Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Tough Puff Pants for Fly Fishing

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 45 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Tough Puff Pants for Fly Fishing

4.6/5
June 22, 2022

Warm & Comfortable!

Wore these pants under waders while fishing for 15 hrs a day, for 6 days straight. Water temps were 49 degrees and these pants kept me warm, and allowed the waders to breathe. After fishing, they were the perfect pant for lounging around the lodge. Highly recommend!

May 8, 2022

Like them so much I'm buying a backup pair.

Initially got these for the colder months of fly fishing, but they quickly became the pair of pants I reached for every morning. Perfect for throwing on first thing in the morning to take the dog for a walk, sit around camp, or wear under ski pants on REALLY cold days. Could not love these things more.

May 1, 2022

Nice pant

In general I like the pants; very comfortable and warm At 56 with a 32 waist, having only a 32 in seam is not ideal; that is a medium waist with a 30 or 31 in seam would fit better. With the longer in seam I feel like I have to keep pulling up the pants.

March 9, 2022

Small fit

Incorrect sizing of medium. Order a size up for safe measurements. Sizing is a bit off.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

Thank you for sharing this review, Kam. We're sorry that fit wasn't right for you! Thank you for returning them, since they weren't going to work for you. Please let us know if we can be of any further help!

March 2, 2022

The pants I have been dreaming of.

Well its a home run here people. This pant was designed for fly fishing but it seems I have not taken them off all day. So comfortable and well designed. I actually wore them out to dinner.

February 28, 2022

Tough puff pant

These pants performed wright out of the bag. I have fished ( we have 2ft. of snow on the ground ) twice and used under my ski pants at least 10 times. Soft and comfy, light and packable.

Response from Patagonia
March 8, 2022

Thanks for your review, Mark! With great [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html), we hope these pants are a staple in your wardrobe for many years to come.

February 7, 2022

JUST what I hoped for

Ok, I'm on a perpetual goldilocks journey when it comes to my kit. Clothes neither too small NOR large, neither tight nor baggy, nor hot or cold, but JUSSST RIGHT. These pants have earned a spot on that team. Warm enough (and good looking enough) for outerwear down to about 10-15 degrees, but not so warm I have to take them off indoors. Not v... Read Moreery bulky and will easily fi under waders or hiking pants. I normally have a TERRIBLE time finding pants that fit a 33" waist yet have enough room through my butt and thighs...I'm almost always between a medium (waist) and large (thighs/glutes). However, these fit PERFECTLY. The medium is roomy enough through glutes and thights, perfect at the waist and a SLIGHT taper at bottom of leg (no skinny jeans or leggins fit here). Note, the sizing is CONSIDERABLY different than the R2 tech face pants I tried. The medium R2 looked spray painted on and is going back.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2022

Hey, Jack! Thank you so much for sharing this review. We're so happy that you've found your Goldilocks pants! And as you probably know, you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that isn't Just Right!

January 24, 2022

Part of my new winter uniform

I was surprised by how well this fit since I'm a relatively small person and sometimes Patagonia shirts are boxy on me. I'd say it's on the smaller side of the size spectrum. After wearing it for a day, I ordered two more and am planning to wear them at work. It's nice to have a work-appropriate sweater that performs well cyclin... Read Moreg and hiking.

January 9, 2022

Real warm for fly fishing

Perfect for wading, will probably buy another pair.

January 9, 2022

Super warm, so comfortable

Full in legs for those who work out and have larger legs!!

January 4, 2022

Unbelievably warm and comfortable

Just purchased my second pair of tough puff pants. Warm, comfortable, light weight, I wear them under waders, on my walks, doing yoga and just hanging out. I home office writing fiction and non fiction. The tough puff are my muse on many cold days. I purchased the second paid afraid the model may disappear. Heck, I may go for three. Treat yourself ... Read Moreto a superior, multi use garment. You wont be disappointed.

December 20, 2021

Great Pants

Even though I bought them for under my waders they are so comfortable I wear them to lounge around in.

December 11, 2021

Why not 5*?

Everything perfect save it for the thighs a bit baggy for the length of pant. Would use for beyond fly layer in casual wear but it almost looks like Im sagging on purpose. As far as underneath my waders, couldnt ask for a better product.

November 21, 2021

Excellent pants for cold weather/water days

These are the best pants I have owned for wearing under waders in cold weather. Extremely comfortable pants that are unrestrictive.

November 10, 2021

The under wader pants you want!

Ive tried multiple under wader pants and these are hands down my favorite. They actually feel like each leg is in a super comfy sleeping bag. The added belt is a great addition too. I just wish they were a bit slimmer cut in the legs if I had to be picky. Great warm pants!

November 9, 2021

Waist runs small.

I purchased a medium. Allegedly medium is supposed to fit up to a 33 waist. Im a 32 and the waist is very tight so Id size up.

November 9, 2021

Fits great

With the tapered leg at the ankles, I no longer have to tuck my pants into my socks before I put my waders on. I have plenty of range of motion and the pants are warm but not too hot.

November 5, 2021

comfortable

These tough puff pants ate very comfy but if your using them for late season or winter steelhead under your waders find something else! I just tried these for the first time on Nov. 1 on a Great Lakes river and I nearly froze in them. I'll be wearing them again with a heavy base layer and hoping for better results. For the price I would have e... Read Morexpected way warmer. Probably fine for water in the 60's but not any colder.

Response from Patagonia
November 12, 2021

Hey Brad, thanks for leaving us a review on the Tough Puff Pants! We're so sorry to hear that these were not warm enough for you. It's hard to pinpoint what will work for each individual, since some of us run hot and others cold. These pants have 60 g's of FullRange synthetic insulation, but we can see how they might not hold up well to weather on the Great Lakes at this time of year. Layering up with a baselayer is a great idea! The Men's Capilene Thermal Weight Bottoms or the [Men's Capilene Air Bottoms](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-capilene-air-bottoms/36555.html?dwvar_36555_color=BLK&cgid=mens-baselayers-air) would be great options.

November 4, 2021

Seem fine

I'm not a fisherman but I plan to use these white water rafting and light winter climbing. They seem tough, and warm, though I wish they had and an adjustable closure on the legs. Probably not issue inside waders but I don't on waders

October 20, 2021

Tough & Cozy

I was surprised how soft these pants are. Super light/supple and don't make a sound as you walk. A great fit, not too baggy not too tight. Very versatile. I mainly wear after fishing on cooler afternoons/around camp fire. No detail left out & warm without bulk. I also feel confident walking through light brush without worry of snagging. Th... Read Moree toughness is there as well! Just wish for more colors!

September 18, 2021

Awesomeness

These are great warm pants under waders and you can get away with them around camp or the lodge.

September 13, 2021

You need these pants

Incredible. Comfortable, warm, deep lunge certified. Spend the money, buy these pants. They are life changing, incredible product. Well done Patagonia! Perfect for fishing and everyday wear.

September 8, 2021

Cozy

These are a great layer under bibs or waders. Cold wet days are made a lot better with these on in the river. Just got back from Alaska and was glad to have them!

June 23, 2021

EZ layer

Perfect under layer for waders. EZ on and off! Just right weight for spring and fall fishing. And great around the csbin in Idaho. Thank you

May 21, 2021

My Tuff Puff Pants

The Tuff Puff pants are absolutely the best, warmest, most comfortable pants or layering piece that I've ever worn under my waders. The pants are not snug or pulling like long johns and look good after the fishing for around the bar or campfire. I've ordered a couple of back-up pairs because an item like this doesn't always last long... Read More. Often times, when you get ready to reorder or replace them, the item is gone. This is an amazing product and I am so glad that I found them!

April 10, 2021

These bottoms are tops!

Perfect layering for under waders and for before and after fishing warm lounging.

April 8, 2021

Super warm

Really happy with these pants. Especially great for wearing under waders and hanging around camp!

April 7, 2021

Favorite pant, bought two!

I've had a ton of friends have puff pants over the years and I finally bought some of my own. Love that the tough material made its way to the puff pant, as that was one concern of mine with the pants before. I wish the pockets were easier to get my hands into, maybe a less vertical entry would be better. Otherwise, they are incredible and do ... Read Morewhat the description says. They are super warm so be sure that it is going to stay cold all day before you throw them on under any waders or shells. I ended buying another pair so I could have a fishing/camping pair and a casual couch surfing pair.

March 17, 2021

Best under wader pants ever.

These are easily the best under wader pants Ive ever worn. Ive been living in them since I got them. They are very warm yet very breathable and super comfortable under a pair of waders. Even if my waders leak a bit I stay warm. The built in belt works great and they are stretchy enough to move well while fishing. Fit seems a bit baggy at first but ... Read Moreyou soon realize thats by design. The fit allows them to retain a bit of loft and therefore warmth. They look like regular sweat pants and I wear them into the store and to grab a bite to eat after fishing.

March 14, 2021

Not that warm

Honestly these are good wading pants. Id prefer an elastic waste for tucking in layers. I have much warmer wading pants but theyre warm Enough

March 13, 2021

Warm and comfortable

I wear these under my waders steelhead fishing in 40 deg water. Wore them skiing in Crested Butte last week under outerwear bibs in 2 degrees and I was very warm. Very comfortable and keep them on after skiing in the cabin.

March 10, 2021

Great piece of clothing

At a friends recommendation I purchased a pair, and I was glad I did. Fits great and feels good. For a change it was true to size.

March 8, 2021

They are comfortable. I used them while fishing from my kayak.

They were comfortable to fish in and keep me warm . I also liked the fact that they are water repellant especially while kayaking in the winter. I have not worn them under waders yet ,and am looking forward to being warm while wading in cold spring waters. I am 510 tall and weigh 150 lbs. ( slender) and these pants are somewhat baggie . The length... Read More is good and waist is adjustable . Great job.

March 2, 2021

Great Product

Back from a week on the Olympic Rainforest hunting winter Steelhead. All kinds of conditions from low 30s to high 50s and chilly waters. Absolutely perfect under waders. Not to warm not to hot. Very comfortable. Another home run guys.

February 24, 2021

lightweight and warm

Although the fit wasnt very appealing to the eye, once you wear it, it is super lightweight as well as warm. perfect for the chilly weather. It is also true to size and doesnt run down your legs.

February 22, 2021

Too big

Ordered size M of these based on the fit chart looking for a 31 waist. Actual is more like a 34 and way too roomy. Will return and try the S. Hope it works because these look like the ticket for cold days in the boat.

February 20, 2021

super tough puff

Tough puff pants are incredibly toasty warm and comfortable. I wear them for winter fishing and XC skiing. Today I wore them under my Swiftwater waders, air temp 26 degrees, north breeze, water temp 36 degrees with floating icebergs. I fish from my knees which allows me to get close to trout rising to midges in Montana's Madison River. A pant ... Read Morethat can keep me warm for an hour and longer as 36 degree water flows at waist level is certainly doing its job. The pant is so comfortable I wear it around the house, chopping and splitting firewood, going to the store, and XC skiing as well. I've put the pants to the test and they have lived up to their title of "Tough Puff" as well as proving warmth and comfort.

February 17, 2021

Never taking them off

I haven't had a chance to wear these under my waders yet, but I'm already wearing them constantly around the house and out walking the dog. I can tell they'll be my go-to pants for camping as well. They're just so light and comfortable. I only have two nitpicks: I wish there was a long size, but I'm skinny with long legs so... Read More I'm used to that struggle. I also wish the front pockets were the "slant" style rather than the jeans style. Maybe items would fall out more often, but I think it would make the pockets much more usable overall. Neither of these issues are worth bumping it down to 4 stars though.

February 12, 2021

Perfect fit

These pants are very true to size. Im 6,2 with a 31 inseam. If I had ordered the xxl they would have been to baggy. Super warm under waders. Fished all day in the cold in Western NY with daytime highs in the 20,s.

February 12, 2021

Not just for fishing!

I bought these because the Nano Air pants were out of stock, but am happy with them, particularly because they are tougher than the Nano Air pants. I have worn them on a winter hike in Maine (zero degrees fahrenheit), and their shell broke the wind nicely (though not completely, and provided protection against minor abrasion. I also have worn them ... Read Morecasually at home on cold winter nights, and plan to wear them on winter expeditions when very cold (especially in camp at night). The only think I would change is to make the ankles a bit wider to be able to pull down over boots (thus not always needing gaiters), perhaps with enough elastic, or some sort of velcro flap and gusset arrangement. (Note that my true height is close to, but under 5'10", so size medium makes sense.)

February 6, 2021

Not just for wearing under your waders.

I know these pants are supposed to go under my waders, but I doubt they will stay there. Here in Virginia, we are fortunate to fish and guide year-round. Last year my go-to winter jacket was the Tough Puff hoodie. When I saw these Tough Puff Pants pop up on the radar screen, I figure they would be just the ticket for wearing under my waders. And, ... Read Moreof course, they are. But, as soon as I put them on, I knew they were likely to see more daylight than the inside of my waders. Here's the deal. Winter weather here in the Shenandoah Valley is changeable. One day it's 19 degrees at 6 a.m., and the next day it's 30 degrees. Each morning, usually before sun up, I take my dog out for a stroll as the first cup of coffee is brewing. We go regardless of the weather. Not having to do more than pull on warm, weather-resistant pants (thanks DWR finish) is a joy. Truth be told, most of the time, I keep them on all day. They are not only comfortable, but they are also good looking, so I don't mind running errands in them. The stretchy fabric means it moves when I do inside or outside of waders, enhanced by the gusset crotch and articulated knees. The durable face fabric resists snags and tears from working around the house or yard. The deep from pockets are one of my favorite features. Deep front pockets mean things stay put and don't go missing when you climb in and out of your vehicle or sit and stand up. If you have waders on, you will appreciate the opening's angle; it makes access to whatever is in them when you do the contortionist thing when you have your waders on. If you know, you know. A few other things I like are the zippered back pocket to keep my wallet secure, the built-in belt to snug them up when loaded with stuff in the pockets, a zipper fly for when nature calls and tapered ankles, so they slip into the waders or boots without bunching. Can't think of anything I'd change. They work as advertised.

February 5, 2021

Versatile, wicked comfy

For around the house, around town, around camp, under waders, and cold-weather climbing and skiing days - these are great. The pockets and durable face fabric make these more burly and versatile than the nano-air pant. Functionally, these are very similar to the nano-puff pant but more fine tuned for under wader wear. I'm 5'9, 155 lb, 30&... Read Morequot; waist and the Small fits perfectly.

January 28, 2021

Superb Pants

Soft, comfortable, air tight, ...love its hug. If it is anything like all my other Patagonia stuff, it will last for decades... Doc Adams

December 22, 2020

Warm and flexible

I bought these to wear mostly for Great Lakes steelhead fly fishing. These are very warm for how light weight they are. One really great thing I noticed is how flexible the fabric is. Which is important when layered under stiff waders. Hiking in and out of spots I feel free range of movement. They keep me relatively warm in extremely cold rivers.

November 5, 2020

Very light

This is the best underwear pants that I have ever head. They are very light and extremely warm. I have ordered another pair for my brother in low.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches