Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 269 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt

4.7/5
True To Size
May 12, 2022

Size Down = Perfect Shirt

Be sure to size down, as the fit is a bit wide, and long! I am 6 200lbs and originally got a L, but that turned out to be an *L* as well (old folks: this means a loss, or a bad decision). I swapped it out for a M and the fit is perfect! Is it 55-60* out? Throw on a T-shirt and this long sleeve button down, and it is a perfect outfit with some Ter... Read Morerebonne joggers and crocs. 60-75* out? Rock it without an undershirt and some crocs, and it feels great. 75*+? Cut the sleeves off and pair it with some crocs maybe, then you are in for a good time! All jokes aside, I love this shirt. It is very soft, very sturdy, extremely well-made, and still very comfortable. It is also very versatile: wear it to dinner, wear it while hiking on a cool day, wear while mtn biking, while on a Zoom call with your boss as they are telling you to pick up your performance, etc. It is an awesome shirt! Buy two and give me one!

May 11, 2022

Going to outlive me

Picked this shirt up used from Patagonias Worn Wear, looks perfect. The material is soft but strong, heavy fabric and metal buttons. I got this shirt as a top layer for around the campfire. Looking forward to putting it to hard use for years to come

April 25, 2022

Tough shirt for hard work

Bought the shirt for upcoming Spring chores revolving around cutting timber and stacking wood. Fabric is tough and robust - which I look to Patagonia for - and the shirt kept me warm in early Spring cool mornings. The fabric did not abrade while carrying pine tree limbs, or tossing cinder blocks. Took the shirt for a weekend on the Appalachian Trai... Read Morel, and it was great in the woods. Like it so much, I bought one for my son for his birthday.

April 25, 2022

Perfect work shirt

I am a residential electrician that specializes in making practically condemnable homes pass code and be worthy for sale. That job requires me to work long hours in unpleasant spaces. Quite a bit of crawlspace and attic work. This shirt is amazing in all ways. It's very durable, comfortable, versatile and (Icing on the cake) dust really doesn&... Read More#x27;t stick to it. I come crawling out of a insulation full attic and all I need to do is shake it off and it's clear of all the spicy little glass hairs. I highly recommend this shirt. Also, I felt like before this shirt I went though a contactors pack of pencils and markers a week (I carry one of each at all times). The little pencil pockets really come in clutch, haven't misplaced a pencil since and I'm a pocket tee guy already. Thanks Patagonia, you're Hemp wear is the bee's knees

April 19, 2022

Thick but breathable

Great quality

April 18, 2022

Warm

This is warm & very comfortable. A large fits perfect.

April 18, 2022

Belly snug

Great product just a little snug in the belly of a 77 year old..

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2022

Hey William, we appreciate the feedback. If you'd like to size up the exchange process is very easy and could be started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

April 18, 2022

Great shirt!

This was a gift and its perfect!

April 18, 2022

heavy duty

i got the red lumberjack. i originally bought the medium, im 510 170lbs and it felt really long in length. so i returned it and got the small and it fits perfect. its got reinforced stitching and is made to last. ill probably have this 20+ years.

April 16, 2022

Functional, comfortable, could be better

This is the first Patagonia workwear Ive purchased. Ive been a carpenter for a long time and own a lot of C brand workwear. Sizing was good, a little larger than normal Patagonia sizes. Fabric is comfortable and feels like a cross between cotton flannel and denim. It stains easily and gets a little fuzzy with wear. Quality of sewing is good mostly ... Read Moreexcept the buttons. They seemed loosely attached and I expect to be sewing them back on in the future. Also the thread is lighter than expected for workwear and I dont know how it will hold up in the long run. The pencil pocket is a nice touch. Overall, I like this shirt as an over shirt on cool mornings and I wear it for light carpentry work and client meetings. Dont think I would wear it for heavy use, like framing or concrete work. Its nice for what it is and it looks good. Id like to see Patagonia improve on it. Would also like to see Patagonia offer a workwear version of the R hoodies.

March 29, 2022

Excellent quality!

Excellent quality work shirt! Sturdy metal buttons, comfortable warm weight. Nice pockets & pen/pencil/eyeglass arm pocket. I would also love same style & quality in a lighter weight shirt as well.

March 29, 2022

BIG too BIG

This shirt hangs like a three person tent on me. I love Patagonia clothing but the sizing is making it very difficult to buy.

March 24, 2022

Great quality, run extremely large

This is a great looking shirt and washes easily without showing wear. The only downside is that these run extremely large. Like one or two sizes large.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2022

Hi Joe! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We're happy to hear that you're enjoying the look of the shirt. That said, the feedback regarding the fit is a great call out. Our Farrier's Work Shirt features a relaxed fit, so some customers may find they'd like to size down. We're always happy to process a quick [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to get our customers the best size. Also, we've shared these comments with our design crew!

March 23, 2022

Wrinkly but nice material

The material has a good feel. Heavy but compliant. The fit is good for me. I would buy this shirt again. My only issue is it comes out of the dryer as a wrinkled mess. I was able to smooth it by using a steam dryer. I will not iron my hiking shirt. Overall I like it a lot.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear about the wrinkles. For this fabric blend, we recommend machine wash warm with mild detergent and no fabric softener. Then hang to air dry for best results, or tumble dry on low heat, again with no fabric softening dryer sheet. You can see more [Product Care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) tips and reach out to our Customer Service team if you have further questions. Thanks for the review, Michael!

March 22, 2022

Work Wear thats Casual; Casual Wear that Works

Work Wear thats Casual; Casual Wear that Works.

March 21, 2022

Solid work shirt

Great material, hemp fabric is comfortable and super durable. Im 64 and weigh around 220. I washed the shirt once in hot because it was a little too big, but now it is perfect. I have longer arms and nothing is worse than not having the sleeves long enough. Im pretty sure Ill have this shirt for a very long time due to the material and craftsmanshi... Read Morep.

March 20, 2022

Great piece for casual that can be dressed up

Normally Im xl even xxl, but couldve went with a L.

March 20, 2022

I wear it for ?????

I wear to camp and let it get beat up and then wear out for casual dress shirt. Love this shirt perfect fit

March 20, 2022

Interesting fabric

Very Very comfortable for mild weather

March 19, 2022

Just right

Needed a replacement for a much loved Patagonia shirt that finally wore out after many years. This has the heavyweight fabric and fit I wanted, and it is just right.

March 19, 2022

New favorite

My new favorite shirt, I want to wear it every day. Feels handmade, fits like a dream. I run somewhere between a large and a medium. The medium is plenty big. Love this shirt

March 16, 2022

Warm, comfortable and easy to move in

Another great product from Patagonia. The shirt is warm and comfortable. It also seems very durable as well as having plenty of space to move around in.

March 16, 2022

Pretty close to perfection

This was my favorite Patagoina shirt from afar, and I finally decided to get one (the railroad stripe version). This material (kinda structured) inspires confidence that it'll last for a very, very long time. I also like the larger collar to block out sun and wind. It's a sharp looking shirt! Not an errant or loose stitch on the whole thi... Read Moreng! Sizing is a definite quirk, as this shirt both doesn't fit like other Pata shirts, nor like other brands' work shirts. It runs big in some places and normal in others. I decided to keep my (big) medium and try to shrink it into a more normal medium size. That has worked so far, due to the high cotton content of the striped version! I think the Farrier shirt is a great idea in general: to have an all-organic, slightly oversized work shirt, that doesn't need elastane to function. Super! Just a wee bit overdone, in practice. I love the slim metal buttons on other Patagonia shirts, especially ones using lighter material. The buttons are a bit hard to push through this tough fabric. Plan to layer underneath? You'll be very happy with the fit! Thanks again for a solid product.

March 15, 2022

Very comfortable and warm.

I where this mainly for bike commuting with layers in milder Winter days. Ive also worn it for hiking and I throw it on after bouldering at the local climbing gym.

March 15, 2022

If ONLY Patagonia Would Listen To Customers

These Patagonia Farrier shirts are outstanding. Why? The shirt material is a heavy duty. The shirt has a pocket for a streamlight and a pocket for a pen. The main pockets are deep enough to hold an iPhone Pro Max. Listen Patagonia: these shirts need to be made as short sleeve shirts too.

March 15, 2022

The New Standard

I have many flannel shirts from Orvis, but this hemp blend is in a different category. These shirts are extraordinarily comfortable, soft and warm. Hemp is much more durable than cotton, and expect to get years of wear out of my first two. I have the Stone Blue and Great Plains Fire, my newest. I will be ordering another one soon. And the customer ... Read Moreservice people, by the way, are as good as this product.

March 15, 2022

Hemp work shirt

Heavy duty, Im a mechanic Bikes and motorcycles, It is bulletproof and looks good.

March 11, 2022

Tough as an anvil

Farrier shirt: rugged, tough material; plenty of room to move (I shoe horses); buttons are strong; very comfortable to wear. I own two!

March 9, 2022

Check the fit

Great work shirt. Very stylish, comfortable and durable. My only complaint is that while the shirt fits great in the shoulders, it might be a bit short in the sleeves. Patagonia size traditionally ran large. IMO this is no longer the case. I'm 6'1" 215 lbs and the large fits but I would prefer an XL if I were going to wear it as an o... Read Morevershirt.

March 4, 2022

Great shirt!

Love this shirt ! It fits great and is very comfortable . Ill wear it until it falls apart !

March 1, 2022

winter grade

It is for colder weather and fits well

February 25, 2022

Work shirt

Ive worked in this short several times already and its phenomenal!!! Better than any carhartt or anything else that Ive worn before!

February 25, 2022

Best Shirt Ever

Hands down the best shirt Ive ever purchased. I was skeptical because of the price point; nonetheless, I took the chance and bought one I now own at least one in every color. I dont wear any shirt except the Farriers shirt and Ill continue to buy more when they wear out eventually.

February 24, 2022

Good shirt, bad fit.

(The shirt is obviously of excellent quality and is very comfortable. However the sizing is all wrong. I'm. A pretty big guy at 6'5" so I'm used to having issues with sizing but this one was a bit different. My chest is somewhere about 46", following the sizing and measuring instructions I decided to get an xxl which should... Read More be a size up at 50" chest. However when I tried it on it was too tight across the chest, causing the buttons to stretch and pull when I moved. So I tried sizing up again to a 3xl, which fixed the issue of the chest by making the whole shirt extremely baggy, and the sleeves to be so long as to come down to my fingers. Not ideal for working construction. I really was excited to try this offering as a patagonia fan, but unfortunately the cut of the shirt just doesn't seem right for larger men. If you're a smaller framed man these shirts seem to be the real deal, but for us bigger guys it seems we're stuck with our old [Redacted workwear brand] for now

February 23, 2022

Gets better with age

Theses shirts are so comfortable that I now own two of these. The farrier shirt is comfortable when out of the package and only gets more comfortable as you wear it. The fabric is soft yet hard wearing while the two chest pockets offer ample storage (enought for a 25' tape measure) and having a pensil pocket is a nice touch.

February 21, 2022

Hemp Hemp Hooray!

One of the best shirts on planet Earth! Super comfortable and breathable! I did not mark it as a little to big. It is roomy without being baggy! So I did mark it as true to size. I am very pleased with this purchase and will be ordering another! Great product!!! Joe.

February 20, 2022

Tough yet soft

This shirt feels amazingly soft. Extremely comfortable and well made. The only thing I can complain about is not getting one sooner. It runs large and is more on the tall side as well. Very well made and the quality of the stitching and little details is incredible.

February 12, 2022

Nice flannel shirt

Pro's material, construction, design and options of color and plaid. Con's not much, price maybe...

February 10, 2022

Best Shirt For Work

Awesome shirts, built tough, pockets are big and pleated. Bottom is cut flat so you can wear it untucked, long enough to tuck it in and keep it there. Best button up shirt Ive ever owned, worth the price.

February 8, 2022

Still early days

I'm impressed with this shirt but I have only just washed it for the first time and I'll know more when I've worn it more.

February 4, 2022

Best Mens Shirt

Ive got shirts from other premium brands and this one is heads and tales above those. Most other brands are charging you for the name without much benefit. With these shirts they are well cut, well stitched, and most importantly for me, well laid out. The pen pockets are the real detail that shows me the designers knew what they were doing. Buttons... Read More are also large and metal, so easy to handle. Nothing better out there that Ive seen.

February 4, 2022

Best Mens Work Shirt.

These shirts are comfortable while being tough. The pockets are perfect, as well as having built in pen pockets. Plenty long for tucking in, but cut flat if you want it un-tucked. Ive never seen or worn a more well thought out shirt.

February 2, 2022

Nice thick material

Looks like a great work shirt, nice thick material. Can't wait to see how it holds up and washes. Fits me perfectly at 5'11" 180 lbs. Solid buy imo.

January 31, 2022

Tough material

I ordered a large because I wear a large in all my shirts. I had to exchange for a medium because the large was too large. So Id say things are sized bigger then normal.

January 30, 2022

Comfortable Fabric

I really like this shirt. The fabric is soft and sturdy, yet not too stiff or rigid. It runs a bit large but still looks put together for an indoor work setting. Outdoors it's warm and comfortable - perfect for hikes on colder days.

January 30, 2022

farrier work shirt

fit is good but sleeves a bit too long, chest good, I'm 165lbs with 38 chest,

January 28, 2022

Great fabric

Warm, soft, thick fabric. Purchased the charcoal blackish/grey shirt. Great color! My husband is sometimes between sizes L/M. Originally ordered large because I was thinking that he would layer this shirt and wanted it slightly oversized. This shirt was already designed to accommodate that so we ended up exchanging for a medium.

January 16, 2022

Great shirt.

I've gotten many compliments.

January 10, 2022

tough enough

super solid flannel, great for brisk fall days when you don't quite need a jacket but that deck isn't going to build itself

January 5, 2022

Runs Large

Ordered my usual medium. Felt that the proportions of this shirt are a little off; it feels wide and awkward. I'd suggest you size down. Also, IRL the stone blue also looks a bit more 'denim-y' than I wanted. Will return.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2022

Hey Elizabeth, thanks for the review. The Men's Farrier Work Shirt will have a boxier fit because it was designed for a masculine physique. It also has a relaxed fit, which could be what was contributing to the fit issues you mentioned. To check on the fit of any item, go to the product page and look underneath the size run options. You might find that the women's version works better for you, check it out [here](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-farriers-work-shirt/53325.html?dwvar_53325_color=SNBL&cgid=womens-shirts-button-down).

January 4, 2022

Good shirt

It seems like it runs a bit big

January 3, 2022

Overshirt

Everything OK, the other color I like out of stock.

January 3, 2022

Fits so weird

The make is so good that hurt not to keep it. I'm 6'3 178lb usualy size L, I read to get a size smaller, it was width perfect but it was too short so I know it wasn't gonna fit after the first wash. Size large would have fit huge for me. Weird sizing.

Response from Patagonia
January 12, 2022

Hi Victor, thank you for sharing your review. We're really sorry to hear that the fit wasn't good for you. This kind of feedback is so valuable for improving products for future seasons. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

January 2, 2022

New favorite

Love this shirt. Looks great, feels great - on and off the site. I have a feeling it's going to be a mainstay for quite some time, especially in the colder months.

December 22, 2021

Farrier Shirt Size

About a year ago I purchased a size M Farrier shirt. I liked the color and quality but the sleeves were too long and it fit loosely through the chest. I kept it and wear it as an over shirt. I ordered two more Farrier shirts size S recently but these were too tight under the arms a through the chest and the sleeves were still to long. I returned bo... Read Moreth shirts for a refund. I love the shirt but the sizing does not fit me in either the size S or size M.

December 20, 2021

Amazing!

Love the cut! Love the shirt! Gonna buy more in another color. Dont change a thing. Excellent quality.

December 19, 2021

An actual XXL!

Sleeves and body both quite long, hard to find these days! Almost a throwback to when Patagonia used to offer x-longs in some items! Super happy with overall quality and fit. (I'm 225lbs) Just a great feel and look all around. Bravo.

December 18, 2021

Very durable and strong

This jacket is great for my construction job because it is a thick material that protects from dangerous materials and is insulating enough to keep me warm in freezing conditions. I appreciate how there is enough room in the shoulders for a full range of motion

December 18, 2021

Best button down shirt ever

Bought this shirt because of the description and the great reputation behind Patagonia clothing. Love wearing untucked and plenty of room for a wide array of movements. Im get many compliments on the shirt and since have purchased two more. Rugged yet classy enough to wear out to dinner. I have a long torso and arms and the XL fits me perfectly. I ... Read Morestand 6 foot, 205lbs. Highly recommend.

December 17, 2021

Too Big

I am swimming in this Large. With most brands a Large is perfect for me but not this particular shirt. Other than that the shirt is perfect.

Response from Patagonia
December 18, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Patagonia Men's Farrier's Work Shirt. We are of course sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are always more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not work out for you.

December 17, 2021

Farrier Shirt-Cool, But Runs Large

Maybe it is supposed to run large. Farriers put shoes on horses, so its understandable they need a large shirt. I am 60 175 lbs and I got a medium. It is just pretty big and if I were going to do it over again I would have gotten a small. Other than that, its a great, durable, thick fabric shirt.

December 12, 2021

Men's Farrier shirt

I generally wear a medium. I had to order a small in this shirt and the Shop Shirt because they are running large (lesson learned on prior purchase). I wear a medium in the fjord shirts and all other shirts like Island Hopper etc. Wrist and necks seem large.

December 10, 2021

Buttons difficult to fasten

Hello, Since this is being marketed as a work shirt, maybe research the market a bit. "Workers" use their hands for a living and as we get older, we develop arthritis in our hands and finger joints. This shirt has the most difficult buttons to work because the holes are so tight and the buttons so small, it's a real struggle to fast... Read Moreen them. You don't have to change the button diameter but please elongate the hole/slot!

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2021

Hi Erik, thank you so much for taking the time to write a product review and we are very sorry to hear about the issues you're experiencing while trying to button this shirt. We have passed along this feedback to our Design Team who are constantly improving and revising our styles. We hope to not disappoint you in the future.

December 9, 2021

Warm and cozy

Very warm and well made . Ordered rwo more.

December 9, 2021

A great cotton work shirt/shell absent precipitation.

A durable and tough work shirt that I wear cutting with a chainsaw. I bought it slightly larger for moving room and had a tailor taper the sides. I'd love a blue color instead of brown.

December 6, 2021

Not for short weightlifters

So the short version is Im a little built in my chest, to the point where I ordered the medium of this. It was too long, and had a bunch of room around the waist where it looked frumpy to tuck in. The small fits my build great in the mid section, but the chest is a bit tight. Like if I went for an exaggerated Hulk Hogan stretch Id pop the top butto... Read Moren. So I go two buttons loose, and it looks great. Live the shirt, holds up well for my construction work. Will be buying the other colors

November 23, 2021

Most comfortable & rugged shirt Ive ever owned

I have purchased 5 of these shirts over the years. They are the perfect combination of comfortable & rugged. I can go to the office & look nice or chop wood or do demo & the shirt stays looking good & holds up to any extreme wear situation. Right me very large, order 1-2 sizes smaller than your normal shirt size.

November 22, 2021

Ferrier

i use them in my work as a landscaper. theyre durable and professional. i wear them frequently.

November 20, 2021

Built tough

This is an excellent work shirt. The fit is roomy with out being baggy. It stands up well to wandering around in the woods as well as banging around in the shop and barn. Quickly becoming my favorite shirt.

November 19, 2021

bulky fit but nice material

I liked the shirt. The colors could be more classic flannel. I ordered a Large. I'm 6' 210. It was pretty bulky. It fit weird too, like boxy. I returned it just due to the size issue but I liked the shirt.

November 18, 2021

Exactly what I wanted

I'm very impressed with this shirt. Soft, durable, well-constructed. The fit is boxy, but I tend to wear it untucked and unbuttoned, like a jacket. Does a great job of concealing things worn around your belt that you prefer strangers not know about.

November 18, 2021

Bulky

I think it was a personal preference; the shirt seemed to have a large collar and seemed bulky on me. Patagonia fleeces in M fit me perfectly as do other shirts. Anyway, really liked the piece just not the fit. Also I kind of like having the Patagonia label not so in front of the face which I overlooked when I purchased. Love your gear, clothes and... Read More products. Love your mission. Keep it up.

November 14, 2021

Size is a bit generous for my build

Somewhat athletic guy here with broader chest. Shirt fits great up top but I feel like a large around my waist (30). Cant wear this as casually as I want. Might have to order a size smaller.

November 13, 2021

wears great, but odd differences between colors

i have an older brownish shirt, and bought a second one in blue. the only misfire on the new one is that it only has one set of buttons on the cuff, rather than two on the older shirt. the cuff is so large that without the second set of buttons that its too loose and gets in the way. the fit

Response from Patagonia
November 19, 2021

Hi Kurt, we recently had to remove some of the Men's Farrier's Work Shirts from our inventory due to the issue with the second set of buttons that were missing on the sleeve. We'll reach out to you directly to help you get a free replacement.

November 12, 2021

Good fit

I'm usually a medium but I'm a 6' slim guy so medium was to baggy for my preferred slimmer fit. Small fit me like a fitted medium but doesn't look small.

November 10, 2021

Best shirt Ive ever worn

While trying to update my daily fall/winter long sleeve shirts I came across the Farrier Shirt. It is hands down the most comfortable and functional shirt I now own. Regardless if I am in the office, on the shop floor or in the forrest this will be my new go to. Excellent job.

November 9, 2021

Great Shirt

Just the right weight, not too heavy. Run slightly large through the chest. It is meant to be worn over layers. I need one in every color!

November 7, 2021

Perfect fit and so comfortable

Love these shirts! They fit great and have enough stretch to make them super comfortable. I bought 4 and wear them every day

November 3, 2021

Total comfort

Most comfortable and reassuring flannel shirt I have. I have a lot of them! This is the shirt you will have in your closet that you keep picking to wear over all the rest.

November 1, 2021

Best quality shirts I've ever owned.

Just bought 3 more. Heavyweight and rugged BUT remarkably comfortable and I don't overheat indoors! They didn't cut corners. The shirt buttons don't stretch apart at the chest, the sleeves are long enough to reach my wrist in any position, unrestricted range of motion, and when I lift my hands over my head my midsection doesn't ... Read Moreshow! Metal buttons, double stitched seams, and hemp fabric are good signs that this shirt will last for years. Noticeably better quality than my NorthFace or Columbia button ups and I could immediately see and feel the difference. Worth the extra money. Perfect for fall yard-work, fishing, working in the garage, hiking, or even wearing to my casual office job. I have no doubt these shirts will last for years. Makes me dislike every other button up shirt I own. Hemp may be my new favorite fabric. The XL size runs a bit larger than my TNF & Columbia brands which is great because it means it will still fit comfortably after I wash it. I love these shirts.

October 27, 2021

high quality

great quality in regard to feel of the shirt, texture and colors. Also very durable. I also like knowing my purchase helps support the environment through Patagonias efforts to heal the world.

October 26, 2021

The best

I love the quality of the wear this is by far one of the best outdoor activity casualwear companies there is

October 25, 2021

The only flannel shirt I'll ever need

All flannel shirts or anything close to it are getting donated. I'll only need this red / black plaid version and maybe one more. I'm done with everything else. Patagonia will have lost their minds if they stop making this shirt. Note: I am a True Large and the large fit me like a circus tent. Medium was perfect

October 24, 2021

Rugged and Unique

This shirt separates itself from the pack, its unique and rugged. You can wear it to work or out on the town. I normally wear an XL, but from the reviews went with the large and its perfect.

October 22, 2021

Farrier Work Shirt Reconsideration

Well, Patagonia has been taken over by a new product guru. The shirt is okay, the buttons are small and made for a Russian ballerina, the material is weird; soft but somewhat confusingly inept about keeping you warm or cold (okay cool). I can remember back when Patagonia offered Fall Catalog of shirts that were just right in every way.

October 19, 2021

Good work shirt

The shirt feels nice and wears well. Only time will tell whether it lasts, but I have a feeling it will. Based on other reviews I ordered one size smaller but had to return it because I found the arms and chest to be small.

October 15, 2021

Beautiful

Just received and I'm already in love. The fabric is much softer than I would expect for a work shirt, and the sewing is superb. I like the metal buttons since I find snaps are usually too small and hard to close. Again, perfectly tailored and my compliments to the sewer -- the seams are perfect and sturdy. I got the blue and the color is gorg... Read Moreeous -- I'll have to force myself to wait before ordering the red/fire.

October 15, 2021

Very comfortable but hate the buttons!

Really like this shirt! It did take me 3 tries to get it right. I initially ordered the Stone Blue in large (Im 5 10, 210lbs). It was HUGE! So I exchanged it and changed my mind on the color; got the Dark Ash in medium. Lovely looking shirt, but the medium was very snug, so back to the large I guess. Uggh!!! Patagonia only exchanges 1x, so had to r... Read Moreeturn the shirt for a refund then re-order in large again. For whatever reason the Dark Ash in large wasnt as huge as the Stone Blue one?!?! Weird. At any rate, its very comfortable & of course well made (love Patagonias build-quality). The reason for the 4 stars are the buttons. OMG!!! The buttons are much too small (unless your a hobbit I guess???). Then the button-holes are too small for the already too small buttons. You almost need pliers to get the tiny little buttons into the undersized button-holes! I mean I guess a larger button would impact the look a little bit, but man! At least make the buttons a little thicker so there is something to grip. I felt like I was going to have bloody fingers by the time I got it buttoned up. Maybe the button holes will stretch a bit with time, but maybe fine-tune that detail designers!

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

Hi Todd! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on the buttons, we'll pass it along to the design team.

October 14, 2021

Burly and Weird

This shirt is a half-step below a denim jacket. Its thicc, stout, grumpy-get-off-my-lawn, thinks youre a baby, tough. I love it. What I dont love is the strange tailoring that has seemed to plague Patagonia for as long as I can remember. Tailoring that doesnt work with movement. Its getting weird at this point that it hasnt been remedied. Raise... Read More your hands above your head and the hem seems to somehow multiply that movement by some demonic factor to leave your plumbers crack waving to the world. Reach down in front of you and the seams seem to be stretching to their limit across anything resembling broad shoulders. The fit is not meant for me, and Patagonia clothing just doesnt seem to work the way I would hope for me, but it is a dope jacket/shirt that appears to be ready for abuse and use.

October 14, 2021

This is a large

Im a classic medium. But I look like a child in this medium. Planning on returning it, just havent had time. I love Patagonia more than any other brand, but your designs and fit are mostly terrible these days, which makes me sad. If it was 50% better it would be all I wear. The wool shirt I have from you is a medium also, and fits well. WTF?

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2021

Hey Nick, thanks for the review on the Farrier's Work Shirt. We're really sorry to hear that you've experienced some trouble with size consistency, and we've shared your feedback with the rest of the team. One thing to note is we do offer regular, slim and relaxed fits. This particular shirt is relaxed which could be why it felt extra large on you. If you haven't already, you're welcome to begin a return or exchange for a smaller size [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 13, 2021

Fall is Farrier shirt weather

The only size small shirt I own, so guidance was accurate. Hemp fabric is stiffer than any flannel, but its a nice weight and feel. Second year Ive worn this, feel qualified to review. Good layer over t-shirt or light technical shirt. Pocket buttons over phone-nice! Retired, so no one cares if I wear this every day. I suspect Ill be wearing this fo... Read Morer many seasons.

October 12, 2021

Collar Roll/Buttons

Overall great shirt. Very comfortable, and fit is good. My only feedback/comment would be that the shirt needs to have a collar roll/buttons. Collar buttons are a very common feature on work-type shirts (Carhartt, LL Bean, etc.) as it allows you to move around and be active will maintaining a professional collar, especially if you are not ironing t... Read Morehe shirt before every use. This is the one feature I think this shirt needs to be perfect.

October 11, 2021

Not sure what you want here

Good design revisited. New version of traditional shirt. Great color. Please be more courageous with color for men. Youve got great taste!

October 10, 2021

Super High Quality and A Medium thats TRULY Medium

I cant say enough good about this shirt. I have bought 2 other colors of it since. The design and overall construction is unmatched, in my personal experience. This was my first dive into Patagonia and I am sold. I have since went on to purchase sweatshirts, fjord flannels, pants and even some shorts. I appreciate much about Patagonia, specifically... Read More to me the sizing and quality. I am 39 and about 5ft 9in and 195lb. To have a Mens Medium fit me as good as Patagonia does it, means everything to me. For me Large is always hair to big and Small is way too small (in any brand) so to have a Medium be more of a Larger Medium is exceptional. I highly recommend this shirt. Love the quick shipping too. Thank you

October 9, 2021

Great Yard Work Shirt

The material feels durable yet soft to the skin. It will wear well over time and it's not a shirt you don't mind getting dirty. It is part of a Patagonia trend to widen out the middle on it's "work" apparel. I wish they wouldn't make these and their other workwear so barrel chested. The traditional Patagonia fit is fo... Read Morer the mountain athlete and this fits more like a Sunday Beer League shirt.

October 5, 2021

Very structured and comfortable

Great shirt, soft out of the box and only wear in more soft. The hemp fabric Patagonia uses is amazing.

September 28, 2021

Durable

Pretty solid shirt. Feels heavy duty and looks good. Perfect length for me but arms are a little too baggy. Overall, I love it!

September 20, 2021

Super Awesome!

I can't wait for fall to wear this everyday. I immediately order one in another color. Super soft but seems like it will be durable. Fits a little big which is nice for us larger types. Anything slim fit for on the border I need to go up to XXL, this is great at XL.

September 13, 2021

The perfect rugged shirt

Absolutely love this shirt. It runs a little large so I sized down to a Medium as I typically wear a Large. The fit is perfect. I love how durable, soft, and high quality the material is. It looks great worn casually or while working. Cant wait to buy more

September 8, 2021

Solid shirt

Comfy shirt, fits without being too loose. Built solid like it will last. I'll be living in this all fall and winter. I ordered a small and x-small based on the reviews saying it ran large. I didn't even need to try on the small. I'm 5'6" 140lbs, trim w/ bumpy muscles

August 31, 2021

Outstanding Work Shirt

Forget the price. These Farrier work shirts are wonderful. In the left pocket I carry a mask. In the left tool pocket I carry a Streamlight. In the right tool pocket I carry a pen. In the right pocket I carry a iPhone plus. These shirts are warm in the winter and wearable most days in the summer. They have stood up very well to heavy use. I have re... Read Morequested Patagonia to make a short sleeve Farrier version as well with no response from Patagonia.

August 31, 2021

Awesome Denim-esque jacket

As with most Patagonia gear, I move down in my normal size. I am usually a Large in every other brand. The Medium fits how I like it - closer to the body, more of slim fit. Not big enough for a jacket underneath, only enough for a thermal or a t-shirt. Great though, more grey/black than black. Seems well-built and made to last.

August 24, 2021

Patagonina's big/small dilemma

As with other Relaxed fit shirts from Patagonia, there is too much room in the body, but not enough room in the shoulders and sleeves. Small through the top and big through the bottom seems to be the way they are cutting shirts the last couple of years. I had to return two of them. Other than the way they are cut, they were fine enough shirts.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2021

Hey Jon, thank you so much for leaving us a review on the Farrier's Work Shirt. We've taken your feedback and have passed it along to the appropriate team members for further review. In the meantime, if you'd like measurements to get a preview of how something would fit, feel free to reach out to customer service [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

August 4, 2021

Great shirt! Sleeve width made for Thor

This a great shirt. The fabric is amazing and the design is perfect. I love the double pockets with Pen holders. I love the buttons. However, I would love to see this same shirt in a slimmer fit though as some of us don't have arms like Thor

July 25, 2021

Great all around

I have a medium and a small. The small fits me more to fit/ snug. While the medium is perfect as a light weight jacket with a layer underneath. Both fit me well just one is loose and slightly baggy while the other more fitting.

July 25, 2021

Super high Quálity

Its very warm and cozzy

July 24, 2021

review title--what does that even mean...?

almost sent it back because buttons too small and buttonholes too tight, and the cuffs need multiple buttons for proper adjustment. nice fabric, pretty good fit. I'm a long time fan but shopping on your jerky new site is annoying and a pain.

July 8, 2021

Great oversized work shirt

My wife loves this shirt. I got her one after her saying how much she loved the way mine looked. Great stuff as always from Patagonia

June 11, 2021

good looking shirt

great fit and terrific feeling fabric. I like the pencil pockets, you do not need to open the flap on the pocket.

May 18, 2021

Nice and heavy duty!

Fabric is great. Heavy duty and soft. Shirt is exactly what I was looking for to wear at my office/warehouse. Only issue for me is that the cuffs are too large. Will have to move the button.

May 11, 2021

Inconsistent sizing which is too bad.

Bought the hickory stripe when these first came out. Medium fit me like a glove, very happy. Sleeve length was perfect. Cloth was a little stiff but will break in just fine. Bought the navy medium since I like the first one so much. Much longer in body length plus the sleeves need 2 rolls of the cuff to fit. Cloth is much softer more like flannel.... Read More Worry that this one wont last as long. Should have returned the second, but didnt ran it through wash and hot dry, minimal shrinkage. Now stuck with oversized shirt that doesnt fit right. Weird because Ive worn a medium in Patagonia for well over 15 years. Too bad companys quality control on sizing is slipping.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi Gerard, we're sorry that the sizing of the Navy shirt is off. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty even if you have already washed it so you can get refunded for it and order a new one if you'd like.

May 5, 2021

Comfortable

Love it!

May 4, 2021

Great shirt for work

I purchased this shirt for tree trimming work and other tasks. I am 5'11" and about 200 lbs. I purchased the medium size because the previous reviews stated that they run larger. It is true, I am usually a Large but the Medium fits perfectly. Shoulders have enough room to work comfortably and the tail is just long enough to cover pant wai... Read Morest when you are working above your head. Also, the style looks good and I have worn it out casually.

April 29, 2021

Very nice shirt.

Well made, good feel, nice pockets that fit my phone but runs big.

April 15, 2021

Large means large

Despite my limited verticality, I normally order large shirts to accommodate my shoulders and chest, and that normally works out just fine. In this case that was ill-advised - and when Patagonia says relaxed fit they mean it. Fortunately, they make exchanges super easy, so Im replacing my beautifully made, delightfully soft, handsome blue size L Fa... Read Morerrier shirt with an M of the same description. In this case, when in doubt order down; that may well apply to anything described as relaxed fit.

April 13, 2021

Old School

Super well made, great fabric, fits perfect, rugged. Love it!

April 12, 2021

Solid Shirt

Nice shirt. Roomy pockets. Great feel. A lot of shirts of this style are too short, but this one is just right. I have not worn it long enough to comment on wear, but it looks bullet- proof. I dont love the metal buttons (I play the guitar), but I can live with them.

April 2, 2021

Rugged and will hold up 100%

Ive bought two of these so far, they will look great out of the wash for those that wonder about washing hemp. No need to iron, no wrinkles. Great all around shirt

March 30, 2021

Soft and tough best of both worlds!

Actually it all works, at least for me. The overall feel (hand) and drape is great and two count them - two pencil slots even!

March 25, 2021

Farrier shirt

Originally got the XL which was way too big but exchanged it for a large which is perfect. Not unusual for me to vary between the two. GREAT shirt- looks super, feels comfy and not rough at all. Yes- get one if this is your style.

March 21, 2021

New Favorite Shirt

I get a ton of complements on this shirt. Its really comfortable for work, whether thats out in the field or in the office. Fit is a bit larger than usual but makes for good layering.

March 21, 2021

Great shirt, it does run large. Order a size smaller like they have stated.

Normally I wear medium sizes with clothes but these definitely need to be sized down. I purchased small and it fits great. With that aside this is a wonderful shirt! Id love to see a version with sleeve tabs and a dark brown or even light brown option. Get. This. Shirt. I spent countless hours looking for a canvas shirt and this was the closest t... Read Morehing I could find and it does amazingly.

March 12, 2021

Love this Shirt!

This is a really good alternative to flannel shirts, with a different weave, look, and feel. Warmth and softness is very much the same, but has a different look, not so much like a "camping" shirt as flannel, a bit more style. Pockets are great, can put my iPhone in easily even in leather cover. Also has pen/pencil pocket opening so flap ... Read Moredoes not have to be opened to get pen in/out. Have a feeling it will wear a long, long time and planning on getting more to add to the two I have.

March 7, 2021

Ready for Work

I am 5,6 and have a medium build chest wise 38 ish and I ordered a small. Definitely was the right call fits great other then the sleeves they are a touch long but roll up great (nothing a tailor couldnt fix). Overall the material is tough but not rough on the skin. I use this weekly in a CNC shop coolant and heavy metal dirt washes out just fine. ... Read MoreIt is a bit heavier keep that in mind. I will be ordering the short sleeve work shirts next as the weather warms up.

March 2, 2021

Nice shirt. Cool design.

This is a great shirt and becoming a favorite among my other Patagonia shirts and casual wear. My only complaint is that even in a size small (my Patagonia size) it fits too long over the torso. Im 59 and athletic build/thin; cant believe it when even a Mens Small feels too big?! Would be perfect if 1-2 shorter at the hem (arm length is generous - ... Read Morewhich I like).

February 28, 2021

Very Good Shirt

Well made work shirt. Fits a little large (relaxed), but this is what you want for work. Very comfortable. I have already given one to a workmate and he loves it. I will be buying more of them.

February 26, 2021

Incredibly Functional

A very functional shirt. Great fit. Works well for a day of work or a casual night out.

February 24, 2021

Tough work shirts, but sizing is difficult

I wear these shirts on a weekly basis as a carpenter, and they hold up really well. Flexible but tough fabric, comfortable all day, sleeves rolled up or buttoned down. Subtle style for client meetings. Buttons are metal, never at risk for snapping in half while hauling materials. Safe to say these are the last work shirts I'll be buying for a ... Read Morewhile. While the pros are endless, just two cons worth mentioning: Metal buttons on cuffs will mare finished painted surfaces. And sizing consistency seems off - my green and blue shirts are a full 1.0'-1.5" longer in the sleeve and torso than the "hickory stripe" color, all size small, all washed identically.

February 24, 2021

Work horse shirt

It's gone through post hole digging, planing lumber, painting a fence, etc and after each wash looks good enough to wear on camera for business meetings.

February 21, 2021

accurate

very soft, yet burly.

February 18, 2021

Great Quality

It was risky buying a long sleeved shirt online because my arms are usually longer than the average sleeve. But these long sleeves fit just right. The length of the shirt is great too, I don't have to tuck it in.

February 7, 2021

Well made, tough material and comfortable

I opted for a large due to working in this shirt. Its a bit big in terms of what I would wear normally but the extra room is great while working. Very durable construction and glad to know its responsibly sourced and made.

February 5, 2021

Awesome shirt

Absolutely my favorite new shirt will 100% be buying more

February 2, 2021

My favorite work shirt

I wear this shirt for construction and field work. It is my go to for its durability and comfort. It's one of those shirts that's so comfortable that you don't notice it. The length is great for tall folk.

January 31, 2021

Outstanding Work Shirt

Usually, I wear a XL but in the Patagonia Farrier, L is the correct size for me. I WISH these shirts were made as short sleeve shirts too. The Farrier is warm, and has mini pocket places for a pen, and a Streamlight flashlight too. I carry a Covid mask in the left regular pocket and an iPhone Pro in the right regular pocket. The pockets are deep an... Read Mored have button down cover flaps. The Farrier is well made and worth the $100 per shirt they cost. I cannot find any other brand of shirt that matches the quality, and functionality of the Patagonia Farrier shirt.

January 29, 2021

Super soft and very well made

I originally bought a small, hoping for a fitted look but the shoulders felt a bit snug. I sent it back for a M and Im happy Ill be able to add a layer underneath for hikes and cool weather bike rides. The fabric is heavy duty yet super soft, like light flannel meets linen... glad I finally bought this shirt after eyeing it for a few years.

January 28, 2021

Good Fabric Bad Fit

I wonder if this would shrink to a reasonable size in the wash but I will return it before finding out. The small was too small and this Medium is way too big in the arms and around the torso. I wonder if the chest pockets puff out after some use? Seems like it could be a problem too. The fabric feels perfect though. Soft and strong. (Usually I wea... Read Morer a Large or a Medium shirt. 5'11 180lbs)

January 26, 2021

Gift for partner

I got this as a gift for my partner and he loves it! The material seems very durable and looks like it will last him for years to come.

January 21, 2021

Will last for years

Fit is on the large side, in length especially, but this provides plenty of room and coverage during vigorous work activities. Buttons are great, material seems indestructible and, while not a flannel, provides decent warmth while layering. Originally ordered a large, felt it was too long and exchanged it for a medium. The medium was better in body... Read More and sleeve length but strangely the torso felt extremely tight compared to the large. It felt like a jumped down two sizes and was very constricting. I exchanged the M back for a L again and feel much better about it. The length isn't a deal breaker and I will probably order another.

January 20, 2021

Highly Recommend!

I bought this for a friend and he absolutely loved it. He ordered 3 more! Loved the material super comfortable.

January 18, 2021

Works hard, lasts forever

I wear these shirts every day for hard foundry work. They are by far the longest lasting shirts Ive found, with the exception of the buttons. I sew a button back on every once in a while but otherwise Ive been continually impressed. I bought some when they first came out and they ran very large, but the ones I bought recently are true to size with ... Read Moreroom to move (I still wear the originals but decided to add to the rotation). Well done

January 8, 2021

Have been told I wear it too often!

Exactly what I wanted out of this shirt. Sturdy buttons, heavy and warm, amazing layer for spring/fall or mid layer for winter. Comfortable and flexible, already bought another. Could use more color options though, I want more variation in this great shirt!

December 30, 2020

Best shirt ever. Going to buy a 2nd

Wow, off all the Patagonia stuff I have ever purchased, this is the holy grail product. Tough as nails, comfy, handsome, and practical. Dont even think about it, BUY THIS SHIRT. I got the industrial green color, but now Im looking into the blue.

December 25, 2020

Awesome shirt!

Another solid buy from Patagonia! The shirt runs larger than expected. But I also prefer clothes that are more true-to-size.

December 25, 2020

Workhorse

Solid shirt, heavy, and comfortable. 6/190 and M is a good fit

December 9, 2020

Warm and Rugged

Has quickly become one of my favorite shirts. Heavy duty and perfect for winter. Great quality fabric and seems durable.

December 8, 2020

don't even try to borrow it

extremely comfortable

November 24, 2020

Wrong fitting

Measured all my body according to the guide, still got the wrong size.

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2020

We're sorry to hear that our size guide was not helpful. The Farrier Shirt is a "relaxed" fit design, and you may prefer our "slim" or "regular" fitting styles. Please don't hesitate to return your purchase to our Patagonia stores or reach out to our Customer Service team for [help](https://www.patagonia.ca/customer-service.html).

November 22, 2020

Thick but breathable!

Thick, breathable, and work appropriate I had to buy 2 more. The hemp/cotton/polyester combinations work well and create a shirt that feels like its going to last a long time. 6/190 and the M fits well. Recommend

November 22, 2020

Solid workhorse

Replaced an 80s era Pati canvas work shirt. Had to size up (due to the effects of gravity, age and contemporary sizing) in order to have the same loose fit. Pockets are actually large enough to be useful and the separate pen sleeves are a useful addition. Hope this one lasts a long as the last one!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches