Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Quandary Convertible Hiking Pants

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Quandary Convertible Hiking Pants

4.4/5
July 10, 2021

versitile pants

I used to love the old Continental convertable pant from Patagonia. I still have a few pairs of the shorts left, the only issue was the color tended to fade so if you wore the shorts with the legs zipped off after a while the colors didn't match! These are as good, slightly better zippers and looks like the color won't fade!

June 30, 2021

Nice stretch

Baptized these on a pretty intense bushwhack in the Catskills. Held up nicely, no major scuffs or scratches. Havent had the chance to convert them to shorts yet, but so far so good.

June 22, 2021

Great pants

I have the long pants version, which are great. Needed some shorts, so went with the convertible version to get both. Used them as shorts on hikes in NC Mts. Kept me cool and dry on several long wet hikes.

June 18, 2021

Good pants, but ...

I do miss the nifty pencil pocket of an earlier edition and the classy fabric lining around the backside of the belt loops. Could also use about four more of those. As some others have noted, the upper legs are narrow, I sewed in a bigger gusset, that goes up one side across and down the other, replacing the one thats there. If you do much hiking a... Read Morend climbing try them on first. Next, the pockets are too shallow by about an inch. Otherwise the fabric is tough, better than the last ones, and stretchy and the legs easily zip on and off

June 15, 2021

Best zip off I've ever worn

I'm 6'4" and 215 lbs. They were out of 34 waist so I gambled and went with the 35s. Perfect fit, love the stretchy fabric, very comfortable and breathable. Quick drying and easily convertible. Love that the leg zippers are color coded so you can tell left from right. Another solid product from Patagonia that I'll be wearing in t... Read Morehe field daily as a Fish Biologist.

June 3, 2021

Great Addition

I've worn the standard Quandry Pants for years. I wanted to wear shorts while backpacking and hiking but didn't want to carry an extra pair. These zip off Quandry pants are perfect. Very durable and comfortable. They worked well on my recent backpacking trip in SE Utah.

April 30, 2021

AWESOME PANTS

Very nice product...I would def buy again...extremely light ...flexable...yet strong...Its a must for anybody into hiking...No Joke !!

March 26, 2021

Good fit!

So far I like the pants a lot. They fit well, not too baggy, not too loose. I'm in shape and have some decently sized thighs and glutes so I'm glad the fit was not an issue. Love the waist adjustment and love the way they look as shorts!

March 2, 2021

hiking pants for my adult son

I gave these to my son recently, and he likes the fit and comfort of them.

February 15, 2021

hiking pants

These pants fit really well - glad they did size 33 waist rather than having to wear size 34 with a belt. Color and quality of fabric is excellent. Buttons and zippers are good too.

February 14, 2021

Super comfortable and versatile pants

Super comfortable, versatile and cool pants for endless possibilities. They are also very durable!

December 17, 2020

Multipurpose

I bought these for travel, hiking, knock around. I read other reviews prior to purchasing and several notes the pants running a bit small. So, I ordered a size up, and they are just right.

December 1, 2020

Smooth fit

The best zip-off legs Ive tried. I love them.

October 30, 2020

Perfect fit and not baggy

Ive searched all over for convertible pants that dont feel like Im wearing clown pants that are so baggy. These fit perfectly in the thigh and knee area for me but not tight at all.

September 24, 2020

Quality performance pants

These pants are very comfortable. slightly waterproof as well, water just trickles off, and they dry exceptionally fast. Perfect for hiking or canoe-camping. I used them for both. They're stretchy as well, so no problems sitting down. I will say, they fit snug. I bought a 32 (my normal size), but decided to go up one size because around the w... Read Moreaist, they're snug. Perfect length. If I was to suggest buying them, I'd say buy one size higher for the waist, because they come with a built in draw-string which you can use to tighten. Highly recommend! I'll be using these for many more trips to come :)

September 10, 2020

Yup, the leg length is 2 longer than stated on the label.

Overall, the pants look very good. One of my adult children commented on my business casual hiking pants. That was a compliment, because these things are well tailored. I weigh 167 pounds and Im 510 tall, and ordered 33X 32. The shortcoming is the pants are 2 inches longer than the fit indicates. Ive worn 32X 33 or 32X 32 for the past 30 years. Wea... Read Morering mid duty hiking boots, these things touch the ground at the heel. If Im wearing a pair of flip-flops, I am walking on the legs. Ordering clothing online is always a crapshoot, when youre watering these just start out 2 inches shorter than you normally would, the odds are itll be the right fit.

September 2, 2020

Too tight

Love Patagonia gear and values and try to buy all my outdoor clothes here. I usually fit a 28 waist and this fit around my waist but the glutei and thighs were way too tight. Even my wife said so! Not every skinny boy is an 18yr old stick.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to review these. We're really sorry to hear that the fit didn't work out. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. Feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us any time, if you haven't already.

September 1, 2020

Narrow thighs and long at the bottom - You might need a tailor

This is my second pair of convertible pants from Patagonia, the first I got a good 10 years out of and I would still have them if I hadn't accidentally left the zip-off legs on the trail due to serious exhaustion. The inseam of the legs are long, so if you are like me and fit a 34x30, you'll need to tailor the bottoms or let them bunch o... Read Morever your shoes or boots. The thighs are not very roomy and with long underwear on, these are a stretchy, tight fit. I find this to be the case with nearly all Patagonia bottoms, but wish they were a just a bit roomier. The waterproofing is excellent and an improvement over my last pair. My only suggestion is that, if you can, go to the store to try them on to make sure they suit your needs. Aloha!

July 13, 2020

Very comfortable but....

I originally order what is my size (35) and when it arrived it was very tight, too tight so I returned it for the next size (36) and it fits well. Just in denial I am a 36!

December 30, 2019

Perfect pant for many adventures

Purchased the Patagonia convertible pant after searching in-store and on-line for a good looking zip off pant. I needed them to look like a nice slack when the bottom portion is on, and a nice looking pair of shorts when zipped of. These pants do the trick. The zipper is soft and lies flat so whether a pant or a short...the zipper is nearly invisib... Read Morele. The waistband fits nicely and now my husband is ready to tour Israel...able to hike the heat of the day in shorts and quickly convert to pants to enter religious sites and restaurants . Keeping these!!

November 14, 2019

Very slim Pants and I’m a skinny person

I ordered pants to my usual size but they are very tight. I would suggest going up a size or two to order.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2019

Hi Hunter, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the pants fitting so tight. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 6, 2019

Size and comfort

I’m 6” tall and 190 pounds. Ordered size 35 length 32 long Fit perfect, even after a wash and dry it. The pants shrunk Ia little bit and still fit well for me. Excelentes Pantalones para viajar o usar causalmente. Son extremadamente ligeros. I love those pants. I have grey and ash tan as well. I bought the light color versión (cap Kaquis) but lo... Read Moreoks like white pants so I have to return it. Gray and ash tan looks good.

September 29, 2019

Great Pants

Great pants - comfy, stretchy material and fit. Pockets work well, having a side and rear zipper is helpful. Haven't needed to convert much, but the mechanisms seems to work well and seams aren't uncomfortable. Only downside is the drawstrings don't work too well/are kind of in the way (I use a belt instead).

September 18, 2019

Convertible pants

Color, size and material were as expected. Very nice looking and functional. Bought them for kayaking and the quick dry material is certainly a plus.

September 10, 2019

Great product, but

Big fan of convertibles, and my first purchase of this from Patagonia. Love the feel and fit, but the legs are too long. Had to hem them up. Unable to order the pant length in a shorter size.

August 20, 2019

Disappointed

I bought these for the John Muir trail. The stitching in my rear pockets began to unfurl after about a week. Unfortunately I saw two other people with the same Patagonia convertible pants with the same stitching issue.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

We're sorry to hear this happened! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the pants back to us under warranty.

August 18, 2019

Great pants

Use them for hiking or just hanging out, they are well made and can be shorts when the temps get too hot. Only complaint was the stash pocket on the right leg, its in an awkward spot, nearly on the front of the leg, not a huge thing, but a strange location for me. Would highly recommend if you need durable hiking pants.

August 15, 2019

Great pants for travel and hiking in warm climates

I got this pants for a hiking trip in Grand Staircase Escalante in UT and they were perfect. Hot days and cool nights. Easy to convert into shorts. Fabric was a perfect balance of stretch. Slim fit, but that's what I wanted. I don't like baggy pants/shorts.

August 11, 2019

Quandary Convertible Pants

I use these for hiking/backpacking, climbing, and casual wear. They're stretchy and comfy and feel great.

August 10, 2019

Quandary Convertible Pants

I have tried a few nylon type fabric pants, and have never been happy. THese were for hiking/backpacking and occasional wear. These Quandary ones are happily the best and what I have been looking for. For some reason the styling and fit are exceptionally nice and I will get even more wear out and about in them.

August 10, 2019

Sizing problems

The sizing options are far too limited to meet my needs. I guess you guys call it a “short”, but whatever it is, standard options in waist and inseam would have allowed me to get the 32 x 30 I needed. These would be great pants if you happen to fit the available sizes, however limited they are.

July 18, 2019

Fit and Feel is excellent

This is my first ever Patagonia product purchase. I loved the fit, finish and feel of this pant. It is comfortable. I have to give them kudos to designers because of how they have made these pants to look professional. If there are non convertible version of these ones, then you can disguise these for office wear pants. I have just received this on... Read Moree and will update on durability after few months of wear.

October 27, 2018

Besr purchase ever!

Origionally I was hesitant to order these as there where no reviews, but boy was I wrong! The material is extremely light and perfectly hugs to the curves of your body while letting your skin still breathe. I'm currently adapting minimalistic principles to my life so the fact that these can unzip into shorts are a major plus! If you decide to ... Read Moreorder these please consider buying the the kaki color as they l can double as a dressier piece of clothing when you need it.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches