Back to Product

Patagonia Stormfront® Waterproof Pack 30L

Write Your Review

4.14 /5

Filter Reviews

All 22 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Stormfront® Waterproof Pack 30L

4.14
December 2, 2020

Great bag but would like more size options/features

I've had the Stormsurge (aka Stormfront) for a year now and it's been a great backpack to bring for travels and hike. I understand this was made specifically for Fly Fishing and adding more features like additional compartments and water bottle holder may compromise its waterproofness, but it would be nice to have more size options. The 3... Read More0L is generally great for day hikes or weekend travels, but it's way too big for casual use. It would be interesting to see a backpack (not sling) in something between 16-20L and a sling option in 8-10L.

September 10, 2020

Love this bag. Its my second one.

This is the 2nd time buying. As an avid canyoneer this bag kips all my important gear dry and ready to use.

September 1, 2020

Awesome bag

Love It

July 24, 2020

Very good pack

Hi I like the pack very much but have some inputs what features are missing for me. The missing back support was mentioned in another review already. What i would like to see are some e.g. Molle mountings inside the bag to be able to sort your things inside. The backpack is basically only a hull which does not have a lot of options to stiffen its f... Read Moreorm. Regards

June 25, 2020

Very comfortable and 10000% waterproof

The bag is very comfortable on long trips, I dont even think about my stuff getting wet no matter what Im doing. My only negative thing is the lack of organizing pockets in the interior of the main compartment. Perfect bag but I would love a little bit of organization.

April 5, 2020

Needs external pockets for water bottles

This pack would be perfect for fly fishing if it had an external pocket near the bottom on each side of the pack, to hold water bottles. It's inconvenient to take off the pack to get a water bottle when hiking or fishing...and I don't want a water bottle clipped to the outside of a pack, bouncing around while I walk. Such pockets would al... Read Moreso work well to hold the bottoms of fly rod cases even more securely than the side straps alone. Would keep the rod cases from sliding down while you walk, regardless of what kind of straps are used.

March 5, 2020

A few design flaws for a fishing specific pack

The Stormfront pack is designed to be used with the Convertible Vest, but lacks a specific fly fishing feature - a D ring for a net attachment!! Thumbs down!! As with the previous fishing packs (eg. Sweet Pack), I'm not sure what the designers don't put a functional (padded) hip belt on these packs (with pockets would be nice for lip balm... Read More, etc.). Disappointed!!

March 1, 2020

Poor design should straps and back support

I own the waterproof sling bag as my river tote and love it. This bag however was disappointing. There is hardly any back molding for support. The shoulder straps are flimsy with no support. The sling bag does have these two features and not sure why they were not incorporated onto the backpack. With Yeti, Fishpond, Simms and Orvis having similar o... Read Moreptions, I will be purchasing another from one of them.

Response from Patagonia
April 2, 2020

Hi Trey, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment you've experienced with the bags design. Feedback like this is truly crucial to improving products for future seasons so it's much appreciated. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 4, 2019

Customer service

I had difficulty completing my order so had to call in. The gentleman taking the call was very helpful and friendly and we were able to successfully place the order.

November 11, 2019

Bombproof

Bombproof

November 11, 2019

Storefront pack

I work on a boat so I just bought this pack because it holds up well to the weather I’m typically in. I just wish it had more internal pockets. Other than that it’s perfect.

October 31, 2019

Great wet weather pack!

I use the product for flyfishing gear. It’s big enough to hold all my gear including thermos and raincoat. It’s truly waterproof and very durable. Terrific for this application!

May 31, 2019

Keeps Things Dry and Clean

I won the Stormfront pack in a raffle this winter. So far, I have found this item to be a versatile piece of equipment. I used it on a trip to Costa Rica, where I used it as a carryon bag. I fit a lot of stuff in it and it fit easily into the overhead bin in the plane. We got caught in the rain several times in Costa Rica, and it was quick and easy... Read More to unzip the bag and toss a camera and binoculars into the bag to protect the items from the rain. I have also used the bag on some kayak and canoe fishing trips. The bag keeps stuff dry in pouring rain. I was able to strap on a rod tube, a sleeping pad, and some other gear onto the pack during portages. The bag got muddy and since it is waterproof, it was easy to rinse it off in stream or a lake. Getting the pack clean once I got it home involved a soapy sponge and a hose. Try that with your regular backpack. The bag is not perfect. It is not the most comfortable pack to carry when fully loaded for long distances. The straps are good enough when walking through an airport or for a portage on a canoe trip. The bag does not have separate compartments, but I solved that issue by using a couple of packing cubes. There is no pocket for a water bottle, so I hooked a water bottle to the pack using a carabiner. All in all the Stormfront does what it is designed to do, which it to keep your gear dry and protected.

May 8, 2019

Storm front back pack

Finally a backpack that keeps all my gear dry during my walk back from my lifeguard tower in a Florida down pour.

October 29, 2018

Best BackPack 🎒 Ever

I’ve had mine for two years now. Use it everyday for commuting in NYC and almost every weekend on my adventures adventures. Whether it’s hiking, carrying a computer, or camping. This pack survives and thrives in it all.

June 6, 2018

keeps the camera dry

Great pack for keeping stuff 100% dry,but would love more structure in the back so it stays upright when loading and carrying less than a full load. Great for keeping camera gear dry! Couple of more zippered or velcro closure compartments inside would be great for keeping smaller gear organized. A sturdy external water bottle pocket would be great ... Read Moretoo

May 2, 2018

Good waterproof... Not so good "pack"?

I think it's great that this is 100% waterproof,but the pack itself has some design flaws and after many years now probably needs an update. The straps connect too narrow at the bottom of the back and chafe against your side,and the lack of structure and additional compartments really limit the use of this as a backpack.

August 19, 2017

Just Buy It!

I've been looking at the Stormfront Pack for some time and finally pulled the trigger. I really wish I hadn't waited so long. The is the perfect size for everyday carry around town and/or spending a day on the river. If you're thinking about,don't wait - just buy it!

August 15, 2017

Ok pack

Got this pack at the beginning of the summer. It's great for being water proof. But all the straps have come loose and fall off. Both waist straps are missing now and the the side straps. Very very poor design. The straps a constantly falling off this pack and now we are missing the waist strap. Steep it up Patagonia!

July 19, 2017

Perfect for voyaging

This backpack is actually waterproof,even after multiple uses and submersions in the ocean. Used it for a leg of an open-ocean voyage,and it worked so well that I loaned it to crew members on the next leg. It can sit out in a rain storm on an open deck,be worn while swimming to shore,and is equally comfortable on a long,stormy bike ride. Mahalo nui... Read More! Only improvement would be making the outside pocket also waterproof.

April 10, 2017

Wow - fantastic pack

This bag is truly unique. Nothing like it - bomb proof material and tons of strap in points for excursion dependent needs. Looking forward to tons of boat trips,wading fishing trips,and just general gnarly weather excursions. The pack itself is pretty tough material so don't expect it to feel or react like a simple nylon pack on you back. But... Read More you can drop this baby in anything - mud,sand,gnarly saltwater brine - whatever - and feel confident a little rinse gets it back to new without any risk of damage to the contents. LOVE IT so far in the drifter grey version (got lucky as I think I snagged the last color of that in stock in the entire US in early April 2017). Cusco Orange looks interesting,but just can't do it for fly fishing stealth needs. And Black just seems so monotone boring. And I live in the Driftless area for fly fishing so color choice is easy (but Patagonia.com never seems to have that color in stock).

January 25, 2017

Purpose Built

Cons: I prefer to have pack weight higher on my back,when the straps are pulled tight the 'U' shaped shoulder strap firmly clinches into the back of my neck. When cycling,this is a mild pain. Also,this pack has no side adjustable compression straps,which i find really help-full to hold pack contents in place,every item tends to fall to th... Read Moree bottom of the bag,causing the upper back pad of the backpack to clinch,the tighter you pull the bag straps. I am also expecting the T-zip to eventually wear out,even after the regularly required maintenance (lubricant supplied). Pro's: Its water-proof! Clearly this pack is not designed for day-to-day use. This is a great pack for wet weathered endeavour's. Burly for sure,and all side carry loops are firmly secured. I have carried a few kilos to the external loops and the bag holds weight well,internally & externally. The,'roll-top' edition of this bag is a great alternative to the T-zip,as far as material longevity goes. Puts a smile on my dile when I'm on the bike and it starts to rain,knowing that i do not have to worry about the contents of my bag. In those moments,the price is worth it!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches