burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Insulated Overalls - Short Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 41 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Insulated Overalls - Short

4.4/5
January 18, 2023

Great work overall

Worn recently doing ranch chores during the atmospheric rivers hitting California and these held up great during the relentless rain. Warm and incredibly water resistant, these will be my go-to's for foul weather gear.

January 17, 2023

Sizing is off

Insulated overalls usually run a bit large/baggy, so I figured I would order the short inseam. They are WAY too long and baggy. At 5'11" a 30.25" inseam shouldn't be long/baggy on me, but unfortunately I'll have to return these because they are cumbersome to walk around in and would definitely drag below my boots and get to... Read Morern-up around the cuffs. Very sad these didn't work for me.

Response from Patagonia
January 26, 2023

Hi Matt! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear how long the overalls ran. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 15, 2023

Excellent overalls

I love these overalls. The pockets are out of this world, extremely deep and functional. I think the insulation is spot on. It keeps you nice and toasty while outside but still comfortable indoors as well. The suspender straps are comfortable and the pants are substantial but have a worn in feeling right out of the package. I would highly recommend... Read More these overalls. They will no doubt stand the test of time. I'm 6'0" 155lbs lean build. I ordered the Medium, Short. There's plenty of room for layering sweats/long johns and sweatshirts. They are plenty long. If I don't have em cinched up snug they'll touch the ground. I wear the straps a little looser and roll a cuff at the bottom, no problem for me. The length of these overalls would probably be fine for most people 6'0" - 6'3"ish in height depending on how you like your fit.

January 15, 2023

Exceptional Quality and Perfect Fit

I've been holding off ordering a pair of these for some time now, but recently I handed down my old carharts to my son and decided now was the time to finally purchase a pair. I'm 5ft 10in tall and 155 lbs and usually where a medium in everything, but the small/short was a perfect fit. The quality is what you would expect from Patagonia. ... Read MoreGreat product.

January 14, 2023

Great overalls

These have served me very well. They are exactly what I need. They're warm, nearly indestructible, fit is decent for layering and pockets are helpful. I found that I have to tighten the suspenders all the way and still cuff the botttoms which is a bit annoying and the thigh crotch area isn't as roomy as I'd ideally prefer.

December 28, 2022

WaaaAAAAYYYy too big, but great quality.

I ordered this as a gift for my partner, who is a slim/fit build and normally is medium in all clothing from here and other brands. I ordered these in Small after looking at the size chart. He tried them on and he was SWIMMING in them :/ He needs a pair of solid work overalls for winter and these would have been PERFECT. Sadly we will have to retur... Read Moren and find insulated overalls elsewhere. Please make more sizes for folks of all sizes! We'd love to support Patagonia!

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2023

Hey Ariel, thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate the feedback on fit and we're sorry to hear that it didn't end up working out. You can begin a return on [this page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). We'll make sure to notify our product team of the issue for future consideration.

December 24, 2022

Mad Cozy

These are sooooo cozy. I actually ski in these when its not too precipitous, but are otherwise a cold weather chore pant. Pockets pockets pockets. The nylon reinforcements inspire confidence in longevity.

December 11, 2022

Timber Framer Tough

Last year purchased these insulated overalls for our timber framers...and they were initially dubious. In time they began wearing them more and more, and we started hearing about how tough they are, and how they're the perfect weight--just enough insulation, but not so much that they feel bogged down.

Response from Patagonia
December 15, 2022

We're so glad to hear these are working so well. If any of the framers would like to submit a product review that provides additional details about the fit, sizing, fabric, comfort, features, warmth and function, we'll be happy to hear from them. Thanks for the review, Eric!

November 29, 2022

Workwear gone Right!

I work outside doing utility locating and surveying in CO. I absolutely love these after trying them on. I do wish they offered a slim fit design as the legs feel like Im wearing snowboard pants. I have a short torso and long legs and still happy with my choice of the Short model. 5 feet 11 inches and 150 pounds. There is enough room to add sweats ... Read Morefor those extra cold days and more pockets than I know what to do with.

March 2, 2022

Sizing is a little weird

Im 58 140lbs. Usually wear 30x30 pants and ended up keeping the small short. I tried the medium short and it just felt a little too baggy and the shoulder straps had to be adjusted to the shortest. I would have liked the small to be a bit bigger in the waist just because I usually wear a few layers with a thick sweatshirt for the winter. I havent ... Read Morehad much time wearing them so cant really comment on the durability but everything feels quality. Hoping theyll last a little longer than carhartt bibs.

January 28, 2022

Perfect

I was worried these were going to be too big as I ordered XL short but they were perfect and roomy enough to wear something underneath to keep one warm. Good fit, broken in and ready for the elements. Now hopefully they will hope of with all the use.

January 25, 2022

Mis sized? But very warm

So starting off, the feed back is very consistent on the reviews, these run taller than any short length I've ever owned, my inseam is 29 if I'm wearing boots, and 28 if I'm wearing tennis shoes, so even with thick 1.5" heeled work boots, these are still catching the legs. The shorts should really start at 28" in seam in my... Read More opinion (maybe offer an extra short?) But the shorts are what I'd consider medium length, and I can't imagine the talls are made for anyone under 6'6" tall. Materials: so I love the hemp denim, very comfortable, has stood up so far, the poly insulation is surprisingly stink resistant, and I have been able to wear these for a week straight without needing to wash, (I don't tend to go more than a week without washing pants items, but these could probably go longer if I'm honest. Construction: so unfortunately the bronze retention clips on the loop buckles sheered off and I had to contact Patagonia to send replacements (I couldn't really justify wasting so much fuel multiple ways to send these to and from Patagonia, and then someone to look at them, spend 5 minutes hammering new clips in, and sending them back) so I'm handling that minor repair. Now this is just a personal observation, and I have not had issues with this next critique, but these really should be triple stitched in my opinion, is it expensive? Yes. Does it increase longevity of the item? Objectively yes. I would be willing to pay an extra 50-100$ for the more robust stitching. I'm not certain what to do about the length yet, i don't want to get it hemmed, but I might have to get a pair of the extra thick platform insoles to take up the difference.

January 17, 2022

Too Long. Im 5 feet 9 inches tall and even the short cut was too long.

Too long. I wanted to love these but even the Short cut was a good 2-3 too long. Its just not practical to drag your pant legs in the mud and muck. I am 5 feet 9 inches tall and normally the short cut works out but not for these insulated bibs. I really hope Patagonia works on the sizing for these.

Response from Patagonia
January 24, 2022

Hi John, thank you for sharing your feedback on these bibs. We're so sorry to hear that inseam length didn't work for you! Our product design team does see these reviews, so your input will be shared. In the meantime, we want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

December 12, 2021

Quality Overalls

I live in North Dakota and purchased these overalls to be worn over my work clothes when I need to work outside. I ordered a Medium Short and the length fits me well (510). I have ample room to layer underneath and the industrial hemp and cotton allows for plenty of flexibility as well as durability. I would give these 5 stars, however, I would lik... Read Moree to see a pair of these as well as the rest of the work pants with some side thigh pockets for a small level, pen, flashlight, utility knife, etc. Additionally, the insulation layer does not extend to the hem of the pants and there is a noticeable difference in warmth as a result of that.

December 8, 2021

Very comfortable, warm , Cordura nylon great for moisture repelling I am 5' 10" ,only complaint is that even the shorts are too long in the leg.

Very warm, comfortable,water repellent. I'm 5' 10" and shorts are still too long.

November 12, 2021

Amazing quality! Short vs. Regular a bit confusing.

I'm 5'8 165lbs and first ordered a M Regular which the legs were WAY too long. A M Short for me leaves me plenty of room for warm under clothes and perfect length to cover my boots standing or sitting. I am so impressed with the durability of the fabric and the many functional pockets and zipper access points. Would highly recommend this ... Read Morefor any cold weather work.

August 2, 2021

Solid

I'm 5'11" and 180lbs. After reading other reviews, it was clear that SHORT was the way to go. Short is still over the boot for me. L allows under layers inside the bib although the pants a fairly baggy at my size. All in all, an outstanding work pant with reinforcement in all the right places. I'm a big fan of the hemp blend fab... Read Moreric in the workwear line, and these don't disappoint. Highly recommend.

January 30, 2021

So close but short isnt short enough

I loved everything about these compared to my Carhartt Bibs. The hemp was excellent, the Patagonia Iron Clad workmanship and quality was evident in every aspect of these Bibs. Loved the warmth, lining and especially the fleece hand warmer chest warmer. The reinforced butt and knees is awesome and loved the slight two toned colors between that and t... Read Morehe hemp. So why did I return them to Patagonia? Same reason every one else mentioned. I got LG/Short because I wanted them comfortable, roomy with a sweatshirt on underneath. To say the Short was too long is being kind. Im 59 and the Short inseam was 4 inches too long. I will revisit these next year. Please be more consistent Patagonia with sizing. A short inseam should be a 30. Some of us have short legs. Lol.

January 25, 2021

Very warm and comfortable

Best work pants Ive ever owned! Durable and extremely comfortable! Im 510 and 190, I ordered a large short and theyre perfect.

January 9, 2021

Very warm and well constructed

I purchased these to use in place of my Iron Forge pants on cold days. They are very well constructed. I particularly like the variety of pockets and the lower leg fabric that provides some water resistance when walking in wet brush. As noted, these run really large. I never order a short inseam but did in this case. I think this helps address the ... Read Moresuspender buckle issue others have raised. I originally ordered a medium (5'10", 155) and had to exchange for a small. I'm very pleased and I recommend them.

January 1, 2021

Super Bibs!

Wore them skiing, snowshoeing and dog sledding this week in Colorado and was never cold. Nice and roomy over pair of jeans. Love the zippers and button along the lower portion of the legs. Easy to put on without taking off your snow boots. Thick and durable. Patagonia products never ever disappoint. Highly recommended!

December 27, 2020

Works well for me

After the first few weeks of use I have no complaints and find the balance of weight/insulation and flexibility to be just what I was looking for to replace worn out insulated coveralls. I hesitated before buying due to other reviewers complaints that the strap buckles don't hold well. But I have found they work very well. Set them once and a... Read Morefter 3 washings they are still holding fast. I like the long leg zippers, nylon panels at the cuffs, abundance of deep pockets and the zippered bib pouch. At 190# and 69" I normally wear a 28 or 29" inseam. Fortunately on the size 36-short there was an inch of fabric below the leg zipper so I could trim and re-hem to keep cuffs out of the mud. Overall (npi) very satisfied. Will buy another pair.

December 17, 2020

Comfortable and Warm

I like the cordura in the seat and lower legs for snow and wet conditions. I custom shortened the legs by having a tailor remove the flap extension below the zippers and now they are the perfect length. The extra flap extension made them too long and I am a 32 inseam and ordered the short length... get the short length unless you have an inseam 35 ... Read Moreor longer.

January 4, 2020

I will have these forever!

Bought these overalls in short because I am 5’8 and with boots they are perfect! They are now an essential part of my Patagonia outdoor gear!

December 19, 2019

great overalls

I'm about 5'7" and 150lbs and I wear a 31"W 32"L size in jeans..... First tried the Medium/short and they were a good length, but way too big for me in the waist. So I tried the small/short and they fit perfect! I can wear them by themselves or a little snug over a pair of jeans. These overalls are warm and soft! I've ... Read Morebeen wearing them in 10 degree F weather and my legs stay nice and warm. Definitely recommend!

December 19, 2019

Men's Insulated Work Overalls

Strong! Sturdy! Amazing!

December 19, 2019

Comfortable and warm

As the rest of the hemp line they are out of the box comfortable and durable coverall. Pockets on the chest are great, but has all the normal deep pockets like in the pants. Added protection on knees and rear also help with repelling water if your on your knees regularly. Been used several times and I am sure they will last

December 17, 2019

They are made very well

They are made very well I ordered LG SHORT and they are still to long !!!! Not very happy!!!

December 11, 2019

Short?

I am 5'7" and these are still 5" too long. Have to roll them up and and has caused them to be not as comfortable always pulling them up so I don't step on them. Love the material and build. Should last forever if I don't step through them.

December 10, 2019

Great insulated overall, a little room for improvement

I’m 5’8” on a good day and 180 pounds. I ordered the Short in a Medium and find them very comfortable but still a little long so I have to fold the cuffs of the pants which is a little inconvenient because it does collect water in the rain at the fold but luckily the material on the lower pant is very water resistant. Hopefully in the future they c... Read Morean make the short a little shorter. If you’re 5’10” the short would probably be perfect. As a warning. I don’t know if Patagonia did any fire testing, which I think would be very important if they’re going to become contenders in the work clothes line (I hope they do because their work shirts are excellent), so I can not suggest anyone use these overalls (because of the polyester) in any welding or metalwork or anything that will create a spark or flame.

December 1, 2019

Good product!

Warm, abut tight , to wear without pants below not like waders. Zipper is very useful when in the middle of fishing!

November 22, 2019

The proof is in the quality.

First off, if you’re under 6’ BUY THE SHORT OPTION. Even with them being “short” they still drag to an extent. (A bottom sinch tight tab would be excellent.) I used them all day in 20* and 20mph winds. At one point got hot, and hat to vent the first two botton snap/zipper. I’m excited to see how they hold up with the - temps. I had no base layer on... Read More under pants, these things keep you warm sometimes hot. They have the same feel of a firefighter turnout pants and coat. The wife pockets and snap and zipper pockets are an excellent size for big gloves, or a speed square. Mine are L, short. I believe they adjust for 34-36 waist. I’m 210lbs. And with a hoodie on I wear them as a 34” they fit great. Their is some tension in the sack region once you bend down, or take a knee. It’s also because I have straps all the way tight, and pants still drag. So taller peeps than myself will be absolutely fine. If you’re shorter than 5”8 you’re not going to like these. Sucks because they are such amazing quality. They should consider a extra short option at 28” inseam. Buy them, hands down! You will he blown away, won’t even care about the price. I purchased mine for plow/snow removal, outside lumber labor. Only pic I took in them, as of now. I Enjoy them!

November 20, 2019

Poor Fit and Quality Issue

I have had 2 pairs of your typical construction brand bibs over the last 18 years. Usually by the 3-4th year they start looking raggedy so I thought I might try these Patagonia brand bibs. The size is way off. I am a 31” inseam so I naturally got the short version. They drag the ground. They seem far too loose around the legs as well. Also, I’ve ne... Read Morever had a problem with the shoulder straps coming loose on my other brand; however, these straps come loose all day. Pretty disappointed as I really like the direction they were going with the reinforced areas that usually shred on my other brands. If you plan to wear them all day, I would not wear these unless you sew the straps where you want them.

Response from Patagonia
December 9, 2019

Hi Brandon! We're sorry to hear you're disappointed about the length and the straps. Our designs are constantly being revised, and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes. We hope that we won't disappoint you in the future. Thanks for your review!

November 14, 2019

Great overalls

I am three days into this year's snow making season and these overalls have kept me warm and dry! I am 5'11" 190 pounds and went with a size large with the short inseam and the fit is perfect.

November 12, 2019

Great Product

Would love to have kept these but with my 5-5 height , the short was still too long

November 10, 2019

Length Short Perfect

I'm 5"10 a 36' waist 32' pant inseam(normal pants) I went short with the 30' inseam and it fits perfectly. 32' would of been to long and dragged floor. Still have room in waist for layers. Love it!!

November 8, 2019

Good first attempt.

Wore these 5 days now on an elk hunt in Colorado. They run a bit long. The nylon fabric is great on the knees and arse. The legs though feel like 70 discos pants: too wide. Slim down the bottom legs a bit. The leg zipper also goes about 6 inches to high. Infact, it's really unnecessary, as these aren't shop overalls that you take on/off o... Read Morever your boots. Make the zip go to mid calf, and lose the silliness up the thigh. Maybe add a couple more zippered pockets.

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Stephen, thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. It's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about some of the disappointment with the overalls. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 7, 2019

Very well fitting I wore

Very well fitting I wore them around my house for 3 hours when they arrived

November 6, 2019

Right on

I love my Iron Forge Hemp bibs. They are super comfortable and warm. I would highly recommend them.

October 22, 2019

Heavy yet weak

The adjustable buckles on the suspenders wont hold the heavy pants up. I have to readjust every bit while wearing them and they just slide down again. I don't think elastic straps were a good idea; There is no way those will last as long as the rest of the garment. I also wish they had a plier pocket.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2019

Hi Braden! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback, it's crucial to improving a product for future seasons. We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the overalls, but your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 15, 2019

Excited for winter!

I felt like a 40 year old kid getting my new “snow pants”! The fit and feel exceeded my expectations.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches