Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

Write Your Review

4.61 /5

Filter Reviews

All 130 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

4.61
True To Size
February 24, 2021

Just the thing for pandemic times

I wear this ...shirt? ...sweater? ...base layer? around the house continually these days, as it provides just the right amount of warmth for working indoors. Looks great on Zoom calls. Also functions very well as a second layer when hiking - very compressible so it hides away when I get warmed up.

February 24, 2021

comfy comfy comfy

very comfy this is real good for a base layer. I also sleep in it

February 19, 2021

HOLY MOLY THIS SHIRT IS UNREAL

This shirt is unbelievable. Here is why: 1) It never smells. I used it for 2 weeks of workouts, then went on a 4-day hunting trip with it on. I never took it off. Not while hunting, camping, cooking, or sleeping. It was low teens and it did such a great job of keeping me warm. Obviously, you have to layer well but the shirt is so thin it is the pe... Read Morerfect base layer. 2) The shirt is soft. Like baby bottom soft. Make sure to wash it correctly! Care for this shirt like it is your child. 3) It keeps you incredibly warm. Like I said before, It can be incredibly cold out and this shirt will do the trick(with proper layering). I have been hunting and running in the low teens/windchilll below ten degrees and this shirt will really contain the heat and keep your upper body warm. My hands were about ready to fall off though. 4) It wicks moisture super well. I am an avid duck hunter and carrying 75-100lbs of gear on and behind you for a mile walk at 4:30 in the morning is not easy. You work up a huge sweat in those waders and any cotton base layer will lose its heat. But because this shirt is wool it retains the heat and wicks the moisture so that your body stays dry. 5) No Chaffing. I haven't run super long distances in it so I am not 100% sure but I have not had any chafing while running 4ish miles. DISLIKES: 1) It does pill a little bit. I see it around the forearms and the wrists, where most of the abrasion would occur. I would buy 10 more of these if I had the money. Seriously recommend it.

February 13, 2021

beautiful texture

I got this for my husband, who has a few pieces of Patagonia. I wasn't sure about this because of the honeycomb texture. He is very discriminating (picky) in what he likes/wears. He loved it immediately. It is warmer than his other base-layers. He hasn't worn it yet but I suspect that has to do with the fact that we recently moved and are... Read More still doing/finishing projects in and around the house. I got the navy, not a true navy as the blue is visible. Beautiful, rich color. He always says he doesn't need any more clothes, but when I find something that I know is exceptional I get it. He did not offer any resistance. I'll keep the rating at five stars, but he hasn't worn it and it has not been laundered, but I expect the Patagonia quality to prevail!

February 12, 2021

Toasty Warm Wisco Vibes

I decided to try these air tops as something new( normally Im a capilene guy) and was pleasantly surprised buy how comfortable and warm they are despite the insanely cold winter weather the past few weeks here in Wisconsin. I actually ordered a second pair!

February 6, 2021

Warm, size down

I live this piece, but I do wish I had sized down. At 59, 160lbs, the medium doesnt really fit me like a baselayer should (fairly snug). Also wish Id gotten the hoodyI got the crew, thinking I could wear it like a sweater while teaching, but it doesnt really have that particular look on its own. Still, wonderfully warm, and its a go-to piece when w... Read Morealking in chilly conditions, especially when layered under something like the microfleece. Paired with my micropuff hoody, Ive yet to be anything remotely close to chilly on cold Arizona mornings (temps at or near freezing).

February 6, 2021

New Addition

I had been shopping for a new merino sweater for awhile. Pandemic put me back in the northeast for the winter and I needed something warm that I could wear everyday, inside and outside, working and playing. Ideally good looking enough to wear out on the town and the trail. I have an Patagonia sweater from 10 years ago that was the heaviest base lay... Read Moreer offered at the time. Black and thick and comfortable next to the skin. It fits close and keeps me super warm without getting me overheated. I can wear it in NYC on the subway and then outside hiking and it performs well. This sweater will not replace it. Its nice and light and warm and good looking but I have to layer it up to get the same warmth. Im a little apprehensive about catching on a twig or a piece of anything rough because I dont want to spoil the pristine stitching of my new 140$ sweater. That being said it fits well - a bit looser than my last. Im fit and 130 lb with a 29 waist and a 38 chest. Im pleased but not overwhelmed.

February 3, 2021

Super warm

This is the best base layer Ive ever bought. I use to wear other brands but they was too compressed & this feels like pajamas but super warm pajamas. Im ready to buy another set honestly lol money well worth spent.

January 26, 2021

incredible fit

i wasn't expecting much and this was an exceptional product - high quality, fits great

January 25, 2021

Super Comfy and Warm

I love the fit, warmth and comfort. I hate the price tag, but just retired my twenty year old Patagonia capilene base layers. Hopefully, this will last as long. I'd buy more if I had more money.

January 23, 2021

Very warm and breathable

I wear it under everything. Insane gear

January 19, 2021

My go to layer

Love this shirt/sweater. It is my preferred layer for almost everything. Picked it up last spring so now have had it almost 9 months and it has held up awesome. I wear it almost daily. As one of the millions in constant telework I wear probably too much. I have received numerous compliments on it. It is warm, but not too warm and cozy and it looks ... Read Morelike a high end sweater so can be dressed up. I will also use it as a layer over a capiliene under a houdini on winter trail runs and honestly can be a little warm, so only used on the coldest days (20s or less). I wear it so often I am looking to get one in navy too.

January 18, 2021

Nice

I am 170 cm, 56kg, I bought a small and it fits well as a base layer or over a t-shirt. It is warm and durable. It looks better than I expected, it looks a bit like a cardigan that I could wear casually with friends and family, but it also fits well as a base layer. Obviously, synthetic/merino allows it to not get soaked in humidity

January 15, 2021

Uni-stitch fit is amazing!

I've worn a lot of base layers in my time and this one takes the cake for comfort and warmth!

January 13, 2021

Super warm:

I am freezing in Houston in the winter (cold and damp). I love this under a sweater with causal pants/leggings. I am short and heavy so don't fit in the women's section, but I love this...the sleeves a too long for me but I love the shirt and just fold them back!!

January 12, 2021

Go ahead and take my money

As with most Pat products, it arrives, you open the package and put it on. In this case, you put it on, maybe take it off at bed time (maybe not), wake up the next day and put it back on. I did this for five days and noticed zero odor and finally decided to wash and dry just to see what happened. I would recommend COLD water wash, as it does contai... Read Moren wool. I put in dryer for ten minutes. I cant say that it shrunk, only that it seemed to fit even better. Im 61, 225 lbs, size 37 waist. Size XL is perfect. Will use as base-layer all winter and very likely order more. Just one of those amazing, perfect products.

January 10, 2021

Comfy

Bought this for my brother in law for the holidays. He loved it

January 8, 2021

Soft, warm, great base layer.

Liked it so well I purchased a second one!

January 7, 2021

Light & warm

It is very light and pleasant feel on your skin. Surprisingly warm, nicely shaped and cool looking base layer.

January 7, 2021

Highly recommend

Bought as a Christmas gift. Loved it more in person! Loved the stitching along the chest/shoulder area. Great for everyday wear

January 3, 2021

New favorite

Ever since I have got it in I have used it as my base layer for every hike. Makes the early morning starts easier when I go to put it on after dragging myself out of bed.

January 2, 2021

LOVE THIS!

This top is great, warm, cozy, comfy, warm, etc ... I prefer these tops to fit a bit snug, so, don't go by what I ordered for me. This is wonderful for over a t-shirt for just casual wear, and for normal layering, base layer stuff too! So, an all-around top for anything that comes your way!

January 2, 2021

Love it! Been wearing it non-stop

Super comfortable next-to-skin, cozy, and very stretchy. I find myself wearing this almost daily for the past several weeks. Form-fitting but not overly tight (I usually wear XS). One of those items that you don't realize you have on, in a good way. This is my first review, but I've been so impressed with this item that it seemed worthwhi... Read Morele to share it's positives with the rest of the community. Thank you!

January 1, 2021

Waiting for colder weather

I run hot generally, so things havent gotten cold enough in NEPA to justify this base layer yet

January 1, 2021

Sensational!

I bought this on a whim to use as an alternative to regular lightweight Capilene tops. This product feels great, is ultra light, and the waffle-type weave enhances warmth. It's new, so I can't render an assessment of its durability, but thus far, it's a winner.

December 30, 2020

Handsome Man

Bought this as a gift for my fiance and he looks great in it! Fits him really well and looks nice as a casual everyday shirt. He's wearing it often, so, it's a winner!

December 27, 2020

Lightweight, warm and stylish

This is a very versatile piece of clothing. It looks and feels like a sweater. It add warmth and yet dressy enough for a dinner out. Its great for layering. Also, great for travel.

December 25, 2020

Versatile Layer

Very pleased with this sweater/mid-layer/do-everything top! Very warm for it's weight, great as a mid or base layer, but equally great as a casual sweater!

December 20, 2020

Feels great

Great fabric. Feels wonderful

December 19, 2020

SPAC CEO

So I'm at my Black marble desk video conferencing wearing my new Capilene Crew neck feeling confident abs crisp thinking Yvon should take Patagonia public via a SPAC . It's the Capilene Crew Neck, don't get mad at me!

December 19, 2020

Great

Great

December 17, 2020

Wool base layer without the itch?!?!

This shirt is entirely responsible for turning my layering system upside down! I originally bought the Capilene Air based on the various comments about it being warm and breathable. My intent was to use it as my wool base-layer for skiing and snowshoeing. When I got the shirt, I was slightly disappointed with how thin it was I expected it to be sli... Read Moreghtly thicker. However, I did appreciate that it was light, comfortable, and very easy to move in. In a first attempt to run it through the paces, I used it as a true base layer under a thin rain shell (no mid-layer) in +1°C weather and took a very slow walk. I wasnt cold, but I also wasnt cozy warm either. The second test involved a ski day. However, I switched up my layering approach and used a merino wool tank top as my base layer, and then used the Capilene Air as a mid-layer under a soft shell jacket. I stuffed my Patagonia Nano Air into my pack, assuming I would need to add the extra layer for warmth as soon as I got on the mountain WRONG! While it was a mild day (-5°C) I was still shocked at how comfortably warm I was not too warm, and definitely not cold! The Capilene Air kept me warm, comfortable, and let me move freely. Dont let the thinness of the fabric fool you because this shirt is a serious performer! From a fit and feel perspective, here are my measurements and comments: 57 165 lbs. 32 waist 40 chest 31 sleeve Typically, Im a medium in everything. However, I wanted the shirt slightly fitted since I would be using it as a base-layer, so I purchased the size-small. I also have short arms and knew the size-medium arms would be way to long, based on the sizing chart. With respect to the feel of the wool shirt on bare skin, it was really soft and at no point did it EVER itchand Im pretty picky when it comes to this area. The price of the shirt is a bit spendy, but theres something to be said about having good quality gearand Patagonia qualifies. Without reservation, the Capilene Air will become one of my favourite base / mid-layers for skiing highly recommended!

December 12, 2020

Great Base Layer

Very happy with my purchase!

December 9, 2020

Crisp

Steve McQueen would have worn this to get stuff at local Knob Hill grocery. I have 5 or so. Only recommendation would be to fortify elbow. I rest right elbow frequently in car center consul. Can wear easily.

December 9, 2020

really warm & comfy

Well made, keeps me warm , purchased another one

December 8, 2020

These are worth every dollar!!!

These are extremely warm and comfortable. Great base layer

December 5, 2020

Super soft knitted look, warm but weighs almost nothing!

Great product

December 2, 2020

Warm

Nice warm but Wilkes out moisture Thought it was too contour to my torso but got use to it I usually bought double x for loose fit but once wearing it was ok and works

December 2, 2020

almost perfect

i wear this at work where i am in a 40 degree (F) cooler most of the day. i usually wear just a tshirt on top. definitely keeps me warm all day. only complaint is the material snags Very easily and threads can be pulled loose. i dont recommend wearing it as a top layer. washing/drying (cool/low heat) hasnt changed the size or shape.

November 29, 2020

Toasty

This is a stellar design for a base layer. Fits loose enough to not be restrictive . Keeps the moisture from collecting and material from getting damp once you start to sweat.

November 28, 2020

GORGEOUS,cozy,comfy!

Delicious, cozy Balkan-blue "waffle-weave" shirt is lightweight,comfy, WARM, and perfect for snowy Montana! (im a medium-sized female, but i ordered the men's XL size for snuggliness). thankyouPatagonia! wish you made more items in BLUE

November 28, 2020

Remarkably Warm

Kept me warm on a 7 day hike with temps in the 53-59 degree F range, with only a rain shell over the top. Buying one for a family member this Christmas. Recommended.

November 27, 2020

Super warm, not great for casual wear

Original review posted last year in October. While I still stand by this being a wonderful baselayer for most pursuits, its propensity to pill extremely bad after a month of wear reduces its appeal as an all-around, one layer to do it all. Its just not great for casual wear, though its epic for fast and light outdoor pursuits. Pop on a wind layer ... Read Morefor great warmth in active cold weather pursuits (below freezing) or with a nano-air or warmer insulation layer for serious warmth in super cold. Basically, Im just disappointed in how it has worn in I typically choose an old smartwool 250 Ive had for 8 years over this when i need one layer for around town + warmth outside and only wear this when I know Ill be solely outside, say for cold weather runs, cross country skiing, or backpacking. But whatever, thats just me wanting that one layer holy grail that you can wear as an around town kind of thing then also take it with you on the trails or crag.

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2020

Hey there, we appreciate the feedback. Unfortunately, the nature of knit items is that they will pill over time, this will happen regardless of quality when these fibers meet friction. However, there are ways to maintain the garment, such as using a sweater stone. If you're interested in baselayers that will be less prone to pilling, check out our [Men's Capilene Midweight Crew](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-midweight-crew-neck-shirt/44427.html?dwvar_44427_color=CNY). It won't be as warm, but the smooth texture of the fibers will be less prone to pilling.

November 24, 2020

Comfy sweater/shirt

I love that the cap air crew acts as a toasty base layer for cold expeditions, but also makes a nice trim sweater. I am nervous about snagging it on things, and it is a bit grippy to put on under my close-fitting R2 hoodies, but otherwise I love it.

November 23, 2020

Keeps me warm

Great to wear around the house in the winter and perfect undergarment for golfing in cold weather

November 21, 2020

Very versatile

Zip up very warm ,unzipped very comfortable indoor.

November 21, 2020

Warm, light and comfortable

This is a great piece of all around gear. I own two. At first, I was a little dismayed by the price, but after putting it through the ringer, turns out to be well worth the cost. It excels at regulating temperature and staying stink-free! I highly value theses things. Thanks for another outstanding piece of kit Patagonia.

November 20, 2020

Amazing warm and comfortable

Highly recommend great base layer on Cold weather

November 19, 2020

Thanks

Light weight and warm.

November 19, 2020

Great all around layer!

As most things Ive ever owned from Patagonia, this is a well designed piece. Simple, straightforward, effective layer that can be worn in any situation, casual through active. Try it!

November 19, 2020

Outstanding

I must say I love this garment. It fits well. Is lightweight and fantastically warm. It is a must have in my book. Do yourself a favor and get one.

November 18, 2020

So comfortable and warm

Ive had a lot of shirts, but this one is the best. It is light, but warm. Its soft and unrestricting. It is just so comfortable and warm. Love it.

November 16, 2020

Super warm and soft

Warm, very light, easy care, not itchy. Great product.

November 12, 2020

This is a good one

While I have not yet worn this in cold, snowy conditions, I have worn it on cold, foggy Mt. Tam mornings on my bike. So far it seems to be to be about as perfect a thin, warm layer as can be!

November 10, 2020

Air crew

Medium fit was true to size. Wore once under air jacket. Very nice.

November 10, 2020

comfortably warm and very light weight

comfortable, easy to move in

November 7, 2020

Great multifunctional shirt

I wear this as a base layer and as a sweater. Warm for a light weight shirt. Multifunctional! Is a trim fit, so if you have a few extra pounds I would size up if you are going to use it as a sweater/shirt. Great product.

October 29, 2020

Lovely top for something light weight that will keep you warm

I'm 5'10 and weight 190-195 with a 42 inch chest. I bought this in a L because it mentioned it was a slim fit or sleeker fit. It's not a slim fit as other sporting brands and I wonder if I could have fitted in a M to have this top more fitting than it is. Non the less I've worn this to work on a wet cold windy day in the NE area... Read More for work with a M Nano Puff Jacket and Rainshadow Jacket to keep me warm and it worked a treat. The weather was between 40-50 degrees with constant rain. Worked like treat. Only thing I wish I had was some of Patagonia's gloves and rain pants. Hope that will be my next purchase if they bless me with a nice discount code for this lovely review and the other reviews I've given!

October 26, 2020

Cuts the damp/cold

I was a bit leery of dropping 129.00 on a single base layer top. I own (6) Patagonia base layers in various levels and they do a very good job. But this top cuts the dampness completely! Ill be adding the bottoms and a back up top. Your steelhead fishing field testers really nailed this one!

October 25, 2020

I want a zip neck

This looks like a great product. Why is there no zip neck model. Please make one. A Minnesotan

September 4, 2020

Comfortable

Its like all the Patagonia gear I have been wearing for over forty years. Great quality for the money.

September 1, 2020

Cap Air Rules!

The material used on this is unreal. It's somehow magically warm when you need it to be and vents / ditches heat when you want it to. A perfect base layer for cold treks / ski days or a great mid-weight layer for the evening cool-off. The only hard part about this product is choosing between my hooded one or the crew neck!

August 8, 2020

My favorite piece of clothing

I bought my first one of these when it was originally issued back on 2014-15, and it was called the Merino Air... bought it b/c I liked the look of it, and I pretty much wore it every day for the next 2 years between late September and mid April. By that time I lived in terror of it falling apart on me... the pits were getting threadbare. So when t... Read Morehey re-released it as the Capilene Air I was so jazzed I bought two. Honestly, Ive only worn them when my original has been in the wash. So, though Ive read a few reviews questioning durability, my experience has been that its an extremely durable garment. Comfort is the best, bar none, and as for performance, though I live in Iowa and so am not taking it into the mountains, I do hike a lot, year round I remember remarking one day last spring when I got a little too excited for warm weather and left the coat at home, I was amazed at how warm it kept me even when a sunny spring day turned gray and blustery. I really want to get one of the new 2020 colors... but its hard for me to justify as I still have two mostly unworn backups to my original in my closet. :(

July 23, 2020

Awesome Wool Blend Baselayer

Patagonia's warmest baselayer. Excellently comfortable next-to-skin feel, which is supremely important for all-day wear. Warm, but breathable. Dries quickly. No seams or bulky areas on the garment. Indispensable part of my warmies kit.

June 2, 2020

Next level

Finally pulled the trigger on this and have absolutely no regrets. It is the best baselayer I've tried to date - warm, super breathable, comfy and looks great. The XL is slightly loose on me so it looks just like a wool sweater. I've lounged around the house in it, hiked in it, run in it in 5C weather and worn it to cafes. There is a li... Read Morettle bit of pilling but that's normal with knitted yarns, particularly with wool. Only issue is I want another one but the current colours don't appeal to me. Patagonia - make a Forest Green one (and make it available in Australia) and I'll be all over it!

April 16, 2020

Amazing fit and comfort.

Super impressive design. Smooth fit and very comfortable with a supprising amount of warmth.

March 6, 2020

Warm, breathable and dries quickly

It's always nice when a product does what it says it will do. I came from an all merino base layer that was warm, but retained all the moisture to the point I would get cold in the afternoon of all-day running. These combine the best of both worlds of the warmth of wool, but the wicking and drying ability of the synthetic.

February 26, 2020

Comfortable but awful quality

Wearing the product for the third time and have yet to wash it, It tore in the back while i was putting it on today. Areas that rub against each other have become fuzzy and thin. It has a great feel but is falling apart so fast that it has me questioning patagonia as a whole. Also lacks a presentable look now, overall not mad just disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2020

Hi Theodore. We're really sorry that your Capilene Air shirt is falling apart. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty once we reopen. We went ahead emailed you with all necessary instructions. Thanks so much for your review.

February 24, 2020

The Strange Tale of How It Works

I am a natural fiber guy. I don't buy all-synthetic clothing as a rule, for a number of philosophical reasons but let's just go with: comfort and sustainability. I bought this piece a few years ago to try the half-n-half approach to fabric, but also the seamless side of things. This very nice piece breathes very well, doesn't feel cl... Read Moreammy when I sweat (very synthetic attribute), and retains its shape well even after days of continuous use. I just did four days backpacking in Grand Canyon, and this piece was my base layer during the day, and my sleeping shirt at night. I honestly didn't want to like it as much as I do for the high synthetic content, but my many reviews over the years about a balancing act between using wool for all it's qualities and just enough synthetic to contribute what it offers, I never really saw 50/50 as the ideal number. 75-80% wool? Sure, but only half? Yet, this garment has proved the two can pull near equal weight and function well enough for me to praise it...not here, but by wearing it. More wool would only make this better, but it's a great shirt as-is.

February 20, 2020

Best base layer yet.

Absolutely love this piece. Purchased a M in gray and it runs true to size. Very versatile temperature wise: works great from cold to hot. Hugs the body so it keeps your temperature constant, both hot and cold. Neck and wrist collars are snug but not tight. At first, I thought I might stretch and snap the neck collar because it seemed like one thre... Read Moread was encircling it, but it does stretch and tighten. Has held up to multi-day heavy use when traveling and hiking. Does a great job of keeping odors away too. Easily my new favorite base layer. Just be sure to keep any pets with claws away from it.

January 30, 2020

It really is that good

I was excited to see Patagonia bring back their merino wool products, and jumped at the opportunity for an air crew. It may be the best shirt ever made. It is true to size, comfortable, and doesn't retain oder. I've worn it as a baselayer snowboarding and doing odds and ends work in snowy Pennsylvania. It's great as a single layer wo... Read Morerking out, with superior breathability. Honestly, I'd wear it every day if my wife agreed with my "wash once every few weeks" approach. Outstanding product, and sincerely hope Patagonia keeps it around for a while.

January 28, 2020

The finest base layer tops I own!

At a recent count I have 9 merino base layer tops ranging from 150 to 260 weight. Using a friend/employee recommendation at The Mountaineer in Keane Valley NY, I decided to try this piece in crew. I planned to use for 3 season hiking, backpacking, skiing, lounging, and winter ice climbing. The Capilene Air has been flawless to date for all of these... Read More. I used in November and then December both on 3 day backpacking trips in the Northeast. My typical plan is to hike in Capilene and then wear a heavier to dry merino top at camp, using the Capilene over it to dry under layers for the next day. I did rotate some layers on both trips but only wearing this to hike, occasionally swapping the base with a dry merino. I have also done the same and just put a merino over it as it drys super fast and really never seems to get too wet. It is actually the layer I prefer on my skin compared to Capilene and pure merino. It feels like cashmere, almost, and when you put it on, warm in your skin, unlike most layers. When it’s wet from hiking it doesn’t feel heavy or soaked like merino and more comfortable than Capilene mid weight. For climbing ice I just spent 5 days in it as my only base with an R1 zip over and no issues, was awesome. I don’t feel that it will be super wet and uncomfortable the rest of the day if approaching is long, can always us a Capilene light T under for the hike if you want. I feel it’s as warm as any 230-260 weight merino I have but also can hike or move in it like it’s 200 lightweight merino. Durability has been good so far but I have worn mostly as a base and usually something light over it. Have not had much pilling and washes well, inside out, and can be wiped with a lint tool, which seems to help. As I have loved this so much, I just bought the hoody version for climbing ice. I was hesitant that it wouldn’t fit well under my R1 or Piton hood, but it does and will make up for day where I pack an extra light balaclava for under. Plus, it’s a neck gaiter built in, I like variability and options. Good luck with this, but I feel you won’t be dissatisfied if the fit is good. I am 5-9/10 and 165-70, the medium fits me slim as a base should and has great stretch and multi day resilience. It’s cut a bit long to tuck in but not so long it looks super specific like the R1 hoody.

January 5, 2020

New Favorite Baselayer

I've worn almost every version of baselayer made by Patagonia, until the Capilene Air. The pricetag seemed steep, until I finally tried it. I wore both the top and bottoms skiing and have never experienced better temperature regulation than the Capilene Airs. We had 0 degree (F) days and 32 degree (F) days, and the Cap AIrs have kept me warm w... Read Morehen needed and cool when needed. The technology is awesome - I will be buying multiple pairs for skiing and winter activities.

January 5, 2020

Capilene Air Crew

I love this! It's perfect at keeping me warm and still breathe's well so it doesn't overdue it. I'm sold! The fit is perfect too.

December 31, 2019

Soft and warm

Very light, soft and warm base layer. I was surprised at how warm it kept me on a cold (12F) winter day. Will be able to reduce layers next time.

December 23, 2019

Light and very warm, not sure about durability

This is soft, extremely light but very warm. The only thing to be determined is the durability. It looks a bit flimsy to be honest, and there is some pilling after one (gentle) wash only. Time will tell.

December 19, 2019

I have a long torso

I have a long torso and have to get the extra large for length...

December 15, 2019

Another classic

We have relied on Patagonia base layers for many years. This one is perfect.

December 12, 2019

Sizing is all over

I have two of these, the first one fits great 6’1” 190# size large, the second one I bought is is two inches too long, and wide. It feels like an xl fit. If you do decide to buy one buy multiple so you can get the one that fits, this is a similar problem I had with a better sweater purchase.

December 6, 2019

Everything it's supposed to be

Insulation properties of this are amazing and it looks great to boot! The only problem for me is that I got a M to use as a next-to-skin baselayer but I also want a L to wear as a sweater!

December 6, 2019

Super Comfortable

Great base layer for layering in cold weather. Good and minimalist casual wear.

December 4, 2019

NOT a warm top layer for sedentary people

I'm not an outdoors person; I'm someone who sits at a computer in an old, cold house. I've used Capilene Expedition Weight tops and bottoms to keep me warm for years. I decided to try Capilene Air to see if it's even warmer. It's not if you're sedentary, and it's the top layer. The "breathability" means... Read More that drafts go right through the fabric. I expect Capilene Air would fare much better if you put on a wind-stopping layer over it, and if you're active. But it's not a good base layer for sitting around in.

December 4, 2019

Love the feel and fit

Love the feel and fit , just a little long in the torso.

December 2, 2019

Speedy delivery. True to size

Speedy delivery. True to size and very warm. Will buy more.

December 1, 2019

Comfortable, but not durable.

I wear this shirt for trail-running. It's very lightweight, warm and wicks nicely. The one problem with this garment is that the fabric is not strong nor durable. After one wash there were several broken threads and pilling.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2019

Hi there, we're sorry that you're unhappy with the performance of your Men's Capilene Air Crew. If you are ever unsatisfied with your gear, you're more than welcome to initiate a return by following this link, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return.

November 25, 2019

Just when I thought the Capilene couldn't get any better...

The Air came out and shattered all my expectations. I have had iterations of the Capilene base layer throughout the years, all of them plenty warm and comfortable, but the Air is the best yet. It seems impossible that something this lightweight can be so warm, it's the perfect base layer for being active in cold weather, and is so comfortable,... Read More I find myself wearing it almost daily. The fit is slim, but not constricting, which is exactly what you want in a base layer. I cannot recommend the Capilene Air highly enough.

November 24, 2019

Great Tee!

I bought these as my daily Tee as I was tired of buying Tee’s (that still are not cheep) and wore out in a year. These are high quality, fit great and are durable. Disappointed that the white were all sold out, please bring those back soon!

November 22, 2019

Very comfy

These make great casual shirts or base layers. I love these for winter layering because I almost never overheat.

November 22, 2019

Persechini

great product - design, fabric, execution

November 21, 2019

Capilene® Air Crew

The Capilene® Air Crew is a terrific shirt or undergarment. It is light, soft on the skin, warm, and has freedom of movement. While I pull it on, I can immediately feel the soft fabric warming my skin. Its that fast. It is attractive enough to wear by itself as a shirt, soft and warm enough to wear as an undergarment to stay warm in cold weather. I... Read More love it.

November 21, 2019

Pretty awesome

About the broadest range of comfort available. Very light weight, and as a base layer, very comfortable against the skin. Alone under a shell, or under an insulated shell - they are awesome. Depends on the outside temp and your activity, but it is easy to dial them into the perfect layer.

November 20, 2019

crew

nice ,light and very comfortable will buy more colors.

November 18, 2019

Most comfortable

Very comfortable base layer while being ultra-lite. I ordered a size larger so shirt tail would not slip out on more active adventures. Let's see how it holds up to a Montana winter?

November 14, 2019

Super comfortable everyday base layer

These are great. I bought one and had to order a second a few weeks later when I realized how much I wanted to wear these just about everyday. I've used it as a base layer for cold weather activity and as a casual around the house/town shirt. It almost looks like a regular knit sweater. One small gripe, the oxide red version shows a blue contr... Read Moreast line at the base of the sleeves and waist. This blue contrast line was not on the actual garment when it arrived. Not sure where it went?

November 13, 2019

Keeping the cold at bay

Comfortable and warm. Easy care.

November 12, 2019

This is my third capilene

This is my third capilene air crew. These shirts are really nice because they can be warm when layered, but can also be cool if it starts to get hot out.

November 9, 2019

Nevermore chilly

I don't know how often you hear from customers about this kind of use-- I was playing Edgar Allan Poe on a ghost tour of Fells Point Baltimore on the Day of the Dead. After dark, the temperature was in the low 40s F. I'd just gotten the capilene air shirt and wore it under my tux shirt and tail coat, and I was comfortable and not cold the... Read More whole time (fingerless gloves also helped).

November 8, 2019

Love It

Perfect fit: snug, not baggy. Light, comfortable feel against skin. Great base layer..breathes easily. Not bulky so fits under other layers well. Seems lie flat. Great piece for 3 layer systems of dress.

November 7, 2019

Great base layer

This purchase was my second one.

November 7, 2019

I basically live in these

I basically live in these during the winter at work and at home

November 6, 2019

Looks good feels better

The first thing that I appreciated about this piece was the way it felt: soft yet durable. There is a decent amount of stretch to it too. Enough stretch that if you got form-fitting or slim-fit, it can still move with you while climbing or any other cool weather active endeavor.

November 6, 2019

Love everything but the durability

The Cap Air is extremely cozy for how thin it is! Like a lot of people, I’ve ended up wearing it more as a light sweater than strictly a baselayer. And, like a lot of people, I can already see it starting to pill or fuzz up, which is a bit of a bummer, albeit not a surprise given how many reviews mention that as an issue. That said, the fit and com... Read Morefort are top notch, and the seamless construction is pretty unique. It is cut rather long in the torso and arms, which is a little odd at first but that does help keep the cold out by keeping it tucked in and ensuring your wrists covered if your arms are raised, ie while climbing. The pattern on the fabric, and the sweater-like cuffs and hem, add a nice look. I’d probably get another despite the pilling issues, but hopefully Patagonia will figure out a way to make these a tad more durable without sacrificing the things that make it a great piece!

October 30, 2019

Perfect!

Perfect lightweight base layer. Soft against the skin. Can be worn by itself when its cool, or under a sweater or fleece when colder.

October 29, 2019

Comfortable warmth

Super soft, warm and great fit. These are not as loose as the pants, but not super tight like a standard base, which is my favorite thing about these tops. I use them for work mostly doing high rise/bosun chair window cleaning when the temperature dips. I pair them with the Capilene air bottoms, and it is a perfect base.

October 29, 2019

Perfect

Perfect all-rounder. Wearing it casually as a sweater almost daily. Pop a fleece over it for serious warmth. Take it off to get airflow and stay comfortably warm while cooling off. For active wear it’s the perfect item. I wear merino (smart wool and icebreaker) all winter long. Only issue is the temp regulation is just a bit harder when serious ph... Read Moreysical output is happening. This item solves that, and allows air to virtually pass right through you. I think it’s the holy grail. I wore it 7 days before washing, no stink until about day 7. Highly recommend for the one-shirt-that-does-it-all people amongst us. I hate having one pile of a active gear and one pile of casual gear; utility across life is key; as is function, style, and quality.

October 27, 2019

Best base layer for cool to cooler temperatures

This is my favorite base layer for cooler weather. Even when the day warms up a bit, it doesn’t become too warm. I tend to sweat quite a bit especially when it rains I wear a rain jacket. This base layer keeps me warm and just doesn’t get wet. It is the best performing base layer I have ever had in that regard

October 21, 2019

Best ski / snowboard baselayer!! 🏂

This is my favorite snowboard layer I own. I usually wear it with one light layer on top (sometimes even just a t-shirt) and then my powslayer jacket and I am perfect temp all day. It’s so comfy and regulates heat and moisture really well.

September 24, 2019

The best piece I own

This is seriously the best piece of clothing I own. I bought one of these a couple of weeks ago and immediately ordered another as soon as I tried the first one on. I've used it backpacking, camping, and even taking the wife to dinner because she likes how it looks on me. Extremely versatile. You should just buy one, period.

September 11, 2019

New Style

I love this shirt! I really want a henley version to be available though.

August 11, 2019

Great Base Layer For Antactica

I had this shipped to McMurdo station for my winter season. I love it. Perfect layer. I wear it everyday!

August 10, 2019

The fabric pills! Otherwise nice

The fabric pills! Otherwise nice cozy shirt.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the pilling! With the nature of garments like these, sometimes pilling can be inevitable. We'd recommend trying some of the products out there that help to remove pilling. This is the best way to extend your product lifespan and keep it out of landfills. As always though, if you are unsatisfied, please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back for a warranty evaluation.

August 10, 2019

Soft and Confortable

I like the blended material which feels soft. Have only tried it at home and felt comfortable. Will try out the warm part compared to the Smartwool 150 and 250 at Yellowstone this August. Perception wise, it looks flimsy compared to Smartwool. Not sure if it were the weave.

May 22, 2019

Perfect Layer

I love this thing! It works as a baselayer or as a standalone sweater. I've worn it to family functions and received compliments for how it looks and fits on me. In addition, it's kept me nice and warm in outdoor ventures. It's an awesome all-around piece! My wife has already told me to get more colors!

May 8, 2019

Best base

Love this shirt, super soft and comfortable. great at temperature regulation.

March 26, 2019

Excellent quality. I expected it

Excellent quality. I expected it to be warmer. I prefer the tighter Merino products.

March 24, 2019

Fabric Durability Issues with Patagonia Capilene Air

My Wife and I enjoy many Patagonia products, sadly however, I've the fabric's durability of the Capilene Air products are exceedingly poor. After only two months of casual use (No Backpacking), I have requested a refund of this expensive product. I purchased two Capilene Air Crews and the fabric started to pill and fray giving the garment... Read More an almost furry appearance to the manufactured quilted pattern. In addition, the fabric began to stretch and become baggy, losing the qualities that you would expect from a baselayer. I would recommend that this product be avoided until Patagonia corrects the problem with this fabric.

March 21, 2019

Amazing Product

Very Comfortable and keeps me toasty. I little itchy on bare skin, but I don't like wool directly on my skin anyways, I just wear something technical under it and it keeps me warm and dry. My lady also loves how it looks, I got the Balkan Blue.

February 25, 2019

Pilling sleeves

Feels good, but the sleeves are pilling terribly. Also developed one small hole within the first month. The price is way too high for this poor fabric wear.

January 31, 2019

massive temperature range

the combination of waffle weave and very loosely woven material means this is the ideal base layer in a wide range of conditions. i've used it skiing in the alps, where it's warmer and more humid than the western US, as well as on the east and west coasts of the US. Never been uncomfortable or clammy. I would wear it every day but for the... Read More expense.

January 29, 2019

Travels well in heat and cold

I took this thing through half a dozen airports and as many different climates and it always seemed to adapt. It was breathable when it was warm out and an insulating layer when it was cold and could easily go over whatever I was wearing. It's light to pack and keep in a day bag with little trouble and less weight. It does pill up a bit and is... Read More a lint magnet, but that's not the point of it and it cleans up easily enough.

January 14, 2019

Really warm and confortable

I finally got this for christmas, had to ask several people because the cost (hard to justify the price tag). After wearing for several days, I love this product. This last weekend was snowing in Denver with a temp around 30-F degrees and windy. My dog and I went to the state park, weared this plus my R1 and down coat, I was worm for the two hours ... Read Moreplaying in the snow !! Wish it was cheaper to have another one !!

December 25, 2018

Like wearing a second skin, only softer...

The feel and fit of this shirt is incredible!

November 26, 2018

Test Metadata

"Neque porro quisquam est qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit..." "There is no one who loves pain itself, who seeks after it and wants to have it, simply because it is pain..."

November 18, 2018

Perfect so far

Wore this around Matsue Japan cycling in 15C to 18C damp windy weather with only another brand wool T shirt under it. It was perfect!! Light and thin but plenty warm. Very surprised at how warm this shirt is... Any thicker and it would be too warm!

October 24, 2018

Merino Air Crew thumbs down

I am a long time Patagonia user (since 1980). This Merino Air Crew is the same product from Fall 2015 except the wool is sourced from New Zealand. The product does not work well in Wet climates and you will feel clammy. It may work in Colorado, but skiing Oregon with the higher humidity never worked for me after multiple uses. Not recommended, stay... Read More with the Tried and True Patagonia Capilene product which I can't rave enough about.

October 18, 2018

2 Shirts in a week

I really want to like this product but i got a hole in the left armpit of the first shirt i got. I returned it to the store and had another one ordered for me online. Received it. Put it on. And within 2 hours or wearing the second one another hole formed in the left armpit! I am the correct size for the shirt i got so i have no explanation other t... Read Morehan poor sowing quality. Very disappointed.

October 8, 2018

Please bring back the lightweight merino 2 products.

Please bring back the LW Merino 2 Zip Neck and LW Merino 2 LW bottom long underwear. I've been buying Patagonia long underwear for 20+ years and they were/are the best long underwear I've ever owned. They're comfortable, warm, and packable (light weight and compact) and they didn't retain odor like capilene does. It was really n... Read Moreice having a product with minimal synthetics. It felt really great to wear. I know they had some synthetics but with 77% merino, they had a lot more natural material than the Capilene Air Crew. Thanks.

October 2, 2018

Fragile

Already has developed a hole in a non-high wear area. A tad itchy.

September 18, 2018

meh

This product has so much promise: warmth, lightweight, soft...but it pills up something terrible! Please improve this Patagonia

August 26, 2018

Make a a sweater and polo out of this material please

This is the best and most comfortable fabric/garment that I've ever worn. Please double the thickness and keep everything else exactly the same and offer as a sweater/midweight layer. I'm wearing this as a light sweater over a capilene lightweight t shirt and love it. Again, please offer a sweater and polo in this incredible material.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches