Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas 5-Pocket Pants - Regular

Write Your Review

4.4/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 63 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Iron Forge Hemp® Canvas 5-Pocket Pants - Regular

4.4/5
May 23, 2021

Love them...but have to return them until you make a 35

34 has too small a crotch and I swim in the 36.

May 20, 2021

iron forge hemp 5 pocket

These pants run very large. I wear 34 waist and 32 inseam normally. Returned 34's for 33 waist. Helped some but still larger than I would like. The legs are way too long. I like the pants so my sweetie is going to hem them up.

May 15, 2021

My favorite pants

I loved these pants so much I bought several more pairs of them in different colors. Only wished they offered the dark black denim color without the double knees. If they offered those, I'd buy them also. Simply LOVE these pants. I'm sold on industrial hemp for clothing.

May 14, 2021

Alternative to Jeans

Great fit and feel to these pants. Roomy pockets. Fifth pocket holds phone securely. Heavy weight - good work pants or cold weather hiking.

May 12, 2021

Very well made pants. Excellent quality overall

These pants are soft and comfortable. The feel on my skin is smooth and flexible. The fabric is an excellent weight. Very breathable and well sewn. The overall pattern and fit is loose fitting and very well designed. Color dyes are great. The pockets are all well made with heavy liner material to wear long , stay together.

May 6, 2021

Roomy... Too roomy?

Had to return them. I've had a lot of success with the 36 from Patagonia, but I was swimming in these. Got the 34, which fit great in the seat, but were super tight on the waist. If you had a 35, I'd be in heaven! Love the material!

April 30, 2021

N/A

So far so good, comfortable fit. Definitely recommended!!@

April 30, 2021

Loose, comfy, durable seeming pants

I'm 6' even and around170, kind of a thin build, they fit well for knocking around. The fit is pretty much like 32x32 Carhartts (identical in the waist, a touch shorter in the leg), the pockets are nice, the fabric is comfy, and I've worn them every day I could since I got them. Awesome pants. Only one annoyance and that was when ord... Read Moreering - the sizing system is asinine. After wasting time looking around the website for fit info and agonizing about what size to get the "32 medium" pants came with a tag that said "32x32" nice and big and plain. That would have sure been convenient to know up front. How about not being so coy and just say the size?

Response from Patagonia
April 30, 2021

We appreciate your feedback on our sizing system, we'll pass the word along to our Web Team. In the meantime, feel free to reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/), we're able to provide measurements on all gear in all sizes.

April 29, 2021

More I wear them, the more I like them

Only fault I've found in these pants is the opening on the lower right side pocket is a half inch too narrow, limiting what you can put in and making difficult to dig anything out. Each wear they seem to get softer, and I love that. Re-reading the description, I encourage you to disregard any mention of "tapered leg"; these are as st... Read Moreraight as you see them in the photos.

April 26, 2021

Nothing fancy

Just an easy going, causal everyday pant. Clean lines but mostly chore pants, loose fit is excellent for chores. Exactly what i wanted, what i wanted them for. Class over flash

April 25, 2021

Super comfortable

Great fit, not binding anywhere. Soft hand and extra belt loops a welcome add.

April 14, 2021

My favorite pants

These pants are amazing. Tough as nails, far better for the environment than cotton, and they look good to boot. The waist does seem to run a little small. I am usually a 34, and while these pants fit in a 34, its just barely there. Its probably a good idea to go up one size. The waist stretches a little, but not as much as jeans do. Some people ... Read Morehave said these are too baggy, but I disagree. I usually wear slim pants, but with the weight and weave of the pants, I think they look great with the cut they have. My wife agrees, and she far prefers slimmer pants on most occasions. Please dont ever change a thing about these or discontinue them. Im in love. I just need to order a few more pairs and theyll be the only pants I wear. I never knew I could love a pair of pants this much. Sustainable materials, fair trade sewn, indestructible, and backed by Patagonias guarantee - I couldnt ask for more.

April 4, 2021

Comfortable

I like the feel and drape of the fabric. The pants are easy to move in. The front pockets are a little to deep for me. I would like a cell phone pocket on the upper side of the leg.

April 2, 2021

Bought Three

Love these. I am a bigger and taller guy who is also in decent shape, so it is hard to find pants that fit a muscular leg and not just a bigger rear-end. Even Levi's I find too small in the leg until months of use when they are already fraying. These pants however are very well made, look better than jeans (imho), and are almost as comfy as sw... Read Moreeat pants. Sustainably sourced and fairly tradeed is also a huge plus. Yeah, I bought three. Highly recommended, especially for my fellow bigger (and greener!) dudes.

April 2, 2021

Design - nearly every perfect

This is my second pair of these excellent work pants. Super durable, very comfortable and move well when contorting while working. I use these while doing metal sculpture- a side benefit is they shed sparks and slag really well without burning or singeing. Only critique would be the back pockets. Making them a touch smaller and not having them sit... Read More so low would be better for both moving/squatting and sitting when they have stuff in them.

March 30, 2021

Normally wear 32; I like the durability

Bought both colors but had to send the blue one back for repair after less than 6 months wear/ pocket liner self destructed. Notice that blue is no longer being offered .

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2021

Hey Darryl, we're sorry you had to send these in for repair so soon after purchasing them. In the future, you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) items under our warranty if you purchased them within a year.

March 23, 2021

super dork

While I love the idea of hemp clothing, this particular product was a "must return" item as soon as I put it on. It ran large and due to the cut and dimensions of the pants looked even larger. They remind me of the pants that stilt walkers wear at a circus. The fabric was interesting: tough yet flexible. But the look of the pants was less... Read More than desirable. I understand the need for work pants to be roomy. These pants went overboard with that concept. Compliments to the Patagonia staff who was very helpful in finding a suitable replacement in another style which I like alot.

March 22, 2021

Heavy Duty!

The pants are very comfortable and will be long wearing. They are certainly well made of heavy duty material. They would get a perfect 10 from me if the zipper were only an inch longer and perhaps a bit heavier duty to match the rest of the garment!

March 22, 2021

Very strong and durable

These pants are soft and comfortable yet very strong and durable. They are much thicker than standard pants but I knew that when I purchased them. These are great for standing up to heavy work especially outdoors.

March 21, 2021

Cozy shop pants

Generous size but hangs on my body well. Definitely heavy duty for hard use. Hemp fabric is softening up nicely. I love them, went back a bought a second pair.

March 21, 2021

heavy duty

The pants are well made and the waist size is true. The relaxed fit is somewhat overly relaxed and seems to have more extra fabric than is needed to be "relaxed". The only real complaint I have is that the small utility pocket on the right hip has such a small opening that it makes it hard to actually use it. I can just barely push my iPh... Read Moreone 8 through the opening.

March 20, 2021

Good pants

Good pants

March 20, 2021

Kind of heavy

I had to return these pants because they were so heavy. I wanted to use them for outdoor use but they are better suited for construction. I need durability and protection from heavy vegetation. I know that hemp is very durable and I previously had another different model hemp pant that I enjoyed. I exchanged for a climbing pant.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Thank you for the review on our Iron Forge Pants. You're correct, these pants were built to be tough and durable, which could be why they felt like they were on the heavier side. Our Men's Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Bib Overalls could be a better option, since the weight is distributed by the shoulder straps, [check them out](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-iron-forge-hemp-canvas-bib-overalls-regular/55050.html?dwvar_55050_color=COI&cgid=root).

March 20, 2021

Hard wearing

Am 6'3, 230. pants are 36* 32. They fit well dont run thou

March 20, 2021

runs more than small

I bought a 34 waist, but the pants were really about a 29 or 30. Nothing else mattered. Wasted my time and return postage for nothing. I could understand if they were like a 33 or a 35, but these were ridiculous.

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2021

Hey Robert. We're so sorry to hear you had this experience with sizing. We've passed along your feedback to the Design Team who constantly work to improve our gear's fit, performance, quality, and durability. In the future, we're always happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) with returns or exchanges. Feel free to reach out next time so we can better assist you!

March 10, 2021

Way too big in the legs

These pants were way too big in the thighs and legs.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Iron Forge Hemp Canvas Pants, they are a relaxed fit so they can be tricky to size into. We can always be reached at 800-638-6464 for specific sizing information. We are certainly sorry to hear they did not meet your expectations, as always you are welcome to return any item that does not work out for you.

March 8, 2021

Still on the fence

The quality of these is the usual great stuff you'd expect from Patagonia, but I'm still a little on the fence regarding the fit. They fit true to size at the waist, but are a little long and baggy through the legs and crotch. I'm assuming that's intentional, but this all feels baggier than the other Patagonia hemp canvas pants ... Read Morethat I have (the ones with the reinforced knees. So I'm still on the fence. I want to love them like I do my other Workwear gear, but time will tell . . .

March 2, 2021

Best pair of work pants

Fit well. Favorite pants. Enjoy this style more than the double knee. Enjoy this pocket style more as well. All around great-from fabric weight to color. I wear them around town, and working too.

February 28, 2021

Great Work Pants

Pants fit a little tight for the size indicated (compared to competitors). However, they are plenty comfortable and roomy in the legs. They wear like iron, much better than jeans. I will be replacing my Levi's with these pants. They remind me of the old Patagonia Ironworker Pants from the 1980's (I am dating myself now!). Highly reccomend... Read Moreed!

February 26, 2021

Very Comfortable

Very comfortable. I expect these to be plenty durable. Added to my closet full of Patagonia clothing!

February 2, 2021

For Everyday

Bought these as a gift for my son in college. He really likes the style, color and comfort of the pants. He usually wears and I bought a size 31/32 but ended up returning for a 30/32.

February 1, 2021

Better Than Blue Jeans

I'm a desk jockey and a jeans wearer and I love these pants. Really nice deep pockets plus bonus fifth pocket. Good weight to the fabric itself, and eco friendly hemp instead of cotton. Comfortable relaxed fit. Patagonia quality. I hope they keep this style around, I'll definitely own more!

January 26, 2021

Rugged with great pockets

Fabric is rugged, the fit is comfortable, legs are loose. Pockets are ample. The fifth pocket, on the right thigh, comfortably fits a pair of sunglasses in their case plus more. My iPhone 11 easily fits in the thigh pocket, but I prefer the left rear pocket; its easier to get to it there.

January 25, 2021

Great work pant!

The pants are well constructed and durable. They fit well and allow for freedom of movement when working. My one suggestion for "improvement" would be to make the side pocket about 1/4-1/2 inch wider. I like to put my phone in the side pocket and tools in the back pocket rather than the way they should go. The side pocket is just a bit to... Read Moreo narrow to accommodate my phone (and I don't have a bigger phone). I still love the pants!

January 8, 2021

Comfort and style

I originally ordered 31x32 but returned for the 30x32 as they seemed just a little too big/baggy. I received the smaller size yesterday and I am already wearing them all of the time. Soft, comfortable, and wearable right out of the package. Love the fit, color, and feel.

January 2, 2021

Very rugged great looking pant.

A great, comfortable pant for working - especially out of doors. For me the pant partnered with a Patagonia t-shirt, communicates that I love the out of doors and the rugged clothing required.

December 7, 2020

Love these pants

I love these pants. They were tight at first but you just have to break them in for a day then they are perfect after that all the time. Even after washing a bunch. It's nice there is actually room in the legs, its impossible to find pants that arent skinny pants these days. I love these, they look like classic work pants from the 50s.

November 17, 2020

Great pants

Comfortable, not slim fit, deep pockets, well made!

November 17, 2020

accurate waist and hip fit, lots of leg room

I've wanted to try these for a long time - I'll wear them for working on a boat project, mainly. The waist size was accurate for me - the pants fit well in the waist and hip. I usually buy a 32 length and shrink to fit, but I don't think these will shrink much, so I should have bought a 30 length. I like a lot of legroom, but these a... Read Morere on the baggy side. I'll have them shortened so I don't feel like one of the seven dwarfs. The fabric is flexible and requires no break-in. The fabric surface is a bit coarse and feels a little abrasive.

November 10, 2020

Rugged but comfy

These pants feel like they can take a beating and won't tear or puncture when bushwhacking yet they are not too stiff and are very comfortable in all positions. There is a little stretch in the fabric. Pockets are good-sized although I can't fit my phone (with case) in the side pocket.

October 2, 2020

Comfy fabric yet confusing 5th pocket

Great fabric but runs pretty large. I had to exchange pants and go smaller in the waist and inseam. Seems baggier than necessary for work. The real bummer is the 5th pocket is very small and doesnt fit my iPhone 11. Its even small for accessing pliers, etc. I read reviews prior to purchase that said the 5th pocket did fit iPhones and thus am disapp... Read Moreointed it doesnt. Hopefully I didnt get a mis-stitched pair. I chose Patagonia because of the hemp fabric but my Carharts are more functional and a better fit. Ill stick to buying Patagonia in person as I find I am returning or exchanges for new sizes / styles.

September 20, 2020

comfy and robust

these 5 pocket jeans are comfy an robust! Patagonia products always seem to be sized appropriately. I really enjoy wearing them. 2 comments. It will be interesting to see how these jeans react to rain! It seems like they might get heavy and dry slow. I give them 5 stars for obvious quality and fit for sure!

September 16, 2020

Made for trade workers?

positive -sizing is exactly like carhart( easy to change over and order) - i think the cut is even a little better then carhart - the fabric looks nice and professional for a expensive trade worker(refeigeration mec) - feels a lot nicer in hot weather - fair trade negatives - my screw driver picked a hole in the side pocket in the first week ( i ... Read Morethink it would be batter if it was a larger pocket big enough for a cell phone or multiple screw drivers) also stronger - the spot for a knife is great but not strong enough. it had already started to fray after two weeks ( has to be strong enough to hang for cordless drill)

September 7, 2020

Good pants

Very comfortable, good fit, nice large pockets.

July 13, 2020

Great

Pants fit and feel great ! On and off different golf course equipment all day - plenty of room to move in comfort !

July 12, 2020

Great

Pants fit and feel great ! On and off different golf course equipment all day - plenty of room to move in comfort !

July 9, 2020

Sweet fabric, runs big

Fabric on these pants is awesome. I basically want to live in them when it's anything other than super hot. However, the sizing is huge/generous. I'm 6'2, 32" waist and exchanged a 32" long for the 30" long. They're still a little big on the waist. I could probably wear a 28/29" for a more modern fit.

June 29, 2020

Super Comfortable

I'm a huge fan of the ironforge fabric; I have two pair of the double-knee work pants and just love them. These are a great complement to those - the side seam pocket is perfect for my iPhone, and they are very very comfortable right out of the package. Mine didn't shrink even a little. Please Please Please Patagonia make a slim fit versi... Read Moreon of these; my wife won't let me replace the rest of my jeans with these because she wants the slimmer profile.

June 24, 2020

zipper

Zipper is way to "wimpy" light gauge for workwear. I expect it to fail much sooner than a heavier zipper.

May 4, 2020

Tough and soft

I'm 5'11", 165 pounds. I bought a 34" waist with a regular length. I do use a belt. The length is a tad bit too long for me, but it's find with shoes on. The fabric is tough, yet soft. I wash them on warm and dry on medium and they haven't shrunk in the waist, or length. They definitely have a work pants look, but le... Read Moress so than the design with the funny back pockets and double-layer knee/shin area. I like the look of these a lot. I wish they were made in the Dark Ash color. I would definitely recommend them.

April 7, 2020

Wear them all the time

Great pants. I use them for woodworking, and basically everything. Forced myself to put them in the wash today. The 5th pocket fits my iPhone XS perfectly.

March 27, 2020

Nice jeans off fit

Love these jeans had a slight issue with the wear as they measured out to be bigger than a 32 I bought. Compared to another pair of Patagonia pants also in 32 they were off by about 11/2 -2 overall great quality just be careful when buying.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi Andrew! Thank you so much for your feedback on the Iron Forge Hemp Canvas 5 pocket pants. We very much value your input. These pants are from our Work Wear line which has a relaxed fit in order to accomodate room tools, knee pads, etc while on the job. Feel free to reach out to our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to discuss measurements and fit options. You are welcome to [Return or Exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a better fit!

March 6, 2020

Amazing Material, So-So Fit

The material is amazing, extremely comfortable right away, and after owning these for six months I can say more durable than the cotton equivalent. I am 6' tall and 175 lbs, all of my best fitting pants are 32 x 32, I purchased these in a size 32 and find the waste to be about 1" too small.

December 18, 2019

No better pants for physical work

Just like the title says.

November 23, 2019

Like the design but the sizing is off

I like the design and the pockets, but the sizing was off, the 34" waist I ordered measured 36.5". I compared them to two other pairs of 34 Patagonia work pants (iron forge double knee and steel forge) that I own, those are both labeled 34" and measure 34.5".

Response from Patagonia
December 13, 2019

Hi Philip, we're sorry to hear that the sizing on the Iron Forge Hemp Pants was off. We think this may be a defect and would like to get a new pair out to you. We'll contact you privately to begin that process.

November 14, 2019

Have not received - have to wait until January to order.

I did order but there are no pants to send me so I cannot review then yet.

November 13, 2019

Winter wear supreme

This is the type of pants that I can wear 3 times and wash once. They are sturdy and warm, perfect for the first blast of winter weather.

November 7, 2019

Bobs pants

I like the fabric I think they are well made They are too baggy Especially in the butt

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Robert, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit of the pants. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 29, 2019

Great everyday pants

The fit of these pants is what I appreciate the most. They have a bit more room in the hips and thighs then a pretty straight leg from the knee down. These and the Courdaroys are the only pants I can wear from Patagonia. They are a heavier weight fabric but they look very casual to wear out and about.

October 15, 2019

Good quality and fit, but baggy

Waist and inseam are a great fit and they feel good, but when I look in the mirror it looks like I'm wearing clown pants. I don't mind a little relaxed fit, but it was too much of a street bum look for a 61 yr. old man. Overall quality top notch.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2019

Thanks for the design feedback, Tim! If you decide to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#) them, don't hesitate to reach out to us for assistance, as we're happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html).

September 27, 2019

Marvelous high quality drawers

Long time hemp fan and proponen going back more than two decades. I really appreciate the hand, overall performance, longevity and enhanced/ expanded temp comfort when wearing different hemp fabrics. I already own two pair of the double knee version of these. This particular pair of 5 pockets lands a tad more trim in a good way (little wonder, like... Read More a pair of jeans.) I’m a fan of the more spare design. And I definitely value and appreciate that they happen to offer deeper front and rear pockets than other Patagonia options have had the last few years. Relatively speaking, quite the square deal for what you get in today's market. Based on what I've experienced with the double knees... I’m fully confident that I'll see years of wear from these... and be fully pleased right the way through.

September 1, 2019

Great pants

Great pants! I have the lightweight double knee pants and love them. These are great also , they do wear a little bit bigger than the double knees though, but it’s perfect for a layer.

August 28, 2019

One pant to rule them all

The product manager for these pants deserves a big hug. I’ve been wearing the double knee hemp pants since they were introduced and have at least 300 days of hard use on them. I use them for work (farming and ranching), rock climbing and hunting. They really don’t need to be double reinforced because the hemp seems tough enough for any type of a... Read Morebuse yet is incredibly soft and flexible. The hemp performs better than canvas in blistering heat and cuts the wind better in the bitter cold winters. That’s why I’m so excited about these 5 pocket pants. They have all the benefits of the hemp while also looking like normal slacks. My wife thinks they are much more flattering than the double knees. The side pocket is large enough for my encased cell phone and is sewn in a way that keeps my phone secure even while doing handstands! As far as sizing goes, the waist is accurate but the length is a little long. I appreciate the length because I’m usually between sizes and these are as close to perfect that I’ve found. The 32 length seems closer to 33. To summarize: These are good looking, good fitting, well designed pants made from materials that together are strong as steel and as soft as kittens. The one pant to rule them all.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches