Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Midweight Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 57 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Capilene® Midweight Bottoms

4.1/5
October 17, 2021

Bummed about the changes!!

I'm a loyal patagonia baselayer user... but I'm very sad about this new cut -- it's short, as others have noted, and leaves my ankles and shins cold -- why, patagonia?? Also, the calves are baggy... again, why? for a baselayer, this doesn't cut the mustard, sadly... Finally, the sizing is a bit large which is fine, but it'... Read Mores also not accommodating to larger hips so I kind of have to size up. My recommendation is to go back to the drawing board on these.

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2021

Hi Theodora, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the bottoms. This feedback is truly appreciate as it helps us to improve things for future seasons. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 15, 2021

last purchase

Have been wearing your base layers for several years and love the olde fabric so it was quite disappointing to note the latest. Sizes have changed as well. Am wearing an olde pair under this new and still not interesting. Very sorry. The socks are handsome but elastic is tight over ankle. ... too bad.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback Norvie. We're sorry that these aren't working for you. We've got lots of new gear and would love the opportunity to talk to you about the function and get you into something that will work for your needs. We're also happy to provide garment dimensions prior to purchase.

September 6, 2021

Nice Baselayer

I will use them with a pair of shorts over top for kayaking in cooler weather and under snow pants for snow shoeing this winter. Nice fit, warm & cozy.

May 13, 2021

Short legs

The legs are very short.

April 22, 2021

Perfect all around base layer

Fits nicely under regular clothes or ski clothing.

March 9, 2021

Sizing varies

I loved the XS navy blue purchased a season ago so wanted another in violet. The newer XS pair is much less stretchy. Still works great as a base layer but definitely less comfy so docking a star.

February 25, 2021

PERFECT FOR DISC GOLF IN THE WINTER

Anything, Patagonia makes is of the highest quality and best for the planet I wouldn't consider buying from anywhere else. Thank you reluctant businessman :)

February 24, 2021

Toasty Under Thin Tight

My legs are long so I went with a large which was the perfect length. I never tried a medium. The legs could have been a bit more snug particularly if I was going somewhere brutally cold. For walking, hiking and running outdoors, these kept me toast when placed under a thin tight. The temp got as low as 19 degrees and the wind blew about 15 mph.

February 22, 2021

Breathable & Warm

Great Buy. Super breathable, and comfortable. Not quite skin tight, sits 2-3 inches above the ankle (If they offered a long option I would have bought it, I'm 5'10", about 150lb). <3

February 22, 2021

No Spandex

I should have read the description better and these seem like they would be warm.... however, without a drop of spandex these are not staying on when you bend over and wearing under something is uncomfortable. New customer of Patagonias so I will try again!!

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Hi Joanne! We're so sorry these weren't what you were expecting! These were designed to be worn as a baselayer, so underneath another pair of pants. If you're looking for a pair of leggings, you could consider the [Center Tights](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-centered-tights/21961.html?dwvar_21961_color=SDNA) or the Pack Out Tights. Both are customer and staff favorites!

February 19, 2021

Çapilene mw bottoms

Cozy.

February 19, 2021

Loose

The pants are nice but loose not leggings . Are comfy able to wear under clothing.

Response from Patagonia
March 4, 2021

Hey Arlene! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. You're absolutely correct - these are not leggings but are actually intended to be worn as a baselayer underneath another pair of pants. You could try out the [Pack Out Tights](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-pack-out-tights/21995.html?dwvar_21995_color=NENA) if you're looking for a comfy pair of leggings!

February 11, 2021

Warm but fit big

These do not fit my legs at all. Im 5 2 116lbs slender/athletic build. I kept them and they keep me warm but they are a loose fit for long Johns. Not all women have a booty and awesome muscle thighs.

February 9, 2021

Keeps me warm.

The only thing I am not totally happy about is the thicker materials around the waist. I prefer the older way they were made with just the elastic.

February 8, 2021

Warm but not fitted

Based on the images, I was hoping that these bottoms would be more form fitting. They are very warm and I love the Capilene, but past the knees they are loose and baggy.

February 8, 2021

Warm & Comfortable

Staying close to home these days during COVID & a cold Michigan winter. I bought this as a layering piece to stay warm on daily walks & even indoors (I tend to be cold much of the time). This has been perfect - warm, light, very comfortable.

February 1, 2021

Comfortable & warm

The fit is good and they are very comfortable to wear. I wear them under jeans or cords for walking as well as in a cool house. They keep me warm except in very cold or windy weather when I wear the thermal weight. I would definitely buy them again.

January 28, 2021

Getting warmer, but needs more length

These are great -- warm, stretch enough but hold their shape, they stay up, there's no static or bunching under layers, and they seem durable. But I'm 6 ft with long legs and need at least 3 inches for them to be long enough. Please add tall sizes for bottoms!

January 28, 2021

Amazing!

Very interesting material- wasnt sure how I felt about it. Seems thin. BUT whoa!! I wear just these as my base layer with uninsulated snow/winter outer shell and I stay warm in temps 10-30 degrees. Very happy with them!

January 27, 2021

Comfy

I love the material. I wear both S & M and have a lot of pata base layers. I didnt like the loose fit of the leg bottoms at first but Ive been wearing them everyday and really like them now. Thank You!

January 20, 2021

Awkward fit

These are not leggings that hug your legs. The fabric is rather stiff, and simply not stretchy like the many other pairs of leggings I own. The waist band is placed at an odd spot as well, and I have both high-waisted and hip-slung leggings--these are somewhere in between and very unflattering, and the problem is not a matter of fit but placement. ... Read MoreWould not recommend.

Response from Patagonia
February 25, 2021

Thank for your the feedback on fit for our Women's Capilene Midweight Bottoms! These are intended to be used as a base layer, not necessarily worn on their own, so they won't have the same fit or feel of a standard legging. If that is what you were in the market for, we'd recommend checking out the [Women's Pack Out Tights](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-pack-out-tights/21995.html?dwvar_21995_color=BLK).

January 20, 2021

Cozy

Lightweight warmth and very comfortable to wear.

January 18, 2021

Leg to short

Waist size felt right. Leg length too short.

January 15, 2021

Super comfy

Super comfy & being shorter, I appreciate the length!! Fits just right. Def recommend.

January 9, 2021

Great LJs

This fit great and are super warm. They are more fitted than my older Patagonia mid-weighs, which makes for a comfortable fit.

January 3, 2021

Excellent!

Super comfy for layering! Excellent quality!

January 3, 2021

Comfortable

I use these as a base layer when it is cold. I bought fleece Patagonia bottoms about 25 years ago and, while worn thin, they still work. I was hoping these were fleece. While disappointed that they are not, I find them comfortable and warm. My cotton base layers arent as warm.

December 8, 2020

so short!:(

I am so disappointed these are so short-they are supposed to keep you warm, but they go so far up my calf, I end up with some chilly legs! Other than that the fit is great. And very cute! I just wish they were like 6 inches longer.

December 1, 2020

Great quality but weird fit for my body type

It&#x27;s tough to review these because they&#x27;re totally a well made garment but they just fit weird on my body type. For context, I&#x27;m 5&#x27;6&quot; and about 160 pounds on an athletic frame - my butt, thighs, and calves are thicker and my waist is kinda small. As I understood it, these base layers were to be a bit looser in the calf/over... Read Moreall leg area but on me they ended up being tight around my calves and butt but somehow sort of baggy in the crotch area and too big in the waist. All that said, they're still wearable, but they definitely don't fit like I thought they would, especially given that the material isn't stretchy. Story of my pants-purchasing life :( Otherwise I can say that they do seem pretty warm but I haven't gotten the chance to camp in them yet!

Response from Patagonia
January 6, 2021

Thank you for this thoughtful and detailed feedback, Alexis! Please reach out if you'd like any [assistance](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to return the Midweight Bottoms. Note that the Thermal Weight Bottoms have some spandex, and Capilene Air have mechanical stretch built into the woven nature of that fabric, so either of those might be a better choice for you.

November 26, 2020

Quality suffers

I already owned a wonderful pair of these midweight bottoms purchased for my Antarctic adventure a few years ago. I re-ordered the same style/size and was astounded at how the quality has suffered in the exact same product. So lightweight to the point of being see-through. Poor cuff design. Too short in the waist /rise so tops do not stay tucked in... Read More and leaves your back exposed to the cold. I do not recommend these baselayers!

November 20, 2020

Comfy , warm but short.

I just love these base layer pants! However they are too short for my long legs . Otherwise I would have given them a five. So I totally recommend them for short-legged friends!

November 11, 2020

Awesome warmth

Amazing warmth from material so light that you forget that you're wearing them.

November 6, 2020

Super Comfortable

The bottoms fit like a second skin. It fits perfectly in the crotch and does not rub or chafe anywhere. I think the color selection is limited. I bought a medium gray a few years ago which I am still wearing. I may order a black. I am a person who prefers browns, greens and golds (or yellows).

November 3, 2020

Forgot they were on

This is great base wear. Not sweater like, but warm like a sweater. I wear them under my scrubs and actually stay toasty. Will be perfect under ski gear. They are thinner than other base layers but warmer... the bottoms could have more butt room, however the issue is probably in the length from crotch to waist

October 31, 2020

Best pair of light weight long underwear I own

Love these!!! Perfect under fleece or jeans!

September 12, 2020

Nice lightweight tights

Great lightweight but not too thin tights with interesting fabric texture that makes them supa comfortable. Got two pairs and on one the seam started unraveling after one wear I expect that to be a one-off thing and, knowing Patagonia, expect no trouble getting a replacement. Still, ducked one star for it.

September 1, 2020

A little loose

Possibly the roomiest XS leggings I have. I need to gain 10 pounds of muscle in my legs for these to look a bit better. Arrived with an open seam (inner thigh), so I had to do a bit of stitching before I could try them on.

August 26, 2020

Too short, too loose, not stretchy.

Usual sizing issues. Info on the site just not accurate. They are too short, they end in the middle of my calves (not even above the ankle) - not something one would want when it&#x27;s cold and you want to wear a piece for warmth. Also they are very wide and loose in the calf area and that also makes for a weird fit. They really don&#x27;t look go... Read Moreod, maybe they fit better if your calves are big, but if you have a very average build like me, they won't fit you well. I'm 5'8, and my legs aren't super long - pretty standard, so I don't see a reason why I have such issues with patagonia sizing. Also, they have a very small amount of stretch - not something you want for sport activities (I bought them for skiing) and I just can't see how they would be particularly comfy in that situation. It makes me so sad I cannot wear so many of your items because they just fit me so poorly.

Response from Patagonia
November 5, 2020

Hi Maja, so sorry these didn't fit as you expected! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us as they are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee.

June 17, 2020

Cute. Id recommend.

I love these. Nice design and well made.

June 17, 2020

Lightweight Bottoms

Super comfortable. These were looser than I expected, and hit above the ankle on me (I'm 5'10''). Great print

April 9, 2020

Not-your-dads long underwear from the 80s

A new personal favorite, lightweight and breathable, perfect for under my gear at work or for any snow activity year round. Fit really well, perfect amount of stretch.

February 29, 2020

Perfect for the coldest conditions!

I recently traveled to Antarctica during its Spring season and ordered a bunch of new Patagonia gear to test. I have to say, the quality and comfort couldn&#x27;t be better. Especially these Capilene® Midweight Bottoms! They kept me warm and dry. From trekking with penguins and seals, to hiking icy/snowy mountains. True to size (I ordered a M), for... Read More reference, I'm 135#, 5'4', and curvy.

January 15, 2020

unbelievable comfortable

I have been wearing Patagonia for 30+ years. I love my midweight bottoms. I weighed 110, athletic fit with big calves and small waist I wear xs and it fits perfect, more on the loser side which I like. I am going to purchase 2 more pairs! These are great under the nano air pants too! :)

January 5, 2020

Very little stretch. Maybe good

Very little stretch. Maybe good for walking around but not great for anything sporty.

December 31, 2019

comfortable and of course well made

Although I still have my 25-year-old capilene in my drawer, I decided to try the new version. They are very comfortable and unobtrusive under outerwear.

December 30, 2019

Soft and stylish

I bought several of the tops and bottoms for my 12-year-old daughter who will be an exchange student in Quebec this winter. They are well-made, soft and cozy, and the cool designs make them feel more like yoga pants than long underwear. She loves them! She is 5‘4“ and 115 pounds, the extra small fit her well.

December 30, 2019

Just What I Wanted

The bottoms fit perfectly. I am 5'4 with an athletic build and the mediums fit perfectly. I wear them under my pants for work out in the field. I am excited to try them for an upcoming ski trip.

December 29, 2019

Super comfy

I love these pants! They're incredibly comfortable and provides me that extra layer I was looking for.

December 26, 2019

Runs large

Thanks Zack at The Reno Center for helping me swap the size, as these run one size bigger than my other Patagonia pants. I got them today and can test them out before my Oregon trip next week to see if they will help keep me warmer.

December 10, 2019

Too stiff

The pants are short, not even reaching the top of my ankle and the material did not have enough elasticity making them tight in the knees when I bent them.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the fit didn't work out for you in these and we thank you for providing that feedback. Please know, your satisfaction is guaranteed and if you decide you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) those back, we'd be happy to offer a credit.

December 7, 2019

Even better!

Now more breathable for high output activities, the Capilene midweight bottoms have been a winter essential because they provide warmth without bulk under shell pants, drysuit or even hiking or casual pants on cold days. I like the midweight for most of my winter adventures alpine skiing and snowboarding, backcountry skiing, whitewater kayaking and... Read More hiking.

November 18, 2019

Perfect Baselayer

I bought two of the midnight bottoms and love them. They are super comfortable, wash well and dry fast.

November 4, 2019

True to size and great

True to size and great under layer

October 31, 2019

Next Level

Okay, these may be one of the comfiest things I&#x27;ve ever worn for a base layer. Or maybe even any layer. I have worn these twice now for walking across campus in below zero weather and they have surpassed my expectations. With only one other layer on top of them, I was exactly where I needed to be for warmth. I can see myself wearing these camp... Read Moreing, hiking, skiing, really anything. It's awesome to not feel the instant reaction of peeling off a base layer after a day in chilly weather. I liked the waistband a lot too, it didn't squeeze me too tight and it's a nice size band.

October 30, 2019

Not Stretchy Enough

I had to return my xs Capilene bottoms because they were not stretchy enough to wear skiing under my nordic and alpine pants. They were also quite short - only hit the upper ankle. I have a pair of Capilene that are 20 years old and I am sad to say these new ones just don't measure up!

October 29, 2019

Great fit and fabric

I have worn Patagonia bottom base layers for so long, I wasn&#x27;t even sure what weight they were. The two pair I have must be 12 or more years old, but they are finally showing some wear (I wear them every weekend in the winter!), so I bought a new pair of midweight capilene bottoms. I was thinking maybe these were too heavy for backcountry skii... Read Moreng, but they are a similar weight to my old ones. The fabric is very soft and the fit is perfect, maybe a little closer fit than the old ones. The seams are smooth and I'm looking forward to wearing them skiing.

October 16, 2019

Underwear? Outerwear? You decide....

All this talk of whether leggings can be worn as pants and then, Patagonia gives the world these...I ordered the Arctic Ox print in Navy with the plan to just replace the previous version of midweight baselayers I had that had basically worn out after many, many years. So, intended purpose: baselayers for all things outside and cold. Where I am act... Read Moreually wearing them: Everywhere. It turns out if you throw some kind of tunic or sweater over them and then finish off with a pair of boots you are actually dressed. I've worn them working (even in the office, although I do work in a generally casual setting), hiking, momming, sleeping, sports spectatoring, travelling and camping. They only stretch out a tiny bit--which is a (good) change from the old, old styles. And, I have to add, they are really cute. Compliments on the regular. I am 5'7" and 140 lbs with muscular legs; the Medium are a good fit. Breathable, comfortable, versatile and cute....Win!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches