Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 198 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Air Crew Neck Shirt

4.7/5
True To Size
April 21, 2022

Home run

Great base layer. Winters in WA, this is an essential piece of my kit. Noticeably softer than my smart wool base layers, which is tough to admit

April 3, 2022

Worth it

As a very skeptical buyer I did tons of research before ordering this and I must say it was a very good purchase. It does what it needs to do, feels amazing while doing it, and it never has a stink even after multiple days of wear over the course of 2 weeks. Very warm when it needs to be and very breathable and quick drying so i never feel sweaty e... Read Moreven if i am sweating.

April 2, 2022

Warm, light weight and comfortable

I had trouble with delivery (USPS fault) but customer service was all over the problem and resolved it quickly. When I received the shirt it looked "too light weight" I was apprehensive. But once I put it on, it was the best buy I made. Super soft and warm, can't ask for more. For mid weight I put a Tshirt over it, for cooler weather... Read More it is a perfect base layer. I'm sure it will help keep me warm when the cold of winter comes 'round again. Well worth the money.

March 26, 2022

Very good

I feel like it keeps me very warm when biking and skiing under freezing temperature ( 0 celsius). With a puffy layer if needed, and a shell to protect from wind/rain/snow/abrasion. It keeps me warm and dry. People say it looks very nice, but I don't worry about the looks, because it's a base layer anyway. It seems fragile, but I've w... Read Moreashed it weekly for a year and a half and no fraying, no hole, no peeling off. Everything is intact. Would buy a second one, if they have grey in stock please.

March 22, 2022

Highly recommended if you can afford them.

Hands down the best base layer Ive ever had. The waffle cone air construction traps heat when I need it, and vents it when I dont. With proper mid and outerwear integration and venting Im always at a proper temp snowboarding hard in the Rockies on runs that can exceed 3 miles. Excellent wicking. My only complaint is the price. I think 200 bucks for... Read More a set of Long Johns is a little excessive especially since on extended trips its hard to get by with just one. That being said I definitely notice a difference when I put on something else.

March 17, 2022

Very nice

Its a great product. It reminds me of the waffle thermals from my childhood in the 70s but more advanced. Put an access slot in the bottoms next time ; )

March 16, 2022

Make sure its a tight fight

I bought this in the XL and the same version with a hood in M. I am 5'11" and 220 so I'm a chunky boy and I prefer the Medium as a true base layer. The XL is perfect for casual wear, not really as a genuine base layer. You want the fabric to be tight for the proper thermal properties and water management to be effective. A very light... Read More and stretchy material, I usually wear large in everything Patagonia makes but would recommend the medium for guys my size in search of a replacement wool baselayer. 10/10 material, the purple looks so good. Please make this in lemon yellow, lilac, or more purple lol

March 16, 2022

so comfortable and function

very firm profile, meaning I cannot gain 10 pounds. Soft, flexible, and snug in all the right places. warm on skiing, dog walking in winter, and hanging out by the fire pit

March 15, 2022

Super cozy

Soft, stretchy, and incredibly warm. Plus it looks great.

March 15, 2022

Perfect layering piece

In the winter I alway put a wool or capilene t-shirt underneath this top and it is the perfect combination for warmth and breathability. Another great product Patagonia!

March 15, 2022

gorgeous and so soft and comfortable

Beautiful color, excellent fit, amazingly soft and smooth on the skin and comfortable through a wide range of temperatures from really, really cold to cool. Highly recommended.

March 14, 2022

Great for layering

Very nice and warm. Great for layering

March 14, 2022

Excellent Warmth & Weight

I was a little skeptical when I ordered this but I am so impressed at the procedure. Super light and comfortable. I also love the fit as it is slightly loose with lots of stretch. Highly recommend!

March 14, 2022

Warm but...

This crew is warmer than one would expect given its light weight and construction. However, the weave is fairly open, and the item doesn't look like it will hold up to extended use or washing.

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this shirt, Sherry! To maximize the life of that fabric we recommend washing it in mild detergent (no bleach, no fabric softener) and either hanging or laying it flat to dry. If for any reason it doesn't hold up to washing as directed, please get in touch with us about our warranty, as this would be a covered situation.

February 28, 2022

As advertised

Perfect weight for what I was looking for. Breathable, and loose where its supposed to be.

February 24, 2022

Unique design makes for a good base layer for skiing.

I have been using this base layer for two months as a working ski patroller. It provides high breathability and a surprising amount of insulation when needed. On days where the resort is just below freezing, I usually run this and a shell. I hand wash and line dry my wool garments and this top does dry quickly. The waist length of top is longer whi... Read Morech is a big plus for me as it stays tucked into the waist during active activities. The first one is working so well, I recently purchased a second.

February 22, 2022

So comfy

I recently bought this for my daughter at college because she said it was so cold there. She told me mom this is my new favorite piece of clothing off all time.

February 10, 2022

Very soft, very comfortable

I got the gray and purple colors, in XL. The fabric is sort of waffle knitted, very comfortable and really soft. It does feel a little delicate, but definitely keeps you warm. I havent rolled up the sleeves to see if that stretches it out. As far as fit, its not tight, like I thought being a base layer it would be, but a good fit, though my arms ar... Read Moree I guess a little short for the shirt. Otherwise fits comfortably, good length on the body. The purple color is a really nice vibrant color. I did have to cut the tag off because it was real itchy, but that would be my only complaint.

February 5, 2022

Warm and dry

This is the first base layer I have used that kept me both warm, and dry while mountain biking. I have also found the h2no outer layer I use to breathe better than any other material, including gore-tex.

February 2, 2022

Great base layer

Great because it keeps you dry and warm.

February 1, 2022

Extremely versatile piece

Absolutely love this piece. Warmer and more comfortable than I expected and my wife love's hers too. Lightweight, very warm and breathable base layer. Works great in light to high intensity activities, wicking away sweat. One of my best travel base layers as it breathes extremely well and doesn't hold smells. Can use for for multi-day tri... Read Moreps to minimize your load.

January 28, 2022

Super warm and comfortable

I sent two of these to my son in Chicago , he said , thank you mom ! ! They are very warm and very comfortable And I would like to add :. People online and in store are very nice ! They give you all advices what you need and answer you all the questions always with a smile

January 24, 2022

Very Comfortable

I like a traditional fit (not fitted) and this shirt was perfect. Feel good against skin, and provides added warmth for downhill skiing.

January 23, 2022

Excellent, with caveats

This material is excellent for its purpose: very lightweight, warm, stays warm when I sweat a little, and it does not smell if I wear it multiple days. Two caveats: It's wool, and lightweight at that, so it's going to pill. Patagonia could help everyone out by listing the CARE INSTRUCTIONS on the page with the product, stating that this... Read More should be hung dry (not in dryer) to reduce pilling. (They should have the care instructions online for every product, but for this type in particular it matters more.) Sizing: I'm a skinny 6'4". The medium is perfect - it's a surprisingly long cut. The large was too generous in the sleeve holes (which reduces mobility) and the neck.

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2022

Hello Michael, thank you for leaving your feedback on the Capilene Air. The item can be machine washed on cold gentle cycle, please do not bleach. Then tumbled dried on low, if necessary, is OK to use a cool iron.

January 21, 2022

Best Baselayer

I wear this shirt as a baselayer for outdoor winter activities, as a sweater on dates, and to lounge around the house. It is comfortable and breathable enough to be worn in almost any situation, but warm enough to act as a true winter baselayer under other clothing. No shirt I have is more comfortable or more versatile.

January 21, 2022

Definitely Warm

I buy products that I like for casual wear and during Winter helps keep me warm. I find the products that I have bought are well made and look great when worn. You definitely are buying a wonderful outdoor clothing.

January 16, 2022

Great base layer

Super light weight, good warmth, fantastic breathability

January 13, 2022

So comfortable

Best new product from Patagonia. Fits great and warm. Love it

January 7, 2022

Super warm and comfy

Best base layer ever. Super high weight/warmth ratio and comfy. I wear as a casual piece. Because the weave gives it a nice texture -- doesn't look very different than a couple of cashmere sweaters I own -- it could be worn under a sweater or sports coat in a business setting. (Haven't actually done that for obvious reasons). The piece i... Read Mores very warm so for vigorous activity you would need to wear it alone or, if using it as a base layer, when it was very cold.

January 4, 2022

Cozy

I thought it might run small like OR but true to size. Returning for a large

December 27, 2021

comfy, warm

soft, wicking, comfortable, zero itch, zero odor retention. perfect.

December 26, 2021

Best option.

This is the best thing Patagonia has come up with in a while. I use it as a midlayer and a thin sweater. It's perfect. That's all there is to it.

December 25, 2021

Super Comfortable

Fabulous apparel!!

December 21, 2021

lightweight warmth

This is my fourth capilene air shirt, 3 crews and one hooded. I love these so much. Super warm for the weight. Comfortable and flexible. They can be a bit fragile in the backwoods, they do snag somewhat easily, but most knits do. The trade off is well worth it to me.

December 12, 2021

Very comfy

The seams are practically invisible, and so soft you don't know they are there. The sleeves are made so that they don't ride up when you raise your arms. Very soft, super comfortable.

December 5, 2021

Super soft and warm

I went out on an expensive limb with this base layer. With its design and material choice it feels like a warm kashmir cloud when worn, without the itchy skin. If you are moving around a lot expect to stay very warm if not uncomfortable if worn in the wrong environments. The only negative is it does seem to attract lint and other fuzziness very eas... Read Moreily, so be prepared to use that lint roller. If you can afford this product and want to stay very warm and comfortable I highly recommend.

November 27, 2021

Strangely amazing

This shirt breathes so well and has the most unique feel! I love that it feels there without being clingy. Thanks for making such amazing products!

November 26, 2021

Love my Capilene air !

Highly recommended. So warm!!!

November 23, 2021

Outstanding

This is a fantastic base layer. Excellent temperature range. Super warm when needed but breathes exceptionally well. Odor resistant Merino is also very nice for multi-day use. Would give it a 5th star if it was made in the USA. I understand Patagonia is an international company with a global social conscious, but in that way as other major US and E... Read Moreuropean outdoor manufacturers have dedicated portions of their line to domestic manufacturing Patagonia should follow suit.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2021

Hello Milford! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate your comments regarding where our clothing is manufactured. We have always sourced at least half our products outside the US, and the percentage of items sourced inside the US has shrunk over time, as the US textile industry. It's important to note there is a long vetting process that goes into selecting our manufacturers. We partner with factories that take care of the environment and their employees. We're also committed to offering and expanding our Fair Trade Program. For every Fair Trade Certified™ item we have sewn, Patagonia pays a premium. The money goes into an account the workers control. With all of this said, we truly appreciate you taking the time to share this feedback. If you feel like reading more about this, we encourage you to take a look at this [article](https://www.patagonia.com/stories/patagonia-clothing-made-where-how-why/story-18467.html).

November 13, 2021

Patagonia proud

Great company - great products - excellent customer service. I look great in this long sleeve.

November 11, 2021

Great base layer

Bought the top for my nephew. He loves it. He does a lot of cold climate camping and long distance running.

November 9, 2021

Pathetic color selection

I really enjoy wearing the fabric. But the colors forget it. I am looking forward next future selection

October 18, 2021

Warm and light, weird fit

The material is very light and "airy" while also warm. I found it to be too bulky as a base layer and it caused significant static friction under other layers especially sweaters and fleeces. Neckline is really wide and garment is just too loosely fit / unstructured for my taste. Went with Capilene midweight instead.

September 2, 2021

Super Versatile

Wore this in the Glacier NP mountains and it served its purpose very well. I loved it so much I wore it on the airplane back home. Super Versatile, cozy, and comfy!

August 12, 2021

Warm, breathable and soft to skin.

I wore this every morning on a 9 day trip to Bighorn National Forest. Perfect piece for drinking coffee on high-altitude cool mornings, and for throwing on under your shell when clouds roll in.

June 30, 2021

Comfy and breathable

I'm 5'6/5'7 with a slender/slim build and this fits super snug against my body. Arm length is perfect too. I really like the material and am glad this is available in XS.

June 15, 2021

3rd times a charm

I originally ordered color Industrial Green - Birch White X-dye and the garment came with a pulled thread around the collar. This seemed like a woven fabric and for the cost I got nervous and sent it back for a replacement of the same color. The second garment came with a noticeable small hole in the front center. Not sure what that was about so I ... Read Moreimmediately returned for an exchange of a different color, Navy. The third garment came and I've worn it 3 times. It's light, breathes, and is super comfortable. It's also incredibly good at temperature regulation. Compared to a thermal weight base layer, this takes the cake. Keep it away from any velcro!

June 6, 2021

The Best

I didnt realize next to skin could be this level of comfort, fit and warmth. Whether Im lounging at home, in the outdoors or at the office.. this item is just The Best. Ive been in the outdoor industry my whole working life, worn merino garments for over 25 years and have never come across an item with this type of texture and feel. Liked the purpl... Read Moree so much I bought 2 along with a black. Go for it, its a no brainer.

June 5, 2021

Great quality and fit, mostly comfortable

This has become my go-to base layer when skiing. I have also worn it at night when camping at higher elevations where it gets chilly at night. It also doubles as a nice looking sweater when I want to be a bit dressy while staying warm. I wasn't sure how well this sweater would hold up given how thin the material is but I have been wearing th... Read Moreis thing on and off for probably 4-5 months and it is still in great shape. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is it does feel a touch prickly on the skin. I always wear a t-shirt beneath and that works out well. The prickly part isn't all that bad with a t-shirt beneath the sweater, so I just bought another one in a different color.

April 29, 2021

great baselayer for winter

6'1", 175. Bought a medium and decided the tight performance fit was just not right. Went with the large instead which had a better sleeve length but is definitely longer in the torso and baggier. Breathes incredibly well and retains warmth when used as a layer. Mostly have used it snowboarding and hiking and it has been fantastic under t... Read Morehe nano air hoody. Definitely holds the stank off better than a full synthetic baselayer but nowhere near as good as full merino layers.

April 19, 2021

Longer term review (>1 yr) - Go to base layer

I wrote a previous review after just purchasing the Air Crew, and I wear it just as much as I did last year. It's breathable, doesn't retain odor, and is surprisingly warm. My one recommendation to Patagonia would be to take a look at the elastic around the cuffs - they stretch and don't really return back to form. So the sleeves g... Read Moreet a little loosey goosey at the cuffs. Also, the seams under the arms (armpit area) tend to split and pull apart, but that's a minor repair. Still a phenomenal shirt for all types of outdoor activities. Enjoy!

April 5, 2021

Comofortable, stretchy and warm

I typically by small patagonia clothing for casual wear and x-small for base layering and activities. This is my 3rd one of these shirts. I still use all 3 of them and they have held up well. The shirts in xs are fairly form fitting and wear well as a baselayer for winter activities in the back country, ski resort, or out skate skiing on cold days.... Read More Free range of movement. The only thing I can think of that I would change is the tag on the back of the neck. If I do have one of these on for a sofa surf, I can sometimes feel the tag on my neck.

March 27, 2021

Soft and warm

The Air Crew Neck is incredibly soft. It is a very fitted cut. Its been been layered with a Torrid Apex jacket in the 20s and provides plenty of warmth. The only con is the crew neck. You need to make sure to adjust base layer tshirt when wearing the capilene air over it. Ive notice the crew neck on the capilene air riding up in the front on my nec... Read Morek because of its fitted cut.

March 23, 2021

Couldn't be happier

I was initially disappointed with this item out of the box. I didn't like the texture. The material was kind of rough. I opened the box and thought well, this is a mistake. It wasn't going to work for the purpose I had in mind. I couldn't have been more wrong. I love this item. I wear it casually around the house. It is warm and ligh... Read Moretweight and somehow also substantial. I get compliments.

March 18, 2021

Nice item!

Very comfortable and warm.

March 15, 2021

Keeps me warm

Keeps me warm in very cold weather

March 8, 2021

Great product

This is a great baselayer and I can wear it when out and about as a shirt, with or without a jacket and it looks nice. It doesnt smell after sweating (which I do lots of) and it holds up wash after wash. Its very warm when below freezing but isnt too warm on 50F+ days for me. I wish Patagonia would make more of these types of shirts, in different... Read More styles, for fall/winter wear that was more of a shirt than a baselayer because variety is the spice of life. The capilene daily and cool shirts are nice but they have no texture of heft to them to hide your bodys imperfections. Is Patagonia listening? :)

March 5, 2021

Superb Comfort

Love the way this garment felt on me as a base layer. Super comfortable, great fit, and awesome look. Haven't tested the true warmth factor, but I strongly suspect it will be perfect for me.

March 4, 2021

I am using the items as a pajama. Super cozy and warm

daring find but so pleasant.

March 4, 2021

Light & warm

Excellent cold protection without bulk or weight. Wicks moisture. Stands up to rough wear and washing. Totally excellent.

March 3, 2021

THIS IS IT!

The Capilene Air crew tops are IT! The materials' weave works to warm and wick. But, I wear these around the house as an extra layer. My wife too. They are comfy to the max. For me, the M is a snug fit which I prefer. Pricey? Sure, but I imagine I'll be wearing these for years to come, and that the cost will be forgotten long after I wear... Read More these babies a million times.

March 3, 2021

Warm and comfy

I work at my basement now which is generally in the mid-60s and this and the bottoms I have been very comfy. Super soft.

February 24, 2021

Just the thing for pandemic times

I wear this ...shirt? ...sweater? ...base layer? around the house continually these days, as it provides just the right amount of warmth for working indoors. Looks great on Zoom calls. Also functions very well as a second layer when hiking - very compressible so it hides away when I get warmed up.

February 24, 2021

comfy comfy comfy

very comfy this is real good for a base layer. I also sleep in it

February 23, 2021

Too breezy

It would need a good windbreaker to work properly

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Hey Bobby! You're absolutely right - the Capilene Air Crew Neck Shirt was designed as a baselayer, so you should definitely be layering over it to stay warm!

February 19, 2021

HOLY MOLY THIS SHIRT IS UNREAL

This shirt is unbelievable. Here is why: 1) It never smells. I used it for 2 weeks of workouts, then went on a 4-day hunting trip with it on. I never took it off. Not while hunting, camping, cooking, or sleeping. It was low teens and it did such a great job of keeping me warm. Obviously, you have to layer well but the shirt is so thin it is the pe... Read Morerfect base layer. 2) The shirt is soft. Like baby bottom soft. Make sure to wash it correctly! Care for this shirt like it is your child. 3) It keeps you incredibly warm. Like I said before, It can be incredibly cold out and this shirt will do the trick(with proper layering). I have been hunting and running in the low teens/windchilll below ten degrees and this shirt will really contain the heat and keep your upper body warm. My hands were about ready to fall off though. 4) It wicks moisture super well. I am an avid duck hunter and carrying 75-100lbs of gear on and behind you for a mile walk at 4:30 in the morning is not easy. You work up a huge sweat in those waders and any cotton base layer will lose its heat. But because this shirt is wool it retains the heat and wicks the moisture so that your body stays dry. 5) No Chaffing. I haven't run super long distances in it so I am not 100% sure but I have not had any chafing while running 4ish miles. DISLIKES: 1) It does pill a little bit. I see it around the forearms and the wrists, where most of the abrasion would occur. I would buy 10 more of these if I had the money. Seriously recommend it.

February 13, 2021

beautiful texture

I got this for my husband, who has a few pieces of Patagonia. I wasn't sure about this because of the honeycomb texture. He is very discriminating (picky) in what he likes/wears. He loved it immediately. It is warmer than his other base-layers. He hasn't worn it yet but I suspect that has to do with the fact that we recently moved and are... Read More still doing/finishing projects in and around the house. I got the navy, not a true navy as the blue is visible. Beautiful, rich color. He always says he doesn't need any more clothes, but when I find something that I know is exceptional I get it. He did not offer any resistance. I'll keep the rating at five stars, but he hasn't worn it and it has not been laundered, but I expect the Patagonia quality to prevail!

February 12, 2021

Toasty Warm Wisco Vibes

I decided to try these air tops as something new( normally Im a capilene guy) and was pleasantly surprised buy how comfortable and warm they are despite the insanely cold winter weather the past few weeks here in Wisconsin. I actually ordered a second pair!

February 8, 2021

Snagacious!

This top is super warm, and super light, and I love that it is mostly wool, yet it is unbelievably "snag-prone". I have dry skin (hey, it's winter!), and just the scaliness of my hands brushing against the fabric surface, let alone other rough surfaces in my surroundings, constantly snag, and is really annoying. I have been so carefu... Read Morel with it that I haven't actually produced a lot of pulls, but if I back off from my extreme care, I know I will end up with it covered in little pulls. (FYI: I am actually 5' 9.5", so upper end of height category provided, and the top fits true to size in that it is meant to be close-fitting.)

February 8, 2021

It's Not a Sweater

It's incredibly light, soft, and warm, but it's too breathable to be worn as a top layer. So, make sure you buy it for the correct use.

February 6, 2021

Warm, size down

I live this piece, but I do wish I had sized down. At 59, 160lbs, the medium doesnt really fit me like a baselayer should (fairly snug). Also wish Id gotten the hoodyI got the crew, thinking I could wear it like a sweater while teaching, but it doesnt really have that particular look on its own. Still, wonderfully warm, and its a go-to piece when w... Read Morealking in chilly conditions, especially when layered under something like the microfleece. Paired with my micropuff hoody, Ive yet to be anything remotely close to chilly on cold Arizona mornings (temps at or near freezing).

February 6, 2021

New Addition

I had been shopping for a new merino sweater for awhile. Pandemic put me back in the northeast for the winter and I needed something warm that I could wear everyday, inside and outside, working and playing. Ideally good looking enough to wear out on the town and the trail. I have an Patagonia sweater from 10 years ago that was the heaviest base lay... Read Moreer offered at the time. Black and thick and comfortable next to the skin. It fits close and keeps me super warm without getting me overheated. I can wear it in NYC on the subway and then outside hiking and it performs well. This sweater will not replace it. Its nice and light and warm and good looking but I have to layer it up to get the same warmth. Im a little apprehensive about catching on a twig or a piece of anything rough because I dont want to spoil the pristine stitching of my new 140$ sweater. That being said it fits well - a bit looser than my last. Im fit and 130 lb with a 29 waist and a 38 chest. Im pleased but not overwhelmed.

February 3, 2021

Super warm

This is the best base layer Ive ever bought. I use to wear other brands but they was too compressed & this feels like pajamas but super warm pajamas. Im ready to buy another set honestly lol money well worth spent.

February 2, 2021

too warm

the shirt is somewhat too warm for inside wear which is what i use it for mostly.

February 1, 2021

shirt

picture did not show the weave of the article. I still like it..

January 31, 2021

Comfortable

Comfortable and warmer than I expected

January 26, 2021

incredible fit

i wasn't expecting much and this was an exceptional product - high quality, fits great

January 25, 2021

Super Comfy and Warm

I love the fit, warmth and comfort. I hate the price tag, but just retired my twenty year old Patagonia capilene base layers. Hopefully, this will last as long. I'd buy more if I had more money.

January 23, 2021

Very warm and breathable

I wear it under everything. Insane gear

January 19, 2021

My go to layer

Love this shirt/sweater. It is my preferred layer for almost everything. Picked it up last spring so now have had it almost 9 months and it has held up awesome. I wear it almost daily. As one of the millions in constant telework I wear probably too much. I have received numerous compliments on it. It is warm, but not too warm and cozy and it looks ... Read Morelike a high end sweater so can be dressed up. I will also use it as a layer over a capiliene under a houdini on winter trail runs and honestly can be a little warm, so only used on the coldest days (20s or less). I wear it so often I am looking to get one in navy too.

January 18, 2021

Nice

I am 170 cm, 56kg, I bought a small and it fits well as a base layer or over a t-shirt. It is warm and durable. It looks better than I expected, it looks a bit like a cardigan that I could wear casually with friends and family, but it also fits well as a base layer. Obviously, synthetic/merino allows it to not get soaked in humidity

January 15, 2021

Uni-stitch fit is amazing!

I've worn a lot of base layers in my time and this one takes the cake for comfort and warmth!

January 13, 2021

Super warm:

I am freezing in Houston in the winter (cold and damp). I love this under a sweater with causal pants/leggings. I am short and heavy so don't fit in the women's section, but I love this...the sleeves a too long for me but I love the shirt and just fold them back!!

January 12, 2021

Go ahead and take my money

As with most Pat products, it arrives, you open the package and put it on. In this case, you put it on, maybe take it off at bed time (maybe not), wake up the next day and put it back on. I did this for five days and noticed zero odor and finally decided to wash and dry just to see what happened. I would recommend COLD water wash, as it does contai... Read Moren wool. I put in dryer for ten minutes. I cant say that it shrunk, only that it seemed to fit even better. Im 61, 225 lbs, size 37 waist. Size XL is perfect. Will use as base-layer all winter and very likely order more. Just one of those amazing, perfect products.

January 10, 2021

Comfy

Bought this for my brother in law for the holidays. He loved it

January 8, 2021

Soft, warm, great base layer.

Liked it so well I purchased a second one!

January 7, 2021

Light & warm

It is very light and pleasant feel on your skin. Surprisingly warm, nicely shaped and cool looking base layer.

January 7, 2021

Highly recommend

Bought as a Christmas gift. Loved it more in person! Loved the stitching along the chest/shoulder area. Great for everyday wear

January 3, 2021

New favorite

Ever since I have got it in I have used it as my base layer for every hike. Makes the early morning starts easier when I go to put it on after dragging myself out of bed.

January 2, 2021

LOVE THIS!

This top is great, warm, cozy, comfy, warm, etc ... I prefer these tops to fit a bit snug, so, don't go by what I ordered for me. This is wonderful for over a t-shirt for just casual wear, and for normal layering, base layer stuff too! So, an all-around top for anything that comes your way!

January 2, 2021

Love it! Been wearing it non-stop

Super comfortable next-to-skin, cozy, and very stretchy. I find myself wearing this almost daily for the past several weeks. Form-fitting but not overly tight (I usually wear XS). One of those items that you don't realize you have on, in a good way. This is my first review, but I've been so impressed with this item that it seemed worthwhi... Read Morele to share it's positives with the rest of the community. Thank you!

January 1, 2021

Waiting for colder weather

I run hot generally, so things havent gotten cold enough in NEPA to justify this base layer yet

January 1, 2021

Sensational!

I bought this on a whim to use as an alternative to regular lightweight Capilene tops. This product feels great, is ultra light, and the waffle-type weave enhances warmth. It's new, so I can't render an assessment of its durability, but thus far, it's a winner.

December 30, 2020

Handsome Man

Bought this as a gift for my fiance and he looks great in it! Fits him really well and looks nice as a casual everyday shirt. He's wearing it often, so, it's a winner!

December 27, 2020

Lightweight, warm and stylish

This is a very versatile piece of clothing. It looks and feels like a sweater. It add warmth and yet dressy enough for a dinner out. Its great for layering. Also, great for travel.

December 25, 2020

Versatile Layer

Very pleased with this sweater/mid-layer/do-everything top! Very warm for it's weight, great as a mid or base layer, but equally great as a casual sweater!

December 20, 2020

Feels great

Great fabric. Feels wonderful

December 19, 2020

SPAC CEO

So I'm at my Black marble desk video conferencing wearing my new Capilene Crew neck feeling confident abs crisp thinking Yvon should take Patagonia public via a SPAC . It's the Capilene Crew Neck, don't get mad at me!

December 19, 2020

Great

Great

December 17, 2020

Wool base layer without the itch?!?!

This shirt is entirely responsible for turning my layering system upside down! I originally bought the Capilene Air based on the various comments about it being warm and breathable. My intent was to use it as my wool base-layer for skiing and snowshoeing. When I got the shirt, I was slightly disappointed with how thin it was I expected it to be sli... Read Moreghtly thicker. However, I did appreciate that it was light, comfortable, and very easy to move in. In a first attempt to run it through the paces, I used it as a true base layer under a thin rain shell (no mid-layer) in +1°C weather and took a very slow walk. I wasnt cold, but I also wasnt cozy warm either. The second test involved a ski day. However, I switched up my layering approach and used a merino wool tank top as my base layer, and then used the Capilene Air as a mid-layer under a soft shell jacket. I stuffed my Patagonia Nano Air into my pack, assuming I would need to add the extra layer for warmth as soon as I got on the mountain WRONG! While it was a mild day (-5°C) I was still shocked at how comfortably warm I was not too warm, and definitely not cold! The Capilene Air kept me warm, comfortable, and let me move freely. Dont let the thinness of the fabric fool you because this shirt is a serious performer! From a fit and feel perspective, here are my measurements and comments: 57 165 lbs. 32 waist 40 chest 31 sleeve Typically, Im a medium in everything. However, I wanted the shirt slightly fitted since I would be using it as a base-layer, so I purchased the size-small. I also have short arms and knew the size-medium arms would be way to long, based on the sizing chart. With respect to the feel of the wool shirt on bare skin, it was really soft and at no point did it EVER itchand Im pretty picky when it comes to this area. The price of the shirt is a bit spendy, but theres something to be said about having good quality gearand Patagonia qualifies. Without reservation, the Capilene Air will become one of my favourite base / mid-layers for skiing highly recommended!

December 12, 2020

Great Base Layer

Very happy with my purchase!

December 9, 2020

Crisp

Steve McQueen would have worn this to get stuff at local Knob Hill grocery. I have 5 or so. Only recommendation would be to fortify elbow. I rest right elbow frequently in car center consul. Can wear easily.

December 9, 2020

really warm & comfy

Well made, keeps me warm , purchased another one

December 8, 2020

These are worth every dollar!!!

These are extremely warm and comfortable. Great base layer

December 5, 2020

Super soft knitted look, warm but weighs almost nothing!

Great product

December 2, 2020

Warm

Nice warm but Wilkes out moisture Thought it was too contour to my torso but got use to it I usually bought double x for loose fit but once wearing it was ok and works

December 2, 2020

almost perfect

i wear this at work where i am in a 40 degree (F) cooler most of the day. i usually wear just a tshirt on top. definitely keeps me warm all day. only complaint is the material snags Very easily and threads can be pulled loose. i dont recommend wearing it as a top layer. washing/drying (cool/low heat) hasnt changed the size or shape.

November 29, 2020

Toasty

This is a stellar design for a base layer. Fits loose enough to not be restrictive . Keeps the moisture from collecting and material from getting damp once you start to sweat.

November 28, 2020

GORGEOUS,cozy,comfy!

Delicious, cozy Balkan-blue "waffle-weave" shirt is lightweight,comfy, WARM, and perfect for snowy Montana! (im a medium-sized female, but i ordered the men's XL size for snuggliness). thankyouPatagonia! wish you made more items in BLUE

November 28, 2020

Remarkably Warm

Kept me warm on a 7 day hike with temps in the 53-59 degree F range, with only a rain shell over the top. Buying one for a family member this Christmas. Recommended.

November 27, 2020

Super warm, not great for casual wear

Original review posted last year in October. While I still stand by this being a wonderful baselayer for most pursuits, its propensity to pill extremely bad after a month of wear reduces its appeal as an all-around, one layer to do it all. Its just not great for casual wear, though its epic for fast and light outdoor pursuits. Pop on a wind layer ... Read Morefor great warmth in active cold weather pursuits (below freezing) or with a nano-air or warmer insulation layer for serious warmth in super cold. Basically, Im just disappointed in how it has worn in I typically choose an old smartwool 250 Ive had for 8 years over this when i need one layer for around town + warmth outside and only wear this when I know Ill be solely outside, say for cold weather runs, cross country skiing, or backpacking. But whatever, thats just me wanting that one layer holy grail that you can wear as an around town kind of thing then also take it with you on the trails or crag.

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2020

Hey there, we appreciate the feedback. Unfortunately, the nature of knit items is that they will pill over time, this will happen regardless of quality when these fibers meet friction. However, there are ways to maintain the garment, such as using a sweater stone. If you're interested in baselayers that will be less prone to pilling, check out our [Men's Capilene Midweight Crew](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-midweight-crew-neck-shirt/44427.html?dwvar_44427_color=CNY). It won't be as warm, but the smooth texture of the fibers will be less prone to pilling.

November 24, 2020

Comfy sweater/shirt

I love that the cap air crew acts as a toasty base layer for cold expeditions, but also makes a nice trim sweater. I am nervous about snagging it on things, and it is a bit grippy to put on under my close-fitting R2 hoodies, but otherwise I love it.

November 23, 2020

Keeps me warm

Great to wear around the house in the winter and perfect undergarment for golfing in cold weather

November 21, 2020

Very versatile

Zip up very warm ,unzipped very comfortable indoor.

November 21, 2020

Warm, light and comfortable

This is a great piece of all around gear. I own two. At first, I was a little dismayed by the price, but after putting it through the ringer, turns out to be well worth the cost. It excels at regulating temperature and staying stink-free! I highly value theses things. Thanks for another outstanding piece of kit Patagonia.

November 20, 2020

Amazing warm and comfortable

Highly recommend great base layer on Cold weather

November 19, 2020

Thanks

Light weight and warm.

November 19, 2020

Great all around layer!

As most things Ive ever owned from Patagonia, this is a well designed piece. Simple, straightforward, effective layer that can be worn in any situation, casual through active. Try it!

November 19, 2020

Outstanding

I must say I love this garment. It fits well. Is lightweight and fantastically warm. It is a must have in my book. Do yourself a favor and get one.

November 18, 2020

So comfortable and warm

Ive had a lot of shirts, but this one is the best. It is light, but warm. Its soft and unrestricting. It is just so comfortable and warm. Love it.

November 16, 2020

Super warm and soft

Warm, very light, easy care, not itchy. Great product.

November 12, 2020

This is a good one

While I have not yet worn this in cold, snowy conditions, I have worn it on cold, foggy Mt. Tam mornings on my bike. So far it seems to be to be about as perfect a thin, warm layer as can be!

November 10, 2020

Air crew

Medium fit was true to size. Wore once under air jacket. Very nice.

November 10, 2020

comfortably warm and very light weight

comfortable, easy to move in

November 7, 2020

Great multifunctional shirt

I wear this as a base layer and as a sweater. Warm for a light weight shirt. Multifunctional! Is a trim fit, so if you have a few extra pounds I would size up if you are going to use it as a sweater/shirt. Great product.

October 29, 2020

Lovely top for something light weight that will keep you warm

I'm 5'10 and weight 190-195 with a 42 inch chest. I bought this in a L because it mentioned it was a slim fit or sleeker fit. It's not a slim fit as other sporting brands and I wonder if I could have fitted in a M to have this top more fitting than it is. Non the less I've worn this to work on a wet cold windy day in the NE area... Read More for work with a M Nano Puff Jacket and Rainshadow Jacket to keep me warm and it worked a treat. The weather was between 40-50 degrees with constant rain. Worked like treat. Only thing I wish I had was some of Patagonia's gloves and rain pants. Hope that will be my next purchase if they bless me with a nice discount code for this lovely review and the other reviews I've given!

October 26, 2020

Cuts the damp/cold

I was a bit leery of dropping 129.00 on a single base layer top. I own (6) Patagonia base layers in various levels and they do a very good job. But this top cuts the dampness completely! Ill be adding the bottoms and a back up top. Your steelhead fishing field testers really nailed this one!

October 25, 2020

I want a zip neck

This looks like a great product. Why is there no zip neck model. Please make one. A Minnesotan

September 4, 2020

Comfortable

Its like all the Patagonia gear I have been wearing for over forty years. Great quality for the money.

September 1, 2020

Cap Air Rules!

The material used on this is unreal. It's somehow magically warm when you need it to be and vents / ditches heat when you want it to. A perfect base layer for cold treks / ski days or a great mid-weight layer for the evening cool-off. The only hard part about this product is choosing between my hooded one or the crew neck!

August 8, 2020

My favorite piece of clothing

I bought my first one of these when it was originally issued back on 2014-15, and it was called the Merino Air... bought it b/c I liked the look of it, and I pretty much wore it every day for the next 2 years between late September and mid April. By that time I lived in terror of it falling apart on me... the pits were getting threadbare. So when t... Read Morehey re-released it as the Capilene Air I was so jazzed I bought two. Honestly, Ive only worn them when my original has been in the wash. So, though Ive read a few reviews questioning durability, my experience has been that its an extremely durable garment. Comfort is the best, bar none, and as for performance, though I live in Iowa and so am not taking it into the mountains, I do hike a lot, year round I remember remarking one day last spring when I got a little too excited for warm weather and left the coat at home, I was amazed at how warm it kept me even when a sunny spring day turned gray and blustery. I really want to get one of the new 2020 colors... but its hard for me to justify as I still have two mostly unworn backups to my original in my closet. :(

July 23, 2020

Awesome Wool Blend Baselayer

Patagonia's warmest baselayer. Excellently comfortable next-to-skin feel, which is supremely important for all-day wear. Warm, but breathable. Dries quickly. No seams or bulky areas on the garment. Indispensable part of my warmies kit.

June 2, 2020

Next level

Finally pulled the trigger on this and have absolutely no regrets. It is the best baselayer I've tried to date - warm, super breathable, comfy and looks great. The XL is slightly loose on me so it looks just like a wool sweater. I've lounged around the house in it, hiked in it, run in it in 5C weather and worn it to cafes. There is a li... Read Morettle bit of pilling but that's normal with knitted yarns, particularly with wool. Only issue is I want another one but the current colours don't appeal to me. Patagonia - make a Forest Green one (and make it available in Australia) and I'll be all over it!

April 16, 2020

Amazing fit and comfort.

Super impressive design. Smooth fit and very comfortable with a supprising amount of warmth.

March 6, 2020

Warm, breathable and dries quickly

It's always nice when a product does what it says it will do. I came from an all merino base layer that was warm, but retained all the moisture to the point I would get cold in the afternoon of all-day running. These combine the best of both worlds of the warmth of wool, but the wicking and drying ability of the synthetic.

February 26, 2020

Comfortable but awful quality

Wearing the product for the third time and have yet to wash it, It tore in the back while i was putting it on today. Areas that rub against each other have become fuzzy and thin. It has a great feel but is falling apart so fast that it has me questioning patagonia as a whole. Also lacks a presentable look now, overall not mad just disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2020

Hi Theodore. We're really sorry that your Capilene Air shirt is falling apart. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty once we reopen. We went ahead emailed you with all necessary instructions. Thanks so much for your review.

February 24, 2020

The Strange Tale of How It Works

I am a natural fiber guy. I don't buy all-synthetic clothing as a rule, for a number of philosophical reasons but let's just go with: comfort and sustainability. I bought this piece a few years ago to try the half-n-half approach to fabric, but also the seamless side of things. This very nice piece breathes very well, doesn't feel cl... Read Moreammy when I sweat (very synthetic attribute), and retains its shape well even after days of continuous use. I just did four days backpacking in Grand Canyon, and this piece was my base layer during the day, and my sleeping shirt at night. I honestly didn't want to like it as much as I do for the high synthetic content, but my many reviews over the years about a balancing act between using wool for all it's qualities and just enough synthetic to contribute what it offers, I never really saw 50/50 as the ideal number. 75-80% wool? Sure, but only half? Yet, this garment has proved the two can pull near equal weight and function well enough for me to praise it...not here, but by wearing it. More wool would only make this better, but it's a great shirt as-is.

February 20, 2020

Best base layer yet.

Absolutely love this piece. Purchased a M in gray and it runs true to size. Very versatile temperature wise: works great from cold to hot. Hugs the body so it keeps your temperature constant, both hot and cold. Neck and wrist collars are snug but not tight. At first, I thought I might stretch and snap the neck collar because it seemed like one thre... Read Moread was encircling it, but it does stretch and tighten. Has held up to multi-day heavy use when traveling and hiking. Does a great job of keeping odors away too. Easily my new favorite base layer. Just be sure to keep any pets with claws away from it.

January 30, 2020

It really is that good

I was excited to see Patagonia bring back their merino wool products, and jumped at the opportunity for an air crew. It may be the best shirt ever made. It is true to size, comfortable, and doesn't retain oder. I've worn it as a baselayer snowboarding and doing odds and ends work in snowy Pennsylvania. It's great as a single layer wo... Read Morerking out, with superior breathability. Honestly, I'd wear it every day if my wife agreed with my "wash once every few weeks" approach. Outstanding product, and sincerely hope Patagonia keeps it around for a while.

January 28, 2020

The finest base layer tops I own!

At a recent count I have 9 merino base layer tops ranging from 150 to 260 weight. Using a friend/employee recommendation at The Mountaineer in Keane Valley NY, I decided to try this piece in crew. I planned to use for 3 season hiking, backpacking, skiing, lounging, and winter ice climbing. The Capilene Air has been flawless to date for all of these... Read More. I used in November and then December both on 3 day backpacking trips in the Northeast. My typical plan is to hike in Capilene and then wear a heavier to dry merino top at camp, using the Capilene over it to dry under layers for the next day. I did rotate some layers on both trips but only wearing this to hike, occasionally swapping the base with a dry merino. I have also done the same and just put a merino over it as it drys super fast and really never seems to get too wet. It is actually the layer I prefer on my skin compared to Capilene and pure merino. It feels like cashmere, almost, and when you put it on, warm in your skin, unlike most layers. When it’s wet from hiking it doesn’t feel heavy or soaked like merino and more comfortable than Capilene mid weight. For climbing ice I just spent 5 days in it as my only base with an R1 zip over and no issues, was awesome. I don’t feel that it will be super wet and uncomfortable the rest of the day if approaching is long, can always us a Capilene light T under for the hike if you want. I feel it’s as warm as any 230-260 weight merino I have but also can hike or move in it like it’s 200 lightweight merino. Durability has been good so far but I have worn mostly as a base and usually something light over it. Have not had much pilling and washes well, inside out, and can be wiped with a lint tool, which seems to help. As I have loved this so much, I just bought the hoody version for climbing ice. I was hesitant that it wouldn’t fit well under my R1 or Piton hood, but it does and will make up for day where I pack an extra light balaclava for under. Plus, it’s a neck gaiter built in, I like variability and options. Good luck with this, but I feel you won’t be dissatisfied if the fit is good. I am 5-9/10 and 165-70, the medium fits me slim as a base should and has great stretch and multi day resilience. It’s cut a bit long to tuck in but not so long it looks super specific like the R1 hoody.

January 5, 2020

New Favorite Baselayer

I've worn almost every version of baselayer made by Patagonia, until the Capilene Air. The pricetag seemed steep, until I finally tried it. I wore both the top and bottoms skiing and have never experienced better temperature regulation than the Capilene Airs. We had 0 degree (F) days and 32 degree (F) days, and the Cap AIrs have kept me warm w... Read Morehen needed and cool when needed. The technology is awesome - I will be buying multiple pairs for skiing and winter activities.

January 5, 2020

Capilene Air Crew

I love this! It's perfect at keeping me warm and still breathe's well so it doesn't overdue it. I'm sold! The fit is perfect too.

December 31, 2019

Soft and warm

Very light, soft and warm base layer. I was surprised at how warm it kept me on a cold (12F) winter day. Will be able to reduce layers next time.

December 23, 2019

Light and very warm, not sure about durability

This is soft, extremely light but very warm. The only thing to be determined is the durability. It looks a bit flimsy to be honest, and there is some pilling after one (gentle) wash only. Time will tell.

December 19, 2019

I have a long torso

I have a long torso and have to get the extra large for length...

December 15, 2019

Another classic

We have relied on Patagonia base layers for many years. This one is perfect.

December 12, 2019

Sizing is all over

I have two of these, the first one fits great 6’1” 190# size large, the second one I bought is is two inches too long, and wide. It feels like an xl fit. If you do decide to buy one buy multiple so you can get the one that fits, this is a similar problem I had with a better sweater purchase.

December 6, 2019

Everything it's supposed to be

Insulation properties of this are amazing and it looks great to boot! The only problem for me is that I got a M to use as a next-to-skin baselayer but I also want a L to wear as a sweater!

December 6, 2019

Super Comfortable

Great base layer for layering in cold weather. Good and minimalist casual wear.

December 4, 2019

NOT a warm top layer for sedentary people

I'm not an outdoors person; I'm someone who sits at a computer in an old, cold house. I've used Capilene Expedition Weight tops and bottoms to keep me warm for years. I decided to try Capilene Air to see if it's even warmer. It's not if you're sedentary, and it's the top layer. The "breathability" means... Read More that drafts go right through the fabric. I expect Capilene Air would fare much better if you put on a wind-stopping layer over it, and if you're active. But it's not a good base layer for sitting around in.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches