Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 135 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7"

4.1/5
June 14, 2021

Perfect except for one tiny thing

I absolutely love these shorts. So nice to have shorts that don't cover my knees. I used to wear these years ago and loved them. Since then, a wallet pocket has been added. It's a great idea but why is it only on the right-hand side? Many of us carry our wallets on the other side. Why not do both? Seems like a small thing to ask.

June 12, 2021

nice material, runs slightly large

Great durable, textured ,flexible material. Like the fitted waist (darted above the back pockets) makes the fit very comfortable. They run a bit large; purchased 35 per measurement but are loose after washing; 34 should be fine. A 5" inseam with ~1" narrower legs would be welcome too. Well made, comfortable, durable short, with great mate... Read Morerial.

June 12, 2021

No taper in the legs made it to baggy for my taste. Exchanged for the light wear hemp shorts.

To baggy. Needs to be more tailored at the legs.

June 12, 2021

Terrific but..........

I've worn these for 40+ years and they all have been near bullet proof but.....#1: Zipper really needs to be 1 inch longer as in extending 1 inch lower. It gets a little tight guys!!!! #2: How about an 8" option?

June 11, 2021

Best shorts ever!

My wife and I have made a living outdoors for four decades and we have worn these stand up shorts around the world! The length has changed over the years as we originally still enjoy the 5 inch for hot weather and around town the 7 inch! Love these shorts and travel with several colors! K&K

June 9, 2021

Too LONG

Unfortunately with the 5s gone these are simply too hot and just not suitable for the south where it goes from freezing to 95 degrees & 100% humidity. I miss the days of Patagonia making utilitarian products where you could wear them for every purpose, now the designs are so purposeful you have to have 1 of everything which to me is a huge impa... Read Morect on the environment! Look at how many versions & types of capilene there are!!!

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. We'll pass it along to our design team.

June 7, 2021

7 perfect for me

These shorts are the bomb. I know most want the 5 back cause the 7s are too long but as a shorter guy. These still hang about 3 above the knee cap and perfect for me. Any higher and LOL. Thanks as always Patagonia !

June 3, 2021

Bring back the 5" please

I've been a lifetime 5" stand up short wearer, I've worn pairs till they fall apart and LOVE them. Bummed to see the 5" gone, and wanting to be a loyal customer I tried the 7" but not the same. Super bummed because I would have worn the 5" the rest of my life! Please bring them back- they were called a dirtbag staple, ... Read Moredon't forget about the dirtbags!

June 3, 2021

5" Stand up shorts

Please return to producing these shorts. My husband has been wearing them for years and years and I can't believe they can no longer be purchased. They are a classic style with durable material and in demand by the fact that they can no where be found. Bring the 5" canvas stand up short back!

June 3, 2021

Comfortable and strong material

I really life the feel of the shorts. They come in just above the knee, but not too short. The material is substantial but not too heavy on hot days.

May 27, 2021

Happy w/7's, but wish quality control would improve

I've been wearing Stand Up Shorts since the mid-80's. My favorite shorts of all time and pretty much the only shorts I wear. Unlike a lot of the reviewers, I prefer the 7" size and have been buying them for years, even when the 5 inch shorts were also available. Keep the 7's in production please. My problem with the shorts is th... Read Moreat the design changed last year to a less contoured, boxier fit that was a huge step in the wrong direction. This year's shorts seem a bit closer to the original design though the fabric is definitely thinner than it used to be (as was the case last year too). The bigger issue to me is quality control. This year I ordered a pair of 33's and they were way too tight in waist and seat. I ordered another pair, same size and they fit really well. Last year the same thing, though the pair I kept are a bit too big (also 33 but fit like 34.5). Prior to last year, all of my Stand Up Shorts over a 20 year period fit fairly uniformly. Hoping that you will bring back some cool colors in future seasons. My olive greens are fraying and I can't keep them much longer! Regular khaki would be nice too as would a cool blue you had about 20 years ago!

Response from Patagonia
May 27, 2021

Thanks for your feedback here. We've alerted our design team as to the quality issues you've faced.

May 25, 2021

Too long

I have been wearing stand up shorts for longer than I can remember. They could handle all the abuse of the outdoor life! This fad of long shorts that reach down to the knee or beyond has gone on long enough! Bring back the 5 inch short! I really enjoyed the wide cut around the thigh and 5 inch inseam while hiking and scrambling. Anything longer tha... Read Moren 6 starts to drag on the thigh area while climbing or knocking about and increases discomfort.

Response from Patagonia
May 25, 2021

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Stand Up Shorts - 7", we'll be sure to pass the word along about your wishes for the 5" option to be brought back. You might have some luck and snag a pair on our [Worn Wear website](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons, feel free to check it out.

May 23, 2021

Long time customer wants 5 length to return

Ive been wearing stand up shorts for more than 40 years due to the fit and great durability but am disappointed that the 5 length was discontinued. I still purchase them but now I have the added expense of having them tailored back to 5. Please honor your loyal customers like me and save us the added expense

May 22, 2021

Still awesome

These feel as good as the 20 year old pair I've got. They have a roomy fit in the legs which give just the right amount of ventilation. I was a little worried about the length (my older pairs are 9" and 11"), but I appreciate the cut and can respect the decision to settle on a single length.

May 21, 2021

Where are the 5" standup shorts??

The fact that Patagonia stopped carrying their signature 5" standup shorts is a clear indication that whoever's running the company doesn't know their customer.

May 21, 2021

Disappointed

Like many other here, I hate to see the 5" length go. Please listen to the feedback and bring back the 5". Just think, you're saving money on the reduced amount of material. win-win for everyone.

May 20, 2021

The best

My second pair of these great shorts. The first pair are still going strong. I love the pockets and how well they are made. No doubt i will be getting a third pair in the near future.

May 20, 2021

To long

Pategonia took down my previous review so I will post again. For those of you like me who are a little bit shorter and loved the 5 inch. Do not waste you're time with these, they are way to long. For those of you 6 foot plus, sure. For everyone else, unless you like your shorts to be at your knee caps, don't buy these.

May 18, 2021

Bring back the 5.5" inseam

Some people like the 7". Maybe they're ashamed of their legs. To each their own. But bring back the short shorts please.

May 15, 2021

Nice fitting short for many purposes.

I like the way the shorts fit me. They look nice but can be worn for outdoor sports as well.

May 11, 2021

Love these shorts

I love the way these shorts look and feel.

May 9, 2021

I love the Stand Up Shorts

I now own at least 10 pairs of these shorts. I wear them until they wear out ( usually after 5 years). Then I wear them to do yard work. I really like the length and the over sized back pockets. In my opinion, the very best shorts available.

May 9, 2021

i don't need the extra 2 inches bring back 5 inch

title pretty much tells it all i have been wearing stand up shorts since 1977, the originals and after those ceased to be available and ya'll went to a lighter material WHY discontinue the 5 inch HUH???? having to accept the 7 inch is extremely disappointing

May 8, 2021

Wish Patagonia would make 5.5 again

This is my favorite shorts and I wish Patagonia would make 5.5 inseam again next year.

May 7, 2021

A classic

I have been wearing these shorts since the 70s. I cannot imagine summer without them.

May 7, 2021

The bomb

Great for bike touring!

May 7, 2021

Just awesome!

Best rugged cotton shorts on the planet! The cut of these shorts allows for unrestricted, non-ball crushing movement. The extra deep back pockets are awesome once you get used to them.

May 5, 2021

The perfect all around short.

Dress them up, dress them down, work in them, or workout in them. These shorts do it all, the BEST all around short.

April 29, 2021

Still the best

Started out with my normal 36 and they were real baggy. Scaled back to 35 and they fit great. Ive been wearing stand up shorts for 25 years and these are as great as ever. 7 inseam is just about perfect, sits just above my knees. Im not sad yall no longer make the long stand-ups of years past, but it would be nice if the 7 AND 5 were made available... Read More, for when a man wants to go Alby Mangels

April 26, 2021

Classic shorts

I've been wearing stand up shorts since they were first introduced to the climbing community. I do look for a better short, but have always returned to the stand up. Just ordered two pair.

April 26, 2021

The only ones I wear

Having purchased 70+ pair of these shorts since 91 Id say size consistency has always been an issue. It seems since last year the size is more consistent pair to pair. Although the shorts seem to be running a little larger. Also What happened to stand up pants? Please bring them back. Thanks C

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2021

Hi Corrin, we're happy that the sizing has become more consistent this year. Sadly, we currently do not have the Men's Stand Up Pants available, but that could change in the future. We do however still have the Men's Stand Up Shorts, and you can find those here, https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stand-up-shorts-7-inch/57228.html?dwvar_57228_color=EWBN.

April 25, 2021

The Pantry

I have nickname for these shorts The Pantry because they hold all the snacks from the pantry you want. Happy Times !

April 23, 2021

The right fit short!

Its very difficult to find 7 inseam short thats well made. The pockets call hold a frig and a snack. So I bought several more as I enjoyed them so much.

April 22, 2021

Seven inch inseam just too long

I have been wearing Stand Up Shorts for well over forty years. My first pairs of Stand Up Shorts ( yes, once I found them I bought several) were so well built and made from such heavy canvas that I could literally stand them against a wall. And most importantly they had a 5 inch inseam! For years I have looked forward to spring and pulling out my 5... Read More inch inseam Stand Up Shorts . They were all I would wear between April to November and they were always the 5 inch inseam. I have tried the seven inch inseam and it is awful. If I have to wear shorts that touch my knee caps I might as well wear long pants. My wife has shortened these shorts but they are just not the same! My favorite Pataloha limited edition shirt (1993) just longs to be paired again with a pair of khaki, 5 inch inseam, Stand Up Shorts. Patagonia please listen to the pleas of your costumers and bring back the 5 inch inseam!

April 21, 2021

Stand up shorts - Classic

I bought these shorts to replace a pair of standup shorts I bought in 1988, and it wasnt because I wore those out; it was because Im getting old and fat. Other than a fleece, this is THE classic Patagonia product. Please never change it!

April 16, 2021

Stand-up 7" shorts

I wanted the shorts in a 5" but that product was not available. The 7" is longer than what I like. I am short so a 5" is perfect for me. I love the color and I imagine it will wear well if I decide to keep it. I have not yet decided to wear it. I may hold on to it until you produce a 5" in the same color. I have several pairs of... Read More stand-up shorts and look forward to wearing them every summer. They have held up very well over the years.

April 16, 2021

too long

I am a carpenter. I have been buying stand-up shorts with the 5" inseam for 20+ years for work. They wore like iron and were comfortable. Now they are only available in 7", which is too long for active work. I liked the 5" but now I'll have to find something else.

April 15, 2021

Great Shorts

These shorts are exactly what I need for the upcoming summer months. Only drawback is that I wish you all would stay out of politics. It leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

April 15, 2021

Great Shorts

I've worn these shorts for years. They hold up really well, but after years and years of wear, I do update with new pairs & colors. I first ordered the 35 waist (my actual waist) but they were too large. The 33 waist fits perfectly. Great shorts!!!!

April 14, 2021

Great weight and fit

I really like the weight of the cloth, it feels like it will wear really well and last a good while. The fit is also really good. I'm not sold on the over-sized back pockets. Perhaps the have a technical function I just don't have. I'm also not a fan of the velcro pocket closures.

April 11, 2021

It fits!

Thanks to the lockdown...my 34" Stand up's are NOT working for some reason (Duh!) ....therefore, I ordered the 36" while I work on getting back into the 34's !!!

April 11, 2021

No 5 inch- Im finished

Worn stand ups since 1995. Moving on to another short now. No 5, no dice. Wasted money on 7 and had them hemmed to 5, still not right. Its obvious Patagonia will not go back to 5, even though there are hundreds of below reviews wanting them back. Ridiculous.

Response from Patagonia
April 13, 2021

Thank you for the review on the Stand Up Shorts. We do review all feedback and it goes directly to our Quality Analysts and Designers. We hear you, and there's a chance they will come back so don't lose all hope. In the meantime, if you haven't already, you're welcome to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) even if the shorts have been altered.

April 9, 2021

Not for everyone, but a great, durable product

I am on my 3rd set of these shorts over 30+ years, they last forever. They are stiff and need break-in, but you can put them through any activity. If I need something light and flexible I don't put these on, but for everything else they are good.

April 8, 2021

Fair/Good...But.

I'm 5'8" 175 # and fairly average overall. I was looking for "room to move" and a good waist fit. These were intended for work in the garden and walks in the rocks. Waist is in fact perfect, although I wear a 34" in 75%-80% of all my other trousers. The lowers are very wide and kilt-like. Hard to describe, but not a go... Read Moreod look at all. After a wear and wash, I am unhappy with this product.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2021

We're so sorry to hear that these didn't work out for you. Please reach out to our customer service team to get set up with a return.

April 7, 2021

Heavy duty and good fit!

I like 'em. They'll need a little break in, but they fit fine and will probably last forever. Typical Patagonia quality. I'd be interested in the extinct 5" model, but the 7" suits me just fine. Not fond of long shorts. Bought two pair.

April 7, 2021

Love these shorts, but PLEASE bring back the 5"

I have loved these shorts since the first day I got my original pair. I just love them. Everything about them is perfect. I just wish they would bring back the 5" because the 7" is just too long. Please Patagonia, please.

April 7, 2021

Great shorts

These shorts are amazing! Durability is a huge key to me when buying shorts and these shorts deliver on all levels. Leave it to Patagonia to be able to mix comfort and durability. The only issue I can find is that the Velcro closures on the rear pockets feels a little weak, it if it fails the company stands behind their product.

April 7, 2021

stand Up shorts

found these shorts to be just what I was looking for, legs are a little long but not a big deal. Very comfortable fit

April 7, 2021

shorts

why don't you make them like you did. heavier cloth and 5 inch inseam

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2021

Hi Steven, we're sorry for the disappointment on these. We appreciate the feedback on the material and inseam and encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back if you decide they aren't working for you. Thanks!

April 6, 2021

Not short enough

These shorts were advertised as a "throw back" to the old days when "shorts were shorts" - meaning, they were up above the knees, not at the knee caps. I was stoked to see them and immediately purchased a pair. I'm not a big guy, but at 56 I've got a 36" waist. Well, it seems the tailors at Patagonia think anyone ... Read Morewith a 36" waist if over 6ft tall because while these shorts fit perfectly in my waist, they hang just at my knee caps. So not the "old school" shorts I had hoped for. Still a fantastic pair of shorts and, as with all Patagonia products, built to last and super-high quality. While I don't expect to grow taller, I do hope to lose some weight, so I bought 2 pairs of Size 35. They are a bit tight (incentive reminder to stop snacking and get out there!), but they fall at the perfect height a few inches above my knees!

April 6, 2021

Too long

I fell like I am wearing pants in these super long shorts. I miss the glory days of the 5s. Its not my fault that you make a sturdy pair of shorts that I only have to buy every few years. We all have them and they last so that probably throws your numbers off. Just please do us all a solid and bring them back and keep the 5s in the line up forever.... Read More

April 6, 2021

GOAT shorts

Best khaki shorts Ive ever owned. Outside of a formal setting, you could not ask for a better, more durable pair.

April 5, 2021

Tested through the years

I have the original Stand Ups and have been wearing them for some time now, and the quality "stands up" just as good as the first pair.

April 4, 2021

WORN 5" FOR YEARS!

OK, I've been wearing these 5" shorts since forever (<1970) BECAUSE they provided excellent leg movement, are cool in the heat and also swim well when needed. The 7" just length doesn't get it! Hello?

March 31, 2021

The perfect generalist

When you need pair of shorts that are willing to do what you want when you want, buy these. They are basic shorts that feel good even after soaked in sweat on a long hike. The color is great at hiding the first swathes of dirt but liquids will show up.

March 30, 2021

Tried and true

Long lasting: I have worn this style from Patagonia for more than twenty years. They were great for sailing. They are really the only shorts I buy. They fit right, last a long time,and come in many colors.

March 23, 2021

Too long -- bring back the 5" versions, please!

These are just too long. I have worn the 5" stand-ups for years and need to replace a couple of pair that have lived a good life. Thought I'd try the 7", but just like so many of the reviews, they are just too long and uncomfortable where they hit at the knee. Bring back the 5" versions, please!

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2021

Thanks for the feedback Ed! You're not alone and we've let our design team know that the 5 inch is a popular inseam.

March 21, 2021

These are PERFECT

Size 33 fits me perfectly, these are the best feeling shorts, everything is the exact right measurement. Im so happy with these. I know a lot of people say the 5 inch was good, but this is my first pair and I think the 7 inch is just fine.

March 20, 2021

5 for summer please

Like everyone else is saying, please bring back the 5. The all wear hemp are nice but nowhere near as durable and are really just casual wear.

March 18, 2021

BRING BACK THE 5

This style of short is amazing. I love having a brand that I can continuously purchase from and expect the same high quality results. These shorts are not the same since the 5 was discontinued. The 7 just feels to long. BRING BACK THE 5

March 16, 2021

Moving on.

Wore 5 stand ups ( still do ) for nearly 30 years. Tried 7 with alterations- will not work. Finished until you bring 5 back. Moving on to other brands.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2021

We're sorry to hear these didn't work for you, but appreciate your feedback. If you haven't already seen them, we recommend taking a look at our 6" inseam Corduroy Utility Shorts, or the more casual Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts.

March 16, 2021

7 inseam are longs. Revive the 5!

Been wearing these shorts forever. Hiking, climbing, travel, getting lost, even doing carpentry work. Love them! Its sad to see Patagonia buckling to the trend of ever-longer shorts. NO, 7 isnt short. Thats longs, not shorts! I resent having to pay someone another $20 or $25 to make my shorts the correct length. Bring back the 5 inseam.

March 15, 2021

AVID HIKER, RUNNER

I have probably eight pairs of these shorts. I think they're the best shorts made. I have some that I think are 3" inseams. But I only wear my 5" ones. Keep trying to bring myself to get some 7"ones. But I cant quite pull the trigger. Seems like you'd sell more if you offered both lengths.

March 15, 2021

What? No more 5"?

Being short of stature, anything more than a 5&quot; inseam contacts my knees allowing and uncomfortable sensation with each step. Interesting how all your models wearing the 7&quot; are all 6&#x27;-1&quot;. Hire a 5&#x27;-5&quot; model wearing the 7&quot; and watch your sales volume. I&#x27;ve been wearing my collection of 5&quot; for maybe 15 yea... Read Morers. Since they are never going to wear out, it's a moot point they are no longer available.....until you bring them back!

March 6, 2021

Always Ready!

I still have a pair of Stand Up Shorts with C button! I lived in Stand Ups in my late teens... in Stand Ups I was ALWAYS...always ready!

March 4, 2021

Solid shorts

These shorts are built like a favorite pickup truck. I can take them anywhere and they won't let me down.

March 2, 2021

Bring back the 5"

These shorts are great, but the 7" is too baggy. The 5" are my favorite shorts ever, please bring back the 5"!

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

Thank you for your review! We hear you, and have passed the word along to our design teams. In the meantime, feel free to check out the [Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 6"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-lightweight-all-wear-hemp-shorts-6-inch/57756.html?dwvar_57756_color=PGBE&cgid=mens-shorts).

March 2, 2021

Standup Shorts: still the best.

Been wearing Standups for maybe 5 decades now. Sure glad youre still making them!

March 1, 2021

Tough and rough

These shorts are what you want to be living in when the day changes from work to play. They are rugged and durable for framing a cabin or pouring concrete. abs comfortable enough to wear for any chill and casual Sunday afternoon.

February 27, 2021

WAY TOO LONG

Its no exaggeration to say that the 5 inch stand ups are the only shorts Ive worn for the past 20 years. I was extremely disappointed to find out they had been discontinued. Ive tried to make the 7 inch version work, but theyre just way too long. Please bring back the CLASSIC 5 inch shorts that so many reviewers dearly love. Charge more if you ... Read Moreneed to, or make them a limited edition but just bring them back.

Response from Patagonia
March 12, 2021

Thank you for your review on our Stand Up Shorts. We're always changing our offerings, and customer feedback is one of the factors that help dictate those changes, so we thank you for sharing your thoughts. We're happy to pass the word along as it seems like you're not the only one who feels this way. In the meantime, we'd recommend checking out our [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/) website where we sell lightly used gear from past seasons. You might have some luck and find some 5" versions. If there's nothing available at the moment, we encourage you to check back, we're always adding to inventory.

February 15, 2021

Bring back the 5"!!!

I just bought two pairs for my husband. He's worn the 5" for 30 years and loved them. He recently purchased 3 pairs of lighter-weight shorts and told me he hates them, that he wished Patagonia still sold his beloved stand-ups in the (also) beloved 5". These will be a surprise but I'll have to shorten them for him.

February 11, 2021

Roomy pockets

I have used versions of these shorts for many years. I love them. They are my favorite shorts for golfing with the four large pockets. I do remove the Velcro closures in the back pockets: useless and annoying. My only disappointment with the current version are the longer legs. I hate this trend in mens shorts. I will probably have them shortened.

January 26, 2021

Please bring back the 5" Stand Ups

My husband lives in these shorts, year round. But he only bought the 5"....please bring those back!

December 22, 2020

Best shorts ever

These are the best shorts ever though I wish you would bring back the 5 inch style

December 11, 2020

Better than ever....

Okay-- I bought my first pair of standup shorts in 1980. Folks writing reviews appear to want the short inseams to come back, but, frankly, they were always too short; especially, if you were wearing a climbing harness. I think the 7 inch inseams are perfect. As for sizing: I am a 36 inch waist. For many years, I had to order the 38 inch waist size... Read More in the 'Standup Shorts' because the 36 inch shorts were too tight. I just bought a new pair and ordered the 36... they fit perfectly (not too snug and not too loose). Actually, for shorts that get used in the mountains, waist sizes should run a bit on the large size, so that they sit more on the hips and do not get bunched up under pack waist belts or climbing harnesses. At any rate, this iteration of the Standup Shorts (Dec. 2020) are the best fitting yet. Of course, I wish the canvas was thicker and more tightly woven, but I am probably in a minority here. I wear the Standup's every day even in winter and cannot imagine life in the mountains without them. But, please, make them super thick for climbers.

December 10, 2020

Awesome Shorts

Are your thighs feeling restricted by small leg openings? Well then these shorts are for you. Flared leg openings let you move with ease. The fabric is super tough. My favorite part is probably that the pockets made of very sturdy fabric that seems indestructible. The shorts get better and better over time as they break in.

December 6, 2020

Miss the 5 stand up

These are the best shorts made. I have been wearing these shorts year around for decades and have some are thirty years old before they added the wallet pocket in the right back pocket. I have several pairs in a each of a few sizes 32-36. The 5 version are dearly missed. They tend to ride lower on the hips and the 7 model is too long. Please bring ... Read Moreback the 5 I think they may have been discontinued once before I recall my wife searching retailers for old back stock on the 5 7is better than some inferior. The hemp shorts and nice but more formal

December 2, 2020

Awesome, comfortable

Love these shorts for cooler weather in SC. Im still wearing them. They are quite baggie, so if thats not your style or you care lots, find a different pair at Patagonia.

November 17, 2020

New cut is much larger

The new cut on these shorts is far larger than the previous years. I have 10 pairs and had to send these back. Bring back the old shorts!

November 12, 2020

Durable and comfortable

Bought my first pair of stand up shorts in the mid-1980s. Got two more because I liked them so much. It took me 20-25 years to wear those out, and the replacements are similar quality. If anything, the cotton used the past several years is more comfortable. I like the double seat/rear pockets and the wider leg openings.

November 6, 2020

What Happened?

I have been wearing these shorts for 10+ years and have had nothing but excellence from these shorts. This year I bought a few new pairs and every pair was at least 1 bigger in the waist and 2 longer inseam. Not sure what they changed, but the fit is not the same as years prior.

October 29, 2020

Shorts stand up

I been getting these since my climbing days 40 years ago

October 23, 2020

To long

Bring back the 5" inseam

October 19, 2020

Bring back the 5 length

Ive been wearing these shorts 15 plus years and was disappointed that the 5 length was discontinued. I just ordered 6 pairs and will have to take them to a seamstress to have them shortened in length. Please bring back the original 5 inseam length.

September 14, 2020

Everywhere shorts

These are great shorts for the fall...but, the legs are way toooooo wide. I had to have them taken up about two inches in width. I could have gotten both legs through one side with the width they came. Also, the back pockets are way toooo deep. My wallet hangs half way down the back of my leg...or maybe I&#x27;m just toooo picky. I just like my clo... Read Morethes to fit!

September 13, 2020

Very Nice Shorts; Runs Large

Good looking and well-made shorts. Had to order a size 30 because the 31 was too big.

September 13, 2020

Too big

Been wearing Stand ups for many years in the same size (31). I bought two pair but these are more like 33 waist. Love the shorts but would recommend ordering a size down.

September 12, 2020

Standup Shorts

I&#x27;m 78 years old, and I have been wearing the 5&quot; inseam standup shorts since they were introduced. It was so long ago I can&#x27;t remember when that was. Anyway, I wear these shorts 12 months out of the year. Now, I found out that you have discontinued them. I understand change for the sake of improvement, but I cannot understand change ... Read Morefor just the sake of change. I've tried the 7" inseam; they are too heavy. I wash my shorts in hot water to shrink them, and dry them in hot heat. After a few washings and dryings, they are just right, like an old friend! Your products are very good, but go back to some tradition. I am hardly the only one that feels this way. My review is just one of many that is requesting the reintroduction of the 5" inseam. Please take note!

September 12, 2020

Rugged shorts

I bought this pair because I already had one that I had ordered 3 years ago and I wanted another color. Exact same fit and finish as the original pair. I think they will both last forever.

September 11, 2020

Lifelong friends

I have bought no other casual or outdoors shorts in the last 15+ years. I destroy gear and these last. I also love the fit and comfort.

September 5, 2020

Tough shorts

They're great shorts

September 3, 2020

Love 100% cotton

Love these shorts. Great quality, washes well. My last pair lasted forever. Glad they are the same. Thank you.

September 2, 2020

Still a classic

These are great shorts, daily wears. I still prefer the old 5" cut vs. these 7", but the quality is still there.

September 2, 2020

All time favorite

I purchased my first pair in 1981. Rugged durable and they will last for years.

September 2, 2020

Great!

Like other Patagonia clothing I wear, these shorts wear like iron, fit well, and last a good long time. Can't ask for anything better in my opinion.

August 31, 2020

disappointing fit

Newly acquired, this style, #57228 bot w/35&quot; waist and 7&quot; inseam is easily 1&quot; larger waist, and 2&quot; longer inseam than earlier #57227 I had hoped to replace. Maybe it was was mis-labeled, but I&#x27;m disappointed that Patagonia let that happen. The construction &amp; fabric are the same functional, comfortable sturdy cotton, and... Read More so I'll keep them, maybe to hem & wear a belt.

August 21, 2020

upgrade to problem solved

aside from awakening product design from their naps, how about this for the ironclad guarantee extension. we can purchase the only option 7" then send them to repair for a no cost trim to 5". we eat the hight cost of the original short that can trade off for the seamstress adjustment HOU

August 16, 2020

Problem Solved

We have all been lamenting the passing of the 5-1/2" standup shorts. My wife came up with an excellent idea, after she got tired of listening to me complain. She says buy the 7" inseam and she will have it shortened to 5-1/2" inches by a seamstress. So simple and such an easy work around. My favorite shorts are back.

August 14, 2020

Fit has changes

I have worn the 7&quot; Stand Up Shorts for years and years but these are a different - and worse - cut altogether. The 30&quot; waist hangs loose (where last year&#x27;s 30&quot; waisted Stand Ups fit perfectly) and the position of the inseam is lower effectively adding one or two inches to the overall length making them so generic looking. I love... Read More these for many reasons (still 4 o.o. 5 stars) but their short (used-to-be-true-to-size) 7" length is no more and I am returning them.

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2020

Thank you for providing us with feedback on the Patagonia Men's Stand Up® Shorts - 7". We're so sorry you are unhappy with the fit on these. If you'd like to return, please feel free to do so, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 13, 2020

Awesome shorts!

I own several pairs of the 5" shorts. They last forever. All the pockets make them super useful, especially for carrying your smartphone or other large items. PLEASE BRING BACK THE 5" SHORTS in classic and unique colors too.

August 4, 2020

Iconic Shorts

I loved these shorts so much, I bought three pairs. They're stylish, functional, durable and downright cozy! From my hiking trips to moseying about, these shorts are my go-tos.

August 3, 2020

what title?

I love my very old standups with 4 inch inseam and add my name to the long list of those desiring for a return of the 5 inch inseam!

August 3, 2020

The new 7 are super baggy/almost long

I have been addicted to the stand ups for almost 18 years, at the time 5 were all they had. I lived in Key West, worked on a boat and they were ideal. I have since moved elsewhere, but love the style, the 7 were perfect for someone with short ish legs. I own 10+ pairs and order a new pair about every year. I rotate between a few pairs, sometimes we... Read Morear one pair for months at a time. I ordered a new pair recently, but noticed right away they were more like Bermuda shorts than stand ups I have been accustomed to. The fit was fine and hadnt changed, but the shorts seemed to be longer and wider. I felt like I was wearing board shorts. They arent terrible by any stretch, but they arent great for shorter legged folk that dont want shorts over their knees. I bought some of the lightweight hemp 6 shorts offered, they fit the bill sort of, but are no way as rugged as the stand ups. Please bring back the circa 2010 pattern. -Rob

August 1, 2020

Bring back the 5 inch!

This is the first apparel review Ive ever written. I was compelled to joint the chorus in calling for the return of the 5 inch stand up shorts! Aside from running shorts these are the ONLY casual shorts Ive purchased in 20 years. I wear each pair until they disintegrate and all but fall off. The design and mobility of the 5 inch set it apart from a... Read Morell other shorts and I didnt mind paying the premium. In the name of functionality and cool bring them back please.

July 31, 2020

Good, but would prefer 5 inch version

Great product that would be better with a 5 inch option! The classic was perfect and would love to see that staple come back.

July 30, 2020

Bring Back 5" Inseam

I am VERY disappointed that the 5" inseam version has been discontinued and will be returning the 7" version. Bring back the 5" inseam!

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Hello Ray. We're really sorry about the disappointment with the 5" inseam design being discontinued. Your feedback has been passed along to the appropriate team. Please click [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) if you have any questions regarding our current return process. Thank you very much for your review!

July 27, 2020

great, but I miss the 5 in inseam option!

Please consider bringing back the 5 in Standups. I know I can't be the only one who misses the old classics! I bought a new pair last year and am hoping they aren't my last! Thanks for always being the best

July 24, 2020

Great All Around Shorts

I bought my first Patagonia product, the original pile jacket, in 1978. My second product was the original stand up shorts 5&quot; shortly after. I&#x27;ve owned many Patagonia products throughout the years. My last pair of stand up shorts was 5&quot; purchased 10+ years ago. I recently purchased several 34&quot; waist 7&quot; inseam stand up short... Read Mores which fit me perfectly. I love the 7" for daily activities including casual hiking, walking, working, everyday stuff. The current version accurately reflects waist and length sizing. While I love the 7" for everyday activities, I keep the old 5" for climbing and more extreme hiking. I would purchase more updated 5" shorts for more extreme activities if they were available.

July 23, 2020

Durable, comfortable, outstanding overall

I actually wore a pair of these out once - spent multiple summers wearing them almost every day guiding canoe trips, and the main rivet rusted and broke. They're comfortable, extremely durable, very utilitarian with the big back pockets, and sufficiently good-looking for casual wear. A classic. I miss the 9" version.

July 23, 2020

Prefer Previous Sizing

Stand Up Shorts have been my favorite shorts since the mid-80&#x27;s. Each of my other pairs fits perfectly and did from the get-go. This year&#x27;s addition is bigger all over, too much so, though a 33 was too small. I&#x27;m hoping they&#x27;ll eventually shrink but so far, no. Unlike many of the reviews, I prefer the 7 inch length and would not... Read More consider 5". I also prefer the thicker fabric from prior years but the new fabric is acceptable. Please keep making the 7's and lose about 1/4 inch across the butt and legs!

July 22, 2020

The Death of Stand Up Shorts

Stand up shorts were made for a trim physique like Yvon Chounard&#x27;s. They had a unique fit with a snug waist, close fit through the hips, flared in the leg. Wearing the 5&quot; shorts gave total freedom to leg movement. This is now gone after a redesign. They are now just another pair of baggy, heavy canvas shorts - loose through the hips, no s... Read Moretyle, no unique fit. RIP stand up shorts.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2020

Hello Tom, thanks for your review. It is definitely disappointing not finding the new fit and design of the Men's Stand Up Shorts as favorable as the previous one. Your feedback has been passed along to the Design Team and please don't hesitate to return the shorts if you were looking to do so and haven't already. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

July 18, 2020

Great shorts, bulletproof, Love the 5", Please bring back mens pants

I love the shorts but the standup pants were awesome. I took a pair of the 5" shorts and pants when I climbed the Nose in 1982. I found the pants on ebay last year and i think they'll last the rest of my life....

July 17, 2020

Best shorts ever!

I have lived in these shorts for 40 years now. First used them on the river as daily work horse shorts, go to shorts for climbing, and now every day work casual wear. While the canvas and gotten lighter over the years, these shorts still hold up as durable, comfortable work and play shorts, but please bring back the 5 inch inseam for us guys with s... Read Morehorter legs!

July 17, 2020

Bring the 5" men's Stand Up Shorts back

The 5" Stand Up shorts have been my favorites for years. I'm so disappointed you do offer them anymore. Please reconsider.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2020

Hey Jim, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding the old Stand Up Shorts 5". You're feedback hs been passed along.

July 14, 2020

Gotta bring back 5

Best shorts ever! Just please bring back the 5! Please.

July 13, 2020

Pleeeaaasssee Bring Back the 5" Shorts!

Outside of my running shorts, these are the only shorts I wear. They are comfortable, durable, and look GREAT! Ive had the same 3 pair of 5" inseam shorts for about 10 years and its time for a new pair... PATAGONIA PLEASE BRING BACK THE 5" SHORT!

July 6, 2020

Enormous pocket on rear

The entire backside of the shorts are a secondary pocket. The material is quite sturdy, so they extra fabric makes these quite stiff. If you need huge pockets these are good, but for normal use they're not practical.

July 1, 2020

ROBUST!

Excellent HD shorts. Fit is generous, these arent slim fit for delicacy. Fixing motors, banging in the shop, grabbing a bite. Extra bonus is they are the only shorts Ive ever encountered that I can conceal carry without a belt. STURDY!!!

June 28, 2020

BRING BACK THE 5 Inch!!!

Have been wearing these for decades .... pls bring back the 5 inch!!!!

June 24, 2020

5" Stand Up Shorts Best on the Planet!

I&#x27;ve been wearing Stand Up Shorts since they were first released sometime back in the 80s. (I even have original Chouinard carabiners, chocks, ice screws and Alpine hammer.) The Stand Ups fit perfectly and hold up incredibly well, except inside the front pockets wear out. I&#x27;ve worn them hiking, climbing, biking, doing carpentry, making s... Read Moreculpture, travel, wandering around town and just hanging out. In short Best. Shorts. Ever. Was looking for a new pair, but there's NO 5" model? Say it ain't so, Yvon! PLEASE bring back the 5 inchers!!! Remember: Shorts should be SHORT!

June 22, 2020

Five Inch Please

As the years go by, I'm on my forth pair of these canvas shorts. Please do bring back the option of the 5 inch inseam.

June 22, 2020

Fantastic short, but too long in the leg

These are fabulous shorts that Patagonia has made for years. They wear and wear and won&#x27;t quite wear out. But for some reason, Patagonia has decided that shorts should look like the shorts they wear in Bermuda. Inseam used to be 5&quot;, now 7&quot;. I&#x27;m returning them. Great fabric, well made, poor change in design. Bring back 5&quot;, p... Read Morelease.

June 22, 2020

Durable

I bought a pair of these in Bozeman Montana 15 yrs ago and their still going strong, a bit faded and a dime size hole in the pocket but still my favorite shorts. Planning on buying more soon.

June 20, 2020

I USED to wear these exclusively!

After 20 years of wearing these shorts Im Done. These things wear like a kilt. Patagonia is no longer my fave company. Tighten up

June 12, 2020

Repeat buyers beware

For a long time, maybe a couple of decades, stand up shorts have run small, making it necessary to buy a waist size 1 inch larger than usual. I don&#x27;t know about 2019, I can only compare to 2018 and before, but the pair purchased in 2020 no longer runs small, buy your regular size. Unfortunately the redesign included dropping five inch inseam s... Read Moretand up shorts, a definite loss. These shorts are still a favorite though.

June 11, 2020

Bring back the 5" inseam version!

I have 8 pairs of 5" Standup shorts. Once the stores reopen I'm taking 4 pairs to my Patagonia store to get them repaired. I LOVE these shorts - I wear them every single day. My wife doesn't like the look when I wear the 7" version. Save my marriage and bring back the 5"!! Thank you!

May 29, 2020

Please bring back the 5" Stand Up Shorts

My husband lives in your 5" Stand Up shorts, year round practically. It was time to replace a shredded pair and I'm so disappointment to see you've dropped the 5" size. Please reconsider, they are so much better for active sports folks!

May 29, 2020

Wears like iron

Ive worn these shorts for years. Nothing compares to the durability. The 9 style should be brought back, possibly 10.

May 26, 2020

Live-In Them

Since I bought my first pair I look forward to shorts-wearing weather. I live in them all summer. I bought a second pair to wear because my first pair needed to be washed occasionally. I, too, would like to see the return of the 5" inseam. The longer inseam looks like all the "other" shorts despite the features and quality.

May 17, 2020

Havent worn another short since!

These are the best pair of shorts I own. If youre looking for a versatile garment thats tough, look no further. The wide cut leg openings make them breathe-able and provides movement free of any restriction. I love my grey pair but am not excited about the other colors. Buy em, run em into the ground.

May 15, 2020

Ditto on the 5 Inch Inseam

Simply asking you to strongly consider putting the 5" inseam back in the mix. It's a great short and the only ones I wear. Wanted to refresh this year but will make due.

May 13, 2020

Great fabric

I&#x27;ve owned quite a few pairs of Stand Up shorts. Of course, I wouldn&#x27;t keep buying them if I wasn&#x27;t satisfied. The sturdy fabric is their best feature as far as I&#x27;m concerned. I am puzzled (and a little bit frustrated) though by the constantly changing and rather arbitrary inseam lengths. You used to have your choice of a longer... Read More and shorter version. Then they went to strictly 9"; now they are at 7". I'm not sure I get the point of these changes. I've had several versions and prefer the 9", now unavailable. You'd think there'd be more consistency on this point because at present it seems there's a certain degree of chasing fashions over time.

April 27, 2020

Great look for sport or casual

I have purchased at least six pairs over the years. They are so comfortable. Love the deep rear pocket to keep my wallet secure on hikes. So pleased you keep making them. Stand up is a good name. They do stand up.

April 27, 2020

Short People Like Patagonia Too

Can you bring back the 5 inch inseam shorts? Its all I wear all summer. I need a new batch and I can't find them anywhere. Loyal customers come in more shapes than your models. Disappointed not to see them in the lineup.

March 4, 2020

Long

These shorts are perfect: comfortable, rugged, large pockets. I wear them (almost) every day, all year round, including Chicagos winter. Please bring back the Stand-Up Longs! Mine are disintegrating after many decades . . .

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches