Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Sunamee Bikini Bottoms

Write Your Review

4.0/5

Runs Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 57 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Sunamee Bikini Bottoms

4.0/5
Runs Small
August 1, 2021

Perfect swim bottoms

So happy with these. Fits nice and stays on during long ocean swim and surfing. The protection sticker was difficult to remove and left a sticky marking until washed several times. Please make these in several colors with matching top. Thanks Patagonia for making high quality clothing that lasts and I really appreciate your eco approach too.

June 23, 2021

Love the fit!

I love how there are no tight edges to this suit. I purchased a medium but ultimately after 10 days in the ocean needed to buy a small because it was already stretching out. I did size up to a medium initially, so it was more me not wanting too tight of a fit to start, rather than it stretching out too much. Very flattering, not too skimpy and supe... Read Morer cute.

June 11, 2021

Sticky!

Ive seen several other reviews mention this but I dont feel its resolved. Patagonia swim bottoms suddenly started having really sticky, hard to remove hygiene guards 3 or so years ago. They dont come off easily and they can leave the whole bottom sticky. I have been able to remove it with white vinegar but dont want to do this. It didnt happen man... Read Morey years ago, and I think its a product change. I dont want to stretch and damage the material and I dont want to waste my time cleaning something that hasnt even been worn.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2021

Hey there, we're so sorry to hear of the troubles with residual adhesive from the hygienic liner. Should you have a change of heart and choose to remove this yourself, spray or rub isopropyl alcohol onto the affected area until it is saturated, then, rub the area until the adhesive comes off. After that, wash your suit as normal and hang it to dry. We understand that this can be burdensome, and if you decide that you'd rather not clean it yourself, feel free to [send it back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Our quality control team is already looking into the issue.

May 23, 2021

STICKY!

I've seen a few other reviews mentioning this, but I'm hoping there has been a resolution to the glue from the hygiene liner ending up stuck to the fabric! I love the color, fabric and fit of these bottoms, but my crotch is an area that I definitely don't want in contact with sticky adhesive. Any suggestions other than rubbing alcoho... Read Morel?

Response from Patagonia
May 24, 2021

Hi Andrea, that sticky residue is a pesky and if you're not in favor of rubbing alcohol, go ahead swap it for white vinegar. That should do the trick!

May 13, 2021

Stays in place!

This bikini bottom is so cute! It stays in place even in the ocean. My only complaint is that it's a little low cut in the front. Other than that, really like it!

April 2, 2021

Nice bikini!

I wore it on the beach for a week on and off and it's a well made product. I thought the seams would be too tight on my bottom, but it was not actually. Pleased with the quality and design.

March 30, 2021

Bikini bottoms panty liner

I was super excited about these only to peel the panty liner sticker off and cannot for the life of me get all of the sticky glue off of the crotch of the bottoms even after I washed them :( Maybe try a different liner?

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Hi Sara, we apologize about the adhesive on your new bathing suit bottoms. To remove this, spray or rub isopropyl alcohol onto the affected area until it is saturated, but not dripping. Then, rub the area with your fingers, a paper towel, or the suit itself until the adhesive comes off. Once the adhesive is removed, wash your suit as normal and hang it to dry. If you find that this does not effectively remove the residual adhesive, please reach out so that we can assist you with an [exchange/return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 28, 2021

Strange fit

I run a medium in all Patagonia bottoms, including underwear and pants etc, occasionally a small, but these ran super tight. The cut just seemed off, and sizing up did not fix it.

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2021

Hello Laurel, we're truly sorry these didn't work out even when sizing up. Our sizing and designs are constantly being revised and customer's feedback is one of the contributing factors to these changes, so receiving messages like this really helps us improve. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us!

March 27, 2021

The only bottoms I wear

I love the sunamee bottoms and have several pair. They are flattering, fit well, dont move around and give me the coverage I need. I dont have to worry that theyll shift while Im swimming and they last a long time. Yay!

March 16, 2021

Gross! Gooey glue from "hygienic liner" never washed out.

When I pulled off the "hygienic liner", it left a thick layer of glue on the suit. I tried washing it out, first by hand, then in the washer, without success. It's so gross and makes the bottoms utterly useless to me. Other than that, the bottoms are fine but not as nice as they used to be. I started buying these bottoms years ago to... Read More wear with the Kupala bikini top. I LOVED both pieces. The Kupala top was discontinued, sooo sad. The Sunamee bottoms have also changed - the stitching and fit are not quite as nice but they're still a good basic bottom with a good medium amount of coverage.

March 15, 2021

Best bikini bottom

Perfect cut, stays put and great material. Im joking that I wear it to work and skiing but those choices made me giggle so I kept them. I use the bikini bottom to swim in- in the ocean and the pool. Im 56, 145lbs, athletically built with some menopause middle happening. Ive been a fan of this style for years now.

February 27, 2021

Love the blue and fit

So happy with these bottoms- ordered the blue and they look exactly as depicted. I sized up after reading other reviews and am so pleased that I did. The coverage is moderate, but had I purchased my regular size, I wouldve felt they were too revealing. Very pleased with my purchase.

January 17, 2021

Great fit

Size guide is true, fits true to size. Ordered Bayou Blue and the color is great. Stays put, too.

December 23, 2020

Comfortable

These bottoms have just the right coverage, not too skimpy. They are so comfortable and soft, unfortunately the matching top just isn't sized properly so I'm returning them both.

December 18, 2020

Great fit and solution for sticky

Hi folks - this is my first time with this product, and I find the fit and performance great (just use for swimming, not surfing, but swimming not option in review). Would definitely recommend the product. But the liner was so sticky, I had a hard time removing it. But heres a solution - I just wore it inside out the first time, and when I took it ... Read Moreoff, most of the sticky was gone, and was super easy to rub the rest off. But I agree, dont understand why such a strong adhesive to begin with.

October 5, 2020

Fit well

Needed for swimming & paddle boarding. They fit like a medium. I like the cut that doesn't go too high at the front & medium coverage at the back. They fit like a pair of comfortable underwear. I needed these to replace an 8 year old bikini.

September 18, 2020

Extremely Comfortable

These are so great, I ended up purchasing them in three colors! They are great on the beach and stay in place while swimming/surfing.

September 6, 2020

low and small

This fit is made for those without any kind of rear end. Seriously, I am petite, athletic, and not large but these bottoms are made for waifs.

September 2, 2020

Nicely made

These were well constructed and fit true to size...but at 58 I felt the rise was just a little too low for me. Coverage in the back was adequate for a 50 something though, and I probably would have kept them but the top I bought them to go with was too small ️

September 1, 2020

Runs small

I usually get a size Small in bathing suits. But this one fit supet tight and didn't quite cover my glute cleft. I returned and got a Medium. The medium fits me better. I still have last year (or year before?) suit from Patagonia that fits me fine. So, I don't think the issue is that I've gotten any bigger. You might consider order... Read Moreing one size larger than your usual size.

September 1, 2020

Great

This is a great bottom. It fits great and looks great!

August 4, 2020

enduring favorite

I like this "new" version of the sunamee bottom just as well as the old one; I don't find them to be that different in fit. It's a bit skimpy, but for some reason it just works. I wear a medium or 6 or 8 in most brands and take a L in this bottom (but a M in Patagonia swim tops).

July 4, 2020

Comfy but sticky

Let me start out by saying these bottoms are so soft and so comfy! That being said, I read reviews that the sticker on the suit left stickiness that does not go away in washing. With the amount of reviews I read about this, I imagined that Pategonia had fixed the problem. Unfortunately, they have not. My suit is in the wash right now and I hope it ... Read Moreremoves the residue but we will see. This definitely needs to be something that should be looked into. I really want to keep the bottoms, and not return them - but I hope I dont have a problem wearing them after washing.

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2020

Hi Whitney, we're very sorry to hear about the residual adhesive on your new bathing suit bottoms. To remove this, spray or rub isopropyl alcohol onto the affected area until it is saturated, but not dripping. Then, rub the area with your fingers, a paper towel, or the suit itself until the adhesive comes off. Once the adhesive is removed, wash your suit as normal and hang it to dry.

June 22, 2020

Sunamee Bikini Bottoms - Saffron

High quality, great fit, favorite color! Comfortable and cute - I love these bottoms.

November 22, 2019

Great Suit for

...serious swimmers.

November 22, 2019

Rock bottoms

These bottoms fit well. Patagonia has kept a good thing going these bottoms.

October 30, 2019

Good fit and good weight

The material is a good weight. The style is a good fit with a full coverage bottom. The waist is low rise, not super low, but as described hip to hip. I was hoping it would be more mid-rise, allowing more belly coverage. Like another reviewer noted, the hygiene liner left a difficult to remove residue. I used the removed hygiene liner over and over... Read More on the residue and this worked to remove all of it. I do not know how it would have come off of the fabric had I not known this trick. This was inconvenient and time consuming to deal with. Patagonia: Please use less sticky hygiene liners. Please consider more colors, solid white, solid light gray or light gray heather, light to medium greens, and consider a mid-rise style. The palms of heart-light violet blue is more blue than purple on the exterior with the palms. I bought the bottom to match the light violet purple Kupala bikini top and it didn't match, even though it has the same color name.

September 30, 2019

Awesome suit, but check the fabric pattern...

I ordered this suit in two different prints (palms violet and parrots navy blue). The parrots print was super cute, except almost all my parrots were upside down... I couldn't stop laughing at myself and my upside down parrots, so I returned this one. Maybe it was a fluke, but check your print!

September 24, 2019

Sunamee Bottoms have always been great

I had my first pair of Sunamee bottoms many years ago and still absolutely love their fit, especially when you like to be active at the beach. They are just really comfortable.

September 21, 2019

Love the fabric, fit and

Love the fabric, fit and feel of these bikini bottoms. Patagonia feels better than any suit I've ever purchased. THANK YOU!

September 19, 2019

Love Patagonia bathing suits2

Whoops! Left a review for the entire suit on just the top! Love their bathing suits on the whole. They are comfy, stay put, and are cute. Just wish, they didnt use such a sticky hygiene sticker on the bottoms! It leaves a sticky residue:/

September 10, 2019

Bring back the old style and cut!

I bought these because I really liked the old cut of these bottoms for surfing because they stay on in heavy surf. These new ones are much skimpier (barely cover my C-section scar) and don't feel nearly as secure. I ended up exchanging the Mediums for a Small because they feel like they'll stay on better for shortboarding in bigger surf, ... Read Morebut they feel a tad small. I will keep them only because I don't have a better choice but am not that happy with them. Patagonia, please bring back the old style and cut because now all your bathing suit bottoms are on the skimpy side and not very functional for active sports.

September 5, 2019

Good fit

Good coverage on the bum area, which is important to me! Very comfortable also!

September 5, 2019

Comfortable Sporty Cute Suit

This swimsuit is one of my best purchases all year—comfortable for the active beach goer but still very stylish, it will be in my regular swim rotation. The only complaint I have is that it took me until the end of summer to find and buy it!

September 3, 2019

Super comfortable and stay-put fit

I love these bottoms! They are great for swimming laps or jumping into the rough Pacific Ocean waves.

September 2, 2019

Bottoms

Bathing suit bottoms tighter than anticipated for size

August 29, 2019

New swimwear

Love the swim wear but it’s just a little on the small size. I always wear sizes s but these pieces are very skimpy.

August 18, 2019

Love this suit - just bought my 3rd one!

Top and bottom are both super comfortable. They have enough coverage and the top is really secure so it’s great if you are doing more than sitting on the beach. I don’t worry about losing my top swimming, SUP or playing kadima. I now have 3 of these suits. I’m 5’4, 110 lbs, 34A and the small top and bottom fit well.

August 15, 2019

Swimsuit bottoms

They are incredibly comfortable. Other reviewers mentioned how small they run...true! I normally wear size 4-6 in clothes and ordered a large. I’m happy with my swimsuit.

August 12, 2019

Leah

Loved these bottoms. Just enough coverage and stays put!

August 12, 2019

Leah

Love the bank grip swim top. Stays in ace and has great coverage. Felt like it might run a bit big, but with nano grip it won’t be going anywhere.

August 11, 2019

Bad sizing

I am 5’6” and 135lb’s and am a size 4-6. Why on earth I need to buy a large is beyond me. Your sizing is way off. This does not help women feel ok about their size. The product itself is great but let’s not go with the rest of society and keep making sizes smaller. Patagonia, you are better than this!

June 13, 2019

Really nice! Run slightly small

Love these! Like others say, the coverage is moderate, but that's what I was looking for. They are very secure they just aren't full coverage. The right amount in my opinion. I purchased XS and S and found the S to fit better!

June 13, 2019

Great swim piece!

I bought these swim bottoms alongside the Bottom Turn Top to wear as an alternative to my one piece suit for swimming training for a triathlon (open and lap swimming), and I am pleased with my purchase! The material is soft, comfortable, and fits like a second skin. Many people have reviewed that this product runs small, but I felt it ran true to s... Read Moreize. Granted, I'm 5'10", weigh 135lbs, and have an athletic/sinewy build (normally wear sizes XS-M depending on the brand). The waist band did seem like it was low when looking at it in the mirror, but I haven't worn a two piece in a while and there weren't any issues with it while actually swimming. Overall, I'm satisfied with this purchase.

March 15, 2019

Best Bottoms

This is my first time purchasing swim wear from Patagonia (so I can't compare to the previous versions), but I was really pleased with how these bottoms fit. I have tried on similar style bottoms from other brands, and I think these are the most flattering of them all.

March 4, 2019

No problems!

I saw a lot of negative reviews for this, but most of them seemed to be coverage issues, so I decided to give it a try. I am just using these bottoms casually (beach, snorkeling, etc.) I got my usual XS, and while they are slightly more snug, I feel that they fit very well! I feel like everything is covered and the suit stays on, no issues with sli... Read Morepping. I would recommend!

March 2, 2019

Bring back the old one!

This has always been my favorite bottom. I bought it last year and it was saggy and the fabric bunched. After swimming it was terrible and it definitely did not stay put in the waves. I just bought it again hoping it changed but it’s still terrible. Bring back the old style!

February 15, 2019

Coverage lacking

These were cute in theory, but not full coverage for those with bigger bums, a bit too low rise for me, and I wasn't confident of the waistband grip. Bummer. I did think it fit TTS, size up gave more coverage but more loose in the waistband.

September 6, 2018

Please, Please, Please bring back the old Sunamee!!

Like others have said, these are a HUGE departure from the previous Sunamee bottoms. I have three of the previous version which I am now meticulously caring for until I find a new bathing suit style I like.

April 22, 2018

Teeny tiny with poor coverage

I was so excited to receive this swimsuit before a trip to Panama. After trying them on,I was disappointed to see how small they were. I'm a solid size 6 (skier/biker thighs) with a 27" waist with a curvy physique. The bottoms didn't come close to covering my behind. And these were supposed to be "full coverage?" Not cool,P... Read Moreatagonia.

April 16, 2018

New design does not fit well

I've been being the sunamee bottoms for 8 years and they have been my go to bikini. I was devastated to receive this "new" version of the surname bottom as the fit is terrible. They are way too low cut front and back. Will be returning them. So disappointed - I now have to find another go to bikini

February 23, 2018

Small fit

Didn't like the fit in the back. Felt like it was too low and didn't provide enough coverage. I'm in my early 50's and want my backside covered. The matching top was fine in a size small. Sending back.

February 18, 2018

These are not better!

I've been buying the Sunamee bottoms for about 10 yrs now because they were always such a nice full coverage bottom. They've been getting smaller and smaller over the years and the new style with the full liner is horrible. It makes the fabric slip against each other and consequently doesn't stay in place. I surf a lot and go through... Read More bikinis pretty quickly because of it. They used to be the best choice for me but they don't work anymore. Please go back to the original cut that you had with just the crotch liner! I hate it when I find something that works and then it gets redesigned.

September 10, 2017

Comfortable!

These are great bottoms for comfort and style! The colors are true to picture also

August 19, 2017

Superb

Super comfortable bathing suit bottoms. Run a little small so size up. Perfect for the beach. They don't fall off!

August 3, 2017

Horrible new design,fit and material

I purchased 2 suits...same style that I purchased last year. Only this year the Sunamee bottoms had changed both in the elastic band at the top and the material. I live in Mexico so my bathing suits are my daily attire. I could tell immediately that this suit would not last even a few months and at the price...they should hold up for at least a sea... Read Moreson. Very disappointed.

June 14, 2017

Solid

I'm very happy with these! they just arrived. They are very solidly constructed,feel great - snug but not constricting - and they stay put no matter how much I move. Haven't tested them in the water yet. I ordered based on the size chart and I'm very happy with the fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches