Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Active Briefs

Write Your Review

3.3/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 115 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Active Briefs

3.3/5
October 16, 2021

Quality has diminished in the last few years

My Patagonia underwear, which used to last forever, now are all fraying, in the elastic around the legs, and also in the crotch. These are just not durable undergarments anymore. This may be because Patagonia switched to using recycled materials, which don't last as long. I am really disappointed, because I used to love Patagonia underwear, be... Read Morecause they had been so durable and comfortable , well-designed, and functional, even though they cost more than other brands. However, now, I think I will seek out other brands, because these just are not durable.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry that the newer products have been so disappointing. Please know that your purchases are covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out. We'll be happy to help you with a return.

October 6, 2021

Great underwear ruined by tag

These underwear are lightweight, fit well and moisture wicking. They had potential to be my new favorites! Unfortunately there are long tags inside. I cut at the dotted line to lose most of them and now it is scratchy and annoying. This greatly adversely affects their comfort.

October 1, 2021

bring back the old styles

I've worn - and loved - Patagonia underwear for decades. It was difficult to order this time - there isn't a way to know how much of the buttocks will be covered or where it will hit on the hips: the Hipster and the Active Brief look essentially the same. Tried the Hipster. Not right - not sufficient coverage of the derriere and sat too l... Read Moreow. Tried the Active Brief - it seemed to work beautifully so ordered more. I soon discovered that the measurements on this - while initially looking exactly like my old pairs - were just a bit off. Depending on my style of pants and the activity, these new ones might sit just fine or they might fold over at the abdomen Or they might twist and shift over the back side. Often both. I've returned them. I am so disappointed and echo the many other reviewers who have asked for the previous underwear styles to be made available again. Please identify all the measurements: not just the hip/waist. A graphic comparing the styles would be so helpful. And please bring back the old styles.

September 15, 2021

Thumbs Waaay Down on the updated design

I've been buying Patagonia's Women Active Briefs for years and rely on their quality and comfort. This updated style is poor on every front. The material is thinner and less supportive and the cut is terrible. The originals were great in every way. I'm sending these new ones (I purchased 9!) back. I know that Patagonia takes customer... Read More feedback seriously. What's the timeframe that we can hope that the old design and materials will once again be back in production?

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

Hi Kristen! Thank you for the feedback. We're glad you were able to return them. We've passed this along to our design team. At this time we don't have a timeline to share on a revamp of these. But do know, that designs take about 36 months from design to production.

September 6, 2021

I Also Want Them to Bring Back the original Fit and Style

I have been wearing the active briefs for 10 years now and wish they would bring back the wonderful fit and style. The newer runs fall apart sooner and are less comfortable. Why destroy the design and make of a winner?

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Laura! We've passed it along to our design team.

August 31, 2021

Best ever

My favorite pair, fit perfectly

August 30, 2021

Brief Briefs

I was so excited to see the active wear briefs available again. Im 63, size 10, and just not comfortable in bikini anything. These briefs are still a little low cut for my taste. Also, the tag was stiff and uncomfortable, even when trimmed down to where it was stitched to the underwear. Its so sad that outdoor companies dont make comfortable clothe... Read Mores for older, wider women.

August 25, 2021

Panties in a Wad

When I first started using Patagonia ladies briefs about 8 years ago, I could not be happier. They were superior to any other I had ever tried. I would have happily paid more money to have these perfect pieces of apparel covering my butt. About 3 years ago Patagonia changed its fabric and sizing on the ladies briefs and I have had my panties in a w... Read Moread ever since. First, the sizing changed. I went from a medium to a large overnight, and there were no French fries in between. If that doesnt make a gal sad, then I dont know what would. Second, the fabric becomes faded quickly and the crotch area becomes stained. This is not appealing at all and the new little flower design does not make up for this. I have 8 year old underwear that I am still wearing that have absolutely no stains in the crotch area and arent faded but my 3 year old underwear are all stained and faded. Third, 2 pair of my newer underwear are falling apart, the elastic and the fabric around the leg openings are coming undone. I am not sure what prompted the change, but please for the love of hiking bring the old underwear back.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2021

Hi Cindy! Thank you so much for the detailed feedback. We've passed it along to the design team. As for the pairs that you have that aren't working, please reach out to our Customer Service team regarding a warranty return. Thanks!

August 17, 2021

Undies

I have worn this style of Patagonia undies for years. These new ones are made of a little different fabric, but I'm happy with them. They are very comfortable- I hardly know I'm wearing them.

August 12, 2021

So Is Patagonia Listening

How many more reviews asking for the old style are needed? The tags are awful, the fit gone woke. Like many other items, the updated fit has decided those with curves need not apply. I am hardly super-curvaceous, I just have womans body, not a boyish figure. I dont want to show my butt crack, my 36C chest is normal, and I want my underwear tagless ... Read Moreand just under my navel. High-rise, high-cut leg, puleeze.

Response from Patagonia
August 17, 2021

Thanks for letting us know the differences in the new version that don't work for you Kiley. We've let our design team know.

August 9, 2021

Great Fabric, BUT bring back the old FIT!!

I have at least 10 pair of these undies, some at least 10+ years old. They have lasted forever. BUT the older ones fit SO much better. They sit up just below the navel and hug my curve there. The newer ones are lower and roll/ fall down. What a disappointment. The fabric is great for every day and for hiking/ skiing/ light exercise. I just wish you... Read More could bring back the old fit! Please!!

August 8, 2021

No hiking up of these undergarments!!

These have been the best undergarments I have EVERY purchased. They last a very long time, don't look worn out anywhere and the best part??? They don't creep up your buttocks. The coverage is perfect. All garment types glide over these very well. They don't stain...did I mention they are practically indestructible? I don't like ... Read Morewhat you call 'granny underpants' and I can say this because I am 63 years young. I like the cut of these and still have full coverage in the back. I hope Patagonia NEVER does away with this style underwear.

August 7, 2021

Super Comfortable

I love these. Super breathable, stays comfy even after a long day of exercise.

August 2, 2021

Bring BACK the OLD FIT!

These Active Briefs are too short and slide down way too far below my navel. I have seen MANY reviews asking for the old fit back and the replies from Patagonia are weak. Patagonia, why can't you please just do what your customers are requesting? I love the fabric and so much about these but they slide down and are WAY to low. Now that high wa... Read Morested pants are back in style, maybe you could raise the waist band a bit... or just listen to your customers who have taken the time to express their loyalty to these briefs but want the old style back.

July 27, 2021

My favorite underwear

Because my favorite underwear, the active briefs, is getting worn, I went to purchase new ones, however they don't fit the same as the rise has reduced 1" shorter (I measured it) the top band is now rolling down. It does not rest on my body the same. This becomes uncomfortable and shifts the wear of the briefs. I treasure my Patagonia bri... Read Moreefs, they are the best I have ever worn but I want to old fit back. Hopefully this new year of product will bring back the original fit.

July 18, 2021

Great wicking

These are the best for wicking sweat and keeping you comfortable all day long! However, I bought 3 size M in different colors and they are all noticeably different from each other in rise. Wish I could feel confident that M will fit like M no matter what color I buy!

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2021

Hi Deanne! It sounds like you may have gotten a defective item. Please reach out to our Customer Service Team and we'll get you taken care of.

July 10, 2021

Not Briefs

These Active Briefs are NOT briefs. I have purchased patagonia briefs in the past--in fact, I LOVE Patagonia underwear better than any other. They are comfy, wicking, and look great under all of my clothes. However, when I think of briefs, I think they should be higher--like maybe an inch or 2 under the navel. These were about 5 inches below my nav... Read Moreel. Very uncomfortable and definitely NOT briefs. I am very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Hi there, thank you for your feedback on this and we are very sorry to hear about the disappointment. We totally understand where you are coming from and always want to ensure you're satisfied. With that in mind, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

July 9, 2021

Dont buy these!!!

Im sorry that Patagonia changed their cut of these. I have worn fo years and this style does not fit well!!!!

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Hello Charlene, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on the Women's Active Briefs. We're really sorry to hear of your disappointment with the fit changes that were made on these. We do have access to garment measurements! If you decide you'd like a sneak peak of how an item would fit on you in the future simply reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and we would be happy to provide that information to you.

June 29, 2021

Great product!

The comfort is unsurpassed. I hope they last as long as my last pairs!

June 18, 2021

Ok, but not as good as the original briefs

Not as good as the briefs of about 12 years ago, which are hanging in there, but aging. But a somewhat ok substitute, but why did they alter a great product? This new one, more lines. And I will bet its not going to last12 years.

Response from Patagonia
June 23, 2021

Hi Ann, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the changes made to the briefs through the years. We greatly appreciate the feedback and we'll pass it along to our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so if you're unhappy with them you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 6, 2021

Bring back 2015

One more vote for Bring Back 2015. I am despondent at the loss of the old Active Brief. Like others, I am wearing old pairs until the bands roll up and even considering taking them to a seamstress, which is weird. Please bring back the old style!!!! Ive been buying something *similar* in cut from the Gap, but theyre just not the same!

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2021

Thank you for the feedback Jill. We'll let our design team know that you preferred the pervious style.

May 31, 2021

One more vote for the old style!

Count me in as one of the people waiting for the return of the old style and ready to replace a dozen pairs of increasingly embarrassing-looking 2015 underwear that I cant give up!

May 21, 2021

Not like the old active ear briefs!

I am an active 68 year old (hike, climb, canoe, camp etc.) I loved the old style active brief from Patagonia style # 32404. Great style, comfort and wearability. I received a pair of the active hipsters a few years back, which I did not like as they fit lower down on my abdomen, and I simply didn't wear them. I went to purchase active briefs ... Read Morethis spring and was told 32404 were no longer available and had been replaced with style number 32396 but they were out of stock. I put my name in to purchase them when they came in stock. Meanwhile I was shopping in REI last month and found one pair of the active brief 32396, in my size. Excited, I bought them, only to find when I got them home they were the exact same size as the active hipster. They sit lower on the abdomen and measure a smaller distance from waist band to crotch. Why they say this one is a brief when it appears to be the exact same size as the hipster I don't know. I gave the hipster pair and my newly purchased "briefs" to my daughter. I will not be buying this product 32396 even though it is now back in stock. Please, please bring back the old active brief for women like me. I would happily buy ten pairs or more of the old style right this minute.

March 12, 2021

Love these underwear

I was nervous to buy these underwear given the cost and the mixed reviews but I am SO glad I did. They are so light and comfortable. I wear M in nearly all things Patagonia but sized up to a L as I like my underwear to completely cover the butt cheeks. The L was perfect. I had no issues cutting the tags out without damage. I will be buying more whe... Read Moren they are back in stock!

February 23, 2021

Terribly Disappointed

So So disappointed. Still wear the old pairs for years. The old ones have lasted over 20 years. Please bring them back! Bought one pair of the new and will never buy again. Have looked for the last year for something comparable to the old ones. I can not find anything anywhere that were as perfect as your old ones. Your new ones should not even hav... Read Moree your name on them. Sorry for the harsh criticism but I am really disappointed.

February 21, 2021

Doesn't last like it used to

Agree with all who wish Patagonia would go back to the material/design of a few years ago. I get that they are thinner and use more recycled material, but what is the point if they fall apart so much faster that it takes 3-4 pairs to match the longevity of the former sturdier style? And returning them is only using more needless transportation reso... Read Moreurces. Please just make them to last like most of your great products. This change was a swing and a miss. (And yes, the tag is super annoying.)

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Thank you so much for reviewing this item, Laura! You bring up a lot of great points and we will absolutely make sure to pass your comments over to our Product Team so they can review them.

January 15, 2021

Is 32396SP18 the current style/cut?

I purchased two pairs of these at recommendation of a salesperson at REI in Nashville in July 2019. Is that the current version? Or can I not re-order the same item? I really like them, just seamless comfy, fit great look great feel great you forget all about them. My tag (still in there, doesn't bug me, but I didn't cut it at all) says S... Read MoreTYLE 32396SP18, Thank you.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Hi Emily, yes these are the same style number. We are so glad you like them. It looks like the number you are referencing is from 2018, but the style number has not changed so there have not been any revisions since then.

December 8, 2020

Great Undies!

I was a little nervous to purchase my first Patagonia undies because of the mixed reviews, but I went ahead and got a few pairs of the Barely Hipsters and a few of the Active Briefs. Both have been exactly what I was hoping for! I love wearing the Barely's pretty much every day, for everything. They are super comfy. They look really small, but... Read More when I put them on they are perfectly soft and stretchy. They don't show too much under my pants, and they stay in place surprisingly well. The Active Briefs are perfect for when I want extra coverage and stay-power for when I am doing something super active or just want the extra support. The Active Briefs do show a line under tighter pants, but they are great under my Baggies. I have been wearing them now for several months, and they are held up really well. I wash mine on cool and air dry them, and they are still just like new. Highly recommend both!

December 1, 2020

Favorite undies ever

5'6" and 130 lbs. Size small is perfect, these are my favorite undies for skiing, working out, etc.

November 10, 2020

tag inside is bothersome

ATTENTION DESIGNER Please do me a favor & wear this brief with the tag cut up to the stitching, so there is still a piece left. Wear these all day & see how scratchy the tag feels. I like this underwear, but I dislike the tag inside. I have many of them & have written a review quite awhile ago as have others regarding the tag!! Why you... Read More continue to do this is just absurd!! If you take the stitching out so the whole tag will come off, then you have a hole in the hem at the top. This is because the same stitching that holds the tag on is the same for the hem. Hopefully you will change as I see other reviews regarding this. Who wants to spend the time taking this stitching out, & then have a whole in the hem. I don't have that kind of time. When I purchase a product I expect it to be good without a scratchy tag!!!!

November 10, 2020

Perfect brief

These briefs are perfect for me. The fit is good and the material is very soft.

November 9, 2020

Super comfy

These undies are comfy and don't show undie lines in regular pants and shorts.

October 3, 2020

Quality has decreased

This was my favourite brand of underwear and I’ve been wearing only these for years. Normally, I wear Medium, but order Large because I don’t like a snug fit. However, the waistband has become unraveled very quickly in the ones I bought in the last couple of years. I kept wearing them instead of returning them because, even with a messed up waistli... Read Morene, they were the best. It IS irritating, especially for the price, and I won’t be buying more, until I see by the reviews that the problem has been fixed.

September 17, 2020

Im small, but buy medium because I dont like anything snug.

I wear these for everything. Theyre seamless. Theyre comfortable. They dont show under anything.

September 15, 2020

Please keep these coming!

I have worn Women's Active Briefs for years. They are the only kind I wear. All others, including the other Patagonia styles, are inferior. I've tried them. So please, please, please don't stop making these!!!!!!

September 7, 2020

Soooo disappointed

I still have pair of Patagonia style 32404 - purchased a few years ago- my favourite of all time. I am not at all happy with the new cut- lower rise and tag issues. Bring the older style back pls!

September 5, 2020

Lightweight and Comfy

I love the lightweight material, and coverage is perfect.

September 5, 2020

Dearest Patagonia, Love of my Life!

PLEASE, for the comfort and sanity of your customers, STOP SEWING TAGS INTO WOMEN'S UNDERWEAR!!!! We HATE that! We LOVE these underwear. These are GREAT underwear, great fit, great moisture-wicking, and they never ever ever ride up, but those infuriating tags! Leave 'em in - they irritate your skin. Cut them out just as close as you can t... Read Moreo the seam - they REALLY irritate your skin. Find some strong-magnification glasses and tiny super sharp scissors and 15 extra minutes in your day to painstakingly pick the seam away from the tag without also picking away and destroying the seam that holds the top band down, and finally, perfection.

September 3, 2020

Not Like the Undies from 2-3 Years Ago

What happened to the old comfy undies. These new ones are skimpy little things without the nice double band and heavier material. Also where did the stripes go? They were such fun.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Hello Jean, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very sorry to learn the that current version Women's Active Briefs is not to your liking. We have increased the recycled content and slightly lightened the fabric for improved breathability. You are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the items if they are not to your satisfaction.

September 2, 2020

Very Comfortable

Quick drying, comfortable fit. I like the thickness of the waistband--it helps keep the briefs up! These survived an insane hike (hail storms, mud slides, and steep elevations), and would highly recommend.

September 2, 2020

Very comfy

With I had bought a few more...can't even tell you are wearing them and never rides up.

August 11, 2020

Will purchase again

I love these!! I was recently invited on a 4 day/3 night backpacking trip and realized late in planning that I needed some new underthings. I looked at another top brand and decided to go with Patagonia based on long history of great, durable products. I have never owned a pair of these before now so, I was not swayed by the reviews with comparison... Read Mores to previous model. I could not be happier with my choice. I bought 2 pair for that trip and plan to buy a few more just so I have more for everyday wear. I wish there were a few more colors but I can buy more of same. No bunching, rubbing or smell. I swam in them and they dried quickly. I had no problem removing the tags (you wont damage them if you take a little extra time). I weigh 120 and bought size M and they fit me very well. I wash and air dry and I am counting on these lasting just like every other Patagonia product I own. I will be getting more of these.

August 1, 2020

New style is disappointing

I have older versions and they are awesome, still look good as new. The new style are lower rise - its a very strange decision to make in this era of high rise womens pants. The new ones sit lonely in the back of the drawer.

July 24, 2020

Used to be great

I used to love these briefs. They lasted forever. Now I get them, and in 10-15 washings they start to fall apart (the waistline seam comes apart). They don't stay up the way they used to. They ride up in the back. Time to look for a new brand.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Hi Jan, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We truly appreciate feedback like this as its crucial to improving things for future seasons. We're really sorry to hear your briefs have started to fall apart after a few washes. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 21, 2020

Used to be great; terrible with the new tag

I used to love these! But now theres a tag sewn into the inner lining, which scratches. Patagonia, why??

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2020

Hi Nori, we're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the tags. Legally, we must include those tags but we understand it can be frustrating trying to remove them. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the briefs if you were looking to do so but haven't already. Thanks so much for your review!

July 13, 2020

Good fit

Bought 3 pair in the past few weeks. 1 pair has not held up. In spite of wearing only a few times for running only and washing by hand. The stitching on the inside waist band is already coming out. The others so far have held up. Due to stitching coming out felt couldn't give it a higher rating. If the others hold up will come back and change ... Read Morerating.

Response from Patagonia
August 12, 2020

Hi Patricia, we're really sorry that the stitching in one of the pairs has come undone. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Thanks for your review!

June 24, 2020

Meh

Like others, I have the old active briefs (circa 2012) I was looking to replace. The new ones are a mixed bag. I think the seam around the leg openings is actually better in these new ones. They don't dig into my butt, and they lay nice and flat. The waistband is comfortable, but because it isn't as wide as the old ones, it feels like les... Read Mores coverage/lower rise. I'd prefer to feel more covered. I wouldn't go so far as to size up, but they are a little snug initially (I'm always a Small in undies). I ultimately decided not to keep the new undies because they are extremely thin/delicate feeling. While this might be okay (didn't wear them enough to tell if they are durable), it resulted in the light blue color being basically see-through. No thanks! I didn't love them enough to exchange for them in a darker color that might not be so sheer.

June 19, 2020

I love these

These briefs are extremely comfortable, breathable, and fit perfectly. I bought my first pair in 2017 and have slowly been replacing my underwear drawer with all Active Briefs. I've read through other reviews here, and maybe I missed the boat on the glorious Active Briefs of the old days, but I haven't noticed any change in quality from t... Read Morehe pair I bought in 2017 to the newest iteration. I haven't noticed a difference in quality between the different print types and solids either, but I'll adjust this review if I notice any disparate deterioration over time. Others noted that the briefs tend to slide down, but they stay in place on me and I count myself fortunate to have the optimal hip shape for Active Brief fit. My one complaint are the scratchy paper tags that are extremely difficult to remove without risking damage to the briefs. I understand they are required by law, but it would be great if Patagonia could figure out how to sew them in so they are easier for the customer to pull them off once they buy them!

June 17, 2020

Favourite Underwear

These briefs are my favourite underwear, especially for doings sports (no wedgies!) :)

June 17, 2020

No saggy undies!!

As an athlete, I am always aiming to buy gear that reduces chafing, dries quickly, and cleans easily. This underwear checks all the boxes. Ive worn them for years, and there is a reason I continue to buy them. They are comfortable, wick moisture, and dry fast. If you, like me, are constantly on the go, buy these. You wont regret it.

June 7, 2020

Pat goes cheap

I have Patagonia items that were gifted to me that were old style. I came to order more, only to see that everything has been reduced and cheapened. Why? Wed pay more for the good stuff. You cant wear smaller underwear that rides up under running tights. Now I have to go find another brand. :(

Response from Patagonia
June 9, 2020

We appreciate your feedback, Ashley! Sorry to hear the Active Briefs have been disappointing, but we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

May 18, 2020

tag troubles

Love patagonia fabric so much, lightweight and great fitting briefs.. but why do you have to sew in 2 paper tags that must be cut off these delicate briefs? i ruined 2 out of my 4 new pairs, carefully trying to cut the those terrible things off? I put my readers on and cut slowly and still I pulled out the stitching and put holes into my full price... Read Mored briefs. Not fair to torment me like this. I wear mostly patagonia clothes, thanks for being a great company!

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Thank you for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that the tags are causing some troubles. Legally, we must include those tags however, we totally understand that they cause some discomfort and can be tough to remove. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the ones with holes back, you're welcome to do so.

May 11, 2020

Not the same, very disappointed!

Ive been buying these underwear for the last 10 years. Im a huge Patagonia fan, own tons of products that I love. Wish I could say the same for the current brief. Used to be obsessed, they fit great, stayed up on my waist, and lasted for years. Over the past few years, the cut has changed a lot (they keep getting smaller/shorter). I purchased 3 pai... Read Morers a few years back, and kept them because they were manageable. Recently purchased 4 black pair (agree with other reviewers that the striped design has issues with the seam coming unraveled). Not sure what the inconsistency is between striped and solid? The new black briefs fit so much smaller and do not stay up on my waist. Im constantly having to adjust them to try to keep them up around my belly button. Impossible. The material is great, just wish the fit was the same as years before!! These are going in the trash (or maybe Ill have my 8 year old daughter try them out). Sadly, going to have to try other brands. PLEASE bring back the old style that many of us loved, or offer different/higher cuts!!!!!

May 2, 2020

The old model was perfect! Why the change??

I used to live the active brief. I ordered three pairs thinking I would get the same comfortable model and was disappointed that ir had changed. The new model sits lower on the hips and is not nearly as comfortable. Why did it change?? Did you lose the pattern??

May 1, 2020

Disappointed

Like many of the other reviewers, Ive sworn by Patagonia active briefs in the past. I like them so much I routinely check the website to check if the old 324 style is back. The new design is awful. Minimally you should have changed the name so not to confuse people who are fans of the other style. Please bring it back!

April 30, 2020

Stretchy but not stretchy- seamless but not seamless

Seamless BUT that seam that runs along the back of the panties is it bit rough to sit on... Stretchy but does not have a body hugging feeling- so at the end of the day they feel loose.

Response from Patagonia
May 7, 2020

Thanks for the feedback, Tonya! Sorry to hear the Active Briefs have been disappointing, but we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

April 25, 2020

Pay attention to reviews!

I have been waiting to buy more women's briefs. I am smiling because I have found over the years that the striped underwear DOES NOT hold its elasticity as well as the solid color and yet there is such limited selection in solid colors. Now I read all the disappointing reviews about the cut of your briefs. When I was able to shop in stores tha... Read Moret carried Patagonia, the quality issue was acknowledged by some clerks who wore the product. What is happening? Why would you makes changes to diminish your products reputation? Anyhow, as many others have expressed, your briefs are not the same and I will have to seek out another source....as I think many are. Too bad! Several years back, your had a winner. Things have definitely changed in the women's brief department.

April 21, 2020

Please bring back the old design!

I was a Patagonia underwear lover for life...until the style changed 4-5 years ago. I am 5'2" 115 lbs. The old style was more french cut with good coverage and rested at my waistline. The new style has no place to "rest" so the top band slides down. I've tried a size smaller and a size larger.. all disappointing. I'm d... Read Moreone with Patagonia underwear and will find another brand to bond to. I've read so many other reviews that say the same thing so why has it taken Patagonia so long to respond... or rather... why are you not responding?

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2020

Hi K, thank you for taking the time to reach out to us about the style change. Your product review will help our designers know what's working and what's not.We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts and we'll pass them along to the appropriate members of the Patagonia design crew.

April 21, 2020

Agree with other reviewers

I agree with the other reviewers who said they had purchased the active briefs for years and the new fit and tags are not positive changes. I ordered several and were very disappointed in them. I havent gained weight but the new fit doesnt have the coverage of the previous ABs. The tags are scratchy and when cut off still are annoying. Hopefully yo... Read Moreu can offer the previous style again.

March 29, 2020

Pattern Change to Active Brief Loses Customer

Long time user and lover of the Active Brief fit and function. Athletic, petite, stumpy hips/big bottom even at 5'1" and 106lbs. Time to re-stock but will not purchase more since the fit critical to my body style has changed and the added tags are just a nuisance. Need the bottom coverage and no tags. Lost me as a customer for life.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the revisions we've made. We truly appreciate the feedback as it's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. We've passed this along to our design team!

March 8, 2020

I bought a pair of these 3 or 4 years ago and they were perfect! Something has changed with the cut. Unfortunately, they are not the same. Wish they would also offer the older style. These were a disappointment.

I bought a pair of these 3 or 4 years ago and they were perfect! Something has changed with the cut. Unfortunately, they are not the same. Wish they would also offer the older style. These were a disappointment.

February 23, 2020

Pretty please bring back the old style

I used to LOVE these but Patagonia has changed the fit. They are now much smaller and uncomfortable. please go back to Cut: 149733 Style: 32407 Spring 2014

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2020

Hi there. We're sorry that you're unsatisfied with the newer fit. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

February 17, 2020

Maybe it is time for two brief styles?

I love Patagonia stuff right down to the briefs...that is until 2016. I have active briefs from 2009 to 2015. The last 2 years in that period, the waistband stitching comes undone...no big deal. But since Late 2016, I’ve tried to buy active briefs 3 times. They don’t fit. The style changed subtly when you lay the newer brief side by side with an ol... Read Moreder one, but significantly in terms of fit. For me-5’11” and 160 lbs, it means I can’t keep them up in front. They now fit like a bikini. Please, please consider bringing back that old cut...a bit higher up toward the belly button. Help.

January 23, 2020

If it ain’t broken, why fix it?

These are amazing quality, and really well made. I’ve owned many pairs over the years, and they’ve all lasted a really long time, even with heavy use. These seem to be no different. However, Patagonia has changed the fit. Why?! Why change something that was so good? This new fit barely covers anything, hence is really uncomfortable for any activity... Read More. I only wear my Patagonia undies for running, mountain biking, skiing etc. if I wanna look sexy, it’s not my Patagonia undies I’m reaching for, so stop making these skimpy, please!

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Emelie, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the briefs. Feedback like this is truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 22, 2020

Troublesome Clothing Labels

I have a pair which is 10 years old and in perfect condition. I was looking forward to another pair and another long relationship. However, the old pair had no label and the new pair came with 2 sewn into the waistband. One is 4” long and runs the length of the back. I tried wearing with the label but experienced irritation. I cut the label and am ... Read Morenow irritated by the cut edge. I’m really disappointed because I would like to order more. The fit is perfect. T leg openings stay put without constricting. The fabric breathes. I ordered the quilted tunic and double-sided fleece as well and am experiencing similar issues with double labels sewn in at the seams. I recall when Patagonia was leading the industry in no-label apparel. What happened?

December 27, 2019

The best EVER!

Bought my first set (briefs and tank shelf-bra) in 2008 and still look like new after MANY wears...so broke the bank and bought 5 more sets and they are just as good! Expensive but WELL worth the money!

December 25, 2019

Great as always!

Been using/purchasing these undies for over 5 years and absolutely love them. I am 5'4" with a big butt and my weight fluctuates between 140-155. Large fits the best.

December 18, 2019

Super comfy

Super comfy

December 4, 2019

My new undies

I’ve had 12 pairs of Patagonia underwear that I bought about 15 yrs ago and they are still in excellent shape. However, I’ve decided to upgrade, while keeping a few pairs of old....nostalgia I guess! My new ones are a great style and fit. Extremely comfortable and they don’t slide down or creep up.

November 30, 2019

Briefs-briefly

Why in the world did you put a scratchy tag that cannot be removed easily in these briefs??? One of the main reasons I purchased these in the past was the absence of such annoyances. Darn it! Will not purchase anymore. You’ve driven me back to (ugh) Victoria’s Secret!

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2019

Hi Pamela. We're sorry you're disappointed with the addition of the tag. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

November 28, 2019

Underwear

They are awesome fit perfect even during vigorous exercise they don’t move

November 23, 2019

As good as ever

I've been buying and pretty much exclusively wearing these for years for all the reasons others love them. I hesitated buying these for a long time based on some reviews saying they were nothing like the older versions. A couple weeks ago, I decided to just give it a try. I have not been disappointed. The feel of the fabric is a little bit dif... Read Moreferent, but not bad. They are slightly different in the size of the band at the top, but I found it to be a completely fine change. No change in overall performance, comfort, feel, etc. If you're like me and afraid to push 'buy', just give it a try, you'll be happy you did.

November 4, 2019

They are soft and have

They are soft and have nice edges

October 30, 2019

So far, so good!

Reviews for Patagonia underpants were all over the place, but these had the best so I thought I'd give them a try. I've only had them for a few weeks, so I can't comment regarding how well they'll last (I'll try to update the review later if I need to and can), but as far as dry-wicking and comfort are concerned, I'm v... Read Moreery happy. They don't ride up or move at all, and I don't get wedgies (which is awesome!!). Best of all...they stay dry!! And like others say, you can definitely wash these out in the sink at bedtime and can wear them again in the morning...easy maintenance.

October 23, 2019

Perfect Fit

I continue to buy these undies bc they fit perfectly, there’s no visible panty line, and they are quick-drying, which is great for traveling and hiking. I just wish that there weren’t the uncomfortable tag. (There didn’t used to be.) You can remove it, but it’s hard to remove it completely without leaving a hole, and so half of my Patagonia underwe... Read Morear has a little hole, which seems a bit silly given the price of the product.

October 22, 2019

Love these and they fit

Love these and they fit great!

October 20, 2019

These underpants are just what other reviewers have said: bikinis, not briefs. I do like them though.

I am happy with them and bought several pairs. I would have liked "briefs" like my previous "briefs" . But I like these. They don't have the problems of being baggy in the butt and falling down that I have had with previous iterations of the bikinis . So these are bikinis that work.

October 17, 2019

Nice fit & fabric

I really like the light fabric. It's really breathable and fits perfect. I see myself getting more of these soon.

October 15, 2019

The tag....really?

What happened to the tagless underwear? Were there hundreds of customer reviews that demanded the tag back? I spent all day yesterday with my hand down the back of my britches scratching where my "cutoff" tag was. Now i have to get a stitch remover to remove the itchy remnant...hopefully without ripping the hem (premature unraveling of th... Read Moree seam) or poking a hole thru the underwear. I know it seems trivial but when I pay good $$ for undies I want them comfy and hassle free! 🥴

October 5, 2019

Scratcy paper tags that are

Scratcy paper tags that are difficult to remove and created a hole

Response from Patagonia
October 16, 2019

Thank you for your feedback - we're sorry to hear about this! Please note: your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

October 1, 2019

Love them!

Who knew that underwear could be so comfortable, lightweight, breathable, easy to wash & quick drying.

September 30, 2019

Linda

I purchased the Women's Active Brief years ago, and they have lasted for years by not putting them in the dryer! I am VERY disappointed in the new briefs, they are cut much lower, and ride up. These changes are very disappointing! Please go back to the original, comfortable, better coverage design! Also, it would be nice to have larger sizes, ... Read Morethese run small, but larger behinds need good coverage, also! Oh, and the photos are deceiving - the same photos are used for the briefs and the hipsters. It would also be nice to see them on a model, to show the fit.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2019

Hi Linda! We're sorry to hear the fit isn't working out. Feel free to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 20, 2019

the. best.

this is the only underwear (the brief and thong version) that I ever want to wear again. I've bought these in mass and love them!

August 21, 2019

best purchase of underthings I have ever made

I love these! No matter my activity these little beauties stay right where I put them. I was hesitant to try them because I have always used 100% cotton but hiking a lot this summer forced me to look into alternatives to cotton. I looked first to Patagonia knowing they test products out in the field. I am not disappointed! I also ordered the light ... Read Moregreen Forest ones and these are so soft, flattering, pretty and best of all they really really work great for any and all activity levels. I will have to pace out purchasing more as expensive as they are but they are really worth it ! I wear size 6 and bought a small and they are true to size. Thanks Patagonia!

August 15, 2019

I will never buy these underwear again.

Like other reviewers, I have been buying these underwear for years. Over the past few years, the fit has become lower and the quality has deteriorated. The stitching comes out at the waist, even if you wash them by hand. I recently bought 3 pair from REI. They fit lower than ever, and the quality feels even shabbier. I returned them all. What junk.... Read More I thought Patagonia is supposed to be about quality and caring about their customers. Obviously they’re about neither.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2019

Thank you for your feedback regarding the revision of these briefs. We've passed it along to the appropriate Patagonia team.

August 10, 2019

Not as good as they used to be

I’ve loved these undies, but the fabric used now is coarser/thicker, less give, cut a wee bit smaller. That being said, they’re still a cut above anything else. The one drawback of the older style was that the waistband, on every single pair, unraveled, so I actually reseeded them, that’s how much I loved the old style.

August 10, 2019

So comfortable!

Well made and fit perfectly, couldn’t ask for anything better

August 10, 2019

Briefs

They are good material. I just wish you offered the original style I bought 8 years ago, which had thinner material so wicked perspiration better. And stayed up on my hips better. But alas, why don't all underwear manufacturers employ wicking material?

August 3, 2019

Thank you Patagonia

I have been waiting so long for the return of a heavier fabric that is soft and comfortable; with the product made to last because it is so well made. These are the best and are worth the wait. (I gave up checking the undies for a while so I don't know how long you have had these for sale.) I bought two pair and when I discovered the quality a... Read Morend feel I ordered three more. I bought XL even though I would be a L or M because I like clothes to be really roomy.

May 29, 2019

getting smaller like hipster

I have purchased these in the past but the past two years I have not been happy with them as they are not briefs anymore but more like the hipster. I lose them in my jeans. I won't purchase them in the future.

May 9, 2019

W Active Briefs

These underwear are the best. Comfortable, great fit, easy wash and dry. They are my everyday, active day and travel go to briefs. Super excellent for travel - wash them, roll them in a towel and hang to dry all in less than 30 minutes!

May 8, 2019

long-lasting comfort

I bought a few more pairs to replace some older ones, and realized that the older ones are probably 5-7 years old - these are the only underpants I have worn for the last 15 years, Super-comfortable and last almost forever!

May 8, 2019

Women’s Active Briefs

Extremely comfortable I like that the product is seamless-no tight waist or thigh bands. Well made with polygiene odor control technology. Love the solid colors!

May 8, 2019

I want more!

These have been recommended to me by multiple people for years but I never pulled the trigger because of the price. Verdict: totally worth it

April 9, 2019

Horrible design change

I have worn this underwear in size M for years and the new brief style fits more like a tiny bikini or hipster pair. If I wanted underwear that small I would have bought one of the other cuts. Very disappointed...not all girls want tiny underwear.

April 3, 2019

Comfy, great for wicking, run a little big

I have been buying Patagonia clothing for decades yet this is the first time I tried undies. I have found these particularly great for long drives/flights when I am sitting for a long period of time. I wish I had ordered a smaller size so I could compare because the ones I bought feel like they might be too big, hence the missing star. I don't... Read More understand all the complaints about the tags -- they are not sewn as part of the seam so they are very easy to remove.

March 9, 2019

Disappointed

I used to love these underwear. Unfortunately, they have changed quite a bit. Multiple issues: 1) the fabric is more course; 2) differently sized; 3) the tags are ridiculous! Put to together and you could almost make another pair of underwear; 4) the pairs I bought just a couple months ago are starting to lose their elasticity around the waist band... Read More; 5) finally, some of the waist bands are separating and falling apart.

March 3, 2019

Highly recommend

I recently bought three pairs of the active briefs. I am a nurse and comfy practical underwear are an essential. I have also worn them hiking. They are my go to underwear now. The waist band is very comfortable and they stay put really well. No wedgies. I only wish they came in more basic colors without any designs on them. I’m kinda basic. I just ... Read Morewant some nude,black, and white undewear.

February 20, 2019

Please, Patagonia, go back to the previous style!

I have been wearing this style of undie for years;Size M fit me perfectly. Other reviewers mentioned the stitching coming loose at the side of the "waistband". I admit I have had to repair this type of problem (occurs where we all use our thumbs to pull them up and down), but they fit me well, were comfortable to wear. I just ordered 6 p... Read Moreair in different colors, and now I see what other reviewers are complaining about. The sizing is no longer the same (M seems like S or X-S), the fabric seems thinner, and the styling/fit appears to be different. Since they were not worn I returned them. Patagonia, please bring back the old style and manufacturer!

January 13, 2019

Kim

I have several pairs of the hipster and I agree. When you pull them up and down the seam comes apart at the waist. Also the thinness in the back becomes almost see through. Obviously they have gone away from their very original underwear - which use to be great. Very disappointed. Took 3 pair to the lady who alters my clothes to get the waist hem r... Read Moreepairs. Won’t buy again. Try Exofficio Brand. I’ve made the switch!

January 7, 2019

Weird Sizing But Great Underwear!

These have such mixed reviews, but I found them to be really awesome! For me, they don't pinch anywhere and they don't move around during the day. Once I got rid of the tag, they were super comfortable. My only caution is the sizing--I'm an x-small using the size chart, but with Patagonia I usually size up to a medium for a looser/co... Read Moremfortable fit. The same was true for the briefs, I got a medium and a large after trying them on and the medium was just right (form-fitting everywhere but not too tight). The large is okay, it just results in a saggy backside. So I would definitely size up and if you can, try on in a store first!

January 7, 2019

Stupid tag design!

For the last decade I've loved my Patagonia underwear. For the amount of wear I got from them they were well worth the price. When my newer pairs started ripping at the waist seam and get transparent in the butt, I held on to my belief that these were still a good investment... But now Patagonia underwear, we're through! I received two pa... Read Moreirs for Christmas, one had the removable tag sewn in with two big easy to cut loops. The other had a straight stitch right through the waistband seam. It would require a seam ripper to perform surgery in order to make these underwear wearable. I contacted support, this had to be a defect, a one time mistake! Nope, this is the new design. I guess this is a way to cut cost and increase profits. But it gets better, the offending tag is labeled repair, reuse, recycle this product. How about make a quality product to begin with!

January 6, 2019

The Only Acceptable Patagonia Underwear Available This Season

These undies probably don't deserve 4-stars, but because the other "new" Patagonia models are so bad, this is the one to buy. I understand Patagonia will update their underwear models in coming season but if you can't wait, this is the one for you. I have tried them all, and most are really bad, in terms of the fit and fabric, e... Read Morespecially as compared to previous models. The Active Brief is acceptable. It has a fuller cut, most similar to those in past seasons. I still prefer my old "Barely There" undies, but these will do. One key caveat... please size up! Generally, I size down in Patagonia underwear and capilene. However, these run truer to size and are likely best at least one size up from models you purchased previously. One more note... I find this model better for activity than for everyday wear. For Patagonia... let's get this fixed and fast. Bring back the old underwear cut and fabric!

November 8, 2018

BUMMER Patagonia What did you DO??????

I'm so sad writing this, my favorite underwear in the whole world, adios with new material, huge huge tag, not the same softness and pinches in the wrong female places when moving. What on earth, I've purchased these year over year and now it's not gonna happen and wish I could return UNDERWEAR! Wow, what a huge disappointment Patago... Read Morenia. I'm so sad I had to write a review stewing about this for a couple months now and see others in same position - very sad.

September 18, 2018

Patagonia, YOU'VE CHANGEDDDD

So I purchased 4 pair of these underwear back in 2014 before a 1-year trip around the world. I wanted comfortable, versatile, quick dry underwear and Patagonia DELIVERED. I fell in love with this underwear. Now - 2018 - I returned hoping to buy more pairs, and did realize, based on the reviews, and then buying a "test" pair in-store, that... Read More these have changed quite a bit. The fabric is different (not as stretchy, not as "silky,"), and the fit seems a tad different (agree with other reviewers the leg opening is a bit tighter. THAT said - I'm actually not mad at the new design / fabric. I've worn them a few times now, and because of the snug fit, they seem to stay in place well, and I haven't noticed any discomfort from the smaller leg openings during extended wear. I haven't tried to quick dry these yet while traveling, so can't speak to that. I do own a seam ripper and IMMEDIATELY took the annoyingly larger white tags out of the back. This is extremely annoying Patagonia is making the consumer do this after purchase. STOP SEWING THESE TAGS IN TO BEGIN WITH. JUST STOP. Most people I realize don't own seam rippers so this would be more of a source of anger and frustration I imagine. Other than that, I'm still pretty pleased with these underwear.

September 6, 2018

Comfy but tag is HUGE

I cannot say how long they will last, but the fit is good on the pair I received. However, for seamless underwear, why is there a huge tag in the back?

August 30, 2018

Women’s Brief

Please offer the high waist brief back in a nude. I’d like to use for my everyday. Thank you!

August 28, 2018

They used to be better made and more comfortable

Theses used to be my underwear of choice. The wider waist band and stretchy fabric made them comfortable and flattering. I have continued to buy them however I have noticed a marked lowering of quality. The fabric is not as strong as before, and holes, either between the leg bands or not even on seams with break through. The fit is not as reliable,... Read More no are they as comfortable in past years. I wish that Patagonia would address these issues as it looks like other customers feel the same way.

August 12, 2018

bring back the old version!

sizing is fine but there is less GIVE in the openings, so they feel less comfortable and too snug. the old fabric had more give. please bring back the old fabric. and I agree--the tag is beyond annoying, and I don't understand why it's there. there's a whole bunch of info printed on the underwear, so anything else you need to say abo... Read Moreut the product, put it on the paper tag that we cut off. no other tag is needed.

June 26, 2018

Love These for Hiking

I have been looking for comfortable underwear to hike and walk in for a long time. I love these! They stay put so I don't get wedgies even while going up steep inclines. I bought a size medium (I'm 5'3" and 120 lbs) and I like the way they fit. I think I could have worn a small,but I didn't want them to be super tight since... Read More I'm active in them.

June 13, 2018

More like a bikini cut then brief

I was hoping the designers would have fixed the issue that has plagued fans of these briefs,but since the fall of 17 they have been cut lower than in the previous years. Please go back a few years and cut them the same as they were. If I wanted a bikini cut I would have ordered the bikinis

June 12, 2018

Stays in Place - ridiculous tag

I'm 5'3" and 110lb. Purchased XS and these fit in place,don't ride up,and the elastic doesn't cut into the skin at all. Soft material. Wide waist band is next-to-skin feel and lays flat under climbing pants. Even with hiking and climbing,the quality stands up to wear. ONLY gripe: Are the Massive and absurdly long tags that ... Read Morecome on these. Seriously,Patagonia,there is NO need for these tags. Removing them,even carefully with a seam ripper,I have a small hole in one of my pairs. If you're going to have tags,have them easily able to be removed,not triple stitched.

June 5, 2018

My favorite briefs,but...

I really like these briefs--they are my favorite-- and have worn them for several years. The vibrant colors always cheer me up. They are perfect for travel as they dry fast. However,they used to be extremely comfortable. For the last couple of years,the cut seems to be smaller and too snug. The fabric also has less give. They are definitely not as ... Read Morecomfortable as before. Please bring back the previous versions soon before I run out.

May 4, 2018

30 years and still a

I've worn Patagonia briefs for 30 years,have tried other brands but these are still my favorite. Somewhere in those years the style grew a little big but thankfully back to its original just right fit where it's more coverage than hipster but stays hidden when you bend down in a pair of jeans. They are smooth,comfortable and stay put with... Read Moreout digging in. Though a little pricey,they wash and dry quickly,keep their shape,and last for years. These briefs have covered my bum for years and for me they are a Patagonia top pick. I'm 5.6,140 and wear size M.

April 3, 2018

Ditch the itchy label

I bought 3 pairs of these a month ago and the fabric and waistband are much improved from previous years,but the addition of a sewn in label at the back is very annoying due to the itch & irritation this causes. Would buy 3 more if the label wasn't there!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches