burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Back Step Shirt

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 294 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Back Step Shirt

4.5/5
True To Size
September 24, 2022

Casual wear shirt

The shirt was a gift for my son. He was happy with the color, size and fit.

September 22, 2022

Great shirt

Lost a whole bunch of weight and needed to update my wardrobe. I loved the fit, weight, and feel of the shirt so much that I bought two more in different colors.

September 22, 2022

Fun casual shirt

Nice pattern; well made.

September 21, 2022

Wash First

I recommend an initial wash and hang dry. Then you will notice a real difference in the wear. It will get softer the more you wash it.

September 20, 2022

Nice casual shirt

My husband thinks its comfortable and I think he looks good in it, especially the color, so thumbs up from both of us

September 20, 2022

Cool shirt on hot days

This is a great shirt for hot weather days. "Dressy" enough to wear for work and casual enough for every day. Lightweight and airy, I love this shirt. I'm 6' tall so sometimes with Patagonia shirts I go for the large but in this case, the MD is perfect.

September 20, 2022

Its fit perfectly for work

Its fit perfectly for work or outing in hot weather.

September 19, 2022

Just a good shirt!

I am 6 foot 3 175 lbs with a long thin torso and somewhat broad shoulders and the Medium fits perfectly. Looks nice enough to wear to work or out to dinner but it is lightweight and airy feeling as well. I have been very happy with the durability of other Patagonia products and hoping this is no different.

September 19, 2022

Loved the shirt but it

Loved the shirt but it is not a true XL size. I would consider it a L.

September 19, 2022

Excellent quality

Great casual shirt

September 18, 2022

Casual comfort

This shirt looks great. Fit wise I am on the border of a medium and a large so a size choice is a challenge. But after ordering a medium I ended up replacing it with a large. The fabric feels sturdy. I have other Patagonia clothing that are hemp blends and they wear well. I admit that I prefer long lived clothing as opposed to disposable fashion. I... Read More feel this shirt will be another that I will wear often and long.

September 16, 2022

Love the shirt

Love the shirt!! Its a touch bigger than expected, but not too much so that it doesn't how i like. Great soft feeling fabric, will buy more in other colors.

September 16, 2022

Great fit, very comfortable

Wonderful fit true to size, very comfortable feel against the skin.

September 15, 2022

As described

The shirt is as described and I like it.

September 14, 2022

Love these shirts

Ok

September 14, 2022

Eye catching color & design

I have gotten compliments on this shirt. Its such a great eye catching print and nice blue color. Goes great with jeans and khakis!

September 11, 2022

Great fabric

I love this shirt. The feel is super soft and the organic cotton will get softer with time. Totally support that Patagonia does their share to protect the planet, so I'm happy to pay a premium for their merch. Some medium shirts fit too big, but this shirt fits perfect, if you are an average weight and size. Plenty of room for movement witho... Read Moreut being overly oversized.

September 11, 2022

Beautiful blue pattern

This shirt is a big hit with my husband. The fabric is nice, the pattern of the fabric is gorgeous (esp. the conchs!), it looks and feels like high quality that will last for decades.

September 10, 2022

Fantastic Print

This shirt is quality! Material feels expensive, and the print is even better in person. The colors are stunning.

September 10, 2022

I very much like the

I very much like the color and pattern. The sleeves are a little short for my taste.

September 9, 2022

Love this shirt

In addition to the design being lovely (got lots of compliments on it), I love the fit of this shirt. Will buy another soon.

September 8, 2022

Great shirt, well worth the value

Shirt runs a bit small in the shoulders so I would order a size up if you list it loose. Good quality material makes this shirt a great buy

September 8, 2022

Great Shirt

Love the shirt's look and fit. True to size. Wish the material was a little lighter and softer which I believe the latest ones are made this way.

September 8, 2022

Sexy, Hawaii 5-0 style

This shirt somehow manages to be a loud Hawaiian shirt and still 100% stylish, sexy, and office-appropriate. A summertime quiver-killer.

September 8, 2022

Super comfortable

This a great shirt for ease of use and comfort. Love the cut!

September 8, 2022

Great shirt!

Super comfortable and easy to pack for my journeys

September 7, 2022

No front pockets

Great material, great fit, if this shirt didn't have those two awkward front pockets (with buttons) it would be perfect. I bought two of these and returned both, sorry!

September 7, 2022

Stylish

Very happy with this shirt. Looks good, no need to iron it if you take it a little damp out of the dryer and hang it. I am sometimes between a S and a M, and the M fits perfectly.

September 7, 2022

Perfect summer shirt

Perfect fit, really like the fabric blend. Exactly what I was looking for with this shirt.

September 7, 2022

Under sized Large

I really like the blue/green flowered pattern & the cotton material. It is a wash & hang, no ironing needed. I buy large in this style of shirt as they are worn untucked. This shirt is a bit snug at the waist & across the back shoulders. Im a true medium, in the brand Reyn Spooner the large gives me ample room.

September 6, 2022

Not the quality I'm used to with Patagonia

I've bought many Patagonia clothing items over the years ranging from technical pieces to work clothing and casual wear. This is the first item that does not meet their typical standards. After the first wash the sleeves, collar and button plackets shriveled and have to be ironed after each washing. I've tried using low heat and even damp... Read More drying and any edge of the shirt always comes out the same. This is something you'd expect from a poorly made/cheap item, but not with Patagonia clothing. While I do like the general look and cut, the need to iron a brand new casual shirt after each washing is disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2022

Hey Reid, thank you for the feedback. Unfortunately, it's very common for hemp/cotton blends to wrinkle, especially hemp. If you find a version out there that says "wrinkle-free" the sad truth most often is that chemicals were used in the manufacturing process to prevent their occurrence. You are welcome to give the shirt some time in the dryer to help mitigate that, but the temperature should be on low. If you find that you're still unhappy, you're welcome to process a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

September 6, 2022

Good color,comfortable material,nice design

Good color,comfortable material,nice design

September 6, 2022

Nice Shirt

Purchased the blue and brown Ikat shirts. They wash and fit well. Perfect for meetings and for casual wear.

September 6, 2022

Perfect casual summer shirt

I have the blue small-print version of this subtle, attractive shirt. I like the fit and comfort. I wear it for lunch at our favorite cafe and around town.

September 6, 2022

Versatile, comfortable shirt

I like this shirt so much i own it in 3 different colors! Looks good for casual wearing or informal work settings. Gets really soft after a few washes. Runs a little loose which is good for hot weather. My go-to summer shirt.

September 5, 2022

Excellent fit (not tight or

Excellent fit (not tight or restrictive yet tailored) and beautiful print and colors makes this partial hemp product an excellent value. Upgrade to my summer casual wardrobe.

September 5, 2022

Great Shirt

I am in between a large and medium. The medium has a nice fitted look.

September 5, 2022

Great Shirt!

Most of what I buy from Patagonia are more technical in nature, but I do buy some casual clothes and like the rest of their gear, it fits well and is built to last. I expect to be wearing this shirt for years to come.

September 4, 2022

Sturdy

Have a deep love for these shirts. Bought one about 10 years ago and still have it. Its traveled to South America, the West Indies and all over the US. At this point it has small holes in it and the collar is fraying but cant seem to part with it. In terms of pros: its a button up shirt, the hemp makes it durable, I cant seem to make them stink(eve... Read Moren though I sweat a lot(I think its a property of the hemp)). My only qualm with the shirts is that they will wrinkle fairly easily(also a property of hemp). I don't really mind that though, and my younger brother says thats in style now, so Ill lean into that. Im a muscular build, 190 lbs, 5 9 and the medium fits well

August 31, 2022

very soft and very comfortable

very soft and very comfortable shirt. I found the fit to be just a bit on the large side. Shirt does not restrict my natural movement and the fabric so far has been very durable. Another great shirt from patagonia.

August 29, 2022

These run small, I wear

These run small, I wear a L t-shirt, and have to select an XXL for most Patagonia shirts. I like my casual clothes to look casual, but the fabric here was too wrinkly and the fit through the armpits was very tight, even with this size.

Response from Patagonia
September 6, 2022

Hi Thomas! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear how tight you found the shirt to run. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

August 26, 2022

Wow- fits like its two sizes too small

Bought two of these shirts a year ago, same size. They are fine. Bought two more this year and its like they shrank by two sizes. The fit is skin tight. Silly me, since I had 2 that fit, when these came, they went straight in the wash and were dried. Went to put one on, the fit was like neoprene. Skin tight. Gave them to a relative, since I had naï... Read Morevely figured the fit would be the same. Last time I do that! Ill look around for a brand that keeps their sizing consistent.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2022

Hi Gary! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the shirts didn't fit right this season. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons. In the future, your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) when an item doesn't fit correctly.

August 17, 2022

Perfect summer casual shirts

Perfect summer casual shirts. I'm a little stocky, but the Large fits perfect. Not too tight, not too loose.

August 16, 2022

nice shirt

This shirt has great fabric but the fit was way too small for an extra large

Response from Patagonia
August 17, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on the fabric and fit, Gary! Our [online exchanges](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for size or color are free of charge. If you need anything else, please contact our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to help!

August 14, 2022

Nice to wear organic cotton

It is comforting and comfortable to wear a shirt that is made responsibly from organic cotton. It feels very nice. The size is good. The shirt looks very nice as well and is well-made.

August 10, 2022

Well made shirt......but!

I normally wear a size XL in shirts, but knowing Patagonia clothing tends to run small, I ordered two of these shirts in size XXL, thinking I would be good to go as far as fit. Much to my disappointment, the extra sizing was still too small and I had to return them. This seems be an ongoing issue with Patagonia. They need to realize that not all wh... Read Moreo are fans of the brand are super svelte, young, and athletic and adjust accordingly for us older Patagonia fans who are, shall we say, slightly more portly. Basically, they need to re-evaluate their target consumers and exhibit some inclusion via their sizing for a wider array of customers.

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2022

Thank you so much for your feedback, Scott. We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointment with the Men's Back Step Shirt and your experience with our sizing. We are always happy to offer garment dimensions before you purchase to take the guesswork out of shopping with us. With that said, the Men's Back Step Shirt is offered in the 3XL if you'd like to try the next size up. If you need any assistance placing a new order for the 3XL, we will be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). We have also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team.

August 3, 2022

Comfortable shirt, fits well and

Comfortable shirt, fits well and I really like the material. My favorite shirt to teach in.

August 2, 2022

Comfortable cool shirt

This shirt fits the casual days where I want to wear something besides a tee shirt. It fits perfect and looks good while keeping me cool on hot summer days.

July 27, 2022

Comfortable Summer Style

Comfortable and breathable fabric. Ordered my regular (Large) size, no noticeable shrinking after drying. Definitely an untucked look, but the coco buttons and pattern upgrade the style, so I can also wear out to a casual dinner after sight seeing, or river fishing. My wife prefers it to be ironed, but it also looks fine right out of the dryer. Wil... Read Morel be ordering more

July 27, 2022

Great fitting shirt!

Love the fit of this shirt! Often I'm too tall for a large, but too thin for an XL - this is the perfect athletic fitting shirt...and the pattern will make it the right party shirt. I liked it so much I bought another color Back Step shirt last week!

July 27, 2022

Beautiful Shirt but

Can't believe how scratchy it is. Hand washed it a few times but made no difference. Bought it on line because retailer in NY didn't have much of a selection but won't be doing that again. Too uncomfortable to wear.

July 23, 2022

This shirt only works if

This shirt only works if toy don't button it or if you tuck into your pants. It's too tight on the bottom to be worn outside your pants (from someone whose wife says he has no butt).

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Roy. We're sorry to hear the fit of these shirts wasn't right for you, but glad to see you've returned them. Please let us know if we can be of any help!

July 20, 2022

This shirt's a keeper

Super comfortable shirt: lightweight, airy, and breathable. The fabric has a nice feel to it. The fit is not slim, and leaves enough room for movement. The sleeves are a bit long, but I've found that is the case for most Patagonia products. I purchased this product mainly because of the texture and color way which looks much better in person. ... Read MoreI would buy it again if they offered more subtle colors/patterns.

July 16, 2022

Runs small

Nice looking fabric and comfortable fit but a little tight in the medium range

July 15, 2022

Nice Summer Shirt, But . . . . .

The lightweight cotton/hemp material is nice for after-pool time, casual wear, and just lounging around. But, I typically shy away from 100% cotton materials because I like a dryer-to-wear shirt that doesn't need much ironing and looks great for work or casual (usually cotton/polyester blends). So, I kinda took a chance with this cotton/hemp f... Read Moreabric mix knowing it was meant to have that sloppy beach look and I'm OK with adjusting my attitude for it. If you like/want that look as well, then good on you - but, if you're a "don't like to iron shirts" kind of guy, this shirt is NOT for you.

July 14, 2022

I ordered a large, which

I ordered a large, which works for LL Bean, REI, etc. Fit was okay, but I knew i had to wash it to be sure. Alas, it was too tight after washing. Of course you cannot return a garment that has been washed, so tough luck for me.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2022

Hi Rich, thank you for submitting this review. It sounds like you washed this shirt according to instructions but it shrank? You can absolutely return it under our warranty! We'll reach out to you to help you return it.

July 13, 2022

Dress it up or down

Dress it up or down. Love that is is hemp and cotton.

July 13, 2022

Shirt Shrunk

We washed it once, and it was then too small to wear. I bought two shirts. The unwashed one fits fine...the washed one...well you know the story. Truthfully, I was quite surprised.

July 5, 2022

comfortable

This is the most comfortable short sleeve shirts. I ware this for hot humid day. It doesn't stick to skin, so that air flows freely between shirt and skin.

July 3, 2022

Runs large, had to return for smaller size

I'm 6' 175lbs, slim build and the "Go To" shirt fit me great in size large, but this shirt, "Back Step", was just too big everywhere, even after washing. Returning for a medium.

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2022

We are sorry to hear about this sizing issue you experienced. The men's Go To Shirt is cut slightly smaller and is considered a slim fit versus our Men's Back Step Shirt, which is a regular fit. Please let us know if you have any questions or need help placing your new order for the medium size. You can reach us [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). Agents are available Monday-Friday, 6 am (PST) - 6 pm (PST) and Saturday and Sunday, 7 am (PST) - 3 pm (PST).

May 18, 2022

Terrific warm weather casual shorshirt

I really like the fabric and the fit. The buttons are unusual and very thoughtful. The fit in the slim side. I would have liked if the length was shorter so I could wear it untucked.

May 9, 2022

M's Back Step Shirt

Comfy and good looking. Thanks.

April 29, 2022

Nice Hemp Short Sleeve

I bought the imitation ikat version of the back step shirt. It's a nice shirt, and I'll probably get a lot of mileage out of it. Around the turn of the millennium, I bought one of your first hemp shirts in Ventura. To me, it was drop dead gorgeous: generous raglan sleeves, spread color, inset chest pocket, pale hues of pale grey, amber, ... Read Morewith a single thread of rust and orange in a plaid so subtle you hardly noticed, impeccably stitched throughout, straight cut hem. It still hangs in my closet, even though one shoulder is worn through from my bony shoulders and a shoulder bag. Don't suppose I'll ever see one of those again....

April 28, 2022

Great shirt

Love it has the good looks and strong fabric thanks for the product

April 26, 2022

Birthday gift for my son

I bought this shirt for my son who picked it out for his birthday gift. He loved it. Nice quality. Looks really nice on him. Thank you!

April 13, 2022

A bit short

Great shirt overall, but I wish the shirt was a little taller

March 22, 2022

fits perfect

Fits my husband perfectly!

March 11, 2022

Comfortable casual shirt

When LL Bean stopped making my favorite shirt I decided to give this a try, and I'm glad I did. Excellent build quality, good fit, comfortable material, decent price. I get compliments when I'm wearing this shirt. What's not to love about it? Going to get a few more in other colors.

March 1, 2022

Great Shirt!

I'm 6'0 180lbs, the smalls are kind of a slim fit and the medium is a little loose I have some of each. The material on the print ones feels a lot more broken in and durable than the Ikat printed ones out of the package, but they are both very comfortable.

February 26, 2022

Cool, comfortable, functional

I live in the Middle East with very hot days and work offices that are over air conditioned. This shirt works well in both situations, warm in the AC office, cool outside in the heat. Id order more, but Patagonia doesnt carry enough stock of the decent colors in 3XL.

February 10, 2022

Perfect fit & the untuck bottom

Excellent product Customer service was beyond wonderful!

February 2, 2022

Nice looking shirt, comfortable

Shirt looks nice, fits great and it's comfortable. I like the hemp cotton mix, will be wearing this for casual wear in spring/summer. I'm 5'11" 180 lbs and it's not too tight, however I have not washed it yet. I only plan on only hand washing in cold water and line drying so it shouldn't shrink much though.

January 28, 2022

Good Looking Work Shirt

I wish Patagonia made more colors of this shirt. This is a good shirt and I already have it in two different colors.

January 10, 2022

breathable sunny day shirt

the fabric on this shirt is light enough for muggy days and tough enough to hike the path less traveled

December 30, 2021

Sustainable and retainable

I really like that the shirt is made from 55% Hemp and 45% Organic Cotton. I understand that there are some significant manufacturing advantages of using China to product the product, but it sure would be nice to know that Patagonia is working toward an alternative foreign manufacturing country, that isn't known for their unacceptable Human Ri... Read Moreghts violations. The production capacity and labor force costs may not ever be viable for Patagonia to use US factories, but there sure has to be a much less offensive player than China. With that issue now off the table, I would like to express my satisfaction for the quality of fabric, "the hand" or feel is just splendid, especially more so after two or three washes. The cut is perfect for the slightly oversized comfort I like in my short sleeve casual button down shirts. The price is premium, but so is the product. If it is any indication of my confidence in Patagonia products: I bought two, in different colors, not having ever seen the product, in real life, prior to my purchase. I will say with confidence, these two shirts will be in regular rotation, for at least two years, as standard weekend wear. Loyal Patagoniac for at least 35 or 40 years now. Back to the Great Pacific Iron Works Days. Christopher B. Los Angles, Ca....

December 13, 2021

Great casual shirt

This shirt is very comfortable. I don't feel restricted in my movements like I do in so many other button up shirts. I'm a big guy and I think the fit is flattering.

December 2, 2021

Xs/S

The XS is to small and the small is to big sad that I need to return them

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2021

Hey John, we're sorry to hear that you happened to land in that in-between space for sizing with this shirt. We'd be happy to talk to you, and send over some other suggestions that might work better for you. We can also get you started on a return for the others you ordered. You can get in touch with us [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

November 19, 2021

Awesome shirt

Super comfortable and love the fabric

November 13, 2021

Works for may occasions

Great shirt. Fit and finish is perfect. I washed and dried the shirt, stretched it and hung it up. Turned out it was almost wrinkle free. The fit is on the slim side, but plenty of room in the shoulder.

November 12, 2021

Cool

Nice shirt. Washed in cold water and dried. Never saw a shirt come out of my laundry with so many wrinkles. Took a lot of ironing to make it look good.

Response from Patagonia
November 18, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the wrinkles. For [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/), we recommend closing all buttons, machine wash in cold water with a gentle detergent, no bleach, no fabric softener. Then hang to air dry or tumble dry on low heat. A warm iron may be used to smooth out the fabric a bit. We hope this helps, but reach out to our Customer Service team if you have any questions or concerns. We'll be happy to help!

November 5, 2021

Product As Expected

The material is comfortable, although it's a little scratchy at first. No matter how many times I wash/dry the shirt, it refuses to shrink, which would be great but I bought a size too big! I was looking to buy an oversized shirt (as a 5'4 female) but large was too much- I should've gone with a medium. That's my fault though, no... Read Moret Patagonia's. The shirt itself is high quality and I plan on wearing it for years to come.

October 31, 2021

Comfortable Every Day Shirt

Nice shirt to wear under my Patagonia vest now that I'm going back to the office more frequently.

October 30, 2021

Great depending fabric/color

Absolutely love the feel and drape of these shirts but depending on the fabric or color they wrinkle when washing. The color options that are printed come out of the dryer ready to wear for me but the plaids are wrinkled to heck. It seems like this is because of the threads of fabric being died (changing some characteristics) and then being woven i... Read Morento other fabric. Some of the plaids I own come out looking so bad they require ironing. Stick to the prints and these are great!

October 27, 2021

Great shirt!

This short is wicked comfy, great addition to my Wardrobe. This is the second one I picked up as it's perfect for causal wear at home and in the office.

October 17, 2021

not cut for me

great product, exactly what i was looking for. but, althought i know your products are designed for people more athletic than i, i thought the xl would be cut a bit more full to fit ny build

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2021

Hi Robert, we're very sorry to hear that the fit of the Men's Back Step Shirt wasn't what you expected. The Back Step is a regular fit and will be slightly form fitting. If you're wanting something more relaxed, take a peek at our Men's Island Hopper Shirt, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-island-hopper-shirt/52075.html?dwvar_52075_color=VOFB. It might be just what you're looking for!

October 6, 2021

Meh. Pills up terribly

Want as I may to like them I can't. They pill up and always look wrinkled.

Response from Patagonia
October 13, 2021

Hi Christian, due to the knit appearance of the face fabric of this particular item, this pilling can be more noticeable on a Patagonia Men's Back Step Shirt. To prevent pilling, we recommend washing that item either by hand in cool to cold water, or separately in your washing machine on the gentle cycle. It's best to lay it flat to dry rather than place it in the dryer where the fabric can easily get abraded. To remove pilling that has already occurred, a sweater shaver or sweater stone is an excellent tool and can help the garment look brand new again. Of course, if you are not pleased with the performance of your Men's Back Step Shirt, you are absolutely welcome to send it in for a warranty returns evaluation under our Ironclad Guarantee, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

October 3, 2021

Very comfortable

Very comfortable shirt. Like to wear untucked. great shirt for a golf day. Stay cooler than a polo shirt.

October 1, 2021

Nice shirt

This a nice casual summer shirt

September 22, 2021

Fits great! Feels great!

Delivery was fast, priced just right and fits great!

September 22, 2021

My favorite short sleeve shirt

I love the fit and look, as well as the fabric and color selections. I own four. These are the best button up short sleeve shirts I've ever owned.

September 11, 2021

As expected..I love their casual shirts. The wesr like iron and never disappoint.

See above

September 6, 2021

Its nice

Not much else to say other than its a shirt that fits and feels pretty good.

September 6, 2021

Warm weather comfort

I wear this shirt as a casual and as active wear for anytime I want comfort and breath ability

September 5, 2021

Cool comfortable shirt

I saw this shirt on my nephew and immediately knew my husband would love it. I started surfing the Patagonia site and found it. We were going on a trip to New Orleans and it was a great travel shirt- my husband wore it Three times the first week he had it. - great buy!

September 5, 2021

Bought two

Love the shirts, but one fits so much better than the other. One is true to size, one runs small. Thats the problem of not being able to try on. Makes wonder if I ordered 3 of the same, how they would fit. Great shirt otherwise.

September 4, 2021

It's fine

The shirt is what it is supposed to be. Wish it was a bit softer but that is more of a personal preference and this is my first hemp shirt. Fit is true and seems well made so far.

September 3, 2021

Wonderfully Comfortable Fabric

I bought one of these shirts several months ago, and found that I loved the feel of the 55% hemp 45% cotton fabric so much that I bought two more, in different colors.

September 1, 2021

Slim Fitting

A bit too tight for me at 510and 180 lbs in medium. Returned the shirt and went with a different style.

September 1, 2021

A nice looking and comfortable button up

Feels comfortable and has solid construction. Wrinkles easy but I dont mind too much.

August 31, 2021

Perfect

This is the ideal shirt with true to size fit and great look!

August 31, 2021

Kick back comfortable

Great shirt, looks good, wears well, very comfortable

August 29, 2021

Pretty impeccable

I hope Patagonia does not try to alter the design or sizing with this product in the future. It is a really handsome shirt-lightweight and airy as advertised-and the attention to detail is really evident in how the shirt is crafted. I'm 5'8" with a a bit of muscle on my upper body and a size medium is fantastic. I'm glad it&#x27... Read More;s not tight in the armpits or across the back-I have plenty of freedom and room to move. If this shirt became a super slim fit that was trying to be more fashion-oriented it would be ruined! Keep this piece as it is, please! The goshawk dobby weave pattern is even airier than the others and the way it is sewn is just awesome. Also love the coconut buttons! This shirt, hands-down, is the short sleeve button-up that you want to grab spring, summer, and fall. Keep the straight hem across the bottom, keep the relaxed nature of it so it is not constricting (sleeves could maybe be a touch shorter, but that's it).

August 28, 2021

Almost a kimono like print, very subtle!

I have had, nd still have many, many Patagonia shirts of various kinds, and some of my favorites are the annual button down, short sleeved prints. There is almost always something perfect for my style, and this year it is the blue-black Japanese kimono pattern. Very subtle, appropriate for work or nights out, and built with the expected Patagonia q... Read Moreuality and consistency of sizing and fit. I almost always can predict what will fit me, even as my body changes through the years. That confidence allows me to order most items without trying them on first, and the quality of materials and thoughtfulness of the design and construction means I will get a good long life out of anything I buy and the Worn Wear gets a good percentage of things that still have life to give!

August 20, 2021

Nice summer shirt

Nice pattern, fit was a bit slim for me.

August 17, 2021

Great except for itchies

The fabric really seems like a great balance between light and tough. It hangs well and looks great. It has a quality feel to it and I love the buttons, which seem to be made of coconut shells. Unfortunately my skin just can't handle it - it is very itchy to the point where I can't wear it at all. Very bummed that I have to return it.

Response from Patagonia
August 17, 2021

Hi Clayton! We're so bummed to hear that the fabric doesn't work for you. You might like our [Men's Organic Cotton Slub Poplin Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-organic-cotton-slub-poplin-shirt/51775.html) as it has no hemp and may be easier on your skin.

August 11, 2021

Comfortable to wear all day

The fabric and print on this shirt are perfect for work and blend well with khaki or navy pants. The shirt runs a bit small, especially along the bicep so keep that in mind if ordering online. Overall a beautiful shirt that will enjoy a long life.

August 10, 2021

Different Shirt Design

I thought the background color from Internet pictures was dark blue; black is a more 'in your face' color and is not as informal as I wanted. The construction is good; a softer material would have made it more comfortable. All in all, it IS Patagonia and zI have purchased ~ 45 shirts from Patagonia- in Montana, in Argentina, on the Inter... Read Morenet and in used clothing stores in Florida for salt water fly fishing!!! Keep it up and please insert a wild design in your shirts once and awhile!!!!!! John Ebeling

August 6, 2021

Back Step Shirt

comfortable everyday relaxed loose fit

August 1, 2021

not just another pretty shirt...

Cotton n hemp blend in this shirt breaths well and feels tuff, like it will last forever. The Great color print makes me smile, it has a cool pocket slot 4 a pen and washes and dries well on a hanger. It is a shirt that's a heaver weight than your typical 100%cotton aloha type shirt, of which I prefer...

July 29, 2021

Smart casual

A trendy shirt that I use for smart casual or work. I usually run between a M or L in Patagonia, a L fits me best in this shirt. Note, I do prefer a looser fit. Despite the shirt being made of recyclable material, it feels nice against my skin.

July 29, 2021

Nice shirt w/ good print that fits well on a 5'8" 125 lb woman.

Nice shirt, well tailored w/ good print that fits well on a 5'8" 125 lb woman. Light weight but highly woven cloth great for summer or life in the tropics.

July 27, 2021

Great summer shirt

A gift for my husband. Saw it online and I thought he would like it. Showed it to him and he gave a thumbs up. Arrived swiftly and he's a happy man. This is as dressed up as he gets. Easy to wear right out of the dryer.

July 27, 2021

Fourth Back Step

I like a loose fit so get these in XL. Great ventilation in the summer and easy to care for. This one is snazzy and will get saved for special occasions. I now have four. I wish they'd make a long sleeve version.

July 26, 2021

Casual shirt

Looks great. Shows lots of wrinkles after washing.

July 22, 2021

Soft feels good per my wife

Liked the pen pocket , buttons , fabric, untuckness

July 19, 2021

Very nice shirt

The shirt is attractive, comfortable, and fits well.

July 18, 2021

Incredibly comfortable

Incredibly comfortable. Light and breathable, but enough fabric to still feel cozy. Great to wear casually or in the garden. I am 6 ft. 150 lbs, fits perfectly.

July 17, 2021

Very comfortable

Wrinkles very easily. Requires ironing.

July 16, 2021

Great shirt.

A really comfortable shirt.

July 15, 2021

Remarkable comfort

This shirt material is the most comfortable for everyday wear on hot/humid days in southern Florida. I would like this exact material.in a long sleeve model too.

July 13, 2021

The flower print is perfection!

The flower print is a rad shirt for summer. Perfect fit in the upper shoulders and arms, but really long. I'm 6.1 and it hands LONG. Still, I love it. The best quality and feels super durable, it'll last many summer BBQ and beach days to come!

July 13, 2021

Very nice shirt!

Very comfortable shirt for summer wear, very nice material for hot days, and of course it is stylish!

July 13, 2021

Great summer work-casual shirt

I have this shirt now in 3 colors patterns and Ill buy another when new patterns come out! Runs a little large and loose. Holds up great after multiple washes and gets softer each time. Nice enough to wear to work.

July 11, 2021

Great shirt but run large

I having been buying from Patagonia for many years and love their gear, clothes and culture. I purchase 3 shirts in Large. They run pretty big so heads up. Wish I would of gotten the M. Great shirts.

July 8, 2021

Comfy good looking shirt

Slim fit shirt fits me very well tucked or untucked. Got more compliments with it tucked rather than untucked. Breathable and nice print

July 8, 2021

Great shirt! Great fit!

Love the shirt! Only thing I would Change is a snap style button.

July 7, 2021

Casual Wear

I wore this shirt for the first time this Fathers Day, and I was very happy. It has a really nice fit. Im slim fit and the medium size works perfectly. The shirt has excellent fabric and excellent craftsmanship.

July 7, 2021

Lots of compliments

Good looking shirt! I get lots of compliments on it. This is my second shirt like this one, different color from the last, this one unlike the first, was a little scratchy out of the bag. first wash it soften up and is now a weekend staple.

July 7, 2021

Another Great Patagonia Shirt

Everything works with the Back Step Shirt, fabric feels great against the skin, looks good after wearing many times between washings, fit feels good, not too tight or loose, fabrics are woven with interesting designs.

July 6, 2021

Fit is way smaller than other shirts

Ordered this and had to send it back as the fit was way smaller than other shirts in the same size. Not cool! Patagonia get your sizing consistent!

July 6, 2021

Symbolic of Summer 2021

Bright, fun print expressing the joy and abandon of being fully vaccinated.

July 5, 2021

Comfortable & Cool

Unique design, soft feel and washes well.

July 4, 2021

Super Nice

Patagonia bringing the great quality as always! Shirt was well made and wore and washed well!

July 4, 2021

Like this shirt

I find these requests for reviews to a pain and usually ignore them, but this is a great shirt. Fits well, very comfortable and durable

July 3, 2021

Great quality

The shirt fits great, feels good and looks awesome. As with anything, you pay for what you get.

July 3, 2021

Just great

Maybe loosen it up for those who run large

July 2, 2021

Nice but pricy

This is a really nice shirt. Cool enough to wear comfortably on a hot day (90s, if you are in the shade). It looks spectacular. To the point where Ive gotten compliments almost every time Ive worn it. It feels ok against the skin. The fabric is a bit rougher than what Im used to but not to the point that it is uncomfortable. Its durable enough alth... Read Moreough it is a bit thin so Id recommend this as a casual only piece (I have a feeling it would fall apart on anything more demanding then an outing around town with friends). With that being said you still dont have to baby it on a daily basis. The bottom line: this shirt is awesome. Its sexy, not to warm for hot days, and comfortable. The only thing I can complain about is the high price. If you can look past that, Id get it today.

July 1, 2021

Nice fitting button up

Breathable, well fitting short sleeve button up. Fits good on shoulders and chest while not hanging too long and wears great un tucked.

June 30, 2021

Perfect Summer Shirt

Light, airy and super soft after a couple of washes, this is the perfect summer shirt!

June 24, 2021

Good stuff

Typical (high) quality Patagonia attire. Hemp/cotton blend results in medium-light weight shirt, comfortable and durable. And TWO pockets, a rarity in short sleeved shirts. Ill probably get some more of these.

June 21, 2021

Runs way small

I ordered two of these shirts in different colors. After washing them before I wore them in cold water, I wore the first and found that it either runs way small or it shrunk a lot! In addition the combination of cotton and hemp makes it act like linen and unless it's pressed it turns out to be full of wrinkles, not good for a casual shirt!

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry the shirt did not work out. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it at your convenience as our products are covered by our Ironclad Guarantee.

June 20, 2021

Nice quality button up short sleeve

I am a big fan of the Mens Go to Shirt, which is nearly perfect. But unfortunately this year only three color styles were offered. In years past it closer to 8 style were offered and I have bought 2 of them every year as they hold up and look perfect over time. The back step shirt is a slightly heavier feeling fabric with a more texture than the go... Read Moreto shirt. Fit is great and the black floral print looks nice.

June 16, 2021

comfortable summer wear

comfortable, light, understated, cold washable and maintains shape and size.

June 9, 2021

Great shirt

Great fabric and comfort. Very durable .

May 17, 2021

Light and Cool

The Back Step is a Great summer Guide shirt/fishing shirt. Light and Cool a Very comfortable shirt. You can step off the boat and in to the Restaurant with confidence.

May 5, 2021

Hip to the hemp

Slightly heavier material than Patagonia's slub poplin cotton and A/C shirt. The hemp/cotton blend is extremely comfortable. Nice enough to wear to the office, casual enough to wear with shorts. Looking forward to wearing this shirt for years.

May 1, 2021

Beautiful cloth

Perfect fit and great looking shirt for active/casual wear. The look of the cloth is what sold me on it.

April 29, 2021

Great shirt. Patagonia quality.

I own about a zillion Patagonia shirts. I love my new shirt. Nice color. It fits well. High quality. Good stuff.

April 29, 2021

Easy to toss on and look put together

6'1, 175. Medium fits perfect. Not too slim or too baggy. I wear it mostly for casual settings and after a few washes it just keeps getting softer. Material is well built and I really like the buttons. I have the shirt in multiple colors and it is an easy way to look put together and still be comfortable. The material also breathes pretty well... Read More for warmer temps. Definitely a go to for spring through fall. Girlfriend/significant other approved.

April 28, 2021

awesome fit

This shirt is to die for.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches