Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Chore Coat

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Runs Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 105 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Chore Coat

4.6/5
Runs Large
May 20, 2022

Review from a bigger guy

Im a 62 dude running about 270 these days, so I can confidently say that usually getting a XXL is a sure win. But after reading all of the reviews before purchasing, it should be clear to you by now that this WorkWear stuff runs big. Not Oh but my body is different and I fill into clothes a little more than others in my size. No. Youll still drown ... Read Morein the normal size you buy. I wouldnt call myself round, but I have some shapes and curves, and even downsizing to an XL gives PLENTY of room for growth. I dont need to review the quality of the coat but Patagonia does that with its name. Its a fantastic coat. But if youre like me and arent not a skinny 62 like some others on here, rest assured that the XL is still going to be big enough. Thanks for listening

May 6, 2022

Excellent Jacket

I had been looking for a jacket like this for some time, but had some criteria I was having some trouble filling: I wanted it unlined (check), cotton or similar, rather than nylon (check), durable and long-lasting (check), and zip-fronted (nope). After searching far too many websites for far too long, it finally occurred to me I could just have a z... Read Moreipper put in, which is what I did. This jacket is now perfect. It's breathable and not too hot, but gives an extra layer when needed. As for sizing, the other reviews are correct regarding sizing down. I'm between 6'3" and 6'4", and 265 lbs, and usually wear XXL in most things. I got the XL, and it fits great. I have enough room to wear a flannel shirt under it, but I'm not swimming in it if I just have a t-shirt on. Overall, a great jacket that I use for yardwork, every day wear, and camping.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2022

Thank you for sharing this detailed review, Levi! We're so glad your hunt proved successful!

May 5, 2022

Pretty tough.

I use it for general rugged wear. Did have to swap from large to medium 59 210lbs, and still have room for a sweater.

April 29, 2022

Great for cool mornings!

Mornings can be cool in MN as I start my garden. Great pockets for seeds and garden hand tools. Love the loose fit!

April 22, 2022

Great Jacket - Runs Big

This is a great Jacket. I typically wear 2XL in about everything. This jacket was too big for me. It was long in the arms and big around the stomach-area. I sized down to an XL and it fit great. The XL fit like my normal 2XL jackets fit. It is going to be a good farm jacket that will hold up to the daily wear and tear I will put it through.

Response from Patagonia
April 22, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, Rob! Like all of our [Workwear](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-workwear) products, this jacket is designed with a "relaxed" fit for ease of movement. We hope it lasts a long time. Of course it's covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so please do reach out to us if you need a repair or return. We'll be happy to help!

April 2, 2022

Great jacket but....

I love the material, the style, the feel - except it's too big. I'm 5'11", 165 lbs, and followed everyone's recommendation and sized down to a medium - and still the shoulders are baggy and even the sleeves long - and my arms are definitely on the long side. If I'm a small, then I'd hate to run into the buy who&#x... Read More27;s a large. Patagonia, you don't do this with anything else I own - why this jacket?

Response from Patagonia
April 3, 2022

Thanks for the review, Len! Our Workwear jackets are definitely roomier in the shoulders and back to better suit a wide range of motion. If you're finding the fit of a medium still too roomy, I suggest trying out an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 31, 2022

I wanted to love it but cut is far too big!

Everything about the jacket seemed great but I returned it because the fit was far too baggy. I ordered my usual Patagonia size (M; I'm 5'11" 165 athletic) but the "workwear" fit is super baggy and cumbersome. I work in the trades so I am accustomed to a roomier fit for my workwear but it was too much for me to keep. Otherw... Read Moreise, it seemed like a great jacket.

March 30, 2022

Unique material and feel

I've had hemp/hemp-mixes before, but this is the best I've had. Sturdy, solid feel like duck canvas but softer and more giving. I wanted a jacket I could wear in for a long time, a classic, and I think this is it.

March 29, 2022

Great Coat

Great coat. I love the pockets and the utility of it. It runs large and I got it on sale so I can't exchange it, but it shrank a tiny bit in the dryer and is basically fine if I layer underneath.

March 29, 2022

Great but the fit leaves a bit to be desired.

I love the jacket but the fit of it could be described as generous. I really like the comfort of the material. Love that its made from hemp. I have owned many things made from Duck material from other companies and I would put this material right up there. I really like the jacket, but I am torn if I will return it or not. The fit just leaves a bit... Read More to be desired. I wear a large in almost everything and went with a medium based on the reviews. I havent owned anything smaller than that since middle school, but I do wonder what a small would fit like. I love the color tan that I got but the jacket really only looks good if button completely up. Overall great jacket. If are not into a more tailored fit than this is the jacket for you.

March 27, 2022

`Great jacket

LOVE THE WAY IT FITS AND THE LOOK.

March 25, 2022

Super Tough, Comfy Coat

Here on the farm I needed a jacket to stand up to some briars, fencing, nails, etc. working on the farm. This coat is perfect for fall/spring, as it's durable, plenty of pockets for storage, and super comfy. The material is spot on, so much softer than Carhartt type duck. The coat is well made with nice buttons and durable stitching. I can&#x2... Read More7;t wait to wear this one working on the farm for many seasons to come. Thanks Patagonia!

March 25, 2022

Nice jacket

Normally where XL , but mostly for the length of body and arms. After returning the XL the L is plenty long. 62, 195#

March 25, 2022

Great quality

I got this jacket in Large and fit is great. I usually get XL in other brands. This jacket is very comfortable and looks great.

March 21, 2022

Rugged Chore Coat

Previous reviews are accurate. It is well-made and runs large enough to wear layers underneath as it is unlined. Lots of useful pockets; ideal for any outdoor construction, farm or garden work.

March 19, 2022

Awesome material

Feels tough and sturdy, but when moving around it feels like an old favorite jacket already worn in. I've been missing out on hemp fabric. 5'9, 210 chunky. Xl shirts I ordered L jacket and still big on me. Cuffs on wrist have buttons to tighten up though worked great. I might ve fit into medium but I don't know how much hemp shrinks ... Read Moreyet

March 19, 2022

Amazing product

Feels broken in the moment its put on, like its been your favorite for years. The medium is big enough to layer under but fits well enough to wear alone

March 17, 2022

Good roomy fit

Bought this coat as an outdoor work coat and alternative to stiff Carhartt type coats, I wear an extra large in most shirts and jackets. After reading reviews on sizing of this Patagonia coat I sized down to a large. Pefect roomy fit to wear with or without a layer under it. I recommend sizing down from one's typical size

March 16, 2022

Great for warm riding climates

Keep up the integrity

March 16, 2022

Disappointed

The style of the coat is nice. The fit and quality are disappointing. This is one of many Patagonia products I own and this does not represent their brands quality. I regret this purchase, but will continue to be a customer in the future.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

Hi John! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit and quality of the coat. Providing a quality and durable product is always at the forefront when building a product, especially with our workwear items. This feedback is greatly appreciated, and we'll share it with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 15, 2022

Nice fit

Based on other reviews I bought a size down. Fit is perfect even with layering. Well made and comfortable.

March 15, 2022

Classic Chore Coat

My review would match the description and pics posted by Patagonia. It's a nice jacket crafted with a softer finish than a typical canvas chore coat. The fabric and sewing is first rate. The fit is roomy. I like it well enough I will probably buy another one.

March 15, 2022

Rugged wear with a comfy touch

This chore coat is yet another quality item in the Patagonia lineup. The material and hemlines are tough but the jacket is surprisingly soft and comfy to wear. Ready for work or casual wear as the New England winter thaws.

March 15, 2022

Perfect work jacket

Reviews are correct, this jacket runs a tad large. Go a size smaller if you just want the style and not so much a work jacket. I appreciate the sizing as it is comfortable with a hoody underneath and has roominess in the arm pits, unlike my well-aged, well-used and often loathed Carhartt Detroit jacket. I'm stoked to get this thing dirty and w... Read Moreorn from bucking wood, clearing brush, gardening, whatever. It's great for layering, too, so I'm please it doesn't have a liner. It's a perfect work shell, if you will.

March 15, 2022

Super comfortable

The jacket is a nice thick canvas thats not as stiff as other brands and moves nicely with your body. The sleeves arent restrictive and while I have pretty wide shoulders its accommodating. Im not the trimmest person so its a little tight around the gut but because of height the medium seemed a better choice over large. It layers fine over a sweate... Read Morer and bibs as long as I dont want to button it but thats not really a problem as I prefer a little airflow. My favorite thing about the jacket is its comfortable in a t shirt from 40-70 degrees if youre outside since its breathable but also does a good job of keeping you dry and protected from wind. I do sales and in my free time take care of cattle and it does both amazingly.

March 14, 2022

fits huge

way too big in the torso size, and arms on the short side : didn't work for me given the odd sizing

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback, John. We're sorry that fit wasn't a go for you! This is very helpful to other customers, and to our product development team. We're glad to see you've been able to get that coat returned. We hope we can set you up with something that will work much better for you!

March 2, 2022

Keeping shipping companies in business

Unfortunately Im reading the views after the fact. Looks like were all keeping the shipping companies in business with this jacket. Now the only worry is that downsizing it will result in too short sleeves. The more return shipping. When I measure the chest size its actually 5 inches larger than what they say the extra large is. Bottom line is I ... Read Moreprobably need the medium body size for this and maybe they could sew on some sleeves from the large or extra large 62, 195#

February 24, 2022

Good outer layer option for work

I wanted a tough outer layer for winter work on the farm. Rather than risk destroying my Nano Puff or fleece, I thought more durable jacket over top would be perfect. The Canvas Chore Coat is exactly that. It is cut somewhat baggy and can easily accommodate a t-shirt, long sleeve shirt, and a R1 fleece. That combo is also shockingly warm when doin... Read Moreg physical labor. The cut is uninsulated but heavy enough to still provide a lot of warmth and wind protection. I did try the Ranch Jacket as well but it was entirely too warm for my purposes (active work outside) in a Zone 6A climate (typical winter temps in the 20-30's F.) I was splitting wood a couple weeks back with temps in the upper 30's and was fine with just the jacket and a short-sleeve t-shirt!! As for jacket design, no complaints. It has pockets in all the right places and the adjustable hem is handy too. The cut is very 'generous' with lots of room for layering. At 185lbs and 6', it could be a bit less generous but I was able to shrink it a bit. Also, the Ink Black color was noticeably stiffer than the brown color but a few washes has softened it up. In general, I am very happy with the coat and it seems to fit my needs perfectly. Based on the weight, I probably won't wear it in temps over 50F or so but it should cover me during the winter months.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2022

Hey Kelly, thank you so much for this detailed review! This information is bound be help other customers. Please let us know if we can be of any help at all!

February 21, 2022

Top quality jacket

Top quality jacket, Stylish

February 19, 2022

Incredible

I bought this jacket to replace one I had been wearing for many years at work. I was a bit surprised to see Patagonia in work wear but the Iron Forged Hemp is amazing. Ive caught this jacket while installing barbed wire fences and it did even tear a thread. The fit is a little big, but its nice to be able to layer underneath with the jacket being... Read More unlined. The material feels broken in when you get it and is very comfortable. I actually liked the jacket so much that I found a used one in black and decided to buy that as well just in case Patagonia discontinued this jacket. 5/5 easy.

February 13, 2022

Perfect

The thing that impresses me most is how comfortable it is. It feels like youre wearing soft flannel from the first time you put it on. In addition, it is a stunning golden brown color, and has huge , functional pockets and an inside pocket for a cell phone. You can tell the hemp is going to wear well for a long time. You can easily layer under it i... Read Moref it is cold, and I envision wearing this thru the end of April here in Texas. A KEEPER!

February 4, 2022

pockets

have both colors.. Really like this coat.. I have worn these coats everyday through the winter(for the past 2 months)-at work and on my days off...I really like the pockets, big enough for my camera and tools at work....this is great utility outwear---non insulated--so i can layer big in winter, and feel like i can still wear over a t-shirt in spri... Read Moreng/summer.. material has gotten even more soft after washing(love the hemp)....I have a job that is hard on clothes, and so far, these jackets are doing well...Patagonia, i get style, but why not one more breast pocket, cmon... plan to wear when fishing season opens....i am going to wear these jackets till they fall apart(which looks like many years, looking forward to how they fade and wear)...1 more color and coupon or 3-- Patagonia--would be appreciated....

February 1, 2022

Tough n Comfy

A great chore coat, no frills and it does a great job of protecting the layers underneath. The big pockets are a great catch all and always seem to come in handy. Considering buying a second one to wax for rainy days.

January 27, 2022

A work jacket

Fits loosely allowing layering. Wearing well. Repelled nasty thorns while cutting brush Great work jacket

January 26, 2022

My new favorite

This jacket became an instant favorite for me. My first use was in 45 degree chill. I layered up with a Patagonia long sleeve tee shirt and was comfortable. Ill be buy the other color as well .

January 21, 2022

Great jacket

The chore coat like all the work wear line fits a bit more full. More free freedom of movement is what I get out of it. I love that jacket and Ill be ordering the other color soon.

December 19, 2021

Excellent light weight work jacket

Like others have said, this line runs big. I usually wear a M, but ordered a S & it fits great. Very durable, but comfortable material - not stiff or needing to be broken in. Definitely recommend

December 18, 2021

Excellent

Exactly what I was looking for. Runs a little big so I sized down and it fits perfect. Excellent build quality and hemp material feels super soft right out of the box but also super durable. This is my first experience with the Patagonia workwear line and Im hooked. Great product

December 10, 2021

Just what I was looking for

Just what I was looking for. Great for working in the yard, just layer for the temp. I wear a large in shirts. The medium is big enough for me to add a vest if its cool but not too big w/o extra layers.

December 1, 2021

Great looking jacket

This does run large, so get one size down.

November 29, 2021

Great Unlined Jacket

I purchased this jacket to replace my 22 year old canvas patagonia jacket. It very comfortable and great for casual wear, hiking and doing chores outside. I normally wear 2XL as I am 6ft 2in and 275 lbs with a broad shoulders and a large frame. However, after reading reviews I downsized to XL and it fits great with room for a hoody or other light l... Read Moreayer. It has become my favorite jacket for cool weather and hanging out while camping.

November 18, 2021

Comfy & Warm

This product is great for layering. I wear a sweatshirt or hoodie underneath. Its perfect!

November 1, 2021

Functional Piece of Kit

This is a 'throw over everything' coat for me. I wear it to protect clothes from the messes I work in when I'm not going full coveralls or 'regular' work wear. Choosing between black (oil and grease) and dirt colored was tough, but I chose black and am happy with it. The external pockets are really what I was after so that... Read More I can slip things in and not have to touch the jacket (and increase the dirt and smudges). It is not warm, in fact the hemp is pretty loosely woven which for me is good, but YMMV. It does seem oversized enough to comfortably fit a sweater or insulation layer, so I sized down to get a t-shirt fit. I usually wear a medium in everything, but a small worked for this application, and even then I think I could fit a sweater in and have room for movement. Cut is boxy.

October 19, 2021

Runs large

Patagonia sizes are tough to get right. Some L are too small while some XL are too big. I wish their sizing was more consistent. This jacket is a good example; the L fits me well with some room for a lightweight sweatshirt but the Farrier shirt in L was a bit too snug. This work coat is very nice. Perfect to wear over a lightweight sweatshirt.

Response from Patagonia
October 25, 2021

Hey Timothy, thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us on the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Chore Coat. One thing we'd like to mention with our product is that everything comes in either regular, relaxed, or slim fit, which could be why you're experiencing some size differences. You can check the type of fit for each product by looking underneath the size options on the product page. With that said, we're always happy to provide measurements if you need them, simply reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

October 8, 2021

Very comfortable out of the box

This coat is very comfortable and has that broken in feel that we all like! Its perfect for doing chores around the farm in mild weather conditions. I wear a 3x in other brands, but ordered a 2x here and it fits just right. Great job Patagonia.

September 30, 2021

Comfy classic light coat.

Comfy classic light coat. Too nice for work right now. The work wear line runs larger like normal sizing.

June 28, 2021

Awesome product

Great quality garment

June 28, 2021

Good but too large

We started ordering these coats as a 5 year anniversary gift to our employees (we are in the hemp business). It fits our aesthetic beautifully but they are way too big compared to the sizes people normally wear. We downsized one size compared to their typical sizing and still needed to return for yet a smaller size.

June 21, 2021

Great work coat!

This is a tough work coat. I use on my property where I have to walk through lots of scrub and blackberry vines. It doesn't snag or rip and it keeps the thorn out. I am 6' tall and on the slender side but I work out and so I got the large, which was way too big. Medium fits great with room for a fleece and nano puff vest underneath in the... Read More winter. Great product.

May 24, 2021

Comfortable but baggy.

I wanted a chore coat that was durable, practical, and affordable. I'm 6'7 and about 240 lbs and this coat is a little baggy. But it works because i can layer it with flannels and sweaters in the winter without issue. If you do not like a baggy coat, go a size down from what you would normally buy. I am new to patagonia but I will be a re... Read Moreturning customer after getting this coat.

May 17, 2021

Great chore coat. Even good in the summer heat.

This is a great coat! I'm 5'9" and about 195 lbs, my suit jacket size is 43. I bought this coat in a size Large, and it fits me well. A little roomy and oversized but that is how it is designed. I don't think I would do well with a size medium. The sleeve length is perfect for me too.

April 12, 2021

Versatile Plus!

I have two of these and that should say something. I wear them every day all Fall, Winter, and Spring. They are true to size in that they are cut a bit relaxed to allow for more movement and layers. These things are tough as nails but from Day 1 they are soft enough to actually move your arms. Compared to the other - ahem- name brand making workwea... Read Morer, Patagonia's Iron Forge clothing is far superior - almost laughably so. Super durable, amazingly soft and like all things Patagonia durable AND environmentally responsible. The hemp in the jacket gives it both strength and a very cool look. I am 5'11'' and 175lbs and the medium fits like I said above. Wouldn't want a small or large. The last thing is I've noticed this jacket is super breathable so I can wear it like a heavy shirt over a t-shirt in a surprising range of temperatures. You don't get THAT in every jacket!

March 19, 2021

Love it

I initially bought the Barn coat and loved it. I wanted a lightweight version, so I got the Chore Coat. I love it also. FYI the Chore Coat runs larger than the Barn coat. The Barn coat fits snug and the Chore Coat is very loose.

March 9, 2021

Great chore coat

This is an excellent piece of workwear. The only issue I've run into is if you're doing something that throws a lot of woodchips (cutting trees or woodturning), the front pockets become little woodchip receptacles and they fill up pretty quickly.

February 1, 2021

Size

I followed the advice of reviewers to order a smaller size. I usually order XL for jackets shirts etc.. This time I ordered a L. The advice is spot on. The fit is quite comfortable. XL would have been too big!

January 25, 2021

Really tough Shirt

Form, fit, and feel are just what I wanted. Another quality product from Patagonia. But for function, it gets the 3 star. It stops zero wind and without a significant insulation layer, it does not keep me warm. This coat needs a cotton/hemp liner. That would make it a true coat and make it 5 star

January 18, 2021

Fits Large

Order a medium originally, but needed to return for a small. I expected it to work well with layers as a medium, but it was too spacious all around. Excited to explore the correct size as the construction and material seem to make a perfect choice for my intended use.

January 2, 2021

A perfect gift

Bought this coast for my partner and he absolutely loves it. Despite how lightweight the canvas is it keeps him surprisingly warms and hes worn it every day since opening it. Id say the fit runs a bit big, but that is for the best so you can add layers underneath.

November 29, 2020

Tough jacket but huge

Based on other reviews, I got a small (even though I usually wear medium) and am glad I downsized. Haven't worn this much, but washed it once and seems like it will be a great jacket to work around the house/yard. Lots of big, functional pockets.

November 19, 2020

Rugged and Stylish

AT 5'10" Patagonia's L size has fit me perfect. Some have said to size down for a more tailored fit. If I sized downed with this jacket I would not be able to wear anything else other than a tank top. With this jacket I can wear a flannel shirt underneath comfortably. In the past I did very heavy manual labor, perhaps I might be a bi... Read Moret larger than average. I can say the new jacket is very comfortable just like a well broken in jacket.

November 15, 2020

Well built

Nice coat! snaps and buttons are heavy duty, fabric seems like it will last for a long time to come, not to heavy but definitely feels well made. Keeps in enough warmth for the fall, probably fine for short winter tasks without layering. This coat is awesome for layering, 6'3" 220lbs and the large fits just a little big(usualy size XL), f... Read Moreits thick flannel under it perfectly. Would recommend

November 7, 2020

All-arounder

Soft yet rugged. Utility with style. Runs quite large, so be sure to size down when purchasing.

November 7, 2020

Great for field work!

I wear this coat daily in my field work. Pricey but much better made than alternatives. Trust the quality.

November 5, 2020

B

Agile jacket and still durable

November 4, 2020

Utilitarian Gardening with Style

Soft on the skin, easy on the eyes. American gardening jacket has proven well so far. Many pockets for all of my tools, seeds, plant labels... Also great when I run into town on errands, farmers market or just relaxing. I cant wait till it fades to gray.

November 4, 2020

Fine Patagonia build quality

I bought two, one of each color in medium.... immediately washed them in hot water and dried them hot. The combination of poly and hemp cotton no worries about shrinkage. Purchase for casual wear they will likely outlive me. I live at 8660 ft in the Mountains of New Mexico and will will be perfect for light layering on some winter days... I will lo... Read Moreok good also. I assume based on construction and material weight that these are made for the long haul. Im retired so wont use them for work. Patagonia, enough said!

October 30, 2020

Durable and flexible

Ive been using this around the house this fall- everything from yardwork to woodworking and dog walks. Its breathable and takes a beating. Its warm enough with a light underlayer to keep you warm and protected in the 50s and 60s, especially if you are active. The hemp softens up with wear but still feels very durable. Lots of pockets- very much fun... Read Morection over form. Id definitely recommend this light layer for anyone looking for a tough and functional coat. I hope we see more hemp fabric from Patagonia moving forward- its awesome!

October 27, 2020

A full size down, at least

At 5'7" and 158 lbs., with a 43" chest, and 34" waist, I normally wear a relaxed-fit Medium or a Large (short, if available), but even with the Medium in this style, it was huge, and the arms especially long. The Small, however, fits great, and I even with room for a thin sweater underneath. Love it!

September 8, 2020

Super cool!

Love the details, check the hidden pocket for your phone. The texture is really nice and contemporary and the color could not be nicer, pretty neutral and works really well with jeans! My favorite jacket!!

July 11, 2020

Perfect

At 5'10'' the Large looked and fit like a work jacket should. If I sized down to a medium, it would fit more like a shirt. The material is soft and very comfortable, like a well broken in jacket. Although I do very little work now requiring such a jacket, it is nice having such a jacket handy.

June 17, 2020

Does what it says

I wanted something unlined to wear in warmer temps. As noted the jacket runs large but I sized down exactly one size and it was perfect. Otherwise this jacket is fantastic out of the box, incredibly tough and versatile, and looks great. Pockets are gigantic and superb for holding tools and parts.

June 17, 2020

Rugged And Comfy - Runs Large

I normally wear a Medium in all Patagonia gear (6 ft. and 165 lbs.) but, after reading the reviews, I opted for a Small and it fits perfectly. Enough space for a warm layer underneath too. Great for working outside at our casa - brambles, thorny bushes, etc. - and certainly a rugged jacket. Good value, quality construction, forward thinking company... Read More.

June 17, 2020

Perfect when getting a size down

I like the style a lot, not what I expect from Patagonia. Fits loose but not too loose as I got a size down. Pockets are very functional but doesnt look bulky. Seems like its high quality made.

March 19, 2020

HUGE

Great jacket but fit is super large. Fabric seems tough. Thread is thick but knit is loose.

March 8, 2020

Check size

Had the winter hemp coat. It ran very big so when I ordered this summer one was disappointed to find it almost a size too small from stated size. Have to return and exchange. $$$

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Jeff, we're really sorry that the coat was too small. Please note that we offer free exchanges within the US, and at this time you can generate a free shipping label through our online returns process.

March 2, 2020

Good Work Jacket, Runs Large

According to comments, I ordered down a size. I normally wear medium in Patagonia products, but the small works fine, some room to spare with layers on. I usually wear 38" - 40", so was surprised at the comfortable, generous fit. Received a couple of days ago, wearing for chores in and out of the barn. Temps hovering at freezing with 15... Read Moremph wind, good with sweater vest for brief tasks outside. Works well going into warmer barns without overheating.

January 1, 2020

Love the coat!

Love this coat but a word of caution, it’s way over sized. I’m normally an XL and the M is what fit me correctly.

December 31, 2019

Perfect Chore Coat

I bought this coat as a Christmas gift for my husband, who's been obsessing over it for months. The coat is everything he expected with its huge pockets and extra shoulder room for moving around. I expect he will have this coat for the rest of his life. He's between a medium and large, and I ordered a medium. It was a good choice. The coa... Read Moret runs a little large but in a seemingly intentional way. It makes room for extra layers underneath but still looks good worn alone. For reference, he's 6' tall and about 165 pounds.

December 3, 2019

Sleeves are a little long,

Sleeves are a little long, overall I like very much.

December 1, 2019

Great concept

Haven't worn it in the field yet, but the fit is such that I can get a fleece and baselayer under it. Would also work with just a t-shirt in warmer temps. Like the long arms and big pockets for work gloves or whatever. Looking forward to getting a lot of use from this one.

December 1, 2019

Comfy, but not the denim feel I wanted...

The fit was OK, a bit more relaxed than I'm used to. The jacket with the soft and flimsy hemp material, really seemed to hang and sway from my shoulders, where I actually felt the weight of the coat itself. In the end, I couldn't get used to it. Warm, but it lacks the rigidity of denim. When it's open, it flaps and flies open more t... Read Morehan I like. The collar is really wide and never quite lays flat. Might be perfect for some, but not for me.

November 16, 2019

Fantastic

Looks better than the pictures. Soft and comfortable. Plenty of room for layering. Durable and functional.

October 31, 2019

Exactly What I Wanted BUT

This is exactly what I wanted l. Material is spot on for what I was looking for. Not stiff like other branded canvas coats. The problem is it doesn’t just run big, it runs HUGE. I’m 6’3, 235 lbs. I could have fit my wife in this jacket with me. As a frequent buyer of Patagonia clothing, this is a first. It used to be that their XL’s would run tig... Read Moreht all over a guy of my build. Anyways, I will be sending it back for a Large.

October 21, 2019

Most comfortable work jacket ever!

The hemp material of the jacket is really comfortable from the start (feels like carhartt takes years and years) and feels strong and durable. I like that it’s unlined, you can always pair a layer under that’s the right amount of warm (in California that’s often just a flannel, but in the winter or when I’m home in Michigan I will wear my nano air ... Read Moreunder it and it’s perfect). Definitely runs big! I size down a full size from L to M and it fits like a roomy Large that you can layer under, but fits good in the shoulders and everything even with just a t-shirt under.

September 30, 2019

Jacket M

Great jacket but you should size down. I am 5'11 and 190 and take an L in everything. I read the reviews ... sized down to an M and it fit perfectly with room for layering,

September 28, 2019

Comfy canvas

I bought this for firewood hauling brush clearing etc. The canvas has a really nice feel not stiff at all so it doesn’t impede movement. Fits well and has useful pockets. I like that it is unlined I can add or subtract a sweater as needed.

September 27, 2019

VERY NICE!

Nice coat! Stylish and rugged, exactly what I need for fall/spring in New England! Large fits well, I'm 225lbs @ 6ft.

September 12, 2019

Great color, lines and texture

This is a really nice piece, especially for crossover, on the town "work". There is a lovely design touch on the inside of the hand warmer side pockets - a nice coating of soft fleece. My only suggestion would be to add a layer of that exact same fleece material to the inside of the collar. This would make the collar feel softer against s... Read Morekin and also make it more substantial so you could flip it up if you wanted to. This is a standard detail on many ranch jacket types. But overall, beautiful work here.

August 19, 2019

Too much jacket

I bought this jacket for cold-weather field work, but had to return it because it was much too big for me. I'm a 5'8", 155 lb dude with a 38" chest and found this to be too much jacket for me, even for the purposes of layering. I found there to be a lot of extra room in the torso, to the point that the jacket just appeared to ha... Read Moreng off of me. The sleeves were also at least 3" too long and would have required my turning back the entire cuff just to expose my hand. The jacket seemed very well made, though, and I really wish it would have fit me better.

August 15, 2019

Tough, Soft & Thick....

...overall I Just got the Chore jacket..it looks great and fits me perfect..now I did order a size down...I'm 5'10" and have a 38 waist and I'm well rounded from the waist up..I guess you could say I'm a barrel chested guy...and the weight is 235. The coat size I ordered was a largestill have room inside for a mid-weight it... Read Moreem...like a sweater, sweatshirt or even a insulated vest..like a Micro Puff one. The sleeve cuffs MIGHT be a little snug with an added inner item..... The coat is very soft....feels like a blanket when you put it on...I was very surprised how soft and broken in it is. Overall very happy with it and it looks like it is well made and solid..I will enjoy it for many years....VERY HAPPY I bought it!!

August 11, 2019

Better than a jean jacket

This replaces my jean jacket. It looks cooler (and better with blue jeans), has better pockets, and just hangs great on my torso. A little soft insulation in the hand warmer pockets and I am good to go with cool night dog walks. Also tough as nails.

May 8, 2019

Great Fieldwork Jacket

I bought this jacket for my fieldwork. As a hydrologist, part of my work includes bushwhacking through dense riparian brush, some of it thorny (blackberries). After using my puffy jacket for over a year, and risking it getting easily torn, I decided it was time to get a proper jacket for the job. My first day wearing it out there, it was snagged ... Read Moreby a thorn, but instead of the thorn pulling on the jacket, the thorn broke off and stuck in the jacket! I flicked it off, and continued on, smiling. The weather has warmed up, so I really haven't used it too much, as I overheat easily. But, so far so good. Note that this jacket runs large. I straddle medium/large for shirts/jackets, and the medium jacket I bought is bulky, easy to layer under. I'm 5'8", 190lbs.

April 1, 2019

Great Core Coat

I’ve been wearing this coat everyday since receiving it. The hemp came worn in and soft. Dirt repels off it. Love the look and detailing.

April 1, 2019

Great Core Coat

I’ve been wearing this coat everyday since receiving it. The hemp came worn in and soft. Dirt repels off it. Love the look and detailing.

February 2, 2019

Chore Jacket

This jacket stands head/shoulders over any other brand in quality, style, function, and pride. I own other well known branded “casual” /Active wear from Prana to ArcTeryx. This and the other Patagonia items I have stand against hardest of outdoor use and Sat night out with spouse. The new WorkWear line is brilliant. Customer service top notch. I... Read More ordered a Medium, it’s perfect. That line runs BIG. In this segment Patagonia has now eliminated all competition.

January 9, 2019

Too much fabric

I was hoping to like this— wanted a nice canvas jacket, not too warm. But I was swimming in this, with so much extra fabric. I got a medium. My height and weight are 5’10” 175 lbs. perhaps I could try a small but I don’t think it will be what I’m looking for. What I’d love to have is a jacket version of the canvas vest— that really fits perfectly w... Read Moreith the ideal amount of lining. That would be like a canvas version of a light weight leather jacket. The chore coat is just not that. Plus no zipper.

December 5, 2018

Runs Big

Jacket is amazing. Super solid construction that will last for years. It does run large though. I’m 6’1 and 185, and I almost always wear a large jacket (especially in Patagonia jackets) but I got a medium in this and it is perfect. I would suggest sizing a full size down if you are wanting to wear it as a stand alone jacket or with a smaller layer... Read More underneath it.

August 9, 2018

Great coat - great fit

Thx for adding 3XL sizing. It fits my big frame with room to spare for cutting wood, casting a rod, etc. The coat is soft to the touch and must fit and look good since my wife and all of my three sisters-in-Law all responded with a touch and “Oooo. I want that�...so be careful around mountain girls. Lol

April 15, 2018

Perfect multi-function coat

I have to lead off with a gripe: The last couple of years has seen a shift to skinny jeans and slim fit clothing. I'm 6'3' 260lbs,athletic shape. I have big thighs from skiing and rugby,and a wide upper body with the muscle you'd expect from someone thats done a lot of strenuous activity. I love Patagonia but the clothes are bei... Read Moreng made for little people. Finally the work line comes along. To the reviewers that complained that this is too big,its made for someone who does a lot of manual labor. It's made to do manual labor. The size is perfect and its a great looking jacket out and about or wherever you labor.

April 15, 2018

I altered it before I even removed the tags

I ordered this coat online from patagonia.com and was eager to try it on when it arrived. I live in the mountains of western North Carolina, and as the workwear is only available from Patagonia directly, I had nowhere to buy local or to try on before ordering. I've been buying Patagonia clothing since the 90's and have always worn either... Read More a men's small or a women's medium (until recently when the women's cut changed). When the Chore Coat arrived, I tried it on, and the fit was huge. I felt like I was swimming in it. I'm 5'4" and 155 pounds, muscular build. But I was going to deal with the fit. Everything was good until I put my hands in the handwarmer pockets. The handwarmer pockets are lined with microfiber that sticks to rough skin. I decided that it had to go because I can't abide pockets lined with that stuff. Before I even took the tags off of the jacket, I had taken a seam ripper to both pockets-I cut the pockets off, drilled out the rivets, removed all of the microfiber, stitched on some soft webbing to cover the bare edge of the pockets, and stitched the pockets back on. Once I took care of the pocket issues, I removed the tags, washed it hot to make it shrink a little (sure enough, it did) and now I've got a customized Chore Coat. Please, Patagonia designers, for the love of everyone that works with their hands (that tend to be rough from carpentry, welding, masonry, farm work, sewing, shaping surfboards, or whatever), please provide an unlined pocket on this coat, or at the very least, don't use microfiber. your pal, Matt.

April 8, 2018

Fit is so massive

Two stars for fit and not offering in XS. 5 stars everywhere else! I'm not a small dude. I'm fit,but I'm also 6' tall and 170lbs. The small is absolutely swimming. Seriously 6' of overlap on both lapels and it'd still be loose. I understand it should fit loose and free and easily move with whatever you're doing... Read More,and of course layering is important to stay warm as it's unlined. I just feel like a small child when wearing it. Maybe I'll get it altered but that seems kinda over the top.

February 13, 2018

Love this.

I rarely write reviews,but I'm so satisfied with this coat that I feel compelled to do so. It does run big,so heed the advice of the previous reviews and order a size down,seriously. I didn't. Ordered my normal size,L,and lo and behold had to exchange for a medium,which fits me perfectly (5'8" 180 lbs,bit of a stocky build). We&... Read More#x27;ll see how it endures the test of time and wear,but the fabric and design are beautiful and it feels/appears to be of the quality construction you'd expect from Patagonia.

January 31, 2018

Great chore coat

Looking for something tougher to layer over my light weight down jacket that is already getting snagged full of holes and this worked great. As with other reviews I ordered a size down and can still layer underneath with no issue. Jacket is much heavier then anticipated and I look forward to seeing how it stands the test of time. I look hope to try... Read More a pair of the work wear pants in the near future but am concerned due to the vast difference in sizing needed versus sizing sold.

January 27, 2018

Needs a hood

I love this coat. My wife and I live on a small farm in New Jersey,but one thing I would love to see is a hood,with the varying weather conditions a hood is something that is necessary for the elements.

December 22, 2017

Size down!

This thing is,as other reviewers of Iron Forge apparel have commented,oversized: I'm 5'11",159 pounds and normally wear a Medium; but having read those other reviewers' sizing comments,I ordered a Small - and,since I hate returning stuff,was relieved to learn it fits perfectly,even still allowing room for layering (e.g.,NanoAir ... Read Morehoody). Some other reviewer complaints concern the 'pilly' hemp/cotton/polyester material - but I figure this is perhaps semi-intentional: this jacket is heavy duty WORK gear,not technical apparel. The hemp blend has a soft,friendly feel to it - doesn't require break in,nor does it shrink in the dryer. I dinged the coat 1 star for its button front. My feeling is that Patagonia designers chose to cave to tradition (think 'trucker jacket') rather than the more user friendly option of a zipper. Overall,this thing is a modern,sophisticated take rugged work gear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches