Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 148 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt

4.5/5
True To Size
September 6, 2021

Fabric frayed second time it was worn

This t-shirt and another capilene air t shirt frayed in the back on second or third wear. Disappointed Thanks

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Thanks for letting us know the problems with your shirt Pradeep. Jersey like fabrics are prone to pilling when met with friction like a mesh pack or something similar. You can easily remedy this. We've made a [video](https://youtu.be/2aFbPb6Rn8o) on how to do that. As always, you're welcome to return it for warranty. Thanks!

September 3, 2021

Not worth it

I have a few of these shirts and all of them have had fraying issues since I got them. I pretty disappointed with the quality they started fraying after a few weeks of use.

Response from Patagonia
September 13, 2021

Hi Nikita, we're so sorry to hear that this has been happening with your Men's Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt. We hold our gear to a high standard and since those shirts are wearing more quickly than they should be, please feel free to begin a warranty return under our Ironclad guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 18, 2021

Perfect update to 'silk weight' capilene

So far so good with the really nice layer. Have worn for highly aerobic activities and it breaths super well, has a nice feel on the skin and so far resists stink. Will likely buy a couple more soon.

August 14, 2021

Good quality but runs slightly small

Would suggest getting a size up. Fits slightly smaller than other capilene cool models. Great quality material, super breathable and lightweight

August 12, 2021

Cool, comfortably trim and odor free

It's a trim fit in a very good way, and feels light as a feather. I love these for hiking, backpacking and trail running. Super light and comfortable and the material does, in fact, keep the smell away. Wore this four days straight during an extended hike on the Camino del Norte in Spain last month with temps in the high 80s F. Outstanding!

August 9, 2021

great product

as every patagonia customer knows, sometimes their product evolves/changes for the not-as-good-as-the-old-ones. This is not the case for their lightweight capilene shirts. They're awsome. Performance wise and travel wise. They're great for both. I used them for hiking, running, and cycling and they're perfect for that activity in war... Read Morem to cool days (my body runs hot so folks w/ lower core body temps may need mid-weight) . For travel, they can be worn multiple days w/o stinking (and I sweat easily) and then hand washed and dried in a day to reuse the next day. Love this product.

August 7, 2021

Love the feel, not sure on the construction

Super light weight shirt true to fit and incredibly comfortable. Almost exclusively a trail runner and have to say that the fabric is so thin that I have been super careful not to snag it on anything sharp. Stitching at bottom is already pulling out after only three uses. I am very careful taking this on and off and wash in Cold Water on gentle cyc... Read Morele then air dry on drying rack. Hope this one holds up as I really like the technical nature of it.

August 3, 2021

So Comfy

My favorite t-shirts are Merino Wool, but this shirt is so soft snd comfortable that it is becoming a favorite!

July 28, 2021

Super Lightweight

Very lightweight tshirt to work out.

July 22, 2021

Not warm at all, which is perfect. Dries instantly, breathes possibly better than no shirt at all

The shirt is perfect for what I bought it for, an attractive very sheer garment that breathes really well and looks great. I like that the torso isnt too long so it doesnt hang up on my butt when I wear it not tucked in. If I could change one thing, it would be a less obtrusive label or none or removable. I have old capilene with the label embroi... Read Moredered in the same color as the shirt, it doesnt poke and it doesnt stick out visually My Patagonias dont need a label because I tell everybody about them!

July 12, 2021

Perfect shirt for hot weather.

When the temps start to climb toward triple digits this is the shirt to reach for. Somehow this layer keeps you cool even in the blazing sunshine.

July 11, 2021

Fits very small

I would definitely order one size larger than normal for this product. In my case, other medium Patagonia shirts fit but this is so small that it is unwearable.

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Hello Dennis, thank you for leaving us a review on our Men's Capilene Cool Lightweight Shirt. We're sorry to hear that this ran small for you, we've taken note of your feedback and will make sure it gets to the appropriate team members. If you decide that you'd like a size up, you can begin the exchange process on this [page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 5, 2021

It Works

Its a shirt for running. It works for me. Not too hot, not too cool. Just right for wearing with my pack to keep shoulders from being rubbed raw from friction.

July 2, 2021

Extremely light and breathable

Lightest and most breathable shirt I own. Feels like it was made by elves.

July 1, 2021

Oops

Again, Patagonia making me feel old and fat. My bad ordering the large instead of the extra large. Yes, it used to fit. Not so much any more. Too tight in the pits and it comes up a little shy around the waist. Probably my mistake.

Response from Patagonia
July 8, 2021

Hey Matthew, thanks for taking the time to write a product review! We're sorry to hear that the sizing didn't work out for you. In the future, we're always happy to provide measurements to help you decide what size to get, simply reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). We're also happy to assist you with an exchange for the proper size!

June 30, 2021

Comgy & functional

Does what it says on the box

June 30, 2021

Poorly made and dont fit

Ordered several because I love my Capilene Cool Daily and Capilene Trail t-shirts, but these are flimsy and poorly constructed. The red one I ordered ripped the stitching on the neck while I was taking it off for the first time! Plus the fit is different and too tight compared to the Daily and Trail Capilenes. Take a pass on these.

June 29, 2021

Super soft and light

I have several, short and long sleeve. They're silky soft and work great on their own on a warm day or for layering on a cool one.

June 29, 2021

Amazing Shirt

Perfect shirt for hot days. Worth spending the extra few bucks to get the lightweight version. Im one of those could be a medium or large. Im 185 with a 40 chest. My original purchase was a medium and it was to tight so I gave it to my brother who is a true medium and it was snug on him too but he didnt mind. The large was perfect.

June 26, 2021

Super comfortable for heat

I use this while commuting to work on my bike 14 miles per day. Steep inclines make me very hot and this top wicks and evaporates very quickly- better than my bike jerseys. Keeps me cool

June 25, 2021

Best shirt for long, hot days.

I have four of these that I cycle through for training runs and long days in the mountains. They've held up well under hydration vests, though I've picked up a few holes via blackberry thorn. I'll keep using these until they die, then I'll get more.

June 25, 2021

Not Durable - Changed for the Worse

I have had multiple generations of Capilene t-shirts made from various different fabrics. The old ring-spun poly ones were the best but they lost an alarming amount of material over time wish washing and drying. I stopped machine drying them as soon as I figured it out and I still have a few that are going on 4 years. They changed the material at l... Read Moreeast twice since that generation and created a couple spin-off products including the lightweight. The lightweight fabric is almost identical to the old air chaser which was one of the least durable shirts I have ever owned. It is super light and breathable but the fabric is sticky and it gets runs very easily. Im sending these shirts straight back. Please go back to making shirts that are durable even if the material cannot be machine dried.

June 23, 2021

The perfect hot weather shirt

I live in the Florida Keys, which have hot, humid summers, and this is the shirt that I have been looking for. Extremely light weight, fast drying, and exceptionally comfortable. The shirt fits well and looks good. I bought one to try, and then bought one in every color. If you live in a hot climate. This is the shirt for you.

June 22, 2021

Amazing

Amazing shirt, lightweight, breathable, durable, doesn't fade. My favorite shirt to wear, long sleeved or short. Long sleeved is perfect for sun protection.

June 15, 2021

Wet & Clammy

I wanted this shirt to be my go-to hiking & running tee; unfortunately it holds sweat, sticks to my skin & never dries out during activity. If you take it off & snap it, quite a bit of moisture flies off, but I can't stop and do that all day. I have tried it in many situations and activities and it is just a damp or wet clammy mess... Read More. So disappointed. I have a vintage Patagonia baselayer (style 23610) tee that I love that is everything that this isn't. I hope I can find an alternative before that one wears out...

Response from Patagonia
June 18, 2021

Hi Jason, we're so sorry to hear that you're disappointed in the performance of your Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt. We want you to feel confident in your gear and if you're not, please feel free to begin a return or exchange under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin either process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

June 11, 2021

Light and Cool

Purchased it with work in mind as I walk over 10 miles throughout my shift. Keeps me cool and dry, keeps my back from soaking up in sweat. It feels great on the skin and almost feels like it isnt there.

June 11, 2021

Fit concerns and sticky when sweaty

The fit on this shirt is less than ideal for me. The sleeves seem too short and the neck is too big. My biggest complaint is that with any significant sweating, the shirt sticks to my body, which is really uncomfortable. Its definitely light weight and breathable when dry, but with the fit and lack of moisture wicking, I wouldnt recommend this for ... Read Moreexercise.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2021

Hey Kevin, we really appreciate the feedback on our Men's Capilene Cool Lightweight Shirt. We're so sorry to hear that the shirt has been sticky and uncomfortable for you when you're sweating. This sounds like a performance issue and it would definitely be covered under warranty. To get started on a warranty evaluation, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 7, 2021

Great quality, but too short...

Love this product and would give it a perfect 5 stars for its quality, but its too short the length or small.

May 31, 2021

Fragile

I love the way these shirts fit me and they are supremely breathable but they simply don't last. I've had around half a dozen of them and they are all falling apart. Everyday abrasion ruins the fabric. I wish they made a shirt in this cut with the cap daily fabric.

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2021

Hi David, thank you for reaching out to us. We are so sorry to hear that these haven't been holding up too well for you. Please note, we do guarantee the performance and quality of all product so please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back if you are unhappy.

May 30, 2021

Great fit and feel; poor longevity.

I bought two of these shirts in medium. Great fit, incredibly comfortable, and highly breathable. However, on one shirt, the stitching came apart on the neck within one wear. Patagonia was great about their warranty with that shirt. However, the second shirt has several spots where the fabric is coming apart after about 10 uses. I expect better qua... Read Morelity from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
June 1, 2021

Thank you for the detailed feedback on fit, fabric, and performance, Kevin! We're very sorry to hear that the durability is lacking. Your purchase is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee so please don't hesitate to reach out. Our Customer Service team will be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

May 24, 2021

More likely my daily shirt

Its a short sleeved lightweight capilene shirt. If you have had a long sleeved version well.. this is a short sleeve.. so packs a little better/ smaller. Im the knit concerns me Ive had a lot of pulls that Ive not experienced on previous years (long sleeved). I would like to caution with the seem as a base shirt it works well but be careful of seem... Read More stacking. I would prefer a fitted shoulder for the baselayer. By itself its fantastic running biking out of the water no worries. On the recycling truck I ran 30 miles and threw on average 3.5 tons of material every day for two months with no tears or wear issues. Warm in the mornings and cool in the afternoon sun.

May 11, 2021

Very Airy

I like how breathable it is. Wish it were a bit longer, so my stomach doesn't show when I move my arms above my head, & the sleeves could be a little longer as well.

May 10, 2021

Love it BUT

I love this shirt. The fit is great, its extremely lightweight, quick drying, and comfortable. I wore it on a training run and absolutely loved it. Then I wore it for a 50k ultramarathon trail race and my hydration vest wore a hole in the back and almost through the front. This shirt is waaay to expensive for a one time wear. I would think that wea... Read Morering this running shirt in a race is a normal use for the shirt and the wearing of a hydration vest would be expected. Ive never had a similar issue with shirts from other manufacturers. So, if youre just going to wear it for runs with no hydration pack, then thumbs up, but if you need a hydration vest for your run, stay away. I got two wears out of a very expensive shirt.

Response from Patagonia
May 11, 2021

Hey Michael! We're so sorry your shirt failed. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to get set up with a warranty return.

April 24, 2021

Love, love, love this Daily T-shirt!

It's so comfortable and cool enough for hot and sunny days in Florida. I purchased one in the beginning and now I have 8 of them in my favorite colors.

April 23, 2021

Love Capilene

Great shirts i have 4. When everything was lost in the wildfires last year i got 2 and just purchased 2 more. Im mesomorphic and the large fits great. Perfect for sleeping in too. Im 73, live in Santa Cruz county and love Capilene. Long and short sleeve are great layering. Look great too.

April 20, 2021

The best

Easily the best lightweight running shirt on the market. No frills, barely there, moisture wicking, no chafe. I now have one in every color - and in the long sleeve version! The best.

April 9, 2021

LOVE COOL CAPILIENE T-SHIRT

I am a woman and I love Men's Lightweight Capiliene T-shirt because I do not like the low collar on Women's Cool Daily T-shirt so I decided to try the Men's. Boy, I am so glad with the way Men's T-shirt fits me to the T. I plan to buy more!

March 25, 2021

Highly breathable

This shirt is identical to the long-sleeve version and is an excellent shirt for exercise and for lounging. It has very thin material and breathes very well. The material also looks high quality (I bought the green- it's OK looking but the blue is better) as it should given its price. The material dries very easily too (again, it's thin) ... Read Moreand even has a loop to easily hang it. It's not quite as fitted as I would like, but most will be happy with the sizing.

March 19, 2021

Cant run without

I have 4 over the years and bought 2 more. It really that good. Capilene is the way to go, please dont change this version.

March 17, 2021

Not Durable

I owned this shirt for about two days before it got holes in it. I wore it on a short day hike with a lightweight pack and the shirt got shredded everywhere the shoulder straps and hip belt came in contact with it. The fit is good and the material is light and breezy, but I can't recommend this shirt. Disappointed with the quality.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

Hi Arin, it was so unfortunate to hear about the untimely wear and tear in your Men's Capilene Cool Lightweight Shirt. Please feel free to send that in for return or exchange under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

February 11, 2021

The Perfect Running Shirt

I can't love this product enough. Extremely lightweight and a great fit. Highly recommend.

January 9, 2021

Top of the line shirt

My new go tos got in blue and red. So light and smooth fits perfect.

January 7, 2021

Super comfortable, soft and light.

I love the soft and comfortable feel of this versatile light capiline short sleeve shirt.

December 24, 2020

Awesom

Super great fitting shirt. Lightweight and super breathable, it's great for high-intensity activities in hot/dry weather.

December 13, 2020

True to size

Bought this as a gift, and it fit perfect my boyfriend said it was the comfiest shirt.

November 30, 2020

Almost perfect

Just received this shirt. First thing i noticed is it's super lightweight. I put the shirt on and the fit is great - modern fit i would say, runs smaller than some of Patagonia's other stuff. The material is light, but it is synthetic, so it's not the most comfortable or soft material in the world. The one thing though that might be ... Read Morea dealbreaker for me is I have sensitive skin and could definitely feel the roughness of the inner seams against the sides..Patagonia, please make the seams smoother/softer on the next version.

September 16, 2020

Great t-shirt

I got the Large because I wanted a looser fit. These still look great on me (I normally buy a medium). They're nice and lightweight.

September 15, 2020

Throw everything else away

While I think this shirt runs a little small, the weight and comfort are unbeatable. The moisture absorbing material is the best I've ever worn. Seriously. I will not buy any other shirt to workout in. Buy this shirt.

September 7, 2020

Always excited to run in these

I bought 3 cos I have 4 of their long sleeves version. Cos I know they work well in heat and mid cold (as long as you're moving). Cos it dry fast and doesnt stick weirdly on your skin during those windless humid run. Cos it can trick my brain to go that extra mile cos Im wearing an amazing piece of equipment!

September 2, 2020

Super Lightweight

Great lightweight running shirt. It absorbs sweat and dries quickly. Highly recommend!

September 1, 2020

Super light and great fit

Fits great - ultra light and dries super quick

August 29, 2020

Great Shirt!

I love these shirts! I use them all summer for almost all outdoor activities. They dry remarkably fast! They fit perfectly, and are extremely comfortable. Be careful not what you walk by, a pricker bush, for example, could be the end of the shirt. The material kind of grabs anything that touches it. They don't smell with excessive sweating. Ov... Read Moreerall, my number one go to shirt for summer. I do use Airchaser for running and hiking on very hot days. The airchaser is this shirt in front, with a more open mesh on back in a darker shade color. Also a great shirt for $5 more if you can find it in stock!

August 9, 2020

Light weight extremely comfortable

Wear in the hot, humid summers of NC. Very light weight and extremely comfortable. Fit is very good and long sleeves offer great SPF. Just bought 3 more shirts.

July 23, 2020

Featherweight Active Tee

This top is the lightest that Patagonia offers. Breathable, moisture-wicking performance. Use as an ultralight baselayer for summer mornings, then doff the outer layer for when the temperature and exertion levels rise. As always, great odor control.

July 21, 2020

Too hot for a shirt? This is your go-to top layer

I love these shirts! I have 2 and will most likely get more. This shirt is fantastic for those really hot days and high movement activities where you'd rather just go without but need to keep it covered. The shirt has virtually zero extra weight, amazing breathability and drys really fast. A summer go-to for me 100%

July 19, 2020

Mens Capilene Cool Lightweight - V Neck Request

This shirt is incredibly comfortable and would be even better if a V neck option was available. Thanks

July 17, 2020

Breathable and perfect fit

Perfect running t-shirt.

July 13, 2020

Oder-less for days!

Went camping with only this shirt for 4 days because I forgot my backpack at home! I was sweating a lot and to my surprise, my shirt didn't smell as bad!

July 13, 2020

Cool lightweight

Nearly perfect. Only improvement would be a vee neck as I have a big neck and am always wanting more space.

July 13, 2020

Best lightweight shirt

This is the perfect lightweight shirt for being active in the heat. Super light and dries quick. Handy little loop to hang it to dry, perfectly packable as it takes up no room. I will be wearing this all summer!

July 13, 2020

Best Warm/Hot Weather Workout Shirt

This shirt is light, easy wearing, and performs very well in hot, muggy conditions. Fit is close, but not snug and allows excellent breathability. My favorite all around base layer!

July 13, 2020

Super light, comfortable, odor free

My favorite running / hiking shirt. Super lightweight, looks great, and doesn't smell even after 2x running and 2x mountain biking.

July 13, 2020

TShirt

Great T-Shirt, very comfy. I am normally a large but in most of Patagonia shirts I am a medium. Im 5'10" 170 42 chest.

July 10, 2020

Cool lightweight

Nearly perfect. Only improvement would be a vee neck as I have a big neck and am always wanting more space.

July 10, 2020

Best lightweight shirt

This is the perfect lightweight shirt for being active in the heat. Super light and dries quick. Handy little loop to hang it to dry, perfectly packable as it takes up no room. I will be wearing this all summer!

July 9, 2020

Best Warm/Hot Weather Workout Shirt

This shirt is light, easy wearing, and performs very well in hot, muggy conditions. Fit is close, but not snug and allows excellent breathability. My favorite all around base layer!

July 9, 2020

Super light, comfortable, odor free

My favorite running / hiking shirt. Super lightweight, looks great, and doesn't smell even after 2x running and 2x mountain biking.

July 9, 2020

TShirt

Great T-Shirt, very comfy. I am normally a large but in most of Patagonia shirts I am a medium. Im 5'10" 170 42 chest.

June 27, 2020

Great fit, Better wicking

Somehow this shirt doesnt seem to cling even when I get very sweaty. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a very lightweight shirt, but I wouldnt want to walk through briars with it.

June 26, 2020

Title is great.

What works: breathes well, wicks well, very comfortable in hot weather. I use it for high intensity interval training and it does a great job of shedding heat and moisture. What doesn't work: The anti-odor/anti-microbial treatment is inadequate. The shirt can only be worn for one day before needing to be washed. It stinks. On trips, I like to... Read More wear my clothes for more than one day. Shirts made by other companies that are 100% synthetic have figured out how to make a shirt odor free for over a week. I would be happy to share this information if you would like.

June 25, 2020

Lightweight

Feels like you are not wearing anything

June 21, 2020

lightweight, wicking, great colors

Patagonia has really outdone themselves with their new line of baselayers. I've worn (and sweated) in these multiple days and not smelled for the worse. Cut is athletic, but slightly slim, but I like my clothing to fit that way...nothing to snag and with enough elasticity to provide range of motion

June 21, 2020

Great hot weather running shirt

Love this shirt! It's extremely lightweight which is perfect for the horribly humid DC summers. Feels light and cool which is great for long runs and hikes. I'm 5'11''/175 lbs and ordered a small originally because that's the size I wear for Patagonia cotton t-shirts but had to return it for a medium which fits perfect... Read More. Highly recommend.

June 19, 2020

Hawaii t-shirt

This shirt is perfect for warm Hawaii days.

June 19, 2020

Great shirt

This has become my go to shirt for hiking in warmer weather. Keeps me dry and comfortable on the uphills and is a perfect base layer when a sweatshirt is needed. Fit is true- I prefer a bit looser t-shirt, and always go one size up (59 160 and wear a size large).

June 19, 2020

Super Lightweight

Very lightweight and comfortable with the exception of occasionally the internal seams would snag a body hair.

June 18, 2020

Great fabric & fit

I have four of these now. I live in the toasty, moist SE US and I love the way they fit and feel. Super lightweight. Excellent for any warm weather activity. Great as a base layer in the fall and winter. However, the shirt is so light weight that, on two of these, I notice stitching at cuff and hem unraveling just slightly. Not a problem over two p... Read Morerevious seasons, but I usually expect Patagonia products to last a decade or more And I wonder if these will reach that lofty level of excellence.

June 17, 2020

lightweight, wicking, great colors

Patagonia has really outdone themselves with their new line of baselayers. I've worn (and sweated) in these multiple days and not smelled for the worse. Cut is athletic, but slightly slim, but I like my clothing to fit that way...nothing to snag and with enough elasticity to provide range of motion

June 17, 2020

Great hot weather running shirt

Love this shirt! It's extremely lightweight which is perfect for the horribly humid DC summers. Feels light and cool which is great for long runs and hikes. I'm 5'11''/175 lbs and ordered a small originally because that's the size I wear for Patagonia cotton t-shirts but had to return it for a medium which fits perfect... Read More. Highly recommend.

June 17, 2020

Super Light

This is such an easy decision. Folks this shirt is super light, no weird seams to cause chafing, it dries out faster than any other shirt I've tried, and there is a loop to hang it up to dry before tossing it in your dirty laundry.

June 17, 2020

Like nothing on at all

I have now 3 of these in different colors, perfect for me when Im riding trails on my bike, theyre so light you wont notice youre wearing it. Im between a size medium and large in Patagonia tops so I look for slim fitting garments in a large size and they usually work out at least the athletic type tops. This is my go to for shredding single tracks... Read More!

June 17, 2020

Staying cool on the trail

My new go to summer trail shirt - never thought a t-shirt would turn into technical gear - well done Patagonia.

June 17, 2020

Super Comfortable

Awesome shirt, fits great, very light, extremely breathable. Love it, it's one of my favorites.

June 15, 2020

Cool & light weight

I use this for whitewater kayaking, as a base layer, to wick away moisture, for a comfortable feel. In summer, it`s my only layer! It`s comfortable & dries super fast, once I`m off the river!

May 28, 2020

Ideal shirt for high output

I love the cool lightweight material. It wicks quickly, blocks the sun, doesn't chafe and doesn't stink even after a few sessions. I have a long sleeve version I've worn on some warm 50k races to help block the sun and it works great as well. The fit is true to size for me and the cut is form fitting. In my younger days I adventured ... Read Morea lot around the world, this shirt would have been ideal. Haven't had any early wear issues yet, seems surprisingly strong. I dig it. If it wasn't synthetic I would wear it under my wildland fire gear.

May 28, 2020

Lightest shirt ever

This is the most lightweight shirt Ive ever worn. Breathes extremely well and dries quickly- makes running tolerable in the oppressive Texas heat. Try one out, you wont regret it.

May 15, 2020

Almost Perfect. Durability is a problem.

I bought two of these about a month ago, and they were the perfect shirts. The fit is great, the feel is excellent, and they never smell like my other shirts after an active day. Unfortunately, I have only worn one of them twice (and washed it once without putting it in the drier) and it is already pilling pretty majorly. It's a bummer I will ... Read Morehave to return this after so short a time. This would have been my go to active-wear if the durability was better.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the pilling that is making this otherwise perfect shirt, a pain. Unfortunately, pilling with knit garments can be inevitable as it is the nature of those fibers. You can try one of the many methods there are to remove pilling, or, you are welcome to send the shirt back to us if you're unsatisfied and would like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 13, 2020

Worth every penny

This piece filled a gap with a tech t shirt that I didn't even know that was there. This short has the perfect balance of stretch and cut to make it feel featherlight and like you have nothing on. It breathes extremely well and offers a surprising amount of protection and durability. With a number of other shirts in the closet including other ... Read MorePatagonia, this is always the one i reach for first. If the rest of the HEK is anything like this piece I cant wait to try them all.

May 6, 2020

Great shirt - love it for mtn biking

I wish that made this shirt in a mtn bike cut thats a little longer in the back. Also wished came in a white color for those hot desert rides.

May 4, 2020

Capilene Cool light weight shirt

This shirt is awesome. Super light weight as advertised and great for warm weather. It does run slim fit so I usually wear a medium and will be trying both a medium and a large. If you don't like too tight of a shirt definitely size up. Great shirt though. Will be buying more.

March 2, 2020

Excellent shirt

I wear these shirts daily as an undershirt with a long sleeve shirt over the top on cooler days or by itself on warm days. Perfect moisture wicking and lightweight feel. Please bring back the white color.

February 14, 2020

All season T

Super light and pretty much no smell. I'm 5'11' and 205 lbs and don't like tight fit in anything. I usually avoid Slim Fit but the XL is just right for me. It's the perfect layer under a zip-T on a cold day and for a hot day on a mountain bike. I have two now and don't anticipate ever wearing them out.

February 11, 2020

Best T shirt ever

Im enjoying using these shirts as my for hiking in the summer, and for layering in the winter. I also them for travel because they are so light. They save a lot of weight in my luggage.

February 2, 2020

Ultralight and ultracool!

Best in its class or in a class by itself! This lightweight shirt is amazing (long sleeves or short), If you have to pack light for your hike do not hesitate and buy this marvel of a shirt! Dries super fast, does not retain doors. Does everything as advertised!

December 28, 2019

Can’t get wrinkles/creases out

The shirts are real nice lightweight shirts which is what I wanted, however they have creases in them from being folded and packaged and you can not get them out. I’ve tried ironing, hanging wet to dry, and nothing seems to work. It looks like you’re wearing a wrinkled unwashed shirt.

December 19, 2019

A great gym shirt.

This is a great gym shirt. It keeps me cool and dry. It also doesn’t smell like other shirts after a while.

December 18, 2019

Excellent product--I have 3 of

Excellent product--I have 3 of them. Cool, light, and functional.

December 15, 2019

Very nice workout shirt

Overall, this is a very nice workout tee; however, I am 6'1" and wear a large and wouldn't mind if the larges were an inch longer, particularly because the shirt is so light that it tends to ride up my torso. Speaking of weight, the shirt is very, very light. It hardly feels like you're wearing anything at all!

December 3, 2019

Don’t fit like the old ones

Horrible fit the neck is very loose on all the shirts. Believe after 22 years of wearing these shirts I will be finding a new company.

December 2, 2019

There really is a difference

The lighter weight of this shirt truly is noticeable on hot weather trail runs or during a fitness class. It was a staple for me this summer when the temps were in the 90's during a run or during an intense exercise class. The shirt basically gets out of the way when you're doing a vigorous activity and moisture seems to disappear rather ... Read Morethan absorb into the material.

November 19, 2019

Great Shirt!

Comfortable, and great outdoors in the Florida heat.

November 17, 2019

Favorite workout shirt!

This was my 5th capilene cool shirt purchase and I can't recommend them enough! They fit perfectly and feel amazing. I wear the lightweight shirt for lifting, running, and pretty much everyday casual wear.

November 5, 2019

Excellent

Great shirts. Buy a couple every year and they've held up very well. Surprising for how light they are. Fit me well and haven't noticed any oder issues. Breath well.

November 4, 2019

Cool and comfortable

These shirts are amazingly comfortable to wear. 5hey dry very quickly and hold no odor. Best t shirts I’ve owned

October 23, 2019

Great shirt!

Love this shirt, great slim fit, extremely light weight, perfect length (6’4” 190 lbs)

October 14, 2019

Super light weight, perfect for being active

I bought two of them: the feather grey version is extremely soft and light weight. The tasmanian teal has a different fabric that doesn't feel as soft when you touch it but feels even lighter - if that is possible - when I'm active. I love them both and where them to hiking all the time

October 9, 2019

Excellent

As usual fantastic quality and colour. Living in the tropics it is great in any conditions and then as an undergarment in colder places

October 3, 2019

Capilene Cool

I am on round two ordering these Capilene lightweight shirts. I now have one in every color available in my size. I live in Texas and we specialize in hot and summers that last 6 for months. These shirts do an amazing job of wicking sweat and almost act like air conditioning to the skin if there is any breeze at all. Hiking in Greece this summer th... Read Moreese shirts were my go to and easy to wash and wear. They also make a great first layer for early fall hiking or hunting. Very pleased.

September 27, 2019

The best light weight t-shirts

The best light weight t-shirts ever! I like them so much I bought 5 shirts. So light you almost don't know you are wearing the shirt. Great alone for the hot FL sun or for layering when we venture North. Like the actual stitching in the seams instead of the adhesive tape used on prior models which came apart after a few uses. But Patagonia che... Read Moreerfully replaced the old with the new. Great service for what is now a great product. Outstanding example of customer service.

September 23, 2019

Awesome shirt but fragile

So I really love this shirt. It's so light and fits really well and I love the material. The only thing is it starts falling apart almost immediately after purchasing. I haven't even washed it and it's pilling and unraveling. The same thing is happening in two out of the three that I bought. Such a shame. Luckily I bought them on sal... Read Moree because if I paid $45 bucks each I would be livid.

September 22, 2019

Super light

I haven’t get to wear this shirt yet but tried it on and it feels super light. Can’t wait to wear it! I have other Capilene shirts and they are awesome

September 21, 2019

Good Gosh That Cools You Down

I live in the south, where temperatures and humidity run high. I tend not to run with shirts on because of house much sweat they collect, but sometimes I need the sun protection. This shirt is incredible. I can tell the wicking technology is playing in its own league with this shirt, and I kid you not, I have moments where I actually get chills on ... Read Morehot days because of how it enables evaporation cooling to work. Also, I'm pleasantly surprised there's no snags or pulls anywhere on the shirt, so it's durable too. Unbelievable shirt and will absolutely buy more.

September 19, 2019

Just right

I'm 5'10" and about 165lbs and the medium fits just right. I'm using it for an undershirt, but may use it for a hiking shirt by itself. Might order more in the future.

September 16, 2019

Like butterfly wings - and just as fragile

These shirts are, as advertised, VERY light. I took them out for the first time on a backpacking trip. During that trip, I think I rested my back against a rock at some point - now the back of the shirt is coming apart (pills / tears in a few places). Disappointing. Perhaps that's inevitable with any lightweight shirt? If so, I guess I just sh... Read Moreouldn't have bought a product like this; the light weight isn't worth only being able to wear them a few times, or having to avoid touching anything with my torso while wearing them.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

We're sorry to hear this happened! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your shirt back to us under warranty if you are unsatisfied with its performance.

September 16, 2019

Great Shirt and fabric, but a little tight

Shirt, fabric and color are great and I think it was a good deal, but for an XL it is a little tight. I liked it enough that I am not sending it back, instead someone is going to get a pretty sweet Christmas present.

September 16, 2019

Great shirt!

Super light weight & excellent fit this shirt is awesome.

September 14, 2019

Fantastic Running Shirt

This shirt by leaps and bounds is the best running shirt I have ever owned. It is the best solution for hot/humid conditions, and a base layer under an outer layer in cold conditions.

September 14, 2019

Multiuse.

This shirt works perfectly for travel, hiking and cycling. The cut and fit is just right. It washes and dries easily and does not appear to hold odors. I like the green, gray. Blue color too.

September 13, 2019

I bought 1 size larger.

I bought 1 size larger. Happy I did. Very comfortable.

September 10, 2019

Nice shirt not for running

I gambled worse than Lt. Drebin ordering out when purchasing this shirt. It felt light in REI so I picked it up, put it back down, eventually purchasing it. You see, I have doubts that any recent shirt by any manufacturer is going to work in South Texas. This shirt clung to my back by mile 4-uncomfortable, unbreathable, not sure what all the hype i... Read Mores about. Yes, it’s a nice shirt just not a performance shirt. I can only hope that my 3 yo collection of NB D2D can hold up while I keep searching.

September 9, 2019

Great hiking/ workout shirt

I wear this shirt to the gym regularly and have taken it on strenuous hikes and love how breathable and comfortable it is. When I wear my cotton T-shirts, my sweat pools on the back during intense exercise but doesn’t with this shirt. One thing to note is that this shirt feels relatively thin. That is a benefit in that it is light weight but I wor... Read Morery it could puncture easily. I wouldn’t recommend it hiking through poorly maintained trails where branches sticking into the trail might poke holes into the shirt

September 8, 2019

Shorts sizing

I tried on 32s and 34s at a local store. 32 was a touch too small and 34 was a tad too big so I purchased 2 pairs of size 33 in different colors. The black pair fits perfectly but the clay colored shorts fits like a 34. Same short, just different color and definitely bigger in the waist. Found it odd.

September 6, 2019

Great shirt

Very light weight and very comfortable. Perfect on a hot day or as a base layer if it’s cooler. I’m definitely going to buy more.

September 5, 2019

Amazing, lightweight, cool

Wear this shirt everywhere - to work, climbing, running, hiking. It's unbelievably light and breathable, and still stylish and comfy to wear casually. It dries so quickly I can handwash it at home or on the trail, wring it out and hang it up to dry, and then have a perfectly comfily dry shirt to wear within an hour or so. Highly recommend as a... Read Moren all-around tee.

September 5, 2019

Love it

Great fitting, super light-weight shirt! While it is light weight it also manages to not look like it. It wicks sweat and dries faster better than any other shirt I’ve owned. I boiling the these for the JMT because of their light weight, and odor resistance. Extremely pleased.

September 5, 2019

Great baselayer

Lightweight, good fit, wicks wonderfully. Will be getting more of these.

September 5, 2019

Awesome weight and fit -

Awesome weight and fit - great shirt

September 3, 2019

Great summer shirt

I love this shirt. Light and airy. Forget I have it on at times.

September 2, 2019

Great for Travel...

Travel or the gym. Doesn't seem to get as stinky as other technical Tees even after a hard workout or hours on the plane. Super light and drys quickly after a wash in the sink. The colors are great and look just a little sharper than an average t-shirt. I'm ordering more.

September 2, 2019

Capilene Cool Lightweight

Pros: lightweight, breathability, dries fast Cons: can snag, durability This is my favorite running shirt in the heat. I use the long sleeve version as an underneath layer in the winter.

August 31, 2019

Fits great. Extremely light weight.

Fits great. Extremely light weight.

August 29, 2019

New go to workout shirt

Bought this at one of their stores. Instantly became one of my favorite shirts for the gym, climbing, and running. Super breathable, fits like a glove and very flattering. 6'2" 185 with broad shoulders and large fit great! Bought a couple more when they went on sale, I'll eventually own all the colors lol.

August 29, 2019

cool lightweight capilene T

I've been wearing capilene T's as my base for decades now, but this is my first new purchase in a while. Love this T! Comfortable, good sun block, doesn't pick up body odor. Now if you could make me a union suit out of the same stuff I'd be all set for drysuit and ski season!

August 25, 2019

Great workout and daily wear shirt!

My capilene shirt is great for hot days and hard workouts--thanks Patagonia for making high quality products at fair prices!

August 22, 2019

Lightweight, width is good for my skinny ultra runner body, sleeves and height are a bit longer than needed, and stitching are ok-ish.

tl;dr read the title. I'm an ultra runner, has run a hundred, so anything I wear must be chafe free, I have tried clothing from other brands, but I always come back to Patagonia since they always use flatlock stitches on their t-shirts and shorts (other brands use overlock stitches). I own Forerunner t-shirts from 2016, probably the best t-s... Read Morehirts I ever have, 20 grams heavier, but the length is perfect. The Cool Lightweight t-shirt has similar fit, although the sleeves and the height are 1-2cm longer than the Forerunners, not a big deal, but could be shorter since I don't tuck in my shirt. My friends always yell at me to put some weight on, I am too skinny but this t-shirt is not too baggy not too tight. I think, the fabric is so light and stretchy so it may accommodate a bigger body. The flatlock stitches are ok, superior than overlock, but a little bit harsh I doubt they will cause chafing but this can be improved, maybe Patagonia can use softer threads? I also own a previous version that was called Capilene Lightweight (without the "Cool" word), the previous version was a little bit baggy and had Raglan sleeves, but I think this version is better when wearing a running vest. Durability is ok, I'm not that rough on my gear, the fabric will pill here and there, but it's expected. I mostly do trail running, and I don't hike with large backpack. The most discouraging issue about this t-shirt is the price, it's not cheap but it's actually far cheaper than another trail running brand (It starts with "S").

August 19, 2019

Great shirt

I'm a huge fan of these shirts. I have two of them and will likely get more. Shirt performs well in all conditions, from humid Midwest summer heat to dry arid mountain air.

August 15, 2019

Capilene shirt

Great for running. Almost like no shirt at all.

August 15, 2019

Gossamer

These t’s are sensational. Incredibly light almost weight less. In the hot muggy conditions I guide in they are heroic. Worn under a dress shirt for forays to DC in the heat of summer they keep me comfortable even when I am losing my cool… ;-)

August 15, 2019

Great, versatile shirt

The shirt is light, fits well (close to the skin but not too tight), wicks moisture well, and doesn’t smell too bad. It’s my go to for trail runs and climbing and as a base layer for big adventures in the mountains.

August 15, 2019

Capilene Cool

I was looking for the lightest, coolest layer for hot summer runs. This shirt fits the bill well, and cools nicely particularly after you start to sweat.

August 15, 2019

CAPILENE cool lightweight shirt

I bought it to climb Mount Elbrus and it was perfect. Nos I use it eveyday for any kind of activity.

August 12, 2019

Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt,

Great shirt for hot temps., would like one for temps. 10-15 degrees cooler, long sleeve. Shows sweat stains, not a big deal, we sweat. My go to clothes are always in my adventure bag, that is one of them. I have a capilene midweight from the late 80's, that is in my adventure bag also.

June 27, 2019

Amazing lightweight, comfortable shirt great for running or hanging out

I love this shirt so much that I bought it in another color (the gray and red). It is incredibly soft, lightweight and just feels great on. Not tight fitting but slim and not baggy. I use it for running or just a comfy shirt I want to wear on a hot day. Very happy with this! I wear a Large in this and am 6-2, 175 lbs.

June 24, 2019

Excellent!

Super comfortable for synthetic tshirt, breathable, light and compressible. Fabric looks durable, not thin. Fit bit closer to regular, not tight, not loose, length in size S good for 1,7 m height.

May 11, 2019

Best Houdini yet

The new Houdini Air is by far the best yet! I own 4 now and this one has a great feel against the skin vs the standard Houdini. A little more breathable but she’s enough wind (and rain) to be a universal always in my pack item. 5 stars.

May 8, 2019

Great lightweight baselayer for practically anything

I have worn this baselayer all day snorkeling to climbing to many miles running and is the right weight, breathability, and UPF protection for all those activities and more. Practically what a technical shirt should be.

March 30, 2019

Lightweight and comfortable

I bought this solely for backpacking. The size small weighed up at 62 grams (2.2oz). Switching this shirt out with my under armor sleeveless shirt saved about 2 oz in my pack weight. I normally wear size medium cloths but with Patagonia the size small always fits perfectly, this shirt is no different. Its feels very soft and comfortable next to ski... Read Moren. Not restrictive at all. Its still march so I havent put it through its paces yet (just some around the house use), but I'm very happy with the product thus far. As long as it holds up to the stress of a couple months on the trail I'll call it a perfect travel shirt.

March 20, 2019

Best Lightweight Capilene yet!

One month into wearing: Sizing - size Large - I'm 5'11", 175lbs, 42 chest, 34 waist and the fit is dialed for me. Chest fits perfect, sleeves have a nice cut, body is contoured but not hugging too close. The fit would work well layering and is also loose enough to wear on it's own and look stylish as casual wear. The new trea... Read Moretment with miDori is a game changer as far as feel and comfort are concerned. It's the most "natural" feeling synthetic base layer I've worn and I own a lot of gear. There's a softness to the fabric face and skin side that's more cotton like which translates to a feeling of breathability that's incredible. If this treatment lasts the life of the garment and drying time and durability are consistent with previous generations, this is a big leap forward for a synthetic base layer.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches