Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Longs - 7"

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 304 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Baggies™ Longs - 7"

4.4/5
True To Size
July 21, 2021

An old friend

Baggies are baggies. And that's a good thing. I've worn Baggies for the past 30+ years and highly recommend them for all sorts of wear besides casual. Fit is generous no matter what size is ordered. Basic short fabric is sturdy to the touch and assures the purchaser many years of carefree wear. Brief style inner liner isn't restricti... Read Moreve and can be worn comfortably with undergarments. One wonders why Patagonia don't offer a liner less version at a reduced cost...HMMMMM.

July 19, 2021

Super Practical

Love the practicality of wearing these shorts at the cottage in and out of the water all day. Runs a little large, which is a problem when diving off the dock, then I realized mine shipped without a draw string. Pockets are deep, but that's OK.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2021

Hey Neil, we're so sorry to hear about your missing drawstring! We're not seeing you in our system but we'd be happy to get this sorted out for you. Please reach out to the [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team so we can overview your options.

July 17, 2021

Great for travel.

Great shorts that you can do anything in. Hold up well. Perfect for us minimalist travelers. Size runs large, I normally am on the cusp of medium or large, bought the mediums and have plenty of room for expansion.

July 13, 2021

Wow

Great durable shorts - just be careful on size you order - run a little large. Luv their durability & look

July 13, 2021

Comfortable and cool

Great looks and well made. Love the material used and how comfortable they are. Not disappointed.

July 10, 2021

Summer comfy

Light weight, unobtrusive and great fit. Like being a little kid again. Completely unfussy and cool enough for these brutal, record breaking summer days

July 9, 2021

tight pockets,bunching

needs stretch,easier pocket openings

July 9, 2021

Great shorts!

I really like the shorts. They are super comfy. I did have to modify them as Im not a fan of the mesh diaper and ended up cutting it out. Now they are perfect!

July 9, 2021

nice and open, the inner mesh is a bit tight

even though the mesh is a little tight, the overall shorts are easily a 10/10. they're very comfortable and I recommend them.

July 9, 2021

Another great product

Well, simply put I live the brand tried these out and wore them multiple times poolside on vacation got multiple compliments more importantly I love them.

July 4, 2021

A classic that never disappoints.

The 7 Baggies are the ultimate do-it-all shorts. Swimming, kayaking, SUPing, or just hanging around the campsite; these shorts are great! Durable and quick-drying, these are my favorite shorts for most outdoor activities.

July 3, 2021

Super cozy

The length on these hit me above the knee to still show some thigh and the waist fits perfectly

July 3, 2021

Best shorts I own

These are easily the best and most versatile shorts Ive ever owned, I havent worn anything else since I bought them.

June 28, 2021

Perfect for a picky big kid

These shorts are perfect for my 13-year-old man-child who likes to wear soft shorts. He can wear them for any outdoor summer activity and stay cool and comfy.

June 28, 2021

Very comfortable

Excellent fit, very comfortable and obviously a quality product. Grateful to have a company like Patagonia to purchase clothing from.

June 26, 2021

Icon

What can one say about baggies? Classic item, you can live in them for the summer, iconic.

June 25, 2021

Great fit

This is my 5th pair of these and seem to be holding up. Perfect fit and super durable, highly recommend.

June 20, 2021

Great shorts

First pair of baggies shorts and they fit wonderfully.

June 20, 2021

Terrific Shorts

First pair of baggies and they fit wonderfully.

June 19, 2021

Great shorts for just about anything

Perfect river shorts. I could never decide if I liked the original length better or the longs. Since they fixed the pockets on the longs (cut them a little shorter - thanks guys!) they're my go-to shorts. When rowing all day I find they keep most of my thigh covered and out of the sun. They wash easy, repair easy, and seem to last forever.

June 14, 2021

Baggies Rule

These shorts are iconic, and for a good reason. They are comfortable, utilitarian, well made and long lasting. I use them for a range of activities, including hiking, running and swimming. And, of course, just for hanging around. Get yourself a pair ... or two ....

June 13, 2021

The Do Everything Shorts

These shorts are amazing. I fish for a living in SWFL and wear these 7 days a week. Theyre light, dry fast, super deep pockets & perfect length. Also wear them swimming and around the house casually. They do everything you could ask for in a pair of shorts. Dont ever change them!

June 12, 2021

Short that are to good to be true

Loved the material of these shorts and overall fit. But after a year of use developed a huge hole in the back part from the stitching giving out and now have a huge hole in the back from squatting around , even though I bought the right size for myself. Breaks my heart that these were my go to shorts might have to switch it up :(

Response from Patagonia
June 15, 2021

Hi Kevin, thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We are so sorry to hear about the hole that developed in these. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.ca/returns.html) those back to us.

June 11, 2021

Way too large

Yes these shorts are called baggies, but they should Atleast fit in size. I also tried a medium and it was too small. The fit is way too loose and even with a drawstring they slip off. I dont have a flat butt and I dont have a large butt, but my wife who has a thick butt didnt fit either. Sad because I love Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2021

We're so sorry the fit didn't work for you on these. You're welcome to return them.

June 10, 2021

Poor Support

This is my fourth pair of baggies. The two I have now dont offer a lot of support, so I thought maybe if I bought a new pair Id luck out. I am into packrafting now, so 7 inch baggies seemed like a good idea. You have a choice with them: hike the baggies up high like Stan Laurel, wear briefs or live with no support. Amazingly, I still like the short... Read Mores. The Patagonia mystique has carried me along for many years and lots of clothing.

June 1, 2021

Old school shorts

Bought two pairs back in the early eighties, couldn't find them anywhere in the house (x wife must have comshawed them!) Bought a new pair (May 2021) Love affair renewed! The "brief liner" is ok (I could do without it tho) Don't like to go "commando" so I wear them for "knockin about" casual. Fit is "roo... Read Moremy" hence, "baggies" duh! Substantial weight to the fabric is comfortable, yet not stiff or "boardy". Looking for the "go to casual" shorts? give them a whirl, they won't disappoint. Wish they came in that beautiful Patagonia "cobalt" blue, otherwise, go for it! Gonna give the 5 inchers a go in pink... I feel lucky! :)

May 20, 2021

really good-looking shorts

This particular color and pattern is very good-looking. Baggies are extremely comfortable and last a long time. Great shorts.

May 18, 2021

Great fit

Great fit until mid thigh then its super wide. I was hoping for it to taper a little. I like it a little tight but the shape seems to be off a bit.

May 18, 2021

men's baggies 7 inch

Great fit and long lasting wear I wear baggies over 200 days a year

May 17, 2021

Pickleball

Liked them so well I wanted more pairs. Not available in my size xXL. Then realized there was a store here in NashviIIe. Went to the store and no shorts in my size. BUT salesman said let me check our other stores. He got 3 pair from three cities on their way to my house two day air no extra charge. I love my baggie shorts!

May 17, 2021

Exactly what I was looking for

Well I ordered a medium 7" when I meant to order a small 5", but they're still exactly what I was looking for. Comfortable and durable shorts with massive pockets make it easy to bring things with hiking or running. There's a little loop, almost like a hair tie, in the pocket and it gives you something secure to attach your keys... Read More to while your out. As well as, a button on the back pocket to keep your wallet in place. Really makes my running experience much easier without having to worry about my keys falling out. Overall 10/10 would recommend. Full disclosure: I bought the correct size shorts later and somehow they're even better.

May 16, 2021

Waist & leg bands

My governing issue is that the elastic properties of the product exhaust, over time. I now machine wash cold and LINE DRY the product, which I hope will increase its wear life. If Patagonia Inc. concurs, I would suggest that you adjust the product's washing and drying care instructions.

May 14, 2021

will purchase more

really like them comfortable

May 12, 2021

Extremely comfortable

Literally the best pair of shorts. Ever.

May 11, 2021

Inseam weird & super long

Inseam / Groin area is off and I'm not a fan of the netted liner.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi Sam, we're sorry these shorts aren't what you expected. If the inseam is off or crooked, please reach out to our [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team so we're sure you didn't receive a defective item and to help you return it.

May 9, 2021

Quite good

Simple and comfortable but expensive in my opinion, although a staple in my causal wardrobe now. Will buy another pair.

May 7, 2021

Comfy and practical

Needed some new swimwear and these were the practical choice. Comfy, multiple uses and affordable.

April 30, 2021

Love them

I have multiple pairs of the Patagonia Men's baggies. I have them in the 5 and 7 length. I went with the XXL in the 7in pink I just purchased. I wanted them oversized. Love them

April 26, 2021

Very comfy

Super comfy and light, very water resistant to small spills and splashes

April 26, 2021

Not the best overall quality

If you recall how these shorts fit before the last corporate revision, you will recall that the elastic was very good. Today's version reminds me of what shorts most have been like before elastic materials. That is, the waste is nearly totally reliant on the pull tie and the leg elastic is pretty much none existent. If you put a phone and your... Read More keys in a 3 month old pair of the new shorts and head out be sure to tie them up or they will be on your ankles? However, if you have any 10 year old Men's Baggies, I bet they are still good to go.

Response from Patagonia
April 27, 2021

Hi Jake, thanks for the comparison on this newer model compared to older designs. We are sorry to hear there have been some revisions that are causing some troubles. We thank you for the feedback and welcome you to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us.

April 15, 2021

Best shorts ever

Love the brown ones.

April 12, 2021

The perfect travel short

I already owned a pair of these and bought another while I was living in Hawaii for 2 months during the pandemic. Wore my baggies every single day. They are so versatile and perfect for hiking and surfing and chilling! If you're traveling get these!

April 12, 2021

Can wear them for anything

Best shorts I've ever had. Not crazy about the liner but still extremely comfortable.

April 11, 2021

This is a staple

If you dont have a pair, get to. Baggies are staple for everyone. They apply to every single check box, last forever, and while they not be the most fashionable short available, they are far and away the most universally applicable. It doesnt hurt that they are made by a company who cares about the planet.

April 9, 2021

Classic

Classic shorts, everything you need, nothing you dont.

April 9, 2021

The BEST!

I bought these for my husband and he loves them! Says theyre the most comfortable shorts, and hes super picky. Ill be getting more colors!

April 2, 2021

Keep Up The Great Work

Mens Baggies 7 Inch are exactly as described and what we come to expect from Patagonia - Quality, Service and Performance !!!

April 2, 2021

The Best Shorts

I wear these everywhere. They are great!

March 31, 2021

Best Swimsuit Ever

This is my 3rd pair of baggies in the past 20 years. My first pair (5" before they started making the 7") is still rocking and in great shape. When I went to the 7" longs, I had to go from a medium to a small to find the fit that I wanted (5'10" & 145lbs). My wife and I both work in schools, and I am around the water ev... Read Moreeryday in the summer with summer camp, so a good swimsuit is a must. We have 4 daughters, so when they saw the baggies in pink they made me get them. I can't wait to take a dip in them, and I love that y'all made the front pockets not as deep. Nice upgrade.

March 27, 2021

Multi use

I live in Florida, hot almost year round. I wear these for almost everything. I live on a lake and fish, go to beach, boat on ocean, swim, I even wear these taking kids to Disney / theme parks (I wear tight briefs with them on those trips). The netting I like as during the summer, I can go without wearing underwear with them so less sweat (near 100... Read More% humidity is rough on cotton!). I have almost all the solid colors, and love em!

March 26, 2021

Baggies

Been wearing them for 30 years

March 24, 2021

Weird fit

I am about 190 lbs and 6'2". I would say these shorts are larger than your average size large athletic shorts (which are usually a good fit for me). The waist ties are nice, but by the time they're tight enough, the fabric is bunched up in the front. On top of that, the inseam is such that when I sit down, almost my entire inner thig... Read Moreh is showing.

March 22, 2021

Great Fit !!

Honestly they fit really well and are super comfortable with a soft netting on the inside which makes them great for hiking or swimming.

March 22, 2021

Comfortable shorts

Purchased for grandson and he loves them.

March 21, 2021

Very comfortable

I have had Baggies for years. Give them a 10

March 11, 2021

Superb All Around Shorts

Baggies are a long time staple for me, both in the 7 and 5 versions, depending on the activity. The fit is great, they wear well, and the pockets are useful. I look forward to the color changes!

March 7, 2021

SHORTS

Its been a lot back and forth .... Emails and phone calls.... very nice people .... it all worked out at the end buying 2 shorts, getting only one w E mail saying 2 has arrived! Calls and Emails ..... finally got my 2. short and a 3. !!! Returned the 3. short as I promised. Jenni has been on top of it - thank you. My boys like these shorts A LOT.

February 27, 2021

the best

these are the all around shorts, i tend to wear them for whatever. hiking skateboarding climbing working, all around great. These are my second pair! somehow I lost the others

February 27, 2021

Still the Best

I have been wearing Baggies since they were first made and I like them just as much as the originals, although now I prefer the longer length. Im glad they are still baggy. Among the best of Patagonias clothing.

February 24, 2021

Quality shorts

I usually wear a large in Patagonia shorts but these were too big. Returned for a medium, hoping they fit better. Love the style and quality though.

February 19, 2021

Sizing inconsistent

Tried a large in these and they were the size of a small tent - medium was much too small - need a medium and a half !! Quality looked great -try to support Patagonia but finding it difficult as sizing varies so much product to product.

Response from Patagonia
March 9, 2021

We're sorry to hear these didn't work for you, Richard! The Baggies are our most generous "relaxed" fit so we recommend you look at the size large in our ["regular" fit shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-shorts?prefn1=fit&prefv1=regular). Please don't hesitate to reach out to us for help to return or exchange your order!

February 8, 2021

They are the best!

From the first time I saw these shorts, I knew they were for me. I wear them all of the time in all parts of the year. They are tough, light, and super comfy. Now, if they would just make the red pair in the 7" again. That is the one color that I want but don't have. Keep up the good work guys!!

January 5, 2021

Best shorts

Only got XS because pockets are large

December 6, 2020

Resilient

Pretty much have my baggies on daily, whether building and maintaining trails, working out, or getting in the water. Theyre comfortable, durable and resilient. They are actually worn year round, just under long pants in winter hoping for a sunny day.

November 29, 2020

Comfy

I though I never wanted a mesh liner in these kind of shorts, but now I do. It is so comfy! I wish I could wear those shorts everyday but sadly winter arrived. I am 5'10 and the smalls fits good, just above my knee.

November 25, 2020

Great Shorts

Patagonia Baggies with the 5 inch legs have been my favorite shorts for many years but that is no longer the case. The Baggies with the 7 inch legs have now become my favorites. I plan to buy another pair soon.

November 17, 2020

Traditional Baggie

Fits fine for Casual wear. Been wearing these all over the world for 25 years since I saw a TA at UCSB wearing them.

November 17, 2020

Perfect for fun-hogging

Been wearing baggies for two decades now. It is the go-to shorts for just about everything. Pretentious, tried, and true. So here is my review; 1.) love that it came back with the bottom hem line for the pockets. Baggies a few years ago started losing this hem line. This caused articles inside the pocket to slap your thigh crazy when you are in str... Read Moreide. This problem is now gone. 2.) baggies I just purchased are still fairly new but it feels like the newer recycled material feel more durable than previous ones. I will continue to give feedback as time progress. 3.) the only gripe I have with these shorts is that the rear pocket flap rolls up or folds up on the edges over time. Maybe another snap closure button might solve this issue. The stitching around the crotch area is starting to show some wear quite early but my bum is constantly on a bicycle saddle so no fault on Patagonia for this. 4.)nevertheless, baggies are designed well, fits great, and keeps going. 7inch inseam is just the right length for most tasks.

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2020

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback!

November 6, 2020

Decent and durable

The material is very durable and can withstand anything, the only downside for this product is the mesh liner that is very uncomfortable.

November 4, 2020

Best Baggies

Had purchased two pairs of the Patagonia baggies about 8 years ago and the elastic had given out a while back. I wanted the same, and got the same. Patagonia baggies rock!

November 4, 2020

Super Functional

Wonderful all purpose shorts. I use them for everything, from swimming to yoga, hiking to tennis.

October 14, 2020

Super comfy

I love these shorts. I did expect them to be stretchy, but they're baggy (not just a clever name) enough for most activities.

September 23, 2020

Can't beat baggies, but the fit has gone downhill over the years!

Baggies are absolutely the best and most versatile shorts around. BUT... somewhere over the past couple of years Patagonia decided to change the fit. My previous smalls (5+ pairs) that fit perfectly, now appear to be somewhere in between today's smalls and mediums. Today's small is too tight for me, but the medium is almost too baggy. B... Read Morering back the old fit! Don't change a namesake!

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Jackson! In Spring 2018 we revised the Baggies to 100% recycled material, but it was only a fabric change, and not a modified design. Please [reach out](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to us if we can assist with any questions, returns or exchanges!

September 18, 2020

Multipurpose Short

I started wearing these this past summer and used them for anything from lounging around, to trail running, to swimming, to hiking. They are comfortable and my go-to's for nearly everything. My only critique is that when squatting/bending over they become rather tight/slide down a bit. That being said, I have several pairs and use them happily... Read More for just about everything except weight lifting.

September 17, 2020

5th pair

great shorts this is my 5th pair great color

September 17, 2020

sizing

the shorts are great the only small problem was the waist is a bit on the loose side and it takes a while to tighten them up other than that they are amazing

September 16, 2020

Patagonia is the best

I love this swim suit but it was the staff that got it to me so I could take one last dip in the water before fall that made me happy. Always impressed by the staff that are ever ready to help.

September 13, 2020

Simply the best!

Comfortable, everyday short. Patagonia delivers perfection!

September 10, 2020

Long time baggie man

Great as always. Workers get a fair wage, material is from recycled nylon, Patagonia supports the planet. Finally they look good and have a great guarantee. A win for everyone.

September 10, 2020

Comfort

Best and most comfortable shorts. Bought 4!

September 10, 2020

Jim

I normally wear a 33 waist and these are a little loose without pulling the drawstring, they are baggies. Other than that I love that I can wear them biking and and when I get done done I can jump in the water or go for a bite to eat/drink without changing.

September 10, 2020

Super shorts

My husband has 3 pairs of these and he loves them, after he cut out the liner. He uses them for swimming and all water activity.

September 8, 2020

New favorite shorts

These are the most comfortable casual shorts Ive had. Perfect longer length avoids the 70s b-ball look, and the liner is not too restrictive, like a lot of workout short liners tend to be. Large front pockets and back snap one are convenient; only drawback is that heavier items like a larger phone tend to pull down a bit.

September 7, 2020

Very nice design and comfortable

Very nice design and comfortable

September 7, 2020

Great pair of shorts.

Ordered Men's Small and love them. The leg is longer than on womens shorts and I like that. Feel very comfortable for hanging out and versatile look, and good quality shorts. This is my 2nd pair. Love them .

September 6, 2020

Underwhelming

These shorts are probably some of the worst shorts I've ever bought, honestly. I thought they would be great after reading the reviews but they don't allow for much movement in them at all. They're really tight in the worst places and the lining is awful. I had to cut mine out just to even bear wearing these at all. Really bad shorts... Read More

September 6, 2020

Awesome shorts there should be a 6 inch option that is not slim fit

I love Patagonia baggies I own three pair and will buy more but I do have a couple problems with them one I think the Longs a bit to long but the shorts are a bit to short I think there should be a 6 inch baggies to that are not slim fit because not slim Also I I like thee 2020 ones better because the material is thicker and holds better also Mabey... Read More there should be one belt loop on the right side for keys

September 5, 2020

Short pant

I bought this one for my husbands birthday gift. He likes it very much.

September 5, 2020

Great shorts

This is my husbands fort pair of baggies. He loves them! Ill be ordering a few more pairs for him as well. Patagonia is his go to brand for all his clothes so hes thrilled.

September 4, 2020

Baggies - a friend from the past

I haven't bought a pair of baggies in a long time. My last pair was holding together by threads after 15 years of hard use. It was time to get a new pair. What can you say? Baggies work well in a wet environment, drying fast and letting you slip into a restaurant, in pre-Covid days, for something to eat after a sail, paddle, or swim.

September 4, 2020

Go to boat shorts.

Functional and comfortable in or out of the water, on and off the boat as we are. Quick drying. Secure, open pockets are well designed.

September 2, 2020

Still love these

I've had Baggies since they first came out and I think they have only gotten better. I've tried other alternatives to these and nothing comes close.

September 2, 2020

A little large

Purchased 2 pairs of these Baggies 7in shorts. I think I'm somewhere in the nebulous region between size M and L, so I went with the Large just to be safe. The shorts are a little more loose than I'd prefer in some spots, but they're also kind of tight in others. The netting inside is interesting...as a result I prefer to wear them w... Read Moreithout anything underneath; it's actually more uncomfortable to wear them with boxers (they bunch up). The pockets are deep, but the opening is angled in a sort of way that makes it difficult to reach into them unless you're standing. The right-hand pocket has an elastic just inside the opening which can be very handy -- however I wish this loop was available on both sides. Overall these are good shorts. Decent amount of mobility when doing yoga, but can occasionally be constricting. I may be an outlier but I feel they also run a little large so if you're between sizes I would opt for the size down. I can't personally say I would buy them again. If I did, I would either go for a size Medium or get the 5in version.

Response from Patagonia
November 6, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a valuable review on our Patagonia Men's Baggies Longs - 7". We appreciate the feedback and comments on some design issues you ran into, and have passed this information on to the appropriate teams. If you are unhappy with your purchase, please feel free to make a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Please also check out our [Men's Baggies Naturals - 6 1/2"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-baggies-naturals-shorts-6-half-inch/58056.html?dwvar_58056_color=CHFG&cgid=mens-shorts-casual).

September 2, 2020

Can't miss.

Being tall I got off the regular Baggies once the Longs came to be. I have several pair and these or the board shorts are go-to summer fare. Love 'em.

September 1, 2020

look great

they fit to size and look good on the water.

September 1, 2020

Cxxxxxx

Big old guys want to be cool also! I wear shorts as much as someone half my age (76) cmon man . Get with it.

September 1, 2020

Nice, but fade

I like them. They are great in hot weather. Having the inside brief cuts down on wash. They Fade after repeated use. Chlorine is not their friend.

September 1, 2020

Baggies are the way to go

These lightweight shorts are simple, minimal, well-made and super-practical for summer in the northeast. Great pockets and inner mesh.

September 1, 2020

Very comfortable

Great fit. Nice having a back pocket. Very light and quick drying. I recommend these without reservation.

September 1, 2020

Great material but loose on me

Excellent material and cut, but the waist is much too large. I have noticed this beforeand only with Black.

September 1, 2020

True to Size

Fit perfectly, I'm a slim 6'2, wearing a size 32x34. The mediums are absolutely the right size. I also have larger than average legs and it's been no problem.

August 31, 2020

Awesome shorts for hiking or relaxing!

I picked these shorts up from the website a few months back and finally wore them this past weekend. I wore them on a 15 mile hike in moderately warm weather and they were amazing! Theyre so comfortable but are also very rugged and durable. I received many compliments on them as well!

August 28, 2020

A Short Whose Time Has Passed

Just purchased my first pair of 7" baggy shorts for hiking and casual wear. My wife thought they looked awful - way too baggy. Kind of old fashioned (I'm 70 years old) and not attractive. I kept them anyway, despite her criticism. They fit fine, and are comfy for my use. However, I normally listen to podcasts during my walks/runs, and the... Read More pocket is awful for my iPhone. Phone falls in sideways and is difficult to get out to change settings.

August 19, 2020

Very comfy and great to keep you dry

The mens baggies are very comfortable but when I first got them I got them in a XXL because I thought I would get extra room but there is not as much as I thought thee shorts are awesome I use them for hiking biking swimming lunge wear at times

August 17, 2020

Weird Liner/Limited Mobility

My main draw to these shorts was their durability and versatility, both of which I think are valid. I'm not a fan of the mesh liner. I was open to the idea, but the execution is just weird. There is so much excess material and the elastic on them is super tight. Quite uncomfortable. I know many people remove the liner, but I don't want t... Read Moreo need to modify the shorts I just bought. I found range of motion in these shorts quite poor. As others have mentioned, this may be improved with the shorter version of the shorts.

Response from Patagonia
October 22, 2020

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate this and see it as an opportunity to improve and tweak design based on customer needs. We have passed your message about the liner along to our design team. If you're interested in a comparable pair of shorts minus the liner, please check out our [Men's Baggies Naturals - 6 1/2"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-baggies-naturals-shorts-6-half-inch/58056.html?dwvar_58056_color=CHFG&cgid=mens-shorts).

August 13, 2020

My new favourite shorts

I love my baggies, they’ve been one of the only pairs of shorts I’ve worn all summer. I love how quickly they dry and that they’re comfy enough to lounge around or go be active in. I will definitely be getting another pair in the future.

August 9, 2020

Not for Thick Legs

If you have a thick lower body, they probably aren't for you. I cut out the mesh lining. That helped, but they still squeeze the thighs up high. I have 27-inch circumference thighs at the thickest point for reference. Positives: These are good looking and fine quality.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2020

Hello Garrett, we're sorry to hear these were too tight in the thigh area. We went ahead and passed your feedback along to the appropriate team. Our designs and fits are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes.Thanks for your review!

July 31, 2020

Not what I expected

The shorts are okay, I bought these baggies and the hybrid mic shorts. The hybrid had more of a softer feel I was expecting but so long I'm thinking of cutting them or hemming about 2" minimum shorter. As far as these baggies their perfect for open squatting my board, maybe it's the recycled material or something but they feel dry, p... Read Moreaper like. I am expecting them to tear after two summers wear but hope they last 20 years. Almost perfect, sold out of initial color I wanted as well so disappointing..just hope they last, like better than moc just wish they were soft as the mics which keep catching on my knees in squats and stands

July 22, 2020

Excellent products

Lightweight and durable, from decent people. win, win

July 15, 2020

Too long and baggy

Too long and baggy, it went down to my knees, which I didnt expect from the pictures.

July 14, 2020

Nice shorts

First time to buy these shorts. Love the fit and they have become my new favorites pair. I do not like liners in my shorts so I simple cut it out and they are perfect. Will be buying more.

July 13, 2020

Best of the best

The baggie shorts are superior to any other comparable brand.

July 13, 2020

Super cool

It is perfect short pants for wearing at home for me.

July 13, 2020

Great product

Absolutely love my purchase. Fit is great and they dry quickly

July 13, 2020

Great fit and style

These shorts are perfect for casual wear, and all outdoor activities. I have been walking and hiking in them since I purchased. Quality and fit is perfect.

July 13, 2020

Super comfortable

I love these shorts! Great for swimming! For hiking! Theyre super breathable and just so comfortable! Great for any outdoor exercise

July 13, 2020

Awesome Baggies

My husband is a long time Baggies fan and these are his new favorite shorts. The tan color does not show dirt. The pocket seems to be larger as his phone fits in this pair, but not in the older pairs.

July 13, 2020

Wet wading

Got the large (34waist) and its Spot on. Simple good looking design, and they dry lightning fast. Yes they are a bit pricey ,but the quality is there. Tons of colors cant go wrong.

July 13, 2020

Good Fit

My husband is very picky about swim trunks and I thought these baggies would be great and I was right! There is a lining inside and the fabric is sturdy and durable. He really liked the length too, long down to the knee for a taller guy.

July 13, 2020

Weird fit

These are generally pretty good but have the strange distinction of being too large in the waist and too tight in the thighs l.

July 13, 2020

Exactly what I wanted

Ordered these shorts, Baggies 7, size L, Black, about 6 weeks ago and I have been wearing them almost constantly ever since. The fit is definitely baggy- but that is what they are called right? The pockets are nice and big and hold my phone and other stuff- or just my hands when I am standing around. I like the mesh liner although I do often wear b... Read Moreoxer briefs with them. They are super comfortable. I wear them around the house, going for walks, on my bike and out at the local pubs. Overall they are exactly the shorts I was looking for. I travel quite a bit and these will be my go to shorts for casual, working out and in the water. Thanks Patagonia for another terrific product.

July 13, 2020

I have a pair in every color

But these shorts in every color and wear them every day!!!

July 13, 2020

The everything shorts.

This is my third pair because I wanted a standard black color. I wear these things everywhere. They are the easiest slip on and go shorts. Jump in the pool - no problem. Out all day walking, running errands - no problem. Durable, casual and comfy these are great shorts!

July 13, 2020

Still butter

Same old same old . The material might be a little thinner but dont really got nothing to go by since my oldies are still kicking it .

July 13, 2020

Baggie legs

Worn baggie Patagonia shorts before. These the legs were way to big! Would not recommend these to anyone!

July 12, 2020

Best of the best

The baggie shorts are superior to any other comparable brand.

July 12, 2020

Super cool

It is perfect short pants for wearing at home for me.

July 10, 2020

Great product

Absolutely love my purchase. Fit is great and they dry quickly

July 10, 2020

Great fit and style

These shorts are perfect for casual wear, and all outdoor activities. I have been walking and hiking in them since I purchased. Quality and fit is perfect.

July 10, 2020

Super comfortable

I love these shorts! Great for swimming! For hiking! Theyre super breathable and just so comfortable! Great for any outdoor exercise

July 10, 2020

Awesome Baggies

My husband is a long time Baggies fan and these are his new favorite shorts. The tan color does not show dirt. The pocket seems to be larger as his phone fits in this pair, but not in the older pairs.

July 10, 2020

Wet wading

Got the large (34waist) and its Spot on. Simple good looking design, and they dry lightning fast. Yes they are a bit pricey ,but the quality is there. Tons of colors cant go wrong.

July 10, 2020

Good Fit

My husband is very picky about swim trunks and I thought these baggies would be great and I was right! There is a lining inside and the fabric is sturdy and durable. He really liked the length too, long down to the knee for a taller guy.

July 10, 2020

Exactly what I wanted

Ordered these shorts, Baggies 7, size L, Black, about 6 weeks ago and I have been wearing them almost constantly ever since. The fit is definitely baggy- but that is what they are called right? The pockets are nice and big and hold my phone and other stuff- or just my hands when I am standing around. I like the mesh liner although I do often wear b... Read Moreoxer briefs with them. They are super comfortable. I wear them around the house, going for walks, on my bike and out at the local pubs. Overall they are exactly the shorts I was looking for. I travel quite a bit and these will be my go to shorts for casual, working out and in the water. Thanks Patagonia for another terrific product.

July 9, 2020

I have a pair in every color

But these shorts in every color and wear them every day!!!

July 9, 2020

The everything shorts.

This is my third pair because I wanted a standard black color. I wear these things everywhere. They are the easiest slip on and go shorts. Jump in the pool - no problem. Out all day walking, running errands - no problem. Durable, casual and comfy these are great shorts!

July 9, 2020

Still butter

Same old same old . The material might be a little thinner but dont really got nothing to go by since my oldies are still kicking it .

July 2, 2020

Great all around athletic shorts

Comfortable, durable, and quick-drying, these shorts are excellent. I bought my first pair over 30 years ago and have used them for hiking, running, rafting, swimming, kayaking, and even for basketball and tennis. At 5'10" and 160 pounds, I find the medium size just right.

July 1, 2020

Fits Perfectly for Athletic Thighs!

I think I have bigger quads than other people from all of the weightlifting I used to do and I was afraid I would have to order a Medium and a Small to compare the sizing, but my waist size is about a 30/31 so I went with the Small. I was surprised that there was still a lot of room in between the shorts and my thighs even though my waist is smalle... Read Morer than legs . The recycled nylon is a light material and more airy compared to Columbia's similar version of the shorts. I would definitely recommend getting the 7" if you want the shorts to end about an inch and a half above the knee.

June 28, 2020

Great shorts

Really comfortable shorts that fit well. Im usually a 36 and the XL fit well as I have pretty big legs and knew the large wouldnt be enough. These are perfect for a long lake day or anything involving water.

June 27, 2020

Bad cut, thinner material

Tried to review this once and I think my post was taken down. The material is thinner, and it has a shiny finish that makes them a bit less formal looking. The material is far too thin and revealing. They also changed the fit on them from the previous fit, and now they are too thin through the hips and thighs, which prevents mobility. The material ... Read Moredoesn't stretch, so that is why they are supposed to be baggy like the last version of these shorts. Now they are narrow fitting and you cannot move freely. Don't like this new design.

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2020

Thanks for your detailed feedback! We're sorry to hear the sizing and fabric have been disappointing, but we'll be more than happy to help you return them under our Ironclad Guarantee. Please reach out to us for [assistance](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

June 26, 2020

Skateboarding in the Mens Baggies Long 7

Living in the Charlotte, NC area which is very humid through out the summer. I skate in the Mens Baggies Long 7 because of the light weight breathable material. More color and print options please.

June 26, 2020

Great Shorts...just a little tight.

Overall, my new pair of Baggies is awesome. Great style and functionality, and I would totally recommend them to others. The one draw back is that they run a little tight in the thigh, if you have athletic thighs like myself. I normally wear a medium, but had to size up for these. The drawstring makes it easy to adjust for my waist, but the L is st... Read Moreill a little tight in the thigh. So, if youre more athletically built, Id size up if I were you. With that said, the quality is so good that Im okay with sizing up and working around it, but it would be great if the designers could find some sort of eco-friendly flexible fabric to make the fit a little better people who dont skip leg day!

June 26, 2020

Comfortable and durable

Comfortable, fast drying and long-lasting. Hard to beat.

June 26, 2020

Compliments

My new Baggies fit well and look great. Several people have told me that the color is sharp.

June 25, 2020

Nearly Perfect and Super Comfy

This is not my first buy of Baggies, I love them. Versatile, comfortable, bomb proof. The only thing I would wish for is as a zipper instead of a snap on the rear pocket for an added level of secure storage when romping in the surf with my dog

June 25, 2020

Met my expectations

Other reviews said they run a bit large, but I found them true to size. The medium is a little too snug on my muscular thighs. But a large would be too "baggy" for me, so all good. The quality is good. I wore them all day at the beach both in an out of the water and I was comfortable. I'm not a huge fan of synthetic materials (recycl... Read Moreed or not), but these are tolerable. I'm not blown away, but five stars for a well made product. These days that is an accomplishment in and of itself. Oh and kudos to Patagonia for calling out Facebook for what it is. We all have a part to play in this.

June 23, 2020

Nice Relaxed Fit

I'm a lean 6'2 with long legs so I ordered the 7" inseam size medium and they fit perfectly. The 5" inseam would be too short for my liking. After the first wash/dry they shrunk a tiny bit but not much to make a difference and it didn't take away from the comfort. I'll be ordering more colorways soon.

June 21, 2020

Great pair of shorts

These shorts are great. They're comfortable, fit great, and work for a variety of activities. The only downsides I can come up with is that I don't like liners so I cut it out and the tag is on the front of these. I keep trying to put them on backwards. Other than that two thumbs up.

June 20, 2020

Great

I love my baggies. Im 62 210 and prefer them slightly fitted so I went with M. Perfect fit.

June 20, 2020

Outstanding

They are an outstanding shorts You can wear them every day.

June 19, 2020

Versatility

I'll us these for a bike tour in July for off the bike duties. I can hang out, swim, etc. and I know they'll dry quickly. It's this versatility that I was seeking.

June 19, 2020

A classic shorts

A classic Patagonia shorts, what more to say!

June 19, 2020

Really Long

I just want to say I have several pairs of Patagonia running shorts in a 7 inseam and love them. Ill always get a new pair of those first for running. I did return these though. In this particular case I was looking for a 7 pair of shorts to wear in the water that wouldnt ever really age, they would be simple, functional and plain (and I cant stand... Read More a wide waistband - thats on me). So when I saw these at a 7 inseam I thought perfect! The 7 running shorts I have from Patagonia are perfect, these will be too. However, a baggy description must mean that its not just necessarily wide but long as well. These are way longer than 7 inseam. They hang more like a 10. So, Im sure the shorts are fine and would have worked wonderfully as is my experience with Patagonia shorts, just be aware of the length issue here. Oh and as far as recommending them I would have liked to put maybe. Depending on what youre looking for they may be perfect. It just wasnt what I was looking for.

June 19, 2020

Comfy and all around great

Great pair. The liner isnt too tight and is breathable. Have used them for hiking and casual wore. Caught in the rain and drys quick like advertised. They are pretty comfy that at times I end up sleeping in my pair after a causal Day with them. I usually do well in smalls but had to order XS cause small ended up being too baggie for my taste. Perso... Read Morenal preference though.

June 19, 2020

Runs large

I was so excited about getting these baggies. I ordered a large because thats what I normally wear. They were huge!! I kept them and gave them to my husband. I will try a medium next time. Love the quality and color!

June 18, 2020

Perfect!

Perfect shorts. Only desire, boxer brief cut mesh rather than brief. Like the nine trail (is that right?) running shorts.

June 18, 2020

Comfortable

This is comfortable to wear. Nice design.

June 17, 2020

Awesome

Love these shorts, I have them in 5 colors

June 17, 2020

Great fit, great quality

Be aware that the product title is "Baggies" and this is correct -- these shorts run large to you give you a little more room. It's definitely a relaxed fit.

June 17, 2020

Where did they go wrong?

I've been wearing baggies for more than 5 years, and have loved them. The recent iteration has a liner that doesn't provide any support, and just kind of hangs there. 5 star's on the outer short, and 0 on the liner. Patagonia has done better, and needs to step up their game again.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2020

Thanks for your feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that some features aren't working out for you. Please feel free to begin a return here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html

June 17, 2020

Very comfortable and look good

Very comfortable and look good

June 17, 2020

Very similar to the Patagonia Baggies I wore in the late 80s

This pair of shorts feel great, lots of room by design, and are a tad too long for someone who is 58 BUT that can be easily fixed by tightening the drawstring. Ive been buying these shorts for years and will buy them again. The Patagonia brand is one of the few in my wardrobe that stand the test of time.

Response from Patagonia
July 2, 2020

Thanks for the great feedback, David! You might be interested in our [Men's Baggies 5" Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-baggies-shorts-5-inch/57021.html).

June 17, 2020

Baggies are the BEST

VERY versatile! They go anywhere, and do anything, and dry quickly.

June 17, 2020

Love these

Wear these all the time. Does not matter what the occasion is!

June 17, 2020

Love the longer baggies

Baggies are THE BEST all around summer wear. Add boating (kayak, rafting) and gardening for the other places these get worn. Not yet decided whether or not to keep the liner. Thanks for great products and environmental ethics.

June 17, 2020

Best water shorts

Ive been wearing Baggies for nearly 35 years and this batch is as good as its predecessors. They are rugged yet comfortable and not too hot for fishing the Gulf or lounging around the pool. Very thankful they fixed the pockets so the contents dont drop all the way to the hem. Recommend Baggies highly.

June 17, 2020

Awesome shorts with one exception

Absolutely love my 7 baggies. Super versatile and comfy. My only complaint is the mediums seem like a BIG jump up in leg width from the smalls. The leg opening is very wide. Theyd be perfect if they were a little less wide. The smalls are a bit tight but meds are super baggie. Guess I need a small+! Otherwise, best shorts ever.

June 17, 2020

Good item

Nice product No negative issues Very comfortable

June 17, 2020

Just ok

Not a good range of motion

June 17, 2020

Unlike any other shorts

You simply have to buy them to experience how great they are. Lightweight and durable shorts perfect for any activity.

June 17, 2020

Versatile baggies

The fit is nice, I'm in between sizes 32-33 waist and the medium fits great with the drawstring waist. Deep front pockets can hold alot of gear and nothing is gonna fall out when you sit down, it's a bit of a challenge to grab small items out of the pockets but that's ok, liner is comfortable without underwear but if you just want ca... Read Moresual shorts then I would suggest cutting out the liner. Also I'm 6'2" and thought the inseam would be too short but its honestly just right

June 17, 2020

Super comfy

The material feels durable yet comfortable, and it fits well even on my thighs that resemble a cross between ham hocks and tree trunks. I also feel like they are never wet even after hopping out of the water. Great all around casual shorts.

June 17, 2020

Versatile

Purchased these to hike and bike in. However, when I put them on they never came off. I wear them to bed to lounge in the house to run to the grocery store. Extremely versatile. Sturdy and the deep front pockets and massive back pocket fit just about everything. Very pleased with the purchase.

June 17, 2020

Great shorts with one flaw!

I think these are possibly my favorite shorts to date. I love them with one minor flaw. I feel like these shorts are made for the slim frame in mind.. I have considerably large thighs & butt and as I bend down, the shorts dont come with. Even when tightened, seems like the shorts miss a little baggie-ness in the rear for the guys who arent 150 ... Read Morelbs. Ordered online so I didnt try on an XL, but the rest of the short fits perfectly.

June 17, 2020

Best all round short this side of the pecos

Live in these and have for 30 + yrs. yard work and into the pool. Bike rides, everything. Sure wish you would make me the old white ones. Best , Andy

June 17, 2020

Great stuff

I use these shorts when Im around the water, boarding, kayaking, and general outdoor fun. They are great.

June 17, 2020

Versatile shorts

All around versatile shorts. Play, skate and swim!

June 17, 2020

Great pair of shorts

These shorts are great. They're comfortable, fit great, and work for a variety of activities. The only downsides I can come up with is that I don't like liners so I cut it out and the tag is on the front of these. I keep trying to put them on backwards. Other than that two thumbs up.

June 11, 2020

perfect pants

have been wearing these for years. have several pairs just bought some while on vacation in the 5 inch size by mistake. prefer the modesty of the 7 inch. I prefer to remove the linings and wear with boxers. they are great all around shorts. I am surprised that some don't like the deep pockets I like them as my phone, change, keys etc won'... Read Moret fall out so easily. and I like the back pocket with the flap as it holds my wallet in place while driving. were them all summer long. rugged and with a great fit. thanks, Patagonia!

June 11, 2020

Almost perfect

Material and fit impeccable. Only hope is that the mesh liner was boxer-brief shape and feel like the strider running shorts (rather than the brief cut liner).

June 11, 2020

Could be better but...

Maybe I got an older version after reading reviews? They were on clearance. I love that the pockets are big. Also hate that the pockets are big haha. My phone slaps me in my knee when I wear them. OUTSTANDING for swimming though. Quick drying. Will probably cut the liner out. Range of motion is iffy. They dont really stretch. If they did, I could l... Read Moreook past the pockets and say 5 star, but as it stands I have to take off a point there. Still a quality product though. Just not exactly thought through fully.

June 2, 2020

So thin people can see your...you know

I practically live in these shorts, but just bought my first pair in a couple years. They made them much thinner, so thin in fact that at certain angles it reveals male anatomy. Wish I was joking. Make them out of the old material and I would give them five stars. Another Patagonia disappointment. My favorite brand.....

May 29, 2020

Not made for an active lifestyle

I wish I could like these shorts more. Such a great concept to have an everything-pair of shorts, however these miss that mark. From the top of the inseam to the waist line - the length is so long in proportion to the shorts that it substantially limits movement. Enjoy biking? Hiking (actually steep inclines)? Yoga? Climbing? Moving any more than... Read More a walk? These shorts are not for you. The material feels durable, but the actually practicality of use for anything outside of walking and standing is subpar.

May 11, 2020

Good swim trunks

The shorts I ordered were the leafs/ flower pattern. I was expecting the blue to be darker, but it was a lighter grey blue. I am still keeping these because the fit was perfect. Go true to waist size and not normal athletic short size

May 9, 2020

Best Shorts!

Awesome shorts. Mine have faded lots now as I have worn them pretty much every summer for the past 5 years. Love love love these shorts

May 6, 2020

Not for tall people

Love Patagonia so wanted to try these shorts out. Love the look/range of functionality, I just don't think they were built for taller guys. Ordered size L based on sizing chart provided, as well as tried on my brothers' XL to go up but both pairs for me restricted range of motion. Could not bend down without the plumber's crack showi... Read Moreng. Would love for this problem to be fixed in future seasons as the shorts look great and have all the functionality I would want.

May 1, 2020

Material is thinner

Okay finally the pockets are perfect! the previous pair I had the pockets bottomed out with the seam of the shorts... also the older pair I have the material is thicker.. just wish you guys kept the thicker material.

April 22, 2020

Not Cut for Athletic Legs

I practically lived in Baggies during summers in the late 1980s and 1990s. When I learned Patagonia made Baggie Longs I was excited to get a pair. I would otherwise love the shorts but they are too tight in the legs and rear. When I bend over the start to slide off and reveal the dreaded "plumber's crack". I am an athletic 5'9, ... Read More182 lbs and 32 inch waist. These shorts are more made for guys with skinnier legs and smaller glutes.

February 11, 2020

Best all around shorts

Never write reviews, but these shorts are great. I found them a little more comfortable after cutting out the inner liner. I have 3 pairs now about to order 2 more.

February 11, 2020

Runs large

Ordered a size large for my husband who wears a 34” waist. Definitely need the medium.

January 2, 2020

Super comfy

Love them! Comfy and they look good.

December 20, 2019

Versatile Baggies

Bought them in black and grey. They look and fit great! Need to try out the 5” next!

December 18, 2019

Baggies

What can I say, other than if you want the most versatile shorts in the world these are them.

December 4, 2019

Patagonia Baggies

Best swim and everyday use shorts ever. Thanks for making a great product. This new version, my last ones are over 10 years old, are more comfortable than the last. Thanks!!!

November 25, 2019

Great Shorts

I love the baggies and how they fit. I wish that the pants were a little bit more stretchy when using them for climbing or spike ball. Use them all the the time and definitely need another pair. Thank you!

November 20, 2019

Good flexible fit. Great pockets.

Good flexible fit. Great pockets. Sturdy.

November 10, 2019

Limes are cool

Limes are cool

November 6, 2019

Baggies are tight

Tight in the sense that they're aesthetically pleasing. They're comfy, versatile, and look great. The matcha color is a perfect subtle fall green without being too dark. I personally cut out the liner but that's just a personal preference. Excited to buy some 5" when I see those on sale!

October 29, 2019

Perfect

Perfect

October 19, 2019

Best shorts you can get,

Best shorts you can get, they last forever!

October 4, 2019

i love them

I never write reviews. Ever. But these are amazing so I felt like this is my small way of giving back

October 1, 2019

Liner

Did not expect a liner like a bathing suit. Thought I was careful when ordering but maybe they all come with lining.

September 22, 2019

Overall I really like the

Overall I really like the shorts! Only complaint would be the pockets they are as deep as the whole short leg. Having keys/phone just seems to swing around hitting your leg. Other than love them!

September 18, 2019

Nice shorts with pockets

I'd recommend for yoga but the liner is not opaque. You can see through it.

September 18, 2019

Good Looking, good fit, good

Good Looking, good fit, good deal!

September 16, 2019

THE GREATEST SHORTS EVER

I can't stress that enough! These shorts are everything for me. It's kind of like wearing boxers all day, but they are presentable enough to go grab a slice of pizza, hit the trails, or just relax at home. I highly recommend these shorts for anyone who likes basically doing anything while being extremely free and comfortable. Oh, and the ... Read Moreback right pocket has a button that keeps it closed; great for a phone, money, or credit cards.

September 15, 2019

Outside guy

Look great, good fit. Wear these 2 fish,swim,sup but nice enough 2 go out for beers,lunch. Only improvement I suggest would be 2 make drain holes in pockets larger as pockets retain water.

September 11, 2019

Husband Loves Them!

The Baggies were a big hit for my husband on our recent vacation. They traveled easily between strenuous hiking, casual touring and the beach (swim/surf/snorkel), with no chafing issues. His first pairs, but certainly won’t be the last! Thank you, Patagonia! :)

September 9, 2019

The length is right, it

The length is right, it can be slimmer a little bit

September 8, 2019

The shorts liner grabs you by the...hair!

Nice short not much changed from 1999, but the current iteration uses a shorts liner that catches body hair and doesn’t let go. Ouch!

Response from Patagonia
September 19, 2019

We are sorry to hear about the discomfort! Thanks for the feedback on this and please let us know if you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) and we'd be happy to [assist](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with that.

September 7, 2019

Pretty decent

Nice shorts, spiced coral gets dirty quickly so watch out. Overall pretty good

September 6, 2019

Amazing! Even for Athletic Fits

I'm 6'1" and ~200 lbs -- usually I have issues with needing athletic fit pants due to wide hips/thick thighs and not wanting them to cramp my style, so to speak. These fit the bill in a Large (L), great length, great fit. Even the internal lining isn't bad (I usually cut it out, but not here!). I'd 100% recommend these.

September 6, 2019

24/7

I sleep in mine, do yoga, go hiking then swimming, and by bed they're dry again. 7" ers are moderately more presentable as I'm a leaner-backer in chairs.

September 5, 2019

20+ years of Baggies

I used to wear short baggies and now wear the longer ones (7") because of my kids teasing. I have been wearing baggies for over 20 years and still have my original pair, yes they need some help with their leg elastics, but still their over 20 years old and are still wearable and look great. These are a great product, don't change them

September 3, 2019

Great baggies!

Love the new baggie shorts; great for trail running, hiking or really any outdoor activity! This is my 2nd pair-wound up giving my 1st new pair to my 18 yo son...who wore them for about 12 straight days; great shorts!

September 3, 2019

Just Okay

Wanted more of a hiking short with a stretchy waist. Did not know they had the built in underwear. So I guess that makes them more of a swim short? A little expensive too. Sizing was good. It returned these.

September 1, 2019

Now he won't wear anything else

I have a pair of baggies and they rock, got my boyfriend a pair and now he won't wear anything else.Thanks for making a great product!

August 31, 2019

Baggies Terrific

True to size, uber comfortable, stylish for all occasions.

August 31, 2019

Men’s baggie 7” shorts

I love these shorts, I am a woman and I love the length, the look and the elastic waist. Wish they were made for women in women’s colors and sizes AND 7” length.

August 29, 2019

Men’s Baggies Long

Fixing the pockets is a yuge improvement over last year’s Baggies. I’ve been wearing them for 35 years and they’re the best shorts out there.

August 29, 2019

7 " baggies

Like the color matched liner and key clip loop in pocket.

August 28, 2019

These Aren't Just Baggie...They Fit Much Larger Than Advertised

I have a 29" waist and cyclist legs (i.e., big quads for my size). The size chart indicates I should take a sz. Small but those seem to be made for someone with a 32"+ waist (despite the 29"-30" listed in the size chart). I then tried a sz. XS (a rare size find from any manufacturer these days - thanks). They were OK but still a... Read More bit loose in the waist (perhaps better for a 30" waist but not the 28" in the size chart) and they are still way too baggy such that I look like a sack of potatoes in them. I get that these are called "Baggies" but that doesn't excuse Patagonia for "size inflation" especially when their pants are notably trim fitting (i.e., the 30"w Quandary's fit me great). Otherwise they seem just fine as watersport shorts (and the pockets weren't too deep on the pairs I tried on), though they are quite pricy for the simple materials & features provided. NOTE to Patagonia: smaller athletic-build people deserve to wear shorts that don't make them look like clowns, so please revisit the sizing on these (and also the Nine Trails too - see my review for those too)!

Response from Patagonia
September 4, 2019

Sorry about the sizing. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

August 27, 2019

Sweet Baggies

This is my 4th pair of the longs & I absolutely love them....we have a pool & they are in constant rotation as daily shorts/swim trunks. With the deep front pockets & back snap pocket, one can’t ask for a better hybrid short. The recent add on of the key cord is a plus....@ 6’2” 205 the large is perfect for me

August 26, 2019

Awesome shorts

Great shorts for hiking, paddling, or swimming. Also, they have the most comfortable liner I've ever had in shorts!

August 25, 2019

M Baggies Long

These are by far my favorite shorts that I have ever owned. I guided hundreds of miles on the Colorado River this summer all in baggies and they were perfect for the job. Thanks Patagonia!

August 24, 2019

My Baggies

These shorts are great! I have been collecting these shorts for years. I have around 50 pairs some the elastic is worn out but I am saving them all for my twin 5 year old boys. Thank you for a great product!

August 22, 2019

Sizing

Obviously, the waist draw string on XXL size is not long enough. I am assuming no grading on these strings.

Response from Patagonia
August 29, 2019

Thanks for your feedback regarding the drawstring! We've passed it along to the appropriate Patagonia team.

August 21, 2019

Men's Baggies 7"

I just purchased two new pair, bringing my ownership to four. Like some other reviewers here, I really dislike the full length pockets. Keys, wallet, phone, etc. all fall almost out of arm's reach and uncomfortably flop around and slap my thigh while moving. As such I don't put anything in the front pockets, thus diminishing the utility o... Read Moref these. My favorite pair of Baggies is the first pair I purchased years ago and still wear, where the front pockets are normal size and hold contents close to the body. I wish Patagonia designers would address this. With this complaint out of the way, I can confirm they are true to size, very comfortable, quick drying, have an appealing variety of patterns and colors and a go to option whether in town or in the mountains.

August 21, 2019

Baggies

Love these swim trunks. I’m 6’2” 225 pounds. Wear the XL which are, in fact, baggy. Just the way I like them. I don’t use or care about the pockets that other people have commented on. I like my one pair so well (parrots) I may get a second. And one nice touch - the baggies went on sale the day after I bought (and wore) them! Patagonia gave me a re... Read Morefund - no tags, no receipt, no problem.

August 20, 2019

Great shorts, but drawstring ripped easily

I was very excited to get my new shorts, but I was disappointed that after you use them with time the drawstring guide starts to rip. I really enjoy the material and color, just disappointed with quality of the drawstring.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We're really sorry you're experiencing issues with the drawstring! Please feel free to send the pants in for a [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if it does fully rip, or return it back to us under warranty.

August 19, 2019

Great shorts

Love these baggies. Fit great and really like the color and pattern. I’ve worn baggies for years and they just keep getting better.

August 17, 2019

Great Shorts

I like the lighter fabric on these compared to some of my older pairs. I also didn't notice anything unusual with the pockets so maybe that has been changed since the handful of reviews of too-deep pockets. I use them for everything from running to riding to outdoor work. They are indestructible!

August 17, 2019

LOVE THEM

WOULD GET A 5 STAR RATING IF THE POCKETS WERE NOT SO DEEEP. OTHERWISE PERFECT ALL AROUND SWIM HIKE AND LOUNGE SHORT.

August 16, 2019

MS Baggies, 7”

Extraordinarily well designed, well made product. These will last for years & I wear them almost every day for 8 months out of the year. They dry quickly after washing as do all Patagonia polypro/fleece. I have a jacket I’ve had for 20 years. Also love the colors of the clothing. Thank you for your good work.

August 16, 2019

I like the shorts, however

I like the shorts, however there is already a hole in the pocket that will need to be stitched. I bought these because the long pockets were finally fixed.

Response from Patagonia
August 30, 2019

We are so sorry about the hole in your pocket, we stand behind all of our products. Please feel free to send that back to us for a [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=repair) and we would be more than happy to help cover the cost. Please email us your order number and we will get you taken care of.

August 15, 2019

So dope.

I'm super stoked to say I've finally invested in a new pair of Baggies. The pair I was rocking before was from 1992 (almost as old as me and older than my wife), was passed down to me from my mom, and they're still awesome. I've ripped the old ones down the side and re-sewn them several times (mainly due to my bad stitching), so... Read More I figured it was time to put them on reserve status. The new Baggies are awesome. I've had them for a few weeks, and they're great for hiking, swimming, lounging, and looking super cool in any casual setting. Really comfortable as well, and well constructed. Will definitely be able to enjoy these shorts for a long time, and I look forward to passing them down to my kiddos some day. 10 stars out of 5.

August 15, 2019

The best

Amazing piece of apparel! The deep pockets are nice. They take awhile to get used to but your phone and what ever else you store will not fall out. These shorts are amazing!

August 14, 2019

Great Shorts in stylish prints for men

These are my favorite shorts for summer. I can where them anywhere and feel in the moment. With a liner and deep pockets, they are perfect to travel in and they are good for a day at the pool.

August 14, 2019

Baggies rock!

Perfect fit, colors great, very versitle!

August 13, 2019

The best, most versatile shorts I own!

I'm a big fan of the men's baggies. These are the ultimate summer shorts - I wear them to the pool, around the house, for yard work, hikes - everything! They fit great, have a great liner, and last!

August 10, 2019

Still the best

Your products just keep getting better, plus they never wear out!

August 10, 2019

Love them

I'm not sure why people have been writing complaints about the pockets, this is the first pair of baggies I've ever owned and I love them the way they are! Super comfortable, my new favorite shorts for every day use during the warmer months.

August 10, 2019

Baggies elastic

I’ve been wearing Patagonia baggies I believe since they were first introduced in the ‘70s. I’ve notice in the last few years the newer version the leg elastic wears out fairly quickly. And the next I notice I’ll be sitting in a restaurant as in last last night and the boys will be hanging out Given the increased cost the leg elastic shouldn’t wear... Read More out so fast. Given I wear these every day and I probably have 10 pair it’s a little disappointing but I still buy them

August 10, 2019

What’s not to love?

Comfortable fit. Roomy but not as baggy as their name. Quality material, well stitched and durable. From the lake to the pool, they do it all.

August 10, 2019

Waistband needs more elastic.

Waistband needs more elastic.

August 10, 2019

Men’s baggies

As always, great fitting shorts and now with an ever expanding number of cool colors schemes

August 10, 2019

great swimming suit

I spend a lotto time on the water, these are comfortable and functional.

August 10, 2019

Perfect

My husband is picky when it comes to swim trunks and he loves this pair. Not too long, not too short. Not slim fit but also doesn’t look like an old man’s pair of trunks. Just right.

August 5, 2019

Must needed return of baggies

I own 2 pairs of the 2018 model of the 7' baggies, and like many reviews have stated previously, the pockets going all the way down to the bottom of the shorts was not ideal. The 2019 pair I purchased in forge grey has seams to prevent this, and is the perfect length this season to allow pockets to hold what you need without being all the way ... Read Moreat the bottom. new colors are great, I practically live in my pairs.

August 2, 2019

Love these shorts for everything

I live my summers at the lake (well,at least try to) and have these shorts on all the time. I know some people complain about the pocket depth but I love it. Getting in and out of our Kubota/boat my wallet/cash use to fall out all the time. These shorts aren’t running shorts they’re made for all day use in my opinion. They dry quick so I can get in... Read More and out of the water all day long and they do not cause skin irritation. Lightweight and comfortable netting (some are too tight/restrictive) make these my go to shorts.

July 31, 2019

Used to be excellent

These used to have a seam sewn into each pocket so their depth was about mid-thigh. That seam is now gone and the pockets go full depth. This makes any pocket contents slap around dangerously and painfully and, unfortunately makes these shorts unusable for me. If Patagonia is listening, PLEASE PUT THE SEAM BACK INTO THE FRONT POCKETS. I love my old... Read More 7" baggies.

Response from Patagonia
August 1, 2019

Thanks for your feedback and we're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the depth of the pockets. You are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Baggies back to us.

July 28, 2019

New Pockets = Perfect Shorts

I prefer to spend most of the summer in baggies. I switch back and forth between the long ones (7") and short ones (5"). I like them both, but, like other reviewers, thought the pockets on the long version were just too deep. I got a new pair for 2019 and the pockets are fixed! They stop about 1.5" up from the bottom hem. Kudos to Pa... Read Moretagonia for addressing this issue. They're just about perfect now. I'm 5'8"/170ish and medium fits fine.

July 26, 2019

Same Old -In a Good Way

What can I say that hasnt already been said? These shorts are amazing. They are my official short of summer. I have 4 pairs and they look brand new (after years). No fading etc. They are incredible. Pull the trigger and just get them!

July 18, 2019

Amazing Shorts

Skeptical at first because of the price but 10/10 product. The spiced coral looks amazing in person.

July 7, 2019

Perfect unless you carry stuff in the front pockets

I have so many pairs of these shorts from various retailers, seasons, etc. A few of them have the front pockets go all the way down to the hem. Big mistake. It’s comical trying to get keys, a phone, whatever out of the front pockets. It requires a side bend and leg lift to effectively remove items. It’s unfortunate, since these shorts are amazi... Read Moreng for just about anything. I still recommend them without a doubt. But the version with the deep pockets are pretty useless and they annoy me so much!

July 2, 2019

Enjoyment

These are a little small on me lengthwise, but I’m used to it. Otherwise these are some durable, good-looking, comfortable shorts. I put these bad boys through some serious wear in the little time I’ve had them and they’ve held up extremely well. People seem to complain about the pockets being too deep but it’s fine by me. Probably will try to find... Read More ones just a little longer, but if not, would buy again.

July 2, 2019

Perfect pants

I'm 5,7 and 144 lb (173 cm/65kg) man with a little skinny leg. I bough small and xs and compared two. Small was good with waist but little boxy and longer. XS was little tight in waist but looks good with length and style. XS fits more like a abercrombie short in small size. So I chose XS. For the pocket, the parrots and tazmanian tate color ... Read Morehave a previous pocket as all customers want to have and also have a small band string for key connection. So if anyone wants the previous pocket, go with those two colors. I think new colors will go back to the previous pocket.

June 29, 2019

Bring back the old pocket design

I have a number of these shorts and absolutely love them. They're virtually the only shorts I wear throughout the summer. However the new design of the front pockets where they go all the way to the bottom hem is ridiculous and results in a very awkward feel when if you decide to actually put anything in the pockets. Not sure what was going th... Read Morerough the minds of the product designers/testers when they approved this change, but the old pockets need to be brought back ASAP!

Response from Patagonia
July 1, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the new pocket design. Please feel free to return those back to us for a [refund](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) and let our Customer Service team know if you have any questions.

June 7, 2019

Great shorts

Great shorts for everything! The only thing is they don’t stretch at all. But great for hiking and everyday use.

June 1, 2019

Men's Baggies

Great for water and walkways!

May 24, 2019

Better than ever

I have been wearing baggies for twenty years and still love them, but I felt inclined to write a review on a product that’s been around for decades due to the three star deep pocket review trend. Personally, I’m a big fan of the pocket design. Over the years, I’ve lost way too many items from shorts while being active. How is it a downside to desig... Read Moren pockets that do an incredible job of keeping your belongings safe? I suspect there is a high correlation between the deep pocket haters and those writing critical reviews for the ending of GoT. People really seem to let the little things dramatically impact their overall opinion of a great product. Enjoy the shorts!!!

May 23, 2019

Re: Men's 7" baggies

My husband has worn baggies for years. Usually the 5". I bought 3 of the 7" for him and as usual they didn't disappoint. Baggies are the best shorts out there by far. The pockets have nice depth and well what can I say. He loves them. Patti from California:)

May 9, 2019

Indisputably the best shorts !

Great quality, good fit, the best shorts money can buy.

May 8, 2019

Great Swim Shorts

Needed men's swim shorts with mesh liner - thank goodness Patagonia carries them!

May 8, 2019

Dadlife shorts

Great all-around versatile shorts. I wear these for all kinds of activities ranging from hiking and swimming to bbqing and lawn mowing. Both the 7 and 5" are above the knee to keep your dadlife style on point, just get yourself a pair of tevas and your fit will be complete. I am 6'3" 200lbs w/ a 35-36 waist. the L fits great.

May 8, 2019

Fit perfectly

Fit perfectly

April 9, 2019

...we’re back!

Just purchased two of the new color ways (Teal and Parrots) and am so happy to confirm that the old pockets are back! There is also a loop for a key ring in the right pocket, which my original pairs neglected. Fit runs just slightly oversized (5’11”, 155lbs with a true 30” waist) so I opted for the small instead of medium. Fit feels secure and not ... Read Moretoo restricting! So happy to have these back in rotation for the warmer months.

April 8, 2019

Baggies

I’ve had these multi purpose shorts for over 3 years and they still look, feel and fit the same in the 3 years Ive had them. I haven’t even come across a loose hanging thread, and I’ve put across a good beating on these shorts, these are the most durable pair of shorts I’ve ever owned by a long shot . The pockets are really deep but I like that so ... Read MoreI know anything in my pocket isn’t falling out.

April 7, 2019

Pocket issue fixed on some colors!

Huge fan of the Baggies line but was disappointed in the ridiculously deep pockets on the recent shorts (like many others, apparently, lol). I can attest that the pocket debacle has been corrected for the Tradewinds New Adobe and Tasmanian Teal colors as I own those. It appears Parrots Stone Blue is fixed as well from the images on this website. Th... Read Moreis correction makes these shorts a definite five star! Sizing wise, I’m 6’2” 180, 33 waist and the mediums are spot on in the 7” version for me.

April 7, 2019

Pocket issue fixed on some colors!

Huge fan of the Baggies line but was disappointed in the ridiculously deep pockets on the recent shorts (like many others, apparently, lol). I can attest that the pocket debacle has been corrected for the Tradewinds New Adobe and Tasmanian Teal colors as I own those. It appears Parrots Stone Blue is fixed as well from the images on this website. Th... Read Moreis correction makes these shorts a definite five star! Sizing wise, I’m 6’2” 180, 33 waist and the mediums are spot on in the 7” version for me.

April 2, 2019

Great shorts up until last year

I have been buying baggies for awhile now and honestly they are the greatest shorts out there. I wear them nearly everyday in the summer for pretty much any activity. Every year for the last 5 have been great, until last year. They introduced these deeeeeeep pockets which are a bit ridiculous. I understand they want to give us more room to carry st... Read Moreuff, but honestly it just doesn't work. I'll be waiting for next year to see if they fix it.

March 27, 2019

Pockets

I always wanted to be deemed as somebody with deep pockets, but not like this. Not like this.

February 14, 2019

Perfect except for the pockets are too deep

I love the fit, pattern, and durability of these shorts, but the pockets are so deep that they are annoying. Things with any weight, like keys will bounce against my thigh like a pendulum with every step. Such a surprising design flaw.

January 2, 2019

What happened to the pockets??

I have several pairs of these shorts. My wife purchased me two more for Xmas ... I can't wear them. The front pockets are too deep!! You guys need to fix this. I get your emails. Send something out ... Otherwise, I will need shop somewhere else.

December 30, 2018

My best swim trunks

These turned out to be my most expensive and best swim trunks. Very comfortable. Only use them for doing laps in the pool, like my other trunks. Never wear these things casually. So, I am technically ambivalent to the absurd pocket depth, because I never use them. Again, great for recreational swimming.

December 29, 2018

Deep Pockets are terrible

Shirts are made with pockets to your knees!!!

October 22, 2018

Deeeeeeep Pockets

These shorts are amazing and perfect other than the deeeeep pockets. You can not have anything in the pocket and walk around or even get anything out of them when you need it.

October 11, 2018

Need more Fun Hogs pattern!!!

The Fun Hogs pattern is incredible. It would be really awesome to see this on a shirt, maybe even a Pataloha shirt!!!

October 6, 2018

Almost perfect, but major flaw

These could easily be the most versatile shorts in the world if they just had functional pockets. Instead, the pockets are so deep and low you'll literally have to pull the bottom of your shorts up to get to anything in there. If you can see, make your pockets more shallow

September 21, 2018

Pocket is silly

Old shorts amazing. New ones not so much. The pockets are too deep and bang around the knees. The old ones were very deep already but reasonable. Seems they forgot to stitch the seam, manufacturers defect in my opinion. Really disappointed.

September 14, 2018

Embrace the deep pockets!

Perfect length and bagginess. Top 10 gear pieces of all time. Deeeeep pocket, nothing will fall out of them! All these pocket haters are straight trippin. Swimming town long runs, anything! 6’3 190 went with the medium. Found one at the store that’s a deep purple....💜

September 10, 2018

7” men’s baggies

Very disappointed in the longer front pockets this year!!! What are you thinking? I would not recommend these to anyone and I have been wearing baggies since Patagonia started making them. Please go back to the original version with shorter front pockets.

September 8, 2018

Great shorts ruined by pocket design

I love my old baggies. Awesome adventure shorts. New ones have the same great fit and style, but they are ruined by the idiotic pocket design. The bottom of the front pockets now extends to the hem. on the 7" shorts that means anything in the pocket bangs against your knees when you walk, and is hard to fish out. The old ones were far better. ... Read MoreNew ones unusable as anything other than swim trunks with empty pockets.

August 22, 2018

New design disappointing

Was a great product for 20 years! The pockets in the new design go to the bottom of the shorts. The old design had a sewn seam 3 inches up from the bottom of the shorts. The new design results in having to dig your hand so deep into the pocket it cause the waist to drop. Also heavy objects in the pockets drop to the bottom of the pocket at the knee... Read More and bounce off the knee when walking. The old design held items mid thigh which was much more comfortable. I would expect a better design from Patagonia, Instead they decided to cut out the cost of 2 sew lines. They saved a couple cents on sewing, but, disappointingly, lowered the functionality of the shorts.

August 21, 2018

Pockets

Pockets are pretty not rad. I use these in the pool and when running so I carry little things in my pocket when wearing these, but still. Patagonia please fix this. I would also like to see zippers as my items have fallen out a time or two especially in the car.

August 8, 2018

Best Shorts Ever

I own several pairs of these baggie shorts. They are the best. Kayaking, swimming, hiking, casual wear, you name it. Get a pair and you will get more and more.

August 3, 2018

I could fit a ferret in the front pocket

I agree with most of the reviews, these are phenomenally comfortable and versatile shorts, especially for my aging dad body. But that said, not clear on the thinking behind the front pockets. Who wants to have to reach way down to get their cell phone or keys, or rather have your stuff flopping around mid-thigh. Dumb. Fix the pockets for a 5-star r... Read Moreating.

July 30, 2018

Pockets WAY too long

the pockets go to the very end of the pants, which makes it hard to reach and increases the distance your stuff gets flung around with each step. Its so bad that I'm worried I'm going to break either my knee or my phone screen while WALKING.

July 21, 2018

Best ultra short and daily short ever

I like the deep pockets. It’s purposefully engineered with function in mind. An iPhone or valuables remain securely stowed, even when driving and exiting a vehicle. Tough and dependable short during 50+ mile runs. I own nine pairs. Well done, Patagonia!

July 20, 2018

Everyday shorts

I love the bungee loop inside the right pocket and how they made the pocket bags drain/dry mesh corners bigger. However, the only thing I’m not a fan about this years Baggies are the deep front pockets. I’ve owed at least 3-4 pair of these and the front pockets was just fine as it was. I hope next year they’ll switch back the pockets. Still the b... Read Moreest everyday summer shorts!!!!!!

July 8, 2018

Why did you deepen the pockets???

I have several of these shorts. They WERE great,until somebody got the terrible idea to deepen the pockets. I bought a new pair this season and took it back immediately. The pocket goes all the way down to the hem instead of stopping about three or 4 inches above. To get anything I have to put half my forearm into the pocket. I thought this had to ... Read Morebe a one-off mistake but when I went back to the store all the others were exactly the same. I will never get another pair of baggies until you fix this. I see you've gotten a lot of similar comments from your customers. This will be a real test of whether you listen to what your customers have to say. Get on it fast.

June 25, 2018

Please bring back the shorter pockets.

Everything about these are great. They look the part,are quick drying,include a great mesh liner. But this new version has pockets that go all the way down to the bottom of the seam. Raise the pockets 2 or 3 inches,and these are a 5 star pair of shorts. Pretty disappointed with this design change. It seems the other reviews feel the same way,too.

June 19, 2018

Pockets! Pockets!

My wife bought me three pair to replace the ratty ones I wear all the time. The fabric seems the same durable quick drying nylon and the mesh liner looks to be more durable but the deep pockets are a deal killer for me. The cut through the hips also seems slightly tighter than my other shorts. I had to return them.

June 7, 2018

Boo to Mesh Underwear

Very dissapointed with the mesh underwear inside,not very clear this part of the product from the description. Good shorts once this is cut out but the mesh underwear sewn into the shorts makes them useless

June 5, 2018

outstanding shorts!

Wonderful,great-looking and well-made shorts,used for hiking,surfing,yard work,and just walking around. Great shorts to live in as I do with shorts. I have five colors. To the Designers: I have only one issue about these shorts: the side pockets are far too deep. My suggestion,which is an easy fix,is to stitch a line from the front seam stitching ... Read Moreacross to the side seam stitching,and about 4' up from the bottom of the shorts. That way you can easily create a side pocket you can actually use for a wallet or stuff. You only need to do one side of the shorts,preferably on the opposite side of the back pocket so things are balanced when the pockets are filled. And it won't take away from the look of the shorts if the new stitching matches the material. I'm thinking of doing this myself,and if I do,I'll send a pic.

May 28, 2018

Fit great and comfy

Love the baggies shorts,have some baggies pants and they are my favourite for travel and adventures. The shorts don't disappoint,my only problem is the newest version has pockets that's go all the way to the bottom hem which is uncomfortable with things in them. Not a massive deal as I plan on using them mostly as swim trunks.

May 20, 2018

Nooo the pockets!!!!

Perfect shorts until I put my keys in the front pocket. The pocket goes all the way to the knees and even walking around with your keys more than 4 feet is annoying.

May 17, 2018

So,so close.

I went to the Patagonia store with high hopes of walking out with one or even two pairs of baggies. All the features sounded perfect,and they really were,until I slipped my hand into the pocket. They are so deep I seriously thought they had a hole in them. With a company so famous for field testing you start to wonder if anyone actually put them ... Read Moreon to feel what its like to walk around with any amount of weight in the pocket. I'd really like to know what prompted the change to such weird geometry. Really a shame because other than that,they're perfect.

May 15, 2018

Pocket Design Falls Short of Expectations

I had an old pair of baggies that I loved,but I bought a new pair in a new color this season. They are much the same,except for the pockets. The new pockets go all the way down to the end of the short and make anything you put in your pocket hit your upper thigh and knees. It also makes retrieving your items just about impossible. While the qua... Read Morelity,fit,and I am sure longevity of these shorts will be great - the pockets cannot be used. If my phone is in the pocket I have to take my opposite hand to lift the short up from the leg opening and use my the hand on the pocket side to fish it out. As the pockets of these shorts are unusable,I would be reluctant to reccomend them to anyone.

May 11, 2018

Even for girls!

I've worn men's xs baggies forever for rafting trips,yard work,and casual wear. They fit me better than the women's baggies and the fit has been consistent. Now that I'm much older,I prefer less skin showing and appreciate the 7" length option. The inner liner can be easily cut out with scissors. I agree the more recent poc... Read Moreket style is too long. Also easily shortened,but annoying if purchased on a road trip because they are needed to be worn immediately.

May 8, 2018

Pockets too deep in new version of baggies.

I live by the baggies during summer. They've been my do it all shorts for hiking,swimming,walking around town,you name it. I'd give them 5 stars,but for this year's iteration I'm disappointed with the design updates to the pocket length. The bottom of the pockets were moved down to the hem of the shorts as opposed to previous ve... Read Morersion where the bottom of the pockets are raised slightly from the hem of the shorts. When I put things in my pockets they sit at a horrible spot on my thigh and bobble around too much when moving around since they are at a lower position on my thigh. The pocket depth in previous versions placed items at a good location against my thigh when moving. I'm plan on reducing the depth of the pockets by raising the bottom hem line of the pockets to match previous versions.