Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 6"

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Nine Trails Running Shorts - 6"

4.2/5
September 9, 2021

Super comfy and waterproof

Perfect for casual wear and you want to go swimming it works very well

September 3, 2021

Light But Sturdy

I wanted a soft, not-too-fitted pair of shorts for hiking on hot days. These are exactly that. The only thing I'd change is they're about 1 inch too long for my tastes.

September 2, 2021

9 trails shorts

I love these! Wear them all the time. Super comfortable and easy to care for!

September 1, 2021

Super comfortable and attractive

These shorts are very comfortable. I normally do not like a liner in a pair of shorts, but these shorts have the most comfortable liner. The 6" length is perfect, it is not too long or too short for my 5'3" height. The waist band is also comfy. Recommend for casual wear, walking, running, hiking.

September 1, 2021

Very comfortable!

Love that it has a pocket on the tailbone!

September 1, 2021

Eh.

They are okay, but if you factor into the equation price and the fact that the built in lining is too small for the shorts (think of the feet of a llama relative) then the shorts become less than okay.

Response from Patagonia
September 7, 2021

Hey Katie, we're sorry you weren't totally satisfied with these! Feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us and give us a call at 800-638-6464 or chat with us at patagonia.com so we can help you find something else that works better for you.

August 28, 2021

Great running shorts

Super comfortable (and soft) running shorts that are a great length (not too short). The back pocket is great for storing keys.

August 24, 2021

Fab fit!

Love these shorts, purchased every color available in my size! I am close to 5'9, 148, athletic build. The 6" is the perfect length, not too short and not too long, light weight, fast drying and comfortable on the trail or at the beach. Was afraid they pull at the hips or at the waist, but areas both fit excellent. Pocket in the back is i... Read Moredeal for ID, a CC/Cash or a key. Highly recommend and look forward to more colors.

August 24, 2021

utility players never disappoint

Love these shorts. Never ride up due to generously cut lining. Easy elastic waist with tie. Whereas so many shorts are intrusive screamers on the trail, I just don't notice these, except to appreciate their humble presence and hard work.

August 19, 2021

No pockets...

Perfect except..... no hip pockets???? Also size up they run small.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2021

Hi Aaren, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the lack of pockets and the fit. We really appreciate this feedback as its crucial to improving products for future seasons. We'll pass this feedback along to our design crew!

August 19, 2021

Favorite Shorts!

These are the best! I've been searching for a fit like this for a long time - flattering silhouette with a longer length. The material is lovely and the back pocket is a nice bonus. I will definitely get these in another color someday!

August 18, 2021

Perfect length shorts

Love these. Im normally a M in bottoms because of a big booty on a small frame but I have two pairs of these in S that fit well, the M would have been to big in the waist band. I cut out the liner inside. The length is perfect, really cute, but I never feel exposed no matter what Im doing. I have in black and greenthe green color is so pretty. They... Read Morere very lightweight material and the pull string top is keytheyre definitely cut for a more straight up and down body so the waist band is a little big on me and puffs out a little bit in a weird way when I tie them down but I dont really mind, its not that obvious, and I love the length so much I can turn a blind eye to the rest!

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2021

We're glad to hear these are working well for you. Note that cutting out the liner does void the warranty in that area. We appreciate your valuable feedback on the sizing, fit, style, fabric and comfort of the shorts, Anna!

August 17, 2021

Inconsistent fit

I bought a pair of these in the spring and loved them so much that I ordered a second pair mid-summer. They are super lightweight and comfortable. My problem is that the first pair fit perfectly and the second pair does not - the liner bunches up and the waistband rolls over, the pant legs tend to flip/roll at the bottom. I still wear the first pai... Read Morer without any problems so I know my body hasnt changed. Unfortunately I cannot wear the second pair for long work days or bike rides because they arent comfortable.

Response from Patagonia
August 18, 2021

Thanks for your review Chloe! It sounds like you may have received a defective pair of these shorts, as we have not changed the design nor materials. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to discuss a return under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). We'll be happy to help!

August 7, 2021

The perfect short

I had one pair of these- as a mom of 3 active boys I found these move perfectly, they feel ultra lightweight, and have nice colors. So I got 2 more. I can use them for almost anything.

August 2, 2021

Nice fabric, low rise

I loved the fabric and length of these shorts, but the rise was too low to be a great fit, so I returned them.

July 30, 2021

lining is super tight!

I take a medium in most other Patagonia shorts but the lining in these mediums were tight and uncomfortable so I'll be returning them.

July 23, 2021

Waist band problems

I loved the old waist band on the nine trails shorts. However, this new waist band is terrible. It rolls down when you sit. The old flat style never did this. I am constantly adjusting. Why did you ruin a good thing?

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2021

Thank you so much for the feedback on the waistband Nancy. We'll pass it along to our design team. You're always welcome to return them for warranty. Just get in touch with our Customer Service Team.

July 10, 2021

super comfy

it was really comfortable

July 7, 2021

Runs small

These shorts are made well, but run small in size. Also, too short in length. They are being returned.

Response from Patagonia
July 14, 2021

Hello there, thank you for your feedback on the Women's Nine Trails 6" running shorts. We of course are sorry to hear that they did not work out. Please know, we can always be reached at 800-638-6464 for any assistance with measurements and or fit.

July 2, 2021

Love the length, don't like the low rise

I like longer length shorts for physical activity. So I was excited to try this pair of shorts for casual wear and hiking. I loved the length. But I have a long torso and these ended up being too low rise for my comfort. I'm bummed because otherwise it seems great.

Response from Patagonia
July 9, 2021

Thanks for the feedback! You might like our [Women's Happy Hike Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-happy-hike-shorts-4-inch/21233.html) for casual use as they have a higher waistband.

June 14, 2021

Great shorts for running.

These shorts are great for running. Fabric is silky and soft, and feels great on skin. Plus, it is stretchable, so it allows good range of motion. I took one star off, because the pocket is kind of small. I wish the pocket big enough to accommodate my cell phone. Overall, these are great shorts. I bought 2 pairs. Thanks!

June 8, 2021

Shorts

Love these shorts! Super comfortable . I have them in almost every color.

June 8, 2021

Lightweight and Comfy

Super lightweight and comfortable. I love the length of these shorts. I find a lot of Patagonia Shorts either too short or too long. These are just right. Flattering waistband that lays flat and doesnt curl. Would recommend them.

May 15, 2021

Very stoked - all round weekend shorts

These shorts are absolutely perfect for warmer weather, working around the house (or not), long walks, dip in the ocean, and great for travel. Love how stretchy & quick drying the shorts are and they seem to follow my moves without restriction or bunching. I like the sewn in liner (panty?) is a huge plus. Gonna collect every color. The draw st... Read Morering was kind of short or I'd use them for 1'-3' surfing days. Stoked about these shorts! Thanks for making them long enough for those of us who aren't blessed with a thigh gap!

May 9, 2021

Perfect All-Rounder Summer Short

Perfect fit & liner for sports and everyday wear. Length I not too short for grocery shopping without being a spectacle. Maybe a bit short for most if bike commuting ;)

May 7, 2021

Very Functional

These shorts are very functional. They're not too short and not too long. The liner fits well and doesn't creep. The rear pocket is large enough to hold your keys and doesn't bounce during runs. I would buy them again.

May 3, 2021

Lower rise than I like

The length and cut of the legs of these are great to prevent thigh chafing. I dont have to awkwardly pull bunched fabric from between my legs mid stride. However, the lower rise of these and the less-than-roomy butt make for a moderately unflattering and sometimes constricting fit. I have two pairs of these but I regret buying the second. Also, the... Read More liners are SO tight so I had to make slits in them, and in one of the pairs I cut the liner out entirely. These are well-made, but just not the right fit for my body.

May 1, 2021

Best shorts

Love these shorts. They run slightly large. I have a M and L, I Kind of between a M and L with Patagonia and In most bottoms that are looser I get a M, I am not hippie so.I find that the L feels.too long fr.the waist to the crotch. I hope this helps.

May 1, 2021

Great shorts!

Im almost 54, these are perfect coverage for me!

April 27, 2021

The cinch ties are too short

I wanted to love this shorts but I had to return it as I was having hard time tying the cinch ties, as they were too short! I am not going to buy until they make this ties longer

April 21, 2021

Lisa

comfortable while exercising

April 20, 2021

Lightweight and comfy

I got two sizes to try out, a large and X-large. The large is true to size but I'm keeping the X-large for the relaxed looser fit. Taken both out on hiking trips and would recommend to anyone. The classic Navy and Camp green are also pretty accurate to the picture.

April 19, 2021

Great with a few tweaks

I find the shorter nine trails run very small and almost too short, and I am petite. I wear a 00/0 . These definitely run larger , but are almost too long. A true four inch length would be a great compromise!

April 9, 2021

Nice and comfortable fit

I like the length on this and comfortable fit.

April 4, 2021

Love these

These shorts are great! Super comfortable. I have them on three different colors.

March 26, 2021

The longer shorts are amazing!!

Patagonia, please keep making running shorts in the longer length!! I haven't tested them out on a run yet (so not sure if I will face thigh chafe or not), but so far they are great for walking around and lounging. I agree with the fellow reviewers that it would be nice if there was a higher waisted option.

February 28, 2021

Nice but too snug in the butt for me

Lets just say i dont have a flat butt lol. But its also not huge! The waist is loose, but these ride up a bit in the rear so not the best fit. Gotta keep adjusting from time to time. I do like that they are a bit longer. Just wish the liner stayed put and there as a little more height in the rise/room in the rear.

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

Thank you for this valuable feedback. We're sorry to hear that these require adjustment from you. Perhaps a more snug fit could be helpful! If you're interested in swapping out, we'd recommend checking out the [Women's Endless Run Shorts - 4 1/2"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-endless-run-shorts-4-half-inch/24875.html?dwvar_24875_color=BLK&cgid=root).

December 22, 2020

Love these shorts, can't just have one!

Love these shorts. I was looking for a pair of shorts that a bit longer than 5" running shorts. I'm glad I was able to find these! I'm standing at 5'3", weighing 135lbs and size small is a perfect fit for me.

December 6, 2020

Great Length for Bigger Thighs

I have muscular thighs and almost every running short I try rides up during a run or long walk. I think that this longer length is less prone to riding up and they are my go-to for running shorts now. I will purchase another pair soon. I wish they were slightly higher waisted as these feel low rise and create a feeling that they will slide down my ... Read Morebelly even though they do not. I like the drawstring to help adjust the fit as well.

September 21, 2020

Wish they were higher-waisted

As someone with pretty muscular thighs, it can be tricky to find running shorts that are long enough so that I can avoid inner thigh chaffing. These ones seemed like they would be long enough, but they did bunch a bit when I went for a run. I had to do that awkward leg kick out to let the fabric drop a bit down. I know this is my body's doin... Read Moreg, not really the shorts fault. Maybe. I don't know. I do, however, find that they are low-waisted and it would be amazing if they had an extra inch or so from where the short fabric meets the waistband. Higher waistbands on athletic apparel for women is so key, at least personally. Otherwise, fabric is amazing. Really loved the movement in them.

September 9, 2020

Her Review, Not Mine

They are the perfect length. Perfect weight and amount of material. There is an odd sensation that they are slipping down on the run when in fact they are not. That being said we bought a 2nd pair.

September 8, 2020

Awesome shorts!

Bought these after getting tired of running shorts that are cut high and ride up. These are comfy, no chaffing and have a handy zip pocket in the back. I've also worn them cycling and they are equally great. More colors please!!!

August 30, 2020

My new favorite running shorts!

These shorts are incredibly comfortable! Definitely getting another pair!

August 26, 2020

My new favorite running shorts!

These shorts are incredibly comfortable! Definitely getting another pair!

August 13, 2020

My favorite shorts

I love the fit, length, and weight of these shorts. They are incredibly lightweight yet sturdy. The back zip pocket is a great feature, too. They are so comfortable I wear them around town and at home as soon as they come out of the wash. Please bring more in stock, Patagonia. One pair is just not enough.

August 10, 2020

Excellent running shorts

These are great running shorts! I am an avid runner...but at 44 years old, I like some coverage. I appreciate the length of these shorts, and love that they are lightweight, flattering, and cute. I have them in two colors. They would be even better if they had something a bit sticky inside the waistband so that they didn't ride up, which they ... Read Moresometimes do at the beginning of my run (before I am sweaty). I purchased a size S, which works well. XS would also have worked, but I like my running shorts a bit loose. Overall, excellent.

July 24, 2020

Runs large

Runs very large. Patagonia products always fit super small and are made for skinny people so I ordered a size up as I always do when possible, but these shorts are huge - they balloon out when you tie up the drawstring. The pocket is tiny and useless, I wish the women's shorts had real functional pockets like the men's shorts (side zipper... Read Moreed pockets like the men's shorts have that can actually hold a phone would be amazing and so useful). The length is great (actual coverage unlike most women's shorts) and the material is great which is what I originally was interested in, but the other features leave much to be desired.

July 7, 2020

Best length!

I love that Patagonia brought back a longer running short! The fit on these is way better than many of the other running shorts for small waisted big thigh mountain runners. Only thing I wish for is more color options!

June 17, 2020

Perfect Running Short!

These are my new favorite go-to running shorts. The 6 is the perfect length- you get just the right amount of coverage. Just bought these in another color I love them so much. :)

June 11, 2020

An Extra 2" Makes a BIG Difference

I've loved the feel of the nine trails shorts but struggled with them riding up while I ran, causing me to do the awkward mid stride adjustment frequently. The extra 2" in length makes SUCH a big difference for this reason. They still ride up some, but I don't have to fuss with them because the extra length helps me from feeling like... Read More my thighs are out for the world to see.

June 6, 2020

Runs LARGE

I'm 5'8" and 155lbs with big, muscular bum & thighs plus a layer of chub overtop. I'm currently between medium and large on the size chart, so when someone offered me a pair as a gift I requested a large, as I've never managed to fit comfortably into a medium anything made by Patagonia. Holy smokes these are huge! The i... Read Morenner liner is baggy on me, and when the drawstring is cinched to keep them from falling off my hips the sides of the outer short poof out in a rather unflattering way - I don't need any help in the saddlebag department! I like the fabrics and the longer length, but if I had a way to exchange for a medium I'd definitely prefer that.

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2020

Hey there, we are glad to hear you're loving the design and fabric of these and please note, you can absolutely [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them for a size medium. We always want to ensure you are fully satisfied!

June 4, 2020

Not high rise enough

Loved the quality of these shorts, and disappointed they didn't work out. I personally like my shorts to fit above my hips , and these came up too short and gave a camel toe like appearance. I'm an athletic build and typically a Small, but these were too tight.

May 13, 2020

So close, but a few caveats

I was looking for shorts with a longer inseam to help with chafing and provide coverage. In length, these are a dream. 6 inches covers a lot without feeling dowdy. However, there are some things that don't work. The back pocket sits lower than most running shorts, maybe due to the wide waistband. Whatever you put in that back pocket is going t... Read Moreo feel really weird bumping against your rear end, because that item is going to hang so low. I tried a pill fob on one run and a Subaru key on another and the back pocket simply doesn't function like it should. The other issue: the waist is loose and needs to be cinched up with the drawstring. I am most definitely a medium during quarantine (and slowly ballooning), yet these felt so loose in the waist that I had to cinch up and tie off the drawstring, which is fine until you need to take a quick pit stop. I would also like to see one small side pocket to hold a GU or key.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

Thanks for your thoughtful and detailed review, Anne! It's super helpful that you included information about fit, sizing, fabric and the performance of the shorts. This is helpful to our designers! That said, if you find the caveats outweigh the benefits, please know that we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

April 28, 2020

Finally - shorts that fit large athletic legs !

I always have issues with shorts.. booty shorts ride up, or are too tight. These are perfect! Size M was great for me and I usually wear M in other Patagonia clothing.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches