Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Recycled Wool Shirt

Write Your Review

4.24 /5

Filter Reviews

All 46 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Recycled Wool Shirt

4.24
True To Size
December 8, 2020

Nice quality

Slightly itchy on the neck

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2021

We're sorry to hear that this was a bit itchy for you, sometimes if you have an allergy to wool it will cause a reaction. If you're experiencing this, please feel free to make a return! We'd also recommend you check out our [Men's Recycled Cashmere Crewneck Sweater](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-recycled-cashmere-crewneck-sweater/50525.html?dwvar_50525_color=BEBR), it might feel a little softer to the touch.

December 6, 2020

Very warm

This is very nice shirt. Machine washable,Easy care. I am yet to wear it but can tell it is very warm, though expensive, is worth its price. I will recommend.

December 1, 2020

Warm Wool Shirt

I like this shirt. Yes, it's a little itchy (I wear it with a long sleeved base layer) but it is very warm and I expect it to be durable. I typically wear Medium, but this fits big and the Small fits me well.

November 20, 2020

Nice but a reminder Patagonia's Poor Sizing

I would rate this a 10/10 for quality workmanship, a 7/10 for materials (the wool is a little scratchy at first), and a 3/10 for fit. I'm 5'8" with a 38 chest and overall athletic build. The medium is too large and the small is too small. If your measurements are similar to mine, good luck finding Patagonia clothing that fits well. P... Read Moreatagonia's poor fit for someone of similar stature is pretty well documented on the internet. Otherwise, it's a really nice shirt.

November 12, 2020

Super soft and great fit

This shirt is a winner Out of the box its warm and handled rain and damp fine Dried and was ready again

October 28, 2020

Cute and cozy

This is a very nice, breathable shirt. Warm, quality. I wear it with a base layer.

October 12, 2020

Really nice, really itchy.

Shirt is beautiful and fits well, and seems to be well made. However, it is indeed very itchy, especially in the arms. I wont be able to wear this without a long sleeve layer underneath it, which significantly reduces its versatility IMO. They should line the sleeves or find a way to make it less itchy. I have plenty of wool garments that arent i... Read Moretchy at all, so I know it can be done.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry for the itchiness. Even though you are liking the look and fit of the shirt, if it is causing too much discomfort, please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us.

October 12, 2020

Great for cool to cold weather

I was gifted one of these recycled wool shirts a year back & have since purchased a couple more. They are perfect for fall weather & layering in the winter. They are my favorite shirts I own.

October 5, 2020

How I made it a perfect match.

I'm very satisfied because of the performance of the fabric mix which is not easy to find. It contents recycled wool (not Merino wool), so people with sensitive skin (even lightly) may find it itchy unless wearing something else underneath. I bought this shirt as a mid layer to work outside in conditions below 20 degrees Celcius. I combine it ... Read Morewith a moisture wicking undershirt (no cotton) and a wind jacket and it works perfectly. I adjust the opening of the jacket and of this button shirt to regulate my body temperature and to keep me dry as much as possible. It is resistant so I expect to keep it for a long time. A must to stay warm and to fight moisture.

October 3, 2020

Awesome!!

For people saying thats its itchy, your right. But thats quality wool. After wearing rag wool sweaters for years, your skin adapts. This is a shirt thatll wear like iron and be something that youll have for a long time. Thats why I began purchasing Patagonia. I bought this for casual wear along with work and maybe fishing. The fit is perfect. Id be... Read More labeled as skinny. Im 59 and a very lean 150 lbs. this shirt fits perfect in small. This is something Ill be wearing this on 30 degree mornings while splitting wood or something to wear on the commute to work. Its also stylish enough to wear out and not looking like Grizzly Adams.

September 14, 2020

Up north gear.

My son who is a college student in Duluth loves this shirt which he wears with one of your vests. Great fit.

September 10, 2020

Runs smaller than the north face xl

Nice but a little smaller in the arms and chest than the comparable north face xl hiking shirt I own. Otherwise no complaints.

September 2, 2020

Too scratchy to wear without base layer.

This product fits and looks great. However it is too scratchy to wear next to the skin. I've washed it once hoping for improvement but none had. Will likely return.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

We're so sorry to hear this was too scratchy. All of our products are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them at any time!

June 15, 2020

Itchty & Thin

they're itchy and the fabric is thin. i bought 2 of the organic flannel shirts a couple of years ago and since the pattern & price were the same i mistakenly assumed these (recycled flannel) were the same fabric - they're not. those shirts were amazing, these are at NOT the same product. if you didn't have the previous version ... Read Moremaybe these are OK but they are very itchy on bare skin, the fabric is thin and flat to the touch. i've been a patagonia customer for over 25 years and even have a few items which are that old. the quality used to be fantastic. unfortunately, over the past several years, more often than not, i've been disappointed with my purchases. true sustainability comes from producing products that last a lifetime not writing cute copy.

Response from Patagonia
June 17, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about your disappointment and really appreciate you taking the time to express your thoughts. Please note, if you're ever unsatisfied with something, or it wasn't what you had expected, you're more than welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back.

May 11, 2020

An Heirloom Piece

I am a huge fan of this heritage-style shirt. For those who've said it's itchy, it's wool - what do you expect other than fantastic heat retention, durability, and all-day comfort? I fully expect to have this in my wardrobe for decades and hope to pass this down to other generations in my family.

March 7, 2020

Great looking shirt, but too itchy (sad face).

Love the fit, design and color - but unfortunately, after trying it on....inside of shirt is too itchy (sad face).

Response from Patagonia
April 8, 2020

Hi Jeth! Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the M's Long-Sleeved Recycled Wool Shirt is too itchy. We want you to be satisfied with your purchase so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your shirt to us.

January 8, 2020

too itchy

Bought this as a gift for my husband, but we ended up returning it be/c it was too itchy for him, especially around the collar. He doesn't wear turtlenecks, so that's not an option. Beautiful colors though and very well made.

January 1, 2020

Great wool shirt

Very high quality wool shirt

December 30, 2019

Recycled Wool Shirt

Really like this shirt- warm and comfortable, plently of room and it looks great.

December 30, 2019

It's Wool!

Great fit, was everything I expected. Perfect for this wintery weather on the east coast.

December 28, 2019

Wool flannel shirt

This was a gift for my son. He loved the shirt pattern and it looks soft. But it is itchy when on. You would have to wear a shirt under it

December 22, 2019

Instant fave

Thanks, Patagonia, for throwing some love towards us slim dues. The shirt fits my 150 pound, 6 foot frame beautifully. That’s the small. The wall in polyester blend is a gem. It’s slightly itchy, but wall lovers should have no trouble with that. Can be used even as a technical shirt due to the fabric make up. Wonderful colors and designs, wonderful... Read More update of the old classic Woodsmans wool shirt. Another spot on product from Patagonia!

December 16, 2019

I like this shirt. The

I like this shirt. The pattern and the way the colors bleed are exquisite. I like how the neck and cuffs are lined. If the sleeves were lined as well it would help keep my arms from itching. I wear my Capliene2 long sleeve lightweight base layer which helps. Cheers!

December 2, 2019

Perfect fit and color!

Perfect fit and color! Very well-made and tailored. Made a hit at Thanksgiving dinner.

November 22, 2019

Like the shirt, quite itchy

The fabric is pretty ichy. Fit, style, and warmth is all really good but the handfeel kind of kills the shirt for me.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Sorry to hear that fabric isn't working for you, Sandy! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the shirt under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://www.patagonia.com/ironclad-guarantee.html) for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

November 12, 2019

Awesome shirt

Love this thing. It's an excellent layering piece or great on its own on chilly but not cold/windy days. I layer a Capilene long sleeve tee underneath to avoid the itch and I'm comfortable all day. Haven't had to wash it after several wearings either since you need an undershirt. I like the easy access of the flap closure pockets. Bu... Read Morettons are easy to work and the cut is perfect. This is a really great looking shirt. Its casual but very easy to dress up. Typical, premium quality workmanship and components that you would expect from Patagonia. I'm 5'11 190 and M fits like a dream.

November 11, 2019

Versatile warm shirt.

Versatile warm shirt.

November 8, 2019

Amazing shirt!

I bought this for my husband and he wears it all the time. The details are amazing and it's nice and warm.

November 5, 2019

Great mid layer

I have really enjoyed the benefits of wool, especially it’s ability not to smell after a long day of work or play. Even though I would technically call this a dress shirt 😂 since it’s a button down, I have been using it as a mid layer with one light layer underneath. It is itchy unlike the merino wool, but not a problem with a light layer undernea... Read Moreth. The only thing that would make this shirt even easier to own is for the washing instructions to be more clear or an explanation on the website would be nice for those who are a little nervous about owning wool garments.

November 4, 2019

Wool Shirt

Thank you for keeping a wool shirt on the rack. The fit is nice and snug - perfect for a Labrador salmon river.

October 29, 2019

Just what I wanted

This shirt has been great so far. The fit is a little longer and the shoulders fit perfectly. I like the simplicity with no placket stitching. The shirt is a nice weight and has been great on the fall days in The NW so far. Slightly scratchy but not uncomfortable by any means.

October 28, 2019

Great Shirt

Fits true to size. Doesn't have a huge tail like many flannels. Feels wonderful for wool.

August 10, 2019

Love the style, but the

Love the style, but the material is too itchy for me.

May 30, 2019

Versital

Recently took this new shirt into the backcountry. It was great on the approach for an outer layer on the initial climb, packed well, and warmed me up at the top for a snack.

May 13, 2019

Durable mid-layer in the woods or out and about in-town

Tough and sturdy fabric. Can be itchy, but I was not planning on wearing it at skin level and it's on part with other past Patagonia wool shirts I have. Shirt has seen use while day hiking, car and plane travel, with and with out a pack. Breaths well enough and adds warmth over a base layer when exerting and so far, does not retain much odor a... Read Morefter repeated daily use. Size small fits well enough for thin base layers as well as thicker base layers, too.

May 8, 2019

Got an itch...scratch it!

The shirt is great! Lil itchy without an undershirt. Warm and sized right. I generally buy large but bought a medium and like the fit better plus I won't wash it as much due to wearing an undershirt under it. Love the pattern, expensive!

May 8, 2019

Nice shirt, a little scratchy..

I like the concept of the recycled wool, which earns this a higher rating.. I am a big fan of wool. I love my merino base layers, and have had all kinds of funky wool plaid shirts over the years. This shirt is very well made, and I love the slightly groovy colors. It is a little scratchier than I expected. But, it is wool.. A nit-picky thing is t... Read Morehe care labels.. There is no plain verbal version that says "Machine Wash Cold" or anything like that.. There are different 2 sets of those tiny confusing symbols. I have no idea what they mean, so I got out my magnifying glass and went to Google to figure out how to take care of this shirt.. Unfortunately, my friend did not do the research and washed and dried the shirt for me. It's a little snugger now. It is a great shirt and will last for years.

May 8, 2019

Recycled wool shirt

It's great! Fits well. Itches a bit

April 2, 2019

Itchy

The fit and quality are fantastic but it is nearly unbearable to wear without a long sleeve shirt under it.

April 2, 2019

Itchy

The fit and quality are fantastic but it is nearly unbearable to wear without a long sleeve shirt under it.

April 2, 2019

Wood chopin', sittin' by the fire, or at work

This is a great shirt. It is a solid wool shirt that is super functional and it looks good enough to wear to the office.

March 25, 2019

Great Shirt

This is a sturdy shirt with some weight to it. I find that's it's a little warmer than similar Patagonia shirts in cotton. I've worn it with both a short- and long-sleeve undershirts and it both work find for me (not too itchy). I bought a small because that's the size that works for me when I order from Patagonia and it fits we... Read Morell.

February 21, 2019

Excellent - As Always

Another top quality product from Patagonia. I have the Navy Blue plaid and it's excellent. I love the front pockets without the button, they're low profile but big enough to put a phone and other items inside. The material feels strong and relatively heavy and I'm sure will last many years of continual wear. It does itch a little but... Read More not to the extent that it makes it uncomfortable and I'm sure it will soften over time. I'm 5'11" and 160lbs and my go-to size with Patagonia is medium. I bought this in a medium and it fits great. I gave it a wash and dry and it did shrink slightly - just enough to be a perfect fit. This shirt is warm, stylish, functional and recycled. Perfect. Looking forward to many years of use.

January 10, 2019

Super All Arounder

From semi-casual to ski trips, this shirt does a lot of things well and simply.

December 14, 2018

A new favorite.

I am SO impressed by this shirt. It is cut is a very stylish way, isn't very bulky, and incredibly warm. The recycled wool/poly/nylon blend provides excellent durability and allows the shirt to keep its shape. At first I found the shoulders a little snug, but that was because I was used to having to layer quite a bit under a similar style shir... Read Moret made from other materials (e.g. cotton, flannel), but because of its warmth, I can get away with a thin t-shirt or nothing at all. I like this shirt so much, I now own two (and contemplating a third).

November 15, 2018

Love this shirt!

I bought this shirt for work, climbing trees in Colorado ( arborists) and it is nearly perfect. The fit is great, I’m 5,9 180lbs 34 waist 44chest so the large is perfect , enough room in shoulder and chest but not too long ( dress like) The wool/ poly combination seems very comfortable and warm while having nice comfort range . Here on the front ra... Read Morenge a working day might go from a frosty 25 morning to sunny 65 afternoon and a quick drop again when the sun dips under the flat irons. I find the Patagonia wool/poly base layer ( my favorite of all time) goes a long way under this shirt. The pockets are perfect! Two pockets is key! Why don’t all shirts have two pockets!? These pockets are just the right size for my glasses and iPhone . The flaps on the pockets are great! They offer security without fussing with buttons and they look good. My wife even gives this shirt the wear to dinner stamp of approval! I’d like another on in the butterscotch color. The nearly in nearly perfect is because I was hoping the shirt would have a smoother outer finish, so it would layer a little easier under my filson jacket and not snag on branches. The texture is the same as my wool shirts . Thanks for helping outfit me for this winter and being such an inspiring and high quality company! Joe

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches