Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Swiftcurrent Waders

Write Your Review

4.0/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XSS
  • SSS
  • SRM
  • MSS
  • MRM
  • MLM
  • LSS
  • LRM
  • LLM
  • XRM
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 19 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Swiftcurrent Waders

4.0/5
May 23, 2022

legs+foot fine-bodice swallow me up!;)

my last Patagonia waders sprung a slow leak after years of use;and tho i successfully repaired -not sure it will last and these looked more stylish/ better fitbut alas, maybe waders cant fiti do like the little string pulls and the new-sealable hand warmer pocket and of course: who cares about anything other than staying dry on cold weather fishing... Read More days!

Response from Patagonia
May 25, 2022

We appreciate your feedback on our Swiftcurrent Waders! Please know that you may send your older waders back to our [Repairs Department](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Wader-Returns-Repairs) and they'll be happy to evaluate them and see if they can improve the performance. Turnaround time for wader repair is currently about three months. Thanks for your review, Addie!

May 15, 2022

Functional Fit, with room to layer up.

These are the perfect wader; they have plenty of room to layer up and fit well. Happy as always!

May 4, 2022

Too baggy

So i have high hopes on these waders. I have had the old simms G3 waders for years and gained some weight and needed new waders... shucks. So i went with these after carefully taking all measurements. I loved the quick drop feature that simms doesn't have. When they arrived, i love them, until I put them on. They were baggy up top and down th... Read Moree legs. The drop feature was nice to go to the bathroom ladies, but the back of the quick drop does not stay up nicely, the waders tend to slip down the back strap... disappointing. However, they were constructed well and had good features, if you are willing to get a couple sizes or try them on before buying. I also would like to thank Patagonia for a quick refund and also for advertising these waders with real female angler. Meaning they arent picture perfect. Love it!!! Fishing is messy lol. I will say I love Patagonia's stealth bags.

April 30, 2022

These are HUGE

I ordered these in a small regular (because the small short was sold out) and they are absolutely MASSIVE. Even if I got the shorter length, I would still be swimming in these up top even with a an additional layer. They fit super rigid, bulky, and are difficult to adjust without front clips. Sizing down to the XS would result in too small of booti... Read Morees, so these are definitely going back. For reference, I'm 115 lbs, 5'4 height, and a 31" chest.

April 22, 2022

Excellent, but shoulder straps need improving

Ive had these through warm and cold weather now and appreciate the room for layers but the mid to lower leg is a little baggy and my legs arent super slim. That saidI wouldnt want them any tighter around the tip of the thigh or butt. I love the rear release for the straps for going to the bathroom. I do wish the single strap down my back could be e... Read Morextended so I could drop the whole top part more than is currently possible but I have a very short torso. My only real complaint is that the shoulder traps rub the side of my neck after a while. I dont know if this could be corrected by their attaching further apart on the front but I do wish they had a pad on them. A guide I fish with has a pair of mens patagonia waders and his traps have a neoprene pad that starts narrow, widens over the shoulders then narrows again down his back. The edges of my basic nylon belt-like straps are sharp and rub the skin on my neck raw. Im fly fishing in these, I lift my arms high, often, Im reaching far out and the strap get pushed towards my neck over and over by virtue of the movement of casting. I think a softer, rounder, padded strap would alleviate this problem completely and dont understand why its available on a mens pair but not mine. On the whole, Im very happy with these waders and would recommend them to friends but think this one area could use improvement.

April 20, 2022

Rockin' with style

I was a bit tired of women's waders that look just like men's, but with less features. I chose these to replace waders from another popular manufacturer of fly gear that I had to send back for defects thrice. These waders look like rocking' girl waders and have nice features like hand warmer pocket, inner dry pocket, gravel guards, a... Read Morend straps that don't cause a head injury when donning the waders. They run a bit big, but that will let me stuff them with layered clothing in the colder months. I am hard on waders. I am jumping into cold water weekly in the winter and more in the warmer seasons. These feel like they can take it.

April 10, 2022

Beautiful & Stylish!

I like the strap system, but it would be even better if they also unclipped at the chest attachment points.

April 6, 2022

Sooo many things to love

I tried these and 2020 Simms g3 at the same time and ended up returning the Patagonias. The Patagonia on/off buckle system and booties were far superior and the fabric felt slightly more robust. Actually the size and everything about the Patagonia waders are better except that the material is swishier and the width of the legs are slightly bigger. ... Read MoreOverall a much louder product which was a deal breaker for me as the main use is wildlife viewing. Would highly recommend to anyone who didnt need a slightly quieter wader. 57 155 lbs size 10 and lrm was fantastic

February 1, 2022

Better Options Out There..

My wife purchased these waders a couple months back and has worn them twice since. On the last outing, she had noticed her foot was soaked after removing her boot. I contacted Patagonia customer service who then told me I had to send them in for repair which would then take 10-12 weeks. These are brand new waders. This is not something you would ex... Read Morepect from a company such as Patagonia and I am extremely disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2022

Hey Seth, we're really sorry to hear of this experience. If the waders were purchased from our website within the last year, we'd be happy to send out a replacement since this would be considered a warranty issue. If they were purchased elsewhere, we unfortunately do not have a system in place to send out replacements, but we'd be happy to process it as a warranty return or repair. Please connect with a [customer service rep](https://www.patagonia.ca/customer-service.html) so we could go over other options with you.

October 21, 2021

Comfortable and durable

Bought these waders because Patagonia clothing historically fits my body the BEST. This is no exception. Fits great, no excess fabric or material. I love the ease of how the straps move up and down. The extra pockets are great not only for gear but also SNACKS haha. I have hiked on rocky cliffs and slipped in rivers and have not had any damage to t... Read Morehese waders. I have zero complaints and hope these last me a long long time.

September 17, 2021

Fit....for now.

I agonized for a few weeks over what size to buy in the Swiftcurrent, given no local availability to try them on for size. With help from Patagonia's CS (that last call was awesome!) and the sales rep at Western Rivers in SLC....I got the right size. I am a muscular, climber frame. Size 8 foot. My toes touch the end of the booties, but I don&#... Read Morex27;t want them totally floppy/either. I have a low volume foot and bigger would make a boot too cumbersome. 125lbs and 34A chest. 2 kids....so I got some hips. Went with the SSS and I could wear any layer I wanted. If you had 36 D Ladies...a jacket would still fit. The straps allow for more adjustments and I am STOKED. I'll update this post later.

August 26, 2021

Sizing is Off

I ordered the same size in the Swiftcurrent that I wore in the Spring River. I can literally wear the Spring River under the Swiftcurrent! Sloppy fit.

Response from Patagonia
August 31, 2021

Hey Holly, we're sorry to hear about these sizing inconsistencies. We're always happy to provide garment measurements to help you decide what size to get. We'll be sure to pass this feedback along. Of course, we want you to be stoked about your gear so feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these if they aren't working out for you.

May 23, 2021

Looks great, but that's about it.

I purchased the previous version of the Swiftcurrent waders (fall of 2020) and wore them about 10-15 times. They already leak so badly that I can wring out my pants and socks after getting off the river. Unfortunately, this is the second pair of waders from Patagonia that I have had this experience with and interrupts my guide season when I have to... Read More keep mailing waders back. I purchased a pair in 2015 that stood the test of time - they were amazing, but it seems the recent designs just don't hold true to Patagonia's name. Will certainly be switching brands to find a better quality alternative.

Response from Patagonia
May 24, 2021

Hi Gigi, we're so sorry to hear about the troubles you've experienced with the Women's Swiftcurrent Waders. We completely understand your frustrations and want to let you know that you are welcome to send those back into us for a warranty return under our Ironclad Guarantee. Please feel free to begin your return here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

May 6, 2021

Better but some odd changes

I'm glad Patagonia came out with some new women's waders. The new booties are great. I don't like the velcro they added to the hand warmer pocket. I think it's unnecessary. The front chest pocket is bigger but for some reason it's made of a mesh like material vs the waterproof wader material. I'd also like the knee pad... Read Mores like the men's have.

April 25, 2021

Good but your no longer a clothing co

Great product but Patagonia.. stop being a hippo critical agenda driven co who has stuff made in communist countries who pollute like hell and you say your for cleaning up our environment BS!

March 13, 2021

Ample room, comfy and perfect for fishing adventures

I purchased these waders as my 2nd pair (as my other pair needs some TLC). I also own the Spring River waders in a size medium-full, which I also love. I'm curvy, 5'3", and around 145 lbs. Most of my fishing in waders is done in the colder months so ample layering is a must. I originally purchased these waders in a size large to ma... Read Moreke sure I had enough room to put layers on, however after getting into them, I felt I was swimming. Patagonia made the exchange process super easy and I was swiftly sent a size medium. Without layers and when standing straight up, the mediums looked/felt a little big. Once I put them on with my winter clothes/apparel, they felt great. I could easily bend/stretch/sit and not feel strain on any part. They also have nice adjustments spots where you can cinch the material in a little more fitted. I'm a shorter female so I could have gone with the short size. However a fair amount of my fishing is hiking up and down steep banks so I like for my knees to be able to fully articulate. The regular length is great for my style of fishing. Personally, I am not a fan of form-fitting waders so I appreciate the sufficient room given in these waders. I have used them for about a month now and they are holding up great. Nice not to have leaks when its 40 degrees and raining. Speaking of raining... Much harder for women to relieve themselves in the rain while in waders. I like the back clip option (opposed to a competitor pair of front clip waders) because they make it so you don't have to fully take off your rain jacket (in the rain) every time you gotta go. My significant other owns the mens zipper pair which are similar but have a couple more bells and whistles. After seeing his, my only wish is that the female pair was given the option of the knee pads as well. These are truly comfy waders to not only wade in, but to adventure to your destination in.

March 4, 2021

Waders that fit

After a long and frustrating search I am very happy with these waders. The SRM size works for a thin body type with longer feet. Super warm and comfortable with Patagonia tough puff pants underneath. The wading belt has a slightly stretchy panel in back. There is no zipper and that is great as the zippers in many waders now add too much bulk up top... Read More. A small reservation is that the booties are quite wide and add additional bulk in my wading boots. Overall a great product for women who fish.

March 3, 2021

Fits like a Men's Product

These waders were very disappointing and do not compare to the Spring River Waders which are now sold out. The "Short" series is not petite - they fit very big and bulky and are had to adjust. The opposite of wearable or comfortable. My waders also arrived without a belt, and are being returned.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2021

Thank you for the feedback on fit. We hope you find something that works for you in the future.

February 27, 2021

Great Waders

This past week, I spent five days hiking around Vancouver Island's Cowichan Valley looking for some early winter steelhead. While there are a lot of well established trails, this trip required a lot of bushwhacking to get to some of the better water. I can't think of a better way to put a new pair of waders through its paces. The sizing o... Read Moren these waders is bang on. I am 5'6", 160 lbs with a size 8 foot and a MRM (medium, regular length, medium foot) fit me perfectly, with just enough extra length in the legs to make scrambling over logs and kneeling in the water a breeze. The articulated knees and gusseted crotch aid movement when kneeling, crouching, and climbing. Padded knees, like those featured in the Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Waders, would sure be a nice touch (hint, hint, Patagonia...). Putting on close to 50km hiking winter trails in a garment in near zero temps really tests its mettle. The midweight fabric of these waders was light enough to be breathable and comfortable but not so heavy to be a burden. I often find myself wishing that someone would make a heavier women's wader for boat fishing and trips like these, but found that the midweight fabric held up well through rose bushes and icy conditions. I didn't get too warm and sweaty nor too cold. The ripstop fabric on the gravel guards is a plus, I always tear my waders in this spot and ended up with only a small hole here at the end of this trip, with no leaks or issues elsewhere. The neoprene booties are thick and fleecy on the inside, making them easy to take on and off, though I found they were a tighter fit in boots than my last waders, so definitely try them for size with boots for the right fit for you. One of the best features of these waders is the drop seat technology, brought along from the Spring Rivers, which allows one to pull waders down to to take a bio break without removing a jacket. It's an awesome ability to have when it's cold and raining, just undo the wading belt, undo the front clips and buckle at the back, and slide down. The only down side is that if one were not very flexible, it might be difficult to do that buckle on the back up without assistance. The wading belt has changed since the Spring Rivers. Once a simple elastic strap with a buckle, it is now dually adjustable and is ruched to stretch at the back. It feels more secure and yet is very comfortable and easy to adjust the tightness with the belt on as both sliders are at the front. I appreciated the convertible top when the weather warmed up to a balmy nine degrees one afternoon. The tabs on the straps flip up, and the waders roll down easily and comfortably. A couple of things I wasn't a fan of. The lightweight fabric on the exterior of front pocket was a little snaggy while bushwhacking, and hook from one of my flies poked through. That has never happened with the previous generation waders with the wader fabric on the exterior. This fabric stretches a bit and pokes out, adding bulk where I don't need it. I used to keep my phone in my front pocket but this fabric feels more flimsy and less protective, so I don't feel like that pocket is as useful to me now. I do like the width of the zipper across the top along with diagonal pocket styling. I used the fleece lined front pass through pocket behind the front pocket a lot while swinging flies. The other thing that just didn't work for me was the interior TPU-waterproof pocket. My phone was too tall to fit in it sideways, and so had to go length wise and that made it really hard to flip it in and out of the waders. So much for that super quick fish pic! I realize my phone being to big is a me problem, but with the size of phones nowadays, I would expect a pocket made to fit a phone would fit most phones. The other thing is that pocket traps heat and moisture as one hikes with it next to the body. I had a giant wet spot on my front where my clothing wasn't breathing on the first day and so I just flipped it out of the waders while hiking to avoid that. It flopped around as I walked and I didn't really like that. It would be better placed under the arm, like on the Patagonia Men's Expedition Zip Fronts. While I'm grateful to have a place to put my phone, I might just cut it off and move it because it feels like it's in the way. I feel like first and foremost a good fit in a wader is second only to its quality and durability. The Patagonia Women's Swiftcurrent Waders are absolutely the best women's wader on the market, I simply wish for more features supportive of a hard week's fishing and heavy use.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches