Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Chore Coat

Write Your Review

4.47 /5

Filter Reviews

All 47 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Chore Coat

4.47
November 29, 2020

Tough jacket but huge

Based on other reviews, I got a small (even though I usually wear medium) and am glad I downsized. Haven't worn this much, but washed it once and seems like it will be a great jacket to work around the house/yard. Lots of big, functional pockets.

November 19, 2020

Rugged and Stylish

AT 5'10" Patagonia's L size has fit me perfect. Some have said to size down for a more tailored fit. If I sized downed with this jacket I would not be able to wear anything else other than a tank top. With this jacket I can wear a flannel shirt underneath comfortably. In the past I did very heavy manual labor, perhaps I might be a bi... Read Moret larger than average. I can say the new jacket is very comfortable just like a well broken in jacket.

November 15, 2020

Well built

Nice coat! snaps and buttons are heavy duty, fabric seems like it will last for a long time to come, not to heavy but definitely feels well made. Keeps in enough warmth for the fall, probably fine for short winter tasks without layering. This coat is awesome for layering, 6'3" 220lbs and the large fits just a little big(usualy size XL), f... Read Moreits thick flannel under it perfectly. Would recommend

November 7, 2020

All-arounder

Soft yet rugged. Utility with style. Runs quite large, so be sure to size down when purchasing.

November 7, 2020

Great for field work!

I wear this coat daily in my field work. Pricey but much better made than alternatives. Trust the quality.

November 5, 2020

B

Agile jacket and still durable

November 4, 2020

Utilitarian Gardening with Style

Soft on the skin, easy on the eyes. American gardening jacket has proven well so far. Many pockets for all of my tools, seeds, plant labels... Also great when I run into town on errands, farmers market or just relaxing. I cant wait till it fades to gray.

November 4, 2020

Fine Patagonia build quality

I bought two, one of each color in medium.... immediately washed them in hot water and dried them hot. The combination of poly and hemp cotton no worries about shrinkage. Purchase for casual wear they will likely outlive me. I live at 8660 ft in the Mountains of New Mexico and will will be perfect for light layering on some winter days... I will lo... Read Moreok good also. I assume based on construction and material weight that these are made for the long haul. Im retired so wont use them for work. Patagonia, enough said!

October 30, 2020

Durable and flexible

Ive been using this around the house this fall- everything from yardwork to woodworking and dog walks. Its breathable and takes a beating. Its warm enough with a light underlayer to keep you warm and protected in the 50s and 60s, especially if you are active. The hemp softens up with wear but still feels very durable. Lots of pockets- very much fun... Read Morection over form. Id definitely recommend this light layer for anyone looking for a tough and functional coat. I hope we see more hemp fabric from Patagonia moving forward- its awesome!

October 27, 2020

A full size down, at least

At 5'7" and 158 lbs., with a 43" chest, and 34" waist, I normally wear a relaxed-fit Medium or a Large (short, if available), but even with the Medium in this style, it was huge, and the arms especially long. The Small, however, fits great, and I even with room for a thin sweater underneath. Love it!

September 8, 2020

Super cool!

Love the details, check the hidden pocket for your phone. The texture is really nice and contemporary and the color could not be nicer, pretty neutral and works really well with jeans! My favorite jacket!!

July 11, 2020

Perfect

At 5'10'' the Large looked and fit like a work jacket should. If I sized down to a medium, it would fit more like a shirt. The material is soft and very comfortable, like a well broken in jacket. Although I do very little work now requiring such a jacket, it is nice having such a jacket handy.

June 17, 2020

Does what it says

I wanted something unlined to wear in warmer temps. As noted the jacket runs large but I sized down exactly one size and it was perfect. Otherwise this jacket is fantastic out of the box, incredibly tough and versatile, and looks great. Pockets are gigantic and superb for holding tools and parts.

June 17, 2020

Rugged And Comfy - Runs Large

I normally wear a Medium in all Patagonia gear (6 ft. and 165 lbs.) but, after reading the reviews, I opted for a Small and it fits perfectly. Enough space for a warm layer underneath too. Great for working outside at our casa - brambles, thorny bushes, etc. - and certainly a rugged jacket. Good value, quality construction, forward thinking company... Read More.

June 17, 2020

Perfect when getting a size down

I like the style a lot, not what I expect from Patagonia. Fits loose but not too loose as I got a size down. Pockets are very functional but doesnt look bulky. Seems like its high quality made.

March 19, 2020

HUGE

Great jacket but fit is super large. Fabric seems tough. Thread is thick but knit is loose.

March 8, 2020

Check size

Had the winter hemp coat. It ran very big so when I ordered this summer one was disappointed to find it almost a size too small from stated size. Have to return and exchange. $$$

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Jeff, we're really sorry that the coat was too small. Please note that we offer free exchanges within the US, and at this time you can generate a free shipping label through our online returns process.

March 2, 2020

Good Work Jacket, Runs Large

According to comments, I ordered down a size. I normally wear medium in Patagonia products, but the small works fine, some room to spare with layers on. I usually wear 38" - 40", so was surprised at the comfortable, generous fit. Received a couple of days ago, wearing for chores in and out of the barn. Temps hovering at freezing with 15... Read Moremph wind, good with sweater vest for brief tasks outside. Works well going into warmer barns without overheating.

January 1, 2020

Love the coat!

Love this coat but a word of caution, it’s way over sized. I’m normally an XL and the M is what fit me correctly.

December 31, 2019

Perfect Chore Coat

I bought this coat as a Christmas gift for my husband, who's been obsessing over it for months. The coat is everything he expected with its huge pockets and extra shoulder room for moving around. I expect he will have this coat for the rest of his life. He's between a medium and large, and I ordered a medium. It was a good choice. The coa... Read Moret runs a little large but in a seemingly intentional way. It makes room for extra layers underneath but still looks good worn alone. For reference, he's 6' tall and about 165 pounds.

December 3, 2019

Sleeves are a little long,

Sleeves are a little long, overall I like very much.

December 1, 2019

Great concept

Haven't worn it in the field yet, but the fit is such that I can get a fleece and baselayer under it. Would also work with just a t-shirt in warmer temps. Like the long arms and big pockets for work gloves or whatever. Looking forward to getting a lot of use from this one.

December 1, 2019

Comfy, but not the denim feel I wanted...

The fit was OK, a bit more relaxed than I'm used to. The jacket with the soft and flimsy hemp material, really seemed to hang and sway from my shoulders, where I actually felt the weight of the coat itself. In the end, I couldn't get used to it. Warm, but it lacks the rigidity of denim. When it's open, it flaps and flies open more t... Read Morehan I like. The collar is really wide and never quite lays flat. Might be perfect for some, but not for me.

November 16, 2019

Fantastic

Looks better than the pictures. Soft and comfortable. Plenty of room for layering. Durable and functional.

October 31, 2019

Exactly What I Wanted BUT

This is exactly what I wanted l. Material is spot on for what I was looking for. Not stiff like other branded canvas coats. The problem is it doesn’t just run big, it runs HUGE. I’m 6’3, 235 lbs. I could have fit my wife in this jacket with me. As a frequent buyer of Patagonia clothing, this is a first. It used to be that their XL’s would run tig... Read Moreht all over a guy of my build. Anyways, I will be sending it back for a Large.

October 21, 2019

Most comfortable work jacket ever!

The hemp material of the jacket is really comfortable from the start (feels like carhartt takes years and years) and feels strong and durable. I like that it’s unlined, you can always pair a layer under that’s the right amount of warm (in California that’s often just a flannel, but in the winter or when I’m home in Michigan I will wear my nano air ... Read Moreunder it and it’s perfect). Definitely runs big! I size down a full size from L to M and it fits like a roomy Large that you can layer under, but fits good in the shoulders and everything even with just a t-shirt under.

September 30, 2019

Jacket M

Great jacket but you should size down. I am 5'11 and 190 and take an L in everything. I read the reviews ... sized down to an M and it fit perfectly with room for layering,

September 28, 2019

Comfy canvas

I bought this for firewood hauling brush clearing etc. The canvas has a really nice feel not stiff at all so it doesn’t impede movement. Fits well and has useful pockets. I like that it is unlined I can add or subtract a sweater as needed.

September 27, 2019

VERY NICE!

Nice coat! Stylish and rugged, exactly what I need for fall/spring in New England! Large fits well, I'm 225lbs @ 6ft.

September 12, 2019

Great color, lines and texture

This is a really nice piece, especially for crossover, on the town "work". There is a lovely design touch on the inside of the hand warmer side pockets - a nice coating of soft fleece. My only suggestion would be to add a layer of that exact same fleece material to the inside of the collar. This would make the collar feel softer against s... Read Morekin and also make it more substantial so you could flip it up if you wanted to. This is a standard detail on many ranch jacket types. But overall, beautiful work here.

August 19, 2019

Too much jacket

I bought this jacket for cold-weather field work, but had to return it because it was much too big for me. I'm a 5'8", 155 lb dude with a 38" chest and found this to be too much jacket for me, even for the purposes of layering. I found there to be a lot of extra room in the torso, to the point that the jacket just appeared to ha... Read Moreng off of me. The sleeves were also at least 3" too long and would have required my turning back the entire cuff just to expose my hand. The jacket seemed very well made, though, and I really wish it would have fit me better.

August 15, 2019

Tough, Soft & Thick....

...overall I Just got the Chore jacket..it looks great and fits me perfect..now I did order a size down...I'm 5'10" and have a 38 waist and I'm well rounded from the waist up..I guess you could say I'm a barrel chested guy...and the weight is 235. The coat size I ordered was a largestill have room inside for a mid-weight it... Read Moreem...like a sweater, sweatshirt or even a insulated vest..like a Micro Puff one. The sleeve cuffs MIGHT be a little snug with an added inner item..... The coat is very soft....feels like a blanket when you put it on...I was very surprised how soft and broken in it is. Overall very happy with it and it looks like it is well made and solid..I will enjoy it for many years....VERY HAPPY I bought it!!

August 11, 2019

Better than a jean jacket

This replaces my jean jacket. It looks cooler (and better with blue jeans), has better pockets, and just hangs great on my torso. A little soft insulation in the hand warmer pockets and I am good to go with cool night dog walks. Also tough as nails.

May 8, 2019

Great Fieldwork Jacket

I bought this jacket for my fieldwork. As a hydrologist, part of my work includes bushwhacking through dense riparian brush, some of it thorny (blackberries). After using my puffy jacket for over a year, and risking it getting easily torn, I decided it was time to get a proper jacket for the job. My first day wearing it out there, it was snagged ... Read Moreby a thorn, but instead of the thorn pulling on the jacket, the thorn broke off and stuck in the jacket! I flicked it off, and continued on, smiling. The weather has warmed up, so I really haven't used it too much, as I overheat easily. But, so far so good. Note that this jacket runs large. I straddle medium/large for shirts/jackets, and the medium jacket I bought is bulky, easy to layer under. I'm 5'8", 190lbs.

April 1, 2019

Great Core Coat

I’ve been wearing this coat everyday since receiving it. The hemp came worn in and soft. Dirt repels off it. Love the look and detailing.

April 1, 2019

Great Core Coat

I’ve been wearing this coat everyday since receiving it. The hemp came worn in and soft. Dirt repels off it. Love the look and detailing.

February 2, 2019

Chore Jacket

This jacket stands head/shoulders over any other brand in quality, style, function, and pride. I own other well known branded “casual” /Active wear from Prana to ArcTeryx. This and the other Patagonia items I have stand against hardest of outdoor use and Sat night out with spouse. The new WorkWear line is brilliant. Customer service top notch. I... Read More ordered a Medium, it’s perfect. That line runs BIG. In this segment Patagonia has now eliminated all competition.

January 9, 2019

Too much fabric

I was hoping to like this— wanted a nice canvas jacket, not too warm. But I was swimming in this, with so much extra fabric. I got a medium. My height and weight are 5’10” 175 lbs. perhaps I could try a small but I don’t think it will be what I’m looking for. What I’d love to have is a jacket version of the canvas vest— that really fits perfectly w... Read Moreith the ideal amount of lining. That would be like a canvas version of a light weight leather jacket. The chore coat is just not that. Plus no zipper.

December 5, 2018

Runs Big

Jacket is amazing. Super solid construction that will last for years. It does run large though. I’m 6’1 and 185, and I almost always wear a large jacket (especially in Patagonia jackets) but I got a medium in this and it is perfect. I would suggest sizing a full size down if you are wanting to wear it as a stand alone jacket or with a smaller layer... Read More underneath it.

August 9, 2018

Great coat - great fit

Thx for adding 3XL sizing. It fits my big frame with room to spare for cutting wood, casting a rod, etc. The coat is soft to the touch and must fit and look good since my wife and all of my three sisters-in-Law all responded with a touch and “Oooo. I want that�...so be careful around mountain girls. Lol

April 15, 2018

Perfect multi-function coat

I have to lead off with a gripe: The last couple of years has seen a shift to skinny jeans and slim fit clothing. I'm 6'3' 260lbs,athletic shape. I have big thighs from skiing and rugby,and a wide upper body with the muscle you'd expect from someone thats done a lot of strenuous activity. I love Patagonia but the clothes are bei... Read Moreng made for little people. Finally the work line comes along. To the reviewers that complained that this is too big,its made for someone who does a lot of manual labor. It's made to do manual labor. The size is perfect and its a great looking jacket out and about or wherever you labor.

April 15, 2018

I altered it before I even removed the tags

I ordered this coat online from patagonia.com and was eager to try it on when it arrived. I live in the mountains of western North Carolina, and as the workwear is only available from Patagonia directly, I had nowhere to buy local or to try on before ordering. I've been buying Patagonia clothing since the 90's and have always worn either... Read More a men's small or a women's medium (until recently when the women's cut changed). When the Chore Coat arrived, I tried it on, and the fit was huge. I felt like I was swimming in it. I'm 5'4" and 155 pounds, muscular build. But I was going to deal with the fit. Everything was good until I put my hands in the handwarmer pockets. The handwarmer pockets are lined with microfiber that sticks to rough skin. I decided that it had to go because I can't abide pockets lined with that stuff. Before I even took the tags off of the jacket, I had taken a seam ripper to both pockets-I cut the pockets off, drilled out the rivets, removed all of the microfiber, stitched on some soft webbing to cover the bare edge of the pockets, and stitched the pockets back on. Once I took care of the pocket issues, I removed the tags, washed it hot to make it shrink a little (sure enough, it did) and now I've got a customized Chore Coat. Please, Patagonia designers, for the love of everyone that works with their hands (that tend to be rough from carpentry, welding, masonry, farm work, sewing, shaping surfboards, or whatever), please provide an unlined pocket on this coat, or at the very least, don't use microfiber. your pal, Matt.

April 8, 2018

Fit is so massive

Two stars for fit and not offering in XS. 5 stars everywhere else! I'm not a small dude. I'm fit,but I'm also 6' tall and 170lbs. The small is absolutely swimming. Seriously 6' of overlap on both lapels and it'd still be loose. I understand it should fit loose and free and easily move with whatever you're doing... Read More,and of course layering is important to stay warm as it's unlined. I just feel like a small child when wearing it. Maybe I'll get it altered but that seems kinda over the top.

February 13, 2018

Love this.

I rarely write reviews,but I'm so satisfied with this coat that I feel compelled to do so. It does run big,so heed the advice of the previous reviews and order a size down,seriously. I didn't. Ordered my normal size,L,and lo and behold had to exchange for a medium,which fits me perfectly (5'8" 180 lbs,bit of a stocky build). We&... Read More#x27;ll see how it endures the test of time and wear,but the fabric and design are beautiful and it feels/appears to be of the quality construction you'd expect from Patagonia.

January 31, 2018

Great chore coat

Looking for something tougher to layer over my light weight down jacket that is already getting snagged full of holes and this worked great. As with other reviews I ordered a size down and can still layer underneath with no issue. Jacket is much heavier then anticipated and I look forward to seeing how it stands the test of time. I look hope to try... Read More a pair of the work wear pants in the near future but am concerned due to the vast difference in sizing needed versus sizing sold.

January 27, 2018

Needs a hood

I love this coat. My wife and I live on a small farm in New Jersey,but one thing I would love to see is a hood,with the varying weather conditions a hood is something that is necessary for the elements.

December 22, 2017

Size down!

This thing is,as other reviewers of Iron Forge apparel have commented,oversized: I'm 5'11",159 pounds and normally wear a Medium; but having read those other reviewers' sizing comments,I ordered a Small - and,since I hate returning stuff,was relieved to learn it fits perfectly,even still allowing room for layering (e.g.,NanoAir ... Read Morehoody). Some other reviewer complaints concern the 'pilly' hemp/cotton/polyester material - but I figure this is perhaps semi-intentional: this jacket is heavy duty WORK gear,not technical apparel. The hemp blend has a soft,friendly feel to it - doesn't require break in,nor does it shrink in the dryer. I dinged the coat 1 star for its button front. My feeling is that Patagonia designers chose to cave to tradition (think 'trucker jacket') rather than the more user friendly option of a zipper. Overall,this thing is a modern,sophisticated take rugged work gear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches