Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 8"

Write Your Review

4.5/5

null

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • 28
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 44 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Lightweight All-Wear Hemp Shorts - 8"

4.5/5
May 3, 2021

Outdoor Adventure Shorts

I purchased several pair for an extended trip. They are comfortable, versatile and fashion flexible. They work great for hiking and trekking in the outdoors. Highly recommend them. By the way, Im 69. So, you dont have to be a young adventurer to enjoy them.

April 29, 2021

The Shorts of Summer

I purchased my first pair of these shorts in 2020 and now own several colors. These shorts are brilliant and my daily wear in summer.

April 28, 2021

Fits great! Now I want every color!

These shorts fit great and are super comfortable. They also feel cooler (temperature) than other shorts and the material seems really durable.

April 24, 2021

Great all around shorts

The red color is truly sick, love the 8 inch length too, perfect for me. They're rather light weight, which helps them feel great! Worth it!

April 23, 2021

Dope shorts!

Absolute staples of the closet!

April 20, 2021

Go-to

These hemp shorts have clean enough lines that I can wear them to work, but they fit in just as well on the bike or trail. They breathe well, move well, and are generally awesome. My favorite short, for sure.

April 20, 2021

PLEASE! Bring back the old fabric!

This fabric is lighter and STRETCHER. MUCH prefer the older fabric. I wear these shorts EVERYDAY weather permitting.

April 19, 2021

Perfect fit, super comfortable

I wear shorts year round. I often look for the perfect shorts. These are them. Super comfortable, great fit. They work while standing knee deep in a creek, fishing, or standing in a bar with friends. (Except for Covid. Wear a mask). I have these in a few colors, and will probably get more. Please make these forever.

April 16, 2021

Perfect for an office at the beach

So ordered a 34, but a bit tight. Usually spot on for me. Exchange for 35. Works after a tiny dart. Great feel and length. Nice material. They dont shrink.

April 16, 2021

sweet

good quality

April 10, 2021

quality

quality great

April 8, 2021

Please lose the brand logo

I've had many iterations of these pants through the years. They typically last 2-3 years of casual summer use before the hems start to fray. I do not like labels on clothes. It's acceptable when they are on the back but on the front is too conspicuous for my taste. I had not ordered them for this fact, but finally ordered 2 pair which arr... Read Moreived today. Shorts are great but labels on front leg is obnoxious. So I removed the label and I'm happy with a nice pair of shorts. 4 stars for limited durability and the label.

Response from Patagonia
April 10, 2021

Thanks for the review David. If you're finding that your gear isn't holding up the way you'd expect you're always welcome to send it back for a warranty evaluation. We'll also pass along the feedback regarding the logos to our design team.

April 3, 2021

Light and Comfy

Another great Patagonia product!

March 15, 2021

Super Breezy and Comfortable

I'm 6'0" and 245lbs, these shorts are very fresh and comfortable for Puerto Rico weather (average 90°F) and they are very easy wearing and provide enough mobility to not have to worry about any tears or rips. Also, if you get a stain it's very easy to wash since the knit is open and lightweight without sacrificing strength.

March 9, 2021

light weight, easy wear

Great and comfortable for all uses

March 5, 2021

comfortable short

very comfortable and light for warm weather

February 24, 2021

School Shorts

Bought 15 freshman two pairs. Wears them to school everyday, great construction, extremely durable.

February 7, 2021

Great feel, fabric

I love these shorts. Size was exactly as Id hoped/expected, and the feel is great. The hemp is comfy and durable.

February 3, 2021

Shorts

Super comfy, lightweight, fits perfect and looks good

January 5, 2021

Shorts. Wrong ones :(

And intended to buy swim shorts that were made of cotton and hemp I mistakenly ended up with the shorts that were sent to me which are comfortable however they require a belt

September 22, 2020

Don't sweat the wrinkles or the fit

Reading other reviews, I was concerned about wrinkling, and whether the fit is consistent with the old cotton All Wears. While these do wrinkle a bit when you're sitting, it's nothing like linen or dress shirt cotton- they look fine. Likewise on the fit, these feel very, very close to the 2019 All Wears they replaced... exactly the same l... Read Moreength/width when overlaid.

September 19, 2020

My new go to

The weight and breathability of these shorts exceeded my expectations. The construction seems sturdy, but I suppose only time will tell. No distracting features. Wrinkle easier than anticipated, but its not like Im wearing them to church, so not a huge deal

September 17, 2020

Lightweight, clean look

The shorts are very comfortable and really lightweight for hot days. They seemed a bit shiny out of the bag and I'm hoping that dulls a bit with wear. We'll see.

September 14, 2020

Good short, runs small and long.

It took me several tries to get the right size for these. I finally landed on 35 waist - 8 length. I normally wear a 33/34. I have 10 shorts from other brands that arent too long but these 10 were too long and too baggy. Great lightweight short. While I love Patagonia and support their mission, I kind of wish the branding was on the inside too... Read More. If I put on a Patagonia jacket at the same time as the shorts it makes me feel like an unwitting walking catalogue pic.

September 14, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

Ive been wearing Patagonia since the 80s. My kids and grandkids are also huge fans. Ill try to wear these shorts out but my experience is that it takes a lot of wear over a lot of years.

September 11, 2020

Good shorts

Great shorts. 4 stars because the wrinkle quite a bit while sitting.

September 10, 2020

Received order in record time!

These were for my grandson for school. The delivery was super fast! The fastest I have ever gotten from a store. He really likes his shorts.

September 9, 2020

Best Shorts

These could be the best shorts Ive ever bought. Perfect fit and lightweight, Id would definitely recommend.

September 9, 2020

Awesome

awesome

September 4, 2020

Best

I will Describe it in one word AMAZING !!

September 3, 2020

Good shorts

Nice shorts

September 3, 2020

Favorite shorts!

These shorts are my new favorites! They fit comfortably, but yet are very trim. They move well with active pursuits, and they wear like crazy. I have bought four pair!

September 2, 2020

Nice fit, but terrible wrinkles

Nice fit and very comfortable, but terrible wrinkles, even hard to get out with an iron.

September 2, 2020

Different length

Love the shorts but they were too long. Would like to have a 7 inseam. I returned for the 6 which I like and kept but 7 would be perfect.

September 1, 2020

Size runs small.

I am used to a more of stretch fabric for action pants. These feel like they are too small and not designed for outdoor fun. OK for casual.

August 21, 2020

Awful fit

I can't even picture the body type these are meant for but it's not mine. I want them to fit because I want some shorts that are a bit heavier than the 'baggies' ones but still not super heavy. These would be a good medium. I tried a few sizes and lengths and they all have the same terrible fit. My waist measures 32 with a tape ... Read Moremeasure but usually 29-31 is what fits. 30 of these has far too big a waist. The fit top to bottom of the short is such that the belly part digs in but the rear falls down. The butt also just has no shape so you feel weird pressure points constantly and are always uncomfortable. It's like theyre for someone with literally zero glute muscles. Because of all the above they also then are always tight against the front of your knees but have way too much space behind your knees. Complete nonsense. They also have the horrific black patagonia logo on the knee that totally stands out against the color of the shorts and is just tacky and ugly. Very disappointed and really curious if theyre even having anyone actually wear their clothes for more than the time it takes to do a photo shoot for the website.

August 5, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

I ordered these shorts in Mojave Khaki for my husband, who is 5'7" and 34" waist. He loves them -- very lightweight (for hot VA summers) and comfortable with a TTS waist feel. As some other reviewers have noted, because these are hemp shorts, the legs tend to wrinkle if you've been sitting for a while and the wrinkles stay unles... Read Mores you walk around for a while. My husband doesn't mind/notice this -- I do, but I don't think it looks sloppy so it's not a big deal (I think wrinkles would be less noticeable in one of the darker colors). He wanted the 10" inseam originally but I felt like those would be too long so I ordered the 8" which are perfect.

August 4, 2020

Nice shorts, size is crazy-making

They are nice shorts, but my Size 36 stretch out to a Size 38 within day, and shrinking them in the washer did not hold. Bought a pair at Size 35, and they came out of the envelope Size 37---went back.

Response from Patagonia
August 4, 2020

Hello Pete, we're really sorry the sizing didn't work out. Your feedback has been passed along to the Design Team. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team if you have any questions regarding your return.

July 17, 2020

Great lightweight shorts

Nice lightweight fabric is great in hot weather and very comfortable. Runs true to size or a tad small, do not size up. Having 3 inseam options is a plus.

July 14, 2020

I love these!

I was initially disappointed that the all-cotton All-Wear Shorts were replaced with a new cotton/hemp version. But having these new All-Wear shorts have changed my mind in every possible way! The fit and finish are perfect and the weight is perfect for hot summer days. I'm so happy and in love with these shorts!

June 26, 2020

Great shorts

These are really nice casual shorts. Light weight and very comfy. The only thing that I found to be a bit off the mark is the sizing, at least compared to some of the other shorts. I have several pair of the stand up shorts and compared to them, the LW Hemp shorts run about a size large.

May 8, 2020

Excellent Shorts

These shorts are great. The fit is perfect, although a bit more of an athletic fit it seems than the pure cotton version, which is a good thing! Excellent shorts for the Tucson heat, handle 100+ days like it's nothing.

April 30, 2020

Too wrinkly!

I loved the fit, color and comfort of these shorts. I didn't love how wrinkly they get with big creases in the groin area giving them a sloppy look. That's a dealbreaker for me and I'm sending these back.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2020

Thanks for that valuable feedback, Tim! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the shorts under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) so don't hesitate to reach out to us. You might prefer the [Four Canyon Twill](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-four-canyon-twill-short-8-inch/57235.html?dwvar_57235_color=MJVK&cgid=mens-shorts) or the slightly longer [Back Step Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-back-step-shorts-10-inch/57736.html?dwvar_57736_color=CHNN&cgid=mens-shorts).

March 23, 2020

i bought all colors; theyre that good!

for reference, Im 511 and 155 lbs. i have a 32 inch waist but ordered 30s. every tailor tells me my waist is 32 but for some reason size 30/31 are the correct fit. i got 3 online from Patagonia, the pigeon blue, Spanish red, and pelican. loved them so much i got the other two colors from the Patagonia store in San Francisco. these fit true to size... Read More and are super comfortable. the 8 inch is the perfect median between nut huggers and bike shorts. i have yet to test these thoroughly, but the quality of the product has me confident they will hold up to the abuse ill give them from hiking and bike touring.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches