Back to Product

M's Tough Puff Shirt

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

M's Tough Puff Shirt

4.3/5
Kinda Large
May 5, 2021

Super comfortable

Coming off wrist surgery I could not wear any of my down sweaters . This was the perfect fit, thx

March 27, 2021

Big for a Medium

I own several other Patagonia shackets - all are size Medium and fit great - except this one. This is noticeably baggier. Sleeve lengths are the same, but the girth is 4" wider than the others. I love the style but returned it for poor fit. Needs to be slimmed down for consistency with other M Patagonia products.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2021

Thanks for the review on our Tough Puff Shirt for Fly Fishing. This shirt has a relaxed fit, it was designed that way to allow for the layering that is sometimes necessary when going fly fishing. Click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-shirts?prefn1=fit&prefv1=slim) to check out our shirts that come in a slim fit option.

March 15, 2021

Comfy

Loved the material and looks

February 27, 2021

Light, comfy and warm

I love this jacket/shirt. It is a relaxed fit so runs a little big but you can layer underneath it. For being as lightweight as it is, it is remarkably warm. I wear it all the time. Wore it in Crested Butte, CO at -6 F with just a tee shirt underneath and it kept me surprising warm. I have worn it hiking and is a perfect mid warmth layer that can b... Read Moree easily shed if the weather is a little nicer. I also have worn it after getting out of the ocean after surfing and it is perfect. Honestly this is one of my favorite items Ive ever purchased from Patagonia. I highly recommend.

February 4, 2021

Too Bad it's Too Big

I really like the idea of this jacket for layering while fishing and knocking around on cool days. Very comfy fabric. I'm 6'2" and 160. Normally Med/regular or Lrg/slim fit me well. I don't normally order relaxed fit stuff. This jacket in medium might fit 2 of me, so I will return it. The length of the jacket and the sleeves are... Read More great on me, so I will venture to guess that a small would not work for sleeve length.

Response from Patagonia
March 3, 2021

Hi John! Thank you for your feedback! We're so sorry to hear the sizing didn't quite work out. Please know, we are always happy to provide with the garment's measurements to help ensure a confident fit.

November 9, 2020

Favorite Shirt

Perfect winter shirt - its good for temps down to freezing all by itself. Im 6 175# and size small still has plenty of room.

September 16, 2020

Not just for fishing

I've had this shirt for a couple of years. I've worn it in conditions that would have destroyed my tech jackets..... it still looks new! It does stay warm when it's soaked. It's tough, warm, comfortable, and very durable. I keep it in my car from fall through spring. Depending on conditions it's easy to layer under or over.... Read More It's warm down to the high 30's with just a t-shirt underneath. Great job Patagonia!

September 3, 2020

Super Comfy Shirt

Im 62 200 pounds and have a long torso. Based on the reviews that said the Tough Puff shirt runs big I ordered a Medium. It fit okay but I felt like I was tad cramped in it so I re-ordered a Large and sent the Medium back. The Large fits perfectly and I just love the look and feel of the shirt. Its stylish, sleek and super comfy. While puff is in i... Read Morets name its not too puffy. Great shirt.

April 5, 2020

Versatile

This is a great ballance from shirt and jacket. I can wear it as a layer for warmth while fishing or wear it out on the town to get food and beers with some friends. This is a do it all jacket that is tough when it needs to be and stylish when bar hopping in town. Love it

March 29, 2020

Versatile jacket

Great versatile jacket. Lightweight, insulated warmth. Snap closure is a little tedious, but a very comfy jacket.

March 9, 2020

Great all around layer.

I love my tough puff shirt, I wish I had picked up the green one as well as the gray. It runs a bit large though. I am 5' 7" and the medium sleeves swallowed my hands and the shirt tail went to mid thigh. I returned the medium and went with the small which fits perfect. I like to wear this as my outer layer with a midnight thermal or regu... Read Morelar t-shirt underneath, but it is flexible for all sorts of uses.

February 21, 2020

good jacket

I've always been between a M/L in patagonia shirts/jackets. I have had a L nano puff since 2011 and while it is a bit big on me, wanted to be able to layer underneath instead of using the jacket as a mid-layer piece. Its been my go-to for a long time. Also have a M retro-X that "fits" well as it is a big more snug. Ordered a medium ... Read MoreTuff Puff and love the jacket, but it fits more like a large. My wife even said, should you have gotten a smaller size? Love the jacket, but for context, it runs pretty large even though I am 6' 190lbs. All that to be said, its a great jacket with good water resistance and doesn't snag like the nano puff. Also, pretty warm for being relatively thin. The two pockets on the inside are huge and you can stash a ton of stuff in there.

January 24, 2020

Dave H.

Love the shirt/jacket. Fit is a bit large, but I find that great for layering. Extremely warm for its weight.

November 26, 2019

Good Stuff

Awesome shirt, exactly what I have come to expect from Patagonia. I would advise that this is relaxed fit so expect it to be loose.

November 25, 2019

Great shirt, poor fit

I really like the look of the puff shirt. However, it's enormous! shoulders and sleeves are right. The body is big enough for two people. It was something that I could not return so I am going to the tailor to have it revised. Hope it works.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi Steven! Thanks for your feedback on this item. We're sorry to hear that the fit was a bit large for you. Please note, you are always welcome to return any item that you are unsatisfied with. To initiate a return or exchange for a smaller size, check out our [Returns Page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 25, 2019

Huge at the waist, I

Huge at the waist, I order everything xxl, much to wide around waist

November 21, 2019

Insulated Shirt

Excellent quality at a fair price.

November 21, 2019

Very comfortable, easy to wear

Very comfortable, easy to wear and warm too

November 20, 2019

Better than a shirt but just below a jacket

This tough shirt is a perfect Portland, Oregon shoulder season stand alone shirt. Those colder times I wear it as an insulation layer. It folds up nice in the pack when the sun comes out. Pro: Great insulation layer for running around the forest teaching primitive survival skills to kids. It is quiet and does not snag on thorns. Con: Too billowy i... Read Moren the mid section. The small fits fine and I have never been a small before, I would try it on before buying. Over all I would buy this jacket again without question.

November 20, 2019

Bring back useful pockets!

I like the feel, weight, and look of this jacket and the extra length to keep out drafts. But I don't like the pockets - something I've seen in recent years in several pieces of Patagonia outerwear. The handwarmer pockets and the chest pocket all open onto very large areas that basically extend all the way to the garment seams. There is n... Read Moreo insulation to the pockets, either. So you end up with a big drafty space with only a thin layer of shell on the outside. Basically, it's impossible to warm your hands in them. The pockets are so big that smaller things get lost in space and bigger things sag awkwardly because of all the slack. I appreciate the desire to minimize material and seams, but I'd much prefer smaller, snugger pockets that fit my hands (and on the chest, that could hold something like a phone or glasses or a notebook without falling halfway down the front of the jacket.)

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hey Hugh, thanks for your review. It's a bummer about the pockets though and we definitely understand. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future.

November 20, 2019

Puff shirt

Like most Patagonia clothing, it’s well made. The shirt is very comfortable, light weight, packs easy and looks great! Highly recommended

November 20, 2019

I like it

I like this jacket. It has an understated look and is very light. It runs big though. I’m 5’11 and 210lbs and bought a large and it’s plenty roomy. A medium might have been a better fit but I’m sticking with it.

November 16, 2019

Happy

Crazy ‘bout it. Well made, light, but warm. Fits to a “T”. My 16 yr old has commandeered the jacket a few times.

November 3, 2019

Too roomy

The jacket is oversized

Response from Patagonia
November 21, 2019

Hi Heath! Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback. The Tough Puff Shirt is a relaxed fit which is probably why it felt roomy. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 19, 2019

Great casual/fishing shirt. Runs a

Great casual/fishing shirt. Runs a bit large.

October 17, 2019

This thing is HUGE

Usually a solid L in regular and relaxed fits by Patagonia, this thing fits on the big side of XL. Love the utility and construction. Likely will exchange for a M or another item.

Response from Patagonia
October 29, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the sizing didn't work out on this one. We would advise you sending that back to us so we can get you in a size medium. Thanks for the feedback and please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) for more information on returns/exchanges.

September 5, 2019

Tough Puff Shirt

Light-weight and casual. Very comfortable and a good shirt to wear in between seasons.

August 15, 2019

Perfect gift

Definitely size down in this relaxed fit shirt jacket. My favorite Patagonia piece by far. Perfect for those foggy mornings, and super lightweight. 6'5" 180 lbs Medium, fits well.

May 12, 2019

quality material, fit and design.

quality material, fit and design. and accurate and prompt deliver

May 9, 2019

Perfect jack-shirt

Perfect for when you get off the trail or off the river and don’t want to look like a complete dirt bag in civilization. Also solid pocket space.

April 2, 2019

Love this shirt

I bought a black one of these a few months ago, and loved it/wore it so much I bought one in gray. I'm 6'2" 195lbs with a 34" waist + broad shoulders and a Large fits me very well. On rainy days (and there have been a lot of them this season), this is my go to shirt because I can put a hard shell over it, and it doesn't fee... Read Morel tight or binding in the arms. For times I'm out hiking without the shell, I feel very assured that the shirt will keep me warm and dry quickly (it's come through many, many times). Even when it is warmer, the shirt seems to regulate temperature well too. I wear it when weather is predicted to be between 50-67F.

February 9, 2019

Great shirt

I am 5'11" 210 lbs with 35" waist. I started with L but it was too big. Exchanged to M, fit perfect as regular L. I wear this as a shirt and T-shirt. i don't think it looks good as a jacket, too long and baggy. I feel very comfortable at 40F with slight wind. Material is tough but feel soft and light. I washed about 5 times alre... Read Moready, no issue yet. Other than that, i think this shirt works the best at outdoor. Once you are indoor or inside the car, you need to unbutton the shirt to cool down. So far, i own two shirts.

February 5, 2019

Too big

Love this but the sizing seems WAY off. Normally wear an XL but based on some of the other reviews I sized down to a large. It was huge. I have to send it back for a medium! Crazy but true. A couple suggestions to the product developers...loose the hand warmer pockets on the seam. They are of dubious use and they make the piece drape kind of bulky ... Read Moredown low. And don’t bring the side seams all the way to the hem. Leave an inverted “V” at the bottom of the side seams. It’ll be more comfortable when you sit.

December 1, 2018

Just back from Paris

I wore this all over Paris, on really rainy days I put a shell over it and it was perfect. Missing for me is a drawstring at bottom of the jacket to keep the wind from coming up. I am 6’4 215 so I don’t fill the waist area.

November 18, 2018

Fell a little short

Used it lightly for one season. And as it begins to get cold out I put it on and the cuff snap breaks.

November 16, 2018

The Fit and the Feel

I bought the size large online and was not sure if it would fit me. I am 6'2" 191lbs with broad shoulders and 34" waist. I am very happy with how it fits the shoulders and arms (sleeve is just 1/4 inch long, which is what I like). Not too much material at the bottom hem. Since it is not bulky and stiff, it also functions well as a mi... Read Moreddle layer.

October 28, 2018

Great 3-season layer!

This is my favourite "jacket" from Patagonia. It has a similar temperature comfort zone compared to my nano air jacket and nano air hoodie, but the fabric is much tougher. Before, busting through even light cover was annoying, as branches would catch on the a nanoairs and pull threads, and I'd need to pull out my shell. I've hi... Read Moreked around 0C quite comfortably with just the tough puff shirt and a fleece vest. The tough puff did great going thing a light mix of conifers and aspen... not to mention it was about to squeeze through some raspberry shrubs. The internal pockets work really well with one of the middle buttons undone for access. The DWR finish also took longer to saturate than my nanos. An added bonus was that the fabric was soft enough to not scratch my sunglasses, but water repellent enough to "squigy" water/fog off. The hand warmer pockets are a bit too square and set a bit too far towards the rear... They do force me to stand with my shoulders back ... so I guess posture correction was a hidden feature of sorts. The collars can stand and function as neck warmers. About the fit... it gun's quite large. I went for the usual XXL and it came with about 30cm extra in front of the chest. Should have exchanged for XL I think.

September 25, 2018

Built for Fishing

I have had this shirt out a few times in the cooler weather and so far so good. A cut of the shirt with its relaxed fit blends well with fishing there’s ample room to move when casting. A few of the other things I like are the fact the sleeves have buttons on them when the weather gets a little bit warmer you can roll them up over your elbows.I act... Read Moreually prefer the snaps over elastic cuffs. Really like the full length button snap closure when wearing this under waders the snaps are a lot easier to undo when venting heat rather than trying to undo zipper with waders on.The DWR coating is a plus was out in a light rain last week it held up very well until it really poured and I had to go with the wading jacket. The fit In the description is right on point.This is more like a oversize shirt then a jacket.I would say if you’re just going to wear this around town and not use it for what it was built for fishing in cool conditions then I would be tempted to perhaps go a size smaller than I normally would. The only real gripe I can make is that the pockets are at a strange angle/ position you kinda have to contort your hands to fit in them.As I intend to wear this fishing under my waders so pockets are really almost a nonfactor Good simple functional product.

September 1, 2018

Tough puff

Lov the shirt/coat it is fantastically comfortable while being reasonably (dad) stylish. Just wanted to let everyone know that this item definitely fits large. I am 6’5 255 lbs 48 years old (reasonably good dad bod.) I ordered a XXL and it was way too big, fit really sloppy. I returned it and got a XL which fits perfectly even in the sleeves which ... Read Moreis why I originally ordered an XXL.. I would love Patagonia to get an XLT for tall but not super thick fellas. Having said that I am really happy with the Patagonia return policy. I took it back to a retail store and they reordered it to my house no charge. 👍😊

December 14, 2017

Great design w/ some flaws

This may be the best Patagonia product I've ever had. The slight stretch moves with you and never impedes any action,it's warm without cooking you,it's soft and manages your perspiration very well. This is a borderline technical piece that weighs very little and has limitless applications. Having said all that,I do wish I could give... Read More it five stars. My major concern is that I wanted something for hiking & overnight camping in temperatures from 0'C - 10'C,and the shoulders are constructed with a huge,gnarly seam in a prime chaffing spot*. Which is disappointing because this would make an excellent sleeping top for nights when it's colder than your sleeping bag's EN rating. *To be 100% fair I haven't tested it out with a full pack,yet I know Patagonia takes pains to design many of their jackets with less obtrusive shoulder seams. Hopefully they update design in the future.

November 8, 2017

GREAT shirt/jacket!

This is a fabulous layer during cold weather,or perfect light jacket for cool days. Seems like I reach for this about every day this fall for hunting/fishing trips and general use around town. My only negative feedback would be concerning the pockets on the sides of the shirt. They are kind of awkward for me to access,not great to warm the hands in... Read More. Also,this item does run a bit large. I am 5'10 and 200 lbs,been wearing Patagonia shirts in large for 30 years. This one is a bit bigger than my others. Otherwise,great job Patagonia!

November 5, 2017

Great Shirt/Jacket but runs large

This is an awesome shirt,but I tend to wear it as a jacket. It's surprisingly warm for it's weight and has decent water repellency. The only issue I ran into was the sizing as it runs very large. I'm 5'11 175 and originally ordered the large as all other jackets from Patagonia I own are large. It was way too big so exchanged it ... Read Morefor a medium and the fit is spot on.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches