Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Island Hopper Shirt

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 41 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Island Hopper Shirt

4.6/5
May 30, 2022

Unfortunate change in fabric mix

Patagonia is my "go-to" brand for my outdoor and fishing clothing and equipment.  Over the course of more than a decade I have bought more than a dozen of the Island Hopper shirts.  It was a great product to fish, explore and hike in, providing comfortable and airy UV and insect protection in warm and/or sunny weather. While this product ... Read Moreoccasionally went through minor design changes (some good, some less so), it deserved a 5 star rating.  No longer. My latest purchase (Voyage/Dyno White color, discounted) of an Island Hopper shirt has been a real disappointment.  In that iteration I would give it no more than two stars:  the fabric is completely different from what it used to be.  It is almost unwearable.  What happened?  It seems that the cotton percentage is the same as it has been for many years.  However, the polyester portion has been changed to a recycled material.  While I appreciate the effort to use more recycled material (and Patagonia's corporate philosophy in general), in this product it has resulted in a much inferior outcome.  The shirt really feels "plastic-ky" on the skin and completely different from the "traditional" Island Hopper fabric.  I have tried washing it a number of times, hoping that it would change the feel.  No luck. This is the third product among my favorite Patagonia products which has gone through such a fundamental change, forcing me to buy products from other brands (which I like less!) instead: - Gi pants: used to be a 100% nylon, very fast-drying, very light pair of pants without any spandex and a great built-in belt.  No longer (and Patagonia is not offering a good alternative design either). - Adze jacket: used to be my favorite shell for wind, spring and autumn.  The shape, cut and functionality is unrecognizable (and Patagonia has not offering a good alternative design either). - Island Hopper shirt (see above) Please bring back the original fabric for this shirt (and the original Gi pants and Adze jacket if possible).  Thank you.

Response from Patagonia
June 7, 2022

We're very sorry to hear that the Island Hopper fabric blend of 60% cotton with 40% recycled polyester has been a disappointment. Your purchase is covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so please reach out to our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help you return it. You might also consider keeping an eye on Worn Wear for some gently used items in excellent condition that are closer to the originals you're missing. Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful review, Thomas!

May 29, 2022

Birch White Cool and styling

Great color and super cooling. I always fry while walleye fishing on Lake Erie each May. I bought this shirt for Erie sun and heat protection. My friend commented that he liked this shirt. It kept the sun and heat off, I removed the shirt to dip it in the lake frequently for extra cooling. The utility of the Birch White was great. Wiping night craw... Read Moreler mess, cleaning walleyes, and generally not being careful of the light colored fabriceverything washed out perfect. I wore it to work the following Monday and had a couple compliments.

May 12, 2022

A great casual sport shirt

This is one of the best shirt offered by Patagonia. It function great no matter wether on the water or in a casual business environment. It is also easy care, washes great and travels well.

May 10, 2022

Favorite shirt

These are my favorite shirts. I have close to 50 that Ive collected over several years. I especially like the relaxed fit design which allows me to wear a medium. In Patagonia regular fit, the medium is too small and the large is too big. Im 58 and 175lbs with a somewhat muscular build and the relaxed fit medium is perfect. Its actually a perfect s... Read Morehirt for most outdoor activities. The fabric is relatively light, but Ive never been sunburned through the shirt. Also, it doesnt require ironing unless youre really picky about wrinkles.

May 8, 2022

Good Looking work / casual shirt

Good looking shirt. It fits me well and doesn't get wrinkled after washing it many times. Great Shirt!

April 21, 2022

Oversize...beware

Well made, color is really nice but the fit is WAY big. If you want a real baggy shirt, have at it. I got this as a gift and can't return. I'm 6' and 180lbs and a Medium is my go to size for everthing, this fits line an XL.

November 10, 2021

Great Quality, Fit, and Look

Bought the short sleeve version for summer, and loved them so much I bought the long sleeve for winter. These are my go to shirt for any occasion. Wish they came in solid colors as well.

October 9, 2021

My new hiking/trekking/travel shirt

For me, an all-round hiking/trekking shirt has to do a lot of things. It has to be long-sleeved for cold or very sunny weather (my sleeves are usually rolled up the rest of the time). It has to be comfortable, not clammy, when it is warm, and this shirt's blended cotton fabric is. It has to be quick-drying, and this shirt checks the box again.... Read More It should be just heavy enough to wear alone when setting out on a cool morning in the mountains, but not too heavy in the afternoon sun -- hey, this fabric does that. It should have chest pockets to hold stuff (sunglasses, reading glasses -- yes, the years have gone by -- maybe a buff, or a phone, or a map, and definitely a passport and tickets when I am traveling) and this shirt has great, accessible, secure pockets. It should fit well, not too tight, not too loose, and hallelujah, this shirt fits me pretty well. With all this, it is a bonus if the shirt looks good, and it does. If I had to have one shirt in life, this would be the one. Yes, I guess I recommend it...

October 3, 2021

Gift that keeps giving

Ive purchased this shirt every year for work then when it gets worn in I convert to a rafting/fishing shirt. Money

September 23, 2021

LOVE THIS SHIRT

Fabric is perfect for tropical climate, i.e. warm and humid. You'll not want anything under it. Pretty slim fit which was fine for me so long as I gain no weight. Washes well.

September 9, 2021

Sizing differs from Other Patagonia shirts.

I ordered this shirt because of the great reviews of how cool it wears in warm weather, its cotton content and its overall functionality. It appears to be all those things, as well as a very attractive shirt. However, the medium, which is the size I wear in Patagonia Sun Stretch shirts, was considerably broader in the shoulders..so I sadly returned... Read More it. And ordered another Sun Stretch.

August 19, 2021

Better than the Sol Patrol

I used the Island Hopper Shirt while rafting the ABC sections of the Green River in some ferociously hot August weather. Its 60% organic cotton/40% polyester blend was cool under the blazing sun and dried off very quickly after frequent dips in the river. In July I used the Sol Patrol shirt to raft the North Fork of the Flathead in similar scorchin... Read Moreg conditions. The Sol Patrol is 100% polyester, didn't breathe well, and was quite sticky and uncomfortable. The Island Hopper is a much better hot weather shirt. That said, the pockets on the Island Hopper are poorly designed and hard to access, whereas the zipper pockets on the Sol Patrol are things of beauty. The button sleeve tabs on the Sol Patrol that keep your rolled-up sleeves from rolling down are also nice. The Sol Patrol's big, roomy, zippered pockets and its button-up sleeve tabs ought to be incorporated into the Island Hopper to create a truly functional hot-weather garment. Both the Island Hopper and the Sol Patrol have a lens cleaner on the bottom of the shirt tail. It soon becomes worthless as it gets soiled quickly and collects dust and sand. Try to clean an expensive pair of sunglasses with it and you scratch the lenses.

Response from Patagonia
August 19, 2021

Hey Ted, thank you for this thorough review on our Long-Sleeved Island Hopper Shirt. We will pass your thoughts along to our design team for further review. In the meantime, you might be interested in our [Men's Long-Sleeved Sun Stretch Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-sun-stretch-shirt/52198.html?dwvar_52198_color=CLAB&cgid=root) as an alternative. The material is a stretchy, quick-drying, ultralight recycled nylon/T400 polyester blend and the pockets are similar to the Sol Patrol.

July 8, 2021

Well made and styled work shirt

I bought these shirts for fishing and they wear well, work great, look great, and the internal webbing on the front of the shoulders of the shirt helps pad my collar bone when I wear wader suspenders and a fishing vest. I bought more of these shirts for causal wear because the shirts looks great whether you wear it inside our outside of your pants.... Read More I have gotten a number of spontaneous comments from folks about how great these shirts look and questions about where you can get them. In closing the computer pictures do not do justice to these shirts look and they look better and feel than you would expect. The shirts wear well and hold up to hard use with a minimum of care.

June 28, 2021

Patagonia's relaxed fit is tricky

I love these shirts. However I find Patagonia's relaxed fit to be a little odd. I'm a blocky guy, big shoulders , big arms, but not a big gut. A relaxed large is way too big on me, like, tent big. But in the medium, the sleeves can be too snug to unwearable. This medium Island hopper shirt is right on the border. The body fits perfectly, ... Read Morebut there is tightness right where the elbow meets the forearm. This tight arm thing is even more apparent in their flannels. I'd have to gain 40 lbs to fill the large, but I could use some sleeve room in the mediums.

June 26, 2021

Works great for bike commuting

I use this for commute to work on my mountain bike, 14 miles per day. It feels better than my bike jerseys and wicks and evaporates quickly. I like a looser fit so I always buy a larger.

June 25, 2021

Only shirt I wear 10 months each year

SHOULD BE FEATURED ON THE MAIN WEBSITE // NOT JUST FOR FISHING FOLKS! Most comfortable shirt imaginable in high temp / high humidity. Used in Belize stalking bonefish, fishing Montana, showing up with fancy dress garden party attire in NYC / Seattle. Wash and simply wear. No ironing. No sweat. 9 month fave. When noted famous outdoor people show up ... Read Morein the same shirt we just wink and nod.

June 22, 2021

Love the fit and style

Love the fabric, fit and feel . Great for fishing, running around town, out to dinner outstanding

June 21, 2021

Nice shirt, comfortable fabric, good pockets, a bit different...

I am very contented with the shirt I purchased, particularly with its design, feel and fit. Like having large pockets I can so easily access, and in which I can store reading and sun glasses so easily at the outside edges (comfortably and safely). The fabric is comfortable in cool and hot weather. I would buy more if the patterns and colors were mo... Read Morere to my taste -- some light blue checks and whites, some plain light strong colors would be nice. When that happens, I will be purchasing more.

June 16, 2021

Sailing and on shore shirt

I've been buying these shirts since the early 2000s. I have two that are 20 years old. For years I wore them on sailing trips: protection from the sun and ventilation. Great on sure. Great to pack. Take little space. Wash and dry easy. Look great on shore.

June 15, 2021

Best Fitting Shirt I've Ever Worn!

Hands down the best shirt I've ever worn. Perfect for casual wear, a fishing shirt that performs well on the river and out to dinner. I liked it so much I bought three.

May 12, 2021

New Patagonia Customer

I'm not a fisherman. Just a seafood writer wanting to finally wear the gold standard. The shirt's quality is unmatched (love the snap collar), but the pockets are way too big and billowy and there's no clear spot for a pen just some kind of fishing gear, so I compensate. The lens cleaner is a cool idea but seems too small. Beyond tha... Read Moret, the shirt works, handsome in summer and spring and will last a (late) lifetime. I also love the sustainable fabric. Only other thing is wishing Patagonia would but their logo tag in a prominent place on front pocket to show off their clothing.

May 7, 2021

Great shirts

I own over 40 of these shirts. I really like the relaxed fit since the regular medium in your shirts is a little tight on me. Im not a big fan of the way the chest pockets are designed. I would prefer a zipper side access like the sun stretch shirt, but thats a minor issue. Overall, they are my favorite shirts.

May 4, 2021

Nice functional shirt!!

I like the comfortable fit. Works great for rowing. Longsleeves are good for no bugs and no sunburn!!

April 22, 2021

My Favorite Patagonia Shirt

Great tailoring, fabric and fit. This shirt will become your favorite as it is mine. Have six in various patterns.

April 21, 2021

Awesome

I have had older versions of the shirt and I swear by them. The blended cotton makes it quick dry but also very cool and breathable. This is a must have for any fishing trip.

April 15, 2021

Beautiful shirt

Fits perfectly

April 12, 2021

Great shirt

Awesome features and all day comfort. Great craftsmanship. Shirt is a bit baggy, but worth every penny

April 4, 2021

Comfortable sun protection

Durable sun protection. Multi use shirt, my favorite!

April 3, 2021

Not summer yet in 99669

Fit and finish excellent. Only wearing indoors so far, still too cold outside. Looking forward to wearing in summer for sure, older, hopefully wiser. Need the summer sun protection aspect

April 1, 2021

Sporty style for boating

Comfortable casual styling with sun protection. Great shirt to wear on the boat for long days in the sun!

March 31, 2021

Really comfortable, durable

Best shirt for me on the market ! I row a drift boat for work , hike ect ... Great for smoking hot days in Grand Canyon too !! Im a fishing guide / fishing guide and this is hands down my favorite shirt !

March 30, 2021

My Favorite Patagonia Shirt

Patagonia got the tailoring and fabric for this shirt correct. ( Have been disappointed in some of the other style shirts . ) Looks good, fits well and the fabric is just right.

March 1, 2021

Great shirt

I love these shirts. I have more than 30, which Ive purchased over several years. Im 58 and 170 with a slightly muscular build. Size medium fits just slightly loose, which I like. They are also just the right length to wear untucked.

February 25, 2021

Last for years

The island hopper is a great fit for me. Over a 10 year period Ive acquired 4, and am still wearing them all. In spite of hard wear camping and fishing, theyre all still in fine shape for wearing to town.

February 24, 2021

Hard to beat

Patagonia is my go to supplier of dry goods and this shirt does not disappoint. Fit, quality of construction, fabric are all first rate. The kind of garment that I expect from Patagonia. This company is the first place I look before buying because of their corporate philosophy. I was not disappointed.

October 6, 2020

Snaps?

I have been purchasing and enjoying Island Hooper shirts for many years. Love the super functional pockets, comfortable fit and great patterns and colours. The addition this year of a snap down collar was the first misstep I've seen. I don't think snaps fit with the look or function of this casual outdoors shirt. Hope they disappear for n... Read Moreext year.

July 12, 2020

The Best Flyfishing Shrt Ever

Ive been fly fishing in the salt waters of Florida for almost 30 years. I bought some of the first Island Hoppers ever made and have never bought any other fishing shirts as these are by far the best. Several reviews have criticized the snap collars. When running in a skiff if the collar is not fastened you continually get slapped in the cheek. For... Read More anyone who rides in a boat the snaps are much appreciated. The blend of cotton and recycled plastics makes for a much more comfortable shirt than the clammy all plastic ones. The newer shirts come with a non vented back. I liked the vented back better. Perhaps a bit of spandex or the like would make for some stretch which would be nice in fighting and casting for fish. I never really liked the tab and button on the sleeve In other shirts in order to have rolled up sleeves stay put. With all of the innovation at Patagonia it is likely that a better system might be devised as I do like to roll up my sleeves. By far the Island Hopper is the clear winner in the warm water saltwater Flyfishing shirt market. They look great at the bars and restaurants after a days fishing and make for the best travel shirt as well. Please make them in more than 4 colors per season. Cant wait to see the new editions for the fall.

May 25, 2020

New Snap Collar Is a Negative

I absolutely love Island Hopper shirts. I own well over a hundred of them, both long and short sleeves. (Glad to see the short sleeve version back this year.) I usually buy at least one of every new color each season. Patagonia has tweaked the design of the shirt over the years while never changing the essence of the shirt. The addition of the snap... Read More collar this year went beyond that and, in my opinion, detracts from the character and design of this wonderful shirt. Please lose the snap collar next year.

April 21, 2020

Great shirt but the previous design was better

I own a bunch of these shirts. I wear them everyday for work, going out, traveling, fly fishing, etc... The previous years designs were much better (no sunglasses cleaner and no collar snaps). I agree with David on the Sun Stretch shirt reviews, there is no need for the collar snaps. The collar snaps make the shirt look and feel too busy, plus they... Read More really do not serve a purpose (there was no way to improve this shirt). The fit is spot on and I'll buy more next year once they hopefully lose some of the unnecessary additions on this year's design.

March 5, 2020

Love this shirt!

I just purchased my 3rd Island Hopper. I split my year between ID and FLA. This shirts keeps me cool while fishing from my drift boat in SW MT and the beaches of the west coast of FLA. With the large pockets I can shed my chest packs and vests. It is also a great travel or casual shirt because it doesnt look like a fly fishing vest as some shirts d... Read Moreo.

January 25, 2020

What’s with the designs on a fishing shirt ‘\_(‘’/)_/‘

This is a super shirt but for whatever reason Patagonia continues to put woodsy colors & designs on a fishing shirt! First not everyone fishes a stream in the dark woods but secondly who puts designs on a fishing shirt? I’m not trying to get the fish to see me....simple light colors to prevent heat & no designs please!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches