Back to Product

Ms Mountain Utility Pants

Write Your Review

4.56 /5

Filter Reviews

All 18 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Mountain Utility Pants

4.56
December 14, 2020

Nearly indestructible....

I use these for mountain rescue work, resort skiing, snowblowing/shoveling/yard work, and sledding with my kid. Have used them almost daily last winter and 2 months of this winter with almost zero wear to show. The medium fits me a bit loose at 510 160 with room for puffy pants underneath for colder days up here in Alaska. Minor manufacturing defec... Read Moret (stitched too close to the edge of the fabric in the crotch, but it was an easy fix so I chose not to send them back even though I know for sure Patagonia would have taken care of it) The outer material is super durable and has not worn at all despite multiple days of shovel hits during avalanche trainings and hard core sledding crashes in the yard with my 4 year old. I Do have to cover the Recco for my purposes, but thats typical. Note: - A bit heavy for me for backcountry skiing, but could certainly do it. -wetter snow does stick to the outer material so some extent. These things are an all around go-to for me and virtually bombproof.

March 13, 2020

Bomber on the slopes

Super dry, dry, dry.... warm, indestructible so far.

March 2, 2020

Too Long

These pants seemed like a perfect replacement for my 16 year old Primo pants. My normal pant size is 36"W X 32"L. The large size in these pants was too tight in the waist. The XL fit in the waist but were about 4 inches too long - they fit more like a 36" inseam. The internal gaiters were a little tight going over the top of my boot... Read Mores and the back of the waist seemed to ride a little low when bending over. Some provision for suspenders would be nice given the weight of the pants and the added weight of items likely to be carried in the pockets.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2020

Hi Rich, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the way the pants fit. We rely on feedback like this to improve products for future seasons so we'll pass this along to our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 29, 2020

so far so good. beefy

so far so good. beefy snow pants with good vents. the crotch is a bit tight when you squat down....maybe a refined gusset would help. also, if the thigh pockets were more of a cargo type (sewn onto outside of pant legs) it would help the over tight crotch issue a bit, cuz its definitely worse when these pockets are full. I miss the season pass pock... Read Moreet w/ a lanyard and the mini phone pocket on my old pants.....those two features were primo.

January 18, 2020

Fit could use some help

Pants are great. Built strong and easy to wear. Fit is a bit odd though. Tried a pair of mediums which is my normal size. They were too tight so I went to a large which looks like I’m a little kid in my dads pants. Would easily be 5 stars is the sizing was a little more consistent.

January 4, 2020

Great fit, super burly

These pants are built tough. They fit well and they pockets are in all the right places.

December 21, 2019

Bomber Ski Pants

These pants are super heavy duty. They're built to last, not built to be lightweight. I expect them to hold up to at least 10+ years of resort use and snowmobiling (350-400 days for me). I would not use them for hiking, snowshoeing, or any other highly aerobic activity. I'd also be hesitant to purchase them if warm, wet ski days were a re... Read Moreality for me (looking at you PNW). There are better lightweight, Goretex options for those activities. Fit, materials, and construction are all top notch. A+ product.

December 9, 2019

Thanks for bringing back the best pants!

The mountain utility picks up where the old Rubicons and Primos left off. The only pants needed for patrollers and guides. Burly fabric holds up. Waterproof, tough with great features. I did need to go up one size To M and my old pair are smalls which still fit fine.

December 8, 2019

Perfect ski pants

I’ve been skiing for 35+ years and have never had a pair of ski pants that fit better than the Mountain Utility Pants. Love the pocket placement, the adjustable waistband, and the fit. I have a great range of movement without the pants feeling baggy. Absolutely love them.

December 1, 2019

Narrow in hips/long in legs??

I purchased these for work as a ski coach. Love the durability and pockets put into these pants! What I'm not getting is the fit... I'm 140lbs, 5'8" and generally wear a 29-30 in. pant. I'm in decent shape for a 54 year old, but certainly not an Ironman athlete. I tried on the Medium and not only was it really big in the wa... Read Moreist, but the legs were REALLY LONG. Maybe 2 inches past my heals. Bought the Small and the length is great, but the hips are kinda tight. Not uncomfortable but just snug. I recently spent a week in Panorama, BC coaching for a week and wore my Nano Puff pant under them in 10F temps. These will be nice in warmer temps, but the fit is kind of strange. Really wondering what the designers were thinking here...

November 18, 2019

Awesome pants

Good to see P making these pants again!!! Loved mine for 13 years and looking forward to another 13 with these new ones!!!

November 14, 2019

Bomber Construction.

Amazing material for these pants, they fee incredibly durable. However, they just don’t fit me. I am 5’9” 165# with fairly muscular legs. I couldn’t choose between sizes so I ordered both the Small and the Medium, unfortunately neither was just right. The S was too short and too tight in the legs and the M was too long and baggy in the legs. I hi... Read Moreghly recommended these pants to a colleague and the fit him perfectly. I am stoked for him to have pants that seem like they could withstand anything you can throw at them. Thank you for building some pants with real substance to them.

September 13, 2019

Good idea but poor execution

I really wanted to like these pants but the quality and craftsmanship wasn’t quite what I’ve come to expect from Patagonia. I have an old pair of the Primo pants that these were going to replace. The cargo pockets are kinda small. My pocket knife doesn’t fit in the utility knife pocket. I would like to see side zips on the lower legs and a separati... Read Moreng internal gaiter. I don’t particularly care for the material but they are undoubtedly bomber pants, especially the scuff guards! I’ll keep my old Primos in good shape (thanks to Worn Wear) and I’m trading the Utility Pants in for the Triolet pants.

May 9, 2019

Tough Pants for downhill skiing

Durable pants with some features orientated towards snow professionals. At 5'10" and 160 lbs, the mediums fit fairly well and only drag a little without boots. There is no stretch and the inseam cut feels a little restrictive for all day skinning or backcountry use. I also worry about blowing out the leg vent zippers if skinning with them... Read More open. Some mesh here would prevent the zippers from getting stretched while open. As a ski patroller, these pants will be my 70/30 front/backcounty pants. As a mountain guide, these pants feel too ski orientated for climbing use. Overall, they feel like a good winter work pant that will last many seasons.

May 8, 2019

Bomber pants

The Mountain Utility Pants are exactly what I was looking for, and I was right. Heavy duty for working and playing in the mountains. Heavy duty for crawling around in the snow and ice, bushwhacking and ripping on the sled. Big side zips for cooling fast and I really like the knife pocket. Easy adjust waist, heavy duty material, stitching, cuffs, ... Read Morebelt loops etc. These should be in the Work Wear line. Should be great on winter SAR missions as well!

April 18, 2019

Suspenders

Great pants, everything I was hoping for. The elastic gaiter's circumference appears to be a little smaller than the pant making it thigh to fit when the boots are in climbing mode. Would appreciate a larger gaiter circumference to match the pant. Need suspenders for ventilation when going uphill. Doug from Iowa - where did you put the suspen... Read Moreders buttons in the front? Could you share a picture please?

January 29, 2019

Good Winter Work Pants

These replaced an old and separate pair of winter work pants that finally wore out. They are good to very good so far (could be great but time will tell). Plenty of pockets and in the right place for all the junk I carry while working outdoors in winter or full conditions, usually grooming with light, snowmobile equipment for nordic skiing. An exce... Read Morellent touch is the lining on the inside of the pants and on the inside of the pockets keeps layers from binding or gloved hands and pocket contents from getting stuck, snagged, or jammed. I like the sturdy material because it allows me to bring objects--heavy or abrasive--up against my legs in order to handle the object against my legs. The gaiters are good and preserve body heat. Pocket placement on the front of the legs makes things easy to get while my hands are full or occupied or if I'm sitting. It's nice to have a bomber pair of winter work pants. Only thing I'd like is if they made a bib overall version.

January 8, 2019

Winter Winners

Stylish tough skins! I wear a Crosstrek bottom under these. I am 5' 10" 190 and a 36" waist. The large move nicely and the adjustments I can make with the waist band allow using a comfy layer like the Crosstreks. You will never be able to destroy the scuffguards btw! These pants work hard and play everyday.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches