30, 2021

GREAT!!!

This is now my favorite jacket!!!

April 29, 2021

Material Hemp Cotton Canvas and warm enough

I have researched a lot of toughness Cotton jackets and ordered them for trying on them. Then all of them returne. Nothing is that I was looking. I was looking at this Patagonia jacket and kinda reluctant . The package arrived and I opened it and tried on it. My mind said FINALLY that is what I was looking it for many many years because the hemp ma... Read Moreterial was so toughness and extremely soft. The weight was absolutely perfect. I REFUSE to share it with whoever that they wanted to wear it. I thank you so much for absolutely love destined and champion hemp cotton material..... I am so Patagonia fan since 2007.....Thank you and keep the best designs up!!!! God bless you......

April 23, 2021

Quality Purchase worth every penny

I purchased this coat for my picky father and he loved it. He needed a replacement for his carhartt and I couldnt be happier with the quality of the material, comfort and cut. My dad is a big burley guy and still has plenty of room to move comfortably, I think the XXL would have fit him too but will keep the XXXL. I will be ordering one for myself ... Read Moresoon.

April 21, 2021

Great all-around jacket

I found this jacket for my hubby as an upgrade to the ratty #$&amp;* jackets he was wearing. The Small fit on his 511 165# frame, but the Medium had more room to add a vest underneath, so he went with that. I like the golden brown color and rugged fabric. He likes the well-placed pockets and the fit. This is a practical jacket that he can wear for ... Read Moreoutdoor work but it also is a good looking jacket.

April 21, 2021

Great coat, but cuffs too tight

Overall love this coat. The only thing I dont like is the tight cuffs. It is a struggle to get the coat off.

April 20, 2021

So far so good

Jacket is still pretty new, but happy with it so far. Good weight to it, well made. I scoured reviews before buying and I went with the L seeing as people say it runs big. I typically wear XL in most shirts and jackets. Im 6 foot 2 and 215lbs and it fits perfect over a shirt and just enough for layering a sweater underneath. Looks awesome, hope to ... Read Morehave it for many years.

April 7, 2021

quality product

Another fine product from Patagonia. The jacket runs a little large, but no real complaints. For those that prefer a tight fit, jumping down a size will likely take care of that. Otherwise, the jacket is perfect.

April 7, 2021

Will stand the tests of time

Great life long jacket. Very warm, yet not too bulky. Sturdy construction. I had the barncoat and saw they now offered one with insulation and had to add it to my collection. It did not disappoint. Avid Patagonia fan and was once again happy with my purchase.

April 5, 2021

True Ranch Jacket

This is a real work jacket. It is tough and warm. It is much heavier than I thought but when wearing it I appreciate the weight as it offers confidence that it will not be damaged. Great for ranching - hay does not stick to it, clean easily, dust and dirt just brushes right off. Overall this jacket can take some hits and always comes back for more.... Read More

April 2, 2021

Patagonia is quality

Good fabric. Soft but very durable. The arm holes were a little small. Otherwise a great product.

April 1, 2021

Heavy and tough! 61/185 wearing a M

Great jacket, super durable and heavy. Im a thinner/tall guy. I originally ordered a L but swapped for a M and the M is a perfect fit.

March 29, 2021

Excellent Workwear.

The Medium fits like a glove. Love everything about this jacket. Buy it nice or buy it twice!

March 26, 2021

Canvas Ranch Jacket

Decent jacket overall, good construction; the deep pockets are nice. The problem with this jacket is the collar which, even when folded up, lets to much heat escape on cooler or windy days. A button strap or other method to give a snugger fit on the neck would increase the temperature range the dramatically.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful feedback on the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket and it's collar. We'll share this feedback with our design team. In the meantime, if you'd like to hold onto the jacket, you could layer it up with something like our [Men's Nano Puff Vest](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-vest/84242.html?dwvar_84242_color=BRLG&cgid=mens-new-jackets-vests).

March 25, 2021

Soft - like its already broken in, and warm too

Youll love this jacket. Durable, warm, itll be your instant favorite.

March 23, 2021

Very Comfortable

I use this jacket at our cabin in Mt. Laguna. It is great for chain sawing, gathering and splitting wood when the weather is in the twenties and thirties. My wife thinks it looks great on me. It is not too large, (5&#x27;7&quot;, 140lb), but I can easily fit a sweater underneath. A hood would be nice, but it would destroy the clean look it has. A h... Read Moreooded sweatshirt underneath solves that problem. The only downside is that it is quite heavy, but that is what makes it so durable.

March 23, 2021

Perfect All The Way Around

I bought the large at first. Then bought medium to compare. The medium fit perfect even if I want to layer with hoodie. Im 5-7, 200lbs. Returning is easy and Patagonias return policy is very relaxed, look it up. This jacket is awesome. Its a higher level of a similar Carhartt jacket. Its cut better, with better, softer material while you can tell ... Read Moreit can take a beating. You could probably get a carhartt to feel like this after a well worn year, but it wont look as good.

March 21, 2021

great fit

great fit. comfortable.

March 13, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket. Great feel

March 11, 2021

Just what I hoped and expected it to be

Ive only had this coat a few weeks so cant speak for its durability but have no concerns- seems burly. Fabric and fit ( if you size down) are perfect. Its nice to find a work coat that fits someone that is not barrel shaped! Lots of compliments, love it!

March 9, 2021

Great All Around Work Jacket

Bought this jacket for projects and hard work around the house. Great for running my dog and warm enough for winter outdoor activities where you might get dirty. Sized for layering which fit my intent. 4 stars only bc I wish it was waxed canvas or that option was offered.

March 8, 2021

Solid Gear

This has a great fit. Nice and heavy. Will last decades!

March 8, 2021

Awesome jacket

I got this jacket for my husband. We got it bigger than his normal size of XXL. We wanted to make sure he can use plenty of base layering. He loves it and will probably buy another color as well..

March 6, 2021

Rugged

The first day it arrived was -7 F. A hooded sweatshirt and this coat was all that I needed for walking the property and splitting firewood. Great for protecting against thorns while going off path.

March 4, 2021

Fantastic jacket

I wear it mostly ranching and kept me warm in the -40 degrees Montana winter. It does run big. I got a 3xl as most Patagonia runs a bit small for me 64 and 250lbs. A 2XL wouldve been plenty with enough room for a sweatshirt under.

March 4, 2021

Creates envy

It is often difficult to figure out if I get compliments on my clothing or if it&#x27;s just the charm, but I had several people say the jacket was cool, in a proletarian sense, yet fashionable, even tacticool I heard from some guys. It is warm enough to stave off a cold morning trip to the courthouse, the inside liner is slick and easy to don and ... Read Moredoff when running from the cops, which is a plus I think for anyone. Some guys wearing the other brands of duck fabric clearly side-eyed me but their girlfriends stared straight on at me. It is defiantly changing my life, as most Patagonia products do. I care about the environment, and so does the brand, true conservatives always conserve, and that's is how I ended up with this coat from their worn wear program.

February 28, 2021

Extreme comfort and warmth

Extreme comfort

February 26, 2021

Great work jacket

Designed for folks who work with their hands but looks good for street wear. Surprisingly warm without insulation and cut so that a vest or sweater is comfortable worn underneath. Ribbed cuffs work well with work gloves, and jacket arms stay in place when you reach up or out. As with all Patagonia gear, great functional design that looks great.

February 26, 2021

Very warm

Well built, very warm, heavier weight than I anticipated. I expect it to be tough and last many years.

February 24, 2021

Great for most weather

Awesome jacket for most situation, own both the tan and the black and they both wear very well and are extremely comfortable, definitely recommend ordering a size down to make sure its not too huge on you

February 22, 2021

Great looking jacket

Im pretty impressed on how nice this jacket is and it feels great, my only complaint is that it fits a bit large I have other Patagonia jackets and xxl where just fine but this one looks more like xxxl or bigger and with the pandemic the its difficult to get to the store.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Thank you for leaving a review, Mario! We completely understand the struggles with trying to get to one of our stores during these times, so please know you can always mail your return/exchange to us at any time. If you need assistance on how to accomplish this, feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and they will be more than happy to help!

February 19, 2021

Buy this before PATAGONIA stops making it

This is by far the best work jacket Ive ever owned. This jacket is why I fell in love with PATAGONIA 15 years ago. The durability is top notch. The cut is roomy without looking baggy and without catching on things in close quarters. The chest pockets are double reinforced at the seams and the addition of the pencil pocket hidden in them has had mor... Read Moree use than any other clothing feature I never knew I needed. I have been framing up in an attic as well as outside in the elements. This jacket has been indispensable. And my wife tells me regularly that I look handsome whenever Im wearing it :) The only problem I could ever have with this jacket is the high probability that PATAGONIA will stop making it next season, even though its a true winner in every category.

February 17, 2021

Great coat

Great casual jacket. Heavy duty, warm, and looks good. A good daily driver in CO.

February 17, 2021

Typical Patagonia Quality!

Its a great all around jacket for cold, dry weather in casual or work environments. I love everything about it except the very tight internal elastic cuffs.

February 13, 2021

Canvas ranch jacket

fit nicely, long enough in the sleeves, very happy with purchase

February 13, 2021

Heavy duty and warm

Extremely durable coat made for everything.

February 11, 2021

Jacket fit

I am 510 and 160lbs. I am an athletic build and the small is a perfect fit. I dont plan to wear much under the jacket. Tshirt or base layer only. The body has room but the arms are a good fit. The jacket is a soft canvas. I was worried about the fit because I wear M from Patagonia but it runs a little big so I went small and Im glad I did.

February 10, 2021

Durable

Well made heavy duty work wear! I'm almost always a medium in coats and had to go down to a small. Was worried the small would be too tight, but it is plenty roomy for movement.

February 5, 2021

Forgot how great this jacket is

I bought this jacket quite a few years ago on a whim. Wore it a lot and somehow it ended up in a closet in the spare room. I rediscovered it during a week off and forgot how awesome it is. I just finished shoveling in -15°c /5°f (with windchill) and I was warm and toasty. Definitely a warm hard wearing work coat. I’m not sure how it would do bein... Read Moreg wet and I wouldn’t want to risk the chance. I’m sure the insulation would keep me fairly warm but the coat would way 100lbs wet. It also have built in sleeve cuffs which do great at keeping the wind out but as someone who wears a watch I find my left wrist is always fairly uncomfortable. I can ignore it but worth mentioning. I also like how subtle the Patagonia logo is on the work ware. Just a personal preference. Over all I would definitely buy this jacket again.

February 4, 2021

Great ranch working jacket

Very good quality jacket and warm for the cold days and night. The only concerns are the arms are a little short for me and its a little too roomy in the stomach area. Outside of that its a great jacket and pairs well with a sweatshirt underneath. I am assuming thats why its a little wider.

February 4, 2021

Cool Coat

I originally bought this in size M which normally works for my 511 180lb, athletic frame. The coat fit relaxed but was comfortable other than the sleeves being way too bulky/heavy. Felt like I had weights on my wrists. However, the quality was phenomenal, so I was determined to get this in a size that worked better which led me to exchanging for a ... Read Moresmall. The small definitely fits slimmer but the swing back gives great flexibility. The very top of my shoulders and around the neck are the only spots where I feel slightly constricted at times. If Patagonia were to cut the weight of the sleeves a tad, I would buy this coat in every color at size M. The quality of build is great and has every feature I look for in a coat other than a two-way zipper.

February 3, 2021

Favorite Jacket Ever!

Binge watching Virgin River on Netflix, Jack was wearing a rugged looking jacket when I noticed the Patagonia logo on the pocket (4K OLED TV) I googled it and sure enough it led me right to this incredibly rugged jacket. Its really heavy and perfectly roomy but not over sized. It feels like its going to last 20 years and get better with age! I just... Read More ordered the work pants with the reinforced knees- not that I do anything more than push a snowblower but I just want pants made of this material. Cant wait to get them. Love all the Patagonia stuff this season and Im super pissed I missed out on the Bison work boots! Ill be sure to get them as soon as the come back in stock! If you want a classic that you will love - get this jacket! The pockets are really soft inside and just the right depth and angle. Five Stars!

February 1, 2021

Warm, tough work jacket

I wear this as a carpenter who works year round in Minnesota. Haven't been cold yet, coldest day was 5 degrees above zero.

February 1, 2021

Love it

Ive always been tall and skinny. I love the coat but I wish it fit me a little tighter. The arm length and size is perfect but it is kind of baggy on me. Also I wish the pockets zipped up

January 31, 2021

High quality

Very comfortable and nice fit. Got a small, when I normally wear medium from Patagonia. It fits perfectly for me. I'm 5'9" 140lb.

January 31, 2021

Cool Jacket

This is a great jacket. We saw it on a cast member of Virgin River and I immediatly ordered it for my husband. We live in Colorado so the look and fit are great. Casual jacket to wear with jeans.

January 31, 2021

Bottom Adjustment

The coat is fantastic expect that without a way to close the bottom slightly mulch gets inside when you are pruning shrubs near the ground.

January 31, 2021

Dynamite

Dynamite...I love it. True Pataguchi style. Comfort and perfect fit

January 31, 2021

Jacket Review

This jacket is the best. I have taken it off since I bought it, never nude style. Highly recommend purchasing looks good and its warm

January 31, 2021

Functional & Comfortable

Was drawn to this jacket by its renewal materials and style. I was surprised by its weight, warmth and comfort. Not sure how it will function in wet conditions? I would like to see it offered as a waxed jacket too.

January 30, 2021

Great Jacket--snug around butt

5'3, 130lb woman, bought the men's jacket because I liked the design better. Love the pockets and cuffed sleeves, wish it had the across the back pocket like the barn jacket does. Kept me warm and toasty...probably tighter in butt since it is the men's cut.

January 30, 2021

Heavy Weight Jacket

The good: this coat is extremely comfortable, rugged and heavy weight (its made of extra heavy hemp), and the pockets are large. It has substance and I love it and would buy it again in a heart beat. The not so good: the jacket is not as wind proof as I would like, the collar is too low on my neck and my neck gets cold. And the jacket is sized larg... Read Moree, I should have bought one size smaller. Its ok for layering but still too large.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hi Douglas, we're so pleased to hear that you're enjoying your Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket. If the sizing issue is posing too much trouble for you, please feel free to begin an exchange for the correct size here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

January 30, 2021

Excellent for work or town

I&#x27;m about 6&#x27;2&quot; 185 lbs and purchased the large. It was very roomy and could easily accommodate a sweatshirt underneath. It was so roomy that with just a long sleeve shirt there was a lot of draft coming up under the jacket. The large would have fit better if I was 215 lbs. I exchanged for a medium, which is a better fit. The sleeves ... Read Moreare still plenty long. If you regularly wear a Patagonia size L, the size M in this jacket will fit similarly.

January 29, 2021

Rugged

Great rugged work jacket Just what I had been searching for

January 29, 2021

Comfortable

Good for in between

January 29, 2021

Stylish and warm

I thought a lot about this purchase, read a lot of reviews, chatted with a customer service rep. I was particularly uncertain about the size, which generally (but not always) skewed large in the reviews. I am 6&#x27;0&quot;-6&#x27;1&quot; and just under 180 lbs. Sleeve length in shirts is 34/35; wear a Large in most things. I went with the Medium j... Read Moreacket and it fits well in the body, with room for a Champion-weight hoody but not too roomy that cold air gets into the jacket. The sleeve length is acceptable; wish they were just a bit longer. The sewn in rib-knit cuff at the sleeve opening serves to extend the sleeve, which is a positive. It's a unique, unusual design. I have never had a jacket with a sleeve opening that fit this snugly - the rib knit cuff is kind of thick and there are no snaps or buttons to open up the end of the sleeve (which would be a nice feature) The jacket does its job in terms of warmth (at least on Day 1). I was outside in 30" with a flannel shirt and Thinsulate vest underneath and was not cold. Then I shoveled snow and was plenty comfortable. Later, walked the dog with the temps down to 22-23 degrees and was still comfortable with an insulating layer underneath, although I would not want to linger outside too long in this jacket at those temps.

January 26, 2021

Great Jacket

My 18 yr old son does some welding and blacksmithing and needed a warm, rugged and 'won't go up in flames in a second' jacket. We tried 3 jackets from other well known "work clothes" brands, and this Patagonia jacket was by far the best fit, comfort and style.

January 25, 2021

Amazing jacket!

I love this jacket. I have worn it almost non-stop since I first put it on (even now), but my wife makes me take it off before I get in bed! I love the cuffs and did not realize that it had knit interior cuffs when I bought it. They are great. The jacket fits very well and does not restrict movement. The jacket is very warm (also an unexpected surp... Read Morerise) and is roomy enough for layering underneath. Great construction as I have come to expect from Patagonia. I have no complaints and have no suggestions for improvement. I think you got it right the first time! Thanks for building a great jacket.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches