Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol® Shirt

Write Your Review

3.7/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 14 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol® Shirt

3.7/5
July 29, 2021

A jacket that feels like a silk shirt!

I like to wear layers of clothing and I think that this offers me the ability to wear in the evening and in the morning and make do without it during the afternoons when its too hot. However it does protect from the sun as I did wear it on the beach in Santa Cruz California! Plus its a Patagonia! I love The amount of space with extra pockets. On... Read More top of it theres a showing in tears of microfiber to clean your eyeglasses on the front corner impeccable design worth every penny!

July 28, 2021

A too-hot sun shirt

I used this shirt to run the North Fork of the Flathead in July, the temperatures in the 90s. I roasted in it, the polyester material not breathing well and sticking to my skin. I had an A/C shirt along and used that: bliss, cool and comfortable. It would be worth making a long-sleeved A/C shirt in white. It would be a winner for river running and ... Read Morefishing.

July 12, 2021

Better than Columbia's PFG

I literally bought a white PFG button down, and this one. I returned the PFG same day. Why, you ask? The Patagonia version fit better to my body, a bit slimmer in the torso and waist, but by no means tight. It also looked cleaner, less going on with flailing vents and all that madness on the PFG. PLUS I get the good feeling of supporting a B-Corp. ... Read MoreEasy.

July 10, 2021

Excellent fly fishing and hiking shirt

This is an excellent shirt! Comfortable, fast drying, great sun protection, easy to care for, good pocket storage, rugged and durable. Any shirt that can withstand the rigorous terrain found on the lower Deschutes River had got my vote.

July 9, 2021

Amazing Shirt - Except sleeve width

I wanted to love this shirt. Everything is great - EXCEPT the sleeve width at the biceps. Im in good shape - XL is my standard Patagonia top size. These sleeves were so tight at the biceps, rolling up the sleeves was impossible and sleeves down my arms became fatigued after just a few minutes of wear at home. A little more casting room in the back ... Read Morewould be nice also. I ordered this in two colors and returned them both. Would try again if there was a redesign.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hey Lee, we appreciate the feedback on the Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol Shirt and we're sorry to hear that it was too tight in the arms for you. Please note, we have access to measurements if you ever need them, simply reach out to customer service. After some research, we found a similar option with a bigger bicep measurement, our [Men's Long-Sleeved Self-Guided Hike Shirt](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-long-sleeved-self-guided-hike-shirt/41900.html?dwvar_41900_color=PGBE&cgid=mens-shirts). The Sol Patrol Shirt in XL comes in at 8.875" at the bicep when laying flat, but the Self Guided Hike Shirt comes in at 9.75". It could work out better for you, please check it out!

June 29, 2021

Bring 'back' the mesh!

My intended usage: Canoe trips. Camping. Fishing. General sun exposure protection. Owner of every model of Sol Patrol thus far. I feel like some design changes from the Sol Patrol II are good while others are awful. Starting with good. Better arm fit, more room when sleeves are rolled up. Perhaps more slim fitting in the torso unless that is an ... Read Moreillusion due to the removal of the back flap. On to the bad. One gripe but a major one at that. To the point of not being able to use this shirt. The removal of mesh from the venting on the back. Where there used to be a large breathable panel protected by mesh, there are now just a bunch of small open tunnels leading to bare skin. This means any biting insects have a sweet little drive-thru to my back kind of right in an area I cannot reach to swat. (Designed by a Mosquito maybe?) I know you advertise this as a fishing shirt, but name one fishing location that does not have both biting fish and biting insects. I will sadly have to return this product based on this design change alone. Please consider adding a mesh layer on the next revision. As I stated in the beginning, a few nice upgrades, one large oversight. I do not know if the design team was out to lunch but the mosquitos definitely are! :)

Response from Patagonia
July 7, 2021

Hi Roland, we're so sorry to hear about the disappointment with the removal of the mesh on the Men's Long-Sleeved Sol Patrol® Shirt. We want you to be completely satisfied with your gear and since you're not, please feel free to begin a return or exchange here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

June 28, 2021

Totally Cool

Great style, slightly larger than other other shirts that Ive purchased but still fit well for me. Fantastic design I was extremely happy with this purchase. Thank you.

June 27, 2021

Great Sun Shirt

Bought this for a 5-day Middle Salmon trip. Generally, I run hot, and was not really sure if I would be able to wear long sleeves in the blazing sun, but this shirt ended up being a life saver. After a day of sunburning myself, I wore this the next 4 days (all 80+ degrees and full sun), and it was quite comfortable. Fabric is lightweight and breath... Read Moreable, but the ripstop feels substantial in hand, not cheap. Venting on the back helps. Able to swim in it or douse it for extra cooling, it dried quickly and was comfy while wet. I'm 5'8" 180lbs, the shirt is just slightly longer than I'd ideally like it (to wear un-tucked), but this is usually the case for me - to fit my shoulders, it'll be a bit long for my torso. All-in-all, no complaints, would recommend, does the job its designed to do very well.

June 20, 2021

Pockets, pockets, pockets!

This new version of the 50spf sol patrol shirt is amazing! Light colorful and full of pockets under pockets! I can safely take my electronics and valuables, and no one will be the wiser! Thanks again Patagoniacs! Adam

June 17, 2021

Fast drying

Great shirt, wore this recently fly fishing in the Sierras. Front pockets generous, fit appropriate for activity and once falling on the slippery rocks in a pool the shirt dried very quickly. Definitely would buy again but my Patagonia gear never wears out.

May 9, 2021

Arms way too tight, not recommended

First the good: Love the design with the front chest pockets, breathable material, thoughtful glasses wipe inside, buttons to roll up the sleeves. Was really excited about the Upwell Blue color/pattern which is really cool. The non-so-good: The arms are WAY TOO TIGHT! I'm not a bit guy (6ft, 175lbs), I wear medium or large Patagonia and I orig... Read Moreinally ordered the medium. Immediately the arms felt tight, and if I bent the elbow the fabric just stretched tight like it was about to burst (Hint: This is NOT stretch fabric). And when I made the mistake of trying to roll up the sleeves, it cut off circulation (like a tourniquet). Ridiculous. So I exchanged for the large, which unfortunately has the same issue: The arms are cut way too small/thin (and the large is too long so it doesn't fit right anyway). I have worn many Patagonia clothes over the years and this is just disappointing. FAIL!

May 7, 2021

Very Comfortable and Practical

I like this shirt and now have 3 of them in different colors. They are very comfortable with pockets that zip which I also find very useful. I like the material from which they are made. I would like to see more colors available.

April 24, 2021

Fit is a little big.

I really like the material and the cut however it fits bigger in the chest than other, similar shirts in the same size.

Response from Patagonia
April 26, 2021

Thanks for the feedback, Adam! This shirt is designed with a "relaxed" fit to allow for better air flow in hot weather, as well as range of motion when fishing. If you find that you don't care for the extra room in the chest area, please reach out to return it. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

March 25, 2021

Summer favorite

Love this shirt on hot summer days as I really don't like wearing sunscreen and don't want to get sunburned. Great coverage and now features a nice glasses loop on the front. Looking forward to the sunshine!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches