Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R1® Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 93 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R1® Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody

4.7/5
June 7, 2022

Cozy and light

Great layering piece for hiking or just have as an on-the-go layer to keep you cozy on the run.

May 30, 2022

Super breathable

I love this jacket. I hike close to the water where the winds can be high. So as this jackets keeps me warm, it does not make me sweat, very breathable. The small chest pocket may be small but stretchy so I can fit my glasses in it. The pockets come in handy to warm up my hands as the material is soft. Zipper on the neck can come up high to keep wa... Read Morermth in but it is soft so does not scratch under my chin. Highly recommend it.

May 30, 2022

Great spring jacket

This is the perfect light weight jacket for spring. I bought one for myself and loved it so much I bought one for my daughter. The zipper pockets are roomy enough to fit your cell phone so no need for a purse when you have this jacket. The length is also nice

May 25, 2022

My favorite zip hoodie!

I bought it a little big for me on purpose so I layer it for winter and skiing. This is my 3rd one and go to over the years. Still love it!

May 15, 2022

Activealways

I love the color and comfort of my full zip R1 hoodie. It is the perfect weight for wearing alone or layering. The sleeve length is a bit long, as most Patagonia jackets are for me, but the tight band keeps it comfortable. I now have two.

May 14, 2022

Comforts and light

I teach yoga on the beach and this perfect to throw on when the sun sets. Im still able to move well and its the perfect layer of warmth when it starts to feel chilly.

May 11, 2022

It's like a snuggle!

I love this jacket--it's the perfect weight--great by itself when it's cool and as an under-layer. I wear it curled up on the couch when it's cold and hiking on cool damp mornings. It's soft and light and holds your warmth but also breathes, so it's never hot. I got a large because I wanted it a little bit roomy, but the me... Read Moredium fit well too and would have been perfect if I did more running.

May 3, 2022

Cozy

Perfect layer on a chilly morning.

April 20, 2022

Very light, very warm!

I bought this with and without the hood in Small and Medium, but normally wear smalls. The medium has enough room to layer long sleeves very comfortably if you're planning to do that. This material is SO warm, especially for being so light and thin. It's definitely going to be a staple on my ski days.

April 16, 2022

Cozy

This jacket is almost too small for me, but I like the snug fit because it feels quite cozy. Love the way the hood fits.

April 4, 2022

Great technical hoody!

I just got the R-1 Air Full Zip Hoody 3 days ago. I've worn it on a morning jog and a long hike. I love it, it's soft, breathable, kept me warm w/out overheating and the sleeves and length are perfect, even tho I'm tall. The teal green is true to the picture. It's TTS, I normally wear a sz. 6 (5'10"/135#) and the M fit... Read More well. I can wear a layer thicker than a t-shirt underneath and it is still comfy. Love it, wish I could justify another color!

April 2, 2022

Not sure

I like the jacket. Its thin and comfortable. I had to order up a size because its made small. It was new when I wore it for one week on vacation and there is pilling on the sleeves already. Not sure I would buy it again because the fabric is not wearing well. It washed fine.

Response from Patagonia
April 4, 2022

Hello Michelle, we appreciate you taking the time to share your review of the Women's R1 Air Full-Zip Fleece Hoody. We are sorry the fabric did not meet your expectations. You are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it or consider removing the pills with a sweater stone or shaver.

March 30, 2022

Comfortable Breathable

This jacket fits true to size and is so comfortable, I wear it trail running, hiking, and just all the time. It keeps me warm, even with a bit of a breeze, but lets my under-layer breath while I'm being active. the hoodie was a big bonus for me for when the weather takes a turn, I can get even more warm with the close-fit zip and hood.

March 28, 2022

Magical Hoodie Jacket

This is a great hoodie jacket and I'll probably buy a second one in another color so I can occasionally wash the first one, which I wear almost every day. It's comfortable, stretchy but not clingy, and looks great. I got one size up so I could put two base layers underneath and that works well. I was wearing it in the house with only a th... Read Morein base layer underneath one day, went to get something from the car - cold wind blowing - and realized the wind wasn't getting through the hoodie jacket! Some kind of magic with the fabric and waffle weave.

March 19, 2022

Super comfy!

I love the green color! Noticeably more trim fit than previous R1 jacket. Love the sleeve & waist length. Always love Patagonia layers!

March 17, 2022

Great for cold weather running

Thin but toasty warm material that keeps out the wind pretty well too. It is perfect to wear hiking and running as it's not bulky at all

March 14, 2022

Ultra comfortable

I love this hoodie. It instantly became a go-to because of its warmth, but light weight. I've found it to be a great layer for under my ski jacket, but it also looks good on its own.

March 12, 2022

great second layer!

This top is my new favorite second layer for winter backpacking and hiking. Its high collar and hood are perfect when the temps drop and the wind picks up, it is breathable when exerting oneself, and its fit is perfect. It fits over my base layers and under either a down jacket or a nordic ski jacket or another top layer. I slept in it one very chi... Read Morelly tent night recently to good affect.. I already bought another as a gift

March 12, 2022

Perfection

This is my new go to for inside and outside, amazingly always just the right warmth for the wide range of temps in Maine late winter/early spring.

March 10, 2022

Versatile

I love it. It fits close to the body. The hood is great. Also it is long and does not ride up. Excellent under a shell for snowshoeing at about 0centigrade. And under my Patagonia down sweater hoody at -15 C. Also for casual wear. I love it. You could offer it in a broader range of colours.

March 7, 2022

Cosy

A gift! A successful gift ! She loves it .

February 22, 2022

Great fit, comfy except for the zipper

I'm so glad Patagonia is making XXS clothes for smaller women, unlike so many other companies. The fit is perfect for my petite frame. I find this much more comfortable than the original R1 - the waffle fleece feels more flexible and less constrictive. My only issue is the zipper. For reasons I can't understand, there is no chin protector... Read More, which makes it kind of uncomfortable when it's fully zipped. The zipper is also fairly bulky, which adds to the discomfort. Given the premium price for this otherwise great product, I'm disappointed they have left off this one important detail. I had the same issue with the regular R1, which is why I returned it. The R1 Air is a little more forgiving and so I find the zipper discomfort more tolerable, but I'm still not thrilled. Other than that, it's a great fleece.

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2022

Thank you for sharing this feedback; this is very helpful for our product design team, especially with a fairly new product. And you're right about the expanded sizing; we are working on expanding our size offerings in our most popular products.

February 15, 2022

Light as air but unbelievably warm

So happy I splurged on this. Im always cold, but this fleece keeps me warm as either an outer layer or a mid one. I tested it for the first time as an outer layer for cycling on a 35 degree day. Incredibly it breathes, allowing sweat to evaporate, while locking in warmth. Its now a regular companion for outdoor fun. I love that the hood fits under ... Read Morea helmet. The fabric has lots of flex and stretch, so its designed for movement. Its also soft and cozy, and I find myself wearing it to relax indoors, too. The only complaint is that teeny chest pocket. Also be ready to size up because this has a slim fit. Im usually a size medium in Patagonia jackets, 120 lbs, 36C, with an average build. With this fleece, the medium just fits with room only for a base layer. That works for me but others may want to take that into account and go up a size. Overall a superb fleece!

Response from Patagonia
February 17, 2022

We really appreciate your thoughtful and detailed feedback. Thanks for submitting a review of fit, fabric, function and features, as well as including some information about your own measurements which helps other customers. Enjoy your new R1 Air Hoody, Diane!

February 13, 2022

Found the Perfect Replacement

I've been looking for a replacement for a hooded Patagonia piece and this was the perfect choice. The fit is athletic - just the right length for me - and the feature that sold me was the hood that wraps around your head and neck snug and comfortably.

February 11, 2022

Very soft

I wear a size small usually. Im 5 and weight 130 and ordered the medium and it was too snug. Patagonia may want to broaden their scope of sizing to be more inclusive for the mature customers in their audience. Not everyone is fresh out of college

Response from Patagonia
February 14, 2022

Hi Patricia, thank you so much for sharing your feedback on the fit of this Hoody! This is immensely helpful to our product developers when planning changes for the future. If you haven't returned it already and would like to, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

February 9, 2022

Great warm layer with breathability

I love this layer and have worn it skinning/ski touring for the past three weeks since I got it. The only thing I would change is that the breast pocket is small and I wish it held my phone like the R1 does! Its really only large enough for a chapstick or a small snack.

January 22, 2022

SUPER WARM

Great product. My son bought one in His size and recommended; I purchase one also. Weather in Wisconsin is extreme this time of year. I love this top for it s warmth and ease of wearing, I would like to purchase another one in a different color , but not available.

January 15, 2022

Very comfortable.

Love this hoody - super comfortable, excellent fit. Warm without being bulky.

January 11, 2022

The perfect Nano Puff under layer

I bought this as a gift for my wife and she loves it. I discovered the Mens R1 Tech Face and I quickly began to pair it with my Nano Puff. I wanted my wife to enjoy the same set up. She likes to zip the R1 Air all the way up but to not pull the hood on, zipping up the R1 all the way is a great neck warmer/chin warmer. The Womens R1 Air is a great m... Read Moreid-layer without the Tech shell of the Mens R1 Tech Hoodie. Fit is great by itself or layered. The wife wears this under her full-zip down sweater also. Very versatile piece of gear.

January 9, 2022

Keeps me warm

I really enjoy the slim fit. Love the high zip around the neck. As well the small hood is an added comfort. Light weight although keeps me warm and thats not easy for me. I also feel very stylish in this jacket. I am in process of getting a second color because when you like something you just got to have more. Love love Patagonia!

January 8, 2022

lightweight and super warm

This fleece is incredibly warm and extremely lightweight. The fit coupled with its lightweight make it great for activity; I climb very comfortably in it during our southern winters (30s-40s and sunny usually). I visit NH in the winter and will make a great layer for those colder days. This one is soft and cozy.

December 26, 2021

A Must-have!

I want to be able to add more of these to my collection because this layer is SO awesome, but because it's so awesome, there are no more mediums and only two colors. I wear this hoody walking around town, in the house, biking, hiking, nordic skiing - as a top layer or mid-layer, depending on the temps. C'mon, Patagonia! Make more of these... Read More so we can all have a collection! :)

December 21, 2021

So Amazing!

I love my R1 and R2 layers - such great technical pieces. But this one - wow. Super soft and comfy. Super breathable and warm. Checks all the boxes. I've even found myself grabbing it on those cold nights to sleep in and don't overheat.

December 15, 2021

Warm, good layer

This is warm and comfortable. Awesome later for skiing for me. Its on the more fitted side but I knew that going in. Def recommended.

December 14, 2021

So pumped about this

After a long time deciding if I should buy this I finally pulled the trigger and I am SO excited about it. I wore it mountain biking this morning in about 35-40 degree temps with a light long sleeve under it, and I was totally warm and comfortable (even going downhill with wind). I rarely write reviews but I truly am so excited about this fleece th... Read Moreat I needed to share. I didn't overheat on the uphill and was perfectly comfortable the whole time. Sizing is a little weird, per the other reviews. I am 5'6" and 130lbs and very average build. In most things I wear a small, but I ended up getting a medium in this and I feel like it was for sure the right call. I do wear other Patagonia jackets (ski jackets) in a medium for layering. I am genuinely right between a small and a medium in this fleece as I tried them both on, but the small was a little short in my arms and pretty fitted. The medium is just ever so slightly a bit large on me, but I feel the most comfortable in it, plus it stay on the length of my arms when they extend. So pumped to have finally pulled the trigger!!

December 8, 2021

I will never take this off

When I recieved this in the mail the other day and put it on, and immediately texted my work colleagues, warning them to expect to see me in the R1 for the rest of the year. I literally don't want to take it off. It is warm, versatile, comfortable and cute. I plan to order the 1/2 zip next in a different color. I love it!

November 28, 2021

Great

Love your clothes you have a great product

November 23, 2021

Perfectly warm

This hoody is the best for any outdoor activity! Very warm and perfect when layering in the cold!

November 22, 2021

warm and cozy

I love this garment! It is soft (softer than the R1 or R2) and a little stretchy. It's super warm for how light it is. I love the blue color. It has become my go-to for most activities where it's cool outside, and also for just hanging out.

November 11, 2021

Looks cool but not warm

I was drawn to this item because of the zig zag design. It's very breezy while windy not what I was looking for. The material also don't where well it looks funny after a week or so wearing. I will be returning it at some point.

November 10, 2021

Almost good

The appearance of this jacket is very cute. I love the fleece pattern and I love that it's fitted. But I feel it truly is a size too small. I wear an XL so there's not much to go from there. I bought the men's version for my husband and he wouldn't wear it because it's too snug. It's also a lot thinner than I expected.... Read More I should have read more reviews because others have stated it. I love the Patagonia brand and this is not a bad fleece. It looks well made but it's absolutely not what I was looking for. So if you want a thin fleece that is very fitted, this fits the bill. If not, probably look for another product. I'd definitely size up though.

November 9, 2021

Love my new jacket!

So soft and comfortable. The fit is just as described. Love the deep jade color and am so happy with my purchase!

November 6, 2021

Perfect weight

Love this! Perfect weight for wearing outside on these cool mornings on my walks (live in northeast).

November 3, 2021

Fave Hiking Fleece

All time favourite fleece for hiking in Vancouver! It’s been worn and washed so many times since I bought it 2 months ago and it’s held up exceptionally well! I also love that the women’s version still has a small chest pocket, so often they’re not. It stands up to light drizzle even tho it’s quite thin, and dries very quickly. I may just have to s... Read Morenag it in another colour :)

October 30, 2021

favorite go to jacket for cold runs

I have this jacket in a M and L. I bought the large size so I could layer it. I have worn this jacket in 19 degree cold weather (with two layers underneath) and it keeps me warm- especially the hood - nothing like having your cheeks warm while running. I love this jacket!

October 17, 2021

Super comfortable

This is a perfect mid-layer for cooler days or I use it as a sweater right now. Super comfortable. I have also received many compliments when wearing. I got a small. It's perfect for a mid-layer. I'm 5'9" 140lbs so I find myself constantly between small and medium. This small fits great but snug. The sleeves are long enough thou... Read Moregh which is awesome!

October 16, 2021

Love the color and look but.

It fits tighter than I was expecting. I wear size M in all Patagonia jackets and tops and this is snug. Wouldnt be able to wear much of a first layer underneath. Fabric and features are outstanding!

October 15, 2021

Almoossttt perfect!

I have Ben obsessed with wearing my R1! I even got my boyfriend the mens style! It would be PERFECT if it had thumb holes! When I layer over it it drives me nuts that the sleeves will get caught on other material and bunch up! Easy fix of course but still, details matter! It doesnt bother my boyfriend to not have thumb holes though, just a me thing... Read More! Super durable and warm! Hiking in MN and was almost too warm with it being in the 50/60s degrees F!

October 9, 2021

Almost Perfect

I love this jacket. Its lightweight, not too warm, but warm enough. I wear it inside, outside. Can wear a vest over it when colder. Although M is my normal size for fitted garments it is a bit more fitted than I would like, but the length and sleeve length are good so I know sizing up wont work. It has exactly the right amount of stretch. There are... Read More lots of pockets; 2 inside, 2 zipper outside however all this pocket space cant really be used with a fitted garment. I wish this jacket had all these good things, including the feminine fit with just a little more body/hip room. I like to use my pockets!

October 8, 2021

Weird pattern

I have a few R1s and R2s and this version feels like a regular fleece w a herringbone pattern. I havent put it to work yet and I probably wont Bc it feels pretty low tech.

September 27, 2021

Functional & fun!

The length is great! Ive been using this layer when biking and its perfect for 50-60 degree east coast weather. I love the option of the hood when I bike and then go for a walk. The more durable material around the wrist makes me feel more comfortable wearing it when Im biking.

September 24, 2021

73 and sunny

This is the perfect shoulder season jacket (or layer for inside when it's not cold enough to turn on the heat). This jacket has been my go-to so far this fall, perfect with a puffy vest for the mornings (35 degrees) and by mid afternoon when it's 73 I toss it in my bag and forget it till the sun goes down. Looking forward to layering this... Read More more this winter once activities heat up and the temperature goes down!

September 22, 2021

Great jacket

Overall I really like this jacket. It is very lightweight yet warm. It does seem to be pilling on the sleeves a bit already, which is why I'm not giving it 5 stars. I have an R1 pullover from 2014 that I love and I like that material better. I do wish this jacket had thumb holes. I would say this runs a bit small. I wear a small in most brands... Read More but for Patagonia jackets I wear medium. This fits loose and I can wear shirts underneath. In the past the smalls have been too tight. I am 5'8 125lbs with narrow shoulders for reference.

September 21, 2021

Perfect

Great color, fits well, cozy!

September 12, 2021

Great added layer

I love this jacket. Sizing may be right in target but so many other small products run larger that this one is very fitted in comparison. Definitely need a medium in this instead of my regular small.

September 11, 2021

Very nice feel

Excited to wear this in Fall/Winter. Very very nice!

September 8, 2021

Perfect hoodie

The fit is perfect. I am 58, long torso and thin. Its soft and comfortable and warm. No complaints from me!

September 5, 2021

perfect

needed a lighter fuzzy for some higher altitude hiking (I live at sea level) and this one was perfect. squishes smaller than regular fuzzy and not as fussy as puffy. prefer the full zip for easy layering. Cut is on the slimmer side so don't be afraid to go up a size if needed.

September 5, 2021

Great fit, looks great

This is a great fleece. It's warm and looks great. I'm 5'2" 124lbs with an athletic build and purchased an x-small. It's very slim-fitting, but fits well. If you want something you can move around in more I would recommend sizing up.

September 5, 2021

Warm

Very comfortable

September 4, 2021

Love this jacket

This jacket is great because it is lightweight but a great warm layer with helpful pockets

September 3, 2021

Versatile

I bought this in anticipation of a trip to Glacier and obviously the rest of life afterward. Ive been wearing it everyday since we got on a plane and its been great. I had an R1 years ago and ever since I got rid of it Ive missed it. Its a great layer that works well as an extra layer when its relatively warm and a warm layer when its cold. Very ha... Read Moreppy I went back!

September 2, 2021

Weird Fit

The large was little tight around the hip area. So I tried the XL at the store & it was then too long. It had a weird cut. I actually like the contrast of the yellow zipper. But unfortunately, I had to return.

Response from Patagonia
September 10, 2021

We're sorry this didn't work for you Maria. You might like our [Women's Capilene® Air Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-air-hoody/36505.html) as it's a warm base layer but a different styling.

September 2, 2021

In love with the Pockets

Love this piece. I've hiked to the top of 14ers to a walk around the block in it. Will also probably wear this backcouuntry skiing too because the interior pockets look like they can fit my skins! Surprised it is so form-fitting with 5 pockets (2 outside zipper, 2 inside and what I call the car key/Gu pocket on the chest). The color is fabulou... Read Mores and the hood is also a nice touch so it's one less thing for me to bring on a hike. I think I've worn this every day since I got it.

September 1, 2021

Great layering piece

I like a contoured fit for greater warmth and better layering. Its a lightweight piece but also quite warm. Its longer and sits closer to the hips

August 31, 2021

Soft, Lightweight, and Warm

This is a great hoody. It's softer on the skin than other technical hoodies or sweatshirts, and surprisingly warm given how little it weighs. I love the high neck and the color. Slim fit items tend to fit me well, and this one is true to size, except for the arms. Patagonia size M tops usually have arm lengths that work for me, but this one se... Read Moreems shorter than usual.

August 25, 2021

Love this iacket

This jacket is soft yet very functional. It is slim fitting. The pockets are the right size for my phone. I have received many compliments on the blue jacket.

August 24, 2021

Super Comfy!

This jacket is going to get a lot of wear time this fall & winter! It is super comfy, warm and yet breathable. I am normally a Medium in Patagonia jackets but because of the 'slim fit' description I went with a large. Honestly, I could have gone with the medium for a more fitted feel but kept the large in case I wanted to layer a thic... Read Moreker long sleeve underneath the jacket. The arms on the large are generously long! I bought the black, which is a little softer charcoal black in person. Really love the style, quality and breathability. Can't wait for cooler weather!

August 22, 2021

Perfect weight

I was looking for an in between jacket. This is perfect. Not too heavy and not too light. Great for fall days. The fit is very flattering and I love the color!

July 20, 2021

Sharp Look Great Slim Fit

Love the slim fit for those of us with long arms. Arms could have been a little more generous but doable. Flattering fit. Smoke Blue looks very succinct. Recommend!!

July 18, 2021

Great Jacket

I really like this jacket and it's cozy. I never use a hood- and this jacket's hood is not going to get used. The hood is simply too short to gracefully be worn. But the jacket is great.

June 11, 2021

EARTHY IS BEAUTIFUL

This new R1 Air sweatshirt-type jacket is now my absolute favorite garment. Here's why: I LOVE the colors, the size fits like a glove, its weight is just right, and the hood adds a very attractive component to the overall excellent aesthetics.

May 14, 2021

Warm and lightweight

Love the fit , the style and the color combo Thank you so much

May 13, 2021

Lightweight, warm

Lightweight but warm on chilly days. Fit is perfect for older active person who cannot wear the fitted apparel anymore️

May 10, 2021

Works well!

This is great for cool-weather mountain biking. It keeps me warm but is super breathable, so I don't have to stop and shed layers. It is super functional, yet feels like a cozy sweater. I'm worried about its durability. The fuzzy exterior seems highly prone to pilling and getting snagged on trail-side branches. I was originally going to... Read More wait for different colors of the regular R1 zip up hoody (I would love to see chicory red!!), since it seems more durable, but I will try this out and see. The steller blue is brighter than expected, but I ended up loving the color even though I usually prefer wearing deep earth tones.

May 4, 2021

My new go-to cozy outfit

I am loving my new R1 Air full-zip hoody. I have two regular R1 full-zips, both in size Medium, but the R1 Air felt better in a Large, so I think it seems to run a little smaller than the regular R1's. It's super cozy and warm, love the high zip neck, but it's also breathable. I will say that the lower arm appears to be pilling a lit... Read Moretle bit, but I guess I don't really mind, but that might be one down side compared to the regular R1. 5'8" 160lb and the size large is perfect.

April 29, 2021

Not warm but lightweight

It was very lightweight but not warm at all. It was soft. Also the front pocket was way too small. Nothing fit in there. May be better for someone who runs warm. I switched to the R2 regulator fleece and am happier.

April 27, 2021

Love it but runs small

I wanted to love this jacket so much. The shoulders fit perfect, but the body of it ran small. Sadly, this is going back. I'm worried about getting a Large and have the shoulders be too baggy.

April 22, 2021

Lightweight

I am planning on taking these on my thru hike. I am planning on hiking the Appalachian Trail. On my warm up hikes they keep me warm and toasty.

April 21, 2021

Sizing is off

Over the years Patagonia sizing has changed drastically so I really didnt know what size to purchase. I currently have an R1 hoody in size medium which fits me well. I tried on the size medium in the R1 Air Hoody and I could barely zip up the sweater. The size large fit fine, slim fitted but too tight to be comfortable during high output activities... Read More. The XL was massive compared to the large, much longer and wider at the bottom. I really dont understand this years sizing. Would I recommend? Maybe. Performance wise yes, fit wise, only if you can try on the item or be prepared to exchange sizes.

April 19, 2021

Ugh. Yellow zipper.

First off, I want to thank Patagonia for the Regen Green this season. It is likely my best color, so I get excited when I see it. I have it in the Torrentshell 3L jacket. After discovering the jacket I went searching for more Regen Green. Unfortunately I'm too late on many items. Clearly I'm not the only person who loves this color. Also ... Read Moreunfortunately, the number of Regen Green items I can wear well is limited due to Patagonia's choice of frequently adding neon yellow zippers to the jackets of this color like on the fleece above. (I'd also get rid of the black and make that a satiny green because when one looks good in green, it's best to have it around one's face.) One or two styles with that zipper are fine for those who can pull off neon colors, but for many people, neon looks awful. Had Patagonia stuck to a green zipper, we could have all enjoyed more style options in Regen Green. But alas, that yellow zipper is all over the place. For those of you who can pull off neon yellow, good on you, you lucky shoppers! I will enjoy my Torrentshell immensely and hope it isn't too many years before Patagonia brings the color back again...this time hopefully rarely paired with anything neon.

April 1, 2021

Gorgeous color, flattering fit

This is a beautiful lightweight fleece I will use as a base layer on cold days or outer layer on warm days. It is well made, the color is stunning (stellar blue) and it is fitted and stays put. I purchased the XS, which usually fits me (5'9, 120, athletic) except for the arms, which are always a little short at Patagonia. My one complaint is t... Read Morehe arms on this jacket are very short--probably 2 inches too short but still very wearable. Hood is also a tad snug but good for under a helmet.

March 29, 2021

Shrinks

This is very comfortable but it does shrink about 1 size when you wash and dry it. The medium was actually a little big on me but after one wash it is snug. I am 5'6 and weigh 125lb.

Response from Patagonia
August 10, 2021

Thanks for your feedback Sarah! We recommend machine wash in cool water with mild detergent, no bleach, no fabric softener, and let air dry or tumble dry on low heat setting. Please reach out if you need any [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) from our Customer Service team.

March 27, 2021

Wowza warm!

Wow! I could not believe how warm this fleece is, especially for its weight! I wished that I had this fleece for skiing -we had a few days in Jackson Hole where it was pretty chilly on the chairlift, but warmer skiing in the trees, so a breathable insulation layer wouldve been perfect! The fleece is super soft and feels nice on your skin! The fit... Read More is good too- form fitting enough (so not bulky), but not tight. Im 55 and about 108lbs and I got size S (perfect for layering for me).

March 26, 2021

Workhorse Tech Fleece

I have owned the R1, R2, R3 and I traded in the R1 and R3 for the new R1 Air Hoody. I love the close fit, although with XXS the sleeves are *almost* too short. I feel like the R1 Air def wicks away moisture and feels light weight. I'm usually an XS in most Patagonia but actually recently started buying XXS for the R1 Air (and the Micro Puff Ho... Read Moreody) - It's overall a better fit for me. I am 5'1 and 95 lbs. I couldn't keep waiting for the back order on the green color so just went with Smolder Blue and it's fine! Grey but neutral and I honestly don't think about it. I wear it A LOT. Layers well over base layer tees/tanks and under Micro Puff Hoody. Definitely grab it all the time, unlike my older version of the R1 Zip Jacket circa 2011.

March 20, 2021

Great but where's the zipper garage?

My new favorite mid-layer. Warm and soft while also very wicking and breathable. Great to layer under a shell, and good pockets. But where's the zipper garage? The zipper is cold and chafing against my chin unless I'm wearing a buff. Almost perfect, save for this one flaw.

March 18, 2021

Super Wicking

I skinned up a local ski mountain in my Air Capeline and was all sweaty from climbing. At the top of the mountain, it was really windy so I put on my R1 Fleece hoping it would let me dry out and keep me warm. It was great. Let me dry out and kept me warm. I did have a shell over it. The R1 alone is not warm if there is a wind, you'll need a sh... Read Moreell but under a shell, it keeps you warm and dry.

March 7, 2021

Great product

Great fit, warm, light weight super product for backpacking

March 7, 2021

Not a good fit

Not true to size at all. Runs very very small

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Womens R1, we are of course sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations. The R1 is a slim fit item which can impact how it will fit we can always be reached at 800-638-6464 for sizing chart and fit assistance.

March 4, 2021

Freakin love it.

I love this thing. Ive hardly worn any other mid-layer since I got this in the mail. Insanely breathable! So cozy! And cute! I ordered a size up from my usual size, because I wanted it to fit easily over a variety of base layers. I am 6ft tall, but still the sleeves are a bit on the short side. (They are notably shorter than the sleeves on my R1 an... Read Mored Better Sweater). I have come to love the shorter length which makes it easier to layer under jackets. The body length is pretty long! Again, I sized up, but it covers a good portion of my backside. I LOVE the way it feels. I wear it just as much around the house as I do outdoors. Oh and the pockets are super big and made with a sort of shell-ish material, which works great for snow sports. Note that it has already pilled a little bit, if thats the sort of thing that bothers you, but I expect that when something is this soft and breathable and I grind it up on snowboards, granite, and dirty vans. Excellent layer! Treat yoself!

March 3, 2021

Warm and comfortable

I love this re-design of the R1. It's warmer than the standard R1 but still breathable. Great while hiking, mountaineering, climbing. One drawback is the arms are a little tight, all other aspects of the fit are spot-on.

March 3, 2021

Very Comfortable

This is so soft & comfortable. I wear it in my 60F cool home. I will wear for high elevation outdoor later but for now.....

March 1, 2021

Warm mid-layer

Purchased to use as a mid-layer while skiing. It's perfect! I stay warm but never overheat. I can't stop raving about it; my boyfriend purchased the men's version!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches