Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 202 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt

4.7/5
True To Size
November 23, 2021

Most comfortable & rugged shirt Ive ever owned

I have purchased 5 of these shirts over the years. They are the perfect combination of comfortable & rugged. I can go to the office & look nice or chop wood or do demo & the shirt stays looking good & holds up to any extreme wear situation. Right me very large, order 1-2 sizes smaller than your normal shirt size.

November 22, 2021

Ferrier

i use them in my work as a landscaper. theyre durable and professional. i wear them frequently.

November 20, 2021

Built tough

This is an excellent work shirt. The fit is roomy with out being baggy. It stands up well to wandering around in the woods as well as banging around in the shop and barn. Quickly becoming my favorite shirt.

November 19, 2021

bulky fit but nice material

I liked the shirt. The colors could be more classic flannel. I ordered a Large. I'm 6' 210. It was pretty bulky. It fit weird too, like boxy. I returned it just due to the size issue but I liked the shirt.

November 18, 2021

Exactly what I wanted

I'm very impressed with this shirt. Soft, durable, well-constructed. The fit is boxy, but I tend to wear it untucked and unbuttoned, like a jacket. Does a great job of concealing things worn around your belt that you prefer strangers not know about.

November 18, 2021

Bulky

I think it was a personal preference; the shirt seemed to have a large collar and seemed bulky on me. Patagonia fleeces in M fit me perfectly as do other shirts. Anyway, really liked the piece just not the fit. Also I kind of like having the Patagonia label not so in front of the face which I overlooked when I purchased. Love your gear, clothes and... Read More products. Love your mission. Keep it up.

November 14, 2021

Size is a bit generous for my build

Somewhat athletic guy here with broader chest. Shirt fits great up top but I feel like a large around my waist (30). Cant wear this as casually as I want. Might have to order a size smaller.

November 13, 2021

wears great, but odd differences between colors

i have an older brownish shirt, and bought a second one in blue. the only misfire on the new one is that it only has one set of buttons on the cuff, rather than two on the older shirt. the cuff is so large that without the second set of buttons that its too loose and gets in the way. the fit

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2021

Hi Kurt, we recently had to remove some of the Men's Farrier's Work Shirts from our inventory due to the issue with the second set of buttons that were missing on the sleeve. We'll reach out to you directly to help you get a free replacement.

November 10, 2021

Best shirt Ive ever worn

While trying to update my daily fall/winter long sleeve shirts I came across the Farrier Shirt. It is hands down the most comfortable and functional shirt I now own. Regardless if I am in the office, on the shop floor or in the forrest this will be my new go to. Excellent job.

November 9, 2021

Great Shirt

Just the right weight, not too heavy. Run slightly large through the chest. It is meant to be worn over layers. I need one in every color!

November 7, 2021

Perfect fit and so comfortable

Love these shirts! They fit great and have enough stretch to make them super comfortable. I bought 4 and wear them every day

November 3, 2021

Total comfort

Most comfortable and reassuring flannel shirt I have. I have a lot of them! This is the shirt you will have in your closet that you keep picking to wear over all the rest.

November 1, 2021

Best quality shirts I've ever owned.

Just bought 3 more. Heavyweight and rugged BUT remarkably comfortable and I don't overheat indoors! They didn't cut corners. The shirt buttons don't stretch apart at the chest, the sleeves are long enough to reach my wrist in any position, unrestricted range of motion, and when I lift my hands over my head my midsection doesn't ... Read Moreshow! Metal buttons, double stitched seams, and hemp fabric are good signs that this shirt will last for years. Noticeably better quality than my NorthFace or Columbia button ups and I could immediately see and feel the difference. Worth the extra money. Perfect for fall yard-work, fishing, working in the garage, hiking, or even wearing to my casual office job. I have no doubt these shirts will last for years. Makes me dislike every other button up shirt I own. Hemp may be my new favorite fabric. The XL size runs a bit larger than my TNF & Columbia brands which is great because it means it will still fit comfortably after I wash it. I love these shirts.

October 27, 2021

high quality

great quality in regard to feel of the shirt, texture and colors. Also very durable. I also like knowing my purchase helps support the environment through Patagonias efforts to heal the world.

October 26, 2021

The best

I love the quality of the wear this is by far one of the best outdoor activity casualwear companies there is

October 25, 2021

The only flannel shirt I'll ever need

All flannel shirts or anything close to it are getting donated. I'll only need this red / black plaid version and maybe one more. I'm done with everything else. Patagonia will have lost their minds if they stop making this shirt. Note: I am a True Large and the large fit me like a circus tent. Medium was perfect

October 24, 2021

Rugged and Unique

This shirt separates itself from the pack, its unique and rugged. You can wear it to work or out on the town. I normally wear an XL, but from the reviews went with the large and its perfect.

October 22, 2021

Farrier Work Shirt Reconsideration

Well, Patagonia has been taken over by a new product guru. The shirt is okay, the buttons are small and made for a Russian ballerina, the material is weird; soft but somewhat confusingly inept about keeping you warm or cold (okay cool). I can remember back when Patagonia offered Fall Catalog of shirts that were just right in every way.

October 19, 2021

Good work shirt

The shirt feels nice and wears well. Only time will tell whether it lasts, but I have a feeling it will. Based on other reviews I ordered one size smaller but had to return it because I found the arms and chest to be small.

October 15, 2021

Beautiful

Just received and I'm already in love. The fabric is much softer than I would expect for a work shirt, and the sewing is superb. I like the metal buttons since I find snaps are usually too small and hard to close. Again, perfectly tailored and my compliments to the sewer -- the seams are perfect and sturdy. I got the blue and the color is gorg... Read Moreeous -- I'll have to force myself to wait before ordering the red/fire.

October 15, 2021

Very comfortable but hate the buttons!

Really like this shirt! It did take me 3 tries to get it right. I initially ordered the Stone Blue in large (Im 5 10, 210lbs). It was HUGE! So I exchanged it and changed my mind on the color; got the Dark Ash in medium. Lovely looking shirt, but the medium was very snug, so back to the large I guess. Uggh!!! Patagonia only exchanges 1x, so had to r... Read Moreeturn the shirt for a refund then re-order in large again. For whatever reason the Dark Ash in large wasnt as huge as the Stone Blue one?!?! Weird. At any rate, its very comfortable & of course well made (love Patagonias build-quality). The reason for the 4 stars are the buttons. OMG!!! The buttons are much too small (unless your a hobbit I guess???). Then the button-holes are too small for the already too small buttons. You almost need pliers to get the tiny little buttons into the undersized button-holes! I mean I guess a larger button would impact the look a little bit, but man! At least make the buttons a little thicker so there is something to grip. I felt like I was going to have bloody fingers by the time I got it buttoned up. Maybe the button holes will stretch a bit with time, but maybe fine-tune that detail designers!

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

Hi Todd! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on the buttons, we'll pass it along to the design team.

October 14, 2021

Burly and Weird

This shirt is a half-step below a denim jacket. Its thicc, stout, grumpy-get-off-my-lawn, thinks youre a baby, tough. I love it. What I dont love is the strange tailoring that has seemed to plague Patagonia for as long as I can remember. Tailoring that doesnt work with movement. Its getting weird at this point that it hasnt been remedied. Raise... Read More your hands above your head and the hem seems to somehow multiply that movement by some demonic factor to leave your plumbers crack waving to the world. Reach down in front of you and the seams seem to be stretching to their limit across anything resembling broad shoulders. The fit is not meant for me, and Patagonia clothing just doesnt seem to work the way I would hope for me, but it is a dope jacket/shirt that appears to be ready for abuse and use.

October 14, 2021

This is a large

Im a classic medium. But I look like a child in this medium. Planning on returning it, just havent had time. I love Patagonia more than any other brand, but your designs and fit are mostly terrible these days, which makes me sad. If it was 50% better it would be all I wear. The wool shirt I have from you is a medium also, and fits well. WTF?

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2021

Hey Nick, thanks for the review on the Farrier's Work Shirt. We're really sorry to hear that you've experienced some trouble with size consistency, and we've shared your feedback with the rest of the team. One thing to note is we do offer regular, slim and relaxed fits. This particular shirt is relaxed which could be why it felt extra large on you. If you haven't already, you're welcome to begin a return or exchange for a smaller size [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 13, 2021

Fall is Farrier shirt weather

The only size small shirt I own, so guidance was accurate. Hemp fabric is stiffer than any flannel, but its a nice weight and feel. Second year Ive worn this, feel qualified to review. Good layer over t-shirt or light technical shirt. Pocket buttons over phone-nice! Retired, so no one cares if I wear this every day. I suspect Ill be wearing this fo... Read Morer many seasons.

October 12, 2021

Collar Roll/Buttons

Overall great shirt. Very comfortable, and fit is good. My only feedback/comment would be that the shirt needs to have a collar roll/buttons. Collar buttons are a very common feature on work-type shirts (Carhartt, LL Bean, etc.) as it allows you to move around and be active will maintaining a professional collar, especially if you are not ironing t... Read Morehe shirt before every use. This is the one feature I think this shirt needs to be perfect.

October 11, 2021

Not sure what you want here

Good design revisited. New version of traditional shirt. Great color. Please be more courageous with color for men. Youve got great taste!

October 10, 2021

Super High Quality and A Medium thats TRULY Medium

I cant say enough good about this shirt. I have bought 2 other colors of it since. The design and overall construction is unmatched, in my personal experience. This was my first dive into Patagonia and I am sold. I have since went on to purchase sweatshirts, fjord flannels, pants and even some shorts. I appreciate much about Patagonia, specifically... Read More to me the sizing and quality. I am 39 and about 5ft 9in and 195lb. To have a Mens Medium fit me as good as Patagonia does it, means everything to me. For me Large is always hair to big and Small is way too small (in any brand) so to have a Medium be more of a Larger Medium is exceptional. I highly recommend this shirt. Love the quick shipping too. Thank you

October 9, 2021

Great Yard Work Shirt

The material feels durable yet soft to the skin. It will wear well over time and it's not a shirt you don't mind getting dirty. It is part of a Patagonia trend to widen out the middle on it's "work" apparel. I wish they wouldn't make these and their other workwear so barrel chested. The traditional Patagonia fit is fo... Read Morer the mountain athlete and this fits more like a Sunday Beer League shirt.

October 5, 2021

Very structured and comfortable

Great shirt, soft out of the box and only wear in more soft. The hemp fabric Patagonia uses is amazing.

September 28, 2021

Durable

Pretty solid shirt. Feels heavy duty and looks good. Perfect length for me but arms are a little too baggy. Overall, I love it!

September 20, 2021

Super Awesome!

I can't wait for fall to wear this everyday. I immediately order one in another color. Super soft but seems like it will be durable. Fits a little big which is nice for us larger types. Anything slim fit for on the border I need to go up to XXL, this is great at XL.

September 13, 2021

The perfect rugged shirt

Absolutely love this shirt. It runs a little large so I sized down to a Medium as I typically wear a Large. The fit is perfect. I love how durable, soft, and high quality the material is. It looks great worn casually or while working. Cant wait to buy more

September 8, 2021

Solid shirt

Comfy shirt, fits without being too loose. Built solid like it will last. I'll be living in this all fall and winter. I ordered a small and x-small based on the reviews saying it ran large. I didn't even need to try on the small. I'm 5'6" 140lbs, trim w/ bumpy muscles

August 31, 2021

Outstanding Work Shirt

Forget the price. These Farrier work shirts are wonderful. In the left pocket I carry a mask. In the left tool pocket I carry a Streamlight. In the right tool pocket I carry a pen. In the right pocket I carry a iPhone plus. These shirts are warm in the winter and wearable most days in the summer. They have stood up very well to heavy use. I have re... Read Morequested Patagonia to make a short sleeve Farrier version as well with no response from Patagonia.

August 31, 2021

Awesome Denim-esque jacket

As with most Patagonia gear, I move down in my normal size. I am usually a Large in every other brand. The Medium fits how I like it - closer to the body, more of slim fit. Not big enough for a jacket underneath, only enough for a thermal or a t-shirt. Great though, more grey/black than black. Seems well-built and made to last.

August 24, 2021

Patagonina's big/small dilemma

As with other Relaxed fit shirts from Patagonia, there is too much room in the body, but not enough room in the shoulders and sleeves. Small through the top and big through the bottom seems to be the way they are cutting shirts the last couple of years. I had to return two of them. Other than the way they are cut, they were fine enough shirts.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2021

Hey Jon, thank you so much for leaving us a review on the Farrier's Work Shirt. We've taken your feedback and have passed it along to the appropriate team members for further review. In the meantime, if you'd like measurements to get a preview of how something would fit, feel free to reach out to customer service [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

August 4, 2021

Great shirt! Sleeve width made for Thor

This a great shirt. The fabric is amazing and the design is perfect. I love the double pockets with Pen holders. I love the buttons. However, I would love to see this same shirt in a slimmer fit though as some of us don't have arms like Thor

July 25, 2021

Great all around

I have a medium and a small. The small fits me more to fit/ snug. While the medium is perfect as a light weight jacket with a layer underneath. Both fit me well just one is loose and slightly baggy while the other more fitting.

July 25, 2021

Super high Quálity

Its very warm and cozzy

July 24, 2021

review title--what does that even mean...?

almost sent it back because buttons too small and buttonholes too tight, and the cuffs need multiple buttons for proper adjustment. nice fabric, pretty good fit. I'm a long time fan but shopping on your jerky new site is annoying and a pain.

July 8, 2021

Great oversized work shirt

My wife loves this shirt. I got her one after her saying how much she loved the way mine looked. Great stuff as always from Patagonia

June 11, 2021

good looking shirt

great fit and terrific feeling fabric. I like the pencil pockets, you do not need to open the flap on the pocket.

May 18, 2021

Nice and heavy duty!

Fabric is great. Heavy duty and soft. Shirt is exactly what I was looking for to wear at my office/warehouse. Only issue for me is that the cuffs are too large. Will have to move the button.

May 11, 2021

Inconsistent sizing which is too bad.

Bought the hickory stripe when these first came out. Medium fit me like a glove, very happy. Sleeve length was perfect. Cloth was a little stiff but will break in just fine. Bought the navy medium since I like the first one so much. Much longer in body length plus the sleeves need 2 rolls of the cuff to fit. Cloth is much softer more like flannel.... Read More Worry that this one wont last as long. Should have returned the second, but didnt ran it through wash and hot dry, minimal shrinkage. Now stuck with oversized shirt that doesnt fit right. Weird because Ive worn a medium in Patagonia for well over 15 years. Too bad companys quality control on sizing is slipping.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi Gerard, we're sorry that the sizing of the Navy shirt is off. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty even if you have already washed it so you can get refunded for it and order a new one if you'd like.

May 5, 2021

Comfortable

Love it!

May 4, 2021

Great shirt for work

I purchased this shirt for tree trimming work and other tasks. I am 5'11" and about 200 lbs. I purchased the medium size because the previous reviews stated that they run larger. It is true, I am usually a Large but the Medium fits perfectly. Shoulders have enough room to work comfortably and the tail is just long enough to cover pant wai... Read Morest when you are working above your head. Also, the style looks good and I have worn it out casually.

April 29, 2021

Very nice shirt.

Well made, good feel, nice pockets that fit my phone but runs big.

April 15, 2021

Large means large

Despite my limited verticality, I normally order large shirts to accommodate my shoulders and chest, and that normally works out just fine. In this case that was ill-advised - and when Patagonia says relaxed fit they mean it. Fortunately, they make exchanges super easy, so Im replacing my beautifully made, delightfully soft, handsome blue size L Fa... Read Morerrier shirt with an M of the same description. In this case, when in doubt order down; that may well apply to anything described as relaxed fit.

April 13, 2021

Old School

Super well made, great fabric, fits perfect, rugged. Love it!

April 12, 2021

Solid Shirt

Nice shirt. Roomy pockets. Great feel. A lot of shirts of this style are too short, but this one is just right. I have not worn it long enough to comment on wear, but it looks bullet- proof. I dont love the metal buttons (I play the guitar), but I can live with them.

April 2, 2021

Rugged and will hold up 100%

Ive bought two of these so far, they will look great out of the wash for those that wonder about washing hemp. No need to iron, no wrinkles. Great all around shirt

March 30, 2021

Soft and tough best of both worlds!

Actually it all works, at least for me. The overall feel (hand) and drape is great and two count them - two pencil slots even!

March 25, 2021

Farrier shirt

Originally got the XL which was way too big but exchanged it for a large which is perfect. Not unusual for me to vary between the two. GREAT shirt- looks super, feels comfy and not rough at all. Yes- get one if this is your style.

March 21, 2021

New Favorite Shirt

I get a ton of complements on this shirt. Its really comfortable for work, whether thats out in the field or in the office. Fit is a bit larger than usual but makes for good layering.

March 21, 2021

Great shirt, it does run large. Order a size smaller like they have stated.

Normally I wear medium sizes with clothes but these definitely need to be sized down. I purchased small and it fits great. With that aside this is a wonderful shirt! Id love to see a version with sleeve tabs and a dark brown or even light brown option. Get. This. Shirt. I spent countless hours looking for a canvas shirt and this was the closest t... Read Morehing I could find and it does amazingly.

March 12, 2021

Love this Shirt!

This is a really good alternative to flannel shirts, with a different weave, look, and feel. Warmth and softness is very much the same, but has a different look, not so much like a "camping" shirt as flannel, a bit more style. Pockets are great, can put my iPhone in easily even in leather cover. Also has pen/pencil pocket opening so flap ... Read Moredoes not have to be opened to get pen in/out. Have a feeling it will wear a long, long time and planning on getting more to add to the two I have.

March 7, 2021

Ready for Work

I am 5,6 and have a medium build chest wise 38 ish and I ordered a small. Definitely was the right call fits great other then the sleeves they are a touch long but roll up great (nothing a tailor couldnt fix). Overall the material is tough but not rough on the skin. I use this weekly in a CNC shop coolant and heavy metal dirt washes out just fine. ... Read MoreIt is a bit heavier keep that in mind. I will be ordering the short sleeve work shirts next as the weather warms up.

March 2, 2021

Nice shirt. Cool design.

This is a great shirt and becoming a favorite among my other Patagonia shirts and casual wear. My only complaint is that even in a size small (my Patagonia size) it fits too long over the torso. Im 59 and athletic build/thin; cant believe it when even a Mens Small feels too big?! Would be perfect if 1-2 shorter at the hem (arm length is generous - ... Read Morewhich I like).

February 28, 2021

Very Good Shirt

Well made work shirt. Fits a little large (relaxed), but this is what you want for work. Very comfortable. I have already given one to a workmate and he loves it. I will be buying more of them.

February 26, 2021

Incredibly Functional

A very functional shirt. Great fit. Works well for a day of work or a casual night out.

February 24, 2021

Tough work shirts, but sizing is difficult

I wear these shirts on a weekly basis as a carpenter, and they hold up really well. Flexible but tough fabric, comfortable all day, sleeves rolled up or buttoned down. Subtle style for client meetings. Buttons are metal, never at risk for snapping in half while hauling materials. Safe to say these are the last work shirts I'll be buying for a ... Read Morewhile. While the pros are endless, just two cons worth mentioning: Metal buttons on cuffs will mare finished painted surfaces. And sizing consistency seems off - my green and blue shirts are a full 1.0'-1.5" longer in the sleeve and torso than the "hickory stripe" color, all size small, all washed identically.

February 24, 2021

Work horse shirt

It's gone through post hole digging, planing lumber, painting a fence, etc and after each wash looks good enough to wear on camera for business meetings.

February 21, 2021

accurate

very soft, yet burly.

February 18, 2021

Great Quality

It was risky buying a long sleeved shirt online because my arms are usually longer than the average sleeve. But these long sleeves fit just right. The length of the shirt is great too, I don't have to tuck it in.

February 7, 2021

Well made, tough material and comfortable

I opted for a large due to working in this shirt. Its a bit big in terms of what I would wear normally but the extra room is great while working. Very durable construction and glad to know its responsibly sourced and made.

February 5, 2021

Awesome shirt

Absolutely my favorite new shirt will 100% be buying more

February 2, 2021

My favorite work shirt

I wear this shirt for construction and field work. It is my go to for its durability and comfort. It's one of those shirts that's so comfortable that you don't notice it. The length is great for tall folk.

January 31, 2021

Outstanding Work Shirt

Usually, I wear a XL but in the Patagonia Farrier, L is the correct size for me. I WISH these shirts were made as short sleeve shirts too. The Farrier is warm, and has mini pocket places for a pen, and a Streamlight flashlight too. I carry a Covid mask in the left regular pocket and an iPhone Pro in the right regular pocket. The pockets are deep an... Read Mored have button down cover flaps. The Farrier is well made and worth the $100 per shirt they cost. I cannot find any other brand of shirt that matches the quality, and functionality of the Patagonia Farrier shirt.

January 29, 2021

Super soft and very well made

I originally bought a small, hoping for a fitted look but the shoulders felt a bit snug. I sent it back for a M and Im happy Ill be able to add a layer underneath for hikes and cool weather bike rides. The fabric is heavy duty yet super soft, like light flannel meets linen... glad I finally bought this shirt after eyeing it for a few years.

January 28, 2021

Good Fabric Bad Fit

I wonder if this would shrink to a reasonable size in the wash but I will return it before finding out. The small was too small and this Medium is way too big in the arms and around the torso. I wonder if the chest pockets puff out after some use? Seems like it could be a problem too. The fabric feels perfect though. Soft and strong. (Usually I wea... Read Morer a Large or a Medium shirt. 5'11 180lbs)

January 26, 2021

Gift for partner

I got this as a gift for my partner and he loves it! The material seems very durable and looks like it will last him for years to come.

January 21, 2021

Will last for years

Fit is on the large side, in length especially, but this provides plenty of room and coverage during vigorous work activities. Buttons are great, material seems indestructible and, while not a flannel, provides decent warmth while layering. Originally ordered a large, felt it was too long and exchanged it for a medium. The medium was better in body... Read More and sleeve length but strangely the torso felt extremely tight compared to the large. It felt like a jumped down two sizes and was very constricting. I exchanged the M back for a L again and feel much better about it. The length isn't a deal breaker and I will probably order another.

January 20, 2021

Highly Recommend!

I bought this for a friend and he absolutely loved it. He ordered 3 more! Loved the material super comfortable.

January 18, 2021

Works hard, lasts forever

I wear these shirts every day for hard foundry work. They are by far the longest lasting shirts Ive found, with the exception of the buttons. I sew a button back on every once in a while but otherwise Ive been continually impressed. I bought some when they first came out and they ran very large, but the ones I bought recently are true to size with ... Read Moreroom to move (I still wear the originals but decided to add to the rotation). Well done

January 8, 2021

Have been told I wear it too often!

Exactly what I wanted out of this shirt. Sturdy buttons, heavy and warm, amazing layer for spring/fall or mid layer for winter. Comfortable and flexible, already bought another. Could use more color options though, I want more variation in this great shirt!

December 30, 2020

Best shirt ever. Going to buy a 2nd

Wow, off all the Patagonia stuff I have ever purchased, this is the holy grail product. Tough as nails, comfy, handsome, and practical. Dont even think about it, BUY THIS SHIRT. I got the industrial green color, but now Im looking into the blue.

December 25, 2020

Awesome shirt!

Another solid buy from Patagonia! The shirt runs larger than expected. But I also prefer clothes that are more true-to-size.

December 25, 2020

Workhorse

Solid shirt, heavy, and comfortable. 6/190 and M is a good fit

December 9, 2020

Warm and Rugged

Has quickly become one of my favorite shirts. Heavy duty and perfect for winter. Great quality fabric and seems durable.

December 8, 2020

don't even try to borrow it

extremely comfortable

November 24, 2020

Wrong fitting

Measured all my body according to the guide, still got the wrong size.

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2020

We're sorry to hear that our size guide was not helpful. The Farrier Shirt is a "relaxed" fit design, and you may prefer our "slim" or "regular" fitting styles. Please don't hesitate to return your purchase to our Patagonia stores or reach out to our Customer Service team for [help](https://www.patagonia.ca/customer-service.html).

November 22, 2020

Thick but breathable!

Thick, breathable, and work appropriate I had to buy 2 more. The hemp/cotton/polyester combinations work well and create a shirt that feels like its going to last a long time. 6/190 and the M fits well. Recommend

November 22, 2020

Solid workhorse

Replaced an 80s era Pati canvas work shirt. Had to size up (due to the effects of gravity, age and contemporary sizing) in order to have the same loose fit. Pockets are actually large enough to be useful and the separate pen sleeves are a useful addition. Hope this one lasts a long as the last one!

November 22, 2020

First out of the closet!

Kinda wear this like my old Pati canvas shirt from the 80s. Second layer, more pockets, transition seasons. Great midweek work shirt!

November 21, 2020

Super warm and stylish!

Great shirt with strong build quality. Its a good value for the price...

November 13, 2020

keep the old, own the new...

The Farrier shirt exceeded my expectation on the first wearing. Great fit and details. I am a long time Patagonia customer since 1983. I have a 28 year old "stand-up" canvas cotton shirt in "sage". I originally bought for my Father. The old shirt has been a favorite for outdoor work, and the last few years in the winter, I hav... Read Moree used it in my woodshop. I decided I needed to try the Farrier not to replace, but add to my choices for the week. Fantastic details, strong fabric that will save me from abrasion as I handle rough stock and floor tool collisions as I move around the shop.

November 9, 2020

Durable and comfortable

Bought an XL first then had to switch out for a large. Super sturdy and comfortable. One of my favorite shirts now.

November 5, 2020

Great feeling shirt.

I am a large woman and an avid outdoor enthusiast. I wish Patagonia would make 3 XL for WOMEN so I could get a better fit. Other than that... it is fabulous!

October 30, 2020

Durable and soft

Tough yet soft shirt that feels as though the fabric will last through years of abuse. I will buy more- big fan of how supple the hemp fabric becomes as it wears.

October 16, 2020

Not worth it.

These shirts have seam issues. They come undone at the seams as if there was not enough fabric for the stitch to bite into. I have purchased two; they both have the same issue on different parts of the shirt. I would probably avoid buying it until the manufacturing process is improved. Other than that, both were my favorite shirts for month I owned... Read More them. Disappointment to say say the least.

Response from Patagonia
December 4, 2020

Hello Ryan, we're truly sorry to hear about the seam issues you've been having with both of your shirts. That should not be happening so please feel free to send them in for a [free repair or a warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Your feedback has been passed along to our Design Team.

October 7, 2020

A Patagonia Classic: Great Value in a Durable Work Shirt

After pruning, chain sawing, etc for a year in my first one, I just purchased a second Farrier for casual wear, as I consider this a new Patagonia classic (coming from a guy who has three decades experience with Patagonia and three jackets going past two decades). Once it's broken in over pints in the pubs, etc., then it joins me in the yard! ... Read MoreRe: the sizing confusion in the Reviews, I find the fit guide is accurate for the Medium in terms of 38-40 size and 34 sleeve, but even for a guy with a 35 inch waist (me), the torso is very roomy. I would prefer two inches less width, albeit, the garment still hangs well on my torso.

September 24, 2020

Perfect work shirt

I'm 6' 1", 195 lbs and after reading reviews was uncertain if the product ran large on the size. So I ordered 2 (small and medium). After trying on both, I'd say its pretty standard with other Patagonia gear. I preferred the medium. Small was way too tight. Unless you're looking to show off muscles. The shirt is comfortabl... Read Moree, very durable and warm. I wear it in the fall months as well. Breaks the wind nicely and has pockets for gear I like having on me. Highly recommend!

September 20, 2020

Roomy and warm

I was looking for a durable and warm work shirt while working in the yard and also for casual use. I found it. Deep and wide front pockets. Sleeve length is perfect. I'm 6' tall and about 155 lbs and the large was perfect. I like shirts that are not tight fitting. I live in Northern New York and this will be a great winter shirt. I really... Read More like the dark ash color. My first hemp shirt and it won't be my last. Has a softer feel compared with my canvas shirts. Not as stiff and easier to move around in. I highly recommend it.

September 17, 2020

Great work shirt

Perfect when the day is a little cooler but not cold enough to put a jacket. Im actually a Farrier and shoeing horses so u had to get one. Love it so much I end up getting a second one. Comfortable over another shirt and easy to wash love the shirt

September 16, 2020

Solid and comfy

I saw the work line runs a bit larger so instead of buying a large I got a medium and it fits great. The hemp is heavier than most but comfy on the skin or over a tee underneath. Feels very durable and strong.

September 15, 2020

Interesting "hard fabric and vintage feeling design in the striped farrier shirt.

The striped farrier shirt fabric is thick and solid and feels like it's very firmly woven. The other work shirts are softer and drape more easily. The site is very poor at explaining the dramatic differences between the fabrics. I bought the farrier's work shirt, and then later I got another different solid color work shirt and thought ... Read Morethe fabrics would have the same texture. I was seeking that same texture in a different color and was disappointed that the second shirt didn't have the firm, rugged tactile sense of the farrier's shirt. They are so different that they should be far better differentiated on the web site. I was under the impression they would be similar shirts. They are not. I don't want to say the other shirts are inferior. Not at all. They are excellent shirts, but too different to use the same name or be lumped together with the farrier's shirt.

September 14, 2020

Soft and Durable

Bought this shirt on a whim for work. Now i want all the colors. It is large so i put it over a T shirt. It is soft, but durable as are all Patagonia products. I could be a walking advertisement some days. This shirt and a rain coat (Torrentshell) will be my go to uniform for work in the Pacific Northwest this year. And I will look good at horse ba... Read Morern.

September 12, 2020

Heavy Duty

Substantial shirt with great style and color.

September 5, 2020

Really tough but good looking, too

This is my third farrier's work shirt. As warned in the catalog, work wear is cut big and roomy, but it was just what I was looking for. They are great for yard work, on the river, or riding horses.

September 2, 2020

Just right

I love this shirt! I am a farmer and appreciate the durability without sacrificing comfort! Id add a small slot on the top of one of the pockets to hold a pen or pencil. Thanks

September 1, 2020

Perfect shirt to work hard in

This was a gift for my brother who works on every project known to man and then heads to high mountains to camp and fish. It suits him perfectly!

September 1, 2020

Farrier's Work Shirt

This shirt definitely runs a little large. I especially found the sleeves too long which is too bad for a work shirt. Materials are high quality (fabric and buttons) as is the single needle tailoring.

July 27, 2020

Recommend Sizing Down

I'm 5'11" and 170lbs. Consistently a medium in Patagonia gear, but the small fits me well. Recommend the same advice others have shared, size down if you're looking for a more tailored fit. Great piece, comfortable and warm, and chest pockets have ample space. Can easily fit a large mobile phone (Galaxy S10) with room to spare.

July 22, 2020

DO NOT SIZE UP

I should not listen to most of the reviews here about go down a size or two. WRONG. If you are a decent size person not having chopstick arms and flat chest, stick with your true size. I wear large and go down to Medium because of most reviews whining about how this shirt so big. I cannot even button my chest and sleeve has zero room to move.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Hi Minseok. We're really sorry that this actually ended up being too tight. Please feel free to return it for a refund and purchase a size up if you'd like. We're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

July 13, 2020

Durable

Super robust and durable shirt. Fit a bit large, but solid construction for sure.

July 13, 2020

Great build quality

The fabric feels really solid, and I feel confident doing some labor work wearing it. I think this shirt will last me a while.

July 10, 2020

Durable

Super robust and durable shirt. Fit a bit large, but solid construction for sure.

July 9, 2020

Great build quality

The fabric feels really solid, and I feel confident doing some labor work wearing it. I think this shirt will last me a while.

June 21, 2020

Takes the chill off

Perfect hard wearing shirt. Ideal for spring and fall as an outer layer to take the chill off. Also good as a layer through the winter. Love it

June 19, 2020

My new favorite shirt

I bought this shirt several months ago and immediately realized it was one of the best shirts I have ever owned. It is well-made, sturdy, fits well, and looks great. After wearing the first one for several months I bought a second in a different color. These will last for years and hold up to rough use.

June 17, 2020

Perfect

This shirt is perfect - I wanted a comfortable shirt that I could wear every day sometimes alone - sometimes layered - I am in all different types of weather - inside - outside -all day long

June 17, 2020

Takes the chill off

Perfect hard wearing shirt. Ideal for spring and fall as an outer layer to take the chill off. Also good as a layer through the winter. Love it

April 26, 2020

My go-to shirt for work

Working in a ski and bike shop, our clothes tend to take a beating. For years I worked in the Fjord flannels, but they were sometimes too warm. The Farrier doesn't run as hot, looks good and has become my favorite shirt Patagonia makes. Own 3 and will absolutely buy a few more.

January 21, 2020

Cool beans

Most pleased with this purchase. Long been a fan of hemp back to the very first clothing items Patagonia offered using it. ’96 or so? Always preferred natural fabrics: 100% hemp, org cotton, linen, wool and or blends of these. Stopped by the Portland store more expressly to try this. Felt the notably substantial yet still surprisingly soft material... Read More and found myself directly rethinking things. Actual garments measurements of the size M purchased ~~> 23” pit to pit, 19” shoulder seam to shoulder seam and 25” from the shoulder seam to the end of cuff. As I happen to have longer arms the fit’s correct and satisfying for this frame. Full latitude to layer underneath or not depending on the temp and how hard I happen to expect to be working. Showing the greatest of care I was able to remove the more prominent branding and not damage the shirt in the least. The ‘ink black’ I find more of a dark grey or charcoal. Now I’m seeing the dark ash or alder green, one of these coming toward me.

January 13, 2020

Great Work Shirt

I leave this shirt hanging in my shop and put it on for jobs from waxing to outdoor work. It takes it all in stride with a nice but tough exterior texture that handles and mitigates abrasion well. The two pencil slots seem to help me from misplacing my marking instruments.

January 6, 2020

Comfortable, heavy, strong, but large

I'm 5'10", 155lbs. I usually pivot between size S and M in shirts of this nature, but usually size S in Patagonia. They are just within the limits of not being too small. But this shirt ran very large. It's easily a Medium+ in size compared to any other button down shirt in my closet, be they Patagonia or not. I love the fabric... Read More. The weave is attractive, the blue color very sharp, and the stitching and buttons feel top notch. I'd probably wear it everyday if it didn't swallow me. Unfortunately, it's usually worn under a jacket or in an informal outdoor environment when not in public.

January 4, 2020

Good stuff.

I purchased the shirt as a gift, and it was a hit. Fit, heft of cloth, and looks are superb.

January 1, 2020

Farriers shirt

Like they say, fits large--as in the men's medium fits me fine and I usually wear a large or large tall. One more thing, the shoulder/upper-chest panels are cut on the bias, which is great for ease and looks good in the dark ash and alder. However I returned one in hickory stripe--in real life the shoulder stripes at a diagonal look much like ... Read Morea "western" shirt. Okay if that's what you like. Great shirts.

December 30, 2019

great shirts

I bought one to check out and my husband loved it so I bought more. wash nicely. good quality.

December 30, 2019

Good fit and feel

5’ 9” 145lbs size Small fit perfect. Exactly what I was looking for in a flannel type shirt. Surprisingly soft feel. Can be tucked in when needed but probably not the right cut for all day wear tucked in. Quality of material and craftsmanship is worth the money- very nice! You wont be disappointed.

December 29, 2019

Farrier Shirt

Great item.

December 29, 2019

Ms farrier shirt

awesome shirt! I purchased the black and green in a medium and love them! Just purchased the brown This is my new favorites I usually purchase large in other clothing lines but Patagonia jackets and shirts seem to run big mediums fit perfect

December 28, 2019

Excellent shirt. Sleeves a bit long for me

This shirt rates up there with my best/favorite shirts ive collected over the years, a plurality of which are Patagonia which never seem to wear out. This shirt will outlast me, only nit is sleeve length about 2" too long. I can fold up the cuff & its right, but it _almost_ bugged me enough to exchange. Thought M would be too confining so ... Read Morei kept the L. Otherwise perfect

December 18, 2019

Amazing quality. Sturdy shirt

It’s a great piece. Sturdy, well made, and understatedly good looking

December 14, 2019

Excellent build, looks, roomy

I haven’t fully broken in the shirt yet, but it feels like it’s made to take abuse. I’m very happy with the construction quality, and especially the fit. The XXL runs true to size, and is made to give you room to workin. Ultraslim/Petite fans need not apply.

December 11, 2019

Excellent shirt. Rugged. Breathable.

I appreciate the extended sizes. Shirts are built to last. Comfortable and looks great.

December 8, 2019

Spot On Quality

Great shirt. Very tough/durable and not too stiff. Handles outdoor climbing well and still nice enough to wear into the office. 10/10 would buy again

December 4, 2019

Great work shirt

Pros: This is a great work shirt. Very robust and ready for a honest days work. Cons: It is a touch short for my body type but that is a me problem not a shirt problem. If you have a long trunk then maybe buy the next size up. My wish: They made this shirt in Blaze Orange so I could wear it at safety sites or while out in the woods during huntin... Read Moreg season.

December 4, 2019

Farriers Shirt

Great new overshirt. Slightly warmer than my old light flannel. Tough material.

November 26, 2019

Great stuff!

Great stuff!

November 21, 2019

High quality shirt

The shirt fits well (5'11 male) and I was surprised with the build quality of the shirt. Consequently, the shirt feels a little heavy, which could be good or bad depending on what you're doing.

November 16, 2019

Farriers Shirt and Iron Forge Cargo Pant

Fits great, true to size,ample room for range of motion, soft and extremely comfortable..... to nice for working in this shirt and the Iron forge cargo pants are my " Go To Town " get up :) can't wait until they are out of the wash to wear again :)

November 14, 2019

Best shirt I own

Soft and mid weight - bought another

November 13, 2019

Great shirt - maybe size down?

Bought for my husband. He loves it! He’s usually a medium but because this had a relaxed fit, I got him the small and it fits perfectly while still allowing lots of movement. The fabric has a nice texture.

November 12, 2019

Great shirt

Great shirt

November 9, 2019

More of these

I bought the denim version of this shirt a few months ago and loved it so much that I went looking for another color - green this time. I wear the farrier as both a shirt and as a jacket. According to my wife, if I got a few more colors I wouldn't need anything else for daily wear. Feels good. Looks great. No need to tuck it in. Very versatile... Read More. Love it. I usually wear medium/large, and the medium farrier shirt fits me perfectly at 6'1", 165lbs.

November 9, 2019

Shirt

All my shirts are large. This one is like an xxxxlarge. Looks like I’m wearing a tent. I won’t wear this.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this ran too big on you. Since you don't see yourself wearing this, we highly encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us. Thanks for providing some feedback on this.

November 9, 2019

Well made

Well made

November 8, 2019

A high quality, durable and comfortable shirt.

I have had this shirt for almost two years now, and it has held up very well. The only issue, I have experienced so far is that one of the buttons has come loose. Overall, the shirt is very durable. It is a thick, heavy shirt. That being said, I haven't experienced any significant issues with heat retention when moving around while working. I ... Read Morewill likely be buying another one in a different color.

November 5, 2019

Solid design, looks great

Great shirt, true to size expectation. As with most Patagonia gear, solid construction. I like that this is a heavier shirt...it seems to help it keep its shape after washing’s. I never bust out an iron, so to be able to hang this up after the drier and have it look good and in wrinkled is a big deal. It looks great and deeps on looking great. I li... Read Moreked the first one so much I bought another.

November 5, 2019

Farrier shirt

Awesome shirt. Great material and cut. Looks classy for any occasion

November 4, 2019

Will probably last forever

Heavy duty construction without feeling like canvas. Has a soft touch but still seems like it will be indestructible. Folks, they are not kidding when they say it is a roomy fit. I'm a very large mammal and I can wear a flannel underneath this shirt while maintaining a loose fit. My new favorite cool weather shirt.

November 4, 2019

Great shirt!

Got this for my husband as a gift and he loves it - wore it right away. It seems to run a bit larger than the Fjord Flannel as the M was a perfect fit for him in this one but a little tight in the Fjord (5'11", 190ish). Looks great on, nice heavy fabric, seems like it'll last a long time!!

November 3, 2019

Farrier Shirt

High quality and better made from hemp. Soft, durable, and a perfect fit.

October 28, 2019

Favorite all-purpose shirt!

This is a great shirt for both around the house on the weekends and still looks sharp enough for wearing to a normal office-type job if your office is always on the cooler side much like mine is. Only detractors are the buttons are coated and will wear a different color underneath than the coating, which can look a bit odd, and the stitching on my ... Read Morefirst one had a lot of stray threads leftover from production, nothing that detracted from the look, feel or function whatsoever.

October 23, 2019

Button Hole Stitching Pulling Out

I love this shirt! I wear it like a light jacket sometimes layered over a hoodie. For the most a part very well built and durable shirt. However, the stitching around several button holes has partially pulled out, allowing the fabric to fray and leaving a loop of threads inside the hole. This makes unbuttoning the shirt quite difficult because the ... Read Morebutton gets caught on the loop of thread and you have to untangle it. I think the holes are too small or the edges of the metal buttons are too sharp... or a combination of the two causing this to happen. I am sending it in for repairs.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2019

Hi Joe! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the way the stitching is unraveling around the button holes. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so if you ever need to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) you definitely can!

October 12, 2019

Casual, but all business. Soft

Casual, but all business. Soft and comfortable materials, but well built and durable. Like your favorite hoodie but better looking.

October 4, 2019

Great Fall/Winter Shirt

Fantastic shirt! Heavy duty and comfortable. However as many of the reviewers have stated, the shirt does run large so I would recommend to buy one size down.

September 13, 2019

He will love it. Super and well made.

Also a thank you to Josh who helped in exchanging the large that I ordered and replacing it with a medium. Much better. I goofed on the size

September 12, 2019

Awesome isn’t a strong enough word

This shirt is great! I was expecting it to be way heavier than it is. It fits to size with enough room to layer underneath.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches