Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Garden Island Dress

Write Your Review

4.5 /5

Filter Reviews

All 58 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Garden Island Dress

4.5
February 25, 2021

Love this dress!!

I'm 5'10", small-chested, and around 130 lbs, and the XS fit perfectly! I would normally wear a small, so I suggest sizing down. Love this dress!! Looks good with a jean jacket over too.

February 24, 2021

Great summer dress

I am 52, 120 lbs and the xs is perfect. It is super comfortable, well made and doesnt overwhelm my small size. Hits mid calf. Havent worn it yet cause its winter but am excited to.

February 7, 2021

Flowy for hot weather

I first ordered a medium, because I have a Patagonia tank top that fits rather snugly in that size. But it came and it was laughably HUGE: the bodice hung below my . . . bodice, and I could have been 9 months pregnant and no one would have noticed. I felt like I was wearing a flour sack, and I didn't really like the dusty pink color. So I ex... Read Morechanged it for the small in the grey color, and this one fits perfectly and is the prettiest shades of blues and greys. I'm a 34 C size, for reference, and the bodice is comfortably fitted. Nothing else about this dress is fitted: it billows out and I can't wait to wear it in the Tennessee summer when you don't want anything to touch you. I'm 5'6", and this hits mid-lower calf, which is also what I wanted to be able to keep mosquitoes off/have good coverage if it's breezy. The only downside is that all of the buttons are in the back: the adjustment straps and closure are hard to reach when you have this dress on, and you need to unbutton them to get it on/take it off. Good thing I have kids/a husband to help me out.

December 21, 2020

Versatile comfy dress

Love that this dress can be casual or for work. Its comfortable and easy to wear. Unlike so many linen things that can be itchy when it a super warm, the hemp is super comfortable.

November 23, 2020

So good

awesome flowy fit, So comfy, with pockets!? What more could a girl ask for!?

November 8, 2020

Comfy dress

Love the lightweight/breathable fabric and huge pockets.

September 22, 2020

Great fabric, so comfortable!

Love it so much!! Fabric is substantial and soft. Love the pockets.

September 16, 2020

Comfortable

I liked this dress so much I purchased two of these dresses in different colors. I really like the length. Long and comfortable...love the cotton

September 13, 2020

Love this dress!

This dress is super cute and is great for work and going around in town.

September 13, 2020

Comfortable Dress

This is a nice comfortable summer dress. The straps on shoulder are a little longer for me. But it looks nice.

September 11, 2020

Cute for fall with denim jacket

Bought this for granddaughter. It fit well. It was long on her, midi length. She can wear it to school in the fall with a denim jacket.

September 8, 2020

Favorite!

My new go to! Love it and the fit. Be sure to size down.

September 5, 2020

Great Summer Dress

This dress is super comfortable and is now one of my favorite summer outfits. It does run big. I usually wear S but that was too big so I exchanged for an XS.

September 2, 2020

Perfect for me

Perfect for me. This summery dress has been perfect for traveling, every day wear, going out. So comfortable and I like the way I feel when I wear it.

September 1, 2020

Not really flattering

I love the material but the dress just wasnt flattering, I would honestly like it for when I was pregnant, but I tried both a M and a L and it just kind of compressed my chest while billowing out from the chest down. I like the straps width and the pockets however.

August 2, 2020

Flowy, feminine, and fabulous

This dress is my new favorite clothing item I own! I bought it on a whim, and I'm SO happy with it. The material is thick enough that it isn't see through, but it's light enough to get me through sweltering Tennessee summers. The fit of the dress is very flattering, and it's a very simple thing to throw on, since it doesn't... Read More require a complicated bra or tank top underneath it to smooth lines. I have to stop myself from grabbing it out of my closet every morning because I don't want people thinking it's the only clothing I own. If you're on the fence about it, go ahead and try it! The quality, fit, and style is excellent, and it's the type of dress that I feel is universally attractive on many different body types. I never review things, but this dress deserves applause.

July 10, 2020

Good

I had to have 4 inchs cut off bottom because it was way to long

June 19, 2020

Perfect Summer Dress!

This dress is beautifulperfect for a summer day or evening!

June 17, 2020

Perfect Summer Dress!

Adore this dress. Its the perfect flowing summer dress for hot summer days. I love that the straps are adjustable!

June 5, 2020

Garden goodness

I love this dress. I want one in every color!

June 1, 2020

Super cute and comfortable summer dress!

It was love at first site when this dress first came out last spring. Super cute and comfortable style; a perfect summer dress. I'm 5'5"...so not tall but not short either and the length is perfect. I have a tiny frame but am big busted and the small is fine, if a little tight in the bust but not uncomfortable or unflattering. The on... Read Morely drawback or thing I would try and change are the button straps that go over the shoulder. When you put the dress on, the end of the strap is pushed up and sticks out from under the dress. It's super hard to correct this yourself since the buttons are on the back. The overall look is adorable...including these button straps, but if there's someway you could improve this issue it'd make it even better!

May 6, 2020

Comfortable and cute dress

This material has such a texture and weight. The cut is super comfortable and also cute. I love the wide straps. Perfect to pair with a cardigan or jean jacket. This is a great travel dress!

November 25, 2019

Billowy on petite frames

I wish Patagonia would offer petite sizes, not only for length but for narrower hips and torsos. I know this dress is supposed to fit loosely but for a Small this is almost shapeless on me (X-smalls almost never work out). I like that the straps are adjustable (love the wood buttons) but wish there could have been a way to adjust the fit around the... Read More torso as well. I want to keep it so I may see about adding darts in the back to take the waist in just a bit. Otherwise the neckline is modest and I like that I can still wear a bra under it.

November 22, 2019

Breezy summer dress with some structure

This dress is a great summer option for me! The material is light and the dress is flatteringly fitted on top and forgiving on the tummy and hips. The material is very breathable and feels like fine linen without the wrinkling. I can just air dry the dress without needing to iron it. It also solves a huge summer problem for me: bra straps. The dr... Read Moreess straps are wide enough to hide them! I appreciated being able to find a long, flowy summer dress that I can wear my bra with easily. It’s definitely a more casual look, but wasn’t so “sporty” that it couldn’t be dressed up as needed!

October 11, 2019

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE

This is the first time I’ve ever written a review for anything, but I just received the Dam Blue dress & I’m officially in love with it! So much so that I just ordered the Tasmanian teal one. It’s super comfortable, airy/breezy (yet not frumpy), beautiful color, is not see-through, and has pockets! Perfect for running errands, beach coverup, or... Read More even a casual date night out with the hubs. I’m 5’ 4” and weigh 125 lbs & the XS fits perfect. A tiny tiny bit snug around the bust (I’m 34C-D), but will be fine with a different bra.

August 25, 2019

Fits funny

I really wanted this dress to work, but the area around the bust and under my arms was too tight. I am usually a medium in most things. I am a 36C, so many clothing items that fit otherwise, are too tight on the bust.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2019

We're sorry it didn't work out! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

August 19, 2019

Wish I could have kept it

This dress is lovely and I wish I could have kept it but it just didn't fit my body. I am 5'2" 120 and ordered an xs. I was hopeful that being able to adjust the shoulder straps (brilliant feature) would allow me to make the dress work for my petite frame, but sadly it was just too big and unflattering so I returned. The color and fa... Read Morebric were beautiful and nice quality.

August 18, 2019

Very long

I like the dress very much: the weight and color, but it is very long on me. I’m 5’1”. I bought a medium. I considered hemming it, but I don’t feel like going through the hassle. I will return it.

Response from Patagonia
August 29, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this dress was too long. Please let us know if we can help you with that [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). You can contact us Mon-Fri 6AM-6PM PST and Sat-Sun 8AM-4PM PST by calling 1.800.638.6464 or via livechat!

August 17, 2019

Lovely and Comfortable

This is my second purchase of the same dress. Love the material, it’s great for the summer, light and fast drying. I am 5’6, the length is perfect for me. Perfect for my summer trip in Boston, walking around the city under the sun. And wore it with a cardigan for dinner. The Teal color is lovely, Perfect summer dress! It would be even better if th... Read Moree shoulder straps is sawn Instead having buttons. I suppose it is needed to adjust the length.

August 15, 2019

Lots of compliments on this dress!

Super comfortable, nice generous but not baggy/sloppy fit. Wonderfully breathable fabric.

August 14, 2019

Great casual dress

I knew this would be kinda flowy and loose and it was absolutely perfect. It's a great dress for when it's hot and you just want to feel comfortable and not worry about anything. The pockets are also key - very deep and able to put things in. My boyfriend referred to it as the "little house on the prairie dress" but I absolutely... Read More love it and am happy to have it.

August 13, 2019

Easy, casual dress for any occasion

This dress has been my go-to for the past few months. It's super easy to throw on after a dip, wear to a bbq or bike around town in. The shape is baggy but fitted enough to be flattering. I love the wide straps, and the pockets are deep and essential! Great, easy-going dress.

August 13, 2019

Great dress

Soft, cool, comfortable and easy to wear. Wide straps hide bra. Shape is forgiving but not baggy. Buttons add to the charm.

August 12, 2019

Tight top

This is a super-cute dress, cool and airy with great pockets. However the top (chest) is proportionally too small and tight versus the lower part of the dress.

August 12, 2019

Garden dress

I am very happy with this dress. It is a nice material that works well in warm weather. It is very comfortable and travels well. I purchased a size small. I am 5'4 122lbs. Small chested and small waist but I have all my weight in my thighs and bum. This dress does a great job of hiding all of this without being to baggy. I could have gone to a... Read Moren xsmall but I dont mind it being flowy. I would recommend this dress.

August 11, 2019

Perfect summer dress

Love this dress, it's very easy to wear, looks great, and keeps me cool in hot weather.

August 11, 2019

Beautiful summer sundress

This hit all the marks. Very cool to wear and flattering on. Covers bra straps. Somewhat slim fitting on top which makes you look trimmer in general then floats over your waist or any ‘tummy issue’ you may think you have. Did I mention it has pockets too? I ordered a small. I am about a 6/8 size wise.

August 10, 2019

This dress is so cool!

This dress is so cool!! It's light, airy and comfortable to wear. I love the color options and will wear it year round. I will pair it with a long sleeved shirt in the cooler months.

August 10, 2019

W's Garden Island dress

Bought two & love them! I'm over 55 & they work in my size (xs) just a tad tight on top like other reviewers mentioned but bra friendly. Fabulous material for spring, summer or fall (with jacket). Tricky to care for and to hang dry, but worth the time.

August 10, 2019

Garden island dress

I like a length of dress.,Not too short and long . Ulu is my favorite pattern as living in Hawaii.

August 10, 2019

Best dress!

Cut and sized very well. The dress is so comfortable and easy for day/ office/ or going out.

August 10, 2019

Garden dress

Lovely for the summer time. Fun to wear.

August 10, 2019

Wonderful dress...

Lightweight, beautifully designed and fits perfectly. The material is incredibly soft, wears loose, and flows in the summer wind. The color is stunning.

August 10, 2019

Flowy and free

I love the organic hemp and the color! It’s very comfortable and a well-made. My only complaint is that most times I wear it, I get asked if I’m pregnant:/ It’s so flowy that maybe there’s just a little too much fabric giving that impression. I bought a small, and I would love if it were just a little more slim in the waist, but I understand if tha... Read Moret’s not the intended styling of the dress.

August 10, 2019

Garden Island Dress

I loved this dress so much, that I bought it in another color. It is light and airy—great for hot summer days. I normally wear a size eight. I ordered a size small in this dress. I had to make small alterations: taking in slightly under the arms and raising the straps slightly.

July 9, 2019

Favorite Summer Dress

I looked at this and passed on it earlier this spring/summer, thinking it might look frumpy on my frame, but then I saw a photo of someone wearing it on my local Patagonia store's Instagram! I decided to give it a try and ordered the teal color in case it was see-through (it's not!). I absolutely love it and wear it all the time. I'v... Read Moree dressed it up for a bridal shower and worn it with Chacos to work. I've also worn it on flights, car rides, etc. It's great. Comfy, airy, flowy, perfect for summer! I'm about 5'7 and 130 lbs, small chested and average shoulders, and size small is just right.

July 8, 2019

Adore this dress

Dress fits me perfectly! So light and comfortable for the summer. I'm 5'1 and purchased the small. Unlike previous review I feel the bust in dress fits great for a 32D cup. And who doesn't love a dress with pockets!

June 19, 2019

Purchased all three

It isn’t easy to find a flattering, functional & feminine summer dress and this style hits the mark. Trifecta! The fact that it has pockets makes it absolutely perfect. The design is figure flattering and the colors choices are lovely. Typically I wear a medium, however, the medium was way too big. The small fit perfectly. I intend to get y... Read Moreears of enjoyment out of these dresses. Thank you, Patagonia, for making such an attractive dress. Keep it up please!

June 19, 2019

Great dress on a hot day

I love this dress. I got the blue one. It has pockets, it's loose after the chest area, the pattern is pretty. It's like a fancy hang out dress.

June 18, 2019

Absolutely love this dress but in both the 6 and 8 waist is too tight ~ can't zip any higher

Absolutely love this dress, but . . . Size 6 or 8 looks great when I put it on but it is just too tight at waist seam to zip any higher. The stretchy panels do not stretch at the seam so if they did it might help. I am 62, healthy and physically fit and active but I do not have 20 something body which would allow it zip up I guess. Please consider ... Read Moremaking this dress so it fits a more reasonable range of body sizes.

Response from Patagonia
June 19, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the sizing of this dress. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it and let our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team know if you have any questions.

June 7, 2019

In love

I loooove this dress! Definitely on trend, but everything about it is pretty much perfect. I love the midi length, not too short, not too long. The fabric is light and airy. The fit is flattering AND comfortable, winning! The pockets are actually functional, and dresses with pockets are the BEST! I love that you can adjust the straps in the back. I... Read More got the 'pelican' color and love that I can dress it up or down. The only slight con I can think of is that it is slightly sheer, so choose your underwear/bra wisely :) Can't wait to wear this all summer.

June 5, 2019

Garden Island Dress

This flirty hemp / lyocell dress literally swings as you walk. (Note the cute, happy model showing it off, who looks like Meghan Markle.) In my opinion, this would make a fun, casual wedding dress for a "sweet young thing". Otherwise, for me, it works for all "low-key" summer events.

May 28, 2019

Best summer dress!

I bought it in Pelican, but ordering it in teal as well! As with all Patagonia clothes, if you are a bit chesty, size up. Even though I'm normally a medium, and had to get a large just to button it around my chest (leaving it baggy everywhere else), I still wish I could live in this dress! Side-note: It's a bit sheer.

May 23, 2019

Great design and fabric.

Just ordered a second color since the dress suits my needs to a tee. I'm 5'4 between S and M. I ordered the M as I do not want a close tight fit. The M is low calf on me, adjustable straps allow no worry about being too low-cut. Design is one the best if not the best design Patagonia has had in dresses. Pockets! Breathable! I really love ... Read Morethis dress, it will keep you cool and give coverage. Though I could probably fit in the small, I love the cool breeze drape the M gives me, so I say TTS.

May 19, 2019

LOVE

I got both the teal & the lighter blue ones. I was nervous the lighter blue would be too sheer but it is not. You have to wear white but nbd. Normally I'm a small but I'm losing weight & was able to go with the XS. I'd go a size smaller if you are in-between sizes, esp if you're short (like me). It is a lot of dress. But... Read More to the person who made the button detail on the straps to be functional, I love you. Thank you. I was so stoked when I saw that. It's such a light-weight dress. I was comfortable all day.

May 15, 2019

So Close...Boobs Beware

The fit on this was so close. This is the first XL W's dress that feels true to size for Patagonia. I wear a size 18 and the bottom of this dress fits me perfectly. It's a darling sun dress. The top however, must have been designed for someone who is an A or B cup because I had to un-button every single button to accommodate my chest. I w... Read Moreas so excited when the dress looked like it fit and was heartbroken when it was so incredibly tight in the chest. I could not even salvage this with a camisole, it is too indecent.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2019

Thank you so much for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that it didn't work out for you. Please feel free to send that back to us for a [refund](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). If we can offer any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=customer%20service) with this process, do not hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service Team.

May 12, 2019

Loose Waist and Thin Fabric

I don't find the cut of this dress to be very flattering at all. On the model photos, it looks like the waist in the back is cinched, but it's actually very loose, even if you tighten the straps. For the DAPE color, the colors make the fabric appear thinner than expected and wrinkles are very apparent. I was excited about this dress but i... Read Moret just looks like I'm wearing a cloth sack.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the cut. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it and don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions.

May 8, 2019

Great dress, but not for large bust

I admittedly have a large bust, and this design did not work for me. it fit great everywhere else, love the pockets and the fabric, but totally smashed my chest flat. There just isn't enough room for XL chests in the size XL.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches