Back to Product

Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel 100L

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • ALL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 62 Reviews

Clear All

Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel 100L

4.6/5
August 10, 2021

Great, but...

The quality is great, but I feel like it needs more pockets or storage compartments inside.

August 2, 2021

Best waterproof durable travel bag Ive used yet.

Best waterproof durable travel bag I've used yet. The wheels make this bag. Just completed 10days of filming in the Amazon. Most time spent on boat and remote communities where no shelter was available for the bag. Lots of rain, mud and sunshine but this bag kept everything secure. I built a solid frame for lenses inside one half of the bag an... Read Mored drone storage in other half. Was able to fit tent and many extras with room to spare. Highly recommend this bag and pairing it with the waterproof backpack and carry-on.

July 21, 2021

Awesome

This bag is the real deal

June 26, 2021

Great Bag!

Superb Bag!

June 12, 2021

Great bag, great quality!

This is my second black hole big bag, after destroying two freight liner max bags over the course of 20+ years of worldwide travel to difficult fishing destinations. These bags are better looking than the freightliners, but dont have the structure on the sidewalls that I prefer - otherwise, theyre great.

June 5, 2021

Black Hole Back

My black hole bag bought over 15 years ago has traveled all over the world and taken endless abuse. It is one of my favorite possessions. Even though I have not bought this newer version, IF my old one ever wears out, I will get another right away. One of the best purchases I ever made.

May 15, 2021

Rockin and Rolling

Whether headed to visit the parents or off on an epic adventure, the wheeled duffels manage clothing and gear to meet the largest or smallest needs. Finally the handles simply and efficiently moves up and down to meet any size person and conditions. Add the large skate-board Type wheel and they Ill over any terrain - sand a bit more ending. Watchin... Read Moreg luggage being loaded on the plane or boat in the rain used to add gut wrenching sucking sound, but the fabric on these bags handles that deluge. All in all, 5 stars and a Must have.

May 8, 2021

My third wheeled duffel!

This is the third wheeled duffle we have purchased and plan to buy one more so each family member has one! These are very sturdy. I seriously doubt the airlines could do any serious damage to this bag short of slicing with something sharp like a knife. The interior is roomy and held a week's worth of clothing, toiletries and 4 pairs of mens sh... Read Moreoes. The wheels are high quality and roll smooth and quiet. They are well protected by the frame. The extending handle seems much more solid and sturdy than another well-known expensive name brand suitcase I own. I wouldn't pack breakables in this bag. The airlines cracked a coffee mug I thought I packed well in the center of the bag surrounded by clothing. I would like to see Patgonia design it about 1-2 lbs lighter so it makes it easier to comply with the airlines weight requirements, but they would likely haven't sacrafice toughness which isn't something I would want to compromise.

April 22, 2021

100 Black hole wheeled

After 15 years it was time for a new travel bag. My original bag lasted 15 years and Im sure this one will go the distance also. Newer water resistant material is definitely a plus.

April 10, 2021

Excellent design

I haven't had this bag very long, however I'm on my first trip using it. It fits plenty of clothing, gear, etc. I've packed up sleeping bags for my son and myself and my clothing, some ski gear and more. The wheels roll very easily. I'm a fan. It seems very sturdy so far, hopefully it feels this way years from now, too.

March 31, 2021

Nice Bag but Quickly Broke

I purchased this product and on the first trip the axle for the wheel got bent during travel. It wobbled for a couple more trips and then broke off. It has not been a quick process to get a replacement. I like the actual bag but the roller wheels seem poorly built.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2021

Hello Ross, we're truly sorry that one of the wheels broke on your first trip. If you purchased this directly through our website and if you are in the US, we can quickly send you a free replacement. If you didn't purchase it from our website, we'd have to go through a different process which sadly takes a bit longer, but we'll get you taken care of nonetheless. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us.

March 26, 2021

Perfect travel bag

Perfect bag for fly fishing travel. Hold rods, reels and gear safely. Handles well. Barrier than competition which I like. Waterproof is very important too.

March 25, 2021

Sturdy and functional

Fantastic bag that will put up with years of abuse in airports in addition to the recycled materials it uses. Well worth it.

February 23, 2021

Great bag with a slight design flaw

I have several black hole duffle bags which I love, so I purchased the 100L wheeled duffle to complete the set. The bag itself is great - recycled materials, high capacity, and seemingly quite durable but it has a design flaw : it's only two wheeled. When you fill the bag with gear, it can be extremely heavy, and because you need to keep it ti... Read Morelted over to pull it, it can be very tiresome to wheel it around. My wife wasn't able to wheel hers more than a few blocks at a time before her arms gave out and so we needed to return it. If Patagonia could add two additional wheels so the bag could roll completely vertical, I would happily repurchase.

February 6, 2021

It works

just wish it still had the backpack strap function.

January 18, 2021

Nice but poorly built

I have had this wheeled duffel for about three years now and it has been to six or seven countries in three continents. In other words, it has been used pretty regularly. I love the size, the compartments, the aesthetics, but Im very disappointed with the build quality. Within the first year of use the bag started to fall apart, first the handle co... Read Morempartment and then both wheels. Ive tried to fix both myself but really its just gerry rigged because even the things that should be fixable arent. The wheel assembly is very weak and the bolts that serve as axles get bent very easily. Replacing these with stronger bolts should be easy but the problem is inside the assembly there is nothing to hold on to the bolts. Again, I have used this bag to travel all over the world, but regardless I would have expected it to last a lot longer.

Response from Patagonia
February 25, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the durability of your Black Hole® Wheeled Duffel Bag. All of our gear is covered by our lifetime warranty so please reach out to our Customer Service team for a repair or replacement.

December 28, 2020

Great bag

I love my new travel bag, it is very large, I even fit my king size pillow along with all my other travel needs for 10 days of travel to Mexico. The bag is well made and rolled smoothly. Super happy with my purchase and excited to use it on my next trip.

October 9, 2020

Great bag for travel

Love this bag for traveling. Would have given a 5 star rating if the retractable handle was longer. I agree with other reviewer that a longer handle allows you to more easily stack a second bag. 100L

September 14, 2020

Disaster Relief Gear Bag

We havent deployed since COVID-19; but, now Im better prepared. This bag will allow the carry of some base camp Kit, an emergency field pack and other gear as needed for the situation. It will be supplemental to other bags, such as a carry on when traveling by commercial flight. We have used - and used up - many types of bags. This one is much more... Read More resistant to heavy rain, etc. It looks, feels, handles likereal kit! I could almost (operative word) engineer a tougher bag... which would cost 2-3 times as much in both types of expense...

July 14, 2020

Great Gear Hauler

The Black Hole wheeled duffel is so good, my first one was stolen! Durable construction with great wheels enable you to get where you are going. Its holds so much stuff that you can easily get over the air carriers weight limit!

June 21, 2020

The bag

Looking for a true travel bag, it is this one.

June 17, 2020

The bag

Looking for a true travel bag, it is this one.

April 24, 2020

Top shelf bag!

Ive had my first 100L black hole wheeled duffel bag for just under two years. In that time, it has traveled throughout North, Central, and South America with me several times. Despite unavoidable and harsh treatment through the handling of esteemed airline baggage handlers, to cramming it in the back of the worlds tiniest taxi and bringing it thr... Read Moreough a variety of environments, the materials with which this bag was made show very little wear and tear and seem almost self healing. So, not sure what wizardry was applied to my bag but Im grateful and I love it! One of my favorite parts is the robust (but light) frame and harder shell that makes up the bottom and back roller feature of the bag. Ive used this aspect to pack away delicate souvenirs or bottles of whatever local adult beverage I wanted to bring home to share with friends without any issue or fear of damage. Its trusty and has the space and protection which has given me confidence in packing for trips from a week to six months away. Though I probably didnt need to, I bought another one of these bags and its been, and always will be my go-to for travel. Thanks!

February 6, 2020

The wheels are cheap

After 4 trips the wheel axel was bent. As of this morning the bag was rolling fine but after a two hour flight the wheel was gone when I picked it up from baggage claim. Now I'm on a 3-city work trip for 2.5 weeks, dragging around a 100L bag of clothing with one wheel. Not what I paid for or expected. So frustrating considering I already threw... Read More out my old duffle roller that I got from a discount retailer in 2002 that never lost a wheel!! Other than the quality/design issue, the bag looks great and is a perfect size. My partner and I were deciding on another 70L or 100L, but now we're probably going to rethink that.

Response from Patagonia
February 8, 2020

Sorry to hear the bag had a wheel issue so soon after purchase, but we really appreciate the great feedback! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the bag to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center. We'll gladly send wheels to you on your trip if that fits into your schedule as well. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us!

February 2, 2020

Black Hole Wheeled Duffle 100L

Great travel bag, always my main pack for my month long work events Great resistance to the weather, the belly of a plane, and the camp sites. The quality of the craft over all is on par with what I can expect from this company. I wouldn't complain if it were a bit more sturdy in regards to the metal frame as well as maybe a upgrade for the wh... Read Moreeels. Putting it short, sometimes I travel along rougher roads. So having some kind of all terrain wheel option to be a game changer!

January 19, 2020

Bag needs better design

I'm an avid Patagonia user. My job takes me around the world where I am traveling to a wide range of environments. I have a three bags from the Black Hole franchise and I love them. I bought the 100ml bag for a film where I was going on a shoot deep into the amazon. After packing my bag I quickly realized this bag had some design flaws. 1st im... Read Moreprovement needed are handles on all four sides so you can grab from the side and top to quickly lift and store. 2nd improvement needed is a support bar at the bottom front of the bag so when you stand it up the weight doesn't make it topple over. 3rd improvement needed on this bag is to increase the length of the retractable handle. It is nice to be able to throw a smaller bag on top when you are rolling through an airport and need to give your back a rest. Thx.

January 10, 2020

Black Hole Wheeled Duffel 100L

Big fan of this bag. The wheels seem quite sturdy and the bag rolls effortlessly. The ability to roll a 100L bag packed full of clothes and supplies takes a big strain off of the back

January 5, 2020

Amazing Gear Bag

I got this bag right before Christmas for a ski trip and was able to pack all my gear and casual wear in it. The size is perfect for toting ski gear (ie jackets, pants, baselayers, etc.) all over the place. The tote is super durable and the wheels make for an easy stroll through the airport no matter how full it is. I used to travel with 2-3 bags, ... Read Moreand now it all fits in the rolling duffel.

January 2, 2020

Awesome!

The best bags ever and they will last you forever!

December 31, 2019

Black Hole Wheeled Duffel 100L

An excellent quality, wheeled, tough duffel.

December 30, 2019

Love this bag

I gave this bag to my daughter and her husband for Christmas. They already have one in a different color and needed a new one now that they have two kids. Left our house repacked for a ski trip to celebrate Christmas with the in-laws singing the bag’s praises for being able to hold all they needed including presents for the in-laws!!

December 24, 2019

Love this duffel!

Lots of room, hardy bag.

December 23, 2019

Recommended, but only conditionally

Based on the glowing reviews this bag has received from others, I thought I'd purchase one. I was very pleased with most aspects of it - all aspects in fact, until the third time I used it, when airline baggage handlers managed to somehow severely bend one of the axles. I tried searching the internet to find if/how axles can be repaired and wh... Read Moreile the autocomplete of the search engine filled in what I was about to type, I found very little information. I suspect, since the search engine knew where I was going with my query, I'm not the first person to search this topic. It's unfortunate that a bag as pricey as this one would be so easily damaged and I'm not certain, after looking at how things are assembled, that it can be repaired. So, I would say that if you are going to be able to ensure that the bag is handled with reasonable care i.e. not entrusted to airline baggage handlers and such it would be a great bag but I can't recommend it for use when it must be entrusted to those who handle luggage sans kid gloves.

December 22, 2019

The handle anything bag

Fantastic bag. Super durable and easy to pack everything in. Great for long trips or to pack the whole family in one bag.

December 20, 2019

100% for the 100L!

Big, and looks great. I’ve yet to use it, but I know it will do a great job like all Patagonia products. You can’t go wrong here!

December 19, 2019

Great bag so far

I just returned from my first trip with this bag and so far it is wonderful. Plenty big to fit all sorts of gear (no problem putting full size dive fins in). Thankfully, it has enough form to stand upright regardless of how full it is. Be prepared to wind up over standard checked baggage weight limits, it's easy to put more than 50 lbs in this... Read More bag. I can't speak to how it will wear over time, but so far I'm quite impressed, and already considering buying a second for large and extended trips with family.

December 18, 2019

Black Hole Duffel

Love this bag! It's true to its name, its definitely a black hole!

November 29, 2019

Black Hole Wheeled Duffel 100L

I'm going to Patagonia in Argentina on a fishing trip soon. My guide recommended this bag since it is large enough to carry my fly rod (4 pc), waders, Patagonia-Danner fishing boots, a week's worth of clothes, other fishing gear and maybe even a fishing boat. It is a big bag. I haven't traveled with it yet, so don't have any exp... Read Moreerience to share, but so far it seems good.

November 29, 2019

Black hole wheeled duffel

This bag holds everything you need for a week of skiing (or more) and is built like a tank. The scars from the airplane baggage handlers only improve its looks; like honest playing wear on a nice guitar.

November 2, 2019

Awesomeness!

The bag was a gift to my daughter that has been traveling with a 20 year old piece of luggage that already weighed 25 pounds empty. The black hole bag is a new beginning to traveling for her. Roomy and light weight! Complete awesomeness! Every kiddo of mine has a black hole to take them to the ends of the Earth! 💪

October 21, 2019

Bought the 100L after the

Bought the 100L after the zipper broke on my smaller one that I had for years. Still tough, still well-made, and still perfect for every trip.

October 8, 2019

Big duffel

This duffel is bigger than you think. It fits so much stuff, that invariably I have space left over. It is well constructed and durable in all aspects. Easy to haul and roll.

October 3, 2019

So much space

I love this bag. It's durable, plenty of space an extended vacation and the large wheels make it possible to roll across a lot of different terrain. I bought the 70L first but it was just a little small. I really wish Patagonia had a size between 75L & 100L, that would be the perfect for me.

September 24, 2019

Durable and stuff able. Can

Durable and stuff able. Can put all my Plein Air painting gear ( plus some clothing) in it for flying to painting locations.

September 23, 2019

Best roller bag!

This is the hands down best travel bag.. it seems to store more then my other roller from TNF even though it’s the same volume. I highly recommend this!

September 16, 2019

A great large traveling pice of luggage

Can’t wait to use it on my trip to Florida this winter. Just about fits everything I need to spend a few months in the Keys. Perfect luggage size to check if flying.

September 16, 2019

Best travel bag ever!

I have had many bags but this one takes the cake! Durable strong plenty of room and bullet proof!

September 8, 2019

Greatwheeled duffel

Just back from a trip to Chamonix with my new Black Hole duffel. It does exactly what I needed it to do: carried all gear and clothing needed, weathertight, easy to roll over cobbles, through airports, etc, easy to spot on the luggage conveyor, Showed NO marks after 2 weeks in some difficult travel.

September 5, 2019

International travel to weekend car camping is great, but did not hold up to baggage handlers

I have the older 120L. I took ONLY this bag for a 1 year trip to Korea and then a 1.5 year trip to the Dominican Republic. It has tons of space and looks great. The wheels can be a blessing and a curse. The bag is so big it holds a lot and is suited to be wheeled but the wheels took some damage on my international flights which took it from a bless... Read Moreing to a curse. The good: It's huuuuge! The outside material is very durable Handle placement is superb The zippers all work great (I even put a TSA lock on the main compartment, np) Extended handle is sturdy and well built Rolls easily* The bad: The inside compression straps work ok but because it's so big it needs another one in the middle, it bulges in the middle The wheels did not hold up to the baggage handlers. First flight I had one of the wheels bent. Maybe the third flight and the other bent. Patagonia is great, even internationally, unless you're in a country that does not supply that type of bag. They tried to repair it while I was in Korea and made it worse. I had it fixed when I got back to the US. If you are doing a lot of airline travel (my problems could be limited to international), I would be wary of taking this bag. Otherwise, it is amazing!

September 5, 2019

Handle and wheels

For the price the handle and wheels seem cheap

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback! Please note, your satisfaction is always guaranteed on Patagonia products. To initiate a return, please view our [Returns Page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 4, 2019

Wheels Rock, Fits in Overhead on Small Plane 40L Wheeled Black Hole Bag

I travel a lot. The wheels are sturdy as a bag should be. The bag fits, while lengthwise, in a small CRJ plane overhead bin, which is awesome. It's 'flat laying'. I'd add some grab loop to the bottom, sleek but functional to toss up a bit easier. The handles are normal human size, and sturdy thankfully. I'd include purchase... Read More of an optional Patagonia Medium Cube to help with the small stuff at the top of the bag for your organization. I have the 40L duffel and I could take both and pack enough for a variety of conditions!

August 29, 2019

Why didn't I buy one sooner?!

Black hole is a very accurate description. I'm pretty sure this bag can also double as Mary Poppins bag. It can seriously pack a ton of gear with ease. We packed for hiking adventures with a 9 month old in this bag and were able to fit an entire external frame baby carrier in the bag and still pack everything we needed with room to spare. The ... Read Morematerial is very durable and extra points because it is recycled. We bought two bags, with the trout on them and this made our bags super easy to pick out at the airport. Just get the bag. You will use it, you will love it, you will also want the carry-on 40L.

August 28, 2019

Travel bags

The 100L Blackhole duffel is a great bag. Durable and holds all my gear.

August 25, 2019

Rugged and easy to manage.

I packed this bag full on a recent trip to Ecuador. We moved around quite a bit over the 12 day trip and this wheeled duffel was perfect. Easy to roll and very well made.

August 18, 2019

Perfect for gear heavy solo traveling

I've been hemming and hawing about getting a wheeled duffel, as I've been able to get by with my regular duffels, but with more frequent gear heavy solo traveling, I made the plunge. Holy guacamole, life is easier! With the rigid framing of the wheeled duffel you don't have as much give as you would with the regular duffel, but man i... Read Moret makes a difference to be able to pull it around on wheels rather than doing the duffel shuffle in both hands, one on your back, and one turtled on your chest. The new 100L has the same dimensions as the previous 120L, for those who are curious about what the new sizes mean!

August 12, 2019

The BLACKEST Hole

I have enjoyed traveling on different continents with my 70L .. and purchased the 100L for an extended travel adventure. However, it didn't service me well for several reasons. Primarily, the wheels weren't versital enough -- if they redesign, I'd suggest those rotating/pivotal types. Next, it was too big and deep -- I couldn't ... Read Morefind things -- they got lost! Finally, it was too large -- bulky & heavy-- to comfortably take it off the luggage carousel.

August 12, 2019

Great Bags

We use these bags for hauling gear for work and definitely put them through the wringer. From the van to the airlines these things work great!

August 12, 2019

Awesome bag, just a bit too large

I just took this bag on a 3-week adventure through France, Italy and Switzerland. The bag handled the trip well, I only wish it was a bit smaller. I didn't need all the room it offered, it was at the weight limit for air travel without being packed full, and it was a bit of a beast to get up stairs without help. I would have liked to have purc... Read Morehased a 90 liter version instead, which doesn't seem to be available any longer in a roller bag. I do have the 90 liter black hole bag, and it's the perfect size, but I wanted a roller bag for this recent adventure. I will say that it was easy to live out of this bag, moving daily and not unpacking at all.

August 10, 2019

We love our bag!

We bought two of these and traveled overseas with them. They are a great size and easy to cart around. We bought these bigger ones after loving our medium size Patagonia bag.

August 10, 2019

Homerun bag

While the hopes for this bag and its travels are more grandiose. The week trip to the beach it worked flawlessly. I was able to pack for myself and two kids all in one bag. Made for an easy trip at the airport.

August 10, 2019

Travels great!

This is our second black hole bag on wheels. These really are the best! I was a little disappointed that the new ones are 100L and not the 120L like my old one but it just makes me travel a bit lighter☺️ Love this bag!!!

August 10, 2019

Well crafted!

The 100L wheeled duffel securely held all my travel gear. The design allows easy access and the ability to move a lot of my gear without straining my back. I'm impressed and will be using this bag for most of my long trips!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches