Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Waders

Write Your Review

3.8 /5

Filter Reviews

All 5 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Waders

3.8
November 4, 2020

Tailored Fit

Slender fit, a little too tight for heavy winter layering....requires careful fitting to find the size that works best. The Gallego fit is more comfortable and enables better mobility. Material and other features are nice. Recommend putting a D Ring on the back of the shoulder straps for net attachment, make the shoulder straps more easy to remove,... Read More and go back to the Gallego cut/sizes. Pocket/storage capacity on these is a big improvement over the Gallegos.

September 24, 2020

Almost perfect

Patagonia would have nailed it with the new design except for one major design flaw. When you loosen the front straps, the back strap also loosens and when you retighten, the back strap doesn't re-adjust and stays bunched up at the lower back. It wouldn't be a big deal but if you wading at waist level, water would spill in. You have liter... Read Moreally have to take off the waders to re-adjust. For paying premium price for them, it's a real hassle.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Hi Stephen, sorry to hear about the trouble with the rubber tri-glide on the back suspender causing issues. We changed from a smooth plastic cam lock to the rubber tri-glide. It's a bit tougher to pull back up, but the rubber helps it stay up once it's adjusted to the most comfortable position for you. You could tie a bit of cord to the hanging loop on the back of the wader top, then use that to pull it up while wearing the waders. If that sounds like it would be too cumbersome for you, please do not hesitate to begin a return or exchange for the Men's Swiftcurrent Expedition Waders and you can begin that process here, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

August 1, 2020

A Good Cold Weather Wader

The new Patagonia Swiftcurrent Expedition waders are certainly burly, and their heaviest weight wader among their collection. This wader will be good for folks who generally fish, or live, in colder climates. This wader will not suit the all season angler, looking for a wader to do it all. If attempted to wear in late spring through summer, you wil... Read Morel be overheating. And those new waders will become stinky real quick, nobody wants that! This wader ran small on me, though I purchased based on measurements in the sizing chart. The crotch seat sat quite high, and for those of us who like to wear our waders at full height, (chest height and slightly above) you may run out of real estate down below. For me, the torso length just wasn't quite long enough. And I have an average torso length. Attempting to layer heavily under these in the winter proved to be a very tight fit around the crotch area as well. The knee pads are a nice touch, but again for me, made mobility stiffer, and in turn made the fit tighter. However, they are removable. If you are in between sizes, I would recommend going with the larger size. This will aid in mobility, and also protect your waders seams and durability in the long run. I believe this is a good product for those who it fits properly. Personally, I found the marketing to be confusing/misleading on its reality of seasonal use. I sense the product description may shift once again as the midweight has been launched. These were originally marketed towards the steelhead fisherman/woman etc. Since the midweight standard swiftcurrents have been released, I have decided to go that route instead. Less bulk and weight to haul around all day, and should be better suited for the 12 month angler. Thank you Patagonia for your innovative products, and even though this one doesn't suit my needs, you have created another that will.

Response from Patagonia
August 27, 2020

Hi Austin, thanks so much for your detailed feedback! Your review has been passed along to the appropriate team.

July 8, 2020

Mixed Feelings

I want to love these waders but Patagonia has some work to do. First off lets start with the positive. These seem incredibly durable and the recycled material is actually very breathable. The features and pockets are so well thought out and the conversion to waist high that Patagonia uses is top notch. I wear XL Patagonia products across the board ... Read Moreaccording to the size chart the XLL would be perfect. The booties come in one size which is 12-14, a bit large for my 11.5 but that wasn't too big of a deal. The legs fit pretty well. Trim yet comfortable and allowed for good movement. The main issue is between the crotch and the upper region of the waders. The crotch is narrow and pronounced and quite frankly very uncomfortable, there isnt enough range of adjustment in the shoulder strap to alleviate the issue. The upper is absolutely massive and quite baggy. Not the consistent trim fit I am used to from Patagonia. Overall disappointed. I picked up a pair of the discontinued Rio Gallegos in a size Large King and they fit absolutely how a wader should. Patagonia is the best for wading equipment but please bring back the sizing that worked so well with the Rio Gallegos!

Response from Patagonia
August 5, 2020

We are sorry to hear that aspects of these waders aren't working for you and we appreciate the thoughtful feedback on all of this. Your satisfaction is most important to us and if you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back, please feel free to do so.

April 15, 2020

sizing

They fit bigger then what the size. Im 5-10, 190 lbs and size 10 shoes. Everything was good except the chest. I ordered L/R/M, should have got the M/R/M, Great wader though.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches