Back to Product

Patagonia Men's SnowDrifter Ski/Snowboard Jacket

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's SnowDrifter Ski/Snowboard Jacket

4.3/5
Kinda Large
March 19, 2021

Great jacket

Its a looser it which I really like. The effect for snowboarders who have to bend down to buckle up and find most jackets snug in the shoulders. This jacket is also great in really wet snow kept dry all day!!

March 18, 2021

Fit around my hips was the issue.

I have an "athletic" physique. The fit for me was too tight around my hips. XL was a little too tight and XXL too big. I really wanted the fit to work as I liked the item was good for what I wanted to use it for. It will be better when I can go to a Patagonia store to try items on before purchasing. That said, I use my gear until it'... Read Mores really worn out. One of the reasons I do own a lot of Patagonia gear.

February 28, 2021

Wetted Out

Brand new jacket wetted out after 30 minutes when snow turned to rain. Very poor vapor permeability.

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

Hi Richard, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your jacket wet through within the first 30 minutes of being in the snow. That is not the quality that we expect out of our waterproof jackets so we'd consider this a warranty issue. We've reached out to you directly with some further assistance!

February 1, 2021

A very nice jacket.

I bought this jacket sight unseen. I was not really worried about the quality of the product but was a bit concerned after reading reviews pointing how much larger than expected it was. It does fit a bit bigger than expected, but that is alright; it just means I can wear more layers under it. I was not really sure what to expect insulation-wise as... Read More I have other jackets that have an inner layer and an outer layer (with some insulation). This jacket has zero insulation. Again, that was more a surprise to me because I didn't get to try it out at the store (pandemic times...). It does an excellent job at keeping moisture out and I suspect it would work rather well as a rain jacket. The build quality is impeccable (as expected) and I do find that it looks rather nice on. I get compliments on the look of the jacket and how nice it feels to the touch. Mine is red in colour and it is a bit of a departure for me as I tend to prefer dark colours, but I love it. My wife and kids can see me from a mile away and it is a lovely shade of red. I am glad I ordered it because it is unique. I have had the jacket for 2 months that include several trips to the local tobogganing spot with my kids and paired with a down base layer it was perfect. Roomy enough and stretchy enough to never get in the way. It is perfect for snow sports. I am going to get my wife one as well.

December 28, 2020

Great jacket

Bought this for snowboarding. When it arrived the sleeves felt a little long. Once I added some layers for the mountain it fit great. Plenty of vents, great fit over my helmet on a cold and snowy day. I looked at over 100 jackets before deciding on this one. Its just about perfect.

July 13, 2020

Well made

The Mens SnowDrifter jacket is put together beautifully, with tight stitching seams from the outside and fully taped seams on the inside. I like that I can depend on the H2N0 fabric for keeping me dry in wetter snow flurries without sounding like a trash bag. The fabric is soft to the touch without feeling delicate and even feels comfortable when f... Read Moreully zipped against your neck and chin. Im happy with the size and location of all the pockets. Im not a weight snob and prefer the options when it comes to stowing away gloves, hats, gaiters, or other accessories. As for the fit, Im a hair under 6 165lbs, 41 chest 31 waist and 19.5 shoulders with a long torso. The medium fits me well around the upper body with room to layer an r2 fleece or other lightweight warm layer. Although I havent, it feels as a thicker layer of down wouldnt fit the upper body too well and would make for restrictive movement of the arms and chest. Generally, I dont wear thick layers when active in the snow so I dont think this should be an issue. The body I found a bit baggy and think it could use a diet. Even with layers it leaves a lot of room around the waist and stomach. The length feels long, although I realize this is to keep the snow skirt lower on the torso which ends right at my waistband with the end of the jacket about 6 lower. The sleeve length is good for activities where arms are out in front and dont pull away from gloves because of being too short.(they end middle knuckles when not cuffed) The sleeve openings are fairly large. They are big enough to throw the jacket on over a gloved hand when Velcro is undone. I tried the small because of the issues I mentioned and quickly realized the medium was a much better fit for me. If this jacket was offered in a slightly athletic fit (less room around the waist, and less volume around the lower arms it would be perfect. I cant really recommend this jacket to a stocky build since a Large on a shorter person would probably have the bottom of the jacket around mid thigh. Overall, I like the jacket and am happy to find a solid shell for the backcountry at a more reasonable price than many of the competitors. I expect to put this thing through the ringer this next season while splitboarding the Sierra.

June 6, 2020

Simple, clean, functional

I got a full snowdrifter kit this fall (bibs and jacket) and rocked em all season on the resort and in the backcountry. Can't find a thing I dislike about this jacket. At 5:11 155 lbs with a slim, athletic build the medium fits exactly as I wanted. The jacket has a great cut, falling down below my hips and the sleeves are long enough to cuff o... Read Morever my gloves. If I wanted a smaller fit I could swing a small, but I prefer to have some room for layers and comfort ( I rock the snowdrifter bibs in a small and they fit perfect) . The jacket is simple, but super functional. Great adjustable hood, nice high collar, and pockets where ya need em. The fabric on the snowdrifter kit this year is lightweight, super waterproof, and drys quickly. 10/10 for a waterproof shell. Its even replaced my rain jacket.

January 2, 2020

Great protection

I am really skinny at 5' 7" 130LBS and a small fits me great. I wear a synchilla sweater for my mid layer. The protection while on the mountain is excellent. You will stay dry and warm with this jacket. Best snow jacket I have ever owned. Really impressed with the quality and performance.

January 1, 2020

Awesome coat...

Awesome coat...

January 1, 2020

Made for snowboarding

I was amazed over the first 3 days at how well it works, starting from the top The cut of the face mask is incredibly accurate for snowboarding. The height of the chin protection is perfect. You also perfected the helmet tightening system sooo nice The body fit is great as well. I would like bigger zipper pulls, but I bet I can get them from a s... Read Moretore

December 16, 2019

Excellent shell

I recently purchased the SnowDrifter Jacket and had the opportunity to test it out in the rain on the second day - repelled the water nicely. The M is a good fit for me; however if you have short arms, stay away from this jacket.

December 14, 2019

Perfect Lifestyle Fit

Great jacket, I use with a base layer and my nano air hoodie. Completely comfortable from 40° down to 0°.

November 27, 2019

Great Jacket - Fits BIG

Awesome Jacket, once I sized down from what I normally purchase. The small fit gigantically.

November 1, 2019

SnowDrifter Jacket

Lightweight, comfortable range of motion in the arms and shoulders, nice length for snow coverage past the hips, functional wrist width for easy wrap around warm gloves, nice facial coverage when zipped up leaving enough comfortable room for the underlayer when zipped up too, a perfect shell for in resort, around town, or touring the back country. ... Read MoreOverall, a very well planned design.

November 1, 2019

Great, lightweight jacket

This jacket is lightweight, functional as a ski or backcountry layer. Fits great. Love it.

October 10, 2019

Ridiculously over-sized.

I guess Patagonia has adopted the Fat American sizing standard. I've always been a size Medium. 6' tall and 165lbs. This jacket in a Medium absolutely drowns me - like down to mid-thigh and sleeves to my fingertips. They didn't have one at my local Patagonia store so I tried on the PowSlayer and the Medium in that fit as expected. So... Read More either something's weird with this jacket's sizing or the quality control is garbage. Seems like a nice jacket, and I really wanted to support Patagonia because I like their ethos, but I'm not going to bother re-ordering a different size and will just go with Arc'teryx since their sizing is rock-solid consistent.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches