Back to Product

Better Sweater™ Gloves

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 89 Reviews

Clear All

Better Sweater™ Gloves

4.2/5
Kinda Large
April 11, 2021

Great gloves

These are marvelous gloves/mittens. Love the material. The large size is closer to med. otherwise, wonderful!

April 2, 2021

Perfect

Very nice product. You'll be very happy.

March 22, 2021

Fingers are super narrow

not sure who could wear these even tight for a woman's hand....

March 19, 2021

So small

Ordered and received L mittens didnt wear for a few months. Wore, and so very small. Ordered XL and still runs small.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Thanks for this feedback on sizing, Paul! Please reach out if you'd like to return them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). We'll be happy to help!

March 19, 2021

My favorite pair of gloves!

These have kept me warm all winter! Theyre super soft and comfortable. I love them and wear them every single day. Would highly recommend these gloves:)

March 19, 2021

Super Warm

Love these mittens!

March 9, 2021

Fingers too tight for a normal hand

Great concept but ordered the large and then the xl and both were too tight in the fingers

March 3, 2021

Not Warm

Firstly they run very small. Secondly, the fingers are cutoff very short. Thirdly, they are not warm at all. Epic fail all around.

March 1, 2021

Cozy

I love the way these gloves feel. Cozy and warm. So handy to have finger access. I also like button fastener that holds the mitten flap back. Much better than Velcro, in my opinion. I did need to exchange the large for an XL because the fingers were a little snug and the length a little short for my large hands.

February 27, 2021

Warm and comfortable

These mittens are warm, comfortable and high quality materials. They could be improved by getting rid of the strap and button to keep them open. It is somewhat difficult and time consuming to hook up and release the strap. I would suggest using Velcro instead for simplicity and would probably save in construction cost. Also, it would be nice to hav... Read Moree the thumb release for added dexterity. With these improvements I would give 5 stars.

February 27, 2021

Wonderful for Hiking with Dogs

These convertible gloves are perfect for hiking with dogs in the cold. It leaves fingers available to pick up dog . Keeps my hands warm in the cold weather.

February 26, 2021

Super nice

These are nice gloves. I have sausage fingers and the XL is still good to go for me. I love how I can take the flap off and use my fingers for things and then cover them up when it gets too cold out. These will be with me for a long time to come

February 26, 2021

Well-made but not functional

These gloves were used as in town gloves, hopefully, but what I found is the fit was small, the feel of the glove was a bit unnatural in a little uncomfortable and in general it was one of my lesser favorite gloves. Might work better for a smaller hand just didnt work for me

February 24, 2021

Versatile

I'm using these for colder weather photography. Worked quite well the other day in 15 deg F temp. (plus handwarmer coat pockets).

February 23, 2021

Good for cold weather.....

But not ideal for sub 32f. The flip top is a single layer of bettersweater and would be warmer if it were two layers or some thin insulation . Button holder works well but not terribly durable which is surprising for Patagonia. The string that the button attaches to already snapped on one of my flip tops. Still wearing them on cold days since they ... Read Morefit well and serve my need.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

Hi Walter, we're so sorry to hear that you're disappointed with the performance of the Better Sweater™ Fleece Convertible Gloves/Mittens. You're welcome to send those in to be repaired, but if you're not satisfied with them, please feel free to begin warranty return under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

February 22, 2021

Warm But Run Small

At first, I was very surprised by how small these gloves run. I typically would order a Large for such an item, but I had to exchange for an XL, which fit much better. The exchange process was easy enough. The gloves are as warm as you would expect. I live in SW Pennsylvania, and the temps have been averaging in the low to mid 20s this winter, and ... Read Morethese are keeping my hands plenty warm for short walks with my dog around the neighborhood. They are more durable than other mittens Ive owned before, so overall I would definitely recommend these for the type of glove category they are in.

February 21, 2021

Keeps my fingers warm while giving me the option for dexterity

Love these gloves/mittens. They keep my fingers warm but adore me to quickly have dexterity when needed without taking them completely off.

February 20, 2021

Nice Gloves for "cool" and "cold" weather

We are in the Seattle area and walk daily. We like these fingerless gloves with the cap on them so that when it is not quite so cold the cap can come off and when it is colder, the cap can cover the fingers. My husband and I both are usually medium glove size but purchased the large and they fit nicely with a tad extra room in the palms.

February 19, 2021

Fit like a Glove

Fits just right and perfect to keep warm but able to cool down just a bit or give the option when you need just a bit more gripping power.

February 18, 2021

Loved these but they run small so I had to return

I ordered a large and they were surprisingly small. Sadly there are no XL left in black so I have to find something else for my winter walks and runs.

February 17, 2021

Warm but not bulky

Love these gloves! Great for cold runs or chilly dog walks. Highly recommend!

February 17, 2021

Adorable Gloves

I bought these gloves because they looked warm and very comfortable. I liked that you can wear them without the mitten cover. It is a clever design. However, the finger holes are small and are not comfortable. I had bought two pairs and unfortunately had to return both.

February 17, 2021

Warm and convenient

Great to wear walking the dog and running errands too!

February 16, 2021

Love these.

I really like these, and am glad I ordered a size larger than I normally would.

February 16, 2021

Well made and warm!

Very well made, a little small for a medium.

February 16, 2021

Perfect Every Day Gloves

These are perfect everyday gloves for driving until the heating kicks in, for exercise walks around town, etc. Two key features: fingerless and mitten modes; better sweater material (which is warm plus machine washable).

February 14, 2021

Warm

Gloves are warm and great for texting. Finger holes are a little tight, but otherwise fit well and true to size.

February 12, 2021

Uncomfortable to wear

The finger holes are far too small and the thumb is too short. These things were mentioned in several reviews, so I sized up to L. Nevertheless, the mitts are really uncomfortable.

February 10, 2021

Warm and comfy

Love the mittens - theyre warmer than gloves- and the removable tops so you can use your fingers without taking them off. The only drawback Is the very small finger holes. I have small skinny fingers and they just fit me.

February 9, 2021

Versatile

I love wearing these gloves walking my dog. It is really great that you can just flip the top over and use your fingers. The finger holes are a little tight.

February 8, 2021

very warm

Convenient with finger access, cozy, finger holes a little tight

February 8, 2021

Warm and practical

Because of my poor circulation, gloves don't work for me (I actually end up feeling colder in my hands with gloves on than without and in my pockets). These Gloves/Mittens finally did the trick. My fingers are free to rub against each other and help circulation, and the overall cover helps keep the whole set of fingers warm. And it's easy... Read More enough to remove the cover so I can use my fingers when I need to. Highly recommend!

February 5, 2021

Awesome gloves

Gloves look beautiful, color is great. Runs a bit small so I would suggest sizing up. Only downside is that the thumb is covered, would be nice if it could be free when mitten is up, but I believe it allows for better thumb mobility when closes. Awesome Patagonia product as always

January 29, 2021

Too small

I purchased the large size based on what the size chart recommended. The gloves were way to tight that it cut off circulation to my fingers. I ended up just giving them to my wife.

January 27, 2021

Wish they were warmer

I like these gloves, but if the temperature dips below 20, they are not warm enough. That happens often living in Minnesota. I put another pair of finger gloves underneath them, but my hands are still freezing by the end of my walks when the temp is in the teens or below. If you live somewhere that the colder temps arent an issue, five stars. But i... Read Moref you live somewhere where the temp is consistently 20 and below in the winter, this will not be your best choice.

January 25, 2021

Warm and Comfortable

I like how you can pull the mitten part down and reveal your fingers so you can type on a phone! They are so warm and comfortable, I used them when I went skiing in MN, and they were great.

January 21, 2021

Hope they loosen up

The gloves are how they are advertised - but the finger holes are so small. I sized up from L to XL, and they're so tight. Hoping they'll loosen up with more use.

January 21, 2021

Good design; a few flaws

I like the design of these convertible mittens. The build quality seems solid and they are great for a long walk when the temperature may start cold before warming up enough to ditch the finger cover part. My one complaint is that the openings for the fingers are TIGHT. I don't think I have have particularly "chubby" fingers, but the... Read More openings being as tight as they are may defeat the purpose of the glove if they cut off circulation. Definitely buy a size up and see what you think.

January 20, 2021

Comfort and warm

Great gloves. Size chart for this product runs small. Ordered size large according to the chart. Returned for the XL, which was a perfect fit.

January 20, 2021

Too Small

I liked the idea of buying a product with recycled materials and love most of my patagonia gear but these were quite small and lighter weight than I thought they'd be. Seem like decent quality but the sizing was quite disappointing. Will need to return.

January 19, 2021

Super fun

I am super happy with my purchase and feels very comfortable and warm. I enjoy the choices of wearing these just fingers or cover and wear as mittens. Thank you

January 18, 2021

Casual Use

Well made and glad they are not wool. I wish the fingers were a little bit looser of a fit. Also would prefer a magnet vs. button.

January 8, 2021

Warm Mittens

Love these super warm mittens. Sooo convenient to flip the little cover to have my fingers free, too. Great looking, and fit is perfect!

January 4, 2021

Cozy staple winter mitten

I love supporting this company and I love my dad. When he needed some warm mittens for winter walks in the mid-Atlantic, these were an easy choice. Great fit, easy to use, and flexible. Hopeful they'll last a long time.

January 1, 2021

Awesome for cool weather hikes

These are great for cool (40-50F) hikes. Keeps my fingers toasty!

December 30, 2020

My Favorite Gloves

I love these gloves. I have them in a M and just bought a L for my husband. (Both fit me, to be honest, but our hands aren't super different in size.) They keep my hands warm in literally any temperature from single digits to 50 degrees and up. Highly recommend! My only comment is they do pill pretty intensely after a while. If you have the p... Read Moreatience you can pick them off (or use a de-piller), but just a heads up. It doesn't deter me from purchasing, but I figured I'd mention it.

December 29, 2020

Cozy Mittens

Wonderful material and continues to be made with sustainable products. Love the design. Fits well, but runs small related to the seams in finger holes.

December 17, 2020

Warm and comfortable

Very happy with the purchase. Originally ordered a small but needed to return for a medium.

December 11, 2020

Great winter accessory.

Love these gloves! The diversity of the glove is great. Very cold, stay covered up. When it gets a little warmer, flip them open. With regards to sizing, I have a huge hand and the xl fit perfect. I do like the ability to use your phone for a quick pic or call without having to remove the glove. I've never found a glove that works with a phone... Read More.

December 3, 2020

Nice and comfy

Great gloves for casual wear. I have two minor suggestions for product improvement though. 1 - the finger holes are a tad tight. Not to the point of being uncomfortable, but noticeable enough that I am constantly pulling at them in an attempt to loosen. 2 - pull the button back towards the cuff ever so slightly where the mitten tops are secured. Th... Read Moreere is just a little too much slack in the current design and the loop unfastens on its own quite a bit. I usually wear these in 'mitten mode' though, so it is not a huge issue for me.

December 3, 2020

Perfect in Cold Temps

I'm a walker (I know I checked "running," but walking was not an option.) -- everyday. That means when it's 20 degrees, I'm still out there. I needed warmth, but I still needed to use my fingers from time to time. This pair of gloves is perfect. Believe me, I have tested them out almost everyday since I purchased them. I ev... Read Moreen purchased them for my friend -- also a walker. So, thumbs up (so to speak) from Eden, UT, where it was 17 degrees this morning. Thanks, Patagonia, for ALL you do for us (and the environment)!

November 27, 2020

Convenient and comfy, but runs small.

I like the material and design, but these just seem too small even in a Large, a bit too tight on the fingers and can't pull them all the way to the base of the fingers. Will try an XL.

November 26, 2020

Perfect

So far everything about my new mittens is great. I bought them mostly for running. Running gloves never keep my hands warm. And usually the tips on the fingers dont work with my smart phone. These mittens are perfect. My hands are warm from the start of the run, I can use my actual fingers to work my phone without taking them off and when I get war... Read Moremed up, I can just uncover my fingers. Love them and plan to keep them forever.

November 11, 2020

Convenient and comfy, but runs small.

I like the design and they are comfortable as you'd assume, but I thought I was sizing up enough and was still wrong. The measurement around my knuckles is right at 8.5", I ordered a large and it's still too tight and I can't get the gloves to fit snug between my fingers. Will try the XL.

February 5, 2020

Great gloves overall

These are great gloves overall! I use them for dog walks and when needed while commuting for work. I wish the button and loop design was a magnet or snap button for better experience when not using mitten though! Fit is great for me but may be small for others!

January 6, 2020

Great convertable mittens!

Love the warmth of these and ease of putting them on and off. I have larger knuckles so they were a little snug at the beginning but have loosened in a week or so of wear. Would recommend!

January 3, 2020

Wonderful

The gloves are perfect for biking, when your hands are too hot you just take the cover off.

January 3, 2020

They look & feel great.

They look & feel great.

January 2, 2020

I want to love these but........

These gloves are fine if you wear them on a relatively warm day. Lots of air passes thru the material that covers your finger tips. This is not the same material as the Better Sweater - it is lighter. That being said, I'd take a Better Sweater in this material and color. I"ve been wearing these gloves on walks with the dog on days ranging... Read More 25-35 degrees. Once you are generating body heat, the gloves are fine. They are pretty mittens. I would have sent them back if they came with the rest of my order but the cost to ship them back is not worth sending by themselves. They glove length is quite short so if you have long hands, the elastic wrist band will most likely lie right at the end of your palm.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2020

Hi Kris, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the gloves. The Better Sweater Gloves aren't the warmest that we offer so you may want to opt for something warmer like the [Nano Puff Mitts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/nano-puff-mitts/22425.html?dwvar_22425_color=COB&cgid=womens-hats-accessories-gloves-mittens#start=1). We don't want you to hold onto the gloves if they're not meeting your needs so we've reached out to you directly with some return assistance!

December 31, 2019

Lightweight mittens

I wanted to love these mittens. I was hoping the accessibility of fingers would be helpful but they were just too thin to be practical for me. I need them for long walks with my kids and a general everyday mitten. The wind whipped right through them so I had to return. I got a size large as my hands measured 7.5” (top end of medium). They fit wel... Read Morel. Glad I read the reviews that they run a bit small.

December 29, 2019

Great fit and comfort

I bought the largest size (I am female with pretty average size hands) and the gloves fit perfect. They are very comfortable and easy to wear. They are great for being able to use my hands/fingers when I need to and still be warm (ish). When the temps are colder, they won’t be the warmest gloves I own but they are vest useful. I love them!

December 25, 2019

To small

I bought the large for my father as a birthday gift. He is 5'9" and his hands are average size. I exchanged them for an extra large and the gloves are still too small.

Response from Patagonia
January 15, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Bryce! We're sorry to hear these gloves were too small for your father. If you'd like to return them, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). I would recommend checking out our [Wind Shield Gloves](https://www.patagonia.com/product/wind-shield-running-gloves/33336.html?dwvar_33336_color=BLK&cgid=mens-hats-accessories-gloves-mittens#tile-9=&start=1&sz=24) as an alternative. This simple, low profile style does not lack on warmth, and customers found them to generally run a little bit big.

December 21, 2019

Warm but

They’re good gloves but the design of them is the reason they get 4 stars and not 5

December 20, 2019

Snug Fit and Warm for Cold Weather

These gloves fit great and they keep my hands warm.

December 13, 2019

Mittens

Love the color, the style, the fit. Thank you.

December 7, 2019

gloves

fit nicely and are warm,

December 4, 2019

This Design is Bad

The button is useless for keeping the mitten cover secured.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2019

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the gloves. Your satisfaction is always guarantee so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 4, 2019

Comfy fabric, uncomfortable structure

I thought that these gloves would make a practical stocking stuffer for my daughters, but they made the ends of the fingers too restricting. Rather than fitting comfortably on your hands, the finger sections were sewn so that they fit very tightly. There's no ignoring it, or getting used to the tight fit. I have slender fingers, so it's c... Read Morelear that the design is flawed. I am returning them.

December 1, 2019

Better Sweater Gloves

I need winter mittens that can expose the fingers for taking pictures and these glove are perfect. They are a heavy weight and work well in the cold. The website is not clear that these gloved are unisex. The sizing guide indicates both men's and women's hand sizes, but they do not apply to the gloves. My women's had size is 7 and th... Read Moree medium fit well, however my husband's size 8.5 hand needed an XL size. Also, the fingers are quite snug, though I think that this due to the thickness of the knit, and I expect that will relax a little with use.

November 29, 2019

Functional gloves

Love these gloves because you can wear them with or without the mitten cover

November 28, 2019

Design Flaws

Was stoked to see these as the only convertible gloves I could find out there were poor quality. Initially, size was off. I thought I would need a small-ish medium and ended up with a large -- the medium was way too small. The bigger issue is the retainer for the mitten flap -- it doesn't work! The button (or loop, however you want to look at... Read More it) isn't positioned to the point that it stays secured back. I feel like no one at Patagonia actually tried wearing these before putting them up for sale. A snap button here, though it wouldn't look as good, would work much, much better. On the plus side, they're that lovely better sweater fleece we all know and love. I wore these out for a walk in very windy 40 degree weather and was plenty warm. Overall pretty good gloves, but not well thought out.

November 27, 2019

Great Gloves, Thumbs are Trapped!

I love my new Better Sweater fingerless mittens however, there isn’t a slit in the thumb to open for thumb access. This detail would be helpful for using door knobs, opening dog waste bags, using devices, etc. The gloves are warm and look great so I’m not returning, but four stars due to the missing thumb design detail. (May try to add it myself bu... Read Moret they’re still too new at this point for alterations.) As far as fit - I went by the glove size chart on the product page and that worked well to find my fit.

November 25, 2019

warm, convenient to be able

warm, convenient to be able to remove tips and use your fingers!

November 24, 2019

Great gloves for dog walking

Love these gloves. Keeps my hands and fingers warm and allows to me give my dog treats and grab poo bags without taking my gloves off.

November 23, 2019

Great fit, solid product, keeps

Great fit, solid product, keeps my fingies warm :) It's nice they connect together so they don't get lost in transit. They're a little hard to get off but other than that I've been loving them

November 23, 2019

Patagonia ROCKS

These gloves are the bomb! Warm, cozy, and functional! I bought them for work but use them all the time. One of my favorite Patagonia purchases! I highly recommend! Thank you Patagonia for supporting our planet and offering great products! Keep up the great work! You ROCK!

November 21, 2019

Ran very small, and it

Ran very small, and it feels as if the glove is cutting off the circulation to my fingers. 2 days in of using them and there’s a hole by the fingers as the stitching came undone.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2019

We are sorry to hear that these are running too tight on you and that you are experiencing some issues with the stitching. We'd recommend that you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those back to us so we can get you either a refund or exchange for a larger size. Thanks for the feedback!

November 19, 2019

Almost Perfect

First, sizing. I tried to follow the adult glove sizing guide and this is what I got: circumference 8.5". Based on this, I could have ordered size M but have had problems with gloves being too small in the past and decided to go with a size up to be safe. So I was really surprised when size L barely fit on my hand - in particular the thumb len... Read Moregth, which was way too short. Anyway, I exchanged for size XL, which is much better but still a bit snug. My second observation is that the seam of the thumb runs more down the back and front, fleshy part of my thumb rather than the sides. Otherwise, I'm really happy with the quality of the materials - they're warm, seem durable, and are exactly the style I wanted.

November 16, 2019

Soft, but not as warm as I was hoping.

These gloves aren't quite as warm as I was hoping, but my hands are always cold and I should probably stick with traditional mittens for most warmth. Very soft, though, and I like the color.

November 16, 2019

sweater gloves

just what I was looking for

November 16, 2019

Perfect Winter Gloves

These gloves are so toasty warm!! They are perfect because you can keep them on and still use your phone.

November 11, 2019

Solid gloves

These gloves are pretty good. They’re fairly warm but beware that they are fleece. Fleece is not known to block out wind and if you’re wearing these on a particularly windy day, you will feel that cold wind through your hands. Sizing was spot on so make sure you get the right size using the size chart.

November 11, 2019

Fingerless gloves

The better sweater fingerless gloves are great! They are well made and I appreciate the little details. There’s a way to button the finger covers back when you don’t need them and a little “strap” to help pull them on and off.

November 7, 2019

Perfect for use with a camera

I can just remove the finger cover and use my camera without pulling my gloves off and on. This would help with cell phone use too. They are nice and warm too!

November 7, 2019

Love these, very functional!

I am very happy with these gloves - they are the perfect thickness and warmth, and without the mittens they are easy to work with and use my hands. Great product, as always!

November 6, 2019

true to size

true to size

October 31, 2019

Warm and Toasty

Super warm. I wish the thumbs were also half sewn. Having your thumb fully covered while fishing or shooting and the rest of your fingers free makes it difficult to feel the action. The hook is nice to keep the pair together and the construction is well made.

October 29, 2019

These gloves were well-made but

These gloves were well-made but ran small and not warm enough.

Response from Patagonia
November 14, 2019

Hi Rose! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the way the fit and warmth. Your satisfaction is important to us, so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 10, 2019

Great gloves for cold weather photography

You can wear these looking for great shots and be warm until you pull the cover back when you need fingers.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches