Back to Product

Tres MLC® 45L

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 17 Reviews

Clear All

Tres MLC® 45L

4.4/5
January 24, 2022

Best Carry-On Bag EVER

I have owned three or four MLC bags over the years and they keep getting better and better. This one is perfect. Lots of well thought out pockets, zip out backpack straps, and a mesh divider. Home run.

January 18, 2022

Great bag

I bought this for international and domestic travel both in cars and planes. This bag did not really blow me away when I got it in the mail(before use). It seemed very large and some what unstructured compared to some of my other "hiking" backpacks. This is not a hiking backpack and I knew that. After using this bag for a four day trip I ... Read Moream more than happy. It is extremely large and roomy and super convent to carry or tote around. The free structure of the bag allows the user to fit anything just about in it. For instance it was dumping snow in the mountains and I ran to the store and bought three frozen pizzas. I have to hike back to the cabin which was about a mile up a snow covered gravel road. I put the pizzas and other groceries in the bag as well as a few other things from the truck. That is just one time it saved me that trip. Overall this bag is very useful and I am more than happy with it! In short I highly recommend this bag

January 12, 2022

Great choice

Lots of different options and uses for this bag. The size is big and can be expanded to hold enough for a weekend trip. I really like all of the zipper slots and pouches that the bag has, not only in the larger storage area but in the outer zipper compartment. The ability to pull the straps out quickly and carry it on your back was a major selling ... Read Morepoint. I will be purchasing the Black Hole version when it is back in stock.

January 10, 2022

Super Adaptible

The mlc is awesome for 3-4 days of business travel and a week of personal travel. Great option to ditch the briefcase and carry one bag. Really like straps - no more wheelie and halting movement thru airport.

January 3, 2022

Spacious, sturdy, & stylish!

I received this bag as a gift, and it is amazing! I love Patagonia as a brand, but the design of this bag is great. There are two padded pockets for electronics, mesh sections for clothing, and smaller compartments for travel and work essentials. I could see using this from traveling for work to packing for a camping or ski trip-- it's so vers... Read Moreatile! I have not had the chance to use it for packing for a long trip yet, but it handled a week worth of stuff super well.

November 21, 2021

Best travel bag I have used!

I packed this bag so full and there were so many compartments for a laptop, shoes, keys, tolitries, etc. With everything in the bag, it was still very light and easy to carry on my back and carry onto the plane. No checked bags!

November 20, 2021

Its perfect

Reread top line.

November 2, 2021

MLC luggage

Have had 2 MLC pieces for 30+ years and it was great until we got the current version, which has so many great features that I cant imagine improving on that design..cant wait to use it.

August 21, 2021

Really nice bag though I do have one or two helpful suggestions

I like this bag. I've used it for several short trips and it does what it's supposed to do. That is, it holds a few day's worth of stuff, is easy to carry by hand or to wear on your back, is easy to carry on a plane, etc. It has approximately 17 thousand pockets and little zippered compartments. Seriously, I can't imagine what t... Read Moreype of person could possibly use this many pockets but I guess there's no harm in them being there. I do appreciate the inclusion of a fuzzy pocket which is good for storing an iPad or something similarly delicate. I have two complaints which are as follows: 1. Despite the fact that there are approximately 17 thousand pockets (see above), there is only 1 pocket that is easily accessible from the outside of the bag without unzipping the main compartment. I use it for stuff I need to access quickly - wallet, phone, headphones, etc. But it's a big pocket, so everything gets all jumbled up and hard to find. I wish Patagonia had instead included, say, 2 smaller pockets that were easily accessible. 2. The main interior storage area is just one big space. You pack all your clothes neatly, but then when you wear the bag on your back, everything shifts downward and winds up as a big jumbled mess. And the bag starts to get kinda pear shaped. I wish Patagonia had figured out a way to avoid this. Perhaps some sort of "shelf" in the main compartment that would keep clothes separated into an upper and lower section? Tie down straps? Dunno. Overall it's an appealing and useful bag, though.

August 24, 2020

Practical

Ive had six of these bags, three this size, one 26l, and two smaller. They are my useful travel bags. Reading the other reviews I think it is important to note this is not a Swiss Army knife. It does not do everything. Specifically, its not great for backpacking. The shoulder straps make it easier to carry in certain circumstances. If you are going... Read More on a trek, take a technical backpack. Its not great for hauling a lot of heavy stuff (though I have overloaded them without breaking a zipper). Its just a useful bag for casual trips. As such, they have been my go-to bags. BTW, the reason I have had to buy so many of them is because my family keeps stealing them from me.

January 2, 2020

some things were lost in translation

a very durable and handy bag....but wait a minute. any bag holding more than 15 lbs needs a waist band to stabilize the load. Hmm....no waist band here. but wait, i need to make sure i can hook my keys when i leave the trailhead or go through airport security, so i they don't get lost or cause me to rip everything out of the bag in the parking... Read More lot trying to find them. where do i hook my keys? regardless of whether you own a car or not, one needs a place to hook one's keys. these tradeoffs make it half right for what i need. it is a good carry all for when you are going through the airport and NOT going off road. its NOTan excellent bag.

January 2, 2020

The best

I bought this bag in 2007ish, and fly weekly with it. That is nearly 13 years and over a thousand flights and I have never had an issue once with it. I’ve recommended it to everyone I know who travels. It is my go to graduation gift for people.

December 9, 2019

Patagonia Tres MLC 45L Bag

This bag is the perfect size for a quick trip Shoulder Strap + Back Pack straps make if very versatile

December 4, 2019

Great Backpack

I bought my first MLC 5 years ago for a three month backpack trip in Asia and it’s still going strong. I bought my husband the 2019 version because he kept borrowing mine. I like the updates to the fabric and inside pocket layout. One small thing: in the 2014 version the only logo outside is a small discrete Patagonia tag. When traveling in poorer ... Read Morecountries, I like the more no- branded look.

October 24, 2019

Not a True Messenger Bag

A clamshell design is not what I want in a messenger bag for a laptop. The Critical Mass bags over the years were perfect designs, including the laptop separation, many internal pockets, water bottle holder which also works well with a commuter umbrella, and reflective band across the flap. Bring back the messenger, not everyone wants a piece of lu... Read Moreggage like the MLC and not everyone wants a backpack. A messenger bag allows you the more secure option when walking since you can pull it close and place you hand over the flap if you are concerned about a rough neighborhood.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Hi Jeff! We're sorry to hear your not stoked on the this particular bag. You are more than welcome to return the bag [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). Have you checked out the [Black Hole Mini MLC 26L](https://www.patagonia.com/product/black-hole-mini-mlc-briefcase-backpack-26-liters/49265.html?dwvar_49265_color=CNY&cgid=root&isSearch=true#q=mlc&lang=en_US&start=1)? This bag is going to be more comparable to the Critical Mass Bag.

October 23, 2019

Still making a great bag!

This is my third MLC bag. Over the years, my other two have been "borrowed" by friends embarking on a hectic travel schedule and "gifted" to them because of their love of the bag. This new bag is just as good as the old tried and true bag from years ago. I recommend it to everyone who asks about my travel gear. It's my o... Read Morenly bag on short trips, and my carry-on for longer trips. It has never let me down in either use. One future wish...add a Patagonia removable padded laptop sleeve that fits into the laptop pocket. There's way too much movement for an important piece of business equipment when the bag's not completely full. And, when setting the bag down, sometimes the computer will hit first. Not really want you want on a business trip with important data on hand. One of your competitors has now added a padded removable sleeve to their convertible travel bag. Just a thought for a next-gen product from a loyal customer.

September 6, 2019

Good but fatally flawed bag

I bought this bag because I wanted a new bag in this niche. In general, this is a nice piece of kit. It is nicely designed, perhaps even over designed with the number of zipped internal pockets. It looks clever and is a good size for a week-long work or play trip. I am returning the bag because of three fatal flaws, none of which should have made ... Read Moreit through the testing phase. The two standard carry handles are placed off center, so when you carry the bag full it annoyingly tilts off vertical and rubs against your leg. The laptop sleeve, though well padded and reasonably placed on the back pack side of the bag, has no internal sleeve to hold a computer in place. It will be left to float around the entire space and settle to the bottom, just where the bag will be hitting the ground when you put it down. The two 'outer' zip pockets do not have enough space built into the design. If you stuff the main compartment full, it pushes onto the outer pockets to the degree that they become annoying to open and use. A final non-fatal flaw: the cleverly-designed pouches for the shoulder and back-pack strap buckles are a bit annoying to get out of theq1 pouch. Patagonia needs to make the pouch holes just a tad bigger when they correct the three fatal flaws. I am going to repair my old imperfect bag and buy one of these once Patagonia sorts out the mistakes.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches