burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Black Hole® Pack 32L

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 185 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Pack 32L

4.5/5
True To Size
August 3, 2022

Terrible

I thought, this would be a great replacement for a previous version of the Black Hole backpack. Unfortunately, the design is frustrating and poorly thought out. All the zippers line up on top and make deciphering which one to use annoying. Smaller pockets are designed in a fashion that they immediately want to empty themselves on the ground. Cleary... Read More not what you want to happen when stuffing little items in for safe keeping. Bag will not standup and if you by chance have another pocket open, plan on searching for stuff that fell out. Wish I could return for a refund or different pack.

Response from Patagonia
August 8, 2022

Hey Dalton, we're sorry to hear that this pack is not working out for you. You're always welcome to return an item if you're not pleased with it's performance. If you purchased it elsewhere, the credit back would be in the form of merchandise credit. To begin a return, [click here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

July 31, 2022

Great for traveling

I use this for travel when I need to pack a few extra things for the night. Pros: Massive Storage Capacity The large main pocket is great for packing clothes and the organizational zipper can pack a wallet, eyeglass cleaner, pocket knife, and keys. The top pocket can pack two eyeglass holders, a phone, and some extra smaller items. The front zippe... Read Morer pocket I use for my charger bag--it fills out the space perfectly. In the laptop pocket I can fit my laptop sleeve and a large moleskine planner (I actually use that planner). Cons: Structure There's not a structure that lends itself to the pack being able to stand on its own the way you see in the Paxat or Chacabuco. Although the back pad is well padded, the best way to structure it is to put a laptop sleeve in the back, and the pack will feel a lot sturdier. I've also noticed that the PATAGONIA logo on the front pocket has slowly started to peel off, so it looks like I'm wearing PATAGO, but that's not really an issue. Overall, the 32L is a great addition if you're already into the Black Hole line. I wouldn't wear it for hiking because of the lack of structure, but it's good for traveling to and from domestic places.

July 30, 2022

Comfiest everyday packpack

Pros: weatherproof (haven't had it in the rain yet, but looks solid), lots of pockets (2 bottle holders!), and most comfortable and secure fit of any pack I've had. (minor)Con: the dark weatherproof material seems to heats up in the sun more than a cloth bag. I wonder if it'll degrade if sun-exposed too much.

July 27, 2022

Better access

I am a fan of the black hole bags. This is my second backpack. Two features I like about the new version of this bag are the laptop pocket being accessible from the outer portion of the bag and the addition of the water bottle holders. In the past, I would have to use a carabiner to secure my bottle to the pack. I believe that better access to the ... Read Morebottom of the bag could be helpful. Like a side zipper or even a clamshell-type opening this way if there was something at the bottom that needed to be accessed one could.

July 25, 2022

Stellar looks, large capacity, and lightweight

Looks amazing in person and is large enough for school or travel. Only downside is the lack of an additional internal zipper pocket. If this pack had two, it would be 5 stars.

July 23, 2022

All-time favorite dry bag. Simple,

All-time favorite dry bag. Simple, spacious, lightweight design. Well placed pockets with easy access. Sleek styling makes it a smooth transition from the beach to the office. Label says Patagonia, feels like Patagucci. FUNctional style. Timeless classic.

July 16, 2022

Not well designed

I gave my previous pack to a friend, and I bought this newer version thinking it is an improved design. I used it a few times traveling but was very much disappointed. The backpack is basically just an empty compartment. I assumed that if you just want to stuff it of everything you got then this give you a lot of space. However, there is no other ... Read Morecompartment that you can use to organize what you need. The zip packet inside is too small to be a versatile storage. The top compartment supposedly uses for convenient storage, but once you put few items in it then it just sacks into the main compartment, when you unzip the main compartment, because the top compartment weight, it just flips over and makes handling the whole back very cumbersome. The back compartment for storing laptop and documents. The zippers are so close the edge and the stripes make them a bit difficult and annoying to zip and unzip. I wish the design includes many divided compartments for travel activities organization like the previous version. If one wants a big empty bag, then one could just use a duffel bag. The backpack probably will not get much use and I will need to look for another more versatile one.

Response from Patagonia
July 20, 2022

Hi Dannis, thank you for sharing this detailed feedback. We're so sorry the features of this pack didn't work for you, but we're glad you've returned it. Please let us know if we can help you find something that will work better for you!

July 14, 2022

Love it !!!

Can put everything,so soft and isnt heavy,i really love it !!!

July 12, 2022

Misses the mark compared to the 1st gen 32L

I should preface this by saying I'm comparing this generation of 32L Black Hole backpack to the first generation 32L Black Hole backpack. I used the first Gen (1st gen) 32L Black Hole nearly every day for 7 years, it did everything I wanted, trekked across South East Asia with it, mutli-day backcountry hikes, it was my work bag work, the bea... Read Morech, gym, photoshoots, you name it; the bag did everything I asked it to, was its the best at all of them, no, but I could trust it would stand up to whatever I threw at it. The only thing it didn't have that I often wished for was some exterior side pockets for water bottles or things to stash quickly. It was not only the most comfortable backpack I've ever had, the moulded foam back was incredibly comfortable, and it had enough structure to keep its shape when empty. As for the current-gen Back Hole backpack, I've had it for about a year now. It does some of the things I ask it to but I wouldn't be able to do near half the things as I had with the 1st gen backpack. It doesn't have a lot of structure, I wouldn't be able to lash anything I'd need for a backcountry hike to it, like the 1st gen. When empty the bag crumples on itself if there is anything in the top stash pocket, which causes the back panel to fold and is uncomfortable. The laptop section is more fuss than it's worth. It took less time to unzip the closure on the 1st gen back and pull out my laptop than to fuss around with the straps and unzip the back panel to get at my laptop. Not to mention I wouldn't want to be caught in the rain if I have my laptop in this bag. The 1st gen's closure had a lip that did a great job covering the zipper, preventing any water ingress to the main compartment. I should note the stash pocket on the 1st gen wasn't very water-resistant and was a source of moisture if caught in heavy rain, but still, the main compartment would remain dry. Because there isn't anything to cover the zippers on the current-gen backpack, I've had water ingress when caught in mild rain showers. The organization system on the interior of the 1st gen bag blows this out of the water, the pocket on the current-gen bag is simple, but an awkward size and placed in a spot where it's difficult to access things if the bag is full. The current-gen back also lacks a waist strap which was really handy when hiking. What the current-gen does have that I like are the exterior pockets on either side of the backpack, which I find very useful along with some more daisy chains for lashing points, but I doubt I'd use them as I don't think I'd bring the bag on a multiday hike where I'd need to lash anything to it. I'll keep this short, those are a few of the overall gripes I have with the bag - I could go on, but I'd like to keep this review shortish. In short, I'll likely have to buy other backpacks for other purposes as the current-gen 32L backpack isn't the allrounder I'd hoped for.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2022

Thank you so much for this detailed review, Nicholas. We're so sorry to hear the current version of this pack isn't working as well for you as the original! Over time we've revised this pack with features that work better for commuters, but they may not meet your needs as well now. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us. If any of these aspects turns out to be a dealbreaker, you can absolutely [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/returns.html) it, either to us or to one of our Patagonia-owned stores. In the meantime, it's possible another bag may be worth looking at as an alternative, like the 36L Altvia, which comes with an attached rain cover. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

July 5, 2022

Awesome Backpack

The Black Hole 32L backpack is the best travel and hiking backpack I have ever owned!! I highly recommend it!

June 22, 2022

Great pack

An all around amazing pack. Enough room for everything you need. Love the dedicated laptop compartment. The fact that it is made out of recycled materials is just the cherry on top.

June 14, 2022

Perfect bag for transitions from work to play

This bag came onto my radar because I use the 50 L black hole duffle and I was looking for a back pack to replace my 20 L bag as I needed more space. I like this a bag a lot. The pockets are note worthy as I have grown to really like their layout even in the short time Ive had the bag. The top most one swallows all my quick access stuff and the mai... Read Moren one is big enough to fit all my needs. The laptop sleeve is also well padded. Im also a sucker for the attachment points running along the back. I think they look great and they are very function. I clip my chacos or hoka trail runners on to them for moving from spot to spot. With all that being said, this bag has a few things it could improve to be five stars: 1st: please add a bottom strap that can also be removed. Having that option would make it a much better outdoors pack and allow it to be used for more than just chill walks around camp, transitions, and just being a duffle in back pack form 2nd: please consider making the zippers water proof if for no other reason than the feel 3rd: it would be cool if there were another mesh pocket in the main compartment above the current one for some more organizational help 4th: make the tablet pocket in the back sleeve area a little larger 5th: it would be cool if one of the water bottle holders (preferably the left one) had a second Miny mesh pocket inside it (rei style)

June 9, 2022

Love this bag

Overall, I love this bag. I can stuff a change of gear for working out, water bottle, computer and cords ect, and much more. The 32L is the perfect size for a daily commute. Although, I see what everyone is suggesting with the zippers, a waterproof zipper would be so annoying and would not last long on this style of bag. The one thing I don't ... Read Morelike is how flimsy the bag is. Would be nice to have a little more structural support. Overall its a sick bag and I get so many compliments for it.

June 9, 2022

Sturdy Body, but Disappointing Bottle Holder

I got this bag as a gift from my sister because I was looking for good commuter bag in the city. I love the bag, except the side water bottle holders are either too small or too flimsy for my 18 oz Yeti water bottle because it goes flying any time I put the bag on my back.

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2022

Hi Mary, we're so sorry to hear about the trouble with the bottle holder on the Black Hole Pack 32L. If you end up finding it too bothersome, please feel free to begin a [warranty return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

May 30, 2022

Just short of perfect, unfortunately

Best bag Ive ever bought untilI bought this bag for work to carry all my essentials for lifeguarding on busy south Florida beaches. The exterior loops allow me to fasten bungees to carry all sorts of quick grab gear like rain jacket and fins while all the compartments allow me to separate other things so its not all jumbled together in one big heap... Read More of tangled mess. I started packing my laptop, and of course, it rains hard the first day I pack my laptop but was confident this was the best bag I ever bought so I passed on purchasing a rain cover for the backpack until I got to class and opened my laptop compartment and my computer was water damaged. Disappointed. I still love the bag, I just wish Patagonia wouldnt have skipped on putting quality zippers that would at least attempt to keep water out. Anything more than a drizzle and youd better hope you brought a separate rain cover for your pack. If I knew how to Id update the zippers myself to something a bit more beefy and waterproof/resistant. Dear Patagonia, Great pack design, poor execution on zippers.

May 25, 2022

Great carrying comfort! Weather resistance?

I bought this product because I needed a backpack to hold my laptop for going to work but also all my sports gear for working out afterwards. I am supper happy with the looks and functionality of the pack. The fit is great, this is the most comfortable pack I ever carried. HOWEVER, the main reason I bought this particular pack was that it was descr... Read Moreibed as "weather resistant." On two separate occasions the laptop compartment got seriously wet after wearing the pack in somewhat intense rain for less than 5 minutes. The top pocket was also slightly wet. @Patagonia is this normal?

Response from Patagonia
May 27, 2022

Hello Mihai, thank you for sharing this feedback. It sounds like this pack may not have performed in the rain the way you needed it to; we're sorry to hear this! The outer Black Hole fabric is water-resistant. It's possible the rain leaked through the zippers, which are less waterproof. If this turns out to be a deal breaker, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

May 25, 2022

Water resistant pack.

I initially purchased the Stealth backpack, which is very nice, but a bit small for my needs. At that time the 32L black hole was unavailable. I recently purchased the 32L black hole pack mentioned and I love it. I am planning to return the stealth pack and purchase another 32L BH for my son-in-law. Perfect size for a day on the water. Fits all the... Read More gear I need for a day long float trip and is very water resistant.

May 19, 2022

This Best of Both (Backpack) Worlds

I do a lot of research before I put money down on anything, and after studying the list of necessities I needed and wanted in a backpack, this was the only one out of a dozen plus that met all of my criteria. Somewhat flippantly, I created my list of a "dream backpack" and decided to use the Paretto Principle in my final choice. Because r... Read Moreeally, when do we ever get EVERYTHING we want in a product and are COMPLETELY satisfied with it? Well, the long story short is I FINALLY did with this pack! The storage space, compact size that meets maximum storage in European countries, attachability (yeah, I made up that word for this review, just look at the pack, you'll get it) for extra gear, water resistance, ergonomic strap fit (which the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a pack - even under heavy weight!), stretchable water bottle pockets, multiple storage compartments for easy organization, and at last, the really cool way it looks! If you think it looks cool online, see it in person.

May 13, 2022

Not as good as the old one

I had the old Black Hole bag for about 8 years and wore it into the ground. Unfortunately I think the design on this one is much worse. My chief complaint is that the laptop compartment is very difficult to access. Why was this put behind the straps? This doesn't make any sense. Also, the new one seems a bit smaller.

Response from Patagonia
May 17, 2022

Hey Gabriel, thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with the performance of this bag. You're welcome to return it to us for a refund or merchandise credit. To begin that process, click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 13, 2022

Black Hole

Backpack recommended by Consumer Reports with good reviews on Patagonia and REI for travel. It holds a lot, more than I needed. It squishes to fit under seat in front on airplane and it also fits easily between legs when traveling on plane to retrieve items easily. I probably should have gone for the size smaller and may buy that one and give this ... Read Moreone to my husband. Bottom line it is a great bag for traveling.

May 9, 2022

Perfect Casual Backpack

This back pick is great. The material is ultra touch and water hasnt been an issue at all. The back pocket for laptop storage is awesome too. Theres also plenty of room for all of my daily essentials and travel needs.

May 7, 2022

Durable Pack w/ Plenty of Room for Improvement...

I really wanted to give this pack a 5 star review especially since I've been waiting for it to be in stock for months now, but I just couldn't. The pack super durable and from the Black Hole duffles I have had for years I know that this material will hold up for years. The pack is comfortable and has plenty of room (more than I need hones... Read Moretly). However, unless this pack is filled to the brim, it is a bit flimsy and has little structure to it. I opted for this pack rather than the 25L because of the TSA friendly laptop sleeve which is really handy especially if your in a hurry to catch your flight. Also the front vertical pocket is super convenient for stashing my passport and wallet. Also this pack has great water bottle pockets that fit my huge yeti without issue. Also I can fit my entire sport rack snacks and extra layers for the crag in my pack which is a huge bonus. Thanks Patagonia and keep it up!

May 6, 2022

Awesome Bag

I love this bag. It looks smaller than it is. I used to carry two bags to work. My laptop bag would only hold that. This Holds what the two did and theres still room. The best part is it sits in line with your spine, doesnt make you lean to one side. Its very light. As I said, I LOVE IT!

May 4, 2022

Recommend

True to description. Perfect for what I need.

April 30, 2022

Perfect pack

Durable, good looking, functional

April 29, 2022

Couldnt ask for a better bag

Hands down the best purchase Ive made this year. Between the TSA approved (and well padded) laptop sleeve, to the balance and ergonomic fit, to the actually useful top pocket, this bag has served me well on an international vacation, hiking, and general travel. I use it while flying and it fits in the cockpit with me behind the seat perfectly and I... Read More dont have to worry about moisture or wild temps. 10/10 would recommend. Oh, and it feels good to have something so useful AND stylish from sustainable materials and supply chains.

April 27, 2022

Good stuff

Great stuff for the value, used in everyday activities.

April 19, 2022

My Travel Pack of Choice!

I am a huge fan of the black hole; I'm really glad I chose the 32L over the 25L, though, because I feel like it carries so much more and is much better for my travel needs. I love the feel of the bag. The materials feel great and the fit is comfortable. I do wish that there were more pockets so that you could organize your items more efficient... Read Morely, and that's what makes this a 4-star review. Overall a great bag, and I think it will last a long while as my main travel companion!

April 17, 2022

Patagonia Black Hole 32L: perfect commuter and day bag

After almost four years of use for train commuting 2-3 times weekly (only for a year before the pandemic), family outings and vacations (about 10 trips), and some business travel, I've concluded that the Patagonia Blackhole 32L backpack is an almost perfect commuter backpack and, because other reviews are terrific, I'm just going to make ... Read Moresome observations that I hope are helpful. The material looks shiny and you'd think it hard, but it actually has a suppleness and yet seems really tough, is water resistant (material itself and not a coating that will come off over time), and wipes off easily. I wanted a flat-backed backpack because I didn't want my computer to be bent over my arched back, especially when on a bike, and I've previously cracked a screen on my laptop when I over stuffed a backpack cinched it down. The laptop pocket is easy to access, but only one side is padded and, in the same compartment, the tablet pocket is really useful and I like that I can lay my backpack across my lap when commuting and can easily and discreetly slip my tablet in and out. There a handle at the top, but there's also a really handy grab handle on the front face of the backpack (like when you slide it under the seat in front of you, you can easily find it and grab it). The front face also has a loop ladder and this a must for me as I use it to lash gear (like when my kids shed their coats and hear). Although it's 32L, it looks deceptively slimmer and seems almost svelte given it's capacity. On the other hand, when I really need to stuff it, it can take a load and I'm always surprised how much it can swallow. The vertical zip map pocket on the front is really useful and, because it's a side access, vertical-zip only, it's flat and discreet. Bottom is tough and has held up beautifully This isn't a technical backpack, but I've used it for travel to a destination and then taken it hiking, and it has worked well (and great that it has a sternum strap, which was another must). My bag is black, but the interior is a nice, light gray, so you get a bit more light and can see deeper into the bag. Looks nice for business-casual look, or in the field, and my daughter has the smaller 25L in bright orange (discontinued) that she uses as her hunting backpack.

April 4, 2022

Great pack

I got this pack a few weeks ago and love it. The main pouch is fantastic and its large and swallow up everything I throw into it. The future thing I would ask is work on the TSA approved laptop area. The placement of the zipper is not optimal as I need move the shoulder straps to get to it. Other than that love this pack.

March 25, 2022

Excellent Pack

I bought this pack primarily for my mobile office while traveling but also for hiking and sailing. This holds a ton of gear and makes a great weekend bag. I wanted a large open main compartment and this definitely has it. The top compartment is great for keeping a variety of small bits out of the bottom of the bag and handy to access. Love the big ... Read Morebottle pockets on the side, too. Very happy with the quality so far.

March 13, 2022

Multipurpose

Great pack. Wish it came in a 40 L size and it had lashes on the outside. Not complaining. Love the pack

February 13, 2022

Exceptional bag

Ive had my 32L bag for a while now. I use it daily for bike commuting and have used it for some basic domestic travel by car and air as well. As I write this, Im concluding a 20-day trip to Argentina and Antarctica during which I used the backpack daily under some pretty rugged conditions. At every point, its been superb, maybe the best item I took... Read More on the trip. Foremost, its very comfortable to wear whether jam packed or not, walking through an airport, riding a Zodiac on the Southern Ocean, or hiking up a ridge on Antarctica. Second, its organization is excellent: the thinking that went into the compartments, pockets, straps, etc. really shows. Third, the zippers! Damn. They hold up even when Argentine customs made me consolidate another bag with this one. Fourth and last, the color hot ember is great: appealing, not over the top, and easy to spot on the baggage carousel! About the only downside to the bag is that it didnt discourage me from taking so many books that I didnt have time to read.

Response from Patagonia
February 16, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Black Hole Pack, and for showing your bag such a great time! We're very happy to hear it's working so well for you!

February 5, 2022

Great Backpack

Bought this backpack to replace an old top loading pack that was stolen. I thought my old pack was perfect, but Ive loved the new features I found with this one. The side pouches for water, food, phone, or gloves. The small top zippered pouch is ideal for holding sunglasses, airpod case, or extra gloves. I thought it might be too big overall but I ... Read Morefind its perfect for a morning cross country ski trip.

January 16, 2022

All-in-one backpack

I have used this for hiking through Glacier NP, field work as an archaeologist, and a backpack for going to and from lecture halls. It is as durable as it is versatile, and I look forward to using mine in the years to come

December 7, 2021

Perfect school backpack

Got this for my 13 year old son to use riding his bike to school in rainy Seattle. It is light, comfortable and fits all his middle school stuff (laptop, water bottle, lunch, folders, jacket, cell phone, pencil pouch, bike lock) perfectly. I hope he can keep using it for years.

December 6, 2021

Perfect for quick overnights, the gym, or work!

This is a great daily backpack. Enough room to fit an overnight's worth of stuff, or a change of clothes / shoes for the gym, but also a great carryon or work bag if you leave it empty.

December 3, 2021

Great backpack

The backpack was just as I hoped. It was large enough to comfortably fit everything I needed for my multiday trip. Not so large as to be cumbersome and annoying to carry. It's a sleek design and it's waterproof which is awesome.

November 26, 2021

Casual wear

I love this bag! I bought the 25L for my boyfriend but he wanted to size up so he got the 32L instead. I kept the 25L because it is beautifully and sustainably made. Looks, feels, and works great! Highly recommend for a chic yet functional backpack. He loves his, too!

November 25, 2021

Excellent bag

I bought this to replace a wonderful Refugio pack that was just a little too small to travel with it was a great daypack but I couldnt easily get a weekends junk in it. This Black Hole solves that problem, and then some. First and foremost, its incredibly comfortable to wear either walking or, surprisingly, biking. I use it on my daily bike commute... Read More, and it just *floats* on my back, no matter how much I jam in it. (Unlike many backpacks, the shoulder and sternum straps are extremely easy to adjust.) Superb! Second, the bag is very well designed. Im impressed by how easily I can pack, find, retrieve, and empty all my crap from the combination of the top flap pocket, the front-and-back vertical pockets, and the main compartment. Astounding and wonderful. Im looking forward to using the bag on some real trips, including one to ACTUAL Patagonia. Third, the bag is as weatherproof as advertised. Ive used it in a couple heavy rainstorms and some snow flurries, and everything inside stayed dry even the stuff in the most exposed pocket, on top. Fourth but not least, damn this bag looks GOOD. I got the hot ember color, a deep red that is more orange than it looks onscreen  a great color. Ive received a few compliments on the color, which is nice, but also its just a pleasing color. If I changed one thing about the bag, its that the zipper pulls are kind of small. Id like bigger loops that are easier to thread a finger through, especially while wearing gloves, and/or a bigger tab thats easier to grip. This is a pretty fine point, though, and one thats easy to fix with some aftermarket pulls.

November 21, 2021

Functional

While most qualities of this pack are good and functional, I am disappointed by the computer sleeve. When I actually have a computer in it (even a very thin one), I can feel it through the very thin foam of the pack against my back. It's also clunky to get to the computer sleeve zipper. I like the different pockets and the fact that the main b... Read Moreody of the pack is accessed through the fold over top. Sadly, I wouldn't buy this version (32L) of the pack again. The smaller version looks like it has a more sturdy foam for the back portion and no computer sleeve.

Response from Patagonia
December 1, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Black Hole® Pack 32L. We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

November 21, 2021

So Close

This was NEARLY the pack that solved the quest for the functional, all-in-one backpack that checks every box. I LOVE the way the main compartment opens. Nice and wide with easy reach-in access and the right amount of space. 32L feels like the sweet spot for having enough capacity to use for multiple scenarios but not to capacious for things to ge... Read Moret lost in the void. The front pocket is serviceable albeit tight but just right for its use. The top compartment is stable enough to throw some moderately weighty items in without it slouching, and the top strap on the front is bomber! I didn't realize how nice a strap like that is for handling the bag short distances. But ohhhh the laptop pouch. The main thing I look for in a bag that will hold my computer is how fussy it is to access, and the computer pouch is farrrr too fussy. I understand the idea behind a lay-flat design. But my first issue has been with the airports I frequent still requiring me to remove the laptop and defeating it's inherent purpose. What it has done, however, is introduce a few daily frustrations removing and storing my laptop. Wedged underneath the straps, the pocket is a chore to access from the top due to the straps arching over the zipper. It's not wholly inconvenient, but for accessing the compartment in the day to day, I would rather not wrestle a zipper,strap, and buckle to start work. So I instead started loading my notebook from the side without using the inner sleeve to avoid dealing with the straps every day. Unfortunately, I quickly realized that this part of the pocket does not have a false bottom like the inner sleeve does to protect it from small drops. So after a small dent, I went back to fighting the intended top load design. I feel like the easy fix would be to add a false bottom to the lay-flat pocket as well, giving the user the option with which way to load the laptop and not have to worry about drops. However I am not a bag designer, so this could be a misguided sentiment. Furthermore, the plastic buckle inside the lay-flat sleeve can scratch up the surface of a laptop a bit. In my case it was nothing crazy, just some unsightly marks that only I will probably notice. I realize this buckle is there to use with a water reservoir if necessary which is a nice addition, however Velcro or another soft enclosure is probably not going to mark up any gadget. Everything else about the pack is great. The materials, the fit, and even the water bottle holders are excellent! Unfortunately for me, after a small dent and some smaller marks, the quest for that unicorn backpack will have to continue.

Response from Patagonia
November 29, 2021

We appreciate your thoughtful and detailed review, Jacob! Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so if you find that a product does not perform as intended under the usage for which it was designed, you're welcome to return it.

November 15, 2021

good design could go a step further

This is my third blackhole backpack. My previous 2 were 25L packs. I wasn't happy with the more recent 25L size, so I upgraded to this larger pack. It can hold a lot more, and I like the separation for the laptop/bladder. I'd make three changes to the bag if I could. First, I'd make the laptop sleeve a tiny bit larger to accommodate ... Read Morebigger computers. My 16 macbook fits, but it is very snug. Second, I'd make that whole section removable, allowing to unzip the whole panel. This would make airport travel very easy. Third, I'd make the front vertical zipper pocket zip on both sides so you can get to it easily with either hand. This could also make the pocket usable for carrying some oversized things. I miss the side compression straps from older packs. Those were great for carrying my inline skates, a light jacket, or a travel pillow.

November 12, 2021

Great overall backpack

This one has everything you need for a daypack to go hiking or to the office. Big roomy main compartment, plus a couple smaller pockets for small things to not get lost. And the computer sleeve in the back it nicely padded. And the side water bottle pockets are deep so your bottles will not drop out. It is definitely one of the better day packs I h... Read Moreave owned!

November 11, 2021

Nice look

Very comfortable backpack, but front top zippers only zip down half way. Would prefer more opening access

November 9, 2021

Perfect size to fit all your needs for commuting to work!

I'd been looking for a backpack to use for my bike commute to work and this pack checks all the boxes. Like most Black Hole products, its fits way more than you would think and has just the right amount of zippers and additional storage space. Holds all my work supplies, mirrorless camera and lunch and spreads out the weight on my back. Highly... Read More recommend!

November 4, 2021

Love all of the Black Hole bags

I have several Black Hole bags including the duffles, backpacks and tote bags. Use them for every sport, travel, daily use. Super durable, have all the right spaces, and look amazing in all kinds of environments. Highly recommend!

November 4, 2021

Good

Holds more than I anticipated

November 2, 2021

Great bag for air travel!

I recently purchased this bag and used it for a three day trip. It was comfortable and perfect for carry on travel. I also got rained on for a couple of minutes and everything inside was dry. Three thumbs up! Ill be doing a video review too. Thanks!

October 30, 2021

Great bag!

Super durable all around great bag and love the navy blue color. Only downside, which is major for me, is the bag lacks organization. Not even one pen holder and its pricey!

October 13, 2021

Stylish

Looks good. Good pockets.

September 30, 2021

Great pack!

My 14 year old asked for this pack for her birthday. Buying this was a no-brainer; I still have a pack I used in high school 25 years ago. Built well and to last- I know that this will be the start of a long and loving relationship! The pocket array is really useful, especially the small one at the top, and it fits comfortably for light and heavy l... Read Moreoads. Not to mention the durability for its already tough life- a day in the life of an active outdoor teen is pretty great rigor for testing.

September 30, 2021

Great, but not enough pockets

Great big backpack but not enough smaller pockets. WOuld be nice if it had just one more outside pocket.

September 29, 2021

I would make 2 changes to design

Use for work and travel, and this is fine, There are 2 exceptions (1) I would add a removeable hip belt, as travel can get heavy and lots of bags over 30L have a belt . Without a belt, I think the bag is more suited for larger set people. I adapted by added a buckle to the free end of the shoulder straps. (2) the back design can concertina dependin... Read Moreg on how you pack it. If you are carrying a lap top, no issues. Without a laptop, I pack my Fjallraven seat pad. If the back was designed with vertical rather than horizonal panelling, I don't think this would have been an issue.

September 17, 2021

The best back for school

The Patagonia Black Hole Backpack is the best backpack for school After using The Patagonia Black Hole Backpack for over a month now for school I have concluded that this backpack is the best backpack for school and here's why. This backpack is everything you would ever want in a school backpack and more. It's the perfect size for a schoo... Read Morel backpack and I am easily able to fit everything I need for school with extra room. This backpack also comes with every compartment and pocket you would need in a school back. The backpack is also very high quality and is sure to last a very long time. This is why the Patagonia Black Hole Backpack is the best backpack for school. One reason why it is the best backpack for school is because of the size of the backpack. This backpack has an insane amount of space to carry anything you could possibly need in your school backpack. In my bag I carry a computer, four textbooks, two binders, my phone charger, computer charger, headphones, extra masks, 10-15 pencils and pens, and a water bottle and I still have room in my bag for two to three more books. I think it is safe to say that you will not run out of any space with this bag. This is why the Patagonia Black Hole Backpack is the best backpack for school. Another reason why the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the best pack for school is because each compartment in the back pack and the perfect sizing of each one. The patagonia black hole back has two side pockets that can carry anything from water bottles, to headphones, to chargers. The backpack also has a special compartment in the back of the bag for a computer which can also fit 1-2 thin books. Then there is a small compartment at the top of the bags perfect for storing smaller items such as chargers, headphones, phones, masks, pens, pencils, or a wallet. Then there is the large compartment that carries up to six or seven large textbooks and other binders of books. This is why the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the best pack for school. Another reason why this backpack is a great backpack is because of the quality of the back pack. Not only is the bag high quality but its made of recycled materials such as plastic that was taken from the ocean. The majority of this bag is made out of high quality recycled polyester and was made and manufactured in Taiwan and Cambodia. The recycled materials are mostly made out of recycled plastic bottles which reduces CO2 emissions by 59 percent. This is why the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the best pack for school. These are all the reasons why the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the best pack for school. From the high quality materials, to the perfect size compartments for everything you would need for school you are sure to never run out of space for things you need for school. In conclusion the next time you are looking for a back to school backpack the Patagonia Black Hole backpack is the one you should get.

September 17, 2021

ok - 2 exceptions

3 stars. Use for work and travel, and this is fine, There are 2 exceptions (1) I would add a removeable hip belt, as travel can get heavy and lots of bags over 30L have a belt . Without a belt, I think the bag is more suited for larger set people. I adapted by added a buckle to the free end of the shoulder straps. (2) the back design can concertina... Read More depending on how you pack it. If you are carrying a lap top, no issues. Without a laptop, I pack my Fjallraven seat pad. If the back was designed with vertical rather than horizonal panelling, I don't think this would have been an issue. This is my second attempt to add a honest review. I hope they post it.

September 11, 2021

Light weight & versatile

Im in love with Patagonia navy bluejust wow! I used the backpack on a recent trip. Perfect for the plane, scuba boat (kept my things dry) and for tennis (tennis racquet fit in the computer compartment no problem). Spacious, great loops to hang things, great pockets with & without zippers. Top compartment is brilliant (spacious with easy access)... Read More. My complaint about the front pocket is its a side zipper only so its difficult to see inside & easy for things to fall out. Should have 2 zippers that zip up the sides & top.

September 10, 2021

Excelente

Excelente cómodo práctico muy útil además de muy lindo

September 9, 2021

Super quality

Love the bag, I got it for my first edition to my growing ohana (family) I wanted to pack for me and baby and all though baby isnt here yet it is already packed with he/shes things along with what I need for baby adventures.

September 7, 2021

Nice looking

Packs was not to small and not too big. Perfect for a day hiking pack.

August 31, 2021

The perfect bag

This is the perfect commuter bag, nothing to catch on pesky door knobs or get tangled in a seatbelt. More room than you can believe and very durable.

August 30, 2021

Nearly Perfect

I mainly use this backpack as an all day commute bag for school or work. A few features are definitely centered more around camping/other recreation activities, but it makes for an incredible school backpack. I can't think of another backpack that is sturdy enough and large enough inside to hold more than 3 full size textbooks along with every... Read Morething else you need for the day without wearing out in a month. The fact that it's fairly waterproof and subtle in design is another plus. I would give this a 4.5/5, but the stars system won't let me go to that level. The only issues I would have with the bag are that it isn't completely waterproof and that the front daisy chains don't seem to provide any utility since I don't camp/hike. If they cut the amount of daisy chains in half and had larger loops, I could use them to hang equipment from. I can easily see myself using this bag for the next 10 years if it lasts me that long(and I'm confident it will).

August 29, 2021

Great little pack!

Perfect for one or two nights away. Keeps me to one bag as electronics and glasses aand little stuff have their own places. Seriously, this could not be better for what I was looking for.

August 28, 2021

Large bag, disappointed with design

I used to have the 25L bag which I owned for a long time. This bag definitely holds more. But Im pretty disappointed the straps just flail about. My old bag had built in strap holders that matched the color of the fabric. Im not sure why these are absent from a more expensive backpack. Also really miss that center strap on the face of the bag. It w... Read Moreas really convenient for quickly grabbing the backpack. The fabric is thinner and lighter which is nice. But overall feel like Ive spent more money for a less capable product.

Response from Patagonia
September 1, 2021

Hey Joel, thanks for the review on our Black Hole Pack 32L. This particular bag does have more streamlined features, but the added cost goes to the extra space and material needed to make it 7L bigger. We'll be sure to pass your thoughts along to the appropriate team members. We don't want you disappointed with your purchase, so feel free to [send it back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 23, 2021

Very useable water resistant day-pack

This is a great day pack. Very water resistant from the top and sides. Just be sure not to set this pack down in the wet as the bottom is not waterproof and the contents will get wet from the bottom

August 15, 2021

Perfect commuter bag

I ride my bike to work, and this has been the best way to get my computer and all essentials to and from in a weather-resistant way. Having the laptop secured right behind my back gives me peace of mind and less movement than other bags I have used.

August 12, 2021

Perfect for extra gear.

Bought to carry extra raincoats,water, first aid kit while wade fishing. I didnt want a hip belt and this fit the bill! Great lightweight and water resistant pack.

July 27, 2021

Great pack with 2 exceptions

I love my new Black Hole backpack. I am a healthcare provider working in a mobile unit, and it holds all of my equipment, a change of scrubs, and keeps my iPad anc laptop (16in MacBook Pro) dry. (I was impressed both fit even with their cases.) Another plus- I can easily wipe it down after a particularly virulent day at work. I wish it had 2 things... Read More though: 1) More organizational features to keep smaller loose items like pens organized 2) Luggage strap/sleeve for easier travel

July 22, 2021

Great Bag, Solid Construction and Cavernous

Put a few miles on it and so far it's a solid performer. Wide open inside with plenty of room for boots, shoes, and a couple changes of clothes. I like the almost hidden area for laptop and tablet; plenty of room and secure. Nice webbed pocket inside with key holder. Could use another separator or pocket in the main storage area for more orga... Read Morenization.

July 19, 2021

Its nice and big

I liked it, nice and big, not heavy at all, hope it lasts

July 7, 2021

Great Everyday bag

The Black hole back is a great product, super easy access and comfortable to wear. It is everything i needed in this bag

June 29, 2021

Gorgeous but top heavy

I really wanted to love this bag. There are so many amazing features, the material, space, storage, but unfortunately theres one thing that drives me nuts about this bag. It is very top heavy. It has to lay on its side/front/back no matter what you have in it. I was hoping the bag would sit up for packing or grabbing things out of it, but it simply... Read More isnt capable of that, darn.

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2021

Hi Cristina, we're sorry to hear that the weight of the Black Hole Pack wasn't what you were expecting. We do have a lighter version of the Black Hole, the Ultralight Black Hole® Tote Pack 27L, https://www.patagonia.com/reviews/view-all-reviews/?productid=48809. Though this pack is smaller, it will sit up when packed and works as a tote. It might be just what you're looking for.

June 25, 2021

Deceptively Big

Deceptively big yet portable because it's thin and hugs my back. Definitely nice knowing its water resistant for camera gear.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2021

We appreciate this great feedback on the design, sizing, fit and performance of our 32L bag, John! Please note that you will want to add a waterproof bag inside to truly protect your camera equipment, as the Black Hole fabric is resistant to moisture, but water can definitely get into the bag through seams and zippers quite easily.

June 21, 2021

AMAZING Pack

I was searching for a new backpack, but this one is by far the best one I have come across so far. Its versatile and super durable! I would want more!!

June 17, 2021

Perfect for a rainy trip.

I Purchased this pack for my trip to Iceland. The waterproof aspects and the trim design was perfect for travel in a country known for rain and wind. It accommodates plenty of layers and a hearty lunch. For the airplane it fit easily under the seat and the laptop sleeve was very convenient at security. Love it!

June 15, 2021

Nice Pack

Nice size pack, zipper configuration could be better. Good suspension system.

June 11, 2021

Best Backpack Ever!

Best Backpack on the market for school, work, and my personal favorite; travel! Really great product all around. Love the laptop and tablet zippered pocket. Only reason I didnt give it 5/5 stars was because when wearing it, at the very top of the bag it seems to pick into the back of my neck a bit. Its not uncomfortable but just an awkward feeling.... Read More

May 1, 2021

Bomb Track.

Bomber. That is all.....

April 29, 2021

Pilot Approved

Im an airline pilot and I use this bag for my work trips. It is plenty large to pack a few days worth of clothes, holds my iPad and laptop and is very comfortable.

April 28, 2021

Great for travel

Been traveling with this bag all day, and it is super convenient for the airport with the laptop zip in the back, and it really is a blackhole. Lots of must-have items fit great!

April 27, 2021

Best back pack for commute.

Brought this bag because my 15 year old northface started losing its water resistance and it was difficult to carry my water bottle, lunch, umbrella, small screw driver set, and if i wanted to carry anything else it made it very uncomfortable and hard to pack. This bag feels twice the size and the pockets are perfectly placed, very easy to clean, p... Read Moreerfect water resistance, extremely comfortable and lightweight. perfect bag!

April 27, 2021

Prepared for downpours

Smart phones are becoming more water resistant but paper is not and I still carry papers and a laptop computer al the time. I am not always prepared to keep myself dry when I emerge from the indoors into a sudden downpour, and a part of climate change seems to be an increase in short but severe storm events. The Black Hole keeps all of my circuits ... Read Moreand scribbles dry even if my hair, clothes, and shoes are drenched.

April 26, 2021

Love this bag

I used this bag to travel and it fit perfectly under the basic economy seat and in the storage above. I wish there were more zipper pockets, but I loved that I was able to fit all my clothes for a weeks worth of traveling in this bag.

April 23, 2021

BEST BACKPACK ON THE PLANET

This may be my 9th Patagonia Black Hole backpack, but this size in particular is my favorite. It's perfect for the laptop, some food, two little Patagonia cubes, and some other things like charging cords. They are super comfortable to wear, they are easy to clean, they are attractive i.e. they look awesome, and they support Patagonia + 1% for ... Read Morethe Planet!

April 20, 2021

Great bag on your back

I personally love the bag. I like the way it sits on my back and I love the commuter style of the pocket design. Color design is great and like people say the material is thinner than it used to be, but I believe Patagonia wouldnt sacrifice durability to cut corners. I assume they just made a better material. What I would want this bag to have ... Read MoreThicker bottom so it stands on its own. Straps for the water bottle pockets to make them secure. (Its smarter to use them as small item pockets and to use rope and carabiners to secure them to the back currently) This one is the biggest for me but detachable hip straps. Or at least the ability to add them if you wanted with sewn in loops. It would be a 10/10 all around with that addition becoming a perfect commuter, travel, and day pack. I emailed worn wear since I live very far from any Patagonia store to see if they would be interested in doing any of these modifications to my bag but I havent heard back yet. Either way Im excited to have this bag for years to come. People dont often sell them after market on sites and I think that speaks to longevity and strong preference to these bags. Excited to see where it takes me!

April 19, 2021

Best Bag For Your Buck

Weather youre going to school or work. Or going on a weekend hike, this bag does it all. It fits all my gear, books, and just about anything you need. There is no fuss about different compartments, and yet its easy to organize. Worth every penny, this is a product you can depend on.

April 10, 2021

Great bag and versatile

I use this pack a lot even though I haven't had it long yet. It fits my macbook air and iPad pro in the sleeve area and has room for tons of other stuff in the other zippered areas. I like the daisy chain on the back, that will be useful for many things as well. I look forward to the many adventures to come with this pack.

March 31, 2021

My new favorite travel pack

This pack is awesome. I recently took it on our spring break trip. The laptop/tablet sleeve was super easy through security and felt secure for my device. I love the entry for the main packet and the other pockets are super functional. My travel companion wants one too.

March 31, 2021

Great bag, terrible zippers

The shape and functionality of the bag are almost perfect. The zippers are bafflingly cheap and disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2021

Hello Aleks, we're sorry to hear you are unhappy with the zippers. If they ever fail or break, please don't hesitate to send your pack in for a [free repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) so we can replace them.

March 22, 2021

Fantastic Bag.

So this bag is great. I mainly use it for school but am confident in wearing it in numerous activities. I got the 32L and it has more than enough space. I have to carry a lot of books/binders so it is helpful to have this much room compared to other backpacks. It is pretty expensive compared to some other bags on the market, but the price is worth ... Read Moreit because of how durable and environmentally-friendly sourced the materials are. I have a feeling this will last me many years to come. Also, it looks really cool. The logo and shiny material make for a flashy-good-looking bag. Lastly, it is helpful to have a weather-resistant bag like this in a climate where it rains a lot.

January 20, 2021

Good bag, a little over priced

I like this bag. Its big enough for what I need without being to big. My only knocks are that the laptop compartment is kind of clunky with the straps in the way of the zipper. Also, the big is really expensive. However, all the Patagonia bags I have owned have lasted forever so you get what you pay for.

November 6, 2020

Bomber with Style

Phenomenal backpack. Really nice to use something so simple, elegant, functional, that will last a long time! The zippers open and close very smooth and effortlessly, large capacity, lightweight, fits great, slim design, perfect for MTB, gravel bike and surfing trips,

November 6, 2020

New back panel a step down from previous design

I primarily use this pack for work travel (with a laptop computer) and (more frequently) for day trips with my two young daughters. During day trips I tend to carry full water bottles in the pockets and a few layers and food in the main compartment, but I only fill the main compartment with gear when I'm traveling for more than a few days. I ... Read Morehad a previous generation of Black Hole pack in the next size down, 25L or so. That pack had a one-piece water resistant back panel as found on many alpine-style packs, which was slightly less breathable but far more comfortable and functional overall than the current design. This generation uses a two-piece back panel with foam and mesh panels against the thoracic and lumbar areas, separated by a horizontal flex panel at the bottom of the shoulder blades. I was very excited about this at first as it appeared much more comfortable for warm weather, but over time the flex panel has become too pliable and the pack now sags and folds against my back unless it is fully and carefully loaded. Carrying anything dense (e.g. full water bottle) without fully loading the back is quite uncomfortable and has me constantly adjusting the shoulder straps trying to find a good fit. As mentioned in some other reviews, the laptop compartment is a vertical pocket right against the back panel, and it is difficult to access without moving the shoulder straps out of the way. It has a zipper closure around the perimeter of the back panel and I have to be very careful about where I place the zipper pulls during longer walks or else I get pretty bad chafing against my back. The side pockets are made from a stretch mesh fabric which starts to sag and wear out from abrasion pretty quickly if you regularly carry rigid items in the pockets. In my experience this is a common issue with side pockets like this, but Patagonia has released some styles of pack in the past with side pockets constructed mostly of more durable fabric and small mesh inserts for stretch and draining. I liked that design much better. I will say that the feature set for this pack is spot-on, and was the reason that I selected this style in the first place, although I typically favor smaller packs: - The black hole fabric is fantastically durable and weather-resistant as its reputation suggests. It also manages to be quite beautiful. - The pocket configuration provides lots of organization opportunities, which I always want in a pack sized for travel or family outings. - The grab/haul handle on the main body of the pack is horizontally oriented and larger than the handle on the smaller styles of this pack, and I find it to be infinitely more useful. - Despite shortcomings of the laptop compartment design, it is very easy to access and it shines in the context of airport security checks, as intended. If another generation of this pack came out with a single piece back panel, a laptop compartment moved to the other side of the shoulder straps, more durable side pockets, and a horizontal grab handle, I'd buy several and use them forever. In the meantime, I will continue to use this one despite its limitations.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2020

Thank you so much for the thorough feedback on your pack. We'll forward your concerns to our design team.

November 3, 2020

Super roomy bag that holds alot.

I love these bag so far and its holds alot. I use the bag for work and sometimes when I travel for a couple of day and I love it.

September 8, 2020

Excellent product

I've had the backpack for about a month now and it works great for everything! I use it mainly for school and sports. I've been through two tropical storms with the backpack without anything in it getting wet. I recently broke my wrist while mountain biking and the large pockets are super handy as well as the water bottle pockets because ... Read MoreI don't have to worry about things falling out due to the good mesh in them.

September 2, 2020

A blend of beautiful design, high quality fabric, and functionality

You wont be sorry! Patagonias customer service is top notch. They back their products. This back pack is a great size, Im 57 and 130 pounds. This 32L size is not to big for my frame, great for school. Im in a doctorate program and have a laptop, binders, change of clothes, and lunch to carry around and this fits it all without overwhelming my small... Read Moreer frame.

August 19, 2020

Amazing bag

I purchased this as a weekend travel bag. Usually short trips to other cities where I can pack small and be able to carry my belongings. When Im not traveling I use it as a makeshift camera bag for astrophotography. I love all of the different pockets though. So nice to be able to separate all of the small things. Id really like to get into hiking... Read More and try this out, just so I have more uses for it.

July 13, 2020

Very Versatile

This is my go to bag for hiking, biking, school, work, traveling, and just going to the park. It has a plethora of pockets and a laptop compartment which is super handy. The exterior is water resistant so it can handle different weather with ease. The size is great for school books and binders, but also had the ability to be a day pack or be of use... Read More on a trip. It looks clean and I havent had a backpack that I have loved this much in a long time.

July 13, 2020

Go to backpack

Super awesome backpack. I love the separate compartment for my MacBook.

July 13, 2020

Greatest travel bag

Absolutely love this bag. I bought this for my fiancé as I have the older model from 5 years ago. I love the updated side bottle compartments and the usability of the laptop insert. The size is perfect for any and all travel. Enviable gift but I dont need one as my bag has been through great day hikes and travel all over. Dont buy any other backpac... Read Morek!

July 10, 2020

Very Versatile

This is my go to bag for hiking, biking, school, work, traveling, and just going to the park. It has a plethora of pockets and a laptop compartment which is super handy. The exterior is water resistant so it can handle different weather with ease. The size is great for school books and binders, but also had the ability to be a day pack or be of use... Read More on a trip. It looks clean and I havent had a backpack that I have loved this much in a long time.

July 10, 2020

Go to backpack

Super awesome backpack. I love the separate compartment for my MacBook.

July 10, 2020

Greatest travel bag

Absolutely love this bag. I bought this for my fiancé as I have the older model from 5 years ago. I love the updated side bottle compartments and the usability of the laptop insert. The size is perfect for any and all travel. Enviable gift but I dont need one as my bag has been through great day hikes and travel all over. Dont buy any other backpac... Read Morek!

July 5, 2020

Laptop storage is VERY ANNOYING

The laptop sleeve is vertical: i.e. you must insert/remove the laptop at the top. The backpack straps are completely in the way of this so you have to hold them out of the way with one hand every time. Even that is annoying so really you have to invert the straps every time you add or remove the laptop. When they're inverted you block access t... Read Moreo the main part of the bag - also annoying. To top it off, for some reason they placed a clip inside the bag on the laptop sleeve. This does nothing except if you flipped your bag upside down with the laptop sleeve zipper open, it wouldnt fall out from the clip. Who is ever going to do that? So the real result of this clip is it completely gets in the way of putting the laptop in every single time. So now every add/remove of laptop means you have to navigate around the straps and the clip. It's awful! So dont use the laptop sleeve. Ok then now at least 30-50% of the bag's weight and mass's sole purpose is for the laptop sleeve you dont use because it's so annoying? At this point I want the bag just without the sleeve because then it'd weigh far less and have like 30% more usable volume. Really awful design just like their new black hole duffel sizing and the horrific patogona label they slap on the front of all their shorts now. Really increasingly disappointed with Patagonia's designs across multiple product lines.

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

We are sorry to hear that this bag missed the mark for you in some aspects and we really appreciate your feedback on this. We want to ensure you're completely happy with your purchase and so we hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

June 25, 2020

Perfect

Use when going to the beach, work, and travel. Perfect size and remarkably lightweight. Laptop compartment is great.

June 25, 2020

32L

Excellent pack for hiking and boat exchanges. Use for work along Kauai coast

June 21, 2020

Great backpack, not designed for women

I primarily use this backpack as cabin baggage while traveling (it fits under non aisle seats). There are two big issues: the chest strap is not useable if you have breasts and the straps are HUGE. The bag gets pretty heavy when its full and, without the added support of the chest strap, its not very comfortable to carry. Im 56 and I have to make t... Read Morehe straps as small as possible when the bag is decently full. The laptop sleeve is also kind of weird; its super convenient for airport security but it isnt particularly padded or protected. Its a pity because this is a great travel companion; you can fit a weeks worth of clothing and essentials if pack light. I spent three months traveling with this bag and it still looks brand new.

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2020

We're sorry to hear the backpack has been disappointing. We're also reaching out to you privately to better understand your thoughtful and detailed feedback. We'll be happy to help you return it under our Ironclad Guarantee here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html

June 19, 2020

Spacious, Organized, Durable

Great bag, lots of room, very organized with all of the compartments. Rugged and durable material. Just like everything else from this company, great product!

June 18, 2020

Old version was much better.

I have the 25L black hole pack from three years ago. The padding on the back is completely different and MUCH more comfortable. I wanted the larger size for longer trips but I couldnt believe how uncomfortable the padding is. (They changed it on the smaller pack as well) The padding now looks like a block. Its all straight lines. No ones back is fl... Read Moreat so I cant imagine how this is comfortable. Sending it back.

June 17, 2020

Best backpack ever made

I have been searching for the perfect travel backpack that is large enough to hold my items keep my technology separate from the other stuff and my important documents easily accessible. This backpack nails it, it checks all of those boxes and when I get to my destination and need a backpack to carry items on a hike it isn't too large. Keep up... Read More the great work Patagonia this Black Hole Pack 32L is a home run!

June 17, 2020

The perfect backpack!

I purchased this backpack for work and it quickly became my go-to backpack for any and every need. I went camping for a weekend and it fit all of my clothing easily. All of the pockets are in great places and you can tell this bag is well-engineered. 10/10 would purchase again and again (although it will probably last the rest of my life so I won&#... Read Morex27;t need a new one!).

June 17, 2020

It is really a Black Hole

I like this backpack because it fits all the things you will need during the day. Bottle pockets on the sides are flexible enough to fit a 2 Lt. vacuum bottle to drink my mate. The main pitfall, in my opinion, is that the straps are too thick, which in warm days can be annoying.

January 29, 2020

Solid bag for travel and day-to-day

I used this bag for the last year of college, for travel, and for day-to-day. It swallowed my comedically large (and comedically expensive) amount of college books and kept them protected from the Colorado elements, and looked good doing it. I will note, if you have back issues, this backpack doesn't have structure in the back, so it may be le... Read Moress comfortable for you. I use it for travel all the time, and recently managed a week-long trip to Bellingham using only this bag, including formal outfits, more rainwear than you can shake a stick at, layers for any conditions, etc. My only wish is that the black material didn't get marked up so easily, which is entirely a cosmetic complaint.

December 31, 2019

Grandson loved it!;

Grandson loved it!;

December 30, 2019

My go-to bag for any travel

Everything about this bag is built to last. Perfect size for a carry-on, and I can comfortably stuff it with way too much stuff, and not worry about the seams or zippers. Would highly recommend!

December 25, 2019

Awesome

I purchased the black hole pack in black (which is obviously back ordered) and is so so happy with it! Patagonia was awesome with teaching out to me regarding questions about my order and surprisingly when it was re-stocked, it shipped out faster than I anticipated (which is always nice!) The bag is great, nice quality and Patagonia has awesome cus... Read Moretomer service

December 23, 2019

Even Better than I thought

I know the Black Hole line is legendary for its durability and water resistance but this bag has exceeded my expectations. Living in the pacific northwest, rain is...an issue. In my first week of using this bag as a day to day walk/bus commute companion I weathered hours of sustained heavy rain, fully exposed. Basically everything inside remained f... Read Moreully dry! I only noticed moisture around the zippers, which I would have expected. The internal layout is very well thought out, and I have gotten more use out of the laptop/tablet slots than I expected to. It is also very comfortable for my frame (6ft, patagonia medium) , and I usually have it loaded 20-30lbs.

December 18, 2019

32L Black Hole Backpack

Versatile bag. Great for school and travel. Frisbee player approved

December 13, 2019

Worth it? No.

I had a tough time finding a waterproof backpack for work and was excited when I stumbled on this one. Ultimately, the material feels thin and like it could be easily punctured, the zippers aren't easy to use with one hand which is a bummer when needing to quickly grab something, and there isn't enough internal organization for my daily n... Read Moreeeds. This, combined with padding that feels inexpensive, makes me question if it's worth the price.

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hi Holt, we think the Stormfront Pack may be a better option for you. These packs are 100% waterproof-submersible and features a durable and burly nylon core with a TPU coating. You can learn more about it here, https://www.patagonia.com/product/stormfront-waterproof-pack-30-liters/49154.html?dwvar_49154_color=BLK&cgid=root&isSearch=true#tile-5=&q=waterproof%2Bpack&lang=en_US&start=1&sz=24.

December 12, 2019

Nice design, leaky zippers.

I own the fold top black hole backpack from a few years ago. It was my standard bike commute bag. It was great at keeping things dry. This new design is great, with regards to packing and accessibility. It is also comfortable to wear. The waist strap has been removed, which is good because I never used it on the previous version. Missing though are... Read More two little elastic bands on the ends of the shoulder straps to keep the excess from flailing around. There is a band on the chest strap. My biggest problem is the horizontal zippers on top. They are not at all water tight. After a 10 minute bike ride in moderate rain, my items in the small top pouch were soaked. If you have the main compartment full, items near the top will also get wet. Why make the entire bag out of a great water resistant material and then use leaky zippers?

Response from Patagonia
December 31, 2019

Hi Justin, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the zippers. This pack isn't 100% waterproof, just water resistant, and the zippers aren't watertight so it will wet through overtime. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 11, 2019

Almost perfect

I was looking for a bucket-style backpack with a dedicated laptop sleeve for short business trips, and general airline travel. My specific requirements were strict, because when packed full, I wanted the largest bag possible that would qualify as a PERSONAL ITEM (not a carry on I want it to fit under the seat in front of me on a plane. Thank you bu... Read Moredget airline baggage fees). I've now taken this backpack on multiple trips with Delta, United, Southwest, Spirit, and Frontier. It has happily fit under the seat in front of me in each of those scenarios, albeit with less footspace. The pockets, loops, and material are all perfect for airline travel, and I can easily fit everything I need inside. While the body of the pack is perfect (best I found to meet my needs after a year of trial and error with many brands) I am very disappointed in the shoulder straps, and lack of hip belt. Any backpack larger than 27L *should* have a supportive hip belt to help distribute the weight it is capable of carrying. I think this is a massive oversight since this backpack is meant for a laptop, has pockets for water bottles, and can carry quite a bit of weight. From what I can tell, the shoulder straps were designed specifically (only) for larger men, they are extremely wide-set for a 5'4" female, and are quite uncomfortable. That would be easy to work with using the chest buckle, except the chest buckle is only adjustable to 3 different heights, and when the shoulder straps are shortened all the way, none of these chest strap positions sit above where a woman's boobs are, and it is wildly uncomfortable. Now that would also be somewhat acceptable, if there was a hip belt to help distribute the weight off of the shoulders with a hip belt. At a minimum, the pack should have a small, but sturdy loop of webbing to attach after-market hip belts too. Ideally, Patagonia would come up with a removable version of the Ascensionist's hipbelts (lightweight, but sturdy and able to distribute weight) to satisfy everyones needs, along with adding another adjustment level to the chest strap to allow it to be moved up even higher on the shoulder straps. I'll be keeping my pack and modifying it myself until those changes are made.

December 7, 2019

Please bring back side straps!

I love this pack- its the perfect day pack and airplane personal item. My one big complaint is that they omitted the side straps from the now discontinued 30L black hole. Without them, no matter how full my pack is, my 1L nalgene bottles wont stay in the pockets. Even the lightest rock scrambling knocks them out. I also can't secure my trekkin... Read Moreg poles without the straps. Please please add them back! Otherwise a 5 star bag- very comfortable, very water resistant.

December 3, 2019

The best redesign in years

This is one of the better redesigns for the large-size black hole pack in years from a use-ability and appearance standpoint. I like the U-shaped zipper which provides nice access to the main compartment. There is just enough organization in the main compartment to help with small items (maybe could use a little more for pens). The other pockets a... Read Morere all great - there is a combo tablet / laptop sleeve at the wearer’s back, and two smaller pockets, one horizontal zip and one vertical. And at 32L, this is the most space the large Black Hole pack has had in years (only the 35L from ... 3? Generations ago was bigger I think). The other major change is that they are no longer using the ridged firm backing material like they have before - this is more of a regular fabric. It’s more practical for storage but I’ll miss the old material just because it was a signature for the black hole packs. This bag feels more useable than last year’s 30L, which was basically an upsized design of the old 28L Refugio. The felt-lined sunglasses pocket was a nice touch, but the main compartment on the 30L was just a little too large. The roll down zip from two years ago had a similar problem, and did not look very good unless it was pretty full. The 35L model from way back when was really lacking in organization, but I will say it had really strong/burly feeling materials, at the expense of weight. I really liked how secure the bottom of the pack felt on that model.

November 29, 2019

more type of people can buy your product

The color of your backpack is attractive. For example: (black hole pack 30L), some colors such as dark green can be sold in your branch in 2017, but will not be sold in 2019, can you book online the products you used to sell but do not have now, when booking You only make the products at the US headquarters, and then send them to other countries fo... Read Morer sale. Because your US headquarters is relatively large, you have enough space to store the products you ordered. Because every color of the products you design is very attractive, if you can choose more product colors, you will more types of people like to buy your products.

November 26, 2019

Best Travel Back Pack

Love this backpack. It's big enough I can fit my gym clothes in and small enough I can bring it to work.

November 25, 2019

Jack of all trades

Full disclaimer- I'm obsessed with finding the perfect travel bag. I travel for work A LOT, both domestically and internationally. Problem is the bag has to accomplish many different tasks depending on when, where and how long I'm traveling. Whether the bag is being used as my daily commuter, on a 3 week trip in Europe, or in the desert ... Read Moreas my hiking bag it has met all the challenges I have thrown at it. I LOVE it! I went in store and compared the 25 L vs 32L as I didn't want a bag that looks awkward when not full. The 32L has the ability to be extra spacious for when you're stuffing it to the brim, but also does not look overly large when only partially full. I do not regret my decision going with the larger size as in the side by side they almost looked the same. Black hole material keeps the elements out, I've had rainy internationally travel days, and snowy walks to the office from the train (like this morning). Nothing inside has been remotely damp. If I had any complaint it's when hiking and loaded with my camera kit, the bottom corners can dig into my back when the shoulder straps are pulled really tight. It's only been a handful of times and usually adjusting the straps elevates the issue. Definitely not something that would keep me from buying it, since it accomplishes so many different needs. Overall I cannot recommend this enough. All of my travel bags are now from the Black Hole line. Including dopp kit (small packing cube), in plane seat bag (medium packing cube, still gives me plenty of foot room), and rolling 70L duffel. Get out there!!

November 23, 2019

great commuting backpack

I use this to bike and walk to work and meetings. It gracefully carries my lunch, computer, binders, and sometimes a thermos of tea. It is awesome. It is also beautiful as well as functional.

November 22, 2019

Holds things

This bag holds my things, mostly. It holds what I need, and I can use it by putting my arms thru the loops and wear it as a pack, like, on my back. It’s funny because I used to have to hold everything in my arms and hands when I’m out and about, but now...now, I can put them in my premium Black Hole Pack 32L. I can now use my hands for other things... Read More, like holding my cellular device. Computer looking device for your lap? There’s a space for that. Digital tablet? There’s probably a space for that, too. It has these metal clamp looking things that close up the pack entirely when you pull on them..like tiny metal ties that interlock. Without these, things would fall out easily, which would make a pack on your back useless, because your arms are facing the other way.

November 22, 2019

Chameleon

Great construction great looking - holds more than you think it - great all round!

November 19, 2019

Great Backpack!

I love this backpack! I work in the ski industry and need to put everything plus the kitchen sink in my backpack every day, and I love that its waterproof! It doesn't feel awkward when I stuff it full! 10/10 would recommend!

November 14, 2019

THE PERFECT ALL ROUND BACKPACK

Recently I had been in the market for a HIGHLY water resistant backpack that would be comfortable to wear for long periods of time. As a college student, I am constantly moving around from classes, work, leisure and needed a bag that would be large enough to carry everything I need for school while not overly huge and cumbersome, plus a rain shell ... Read Moreand insulating shell. This backpack has a separate pocket for my iPad and laptop which also helps to keep the weight closer to my back and separate from everything else that’s getting stuffed into a backpack. I have taken this hiking and mountain biking and I’m positive this could work for on a weekend ski trip. I strongly support Patagonia’s mission to protect the environment while constantly putting out great products, this black hole backpack is no exception. The price may be steep, but I’m sure I’ll keep this backpack for years before I buy another. If you’re in between the 32l and the 25l, I would suggest the larger because extra space is always nice. You can’t go wrong with this purchase!!!

November 1, 2019

Great!!

Great!!

November 1, 2019

Awesome Travel Bag

Makes a perfect carry-on for any airline. I've gone on a few short trips around Europe, the longest being 1 week, with just this bag. Easily fit everything I needed and could have squeezed more if I had to. It's a little too big to be my everyday backpack because I usually just carry my laptop and a water bottle. I wouldn't recomme... Read Morend it as an everyday bag unless you usually carry a lot of stuff like a change of clothes or shoes, in which case it would be perfect. It's not so big that you look ridiculous wearing it, it's just hard to fill. Only negative I've found is that I feel I have to use the chest strap a lot of the time to keep the bag in a comfortable position. I have broad shoulders and it sometimes feels like the bag is slipping off. This doesn't really bother me, except in hot weather as the chest strap can warm you up. I still give the bag 5 stars, because for my use it's been perfect!

October 31, 2019

Goes anywhere, hauls everything

Great bag, loads of room. I've taken this bag on international flights, day trips, and frequently use it for getting groceries on my bike. Super tough too, took a nasty spill on my bike and the bag was unscathed. Well thought out design too.

October 28, 2019

Black Hole Pack 32L

I love this bag! All the various compartments are super handy. There's tons of room, but the bag does not feel big and bulky. The top compartment for easy access is particularly handy for keeping headphones in. I think my favorite part is how light it is, yet it still feels super durable.

October 24, 2019

Great pack!

Got the 32L black hole as an every day pack. I thought it might be too big but the material is so light and the design is sleek enough that it has not seemed to big even as an every day bag. I like the bottle pockets that fit larger insulated 40oz bottles externally. Great overall pack for urban lifestyle use. Looking forward to the extra capacity ... Read Moreand external access laptop sleeve when I travel with it.

October 21, 2019

Great Pack but.....

My Hydro Flask keeps falling out when I put the pack on the ground. So the side pockets could maybe use some improvement. Other than that I LOVE IT for day trips. Holds alot and is fashionable!

Response from Patagonia
November 8, 2019

Hi Kathryn! Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with this feedback, it's so crucial to improving products in the future. Nevertheless, if you're not totally satisfied with the pack you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return)

October 12, 2019

Good but not great

I purchase Patagonia for the quality. This bag could be bigger to meet my needs (38-40L). The zippers seem kind of skimpy but if they break I know Patagonia will stand behind the product. Also not crazy for that plasticy coating. I guess I want a day back with the toughness of a real backpack without all the bracing and hip straps.

October 8, 2019

Maybe bigger than I needed,

Maybe bigger than I needed, but it fits everything i need so well & never feels over full! I can actually pack my sweaters and jackets away and still have room for everything else I have to carry around all day!

October 7, 2019

Not what I expected

I was really excited about this backpack. I have previously used North Face for all my backpack needs (I'm a college student so it's primarily for carrying my books and the occasional hike), but was getting frustrated with the shedding of the inner lining and the sticky zippers. I ordered this black hole because I thought I would love the... Read More functionality of the protected laptop sleeve and the visibility with the large opening. What I learned is that if you have anything in the top pocket and the main compartment isn't completely full, it sags in on itself. Additionally, the back laptop compartment is really hard to get in and out of. If you're looking to stuff this bag full for every use, 10/10 recommend. Otherwise, I do not recommend this bag for day-to-day use. :( I'm not sure what to do with it now.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2019

Hi Elena! We can definitely understand if the functionality of the 35L Black Hole isn't working for you. We'd like to try to get you into a different pack that may better suit your needs. You can initiate a return or exchange with us at any time. I'll reach out to you privately with more information on how to get that pack back to us.

October 2, 2019

Awesome Backpack!

Had the 25L and decided to upgrade, great choice!

October 1, 2019

Significant flaw on mesh pocket

The internal mesh pocket - the only internal pocket within the main compartment - has a pretty deal-breaking flaw. Patagonia have placed a cord and small carabiner for keys within the mesh pocket, next to the opening zip, using a very thin fabric. After I put items within this mesh pocket, I could no longer open it: the zip was eating the key cord ... Read Morefabric and will not open. There is no access on the other side. The zip has essentially be rendered broken on the first use, and I cannot return the bag with my keys and other valuables locked in this pocket. As such, I had to cut the internal mesh pocket open in order to retrieve my items and now have a bag with no internal storage, just a flappy mesh reminder of a ridiculous design oversight.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return, exchange, or repair you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 26, 2019

Perfect size (large!)

Had the older version of this backpack, which was also a bit smaller. This new one is just great. They moved the laptop sleeve thingy to the outside back side, and just the whole backpack is PERFECT!

September 24, 2019

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE!

This is one of my new favorite items that I own! It fits all my stuff including the extras. It comfortable and the design/style is killerrrr. Love the all black and that it's water-resistent!

September 23, 2019

Black Hole 32L

I love the look of the bag and the size. My son is using it for school, carrying school folders and it has already started to split.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you've experienced some durability issues with this bag. Please note, if you are unsatisfied with the performance of one of our products, we are happy to receive that back. If you'd like any help processing a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return), just [reach out](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact).

September 21, 2019

Makes a great school bag for a middle schooler

Spacious and tough. Will not rip. Rain runs off of it.

September 21, 2019

Super versatile, tough and comfortable

Works as beautifully for short hikes as it does for a short work trip. Love that I can carry 2 days worth of clothes and my laptop etc in one bag

September 19, 2019

For Work and Play, this pack does it all

I use this pack for work and for play. Because my work necessitates carrying large books, I needed to find a pack that was comfortable, light, and aerodynamic. This pack fulfills all three. I also researched how the pack was made--I want to ensure any future purchaser that it is made in a humane way. That was very important to me. Thanks, Patagonia... Read More!

September 17, 2019

Black Hole 32L

My perfect bag! I upgraded to this bag from an old Patagonia Petrolia 28L. I switched to this bag because I wanted the durable, water resistant material and I liked the upgrades that they made to this model. I also own a Black Hole duffel so I knew the material would meet my expectations; I tend to not baby my packs and my duffel has held up well o... Read Morever the years. I use this bag everyday for school, work, and for short-term trips. This is also used as a secondary climbing bag if I'm not hauling all my gear - there is no hip belt so carrying heavy loads for a long approach would not be ideal. Overall, the bag is very clean looking, durable, and spacious without being too bulky. I love the gold color and would recommend this bag if you're looking for a good all-arounder.

September 16, 2019

Upgrade from 25l

I had the 25l for 5 years but working around fish, the bag got pretty gross. Decided to upgrade on size and I love it! 25l would always fall forward when the top was open which is not ideal when working around fish. The extra 7l really makes a difference and loving the brown colorway. Overall black hole bags are great for PNW weather and the materi... Read Moreal really does hold up to heavy wear and tear.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches