Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 271 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Ranch Jacket

4.8/5
Kinda Large
September 3, 2021

Well insulated heavy jacket

I would say they do run a little large 58 185 pounds I bought the medium fits perfect and I can still layer if needed awesome jacket highly recommend I would buy again

September 1, 2021

Functional Well Made Ranch Jacket

Great for everyday wear, hiking, working. Very well made. Hemp outer layer is tough, but soft. My arms are 33" at rest, and the sleeves are a little too long. There are hidden ribbed cuffs which keep the sleeves in place, but I'd prefer the jacket without them. If you make this in Dark Ash, I'll buy another one.

August 7, 2021

My New Favorite Jacket

This says it is a relaxed fit which is spot on. I wear an XL in regular and relaxed fit so that size was perfect. It would be easy to layer this over a hoody or something for added warmth. Although it feels very warm as it is. Can't wait for Winter so I can wear it.

August 6, 2021

Just what I wanted

Great ranchers jacket. Extremely well built, and very comfortable. Im very pleased with it and would recommend to anyone in the market. Like many other reviewers, definitely go down a size. They do run large. I ordered a medium my first go around, and when I tried it on I was swimming. The return process is super easy, and efficient. The small for ... Read Moreme is spot-on. It will see much use in the upcoming fall/winter cycles, as it will be go to for anything work related. The lining is spectacular. Patagonia nailed with this one.

July 12, 2021

Amazing jacket

I love this jacket. I am 60 and 200lbs and typically wear a large; however after reading reviews I went with a medium and couldnt be more happy. I have a long torso & had a difficult time finding a brand of work jacket that fit long enough, but this jacket fits perfect. Would recommend.

June 13, 2021

Amazing!

Great jacket super pleased!

June 12, 2021

Great jacket

This is a great work jacket that feels like it will last a long time . It is warm and has lots of cool features. Very happy with the jacket !

April 30, 2021

GREAT!!!

This is now my favorite jacket!!!

April 29, 2021

Material Hemp Cotton Canvas and warm enough

I have researched a lot of toughness Cotton jackets and ordered them for trying on them. Then all of them returne. Nothing is that I was looking. I was looking at this Patagonia jacket and kinda reluctant . The package arrived and I opened it and tried on it. My mind said FINALLY that is what I was looking it for many many years because the hemp ma... Read Moreterial was so toughness and extremely soft. The weight was absolutely perfect. I REFUSE to share it with whoever that they wanted to wear it. I thank you so much for absolutely love destined and champion hemp cotton material..... I am so Patagonia fan since 2007.....Thank you and keep the best designs up!!!! God bless you......

April 23, 2021

Quality Purchase worth every penny

I purchased this coat for my picky father and he loved it. He needed a replacement for his carhartt and I couldnt be happier with the quality of the material, comfort and cut. My dad is a big burley guy and still has plenty of room to move comfortably, I think the XXL would have fit him too but will keep the XXXL. I will be ordering one for myself ... Read Moresoon.

April 21, 2021

Great all-around jacket

I found this jacket for my hubby as an upgrade to the ratty #$&* jackets he was wearing. The Small fit on his 511 165# frame, but the Medium had more room to add a vest underneath, so he went with that. I like the golden brown color and rugged fabric. He likes the well-placed pockets and the fit. This is a practical jacket that he can wear for ... Read Moreoutdoor work but it also is a good looking jacket.

April 21, 2021

Great coat, but cuffs too tight

Overall love this coat. The only thing I dont like is the tight cuffs. It is a struggle to get the coat off.

April 20, 2021

So far so good

Jacket is still pretty new, but happy with it so far. Good weight to it, well made. I scoured reviews before buying and I went with the L seeing as people say it runs big. I typically wear XL in most shirts and jackets. Im 6 foot 2 and 215lbs and it fits perfect over a shirt and just enough for layering a sweater underneath. Looks awesome, hope to ... Read Morehave it for many years.

April 7, 2021

quality product

Another fine product from Patagonia. The jacket runs a little large, but no real complaints. For those that prefer a tight fit, jumping down a size will likely take care of that. Otherwise, the jacket is perfect.

April 7, 2021

Will stand the tests of time

Great life long jacket. Very warm, yet not too bulky. Sturdy construction. I had the barncoat and saw they now offered one with insulation and had to add it to my collection. It did not disappoint. Avid Patagonia fan and was once again happy with my purchase.

April 5, 2021

True Ranch Jacket

This is a real work jacket. It is tough and warm. It is much heavier than I thought but when wearing it I appreciate the weight as it offers confidence that it will not be damaged. Great for ranching - hay does not stick to it, clean easily, dust and dirt just brushes right off. Overall this jacket can take some hits and always comes back for more.... Read More

April 2, 2021

Patagonia is quality

Good fabric. Soft but very durable. The arm holes were a little small. Otherwise a great product.

April 1, 2021

Heavy and tough! 61/185 wearing a M

Great jacket, super durable and heavy. Im a thinner/tall guy. I originally ordered a L but swapped for a M and the M is a perfect fit.

March 29, 2021

Excellent Workwear.

The Medium fits like a glove. Love everything about this jacket. Buy it nice or buy it twice!

March 26, 2021

Canvas Ranch Jacket

Decent jacket overall, good construction; the deep pockets are nice. The problem with this jacket is the collar which, even when folded up, lets to much heat escape on cooler or windy days. A button strap or other method to give a snugger fit on the neck would increase the temperature range the dramatically.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful feedback on the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket and it's collar. We'll share this feedback with our design team. In the meantime, if you'd like to hold onto the jacket, you could layer it up with something like our [Men's Nano Puff Vest](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-puff-vest/84242.html?dwvar_84242_color=BRLG&cgid=mens-new-jackets-vests).

March 25, 2021

Soft - like its already broken in, and warm too

Youll love this jacket. Durable, warm, itll be your instant favorite.

March 23, 2021

Very Comfortable

I use this jacket at our cabin in Mt. Laguna. It is great for chain sawing, gathering and splitting wood when the weather is in the twenties and thirties. My wife thinks it looks great on me. It is not too large, (5'7", 140lb), but I can easily fit a sweater underneath. A hood would be nice, but it would destroy the clean look it has. A h... Read Moreooded sweatshirt underneath solves that problem. The only downside is that it is quite heavy, but that is what makes it so durable.

March 23, 2021

Perfect All The Way Around

I bought the large at first. Then bought medium to compare. The medium fit perfect even if I want to layer with hoodie. Im 5-7, 200lbs. Returning is easy and Patagonias return policy is very relaxed, look it up. This jacket is awesome. Its a higher level of a similar Carhartt jacket. Its cut better, with better, softer material while you can tell ... Read Moreit can take a beating. You could probably get a carhartt to feel like this after a well worn year, but it wont look as good.

March 21, 2021

great fit

great fit. comfortable.

March 13, 2021

Great jacket

Great jacket. Great feel

March 11, 2021

Just what I hoped and expected it to be

Ive only had this coat a few weeks so cant speak for its durability but have no concerns- seems burly. Fabric and fit ( if you size down) are perfect. Its nice to find a work coat that fits someone that is not barrel shaped! Lots of compliments, love it!

March 9, 2021

Great All Around Work Jacket

Bought this jacket for projects and hard work around the house. Great for running my dog and warm enough for winter outdoor activities where you might get dirty. Sized for layering which fit my intent. 4 stars only bc I wish it was waxed canvas or that option was offered.

March 8, 2021

Solid Gear

This has a great fit. Nice and heavy. Will last decades!

March 8, 2021

Awesome jacket

I got this jacket for my husband. We got it bigger than his normal size of XXL. We wanted to make sure he can use plenty of base layering. He loves it and will probably buy another color as well..

March 6, 2021

Rugged

The first day it arrived was -7 F. A hooded sweatshirt and this coat was all that I needed for walking the property and splitting firewood. Great for protecting against thorns while going off path.

March 4, 2021

Fantastic jacket

I wear it mostly ranching and kept me warm in the -40 degrees Montana winter. It does run big. I got a 3xl as most Patagonia runs a bit small for me 64 and 250lbs. A 2XL wouldve been plenty with enough room for a sweatshirt under.

March 4, 2021

Creates envy

It is often difficult to figure out if I get compliments on my clothing or if it's just the charm, but I had several people say the jacket was cool, in a proletarian sense, yet fashionable, even tacticool I heard from some guys. It is warm enough to stave off a cold morning trip to the courthouse, the inside liner is slick and easy to don and ... Read Moredoff when running from the cops, which is a plus I think for anyone. Some guys wearing the other brands of duck fabric clearly side-eyed me but their girlfriends stared straight on at me. It is defiantly changing my life, as most Patagonia products do. I care about the environment, and so does the brand, true conservatives always conserve, and that's is how I ended up with this coat from their worn wear program.

February 28, 2021

Extreme comfort and warmth

Extreme comfort

February 26, 2021

Great work jacket

Designed for folks who work with their hands but looks good for street wear. Surprisingly warm without insulation and cut so that a vest or sweater is comfortable worn underneath. Ribbed cuffs work well with work gloves, and jacket arms stay in place when you reach up or out. As with all Patagonia gear, great functional design that looks great.

February 26, 2021

Very warm

Well built, very warm, heavier weight than I anticipated. I expect it to be tough and last many years.

February 24, 2021

Great for most weather

Awesome jacket for most situation, own both the tan and the black and they both wear very well and are extremely comfortable, definitely recommend ordering a size down to make sure its not too huge on you

February 22, 2021

Great looking jacket

Im pretty impressed on how nice this jacket is and it feels great, my only complaint is that it fits a bit large I have other Patagonia jackets and xxl where just fine but this one looks more like xxxl or bigger and with the pandemic the its difficult to get to the store.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Thank you for leaving a review, Mario! We completely understand the struggles with trying to get to one of our stores during these times, so please know you can always mail your return/exchange to us at any time. If you need assistance on how to accomplish this, feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and they will be more than happy to help!

February 19, 2021

Buy this before PATAGONIA stops making it

This is by far the best work jacket Ive ever owned. This jacket is why I fell in love with PATAGONIA 15 years ago. The durability is top notch. The cut is roomy without looking baggy and without catching on things in close quarters. The chest pockets are double reinforced at the seams and the addition of the pencil pocket hidden in them has had mor... Read Moree use than any other clothing feature I never knew I needed. I have been framing up in an attic as well as outside in the elements. This jacket has been indispensable. And my wife tells me regularly that I look handsome whenever Im wearing it :) The only problem I could ever have with this jacket is the high probability that PATAGONIA will stop making it next season, even though its a true winner in every category.

February 17, 2021

Great coat

Great casual jacket. Heavy duty, warm, and looks good. A good daily driver in CO.

February 17, 2021

Typical Patagonia Quality!

Its a great all around jacket for cold, dry weather in casual or work environments. I love everything about it except the very tight internal elastic cuffs.

February 13, 2021

Canvas ranch jacket

fit nicely, long enough in the sleeves, very happy with purchase

February 13, 2021

Heavy duty and warm

Extremely durable coat made for everything.

February 11, 2021

Jacket fit

I am 510 and 160lbs. I am an athletic build and the small is a perfect fit. I dont plan to wear much under the jacket. Tshirt or base layer only. The body has room but the arms are a good fit. The jacket is a soft canvas. I was worried about the fit because I wear M from Patagonia but it runs a little big so I went small and Im glad I did.

February 10, 2021

Durable

Well made heavy duty work wear! I'm almost always a medium in coats and had to go down to a small. Was worried the small would be too tight, but it is plenty roomy for movement.

February 5, 2021

Forgot how great this jacket is

I bought this jacket quite a few years ago on a whim. Wore it a lot and somehow it ended up in a closet in the spare room. I rediscovered it during a week off and forgot how awesome it is. I just finished shoveling in -15°c /5°f (with windchill) and I was warm and toasty. Definitely a warm hard wearing work coat. I’m not sure how it would do bein... Read Moreg wet and I wouldn’t want to risk the chance. I’m sure the insulation would keep me fairly warm but the coat would way 100lbs wet. It also have built in sleeve cuffs which do great at keeping the wind out but as someone who wears a watch I find my left wrist is always fairly uncomfortable. I can ignore it but worth mentioning. I also like how subtle the Patagonia logo is on the work ware. Just a personal preference. Over all I would definitely buy this jacket again.

February 4, 2021

Great ranch working jacket

Very good quality jacket and warm for the cold days and night. The only concerns are the arms are a little short for me and its a little too roomy in the stomach area. Outside of that its a great jacket and pairs well with a sweatshirt underneath. I am assuming thats why its a little wider.

February 4, 2021

Cool Coat

I originally bought this in size M which normally works for my 511 180lb, athletic frame. The coat fit relaxed but was comfortable other than the sleeves being way too bulky/heavy. Felt like I had weights on my wrists. However, the quality was phenomenal, so I was determined to get this in a size that worked better which led me to exchanging for a ... Read Moresmall. The small definitely fits slimmer but the swing back gives great flexibility. The very top of my shoulders and around the neck are the only spots where I feel slightly constricted at times. If Patagonia were to cut the weight of the sleeves a tad, I would buy this coat in every color at size M. The quality of build is great and has every feature I look for in a coat other than a two-way zipper.

February 3, 2021

Favorite Jacket Ever!

Binge watching Virgin River on Netflix, Jack was wearing a rugged looking jacket when I noticed the Patagonia logo on the pocket (4K OLED TV) I googled it and sure enough it led me right to this incredibly rugged jacket. Its really heavy and perfectly roomy but not over sized. It feels like its going to last 20 years and get better with age! I just... Read More ordered the work pants with the reinforced knees- not that I do anything more than push a snowblower but I just want pants made of this material. Cant wait to get them. Love all the Patagonia stuff this season and Im super pissed I missed out on the Bison work boots! Ill be sure to get them as soon as the come back in stock! If you want a classic that you will love - get this jacket! The pockets are really soft inside and just the right depth and angle. Five Stars!

February 1, 2021

Warm, tough work jacket

I wear this as a carpenter who works year round in Minnesota. Haven't been cold yet, coldest day was 5 degrees above zero.

February 1, 2021

Love it

Ive always been tall and skinny. I love the coat but I wish it fit me a little tighter. The arm length and size is perfect but it is kind of baggy on me. Also I wish the pockets zipped up

January 31, 2021

High quality

Very comfortable and nice fit. Got a small, when I normally wear medium from Patagonia. It fits perfectly for me. I'm 5'9" 140lb.

January 31, 2021

Cool Jacket

This is a great jacket. We saw it on a cast member of Virgin River and I immediatly ordered it for my husband. We live in Colorado so the look and fit are great. Casual jacket to wear with jeans.

January 31, 2021

Bottom Adjustment

The coat is fantastic expect that without a way to close the bottom slightly mulch gets inside when you are pruning shrubs near the ground.

January 31, 2021

Dynamite

Dynamite...I love it. True Pataguchi style. Comfort and perfect fit

January 31, 2021

Jacket Review

This jacket is the best. I have taken it off since I bought it, never nude style. Highly recommend purchasing looks good and its warm

January 31, 2021

Functional & Comfortable

Was drawn to this jacket by its renewal materials and style. I was surprised by its weight, warmth and comfort. Not sure how it will function in wet conditions? I would like to see it offered as a waxed jacket too.

January 30, 2021

Great Jacket--snug around butt

5'3, 130lb woman, bought the men's jacket because I liked the design better. Love the pockets and cuffed sleeves, wish it had the across the back pocket like the barn jacket does. Kept me warm and toasty...probably tighter in butt since it is the men's cut.

January 30, 2021

Heavy Weight Jacket

The good: this coat is extremely comfortable, rugged and heavy weight (its made of extra heavy hemp), and the pockets are large. It has substance and I love it and would buy it again in a heart beat. The not so good: the jacket is not as wind proof as I would like, the collar is too low on my neck and my neck gets cold. And the jacket is sized larg... Read Moree, I should have bought one size smaller. Its ok for layering but still too large.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hi Douglas, we're so pleased to hear that you're enjoying your Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Ranch Jacket. If the sizing issue is posing too much trouble for you, please feel free to begin an exchange for the correct size here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

January 30, 2021

Excellent for work or town

I'm about 6'2" 185 lbs and purchased the large. It was very roomy and could easily accommodate a sweatshirt underneath. It was so roomy that with just a long sleeve shirt there was a lot of draft coming up under the jacket. The large would have fit better if I was 215 lbs. I exchanged for a medium, which is a better fit. The sleeves ... Read Moreare still plenty long. If you regularly wear a Patagonia size L, the size M in this jacket will fit similarly.

January 29, 2021

Rugged

Great rugged work jacket Just what I had been searching for

January 29, 2021

Comfortable

Good for in between

January 29, 2021

Stylish and warm

I thought a lot about this purchase, read a lot of reviews, chatted with a customer service rep. I was particularly uncertain about the size, which generally (but not always) skewed large in the reviews. I am 6'0"-6'1" and just under 180 lbs. Sleeve length in shirts is 34/35; wear a Large in most things. I went with the Medium j... Read Moreacket and it fits well in the body, with room for a Champion-weight hoody but not too roomy that cold air gets into the jacket. The sleeve length is acceptable; wish they were just a bit longer. The sewn in rib-knit cuff at the sleeve opening serves to extend the sleeve, which is a positive. It's a unique, unusual design. I have never had a jacket with a sleeve opening that fit this snugly - the rib knit cuff is kind of thick and there are no snaps or buttons to open up the end of the sleeve (which would be a nice feature) The jacket does its job in terms of warmth (at least on Day 1). I was outside in 30" with a flannel shirt and Thinsulate vest underneath and was not cold. Then I shoveled snow and was plenty comfortable. Later, walked the dog with the temps down to 22-23 degrees and was still comfortable with an insulating layer underneath, although I would not want to linger outside too long in this jacket at those temps.

January 26, 2021

Great Jacket

My 18 yr old son does some welding and blacksmithing and needed a warm, rugged and 'won't go up in flames in a second' jacket. We tried 3 jackets from other well known "work clothes" brands, and this Patagonia jacket was by far the best fit, comfort and style.

January 25, 2021

Amazing jacket!

I love this jacket. I have worn it almost non-stop since I first put it on (even now), but my wife makes me take it off before I get in bed! I love the cuffs and did not realize that it had knit interior cuffs when I bought it. They are great. The jacket fits very well and does not restrict movement. The jacket is very warm (also an unexpected surp... Read Morerise) and is roomy enough for layering underneath. Great construction as I have come to expect from Patagonia. I have no complaints and have no suggestions for improvement. I think you got it right the first time! Thanks for building a great jacket.

January 25, 2021

Husband loves it more than he expected

He looked at a Carhart for a couple years and eventually found this because he has two Patagonia flannels he loves as well. He normally wears a XXL but there was a bit too much room for his liking so we exchanged for an XL. Fits perfectly. Says its not as heavy as youd think it would be while wearing it. Even got my FIL to buy one lol

January 24, 2021

New Outdoor BFF

Been waiting for a jacket like this for a long time! It's warm, and tough... I can wear it hauling wood or walking in the woods and it keeps me feeling good. So glad I can be tough on it without fear.

January 21, 2021

Runs larrggeee

Sizing is all over the place with Patagonia. I know this piece has a relaxed fit, so I ordered a medium and a small, and ended up returning the medium. Its the only jacket I have in a small, but it fits best in this size for me. Im 60 180lbs and my only complaint is it could be a little longer in the torso, but not a deal breaker. Its warm and com... Read Morefortable. Get lots of compliments, you will to.

January 19, 2021

Well constructed

I use this coat for farm work, on a diversified vegetable operation in NY. It is designed well with mobility in all directions without being bulky. I do really like the internal cuffs for keeping the breeze out, but They get in the way of some pairs of insulated gloves. Its a great coat that I hope will last. This will replace the Carhart coat I us... Read Moree for chores, which I have had for over 15years!

January 19, 2021

Tough and smooth

Tough coat to chop wood with and has a smooth soft feel. It is warm too.

January 18, 2021

Workshop Jacket

Perfect for cold mornings and sturdy enough for the wood shop.

January 16, 2021

Stellar jacket

Love the fit and feel!

January 13, 2021

Love at first sight!

I loved this jacket the second I put it on. Heavy weight, great quality, great cut, love the cuffs liner pockets. Just got it today and Im wearing in the house and shopping for another Patagonia product! You will not be disappointed!

January 13, 2021

Awesome coat

Best coat Ive ever bought. Slim but very warm with super deep pockets. Highly recommend

January 11, 2021

Checks all the boxes

Couldnt be happier with this purchase. Patagonia delivers again. Super comfortable, hefty and stylish to boot.

January 8, 2021

Extremely comfortable jacket!

I love this jacket more than I love my carhartt full swing jacket! Its perfect when you are in or out of the job especially when youre working on a chilly morning, very slim fitting around the arms and waist. Im 57 about 170 pounds with a slight belly but the fit is a lil snug Im still able to zip it up but if you plan on layering I would recommend... Read More going a size up! Only gripe I have with this jacket is the hand pockets... they have the softest fleece Ive felt in a work jacket but if you have some pretty rough hands be prepared for the pockets fighting you.

January 8, 2021

Top Quality

I got this jacket for the upcoming winter. I have not spent this much money on a jacket before so I was hesitant. Once I got it I knew that it was a good choice because I wear it everyday. It is a perfect combination of warmth and protection from the cold winter weather and style. Overall I would recommend to anyone that is looking for a high quali... Read Morety jacket that looks good and keeps you warm.

January 5, 2021

Comfy

I bought this for my son for Christmas. He loves it!!

January 1, 2021

Fantastic Ranch Jacket

When i first considered purchasing one of Patagonia's casual / work jackets, I was torn between the Maple Grove and the Ranch jackets. I couldn't find reviews that contrasted the two. I initially purchased the Maple Grove Jacket and have happily worn it for months now. More recently I purchased the Ranch Jacket. While the 2 jackets appear... Read More to be similar in some aspects, they are really designed for different purposes, and I am very glad to have both. The Maple Grove is great for everyday casual wear, hiking and some outdoor work. The Ranch has a tougher hemp canvas outer layer making it for functional and the better choice for more rigorous outdoor work. The fit of the Ranch is slightly looser, but not much. Both jackets are quite warm. The only con I have for both jackets is that the sleeves are too long for me. My arms are 33" at rest and the sleeves are a couple inches too long even with elbows bent. The Ranch has hidden ribbed cuffs, which I'd actually prefer it didn't, but they do help keep the sleeves in place. I absolutely recommend either jacket. Lastly, please consider making the Ranch in Dark Ash.

January 1, 2021

Warm and Comfortable

I love the look of the jacket but was surprised how much l like the deep comfortable pockets and interior lining.

December 31, 2020

Husbands jacket

Fast n great service .... jacket was true to size

December 28, 2020

loved

My husband absolutely loved this Jacket. It looks very manly on him ; ) and yet has a clean look to it. Highly recommend.

December 23, 2020

Serves well for the freezing to 55° range. 

All elements of this coat are working for me... excepting these two. ~ It's more constricting how the sleeves are cut. This combined with the hidden cuff detail the way that they're done. (And I actually have pretty fine wrists plus smaller forearms for my frame.) Some consideration given to removing the inner cuffs entirely. This would h... Read Moreelp resolve things. The other bit is that I find the pocket lining material quite an unfortunate choice. A dream would have been if they were moleskin lined, or at least done with the very same outter hemp material. This polyester stuff, it's so very tacky and snagging the skin... unless you have perfectly smooth and well conditioned hands. Otherwise, a great coat that I do indeed appreciate and wear a lot. It's definitely cut so I can wear a vest if needed when its really cold.  

December 23, 2020

Great Quality Jacket

I discovered this jacket while exploring your website. It has that outdoors cowboy culture look so I purchased it. The fit and feel is outstanding. Well worth the money.

December 19, 2020

Quality

Just buy it. Its durable and quality. Fits large, I sized down. Large front pockets Cuffs inside the sleeve that hug your wrists. Very warm, lined. Lots of compliments.

December 18, 2020

Comfortable and uncomplicated

Just a great all around jacket for day to day work and activities. Love the super roomy pockets and it's plenty warm for PNW. Given the reviews, I thought I might want a small, but medium fit better over layers and in sleeve length.

December 16, 2020

Soft and attention to details

I'm really happy with this jacket. The hemp canvas is soft and the jacket feels broken in right out of the box. Smooth lining and unique stitching details show this design was well thought through.

December 4, 2020

Patagucci Workwear

You ever want a carharhartt jacket that felt like it was already broken in with better insulation or maybe you just want to fit in with the working class. Look no further. The thick hemp material is soft but rugged and the liner will keep you warm on brisk days.

December 1, 2020

Great Jacket!

This Jacket is awesome! Its got some weight to it but not too heavy. The inside is super soft and the overall the jacket is very well put together. My only complaint would be that the jacket runs short. I really wish it it was longer but other than that its a great buy!

December 1, 2020

super thick

keeps you warm & its not stiff which is great!

November 28, 2020

Round town early season champ

For when its starting to get colder but hasnt gone sub zero yet, this jacket provides warmth and classic western style. Lining slides easily over any other materials. Only tip for designers: Add a corduroy or fleece lining on inside of collar for when you flip up.

November 27, 2020

Like an Old Friend

This is just an incredibly comfortable coat. Out of the box, it feels as if it has been with me for years; it is far more comfortable than the duck fabric work coat that it replaced. The lined pockets are quite large and spacious and feel good on cold hands, and the option to close it using either the zipper or buttons is welcome with work gloves o... Read Moren. Fit-wise, the shoulders, and arms seem true to size. However, overall, I would describe it as being on the loose side, even when wearing a hoodie or thick flannel underneath. The coat's bottom has no drawstring or other way to cinch it snug, so it hangs a bit loose and, to me, it feels slightly drafty. Otherwise, I would easily have given this coat a five-star rating.

November 22, 2020

Good cozy layer

Great layer. Super warm, I cant wait til it gets colder out.

November 20, 2020

Great Jacket

Love this jacket. My wife originally bought me the XL size because thats what I wear in other Patagonia styles (down sweater, nano puff), but I was swimming in it. It would have worked if I was planning on wearing a thick sweater underneath, but the jacket is quite warm and it doesnt get that cold in Seattle. I exchanged it for a size Large, which ... Read Morefits perfect with a T-Shirt or button down underneath. Definitely recommend this.

November 19, 2020

great outer layer

I bought this jacket at the start of 2020. Wore it into the early spring and then brought it back out during the last month or so. It has been nothing but an absolute work horse. I haven't had any issues with ripped seams, torn cuffs, or pulled fibers. It keeps me warm on those cold mornings and the wind off of me during the day. Great product... Read More all around.

November 19, 2020

Very pleased

Overall Im very pleased with this jacket. The fabric is appealing and soft and if as durable as advertised, very impressive! I love the fit and comfort of the jacket. Can layer a hoodie underneath for added warmth etc but dont find it to be bulky or unattractive on its own. An interior drop pocket for a hat or papers/notebook would bring this garm... Read Moreent over the top!

November 18, 2020

excellent work jacket

I bought this replace my old shelled synchilla work jacket for yard and house work. It is very comfortable, warm, yet it breathes nicely. All in all a great jacket for everyday hard use

November 16, 2020

Great Jacket w one drawback

Love the jacket. Warm and functional. I got a Large and it was too big. Returned it for a medium, which fits great. The only drawback is that the forearms and wrist on sleeves are a little tight. However, they do seem to be stretching out the more I wear it. :-)

November 14, 2020

The Best

Super comfortable and warm, its not stiff and tight like other insulated jackets. Probably the best jacket Ive ever gotten for work or casual wear.

November 8, 2020

Great Jacket

The interior lining and hidden ribbed cuffs keep the cold out. Fits great and looks great.

November 6, 2020

Sturdy yet subtle

Very sturdy coat, however, the inside feels very nice. The fit is perfect for my frame and wide shoulders.

November 3, 2020

Fantastic all around jacket

Granted, I'm not using it for real work in the field, but this jacket is everything I've been looking for. It's warm when it's cold, but not to the point where you sweat in the jacket and if it's warmer out it doesn't keep you too hot either.

November 2, 2020

Get it tailored

Awesome jacket but fits like a box with poofy upper arms, even the XS. Shoulders and sleeve length was ok, but I had to get a good 2" taken in on either side and from the upper arms. Super happy now, but plan on it not fitting initially.

October 17, 2020

Well made and attractive

I purchased both a medium and a small and will keep the medium. I am about 5'11", 180lbs with a muscular build and a fairly slim waist and normally wear a medium. The medium was a bit baggy in the arms and waist, but was more comfortable than the small, which felt tighter across the back and in the elbows. I washed/dryed the jacket on war... Read Morem and it shrunk a good bit, which was perfect but be aware that it can shrink. Build quality looks excellent. Nice weight and very comfortable.

October 6, 2020

Very satisfied.

I'm 6'1". 205lbs. Was considering an XL because that's the size I wear with most shirts/hoodies. After reading multiple reviews I'm glad I went with the Large. Would have been swimming in the XL. Fits a touch baggy, but that's what I was looking for, so I could fit a hoodie or other layers underneath. Great quality, n... Read Moreice and heavy feel. Arrived super quickly. Definetly worth the money.

September 20, 2020

Excellent Jscket

This outshines any of the Carhartt jackets around. It's warmer and more flexible. The length keeps the wind from riding up the back. It's roomy enough in case I need to add fleece for the cold winter days here in Northern New York. I also paired it up with a Farrier Shirt. I am 6' and on the thin side. I don't like tight fitting... Read More jackets so the large fit me perfectly. I highly recommend this jacket.

September 2, 2020

Toughest jacket

Wonderful roomy fit over a hoodie, tough as nails, comfy to work in. And warm! Great job PAT, and i love thats its non toxic fabric -non gmo cotton and hemp!

July 28, 2020

Hemp & Horses...?

I shoe and train horses for a living. This is a nice coat. Warm, well made. A few negatives: pockets trap hay while feeding; cuffs trap hay while feeding; drafty in the neck & up the bottom of the coat. works well for riding in, provided you wear a wool scarf or vest with a high neck to keep out the cold. Warm when layered properly, chilly by i... Read Moretself in winter. No waist draw to keep out a draft.

July 20, 2020

Great Jacket

I was amazed on how soft and supple this jacket was upon arrival. Outside material is durable and insulation is warm without being bulky. Sizing was a bit large, I typically run XL or Large Tall, so orderd a XL initailly but was very large around the mid-section, swapped out for a Large and that fit great. Could possibly even fit into a Medium, but... Read More I have pretty long arms and torso.

July 2, 2020

Patagonia Quality, Every Time

The second I took this jacket out of the box I knew it was going to fit like I’d worn it for years. Every stitch of this jacket is made with care. The colour, trim, and feel are top form. It’s too hot to wear in Nova Scotia right now (I bought it late spring) but I almost daily check it out in my closet just to feel the quality of the canvas. If yo... Read Moreu’re looking for a work jacket that you can suit up to make you look rugged-professional, this is it. Even though the jacket runs a little on the large side (noticeable in the arms and cuffs) I can tell it’s going to be my go-to jacket this fall and winter, and for many thereafter. Patagonia delivers on quality and workmanship once again.

June 27, 2020

Solid however flawed

This is a well made, thoughtfully designed coat. The lining is a nice touch. The exterior fabric feels like its going to last a few winters of log splitting. Two knocks against the coat are the plastic zipper and lack of hood snaps. I took my coat to a tailor and replaced the plastic zipper with a sharp stainless steel. When the wind is ripping the... Read More lack of a hood is confusing on such a coat.

June 24, 2020

Great style but wearing out to fast

Im a huge Patty workwear fan. The style, and warmth are there but the jacket is coming apart way too fast on me for how much I paid for it. The inside of the pockets are coming undone and seems on the jacket are coming undone that's why I gave it only three stars.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

We are sorry to hear this and we appreciate the feedback on this. We expect much more out of our product and hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us under our warranty.

April 16, 2020

Good work jacket

I am 6'0" 210lbs and ordered this jacket as a medium. Even so, I usually wear a t-shirt and a micro-fleece vest underneath comfortably. It is not very warm in the chest area but has a comfortable cut. I have been wearing it through some serious chores and found it durable and comfortable.

April 1, 2020

Pocket seam tore out in first season

So Ill start off by saying I truly love this coat!! Ive worn it primarily around our farm and while working in the shop. The coat is so warm and the insulation inside is soft and slick unlike other brands so that dirt/sawdust doesnt get caught in or stick to the inside. The hemp fabric is very durable which lead me to believe that this probably wo... Read Moreuld be the last work coat I would ever buy until the other night. I made a trip out to the barn and reached in the pocket when the seam just tore apart. Yes it can be repaired but when I pay for a top quality work coat I dont expect the seams to come apart in the first season. Im hoping that Im the only person who has found this fluke. Because like I said before I really love this coat.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Sorry to hear about the torn pocket, but we really appreciate the great detailed feedback, Lee! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the coat to our main service center for repair, merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

February 18, 2020

The Last Work Coat I'll Buy

I've had this jacket a few years now. One of the best work jackets I've worn, and the last one I'll buy. It has weathered time and use really well. It has enough space for layering during deep cold, so is great for all seasons. The pockets are deep and warm. It's sharp enough to wear right out of the shop, so it's a corners... Read Moretone of my daily wardrobe.

February 10, 2020

Awesomeness

I’ve had mine about a year now with a couple of washings (ink black is beginning to fade which looks great). The durability is outstanding! Tough as they say but you can wear it in dinner date with your significant other. Really goes well with just about anything. Originally I ordered a small seeing how the cut is relaxed fit but it was too tight i... Read Moren the arms to allow much underneath (5’9”, 165lbs Athletic build). Medium is a bit large but I guess I’m a tweener in this style. I can easily wear a thick sweatshirt comfortably underneath. The sleeve length is just right being somewhat longer than most of my shirts (medium in flannel). Short story-you’ll love it.

February 6, 2020

Warm and Big

Got this for Christmas. Much larger and warmer that I expected. I was thinking it was going to me more along the lines of a shirt jacket. Its not it much thicker and warmer than one. I have yet to be cold in this, and can tell it is durable to work in. I wasnt looking for a new warm work coat, but I got one and I am happy as can be. Now I hope one ... Read Moreof the lighter weight work jackets is as good as this.

February 1, 2020

Home Run Patagonia!!

OMG, got this coat for Xmas and it is fantastic , the quality and craftsmanship is amazing. It really is the best coat i have ever owned.....the urge to put a big peace fabric sign on the back is huge but it’s just perfect the way it is. So I’ll add the peace sign to my Patagonia fleece jacket instead!! In fact i already have!!

January 16, 2020

Tough and Cozy

Love this jacket! It keeps we warm with very few layers needed underneath. Love all the pocket options as well!

January 13, 2020

Love this jacket

This jacket is great. Well made and super warm. I originally bought a large but exchanged for a medium. I'm 6'0 190lbs.

January 13, 2020

My new favorite jacket

I wanted to try something non-fleece for a change, and this is my new favorite jacket for everyday use. It's very comfortable, it's warm but not so warm that I am constantly having to take it off to avoid overheating (as I would be with a medium to heavy weight down jacket), and it seems durable. It's not meant to be a high-performan... Read Morece mountain jacket (and it isn't), but it is sufficiently warm and wind-breaking that (with a fleece under it) I've been comfortable motorcycle commuting in 40 Farenheit mornings (sometimes with heavy fog or brief soft rain) which is impressive to me, given the windchill effect from sustained highway riding. I would reiterate, however, that this jacket is ideal for common everyday uses, not for outdoor activities more strenuous than walking. It is heavy, bulky, and does not breathe well (hiking with only a t-shirt under it resulted in the inner sleeves sticking to my arms, which was uncomfortable). Also note I live at ~1,500 ft. elevation in the central Sierra, so when I say the warmth is appropriate, I mean for being outside in ~30 to 60 Farenheit.

January 8, 2020

Excellent Jacket!

I ordered this jacket on 11/4 and it arrived 11/6 -- which funnily enough was my birthday (thanks for that @Patagonia!) Things I like about this jacket: * Warm with layers, warm without. * Made from Hemp -- I really liked the fact that it's made of a more sustainable material. * Blocks wind -- Even when it's incredibly windy out, I don&... Read More#x27;t feel a thing. * Sleeves are tapered on the inside similar to a sweater, keeping the wind out. * Excellent for layering. Things I don't really like (that are honestly pretty minor): * Pills a little bit, but it's honestly really minor. * I wear a watch, and the friction between my watch and the sleeve opening creates a bit of pilling. This can easily be fixed with a disposable razor, but it's overall a minor annoyance. * Some loose threads, but I was able to remove/fix them. In regard to the pilling of the outside, this (apparently) is something normal for this jacket. I chatted with a customer service rep and they went and looked at an actual jacket to confirm this -- and I really appreciated that they did that instead of reading from a script. In regard to the fit and finish, it's listed as "relaxed fit" which I think is a very accurate description of this jacket. I normally wear a medium sized jacket and I was looking for something I'd be able to layer with. If you're not looking for something to layer with, maybe go a size down if you want it to look less "relaxed" and more form fitting. Overall, I've been wearing this jacket almost every day since I got it and it looks and feels great -- 10/10 would recommend!

January 2, 2020

Solid Jacket

I own many jackets, but I am so glad I purchased this jacket.

January 2, 2020

Amazingly light, flexible yet warm

Size S fits my 5'10" 147 lb husband well. He can still wear a medium layer underneath for when our Montana winter gets chillier. The outer canvas is nubbly, yet flexible, not like the duck canvas on similar-looking coats from that other company. This is also lighter weight than those other coats which he also appreciates.

January 1, 2020

The jacket is great and

The jacket is great and I love it. It had to be exchanged, though, for a smaller size as it runs large.

January 1, 2020

The coat seems well made,

The coat seems well made, but ran a bit large in my usual medium so I went down to a size small. Not real roomy but comfortable to chop wood.

January 1, 2020

Pretty Good

I like this jacket. Wife doesn't, everyone else says nice jacket. It's possibly not the warmest. I have a wanaca down jacket. It's not that jacket. The cuffs are the only problem I have with it. Making gloves not the easiest to fit and put on. I'm a fatty, usual size large shirt. But the medium fits me. If I upped my donut intak... Read Moree. I would need a large. But that's a large Marge. So get the medium.

December 31, 2019

Awesome Jacket!

I purchased the ink black color and have gotten numerous compliments on the great casual look/style of the jacket. I am 6 ft., 165 lbs. and the medium size fit is perfect. Take note that the fit of this jacket is a little relaxed which makes it great for layering. The jacket is also very well insulated…. I have worn it in 20 to 30-degree temperatur... Read Morees and it kept me very warm for hours when using a sweater as a mid-layer.

December 31, 2019

Great jacket!

My husband loves it and wears it everywhere! Quality is typical Patagonia...amazing!! Very soft, warm and durable! The fit runs true to size and not bulky!

December 31, 2019

Good looking jacket and warm, too

Bought 3 of these jackets as Christmas presents. My gift recipients love them! They are the perfect amount of warmth for snow or cool weather in California. Good looking jacket as well. My son normally wears a Mens Medium and my husband wears a Mens XL. But I read the reviews that the jacket runs large so I bought a size smaller for both and they f... Read Moreit perfectly.

December 30, 2019

Warm Jacket

Great jacket, and very warm. The only issue is the sleeves run small around the wrist area. This results in discomfort if you wear a watch (Garmin).

December 30, 2019

Love it!

This jacket is perfect to keep warm without being too bulky. My husband has worn it everyday since Christmas. Couldn’t be happier with the quality, fit and design.

December 30, 2019

Bought for my son and

Bought for my son and he loves it

December 29, 2019

very warm and fits comfortably

very warm and fits comfortably but sleeves are a touch too long.

December 29, 2019

Warmest jacket

My husband loves this jacket! He wore it on our recent trip to NYC and didn’t change jackets the entire time. It’s the warmest jacket he’s ever owned, and it paired well with his outfits. He only wishes there were some type of hood on it, but it’s still a wonderful jacket. He also noted it’s not as heavy as he would expect a jacket that warm to be.... Read More

December 28, 2019

More then expected

Of course Patagonia has always offered great looking clothing. That’s why I purchased this jacket. But once I put it on, the warmth and durability became immediately obvious. This will be my go-to jacket for my harsh Chicago winters.

December 27, 2019

Soo comfy!

This jacket is awesome! Bought it for my boyfriend, he had never even tried it one and it fit true to size. Great fit and look. The upper back has the extra folded fabric that allows for more arm movement without lifting up the jacket and without looking odd in the back. Zippers and pockets are crafted very nicely. Dress it down, dress it up or go ... Read Moreto town in the yard with it!

December 27, 2019

Tough and soft. Kinda like

Tough and soft. Kinda like me ;). Love the jacket. Really have no complaints but if your looking for a suggestion perhaps right side inner vest pocket.

December 24, 2019

Well made, comfortable everyday jacket

Fits well, tough to date, roomy fit, perfect for sweatshirt underneath. I’m 6’0” and a svelte 220 (LOL) and wear a XL

December 21, 2019

Perfect

Very good quality. I never Wright reviews but I am now because it is that good of a product. I am 5’9. 220 and I ordered a large. The sleeves are a little long but the stretch cuffs at the end make up for it.

December 19, 2019

If you're on the borderline between Medium and Large, try Medium first

I find a lot of Patagonia clothes fit pretty tight and I was debating between Medium and Large so I first ordered a Large. I ended up swimming in the Large so I exchanged it for a Medium and it fits perfectly. I also was considering getting a Carhart work jacket instead but I know Patagonia's warranty is awesome and I love how they really car... Read Moree about the whole lifetime of the jacket so it was an easy decision to spend a little more for that.

December 17, 2019

Better than expected!!

You can never go wrong with Patagonia wear! Decided to splurge for my 15 year old and provide him with some warm wear. So happy to say my son loves the jacket and it will surely keep him warm during the winter! Thank you bunches!

December 17, 2019

Amazing quality in every sense.

Amazing quality in every sense. Durable and heavy. Would recommend to any and all

December 17, 2019

Iron Forge Hemp

I’m not the only one that loved this jacket; I have 3 friends that are ordering the same for work!

December 15, 2019

Durable

Durable

December 10, 2019

Iron Forge Ranch Jacket

This is my new favorite go to jacket. The canvas is soft, durable and the jacket is warm for north east winter weather.

December 7, 2019

Best coat on the planet

Best Montana jacket I have bought!! Bout to buy the pants too!!

December 6, 2019

Great Jacket

Well made jacket. I’m 5-10, 185 and wear a large in Patagonia micro puff and all other jackets. However in this jacket, a medium fits perfectly. I understand their workwear line is made to fit layers underneath, so take that into account. Very warm and only wear it on <40ish degree days.

December 4, 2019

Absolutely in love, better in

Absolutely in love, better in person.

December 3, 2019

Great jacket!

I don&#x27;t normally write reviews, but I really like this jacket. It feels sturdy, and the fit is great. It does, though, feel like a &quot;California winter&quot; jacket - in that it is insulated, but not the equivalent of a Carhartt bomber winter farm jacket. I would love it if Patagonia made this jacket with 2x or 3x the insulation for folks w... Read Moreho do winter outside of CA, like in Alaska or Northeast

December 2, 2019

Phenomenal Jacket

While we are far from farm owning - wood chopping - barn building - cattle wrangling folks, we loved the look of this jacket online! I bought it for my husband (6ft 185lbs - bought medium) because we liked the cut and color of the black. This jacket is an absolute rockstar! Feels so incredibly well made and super super warm. While we&#x27;ll mainly... Read More wear it with a thermal or a plaid shirt for our california winters - we'll test its limits on our trip back to England this winter and have no fears it will keep him toasty!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches