Back to Product

Ms Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Insulated Overalls - Regular

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 56 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas Insulated Overalls - Regular

4.7/5
April 17, 2021

Great product for cold/windy outdoor work.

Well constructed, lots of pockets, strong shoulder harness hardware, roomy for layering, and warm! The only hit - they are comparatively heavy.

March 31, 2021

Warm, comfortable and roomy enough to layer up

I am very pleased with my purchase. I wish the regular overalls would incorporate some design elements from the insulated overalls. I've recommended them to the farmer friend who turned me on to Patagonia's double knee work pants in the first place.

March 22, 2021

Returned - too large

I received this as a gift but returned it as it is too large. It seemed to be for someone that had much longer and bigger legs than mine. I can't speak to anything else about the product since I didn't actually do anything with it but try it on.

March 19, 2021

Best Multi-Use Overalls Ever

These were ordered as a gift for myself as my older Carhartt pair was always too short in the legs, Im 64 and 200lbs, and never the most comfortable. I put them on the day they showed up and havent used anything else since. Im located near the Oregon coast and use them daily on our hobby farm and in the garden, as theyre comfortable and warm, but ... Read Morealso lightweight and water-resistant enough that Ive yet to be bogged down even with all the precipitation we get. The legs are quite wide and wearing a thin pair of pants underneath isnt an issue. The length of the legs is fantastic as I generally always require a long length for work gear or I end up rocking an inch gap from the bottom of pant leg to a shoe or boot. The only possible issue Ive noticed is that the overall strap design doesnt tend to stay up and will creep down, though that is me doing my best to find any issues whatsoever. Overall Im incredibly happy with the purchase and they seem a value for the quality that is apparent the moment you open them up. Well made, well fitted, and well used. Cheers!

March 17, 2021

love em!

love these overalls! These are my first pair of overalls and I really enjoy them. I've used them for working outside when its cold and worn them riding my snowmobile and dirt bike in the winter when its not cold enough to wear actual snowmobile gear. Extremely comfortable right out of the package!! Thinking about getting the non insulated one&... Read More#x27;s as well.

March 8, 2021

Super functional

I love these for doing landscaping work and wilderness hiking with my dog. Materials are warm and durable against raspberry thrones and other rough bushes weve encountered. The pockets are very useful and well placed. I love wearing these pants for winter work! They run very very long on me and I expected that from other reviewers. Im too fat for a... Read Moren XS so I just ended up cuffing the bottom so they dont drag. Still very satisfied.

March 1, 2021

Amazing.

Bought these for working outside in the Winter months. I felt they would work nicely on the ski hill and they have not disappointed me at all. My shell ski pants are still in storage from last season. I wear them every chance I get.

February 27, 2021

Made for work!

These overalls are made for work, and have a myriad of features that keep me warm, dry, and organized. The light padded insulation is just right when working in the timber and pasture; warm enough but not too much. I really appreciate the reinforced knees and seat as they make working in the wet and cold with power equipment a lot more enjoyable. T... Read Morehe zip legs allow me to get in and out of the coveralls quickly, so my stay in the mud room is a brief one. The suspenders are top quality too and I expect to get 20 years out of this garment!

February 22, 2021

Nice bibs, weak QC

Out of the bag left side suspender was missing the crimp at the bottom of the clasp. I used a piece of tip-up line to keep the clasp from coming off the button. I used the bibs that way for 5 or 6 weeks of cutting firewood, ice fishing, working in a farm shop, and working in a marine/motorsports shop. Yesterday while working in a boat the clasp bro... Read Moreke into two pieces. I would think the quality control process should have picked up on the missing hardware. Maybe the missing crimp was just a fluke thing and the hardware broke because of me, who knows. The elastic in the suspenders is already stretched out and gives me the feeling they arent going to last too long for me without the suspenders looking like the waistband from a 15 year old pair of underwear. The nylon on the knees doesnt really come up high enough to cover my knees until I kneel down and then the seam is right over my knee cap. Thats ok out fishing or working in the snow but when you start kneeling on concrete or other hard surfaces it doesnt feel great. On the positive side the nylon on these bibs makes them great around ice and snow. You can work outside all day in the snow and not have ice hanging all over your bibs. Sawdust also brushes right off the nylon which is a huge plus. Insulation is great. Pocket placement and layout is awesome. Hand warmer pocket is a great idea. Leg zips are the right height and seem to work good even in the cold. Leg opening is just the right size to fit over a range of boots without being too big. Overall the bibs arent bad aside from the suspenders and the nylon double knee not coming up high enough for my liking. Personally Id like it if the bottom snap on the leg was a button so you could get it apart even when you get water on you that freezes that snap solid.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2021

Hi Jeffery, thank you for taking the time to write a review with all this feedback. We are so sorry to hear about the quality issues you experienced with these overalls. We are always happy to get you taken care of with a replacement in circumstances like this. We've sent an email offering additional assistance.

February 6, 2021

Warm and Tough

These run big enough to wear jeans underwear. I use them for winter firewood and ice fishing. These are heavyweight and warm with reinforcement in the right places. Pockets are perfect too. Highly recommend.

February 1, 2021

Good fit

Perfect for out door work, especially in Winter. Really well made!

February 1, 2021

Large fit

Overall very well made bibs. Just to big for me. Im 57 and I dont like my stuff to be baggy or long. The small was huge on me. Would love to see an xsmall regular fit, not relaxed, option.

January 31, 2021

Fantastic and warm

Super durable and warm for working in the cold garage and outside. Ive worn them with and without thermals, and they are warm either way. I am 6 tall and had to tighten the shoulder straps all the way so they didnt drag the ground and now they are about 1/4 off the ground with my boots. A small probably wouldve worked for me, so something to keep i... Read Moren mind, but no complaints at all. Great product!

January 1, 2021

Comfortable and Durable

Broken in from the first wear. Extremely comfortable, durable and warm. Great for outdoor activities when you need some extra warmth. I use for hunting, cutting firewood, snow removal, sled riding, etc. all those times you don't want to tear your ski pants, wear these. Love them.

December 30, 2020

Amazing for 50 degrees and below

A lifetime pair of overalls that totally removed the obstacle of going to work in my woodshop, which is just my garage, but not heated. At 50 degrees F and below, I can put these on, and walk out without that hidden disincentive of being cold. Plus, they are super-comfortable. Amazing. Above 50 (I just have regular underwear on, no long johns) th... Read Moreey would likely get hot. But below 50, they are totally grab-and-go.

March 17, 2020

needs a bit of improvement

I got these work bibs for Christmas and at first i was just going to return them, but decided to give them a chance. I am 5"10, weighing around 170 pounds. I got the medium short thinking if anything they would ride a little high and would be fine for a work pant. There are two things that i don't like about these: One, they are too long ... Read Morefor a short. I find myself walking on them when the shoulder straps slip down to the bottom. Which leads to the second problem - The straps don't hold to the length you tightened them to. I buy mostly all my clothes from Patagonia and will continue to do so, but i feel they really missed the mark on this one.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Hi Jesse, thank you for taking the time to review this product, we rely on feedback like this to improve our products. If you are still unsatisfied with your Overalls we would be happy to help [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them for something that will work better for your needs.

March 12, 2020

So well built, but with a mis engineered shoulder strap

These overalls are amazing! Soooo well built. Trying working on the property in them for a couple of days. The garment is extremely weight heavy. The clasps for securing the shoulder straps is insufficient for holding them securely adjusted. Therefore, they slip, and they fall too low, under my boots. Wish I could keep them, because outside of this... Read More issue, they are great, and very warm. But, I had to return them. The uninsulated iron forge overalls are light weight enough to onto suffer this issue. I highly recommend them if you do not need the insulation. This should be an easy fix, please, Patagonia.

March 9, 2020

Framing Carpenter in Maine

Grabbed these as we started a new build around Nov. Granted we had a mild winter this year in coastal Maine, these preformed as expected and where perfect on the bitter days. I had full range of movement, they keep me warm and dry, especially around the ankle where snow tends to build up freeze ect. My only complaint is the straps! its a big design... Read More flaw. They are elastic which isnt a problem, the clamps cant hold them in place. as you move and bend the elastic stretches and the straps loosen up. I have readjust the straps to my preferred setting Multiple times throughout the day and tends to be a bit cumbersome. Maybe i can send them in and have this changed?? Last thing, Patagonia please make a pant like this. Not insulated but with the knee and rear protection. I would be all over that for warmer winter days and cooler, muddier spring and fall days. Oh and FR for when Im welding or something with 0 polyester.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2020

Hey Brian! Thanks for your feedback, if the strap issue becomes too much please feel free to return the Overalls under our [Ironclad Gaurantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). You may want to check out the [Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Double Knee Pant](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-iron-forge-hemp-canvas-double-knee-work-pants-regular/55296.html?dwvar_55296_color=DKAS) it has the same knee protection the bibs have and are not insulated.

February 28, 2020

Great bibs for work

I work on a small scale organic produce farm in Michigan and I got these bibs for working in in the cool fall, winter, and early spring. I am 63 and 175lbs and decided on the large regular fit so that I could wear layers underneath them. Like others have said they run a bit large and long but if you are planning to wear layers underneath it is nice... Read More to have some extra room in the waist and chest. For the legs you can adjust the straps and they fit comfortably and arent too long. The only thing that I would change about them is the part that slides to adjust the straps. I have found that when you slide them back to make the straps shorter, they dont grip the strap well and if you are bending over often they slide back down after about fifteen minutes of work and the bibs get too loose and long on me. Ive seen other brand bibs that have a rough pattern on the metal part that slides rather than it being smooth so that it grips the strap once its adjusted and I wish Patagonia would do that on theirs as well. Other than that I am very happy with these bibs and if they could fix that part I would recommend them to anyone.

February 21, 2020

I love it, but...

I love em they keep me warm down 0 with nothing more than a pair of jeans, they have held up wonderfully in my line of work climbing over sharp steel up and down ladders on the side of grain bins in and out of harnesses for working at heights. The back pockets are different but super usefull each one holds 2 standard spay cans (ie spray paint) or a... Read More 1/4 impact driver comfortabley. The fabric below your knee dose a pretty decent job shredding water I have never soaked the bibs while wearing but I'm not afraid of stepping in a puddle like my old bibs. Insulation goes all the way up your chest. But here's the but the sliders on the elastic to adjust the bids up and down do not hold in place and it drives me insane if I'm wearing them all day having to readjust them. For that it looses a star hopefully Patagonia can come up with a better adjuster. In the future but almost a whole season inn theese will be my go to when it's cold.

February 21, 2020

Awesome

I own a landscape company for over 20 years. Always been a Carhartt guy. But Carhartt is so stiff. Tried some other workwear first, fell in love and tried the bibs. Seem to be created by someone who actually works. We work outside year round. These bibs are half the thickness of others yet warmer. They are easy to move in and the spots they put the... Read More shiny material, whatever it is, is genius! Mud washes and brushes off easy. I put them on this morning and felt the need to write a review! They do run big. Im 63, 200lbs. Usually wear 36x34 jeans. Got a large and they fit great even with layers. Cant say enough good about these and all the workwear here! Awesome gear!!!!

January 31, 2020

Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Insulated

My new favorite overall for cold weather work! I'm 5'10" and the fit is a touch long, even with my work boots on, but I don't mind it. Heavy duty and very warm! These things take a beating and keep on trucking!

January 16, 2020

Very nice with room to improve

By and large I LOVE my insulated overalls. They are super warm and comfortable and I like all the pocket options. My main issues with them are the length and the straps. The length is very long. I am 5'10", usually get things with a longer inseam and originally got a regular length and was swimming in them. I returned them for a short ins... Read Moreeam length and those are still on the long side and I have to make sure the straps are as short as possible. That brings me to the straps - these insulated overalls are pretty heavy, as they should be to stand up to what they need to do. Unfortunately the stretchy straps don't seem to be able to hold up to staying in place. As I wear these, the straps begin to loosen and slip and then I'm back to the long pant leg issue from above. The idea is great to have stretchy straps for more comfort but it doesn't seem like they can handle the weight of the overalls. I plan to sew the straps so they stop slipping longer. Also, not a huge fan of "patagonia" being printed on the straps as well. The little tag logo is already on the overalls, do we really need more brand flashing? Besides the slipping straps and long inseam, they really are great and I would still recommend them.

January 13, 2020

Great warmth and durability

I decided to buy these mostly for ice fishing but also for anything that Colorado winter throws at me. They do run big. The suspenders have a problem with the buckle not holding up where it’s placed and slide down. If there’s insight to having them stay I would appreciate it- or I might just put my stitching skills to work to hold the buckle in one... Read More spot! I’ve worn them in -20s , wind , snow, slush and and am satisfied with mostly everything that these bibs can stand!

January 10, 2020

Inseam is a bit high

I like them but the inseam is really high. Could benefit from a gussetted crotch (kuhl design) or a cut like mountain hardware

December 20, 2019

Bomber!

Was in the Ventura shop dropping off a repair (16 y/o jacket) and saw these bibs, I was amazed and first sight! I live in Mammoth and spend a lot of time outside, stacking wood, snow removal, and fun stuff too, I've had my insulated Carhartt’s forever but....these out feature them, pockets are better, hand warmers, better bib connections on f... Read Moreront, and the water/snow/ice resistant legs and butt are perfect. These are now daily drivers and you could honestly board, ski and ride your sled in them as well! Totally stoled, 6’3” 200# and the large works great!

December 19, 2019

Best overalls EVER

My son is a blacksmith and he wears them every day. Totally loves everything about them. The quality and insulation. And most of all the upper hand pocket !1

December 19, 2019

the shoulder straps should not

the shoulder straps should not be elastic.

December 14, 2019

Superb

I work outside all winter in Maine - these pants are bombproof. Worth the money. They are a serious work pant - not just for looks! I’m 6’2” and bought the large - the XL might have also been good but don’t need too long a leg as it’s nice not to have cuff get too wet in mud and snow.

December 9, 2019

Great gift

I got these for my bf for his bday and he cannot stop wearing them. We live in the mountains and he wears them all day everyday. He already asked me to get him the non-insulated ones for spring.

December 9, 2019

Great product and service!

Great product and service!

December 5, 2019

Perfect for ice fishing

I bought a large. I am 6'2 185lbs. Fits well, they do seem to run long which is good for me. I wore them ice fishing here in Montana yesterday and was very warm. It is nice to be able to kneel on the ice and not have wet knees.

December 1, 2019

Very well built

Very strong and comfortable, hasn’t been cold enough to really test for warmth but it will be soon

November 27, 2019

Two months in...

Overall great product. I have worn these five days a week in rural Alaska. They get a regular dose of wind, rain, snow, dirt and daily cycling to and from work. They are very comfortable out of the box and the pockets and fit are very good. A little big but I expected that with work clothes. The only downside appears to be the length. I am 6 foot a... Read Morend ordered medium. They seem a little too long especially since they are heavy. Lastly the straps do not hold up to whatever height you set them, they slide down quickly and add to the "too long" feel. All in all still worth the cost.

November 23, 2019

Really warm and comfortable. I

Really warm and comfortable. I ordered the regular length and was too long and I’m 5’8”. Went with the short length and fits perfect. They made the return very simple. Very nice people to deal with

November 22, 2019

Great work working.

Comfortable. Warm. Well made. Thank you.

November 22, 2019

We are first year hemp

We are first year hemp farmers in Wisconsin. We saw your work hemp overalls and had to by them. We wore them for the first time the weekend we bucked and shucked our hemp plants. The overalls are so comfortable, light weight and durable. The reinforced knees are awesome. So excited to use the overalls next spring for planting and weeding.

November 21, 2019

Hemp overalls

Warm, well made overalls. Leg length runs long and wide which is probably fine when used with snow boots. For work wear it would be better to have more hemp canvas and less plastic cloth. Strap adjusters constantly slip.

November 18, 2019

These are very sturdy work

These are very sturdy work bibs. I’m 5’ 11”, weighing 180, with a 32” waist and the medium regular fits well over all my winter layers.

November 16, 2019

'Ready to work!

Pretty dang sweet overalls/bibs. Very comfortable, and warm. I am looking forward to seeing how they hold up/wear, but they seem pretty burly...especially with the nylon on the high wear areas. So far, the best overalls I have ever owned. I am a 32 waist, 30 inseam...ordered the medium, but had to return and get the medium short. The bottoms of the... Read More legs are a little baggy, but could accommodate a variety of boots. 'Haven't been able to test them out at -20, but worked several full days in the single digits and teens with no problem...they fit well over your everyday attire/warm layers and boots. The cut provides a good range of motion while wearing a tool belt or warm jacket. They have become my new winter uniform!

November 15, 2019

Excellent quality, but runs long

Excellent coveralls but I had to purchase a small since they were so long. I'm 5-11" @ 160lbs and typically run 31w x 32l. The medium was too long, and the small fit perfect. Any bigger on the waist than 32 and you'll need a medium.

November 13, 2019

Durable comfort

Surprised at how such a durable material is so unrestrictive and comfortable.

November 12, 2019

Fantastic quality!

For reference I am not a small dude, coming in at 6ft-4inches and 249lbs. I decided to purchase the large regular fit, as someone mentioned in their review that they come in a little bigger fit. I am a union carpenter in Alaska and was in dire need of some new insulated overalls for the winter. Needless to say these are fantastic! The fit and feel ... Read Morerival Carhartt, which I am use to. An XL probably would have been fine but I don't like baggy clothes so I am glad I went with the large. I would definitely say go for a size down if you are short and weigh less than me though. If you don't have thick thighs these might be too loose for you as well. I gotta say I was skeptical at first but I love the feel of the Hemp as it is much less stiff and thick likedenim but also feels just as durable. I love the front zip pouch and pockets design. My pencil and phone both fit nice and snug on chest pouches. The shin and butt water resistant material also is a godsend for working in snow and rain. Hammer loop and back pocket for my speed square is also quite handy when not wearing my bags. Overall I am so glad to own these and also support Patagonia's business practices and culture. Thank you for making workline clothes and thank you cor designing these to also fit the larger demographic of human sizes! Just buy a pair already ;)

November 11, 2019

Great Bibs

Bought these for working out in the cold around the house; so far so good. Very warm (haven't had to wear any base layer bottoms) and the feel is awesome.

November 11, 2019

Amazing Overalls, True to sizing but little long for 5'11" (large)

Man I love these. Warm, durable and comfortable out of the box. I have to roll them up once to keep them from dragging the ground. I might order the "short" - 30" inseam - if I had to do it over again. I am 5'11" tall but overall I could not be more happy. I have owned a lot of overalls in my day these are the best I have e... Read Morever worn.

November 11, 2019

Love the Iron Forge Hemp Overalls!!

We pressed 500 gallons of cider in these sharp new coveralls replacing my old pair that I worked in for at least 10 years. Excited to be covered in Patagonia Hemp for the next 10+ years!!! They are comfortable, and warm, and with the confidence of strength they emulate.....I'm a happier worker!! thanks Patagonia for making these for the worker... Read More in all of us!!

November 10, 2019

Quality.

Fit is good, no issues. Seems to be made very well. Lots of thought went into the design - small design touches like the loop to hang them by instead of by the straps will help them last even longer.

November 9, 2019

They great. Take working in

They great. Take working in the snow to a better place. Bought them for my staff.

November 9, 2019

Brilliant

I love these coveralls. Pockets in all the right places, and tough as nails. Very warm.

November 8, 2019

Wood Cutter

The bib coveralls were very well designed and fit well. they will be put to the test because the user cuts trees for a living. It would be even better to include snaps for Kevlar leg liners to protect against chain saw accidents.

November 6, 2019

Buddyboy

Great gear

November 6, 2019

Rugged fabric that resist stains

Rugged fabric that resist stains but drapes well.

November 5, 2019

Warm, versatile, comfortable. Love them.

Warm, versatile, comfortable. Love them.

October 30, 2019

Legs Run Long

These are very nice overalls but note that the legs run long. The large fits me well with room to layer underneath. However, the legs drag on the ground even with the shoulder straps cinched all the way up and with cowboy boots on. I will need to return these for the short. For reference, I wear a 32 inseam in jeans with no problems but these are w... Read Moreay too long.

Response from Patagonia
November 16, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear that the inseam was too long on these for you! We went ahead and reached out privately to follow up with return instructions.

September 30, 2019

One of a kind!!!!!

These hemp overalls are truly the best I have ever owned hands down. Patagonia once again hits it out of the park especially with their earth concerns and footprint they leave on it.

August 10, 2019

Runs a little big

These were a little longer and wider then I expected. I usually order a size large but decided to get a medium this time. The medium is closer to a large IMO. Really happy with them otherwise

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches