Back to Product

M's Topley Jacket

Write Your Review

4.3 /5

Filter Reviews

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

M's Topley Jacket

4.3
null
January 4, 2020

Love it! Fits super rad!

Love it! Fits super rad!

December 26, 2019

Warm

Warm

December 22, 2019

NIce jacket, with good attention to detail, but not as warm as expected

Overall: good-not-great jacket that isn't as warm as expected. + Nice-looking coat that doesn't stand out in the crowd + Love the pockets. Side pockets for your hands (though they could be warmer), and barn-coat pockets where you can drop your gloves and hat. Also like the chest pocket for your phone + Draw string around the waist ensure... Read Mores the jacket fits well + Love the finish -- good in the rain + Great jacket in the high 30s and rainy - Not as warm as I expected. It's about as warm as the Patagonia down sweater with a hood. Don't get me wrong; that's warm. But don't expect to be warm in the low 30s or below for an extended period of time without additional layers - Keeping with the theme, this jacket ends at your waist, so not a lot of coverage. - Hood isn't as warm as the one for the down sweater, probably because the latter is tighter. I'd recommend this jacket, but not if you're anywhere that gets particularly cold.

December 21, 2019

Great jacket!

In the time I’ve owned my Topley Jacket, it has fought back the cold in a great way. It is deceptively warm...feels lightweight and like there’s not much to it, but it keeps the cold away amazingly well. Highly recommended.

December 16, 2019

Men's Topley Jacket, M

The jacket does an excellent job of creating two areas; the outside and the inside. Often times, the battle in the West Virginia Winter is with the wind, not the cold, but this nicely takes care iff the wind, at least on the portion of the body covered by the jacket.

November 30, 2019

It's a Very Nice Coat

Though I haven't had the coat very long I can say with all sincerity it's turning out to be the best Winter coat I have ever owned. The fit is perfect, it doesn't run small, as so many articles of clothing seem to do these days, and something that impressed me immediately is the sleeve length. The first time wearing the coat on a co... Read Moreld morning, when reaching for the steering wheel of my vehicle, I noticed the sleeves are cut a bit longer than what one might find in another brand of coat. This is more like a motorcycle riding coat in that regard as motorcycle coats have sleeves made intentionally long so they don't draw up the arms when reaching for the handlebars. It's really nice not having a gap of exposed skin between the sleeve and a glove with this coat, too. Overall, though there hasn't been much cold weather here, yet, what cold mornings we've had are not a worry since this coat is warm, is a good length, and does keep the wind and cold at bay nicely. Well done, Patagonia!

November 26, 2019

If only...

They made this jacket in a longer version. I love it so much I wish I had a version that was longer. It’s in a way the perfect short jacket but why can’t you guys make one like this in something longer. I don’t enjoy those three and one jackets I just wish Patagonia made old side length winter coats out of similar material to this Topley

November 26, 2019

Men's Topley Jacket

Great jacket - good fit, warm and waterproof

November 23, 2019

The jacket I've been looking for

Fits well, comfortable and effortlessly stylish in a utilitarian way. Feels like it'll last me a lifetime, and if not I won't hesitate to purchase again.

November 23, 2019

So far so good...

I’ve only worn it a few days and not when we got hit with Northeast winters just yet so I don’t know how well it handles sleet/snow or winter windchills. The one thing I will say is that it’s quite loud (as loud as my ski pants). Otherwise, it fits well and has great pocket space.

April 1, 2019

Brave all elements. However,

This a great jacket to brave all elements: water & wind. However, the jacket does not keep you warm in 30F or below temperatures. (especially with wind involved). I have worn the topley in nyc during the winter seasons and it does prevent wind and great with rain but I had to layer it with a down sweater to keep me warm while commuting around N... Read MoreYC. It fits true to size. I normally layer it with a better sweater when it’s cold (35F- 40F or down sweater when it’s extremely cold (Below 30F). One change I would like to see in this jacket is chest high pockets for the hands and lined with fleece.

April 1, 2019

Brave all elements. However,

This a great jacket to brave all elements: water & wind. However, the jacket does not keep you warm in 30F or below temperatures. (especially with wind involved). I have worn the topley in nyc during the winter seasons and it does prevent wind and great with rain but I had to layer it with a down sweater to keep me warm while commuting around N... Read MoreYC. It fits true to size. I normally layer it with a better sweater when it’s cold (35F- 40F or down sweater when it’s extremely cold (Below 30F). One change I would like to see in this jacket is chest high pockets for the hands and lined with fleece.

February 16, 2019

Very warm, great fitting, and stylish jacket

I purchased this jacket in January 2019 from my regular local outfitter in Cincinnati, right before temperatures dropped around zero degrees and stayed under 20 degrees or so for a couple weeks. This jacket fits great and is not bulky at all. I usually wear a t shirt with my Patagonia Better Sweater jacket under the Topley Jacket. The fabric is sup... Read Moreer durable and the pockets are very functional. I use this jacket at work when it’s 25 degrees or colder, as I’m in the car business and have to be outside retrieving vehicles often. I’m 6’4 height and weigh 210 LBS, and the large fits perfectly.

February 8, 2019

Exactly what I was looking for

I had some issues with a previously purchase Patagonia Parka, and so traded it in towards this coat. It's fantastic. As I was on vacation in the Pacific Northwest and planned to do many outdoor activities, I was immediately impressed with how windproof and waterproof it actually was. Perfect jacket for imperfect conditions.

January 30, 2019

Works Great for me!

Plenty warm and for wet Mid Atlantic 0-30 degree weather with proper layering . Love the H2No to keep me dry and the recycled down for warmth. Runs large. At 6'00 , 180 lbs I bought a large to accommodate layering , should have bought a MD. Thanks as always for a great product!

January 10, 2019

😔

I was excited to get this jacket as a very generous gift. Unfortunately, it’s been a big disappointment. The fit is bulky. There is a 4” section running up the front that is completely uninsulated. This actually creates a wind tunnel right up the front. The hand pockets are also uninsulated and don’t have a zipper or snap, so, kiss your wallet/keys... Read More goodbye. The sleeves just kinda taper away at the wrist as if they weren’t finished making them. I was hoping I’d find something to like about this jacket. Now I’m just stuck with it.

January 2, 2019

Weatherproof - not the warmest out there

Awesome jacket - definitely weatherproof from wind/rain, and great used with a base layer and another thing puffer (Nano puff jacket). I've used this jacket as my bombproof outershell for long filming excursions for work for weeks at a time (South Georgia and the Canadian Arctic). It's a great overall jacket with easily accessible flap po... Read Moreckets on the front for misc. small items and a nice fully weatherproof zipper chest pocket for more fragile things like memory cards, my phone, etc. It's warm for sure, but not meant for anything really below 20 degrees in my opinion. It gets drafty from the bottom as it hits around the hip and the hood is pretty big and floppy in the wind even cinched down. Overall for a wet weather daily jacket in colder wet climates, or used with lots of layers for active outdoor use. It is a heavier jacket and pretty boxy for what its made of and the lining and the down, so not the best for outdoor people on the move who need more lightweight/flexibility.

December 20, 2018

Men's Topley Jacket, Black, Medium

my wife bought me this jacket for an early Christmas present and I am stunned with it. I am 5'7", weigh 165-170 lbs and the fit is perfect. I have just enough extra room for an overskirt or light sweater if need be. I just went for my usual 2 mile walk in southern NH(32 degrees) and the warmth was amazing. the hood is perfect and needed n... Read Moreo adjustment today due to lack of wind; but adjusting it is easy thru 2 pull cords. Sleeves end nicely over my glove cuffs. Pockets are convenient. Zipper flawless. A quality manufactured product.

December 13, 2018

Quality Jacket, but not warm

Jacket s made from top top notch materials and is well constructed. It’s just not very warm however. I have jackets that cost half as much, are the same weight and much warmer. You would not want to be stuck in a broken down car or out in the woods with this jacket below 35 degrees. You’d freeze! My wife bought this jacket as a gift for me. When sh... Read Moree’s not around I don’t wear it because I have other jackets that are warmer.

December 10, 2018

An ok jacket

When I bought this jacket a year ago I had high hopes for it. After having it a full year I like everything above the look and feel of the jacket but the problem is that it just isn’t that warm. For a 700 fill jacket I expected much better warmth. I would say it’s only keeps you warm up to 20 (f). This would probably be a perfect jacket if it was w... Read Morearmer.

December 8, 2018

not warm enough, design flaws

The main pockets which are hip level would be better placed at chest level. Not only would this make the jacket slightly warmer, but it would look better. Also, there isn't much fill in this jacket. The hand warmer pockets aren't deep enough and don't close if you're not using them. Also the buttons on the front of the jacket ar... Read Moree cheap plastic. One already fell off after less than a month of use. The jacket is sized for people with narrower shoulders. I'm usually happy with Patagonia's products, but this was a disappointing purchase.

December 5, 2018

Fine product

I'm 5'11'' 175lbs, 34 waist size 32 pants, usually go for size medium for outerwear but got small this time. The result is a very sleek look with room for a light sweater. The fit is a slightly boxy cut not loose. I would say for the most practical use go for true to size. The jacket is surprisingly lightweight, and toasty aroun... Read Mored 40 with a long sleeve t-shirt underneath. The only complaint is that I, personally, would like the collar a little bigger.

November 24, 2018

Happy customer

The coat is solid. I wouldn't follow the sizing guide on this one and order a size smaller than you normally would. The only thing I could say could use changing is making the sleeve just a tad bit shorter but it's really not big deal.

November 13, 2018

Never felt this way before about an article of clothing

Plenty warm for me. In the wintertime, I’ll throw it on even without a shirt to let the dog outside or grab something from the car. In the 30s find myself comfortably warm. When I am wearing a layer underneath it, it’s even more comfortable. There is certainly space on the inside for extra layering if you live in colder climates. All the extra poc... Read Morekets are handy, and I love the waist length cut. The jacket is stylish, and fits well on my frame. (5’9 and 170lbs) I’ve had this jacket for around 12 months, and I am obsessed with it! The only negative I could potentially see, is that the front hand warming pockets are not insulated. If you were in some seriously cold weather and did not have mittens/gloves on, your hands could certainly get cold.

February 23, 2018

Not warm enough for winter.

I wanted a waist-length,heavy winter coat with a hood as an alternative to a parka-length coat that I love. Unfortunately,I have to agree that this coat just isn't warm enough. I tested it in 37 F weather,with a light breeze and 31 F wind chill. Within about 25 minutes walking outside my body was feeling the cold. The temperatures get much col... Read Moreder than that in the Northeast winters. I mostly like the design and color (black) but the pockets are small and the fit is boxy around the middle. I am a slim guy and would prefer a closer fit.

February 23, 2018

Perfectly urban

Happy to find the Topley - it fits my ideal of style,function and features,and a nice replacement for my late '90s Guide Jacket which was always too long for my 5'-2" frame. As for the reviews,while the jacket may not be the warmest available,its cut is roomy enough to accommodate a light fleece jacket or vest. And if weather conditi... Read Moreons require a down coat,good gloves will protect better than pockets just about every time. I feel fortunate that I got the Topley at Denver's Patagonia store at an unbelievable sale price - I could not have justified buying it otherwise. I love the jacket,looking forward to many years of use!

February 12, 2018

Good but not warm enough due to being hip length

I bought this with the intention of using it in temperatures of around 0c and wet Manchester conditions. With it being hip length it didn't keep me as warm as I wanted,so I've since got a tres 3in1 parka. The style is good but it's a boxy fit. The handwarmer pockets didn't keep my hands warm enough,Better microfleece is needed.... Read More

January 18, 2018

Love so much,just not as warm as I'd hoped

I needed a new winter jacket that would keep me warm in Colorado around town,walking the dog,going to work,going out on the town,etc... I love so much about this jacket,including the length,the hand warmer pockets,the front pockets,the look,everything - EXCEPT,I don't find it all that warm. It's more of a midweight jacket. I go out side i... Read Moren 30 degree weather and am chilly. It is also definitely a regular fit jacket and not the best for slimmer guys if you like a slim-fit.

January 2, 2018

simple quality

This jacket has a simple features and is made with quality materials. I look forward to wearing this jacket for years to come. I am proud to wear a Patagonia product!

December 25, 2017

Very good start

I was looking for a goose down filled jacket with a removable hood. I searched through multiple companies including Arcteryx,North Face,Canada Goose and Patagonia. This jacket came the closest to what I was looking for. I wanted the following: 1.) Down filled 2.) Removable Hood 3.) Rip stop type of outer shell 4.) Hip length (non Parka style) 4.)... Read MoreWindproof/Waterproof It was very difficult to find what I was looking for. Although I am very happy with Topley jacket,I do have recommendations including: 1.) Making the hood much cleaner and form fitting. It is a sloppy sloppy hood. 2.) Make the jacket more form fitting similar to the way Arcteryx makes their jackets. Athletic cut type options. This jacket is very bulky looking when on. Believe it or not there are not many options out there for goose down filled jackets (non parka length) with removable hoods. I am really not sure why companies are not crafting more options with removable hoods. If the Customer needs a hood they can buy from a large selection of different models tailored for that specific type of usage. Make more options with removable hoods and hip length and you will distant yourself from your competitors. Overall the jacket performs very well in cold,windy weather. I was just outside in 20 degree,windy weather in Pittsburgh and felt comfortable.

November 23, 2017

Worth it!

Expensive- yes but worth it. Bought this jacket as a holiday/bday gift for college student in the Northeast. He needed a warm jacket but did not want a puffer or bulky one. This one is perfect. It has down insulation on the inside without looking bulky on the outside and is incredibly warm. The detachable hood and loads of pockets will serve him we... Read Morell. No regrets on purchasing this one and only wish there was a women's version!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches