Back to Product

Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel 70L

Write Your Review

4.8/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 36 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel 70L

4.8/5
June 12, 2021

Bummed about the straps

I have had my eye on the Blackhole 70L for 2 years but Ive been holding out for the edition that has wheels. I was so excited to purchase this and then realized they eliminated the backpack style straps with the wheel edition. Its such a bummer. I hope they make this version of the bag with the original backpack straps, it would be the perfect duff... Read Morele.

Response from Patagonia
June 15, 2021

Hey Gabrielle, thank you for sharing your feedback with us on the Black Hole Wheeled Duffel Bag 70L. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with the lack of backpack straps. The bag is still able to be held as a duffel, but the backpack strap feature was eliminated with this model. You can see all features for an item by scrolling down to the "Specs and Features" button on the product page. We'll be sure to pass your feedback along. If you haven't already you're welcome to begin a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 31, 2021

Wheeled duffel bag

Sturdy travel bag. I liked he pockets inside and out, the handle on the side, strong zipper and great quality overall

April 27, 2021

70L wheeled black hole bag

In a word Perfect! I was using a 40L standard Black hole bag to travel for business, then I finally broke down and went with a wheeled 70L bag. Work has me in business casual and looking good counts. This bag has enough room that wrinkles don't happen, I can bring what I need without stuffing it in, and I get to wheel it versus carry. It'... Read Mores a win win. This bag will see many many miles as has my standard Black Hole bag.

April 21, 2021

Great Travel Bag

Not too big, not too small. A great travel bag hopping from hotel to hotel.

April 6, 2021

Great bag

The Black Hole line are awesome bags. The 70 continues that tradition, just enough smaller than the 100 for those shorter trips not requiring as much gear. Durable, water repellent, reliable, they are easy to spot when traveling. Can't be beat

April 5, 2021

Well Made

I bought this to replace an older, standard wheeled suitcase - the telescoping handle had failed, as well as one of the zippers - I flew w the new Black Hole bag to Florida two weeks ago - the bag performed as expected, handle seems stronger, and wheels solid - It was checked baggage, and came out good as new! I do a fair amount of traveling, so we... Read Morell see how it holds up long term - so far extremely satisfied!

February 9, 2021

Love these bags

This is my weekend travel bag for skiing. My little boy's getting bigger so I need a larger size. Great space and love the waterproof quality of the bag!

March 22, 2020

Perfection

I'm global in my work and nomadic for five years. High mountains to cityscapes and everything in between. The Black Hole 70L is perfect. Classic. Bold, Strong. Subtle. Holds everything I need. I also have the 100L for expeditions. The 70L replaces a Patagonia Freightliner from the 1990's the still goes strong after bazillions of miles, bu... Read Moret is a bit smaller and less waterproof. In short, you can't go wrong with the Black Hole.

March 5, 2020

Black Hole Bags

I was able to pack 2 weeks of clothing, shoes and toiletries in my 70L for an international trip. I didn’t have to worry about being over weight on my return flight after stuffing souvenirs in my bag. It was easy to maneuver as well

March 5, 2020

Sturdy

This 70L green bag went to Germany with me in January, and it was perfect for the job. I stayed there for six weeks and brought enough clothing to necessitate several loads of laundry. 1.) The handles and straps are easy to use. The two main handles clip together (rather than velcro) which I found pleasing and clean-feeling. 2.) It really DOES NOT ... Read MoreFALL OVER. Guys, this is a game-changer. I have had so many bags topple when I've tried to keep them upright, but this one has a sturdy base. 3.) The wheels were a great size for uneven, cobbled streets. Standard suitcases can be nice for smooth airport sidewalks, but when it comes to life outside the airport, bigger wheels are nice. 4.) The rain didn't make it inside. Germany is rainy this time of year, and Nashville rained to greet me on my return to the USA, and not once did the items inside the bag get wet. 5.) The green color felt calming, didn't feel like a loud advertisement, and was also easy to spot in the airport. 6.) The compression straps inside really helped me smush together all my clothing and souvenirs so I cold zip up for the trip home. 7.) It was a good size for me. It did well on the few train rides. Also, somehow, this bag, though only 70L, weighed exactly 23kg on my return flight. Stuff packed in nicely! 8.) The handle did not quite feel long enough to be used in conjunction with my under-the-seat roller carry-on. It is a shorter roller bag with a strap on the back so it can slide onto the handle of a bigger bag and make transport easier. All in all, great bag. I will probably look into buying a bigger one for bulkier trips.

March 4, 2020

This is my only less than 5 star review

Am a longtime---30 year--customer. I love everything you make for its' practicality and style. Sadly, this bag came up short. Purchased the beautiful black 70L black hole for travel. What surprised me is the opening of the bag, which is smaller than the bag, thus limiting how much one can put inside. When the bag is fully opened, one cannot se... Read Moree completely inside because of the design. Perhaps the designer was trying to be create a more stylish look? It will be fabulous AND stylish with a larger opening. Wish I would have purchased the 100L. Needed a bag right away for a trip otherwise I would return the 70L for the 100L. Please advise. Otherwise, I am Patagonia's biggest fan, seriously. Please help me solve this problem. I love you.

Response from Patagonia
April 7, 2020

Hi there, thanks for this feedback and for being a long time customer. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with this bag. Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed and if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us, you are more than welcome to.

January 25, 2020

Perfect Size for short and long trips

I have a 90L duffel (without wheels) and I find it's very easy to overload and can get heavy. I love the 90L duffel, however the 70L with wheels is my go to bag. It's the perfect size for long and short trips and the standup feature is very handy. I would highly recommend this bag!!! Quality matters and this duffel is a quality product.

January 4, 2020

We love it! All the

We love it! All the bags are great and durable!

December 31, 2019

Easy Travel

This is our 5th piece from the Black Hole series and we still want more! Very durable and tough with sleek design and style!

December 30, 2019

Very nice piece of luggage.

Needed to pack several varied items and this worked great.

December 30, 2019

Black hole:

This was a Christmas gift for my son. He loves it. It is very well made. We look forward to years of travel with it.

December 21, 2019

Great Bag

Just started using it and was impressed with how much it can hold!

December 12, 2019

Black Hole Wheeled Duffel, 70L

This is my second Black Hole Wheeled Duffel. I bought the 100L Black Hole Wheeled Duffel several months ago. It is an excellent piece of luggage for my way of packing, but a little large for some of my travels. Hence, the second Black Hole Wheeled Duffel, 70L. One or the other is always the right size. They are very durable and easy to pack. I just... Read More throw everything in and use the tie down straps to hold the contents tightly in place. Voila!

December 11, 2019

Slick

Material is so solid, colors are great, and rolls like the pillsbury doughboy. No complaints!

December 10, 2019

Utilitarian

Great bag. Small enough to keep you under weight limits for checked bags and big enough to fit a weeks worth of clothing for my two toddlers and I. For us that was max capacity.

December 9, 2019

My go to option

I travel a lot, usually with climbing gear. I have a 3 sizes of the Wheeled Duffel and they're my first pick among several other luggage options. The simple design swallows a loads of gear, including odd sized items (packs, ropes, ice tools, tents, etc.). The wheels make them easy to move around. Only problem I've had was with the largest... Read More bag, which had a wheel lost to trauma inflicted during airline transit. The friendly folks at my local Patagonia store were happy to replace the wheel free or charge.

December 3, 2019

Very happy with everything

Very happy with everything

November 22, 2019

Best rolling duffel...period.

Rugged high quality construction. Check. Keeps elements at bay. Check. Wheels run quietly after running over potholes, snow, sand, cobblestones, mud, puddles, falling off mule... Check, check, and check.

November 13, 2019

Perfect size bag

I work on yachts and am nomadic, so I need a soft bag that I can carry my life in. It doesn’t collapse all the way to become flat, but it does stand upright without falling over which is awesome. The 90L without wheels was much too big for me (I’m 5’1 and petite) and I either hurt my back or needed a cart. Patagonia let me trade in my bag to credit... Read More towards this 70L with wheels and it is enough to hold everything important and I can travel with ease. It’s beautiful too. I also love this company for having such amazing customer service.

November 6, 2019

black hole 70 L with

black hole 70 L with wheels

November 5, 2019

Perfect size

Haven’t used them yet but my brother in law has two of the hundred liter and is not easy on gear. He has had them for many years with no failures. This includes dozens of flights and off road trips. Excited about this product!

November 5, 2019

rockin' roller bag!

The size, construction, wheels and zipper pocket have been well designed for ease of use. Packing this bag for longer trips via air travel allows plenty of room for bulky gear that can be strapped in tight. Highly recommend!

October 29, 2019

Wheeled duffle

We love our Black Hole duffles in all sizes. They have been around the world and held up fabulously. Adding the wheels is great for this size which can take us on a ten day tour or space for 4 people to pack one bag for a weekend!

October 15, 2019

My favorite bag!

The duffel is SO well made. I used it this past weekend for a NSP training event and every detail has been thought through. I can tell that it is going to handle those rough baggage handlers much better that the suitcase I just threw in the garbage.

October 15, 2019

Love my Black Hole luggage

Amazing quality, as expected, and very functional and stylish. Love it.

October 15, 2019

A roomy, tough, good-looking piece

A roomy, tough, good-looking piece of luggage--and the biggest that'll fit into a Miata's trunk.

October 10, 2019

Proud to use a Patagonia bag

I was in need of a new suitcase larger than a carry on. I chose a Patagonia bag because of the company's stand on environmental issues and the fact that they are a Certified B Corp. And I have been thrilled with the bag itself...roomy enough to pack my rolled up yoga mat and anything else I could possibly need for any trip! Plus, the purple co... Read Morelor is rich and easy to spot on the luggage turnstile.

September 30, 2019

Bomber Rolling Duffel!

I already own the massive 110 Liter version. Needed this for the wife so she can actually lift it when it’s full.

September 28, 2019

Super stoked on this bag,

Super stoked on this bag, durable and big enough for everything I need. But not too big that it’s a hassle

September 8, 2019

wheeled duffel

I like everything about it except the weight. Perhaps I'm just weaker than I thought but it does seem heavy.

August 20, 2019

70L black hole

Well designed straps keep everything in place. Great wheels too.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches