burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Quandary Shorts - 7" Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14
  • 16
  • 18
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 60 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Quandary Hiking - 7" Inseam Shorts

4.8/5
True To Size
November 15, 2022

Very Comfy

Terrific light weight shorts that fit well with just the right amount of stretch. Great for hiking, golf, and relaxing!

November 1, 2022

Bought for my Wife!

Bought these for my Wife, she wears them all the time and looks hot in them! She mountain bikes in them, mountain climbs in the Sierra, and walks the beach in Santa Cruz with them! Love them like her! K&K

September 14, 2022

My third pair!

These look good and are great for hiking in hot weather. Great pockets for stashing your stuff. My other pairs are 2 years old, worn and washed often and look like new.

September 6, 2022

Perfect size for me. I

Perfect size for me. I would like if it is 2 inches longer instead of 7.

September 1, 2022

Very comfortable

These shorts are lightweight and very comfortable. I find them very flattering and easy to care for.

August 29, 2022

Super Comfy

I wear these and the 5" ones too. They are super comfy and I also wear them during my total knee replacement surgery because they are soft and don't hurt my incision area or knee to pull on and off.

August 23, 2022

Super comfortable, easy to wear.

Super comfortable, easy to wear.

August 16, 2022

Wonderful fit with a little

Wonderful fit with a little stretch. Love the cut and the 4 pockets!

August 15, 2022

I absolutely love these shorts!

I absolutely love these shorts! Theyre incredibly comfortable and allow for freedom of movement whether I am biking, walking, hiking or coaching. Please consider adding more colors!

August 15, 2022

Terrific Hiking Shorts

This are so comfortable and easy to wear while hiking. I ordered the pink, sized up from my usual size, and the fit was great. I purchased for a hiking trip in Ireland, and I wore them a few times without washing -- they held up well. When out to a casual dinner and they looked cute!

August 10, 2022

Currenty runs large

I purchased these exact same shorts last year in a size 2, but this year I had to go down to a size 0. There is no consistency in the sizing between one year to the next. They are great for hiking due to the stretch in them.

August 5, 2022

ideal shorts

I've been adding a new pair of these shorts each year and I now own in most colors. The 7" length is perfect for hiking or everyday summer wear. I love the quick drying material and bit of stretch in them so I can wear for multiple days on a backpacking trip.

August 2, 2022

Nice shorts

It took me a few tries to get the fit right on these shorts, first an 8 in 7" inseam, then a 6 with 5" inseam, finally a 6 with 7" inseam fitting the best. I especially like the hidden drawstring so I can get a better fit. I was leery of the rosehip color but it is pretty and easily matched so I'm not just wearing white with it.... Read More

July 29, 2022

I am really excited to

I am really excited to get these 2 pairs of this style of shorts--with the longer inseam!!--I have nothing but good things to say about having swapped the larger size for the 12 and the efficiency that the customer service dept. dealt with the exchange.

July 24, 2022

Love these shortsL They are

Love these shortsL They are very light and comfortable and great in hot weather.

July 18, 2022

Perfect!

Bought these shorts with a gift card last year and love them so much, I'm back online to order another pair (or two!). I'm 5'7'' and 129 lbs so I have the 8..it's possible I could wear a 6 but don't want to mess with a good thing. If you are an active, outdoor woman, you need these shorts. We all know a smart look... Read Moreing, quick drying, nice fitting, zippered pocket pair of shorts is hard to find!!

July 16, 2022

Favorite

I'm very happy with these shorts, especially because they are functional but also can be dressed up so I can look decent when I'm going out to lunch or something. I am really glad I found them because I really struggled to find any shorts for me that had a longer inseam. I prefer to dress masculine/androgynous and there are very limited c... Read Morehoices when it comes to shorts, since almost all women's shorts are very short and tight, which I don't prefer (why should I have to shave the carpet just so I can dress comfortably in hot weather without, say, keeping my legs crossed like a nice little lady?) Pretty much the only options I've found, except for Patagonia, are tight spandex shorts, or basketball shorts, which are great but only for some things. These shorts are attractive and functional. I would recommend them. I was also happy that the size 0 fit me because I have a 26" waist and a lot of brands have increased the size of their clothes and no longer sell my size, which is further limiting my options when it comes to finding a pair of shorts. I am just really happy that I don't have to keep stressing out about this and the problem has been solved. I wear these and my other Patagonia shorts almost every day.

July 15, 2022

Great material, waists a bit

Great material, waists a bit big, cleans nicely, durable.

July 13, 2022

They are light weight so

They are light weight so great for summer hiking. I especially like the pockets.

July 11, 2022

Comfortable

This is the best shorts I have ever owned! Not tight around the leg. Just a good fit! Lightweight and comfortable! Would order again!

July 11, 2022

Great shorts!

Wonderful shorts! Light weight and love the pockets, including a zipped one. Due to the 1/2 seam, explained by customer service, the same size can vary. I got 2 pairs (stone and rose) and had to get a second rose size 4, due to the seam. Great customer service and the shorts are so comfortable and cute!

July 2, 2022

Feel like butter

Okay. I'm not usually one to write reviews, although I love reading reviews before I buy. I have to say, these are the most comfortable shorts I've ever bought!! They feel like butter, perfect fit, light, and perfect for any outdoor activity. Sadly, I went kayaking, took them off to avoid a weird tan line, hit a current and flipped, and I... Read More lost them through the experience. I got to wear them a whole 3 hours before I lost my most favorite shorts ever! I WILL be replacing them, and probably with all colors because these are definitely a must have and staple! I 100% recommend these! :)

June 17, 2022

New favorite shorts

Fits great, looks nice and always a fan of the stretch material for when you eat more than you hike.

June 15, 2022

super comfortable and pockets are

super comfortable and pockets are great with easy in and out sliding

June 9, 2022

Smart shorts for every occassion

Aside from a wedding or a gala dinner, Id wear these shorts anywhere. Last summer, I bought my first pair and fell in love with how sharp they looked while being incredibly comfortable and fitting. They were so awesome that I got my second pair in pink this year

April 27, 2022

great shorts

These shorts are comfortable, light weight and fit well. I recommend them.

April 17, 2022

Comfortable fit

I took a chance and purchased two pairs prior to a week long trip to Disney World. The fit was as expected. Like most pants and shorts they do get a larger throughout the day, but I had no issues with them thanks to the internal drawstring. These shorts were perfect for long days in the humid Florida weather. I normally wear shorts with a 5 inch in... Read Moreseam, but I wanted to go for a longer short so my legs did not stick to everything I sat on. I found them breathable and a great length. I would definitely recommend these shorts!

April 10, 2022

Very soft, great color

The material on these shorts is beautiful. Very soft and light weight. The color is a dusty rose. Fits loose but comfortable on hips. Thinking about a smaller size but this size is so comfy not sure.

April 9, 2022

GO TO SHORTS!

Love these shorts. I had them when living in Hawaii. I am now in a cold climate and haven't had a chance to use them. I know when it warms up; they will be perfect.

April 6, 2022

Extremely comfortable!

These shorts are very comfortable and stretch when you stretch. I like the large deep pockets, items won’t fall out of them. They are great for when I go for a walk or a hike. I have 3 pairs and will be ordering a fourth pair once they are available. I highly recommend them!

March 15, 2022

Fit well

So far, these fit well, although it's still winter here and haven't had much opportunity to wear them outside yet. My only complaint is that the drawstring should be on the outside of the shorts. With it being on the inside, if you tighten it at all, it makes it pooch out and not lay flat against your stomach. Might have to cut a couple h... Read Moreoles to thread the string through to adjust from the outside. I'm 5'7", 150lbs and bought a size 10.

March 12, 2022

Good Looking Shorts

I love these shorts. I first bought them in the "Army Green". Bought 3 more colors. I love the longer, 7" length. Feels great on the waist; sits below the navel on the hips so they are very comfortable when you sit and bend; no cutting at the waist. Fit same as the Quandry Pants. I love these shorts!!!

February 21, 2022

Super light weight material

I was very pleased with the shorts I purchased. Although I usually wear a 10, I saw from the reviews people were going down a size so I opted for a size 8. They fit me good and we're very lightweight which I wanted. The length were also perfect for work. After wearing them for a couple hours they did get a little baggie in the legs and butt ar... Read Moreea but the waist stayed true to size.

October 3, 2021

Perfect shorts

Great fit. Waist a little large but either a belt or the internal draw string works perfectly. My favorite shorts!

September 16, 2021

Favorite shorts

I LOVE these shorts! They fit well with just enough stretch. I have 2 pair.

September 4, 2021

Best Shorts Ever!

As the title says, "Best shorts ever!" Don't really need to say anything else, but I will! Fit: perfect. Very comfortable at the waste. No pulling when bending, squatting, etc. Water resistant, water beads nicely and runs off. The length is wonderful!!! Just the right length. I like the longer 7" versus the shorter shorts. They ... Read Moreare more comfortable longer and look better than the 5". I have a few pairs of the 5" I bought several years ago before the 7" was available. I'd buy one in every color offered, however, I was too late and only the green was available. The green is a great color, but I want more pairs of these terrific shorts.

August 14, 2021

Comfortable and Versatile

I love these shorts. They are comfortable for walking as well as versatile as they look so nice for everyday wear. They dry quickly as well if Im down near the lake or at a Splash Pad with the kids. I highly recommend.

August 1, 2021

Stylish hiking shorts

Love the longer inseam. It still looks good but provides a bit more coverage. These are hiking shorts but stylish enough to wear for everyday. They run small. I usually wear a size 0 in most brands, in these I bought a size 2. For reference I am 5'5" tall and weigh 104. I have these in tan & grey. Would give 5 stars if they ran true t... Read Moreo size.

July 22, 2021

Exactly what i wanted

The fit was ok bit large but like the drawer string to accommodate style is just right Totally comfortable

July 5, 2021

Runs large

These are very nice, well made shorts as you would expect from Patagonia. However, I originally ordered a size 4, along with a couple other pairs of shorts, also in size 4. The other shorts I got in size 4 for just fine. I had to send these back a get a size 2. The size 4 in these shorts were very baggy...way too big in the waist. The size 2 shorts... Read More fit just fine.

June 26, 2021

Fits great then stretches out

These shorts fit great when I first put them on. I love the length, the stretch of the fabric and the blue color. However, after wearing them for a few hours the waist stretches out considerably. The shorts have a very thin elastic that you can tie to tighten the shorts back up, but it does not compensate for the degree to which the waist band stre... Read Moretches out over the day. I wish I'd bought a size smaller.

Response from Patagonia
July 1, 2021

Hi Robin, thank you for the feedback on the fit and stretch of these pants. If you'd like to try the smaller size out, please feel free to begin an exchange [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 24, 2021

Nice material, but I would order differently next time

I love the material, the fit not so much. Sizing is such a minefield these days, and after reading the sizing info I got a size 8 with the 7" inseam since I needed some longer shorts. In retrospect I should have gotten a 6 in the 5" inseam. The waist is too large and I have to chinch in way in which looks silly and I can only wear shirts ... Read Moreuntucked. The length adds to the overall look of being too large. Since I wore them immediately I can't exchange. Oh well. So perhaps next time I'll order differently and be happier.

June 6, 2021

I wish I'd been told to order a size down

I ordered a size 4 and when I tried them on they were nice and snug, but after wearing for just one day they had stretched out more than a size bigger and hang off of me in a very unflattering way. I would like to return for a smaller size, but now I've already worn them. I love all things Patagonia but would have appreciated more accurate siz... Read Moreing.

Response from Patagonia
June 8, 2021

Thanks for the clear feedback on the fit. You're still welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

May 14, 2021

High Quality - good fit

I first bought this same style in blue. Loved it, so got another color.

May 9, 2021

Classic

Sized perfectly, comfortable, easy to wash, great for travel (Add Travel box to list above.), dries quickly, classic look

May 9, 2021

Feels just right.

Fit is perfect for size.

May 4, 2021

Comfort plus

These shorts hold their shape well and they are very comfortable. They have just enough give to them for ease in moving around. Nice enough to be on the dressy side but very functional.

April 21, 2021

Great Shorts with Stretch

I love these shorts for hiking, walking, and even golf. They have two pockets in back that you can slip a phone in. Two front pockets. They have quite a bit of stretch (even waistband) which adds so much to the comfort. The 6 was a little big for me after you wear for a little bit but I had the tailor take in a tiny bit and they are perfect. I didn... Read More't try the 4 but I am pretty sure they would have been too small. I'm 5'4" and 128 lbs.

April 13, 2021

Fantastic quality

Love the comfort and packability. Super easy to wash and they dry quickly. Color choices are handy for flexibility when wanting to mix up your wardrobe on trips.

April 8, 2021

Comfortable and light weight

Quandary shorts are very comfortable and fit a wide range of body types. I like the internal draw string or the ability to wear a belt.

April 8, 2021

Shorts

The shorts are great fit pretty well. I am 54 135 pounds and they are just a bit on the larger (size 10) size but the draw string helps the waist fit more snug. The pockets in back work good for my phone and the zip picket in back is good for my credit card. Over all I love them not sure if a size 8 would have fit better.

April 8, 2021

Nice shorts

Great shorts. Comfortable and just the right length for my long legs.

April 5, 2021

LOVE SHORTS FOR TRAVEL.

I originally had two pair that I purchased in Hawaii . The shorts were a size 6. I found after wearing them for several years; they were not as 'fit' as I would have liked. This year I bought a size 4 and the fit is much better. Love the shorts for travel ( that We can now do).

March 18, 2021

Comfortable

Ive been wearing Patagonia clothing my entire adult life. These are the first shorts Ive found in several years that fit perfect. Ive been wearing them as soon as they arrived even though it is still really cold. I purchased 3 pair of these.

March 12, 2021

Very Comfortable

I wore these shorts on a 5 mile hike. They are very comfortable, with a lot of give. Theres a lot of swishing noise when the fabric rubs together, but I like the fit and give while hiking.

March 1, 2021

Shorts that last!

Pricey but very comfortable!!

October 11, 2020

Perfect Short

These shorts are so comfortable! They fit perfect. They look like new after washing them.

September 1, 2020

Light Weight

These shorts are a few inches above my knee, very light weight with just the right amount of stretch. I can tell they would be fast drying. I love them, they are perfect for the hot Southeast Texas climate.

August 1, 2020

Just what I was looking for

Good fit, true to size, just the right amount of stretch, simple attractive look.

June 27, 2020

The best shorts

These shorts are awesome they are great for hiking, very breathable and quickly dries. I just bought my second pair I wish I could afford to buy more!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches