Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Barely Bra

Write Your Review

4.3/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 308 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Barely Bra

4.3/5
True To Size
May 13, 2022

Please please please bring back the old design!

I absolutely loved the old design. I have three from I think 2017 or 2018 that I still wear almost every day. They are finally wearing out and I bought the new design and am so disappointed. There just simply is not enough fabric. I am very thin with B cups and the band of a size medium barely reaches below my breasts. I am pulling it down constant... Read Morely. The straps are thinner too. It almost seems like I need a bigger size but it fits around me circumference-wise just fine. Im a pretty small person so I know I dont need to go up to a large. This is the only Patagonia product Ive ever disliked. Please bring back the old version, and soon! My three favorite bras are wearing out!

May 12, 2022

Comfy

This is the most comfortable bra I have ever worn! No more underwire for me. It hardly feels like you are wearing a bra at all but is surprisingly supportive for my Size B cups. I bought 2, tried for a day, then bought 2 more.

May 3, 2022

Great Design

For me, this bra is comfortable, attractive, and stays put. Easy and practical - I bought two!

April 27, 2022

ONLY FOR PETITES!

I usually wear a 36C, I am 5'4, 145lbs of curve and muscle with a lil fat over me. I ordered a size L according to reviews for this bra even though the chart said M. It is still very tight around the band and chest! I wanted something comfy yet stable to wear to work and this is not it. It does not fit well nor is the fabric soft. If you are a... Read More girl with muscle, a little fat, or just big bones and curves this is NOT for you, trust me, I wish I had listened to the other curvy girls! I do not think an XL would fix the fit of this bra for me either, unfortunately.

Response from Patagonia
April 28, 2022

Hey Shannon, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us on the Barely Bra. We're sorry to hear that the fit did not work out well for you, and we will be sure to share this with the design team. We do have some other bra options you can check out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-sports-bras). If you ever need specific garment measurements, feel free to reach out to our customer service team and we'd be happy to provide those to you.

April 22, 2022

Bring back the old version

I have several of these bras in the older version that I absolutely love. I purchased three more as my old ones were starting to get stretched out and worn looking. The new version is so disappointing! As other reviewers have mentioned, the fabric is scratchy and cheap feeling and the cut/sizing is nothing like the old ones. The fit is so much shor... Read Moreter that the band rides up uncomfortably under my breasts. I now have three $49 bras that I cant even stand to wear and I have started looking for bras from other companies to replace my old Barely There bras once they are no longer wearable. Im assuming the changes were made so that they are cheaper to manufacture. Customers are now paying the same price for a much inferior product. I expect better from Patagonia. Please bring back the old style!

Response from Patagonia
April 23, 2022

Hey Amanda. We are sorry our latest revision of the Women's Barely Bra missed the mark with you. Its latest redesign was in Spring 2018 so we may be seeing another redesign soon and with your input, you help the design team know what works for you and other customers out there like you. We do hope that all revisions make for better products, but it can upset those who preferred the previous design. Just know, your satisfaction with these is guaranteed and we welcome you to mail them back to us for return. Click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to start your return.

April 18, 2022

Very comfortable!

Very comfortable for a bra! Easy to get on and off!

April 10, 2022

Comfy!

I find this super comfy for low impact activities, as I'm on the bigger side. I wear it for yoga, hiking, kayaking, gardening and hanging around the house. According to the bra size chart, I should be an XL but I find the L fits better. I have some other similar "seamless" pull on bras that dig in around the arm holes over time. This... Read More one is comfortable through the whole day without overstretching either. I already have a couple but am finally getting rid of old uncomfortable ones in my drawer and treating myself to another of these that are so much better!

March 27, 2022

Very Comfortable

The Barely Bra is lightweight and comfortable. I love it for daily wear but also for jogging and yoga. It is more comfortable than more restricting sports bras.

March 15, 2022

Comfortable, versatile and looks/feels amazing

This is the Only bra I wear now. I wear it around the house, as well as for mountain biking, hiking, camping, backpacking, traveling and everywhere else. With this bra, you don't need any others because it's ideal for personal use as well as activity!

March 14, 2022

Active bra that stays put

I love these bras because they fit nicely and don't fall off my shoulders. I always remove the padded cup liners and wonder why they are included.

March 12, 2022

comfy

I dislike bras, but this is very comfortable, keeps the girls behaved and looks great

February 21, 2022

Ten years later

I bought 3 of these 10 years ago to take on the Inca Trail. This is my go-to bra for hiking, biking, and walking. Recently I needed a bigger size. I hope the two new ones last as long as the first 3!

February 7, 2022

Goodbye underwire, this is my new BFF

I'm a lean, 34A who does not enjoy wearing most padded bras for any activity. When I thought my go-to Active Mesh bra was being phased out, I decided to give this style a try. I was surprised at how comfy it is WITH or WITHOUT the padding. As a medical professional who lives in scrubs, I've actually gotten rid of all of my underwire bras ... Read Morefor this one! Now I wear one of these to work every day and I have never been better supported or more comfortable. I've also worn it for running and yoga - highly recommend!

February 4, 2022

Different than it used to be

This style used to be my absolute favorite, but please, PLEASE bring back the old fit and fabric! It's not as soft as it used to be, and it runs much smaller.

January 31, 2022

Not for the busty

I bought this hoping to have a more comfortable alternative to a sports bra for yoga, walks, or just around the house. Unfortunately it provides little to no support, so I will be returning it. Might work well for someone with smaller boobs.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2022

Hi Laura! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the lack of support you experienced with our Barely Bra. If you'd like to take a look at an option with some more support we'd suggest our [Active Mesh Bra](https://www.patagonia.ca/product/womens-active-mesh-sports-bra/32107.html?dwvar_32107_color=SSWA&cgid=root). Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so if you'd like to return you can get that started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 31, 2022

Everyday bra in every color

I now own this bra in 4 different colors. Nuff said. It is super comfortable and forming, so it looks like Im wearing a regular bra under a t-shirt or other more form fitting tops, but feels like Im not wearing a bra.

January 28, 2022

Favorite backpacking bra

I am a 34C and found the M uncomfortable because I just spilled from the top. The L gave me full coverage. Big plus is that I can wear this bra all day without it creating a tension headache. My go to bra for backpacking because its lightweight, comfortable and dries quickly overnight.

January 13, 2022

Amazing.

I have been purging my closet of wire bras and have added this to my collection. True to size, amazing comfort. I am a 34A and this fit perfectly.

January 12, 2022

Please bring back the old style!

This looks the identical to the old style (which I have been buying and wearing daily for years) but the cut is considerably smaller, and not in a way that can be remedied by sizing up. The band under the cups has far less fabric, making it ride up in a way the old style never did, and the straps cross the shoulders far closer to your neck making l... Read Moreess comfortable as well as more visible under clothes. Also the fabric is more synthetic and scratchy feeling. I've lived in the old style, but this new version just isn't the same - gutted to have to begin the search for the perfect bra all over again, as this one is no longer it...

January 2, 2022

Light weight, easy to wear

This is my go to sports bra. Light weight, easy fit. Not overbuilt.

January 2, 2022

Comfy... but not much support

It was comfortable. But I would like a little more support, the ladies just kinda sagged inside. I thought about sizing down, but I think the straps would be too tight then. Cute design, wish it worked better. For the price I want a "wow" bra, so I'm returning.

December 16, 2021

Comfortable

I would like a bit more support.

December 14, 2021

Bra review

I like these bras. They could be a titch longer for me

December 10, 2021

Comfortable & Supportive

I have more than one of these in rotation all the time. It's super comfortable, easy to put on, and works across various activities. It's my go-to bra and I highly recommend.

December 7, 2021

Super comfortable

Its so comfortable while practicing yoga and very well made.

December 4, 2021

Good Fit & Comfy

This is one of the few bras Ive ordered online that fits as it should. Ive had one for years which held up well, and wanted another for the gym and casual wear. Id definitely recommend it.

December 2, 2021

So comfortable

I love to wear this when I am not doing any high intensity activity. Lifting weights, rowing, walking, just hanging out.

December 1, 2021

Very comfortable

Very comfortable for all-day wear and light aerobics.

November 26, 2021

Runs small

I am a petit 5'3" athletic build with B breasts. I initially bought the M but it was just too tight but I generally can't stand tight bras or bathing suit tops. It still provides plenty of support for my small girls

November 20, 2021

Best bra ever

This is quite simply the best bra ever. Comfortable fabric that can handle a little sweat. Stretchy. Works as a nursing bra for small-busted people. Provides support. Straps do not fall down. Very very comfortable. I have only two complaints: 1) I wish it were not so expensive, and 2) the straps are visible under any moderately wide-necked or low-c... Read Moreut top because of the weird V-shaped straps. Despite these minor flaws, this is the best bra I have ever owned. The Barely Bra is not even close to a comparable product because the straps fall down, it provides no support, and it creates a weird ridge when worn for some reason. So if you are torn between the two, get this one. For context, I wear a 36B.

November 20, 2021

Thought I Would Love It More

I really had high hopes for this bra, and expected to love it based on mostly positive reviews and testimonials from friends. However, I don't love this bra as much as I thought I would. Pros: -It's breathable and soft -It's mostly comfortable (still glad to take it off at the end of the day though) -No visible seams or lines under... Read More t-shirts Cons: -The straps are short and the elastic around the band isn't very tight, so it rides up a lot. I'm constantly having to pull it down. -My bra size is 36A and I purchased a medium. It fits around the band but the cups are too large, and because of that the padding makes a conical shape (like bras in the 50s!). Not super flattering. -The cut is higher than I expected. I thought it would be much lower so that I could wear it under tank tops and lower cut shirts. But that is not the caseit seems to dip down a lot in the pictures but in reality it doesn't dip down at all. Also, the seam at the top of the dip is very large and itchy/irritating. Sadly, I wouldn't recommend this bra to someone of my body type (5'8, 135lbs, 36A). Hopefully others have better luck!

November 10, 2021

Comfy

Best coverage, stays put. True to size.

November 6, 2021

Perfect bra

Comfortable to wear, chest band and straps stays put - (forgiving of variable weight changes- 180-200#, 61. 38-40 B/C. Love the removable inserts for smooth coverage. Have worn this bra exclusively for 4+ years. Good elasticity 2+ years- still use old ones for less sheer shirts & round the house chores.

November 2, 2021

Love this bra, please make ones with straight straps

This bra is fantastic - comfortable, lightweight, keeps my look smooth, lasts all day. I can wear it climbing and it doesn't get out of position. But please make another version with straight straps (not the X style in back) so I can wear it with other shirts with wider collars without the straps showing.

November 1, 2021

So comfortable and supportive!

I love this bra. It fits well without pinching or bunching. I want to buy more!

October 31, 2021

Love this bralette

I want five more cause I am wearing it almost every day. I have a small chest and its exactly the coverage and light lift I need to just feel comfortable and like I can move but also show off my boobs. Haha.

October 30, 2021

Super comfy, shapely, mid-level support

For my 5'3", 130lbs, hourglass shaped-body, this bra is shapely enough for casual day-to-day wear, and also provides enough support + moisture wicking for my go-to activities: hiking + yoga. Ordered a small at first (my normal size) but felt a little too tight/short from shoulders to back, so opted for medium, which is a great fit. The re... Read Moremovable cups have stayed in place during washings too, which is an added bonus. Hands-down my new favorite addition to my underwear collection.

October 17, 2021

So comfortable

Wore this bra (and only this bra) on a month long backpacking trip. Didn't even have to take it off to sleep, really like it!

October 17, 2021

Comfort!

I ordered L because I hate a corsett-like fit. I'm about 31" around (34B). Love the non-constrictive fit. Can sleep in it for bike packing. Wash & Hang dry.

October 11, 2021

Comfy

This bras fabric is very comfortable. I dont catch myself pulling at it trying to loosen the band around my ribs which is nice. I wish the straps were adjustable though. My breasts are slightly lower than where the bra sits so I do find myself tugging it down occasionally.

October 8, 2021

short straps

I may just need to size up but the bra seems to work perfectly in every way except the straps being a big short- if there was some adjustability it would solve the problem completely.

October 5, 2021

Most Comfortable Bra EVER!

I purchased this bra as a replacement for the everyday bra from years past that finally served its last day. This is an amazing product, so comfortable! I went camping for 4 days and didn't want to take it off. Dries quickly, offers nice support, doesn't dig into shoulders or under arm area, and looks nice under shirts. Basically the perf... Read Moreect bra!

October 4, 2021

All day comfort

This is my 2nd barely bra. I love the minimal look which works for my small chest and low impact activities. Would buy again.

September 30, 2021

Favorite bra

Love everything about it. So comfy and supportive. Doesnt ride up, doesnt hurt, and doesnt lose its insert in the wash. Its the only bra I wear now.

September 30, 2021

review

Fits great, comfortable

September 25, 2021

Comfiest without sideboob

No sideboob, no severe compression, just all around comfort. The pads have to be rearranged after every wash but its a small inconvenience for a great feeling bra.

September 22, 2021

comfy

I have had trouble finding comfortable bras and this one totally works for me.

September 20, 2021

The fit rendered this bra completely useless

I took measurements based on the fit guide and orders accordingly. It seemed to fit putting it on. I wore it on my next 14er hike. I finally realized it slid all the way up well above my chest. I pulled it back down but it would never stay in place. Really bummed by this as I cannot wear it.

September 19, 2021

Super Comfy

Love this bra! Super comfy! I had a similar bra from a different company that stretch out. I would highly recommend this bra to someone like me who has a smaller bust.

September 15, 2021

Runs small!

I feel like the sizing is off - this version definitely runs small, at least on me. I'm 5'8, less than 120#, roughly 32C or 34B. BOTH the small and medium are too small/tight on me. I have older versions of this bra - first in small, a later version in medium - both fit me the same, comfortably. I will try a large, though that seems almos... Read Moret illogical to me (and I'm guessing it will be big).

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Hi Joanna, sorry to hear about the fit issue. Feel free to return or exchange and if you find the large doesn't work either, you're welcome to send that back in too. You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

September 12, 2021

comfortable, light weight

I really like this bra for hiking hours in hills. I barely feel it...My only negative and it's almost a question is when I wash it, the foam pads often slide over to one side....I have to move one back to the other side...not sure why they are allowed to do that vs. sewing a barrier between the two sides.

September 12, 2021

Its a great bra

Very comfortable its my favorite bra I have one in blue too. I like it for hiking and travel. It fits tru to size

September 10, 2021

Comfy

I have two of these. One from a few years ago (size L) and another one purchased recently (needed an XL). You may want to size up if youve had one of these in the past. Im 59 , 180#, athletic. The exchange was flawless. Patagonia can give lessons to other retailers on customer service. Thank you for being a solid stand up company we can count on.

September 7, 2021

Nice Comfy fit

It's comfy and true to size

September 3, 2021

Comfy!

Loved the color and very comfortable

September 2, 2021

Not enough support

I got this bra to use for working out and gardening. I am a 38C, and need a bra with more support than this one. I also didnt realize that it was a slip-on style with to adjustable closure. So, even though the color and material were nice, this wasnt for me.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2021

Hi Thea, sorry to hear that the Women's Barely Bra wasn't giving you the support you needed. We want you to be comfortable and if the Barely Bra isn't working for you, please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

September 2, 2021

Praise the gods for this Barra!

This is my go to. After getting my first one, I ordered two more to replace ALL bras. The most comfy, versatile bra you will find, just wish the cups were sewn in!

September 2, 2021

barely bra

Super comfortable for yoga, running, and hiking. Easy to get on and off, though I got a large which is a size larger than I usually get in a running bra.

September 2, 2021

Great all-around sports bra!

Super comfy and supportive. Probably wouldn't do high-impact exercise in it, but my daily go-to! Padding is minimal and removal, which is a plus!

September 1, 2021

Has a few quirks, but nice overall design.

Just as with previous designs, the tag is very scratchy and annoying when working out (even when cut off). To avoid this, I wear them inside out, but this model has a bulge of material in the front when worn inside out. Seems like could be an easy fix by Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the irritating label. We recommend [removing it completely[(https://www.wikihow.com/Remove-Clothing-Labels), and if you're not able to do that, we will be happy to help you return it under our Ironclad Guarantee.

August 24, 2021

Love the Barely There bra!

I ordered a large, even tho I am a small woman, because a medium was tight and I don't like things binding me. It is super comfortable and works great with racer back tanks, which I wear pretty much all summer. Wish there were more color options. Also wish you would bring back a racer strap bra I bought at REI about a year and a half ago...has... Read More a less fitted front, but is very comfy for working on trails and in the woods and on the farm. I don't know the model name but I don't see it in your bra collection any more.

August 22, 2021

Most comfortable bra I own

Wore this 3 days straight while backpacking the Grand Canyon Rim-to-Rim Trail in August. The moisture wicking worked perfectly. It felt so comfortable I didn't even take it off to sleep!

August 20, 2021

Favourite bra

This is by far my favourite bra I've ever worn! This is my 4th one I've puchased.

August 20, 2021

Okay bra for light sports..

I needed a sportsbra that would actually dry quickly, fit well (I have broad shoulders, small cups), and this seemed to fit. But here are the downsides: straps arent adjustable so it rides up a bit. And biggest downside the front esp. is TWO layers thick, so it absorbs moisture then takes forever to dry. What I REALLY want is for patagonia to bring... Read More back the old barely bras the VERY old ones that were super minimal and just one layer all around. A tiny piece of fabric but that fits just right, for those of us who dont have huge chests and just want some basic coverage. Like, from 2007 or so. Not a bandeau design, something curved that actually covers. Please and thanks.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2021

Hey Jackie, thanks for the review on the Barely Bra. We'll pass your suggestions along to the appropriate team members. You might be interested in checking out our [Women's Active Mesh Bra](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-active-mesh-sports-bra/32107.html?dwvar_32107_color=BLK&cgid=womens-socks-underwear) in the meantime. It has more of a streamlined, simple design.

August 20, 2021

really comfy!

Love the way this fits! So much so, I bought three of them!

August 19, 2021

Ridiculously Comfy

I stumbled across this bra at a local climbing store apparel sale and bought it on a whim. After wearing it for a few climbs and workouts, I immediately bought two more! The fit is extraordinarily comfortable and it works for both exercise and casual wear. I highly recommend this bra, especially for those of us whose bosoms are on the meagre side.

August 18, 2021

Very comfortable

I have thoroughly enjoyed this bra. Its great for around the house when you want just a little bit of support.

August 16, 2021

Very comfortable

I like to wear sport bras, but dont like the uniboob look. The barely bra has just enough separation that it looks like a real bra. I purchased 2 colors and love the material as well.

August 12, 2021

Barely Bra

I hate being restricted in activities and I dislike molded cups in a bra. This one is comfortable on all fronts. Washes well and lasts.

August 12, 2021

Love It!

Love this bra for light to moderate impact activities. The material is supportive, but still stretchy enough to be able to easily take it off after a workout & there's enough padding to offer the coverage I want without feeling really bulky (& the pads are really easy to remove & put back in after washing).

August 11, 2021

moisture wicking perfection

Night sweats are a NIgHTMARE! Thrilled to report this soft, light bra is my HERO for summertime sleep. Paired with matching bikini bottoms, I get 8+ hrs per night.

August 11, 2021

Stretched out

The first 3 of these bras I purchased are perfect. The last 3 have stretched out at the band around my ribs so badly that the bra rides up under my breasts and therefore doesnt do its job. Maybe the manufacturer is using a different product.

Response from Patagonia
August 11, 2021

Hello Sarah, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the bra and are sorry that half of them are not holding up. Our products are covered by the Patagonia Ironclad Guarantee so you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any items that you are not satisfied with.

August 5, 2021

I have 5 of these now!

These are my favorite ever. I'm an NPS backcountry ranger and I hike every single day. I wear these comfy bras daily in the summer and winter, and no matter how sweaty you get, they dry super quick. I'm an A cup, and I think they're great for a low support and comfortable option.

August 4, 2021

My go to Bra

I just love this bra . Its my daily go to bra . Perfect for hiking , yoga and everyday use

July 28, 2021

Not recommended for athletic build

I'm in that unfortunate size range between small and medium (5'4", 128 lbs) due to my athletic build. Bras are especially difficult because my band size is 34 (B cup) but my shoulders are quite broad, resulting in uncomfortable pinching in the armpit area. I tried on both a small and medium in the store -- the small felt properly snu... Read Moreg and the medium felt a bit too loose. The material itself is stretchy and forgiving, and I was hoping that this would help with the armpit pinching. However, after a week of hiking, the bra straps would not stop digging into my arm/chest (I had red marks and may have chafed if I hadn't lubricated the area) and the band kept riding up. It was difficult to ignore. I suspect this would be a great bra for someone who has narrower shoulders and perhaps a smaller cup size. Reading the reviews, I agree that adjustable straps would greatly improve the wearability of this garment for those of us with broader shoulders.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2021

We're so sorry this wasn't the proper fit for you Marisa. You may prefer our [Women's Cross Beta Sports Bra](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-cross-beta-sports-bra/32090.html).

July 27, 2021

Great for broad shoulders!

This is the only bra my daughter will wear. It fits her broad shoulders and stays cool and comfortable for multi-day trips in the backcountry.

July 24, 2021

soft and comfortable, but runs small

I initially bought an extra small, per the size/fit guide, and it fit when I tried it on but after wearing it for a short period of time (maybe 2 hours) it was cutting into my shoulders and became so painful that I had to remove it. I ended up giving it away. I re-ordered it in a small, which fits much better. I have been able to wear it for a whol... Read Moree day without it bothering me. For reference, my overall size is XS and I normally wear a 30/32A.

July 18, 2021

Comfortable fit, good support

This bra fits and wears well. Its the fourth Ive bought in this style. I dont need much support and it seems to do a fine job. Was surprised that I needed an extra large at 150 lbs and 36B bra size, but thats OK as it fits as well as it does.

July 17, 2021

Please add adjustable straps!

Ive worn these bras for years, super comfy, but the straps seem to be getting longer with each new version. So, not really providing any support. Please, please add adjustable straps to the next model.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2021

Hey Jean, thank you for the review on our Barely Bra! We double checked the measurements from the last few years and it doesn't look like the strap length has changed. If you'd like to exchange for a size down, you could begin that process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 16, 2021

Too small

I'm typically XS-S top, NEVER medium; the small was way too tight even with the padding removed. The straps were too short for my short torso. I guess I'll try a medium?

July 15, 2021

Straps are too short

There is a lot that is nice about this bra, but the straps are too short so it constantly rides up. That didn't work for me, so I returned it. I would love to see some adjustable straps here.

Response from Patagonia
July 16, 2021

Hi Lori, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're really sorry to hear to hear about the disappointment with the straps. However, the feedback is truly appreciate as its how we improve products for future seasons!

July 8, 2021

Comfortable bea

One of the best bras for bumming around. Not for working out if your bra size is a B or bigger

July 8, 2021

Good description of the feeling when wearing.

I also bought this bra in black. It fit much better than the beige. I think there may be inconsistency in sizing.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hi there, thank you for this feedback and we are sorry to hear if you feel there are any inconsistencies in the sizing. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that back that didn't fit well and we are happy to issue a refund.

July 6, 2021

The best everything bra

This is perfect for any no- or low-impact wear, from WFH to weight lifting. It's also great for travel. When sitting for long periods, like on road trips or on airplanes, I really dislike bra clasps and other hard wear in my clothing: This bra has no such irritants. It washes well, and air dries fast. I have a couple that have seen near-daily ... Read Morewear since the pandemic started and still look great.

July 5, 2021

Nice looking but not as well designed as previous year's design

I have four bras of this same design but from previous years. They all fit find. Were comfortable, did not ride up and did what I wanted them too -- fit well, look nice under clothes and be comfortable. This year I bought two of these bras. I had read reviews for this year's design that mentioned dissatisfaction with the new design, but though... Read Moret they might be over sensitive or something. This new design is very similar to the previous version of this bra in a-presence and basic design but there are differences that I did not expect from a Patagonia product. One good change in my view is that the bra is a bit scaled down overall. Initially I liked the fact that it fits to give a very natural look to the bust. Previous design gave more of a busty (if that is appropriate word) appearance. The new style is a bit more modest and I felt more comfortable with that feature. The bra felt like a natural extension of my body. But, this new design rids up a bit where the bras from previous year did not do so at all. This is very annoying for active use, yoga, kayaking, even biking or plain walking. The fabric though nice looking is itchy at times, especially this summer in the heat. My hope is that Patagonia will keep this bra in their line but look closely at the features of previous bras that made the chest band so comfortable and securely stayed in place, and reincorporate design elements, fabrics or manufacturing into next year's style. Otherwise I know that I will not be buying this bra again. Thanks.

Response from Patagonia
July 12, 2021

Hello Sara, we appreciate you taking the time to share the detailed comparisons between the current and past versions of the Women's Barely Bra. We value your satisfaction and you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under our Ironclad Guarantee.

July 2, 2021

Perfect bra

I have no need for structure bras as an older woman traditional bras gap. And sports bras give me uniboob. This bra looks good under a tshirt or a sundress. Very comfortable and breathable fabric. I live in Texas and thats extremely important.

July 1, 2021

Short Straps

Awesome color and amazing breathable fabric, it's pretty comfortable, I wear it around the house and forget that I have it on.

July 1, 2021

Never Taking Off!

So comfortable! Have bought multiples now. I forget I am wearing it, to the point of sleeping in them too. Have 36DD and L fits perfectly. No readjusting or riding up etc. Also doesn't create uniboob. Recommend!

June 24, 2021

Super comfortable

This is my go-to bra. I wear it to exercise with or without a shirt, dress up, and even as a swim suit top. Super comfortable. Wish there were more colors and patterns.

June 24, 2021

Very small

I use other Patagonia bras on size Medium but this one was way too small.

Response from Patagonia
June 29, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback on the sizing. We are sorry to hear that this ended up fitting smaller than your other bras. Please feel free to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this to us.

June 21, 2021

Perfectly comfortable

As a stroke survivor, I need abra I can get into and out of with one hand. This bra is just that, with enough support and coverage to wear on its own. It also washes beautifully. Bravo!

June 10, 2021

New favorite

I love several of the Patagonia bras, but I wanted one that bridged work/casual and more active wear. This one is perfect IF you get the right size. Based upon the reviews I read, I decided to order the Large, which was the right call. Typically I wear a M in Patagonia sports bras (36 B).

June 10, 2021

Love this bra!

This bra is so comfortable. I really want to purchase more of them. I bought it for an upcoming hiking trip but tried it out at home. Wow! Love it!

June 4, 2021

I live in this bra now

I wear it around the house, while backpacking. It's so comfy! I pretty much only wear a different bra if I'm running.

June 3, 2021

Best bra!

My first try at this style bra. I have a large rib cage and a small B bust. This XL fits perfect and I will order more!

May 29, 2021

Great but

This bra almost hit all the pluses. The straps don't slide off my sloped shoulders, my boobs don't slip out like in some bralet style bras, and it gives the right amount of support, BUT add me to the folks who'd like adjustable straps. The straps are just a bit too short for my longer torso.

May 19, 2021

Imagine: a comfortable bra for hiking!

I dont like wearing super support bras for hiking. Ive had success with every other Patagonia product, so I thought Id try the bras. Im elated. It fits comfortably and the straps cross in the back preventing them from slipping. Honestly, the bra stayed comfortable for hours. It never felt tight. It never felt sweaty. Highly recommended. Im going to... Read More buy more colors!

May 17, 2021

Appropriately Named Bra

I struggle to wear bras. Like, always have and always will. Being large around the rib cage but having a small cup size makes fit almost impossible and the tight bands drive me *nuts* beyond an hour or so. But sometimes I just feel like I need to wear a bra... Certain shirts, jogging, MTB, etc. My go to is usually to just wear a compression crop wi... Read Moreth no band, but this bra works for me when I don't want to be compressed down to completely flat. I honestly rarely care much about the stigmas of being braless or looking flat chested, but it's nice to have a flattering option for the times that I do care. Barely there is the only kind of "there" you're going to find me in when it comes to bras.

May 17, 2021

Perfect!

Absolute perfection. Straps dont slide down my shoulders, great support and extremely comfortable.

May 17, 2021

Good but I'd change one thing

This is a good sports bra. Breathable and supportive with out being too much. If I could change just one thing I would make the straps adjustable because they are a little short for me...

May 16, 2021

Perfect low-key bra

Love the green color. I removed the pads for a better, more comfortable fit. I wear it around the house, on walks, yoga, and hiking. It feels the gap for me between a running sports bra and a bralette. Plus it's cute enough to peak out under tanks, etc.

May 15, 2021

Not for the athletic build.

I'm 5'5", 125lbs and a 36A and the medium was too small. I've never worn a large in my life and I think I'd have to wear a large in this bra. I had a medium in another Patagonia bra and felt confident buying a medium in this style so I bought two. Fortunately I kept the tags on one so I was able to return it but I'm fi... Read Moreghting through wearing the second one. I love Patagonia. You can't expect everything to be a perfect fit and that's ok.

May 9, 2021

Please bring back the old design and fabric!!

Like others, I miss the old Barely Bra. The current one is a mere shadow of the older one. The new fabric is thinner and the new design is less supportive and just all around not as good. This one rides up on the underside of my breasts, which my (same size) old Barely Bras never do. I can't go up in size since I am in an XL already. I am ha... Read Morenging on to my vintage Barely Bras and hope they don't wear out much more. They are far superior to the new ones. And don't tell me I can send back the new ones because of your Ironclad Guarantee. Who cares? That's not the point. I just want you to bring back the old design and fabric, like all the other customers who miss the old version of this bra.

April 30, 2021

THE bra

This bra is fantastic. Its light, not so tight that constricts you, and the ruching in the center contradicts the sports bra 'uniboob'. I was worried about the ruching and the floral pattern, to me at first it looked like a grannie bra, but give it a go. Its comfy, pretty, the do anything bra. Love love love.

April 24, 2021

Its a bra I can live with

I hate bras. I havent worn one since the 80s but gravity is always there. So I finally had to give in. This is the only bra that I can wear all day. I still dont like them, but I can live with this one

April 23, 2021

Best bra

Most comfortable bra - I have 3. I don't run in it or do vigorous activity but for an around-the-house bra or for yoga / climbing / other lower-impact activities is it PERFECT. 10/10 would recommend!

April 23, 2021

Super Comfortable

This bra is the best solution for smaller-breasted women. I can not find well-fitting bras in traditional selections. This fits well, is comfortable, and is modest, unlike some 'stretchy' types. It stretches out a bit after wearing for several days, but washes well and returns to original fit. It does show a bit in certain clothing, but I... Read More have simply embraced the attitude of the younger generations, that peaking out underwear is acceptable.

April 10, 2021

Secretly Amazing Nursing Bra

Now that I'm nursing a little one, I've experienced an amazing process of closet rediscovery and this bra is The Jackpot. For as many nursing bras as there are in the market, this sports bra hits all the marks. Lightweight, comfortable, secure but not binding, and enough coverage to accomodate absorbent nursing pads. My boobs have balloon... Read Moreed to a C-D cup and the medium fits great. For my pre-baby B-cup boobs, the medium was a little big but still fit well enough for exercise and normal activity. I have it in the almond/beige and the turmeric color and can't wait to get a third in black or something fun!

April 2, 2021

Very comfortable, especially the straps

My yoga teacher recommended this bra after I complained to her about mine. Just put it on and yes, it's very comfy. I'm sized b-cup and I like that it has the soft cups, they fit me well and give me some shape and modesty. Just bought several more (at REI since they are sold out here) and hope these will come back, not be phased out like ... Read Moreseveral other of my favorite Patagonia products.

March 28, 2021

Favorite bra, but need new padding inserts

I bought two Barely bras in May 2019 for a backpacking thru hike that summer. I love them so much I wear them all the time, for exercise and everyday. However, a few months ago, the padding in both of my bras started coming apart and it's gotten worse, so that now the padding is almost impossible to make lie flat inside the bra. Is there a way... Read More to get replacement pads for the bras? The bras themselves are still in decent shape, so I don't want to have to buy a whole new bra just because I need new padding. By the way, I know I can buy bra pads online but I want the Patagonia ones designed for this bra specifically so I know it will fit perfectly with the bra. I don't like to wear the bra with no padding, I need the coverage.

March 27, 2021

Comfortable with support

Love this bra for casual wear and for work under dressier shirts. I normally wear a 32B and the XS was a great fit. There is just enough support and shaping so I do not look flat. I love the fit because it does not dig into my shoulders like some other bras I own. There is probably not enough support for running, but this is great for around the ho... Read Moreuse and at work!

March 26, 2021

Fabric too itchy

Love the concept of this bra for everyday wear, and it fits true to size, but unfortunately I find the fabric to be slightly too abrasive to be comfortable for more than 2 hours.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Hi there, thanks for the feedback on that and we are sorry to hear that this isn't comfortable for long-wear. If you decide you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back because you aren't loving it, please feel free to do so.

March 25, 2021

Comfortable and flattering

This is pretty much the perfect little bra. Its a kind of hybrid everyday/sports bra; truly supportive but not smooshing or overly-compacting. I wear it every single day, and Im surprised that it holds up so well , especially considering its light weight and non-muscular construction. I wear it with or without its padded inserts. To love: no under... Read Morewires & no beefy elastic but good support and a natural (non-flattening) fit. I hope youll bring the light lavender color back! I miss it! It was a great shade for under sheer whites - complimentary without trying to be invisible. The only downside is that its too expensive. Seriously.

March 24, 2021

Comfortable

Love these bras. I own three. Keeps me in place without chafing when being active.

March 20, 2021

New Design is Tiny and Cheap

I have several of these in the older style. I ordered a replacement when I lost a color I liked on vacation. The new style is tiny compared to the old- sizing is way off. I'm a 5'8, 140 lbs and a 34C, and needed a Large, which barely fits and still smashes everything a little too flat. The originals I own are all Mediums. The new one also... Read More feels thinner and cheaper. Patagonia does this all the time. Disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Thank you for leaving us a review on our Barely Bra. We're sorry to hear that you feel like the quality has declined on these, we've taken note of your criticisms and have passed the word on to the appropriate teams. If you'd like to size up and start an exchange, or if you'd like to begin a return, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 16, 2021

needs a little more material

I like this bra, but it needs just a bit more band material at the bra line for a better fit.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Thanks for your feedback Donna! Please let us know if you'd like to return or exchange it. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 12, 2021

far inferior to the old Barely Bra

Patagonia, please bring back the old Barely bra from 2016! (The ones where the front straps are one piece rather than split where they attach to the cups.) I still have several of these and the chest band area is so stretched out that the fabric actually flares out in places, yet they somehow magically stay put and still provide some support. I&#x2... Read More7;ve never found another bra that has this design, and it is supremely comfortable. The only reason I'm hanging onto such sad looking bras is that I literally can't tolerate any other bra now. And unfortunately the new Barely design is nowhere near as comfortable. The straps are way too short (and I'm not particularly tall or large busted - 5'4" and average B cup - so I feel like this shouldn't be an issue for me) and cause the bra to ride up. And the support under the breasts isn't nearly as good either. I don't mean that I want a bra with a lot of lift or shape (just the opposite, actually), but I feel like every bra on the market relies on tightness of the chest band to keep the bra in place, including this new take on the Barely bra. Whereas something about the design of the old one kept it where it should be without any tightness or compression. This might not be an issue for women who are used to underwires and extremely compressive sports bras, but as someone who hasn't worn any other bra except for the old Barely bras for half a decade, the new ones are a big step in the wrong direction.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thanks for the thorough feedback. We're happy to pass it along to our design team.

March 12, 2021

far inferior to the old Barely Bra

Patagonia, please bring back the old Barely bra from 2016! (The ones where the front straps are one piece rather than split where they attach to the cups.) I still have several of these and the chest band area is so stretched out that the fabric actually flares out in places, yet they somehow magically stay put and still provide some support. I&#x2... Read More7;ve never found another bra that has this design, and it is supremely comfortable. The only reason I'm hanging onto such sad looking bras is that I literally can't tolerate any other bra now. And unfortunately the new Barely design is nowhere near as comfortable. The straps are way too short (and I'm not particularly tall or large busted - 5'4" and average B cup - so I feel like this shouldn't be an issue for me) and cause the bra to ride up. And the support under the breasts isn't nearly as good either. I don't mean that I want a bra with a lot of lift or shape (just the opposite, actually), but I feel like every bra on the market relies on tightness of the chest band to keep the bra in place, including this new take on the Barely bra. Whereas something about the design of the old one kept it where it should be without any tightness or compression. This might not be an issue for women who are used to underwires and extremely compressive sports bras, but as someone who hasn't worn any other bra except for the old Barely bras for half a decade, the new ones are a big step in the wrong direction.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thanks for the thorough feedback. We're happy to pass it along to our design team.

March 5, 2021

Wear it on the daily.. but

Hello fellow shoppers, I am someone who appreciates a review on a product. I am in love with these sports bra for everyday wear. Personally, I wouldnt be able to go on a run or do any sort of high intense activity with this bad boy on. However, it is really comfortable for everyday use (cleaning the house or running errands). I have repurchased th... Read Moreis sports bra because I love it but I have run into a few problems with the build of it. The stretchy plastic material that lines the area where you insert or remove the padding is an issue. Since I take out the padding when I wash the sports bra, the stretchy plastic part has broken. This seems like a simple fix on the manufacturing side that would make the product last for much longer. Other than that, it is a great/soft product that keeps your girls in place without causing too much tension on your ribs.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Your feedback on the fit, comfort, fabric and performance is appreciated! Note that you can absolutely leave the pads in the bra when washing, though you may need to rearrange them a bit afterward. We do [recommend](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) mild detergent, and a washing bag to protect the garment from unnecessary abrasion in the machine, as well as hanging to air dry.

February 11, 2021

So great, ordered in multiple colorways

This bra is THE ONE. You know what I meanTHE ONE you'll go dig out of the clean clothes in the dryer even if you don't have time to fold the rest of the laundry. It's incredibly comfy and the fit is flattering. Removable cups give you the option for a little more modesty in you're into that sort of thing. I wear this for yoga in... Read More the morning, and under Zoom tops while I'm at work. It's just a great little bra.

January 30, 2021

All-around best

I am exclusively wearing these bras at this point. Great for WFH but honestly they work under most tops when I have to go into the office as well. Supportive yet ultra comfy and invisible under clothes. Im 58, 145lbs and 34b and the medium works perfectly.

January 28, 2021

Most comfortable

I need racerback bras because I wear racerback tops. This is by far the most comfortable and well made bra I've worn. Plus, the pad inserts are very easy to put in and take out.

January 22, 2021

Rides up in back

Hello, mostly the bra is comfortable, easy to put on and take off, not too tight. However the back middle rides up, so I keep feeling like I need to pull it down. Could be my boobs are too big so they pull down. I want to try the xl but none in stock. Or do you have one with a larger cup? Im thinking this one will create a sweat pocket under the br... Read Moreeasts when the temp is over 100- which is five months of the year here. Any other suggestions?

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the fit. You may like our [Women's Switchback Sports Bra](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-switchback-sports-bra/32095.html) better.

January 20, 2021

Wonderful bra

I decided to stop wearing bras with underwires! They prevent proper circulation to breasts and lymph nodes. This bra was the perfect solution. Its comfortable, looks great and gives enough support.

January 17, 2021

Favorite hiking bra

Light and supportive (for B minus cup) Might be a little snug, but very comfortable -- stays in place. Handles moisture well for me. I ordered a second.

December 31, 2020

Very comfortable

I very much like my purchase. I'm glad I ordered a M because I think a S would have been a bit to small. It's very comfortable for everyday use. I just wish they where a bit more affordable. Also, I love the colors!

December 29, 2020

All day every day

For 15 years I didn't wear a bra. Because they were so uncomfortable, obviously. However, I wear this one every day. All-day. I love it.

November 27, 2020

So comfy!

Great bra. It's super comfortable. Some bras this style are just too tight around my torso, but this one fits very nicely. My only complaint is that the padding gets moved around really easily, but I suppose I could always just remove it. All in all a great product!

November 11, 2020

Good fit

Haven't worn it much or washed it yet but seems comfortable, practical, with a little style that I enjoy. Color is a little different than I'm envisioned but it's fine -- autumnal....

November 2, 2020

Great All Around Casual Bra

Very comfortable and soft. It's not a bra I could run it but it's perfect for running errands or yoga.

October 30, 2020

Great bras - terrible colors!

I have 2 generations of these bras - an older generation that came in darker colors (besides black), and the latest generation. I think the comfort of the newer generation is great - but because most of the colors are lighter, they look filthy after a season of use. I use these for daily wear, climbing, hiking, skiing, etc. The straps on my newer l... Read Moreighter colors are permanently dirty looking. My older (dark blue) bras still look great. Please Patagonia, add more dark colors! If you sweat, play in the dirt, etc your bras will show it.

October 30, 2020

Perfect fit

This bra is comfy and flattering. I have several colors now, and they all fit well and the removable padding is a plus. The bra is supportive and comfortable!

October 30, 2020

Patagonia Womens Barely Bra

This bra is functional durable and is extremely comfortable! Its a bit small on me but will stretch out a bit without loosing its shape or support.

October 29, 2020

tight chest band

Normally I wear a small/6 - (5'5 128), athletic, small chested. I ordered a Medium bc I dislike tight clothing. Hint to product designers: My breasts do not need to be strapped in tighter than a kayak on a roof rack. If it leaves an indentation line around my torso after trying it on, it's too tight and will annoy me all day. And again, I... Read More am a small person, ordering a medium size. My quest for a comfortable bra continues.

October 27, 2020

My Favorite Daily Bra

I have 5 of these bras and its the only type I wear for my causal wear. It doesnt feel too constricting and doesnt make my breasts looks unflattering either. I wouldnt recommend for high impact activities.

October 12, 2020

So comfortable; wanting more!

At first, this felt too snug. Now I want to wear it every single day and want more colors! I am not a huge fan of bras and always prefer wireless, but as much of my life has shifted outdoors this year I am wanting a comfortable, in-between bra that works for all of my activities: walking, hiking, yoga, teaching, out and about. I would say that runn... Read Moreing or vigorous exercise in this won't work - not sturdy enough. But as for all of the above activities - this is perfect for me. I want to wear this constantly, also, as so many typical sports bras make my sensitive neck and shoulder muscles more sore. I will always choose patagonia when possible to support it's sustainability and planet/people advocacy!

October 9, 2020

Nice material and fit

Holds the ladies in place whether I'm climbing, doing yoga or hiking. Breathable material and great fit - just the right amount of snug.

September 23, 2020

Comfy Sports Bra

Its really comfortable good design

September 21, 2020

comfortable fit

This bra fits perfect, I am a 34C or 32D and the medium fits well around my torso and cup size just right too. It is soft and dries quickly after a brisk walk or hot day hike. I like the always fresh feature!

September 20, 2020

Very comfortable and supportive

I like the style, fit and color However it could be a bit more roomier Id like purchase another however I dont know if a lg would be too large I washed the bra in cool water with like garments and it washed well

September 17, 2020

Soft & well made

Bra color is very pretty, straps are comfortable, easy to put on. Medium support

September 17, 2020

Great bra. Terrible tags!

Seems so strange that the tags for this product are made of the scratchiest, plastic-like material and, rather than being in the back, they're on the side where a girls skin is the most tender. A real pain to cut them out without destroying the seam. Please use real fabric for your tags and move them to the back! Thanks!

September 17, 2020

super bra

thought this might not fit me since I am not a small, BUT surprise love this bra.. wore it golfing and just around love it.. need more on sale

September 16, 2020

Super comfortable

The BEST BRA in my life. You dont feel that you wear it

September 15, 2020

High hopes, but straps too stretchy

I wanted to love this bra and I had high hopes the first week. But unfortunately, after Week 1, I find that the straps have stretched and there is no way to tighten them. The bra would fit better if I was about 3" taller, but alas, I am not. :)

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2020

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review on our Women's Barely Bra, but we're so sorry to hear that it stretched out for you! This feedback is so crucial in our improving of product, we've passed this info along to the appropriate teams. You are welcome to return this back at any time. If you're looking for a replacement that will be able to withstand more frequent use, please check out our [Women's Cross Beta Sports Bra](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-cross-beta-sports-bra/32090.html?dwvar_32090_color=MDDW&cgid=womens-socks-underwear).

September 13, 2020

My new favorite bra

This is my new favorite bra! I love the racerback, the coverage, the support, the fit, everything!

September 13, 2020

Perfect everyday bra

Comfy and no smell When youre sweaty

September 12, 2020

Favorite Bra

Extremely comfortable for all day. If I want to wear for spin class, I would need next size down for more support. My favorite bra.

September 11, 2020

So comfortable!

I bought one of these bras and loved it so much I bought 4 more in different colors.

September 11, 2020

Not durable

It doesnt look well made and feels like after a few washes itll lose its shape/sticking.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on our Women's Barely Bra, we're sorry to hear that the quality isn't what you expected. Please see below for care instructions, if the bra does begin to fall apart please remember you are always welcome to return! Machine Wash Warm Gentle Cycle, Do Not Bleach, Tumble Dry Low, Do Not Iron, Do Not Use Fabric Softeners

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches